Default Other people in with you?

How do you feel about having other people in with you when you are in labour? Apart from dh?

I only want hubby and I, I feel it is a special moment for just us - but last night he suggested someone else coming in, his argument was that it is our fourth, so we have had 3 others with just us. Last time we had our midwife, and a student one, so I guess he thinks its ok to have others?

My instant thought was no way, but am I being selfish in wanting to keep it just us?
    Mumma to 4
    DD1 12, DS 7, DD2 6, DD3 4

We planned to have my Mum with us the first time, but DS came so quick she didn't make it. Kind of glad in the end that it was just DH and I, is a special time and this time we plan just us 2 again.

I don't think you're being selfish at all.

Who would your DH like to have in there with you anyway? Just out of nosiness?

No way are you being selfish...I only had dh, the midwife and her assistant with me and that's it. No way I'd want anyone else there , and once baby was born we were left alone to bond

WorkingClassMum is offline Bubhub Award Winner - 2010/ 2011- Most Politically Correct Member
    Winner 2010- The Best Potential ********* Award
    Winner 2011 - Tell It Like It Is Award
    Your baby and your birthing - your choice.

I was glad my mum was there for DS and was happy to share DD's birth with my MIL and my Sis#1

I wish I'dve included my step-mum as her daughters will not let her near them - but that's their choice.

I had an audience of 100's with DS anyhow as he needed his own medical resus team in the end. So as far as I'm concearned - pfft whats 1 or 20 more. I might as well given birth in a shopping centre or at the football with DS
    "Free speech does not give you a free pass to say incorrect things and not be criticised for it."

Rosemary Johnson

In Antarctica for 12 months.... I mean Tassie!!!!
    I think its up to you ~ you're the one doing all the work with your bits on display to the world!

Ask your DH how he would feel if it was him & you wanted other people in there?

I think you need to feel comfortable with your surroundings... its totally up to you hun.

I am having my DH & my mum.

My mum is like my best mate & i am an only child, i feel like it is something that i would love to share with her.
    She had a really bad birthing experience with me & i would like her to see that it isnt always like that - that it can be beautiful.
    Plus if i have a long labour DH will need someone to relieve him & vice versa. This way i wont be alone & they can each have breaks but knowing someone is with me iykwim?

Good luck with your birth hun

me31: + dh32:
    dd: 29.12.08 + dd:

He suggested having our mothers in there - I love them both, but they can drive me nuts, so wonder what they would be like in there!

I did think about having my sis in there cause she is a nurse, and would be pretty helpful I reckon!
    Mumma to 4
    DD1 12, DS 7, DD2 6, DD3 4

No your not selfish

a very close frien wanted to come in with me

but i wasnt keen on idea

so when i did go into labour i didnt let her know and jsut told ehr it all happened to quick

i love her to death but she would faint at first sign of blood

she was watchign those medical shows about what can go wrong with babies and freaking out iver them

i figured it prob best not to have her there incase soemthign did go wrong..

It's your birth.... it's your choice.

Some people prefer it to be alone... others prefer to have a whole hoard of people there.

With DS I had my mum, DS's father, the middie and my Ob at the end.

This time I'm have my mum again, one of my close mates and middies. I'd love to have DS there... but don't know if it's a smart idea or not!

headoverfeet is offline Treasuring the doing a little more and the getting it done a little less..
    My mum seems to think that every woman would want her mother there , well she is going to be disappointed in about 4 weeks time .
    DF- FIFO & Me- WAHM
    DS1-07 DS2-08 DD-11
    & too many pieces of my heart no longer in my arms..

bumblytumbly is offline "Sometimes", said Pooh, "the smallest things take up the most room in your heart."
    I don't think your being selfish at all It's your birth and you are entitled to do it however you want.

Both DH and I only want it to be the 2 of us. This is our first bub and we want to share the moment together. We feel it's about us becoming a family not our Mum's becoming Grandma's etc. My Mum has always said that she doesn't need to be called until bubs is born. But DH Mum will be interesting...she can tend to be a little over the top and would be trying to tell us what we should be doing. We have decided to just ring everyone once bubs is born.
    Me 29 DH 33
    DS - 1