Default Moving To Townsville in a few months and am stressed...

Hi - I'm looking for Townsville Mums who can give me some advice ...

I'm moving to Townsville in a few months from Brisbane with my husband and am looking to get to know some other mummys there. I'm 31 and have a 1 year old dd and am preggars with the second due on the 9th of Feb. I'm really dreading the move to the heat but everyone I've spoken to seems to love Townsville.

Also I was also wondering about hospitals there. I booked in with Dr. Lucy Pallis and am going to the Mater Private. Does anyone know her?? Is she a good obst? Does that hospital have a good rep?

Sorry for all the questions - but I'm a bit stressed trying to organise things in a place I don't know!

I look forward to hearing your thoughts and hopefully meeting some of you when I get there.
    Cheers Celeste.

A big hello Celeste!!
    Well i went public for my boys one perth other tsv, it was lovely...as for the dr im not sure, the mater itself is gorgeous..the only thing i n have heard of is they like c secs...they can organise there schedules then

I arrived back up here Jan this yr and was due the march...i had really bad swollen ankles but i put that down to driving from WA they just took longer to go down..so long as you have aircon you will be fine

If you check out the Nth Qld thread we are all in there, some hold meets tuesday...varied in age and then others wednesday mostly 25 and under some over..and then if anyone wants to do something some other day we just organise it to suit.

What kind of work does hubby do? mine is defence

well look forward to seeing you around and good luck with the pregnancy xxx

Shauna

Hi Celeste

Im Megan and Im also 31 but only for another week, I have one bub who is 5mths and had her at the public hospital. I have also heard good things about the Mater and like Shauna said they like c sects hehe... both hospitals are really good, Im not sure about your ob but Im sure she is very good...

The heat is hard to get used to at first but with air con it isnt so bad we have been here since Jan 07 and im used to it now and when winter comes around you will be glad to live here! Right now the weather is perfect! You will def love it here, there are lots of nice mums and you are welcome to meet with any of us...

Anyway hope to stay in touch and see you when you get here
    Me +DH + DD +D? = 1 Perfect Family

Thanks for the reply girls.

Shauna - you poor thing having to drive from Perth to Townsville pregnant! I moved from Perth to Brisbane half way through my last pregnancy but luckily I flew. My husband is in sales and has just gotten a good job up in Townsville so we are going to give it a go for a few years but eventually want to come back to Brisbane where all my family and friends are.

Megan - Happy Birthday for this week. Hope you have an awsome day and get spoilt rotten!!

Thanks for the info on the Mater. I am hoping for a natural delivery so I might have to put their schedules out a bit!! I will check out the North queensland thread if I can find it. I'm very new to this bubhub thing! I think I'll have my "L" plates for a while!

I look forward to meeting you both hopefully when I come up

Hi Celeste,

You will love it in Townsville, it can get hot but most houses have aircon so u will be right.

I have been here since dec last year, we have 2 kids a nearly 7yr old boy and a 19 month old girl and we are trying for #3 out last bub

Dont know anything about the hospitals yet but wante to come and say hi

~Alicia~

ETA- I am from brissy to
    Last edited by bAaM; 14-09-2008 at 12:04.
    And then their was 5

Hey Celeste

My hubby also works in sales he sells cars but dont hold that against him hehe....

There is also a birth centre opening at the Townsville Hospital so maybe look into that...the majority of women actually go to the public hospital too...oh and the Mater is opening a new womens and childrens section but still in the buidling stage...

For the Nth QLD thread its in the QLD section.....

Thanks too for the birthday wishes its the week after but trying not to think about it too much hehehe....

Cant wait to meet you....

Wow - you girls seem really nice!

I'm feeling heaps better about the move now. Its always scary moving to a place where you don't know anyone. (Well my parents in law live there but they dont really count!)

I will def look into the Townsville hospital - it seems popular.

Alicia - Good luck with bub nbr 3. "Practising" is the fun part!

Megan - I found the "Townsville Daily Catch Up" - Is that the thread you're talking about. I will pop on and introduce myself.

Megan - I found the section you were talking about. Just ignore me -I told you I was an "L" plater !! hehe

hehe no worries it can be confusing but come say everyone in Townsville is nice and welcoming most of us know what it is like to move here and not know anyone....

hi celeste-

i moved here from adelaide 3 yrs ago

i have a 3yo a 22 month old and bub #3 due dec 26th
    it would be nice to have someone else pregnant at the same time lol

im going the the townsville hospital, public through the midwives,

as long as you have aircon you should be right in the summer- most of the year is great weather

you'll love the girls up here they are really friendly and fun

enjoy your move, hope to see you when you get here
    Me + He
    =