Thread: diagnosed today

Unhappy diagnosed today

Hi everyone, thanks for sharing all your stories, I have been reading them over the past few days whilst pondering whether or not i am suffering from pnd. They have given me reassurance and a feeling of not being the only one who cannot cope at times. Thank you all for your honesty
    Today I took my baby for his 6 week check up (he's 8 weeks but they were chockers until today) He is absolutely fantastic in every way, a gorgeous easy baby which i am so lucky and blessed to have!
    Unfortunately the same cannot be said of me. After a long talk with the lovely ECN nurse and filling in some forms, she said i definitely have pnd. Mixed in with the feelings of failure and inadequacy was a huge sense of relief!
    I also have another son, a gorgeous almost 3 year old who is being extremely disagreeable, disobedient and difficult a lot of the time lately (surprise surprise a new baby brother is on the scene taking up all this extra time and attention- how DARE he????). I have been experiencing heaps of anxiety about him, feeling like a pathetic parent with no control.
    All my poor husband cops is snappy abuse (some deserved but lots not), tears and no affection or sex....the last thing on my mind at this present time.
    So now I have a name for it time to take action........
    Counselling? Yes
    Homeopathy/naturopathy? Maybe
    Medication? Maybe (scared s#*tless to be truthful when hearing of possible side effects but then reading so many positive comments here has opened my mind a bit). Sorry this was such a rave, felt like getting it out. Thanks for reading and my heart goes out to all the mums doing it tough emotionally....you are all wonderful people with deep feelings- when things are great life is the best but when you are low it sucks bigtime doesn't it

PROUD MUMMY TO TWO BEAUTIFUL BOYS
    PADDY 14.06.03
    CHARLIE 10.03.06

Hi there Clairbear,

Theres no need to be scared any longer! You have done the hard bit and now it will get easier!

I have PND and did nothing for 7 months, then I went to a natropath who diagnosed me.

Her medicine worked for about two months then all of a sudden it just stopped

So I went to a doc who gave me zoloft and have not looked back since!

The only thing you need to be scared of is not doing anything about the PND, it is not easy to combat with no help from medication, natural or otherwise.

Good on you for doung something about it!

Zoloft has definately worked for me!

Yep, it sucks sometimes

But I'm glad you have had your PND recognised early rather than later and will be getting some help to work through it. Hugs to you, and as you already know, there are a lot of women here cheering you on and ready to answer any questions or just lend an ear when you need it
    Martha
    Jack of all trades, master of none.
    But loving this life of mine.

Tam-I-Am is offline Winner 2009 - Most Helpful Member Award
    Winner 2007 The most helpful moderator/admin award
    2008 AWARD WINNER - The most polite member
    Oh, Clair, I'm so sorry that you're going through this. But congratulations on taking the really hard step of admitting that there's a problem. Your story sounds so much like my own, except for that it took me until DD (incidently, also called Claire!) was about 5 months old to be able to admit to myself what was really going on - until then, I was just furious. Furious with myself, with how sick I had been after DD was born, and furious with DH - and all for no good reason.

You're right, the idea of medication is scary, isn't - be reassured that if you do have to take it, your doctor will know what is safe and what isn't for you and bubs (if you're breastfeeding).

I just thought I'd add this link so you can do some research if you are breastfeeding - Dr Thomas Hale is a well-renowned doctor who has done extensive research on the effects of medication on breastmilk - and antidepressants are some of the most researched - It reassured me when I had to go on them. http://neonatal.ttuhsc.edu/lact/

Good luck, I really hope things get better from here, and if you ever need to chat to someone who can, at least empathise with you, then please PM me
    "Making the decision to have a child - it's momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body." -Elizabeth Stone

Hi Clairbear
    Good stuff for taking the big step and talking to someone.
    I never had any bad effects on my medication (Efexor) have tried Prozac but that left me feeling like a zombie and paranoid.
    Good luck hun let us know how you get along!
    DD,DD,DD,DD,DS.

Have a good cry, wash out your heart.
    Keep it inside, it will tear you apart.

Funkychicken is offline I'm supposed to have a plan? Can't I just be proactive with pep?
    Sending you lots of and well wishes for your journey in getting well again.

Tam-I-Am is offline Winner 2009 - Most Helpful Member Award
    Winner 2007 The most helpful moderator/admin award
    2008 AWARD WINNER - The most polite member
    Quote Originally Posted by clairbear
    Have been reading all these posts with interest......not sure which path to take ie. counselling with or without medication ( traditional antidepressants or homeopathy)
    i have read that lots of antidepressants cause weight gain, which I think would make me even more depressed as i am trying to lose pregnancy weight. What are your experiences/opinions of zoloft and weight gain as a side effect????

Hey Clair, just read this in the other thread and thought I'd reply here - Some antidepressants do indeed have the side effect of weight gain. They tell me this isn't a problem with certain antis, such as zoloft (I'm not sure I believe that - I've put on 5kg since I went on it, but that may just be that I'm feeling better, so eating again).

I personally think that, although putting on weight would be depressing in and of itself, its not actually a physiological problem with the antis (its still what you put in your mouth - its just that the medication may make you feel hungrier, or, as in my case, better so you start feeling like eating again). But the benefits can far outweigh the negatives - ie more energy (so perhaps you might feel like doing more exercise), improved mood, feeling more able to cope with life. The minimum amount of time its recommended to go on antis is 6 months, but if that's all you need them for - then you can always lose weight afterwards. I know its not that simple, but there it is.

Anyway, that's JMHO - you need to weigh up the pros and cons with your doctor, and make the right decision for you. Good luck.
    "Making the decision to have a child - it's momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body." -Elizabeth Stone

Hugs to you....You really are on your way to feeling like you used to. Sometimes it's such a relief to just talk about it.
    You're in my thoughts.
    Always be yourself unless you suck ~ Joss Whedon

How lovely to log on and see all these sweet messages of support and understanding!
    Little buddah baby- thanks for your encouragement and positive slant on medication, sounds like you are doing great
    MarthaM back at ya!
    Clarabelle your lovely message warmed my heart and ta for weight gain insight, interesting....
    Olivia and Bella's Mum thank you for your empathy, your story is heart wrenching and inspiring
    Ta for hugs Sal008, you are very thoughtful
    and that goes for you too Millie's mum!
    Been having a few difficult days, my husband has the flu so comes in from work and goes to bed (impossible to take time off at the moment), so there goes my end of day respite that i sooo hang out for! I have also cut my almost 3 year old's day sleep as it was becoming more a stress than a relaxing time for both of us, so he is rather tired and naughty (other factors include getting used to sibling plus having an awful cough).
    Things I could have handled with a roll of the eyes before seem to make me feel like crying, my brain also seems to be in a fog- cannot make a concrete decision, even about where we will go for a walk, what to make for dinner, where to go with family for mothers day lunch,what to put on shopping list, do to entertain Paddy, dress Charlie in etc.,etc it's all too hard!
    Looking forward to the weekend even though it may not be any easier.
    Hope you all have a good one, and get some recognition on Sunday even though it's an over rated commercial load of c%$p

PROUD MUMMY TO TWO BEAUTIFUL BOYS
    PADDY 14.06.03
    CHARLIE 10.03.06