Question Getting rid of DS DUMMY??? Eekkkkk

Has anyone got any tips or advice for getting rid of the dummy?? How old was your DD/DS??

I was going to wait till after my DS was 2 but its just so annoying he trys to talk to us with it in his mouth and were constantly asking him to take his dummy out to understand him. My son is very clever for his age and you can have a conversation with him so having the dummy there is just horrible.

He is so addicted to it 2 he absoulutley loves it

Its kind of sad and hard to let go of as its the last "baby baby" thing he has. He doesnt have bottles, He is in a big bed and he is toilet trained so it is hard to let go of.....

ANY ADVICE WOULD BE WONDEFUL
    Erin - 25 Mark -28
    Noah William My Spunky Dude - 3
    Bella Mia My Cheeky Princess - 1

Whilst I don't currently have any children of my own, my DH has 2 sons from his first marriage. One of the boys didn't really use a dummy but with the other one they made it disappear on Christmas day saying that Santa took it. I don't know how old he was at the time but I think he was around 2. Hope you find something that helps you!
    Me (34) DH (44)
    DS1 (2) DS2 (8 months)
    DSS#1 (16) DSS#2 (13)
    27/12/07, 20/11/09

i would start letting him have it only for sleeps and then on xmas eve i would be getting him to leave it out for santa and tell him he will get an extra special pressie if he does. then get him his favourite toy as a reward. (something to cuddle will often help weaning from the dummy)
    MeDh
    DD: 7 DS: 4
    DS2: 2 Jellybean Due Jan 2013

& DSD1:20, DSD2: 19, DSS:17

I would start by only letting him have it when he's in bed. As soon as he gets up in the morning the dummy gets put up on a shelf out of reach.

Sounds like he's smart enough to understand that it's only for bed time.

The Santa thing sounds like a good idea too.

Goodluck!
    Mum to 3 gorgeous girls;
    DD1 10yrs DD2 8yrs
    DD3 4yrs!!

Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass,
    it's about learning to dance in the rain!

DD is 21 months old and we now make sure she only has dummy for sleeps. As soon as she is up she puts it into the sink. I intend to get rid of it using santa and a present or maybe the dummy fairies! I know that has worked for lots of people. Good luck.
    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out (Richard Dawkins)

Naww he's growing up Erin! I still remember the announcement of him being born in the old thread! where has time gone!

I played mean mummy and just took them away from DS (it was the week before he turned 1). I just threw them all in the bin. Then there was no temptation to give it back to him when he cried for it.

I slowly weaned him... only letting him have it to go to sleep for a few days and then I just thought nuh stuff it, and threw them.

DS did really well though. He was addicted to the thing... so I was expecting HUGE dramas... but it really wasn't all that bad. He just adapted and accepted he couldn't have it and went off to sleep without it! (The first day there was a bit of a crying fest - about 15 minutes... - but after that nothing!)

it's not a bad adjustment for you all!

Thanks for all you advice girlies. The santa thing sounds like the way to go I think.

The only thing im worried about is the tantrums and the sreaming, If we take it off him for 5 mins he screams for it the whole time. How much should you let them scream ?? and WHat do you do when there screaming for it??

Cass- I Noooo hun were has time gone if feels like I only had him yesterday and he is almost 2 already Boooooo How is your baby boy?? Not long now till Bubby #2 I bet your so excited I hope you having a nice Pregnancy!!
    Erin - 25 Mark -28
    Noah William My Spunky Dude - 3
    Bella Mia My Cheeky Princess - 1

Fuchsia! is offline Winner 2009 - Best Signature
    Winner 2010- The Best Signature Award

Shmoooooooosh! AKA jaxcoop
    I think Santa likes taking Dummies! lol

If he screams i think you shouldn't give in, just try and distract for as long as possible, of course if its getting terribly bad then i would consider giving the dummy back but once you give in, thats it! lol

It took my DS 2-3 nights for him to not want it, so thats pretty good, but those 2 nights were a bit rough. He still wanted it through the night so i would give it to him but then hide it before he woke up and he didn't even notice. Eventually he didn't want it through the night.
    A friend will stick up for you and calm you down when your mad....... but a best friend will skip alongside you with a shovel giggling "someones gonna get it!"

Quote Originally Posted by Mummy2Noah View Post
    Thanks for all you advice girlies. The santa thing sounds like the way to go I think.

The only thing im worried about is the tantrums and the sreaming, If we take it off him for 5 mins he screams for it the whole time. How much should you let them scream ?? and WHat do you do when there screaming for it??

Cass- I Noooo hun were has time gone if feels like I only had him yesterday and he is almost 2 already Boooooo How is your baby boy?? Not long now till Bubby #2 I bet your so excited I hope you having a nice Pregnancy!!
    I agree that giving Santa the dummy so it can be used by little babies is a good idea (unfortunately it never worked for our DD1)!! In the end my mum discarded it when DD1 had a sleepover when we came back from holiday, saying the dummy was left there for the Vanuatu babies to use. DD1 had become more attached to it than ever after she turned 2 and her sister arrived, previously it was just for sleeps, then it was for in the car etc.

We did have tears and tantrums (as she was 2.5yrs old when we discarded it for good!!), I think that distraction is good and rewarding good behaviour when the dummy is taken away - ie if there are no tears and tantrums or they subside quickly then you can offer a treat (ie watching a fave DVD, a sticker or playing a fave game). Although its really hard, try to ignore the crying, screaming and tantrums - as giving in will only prolong the painful process imo (& yes I know it can get bad and its tempting to give in and return the dummy for some peace and quiet).

Good luck, we found it a difficult and trying time for a few weeks but it does get better!!
    Last edited by zenifa; 12-11-2008 at 08:05.
    Me 35 DH 34
    DD 16th Aug 2005
    DD 1st Oct 2007

Hello, not sure if this will help, but when my DS was around that age, we too were faced with the same dummy-dilemma!
    At that age, he was especially excited to see our Garbo man (& truck) each Wednesday morning. It was like a ritual... He'd hear the truck and come racing for me like mad to take him outside to watch.
    Well, one day we told him that tomorrow (being Wednesday) the garbo man was coming and it was 'dummy collection day." and all the other little boys and girls were giving their dummies to the rubbish man cause they don't need them anymore.
    You'd be really surprised how great the garbage mans are about it. Mine even got out of his truck and took the dummy personally and told DS he was a big boy now (he was so friendly). Then we all waved goodbye to the dummy as the garbo man threw it in the rubbish section of the truck.
    DS thought he was sooo fantastic! Clapped his little fat hands and everything...!!
    You wouldn't believe it, that was cold turkey... from dummy full time, to no dummy at all... no crying or whinging... worked a treat for us anyhow... he didn't even ask for it when it was nap time in the arvo, just got into bed and said "me big boy now"... ohhh, it was soooo cute!
    ps- this has worked also for one of my close friends, my sister and my sister-in-law... so maybe you could give it a try if you get desperate. Little boys especially love the garbo man....
    Good luck. xx