Default Men & their great ideas - vent

Firstly,
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRGGGGHHHHH

That's better.

DH & his mate (married, wife's children are all adults) have no idea about looking after the kids when we're out. They've organised a garage sale for Friday & Saturday for both our houses - at their place. Their reasoning for Friday is that DS is at kindy so I'll only have DD. Problem is she's into EVERRYTHING!!! I am suppossed to try to keep her out of the stuff we are trying to sell, then Saturday it's just assumed that my sister will come out to look after the kids. If she's busy I'll have the 2 of them running around & getting into everything. Their house is nowhere near childproof, so putting them in the lounge with DVD's, books etc is just not an option.

Easiest thing for me would be to have the garage sale here on Saturday, but somehow I don't think that'll happen.

Not to mention the fact that I'm expected to sort out what to sell, prices, make sure our stuff's all ready to go

Ok, vent over. Thanks for reading if you got this far
    Him + Me = DS 4yrs & DD 2yrs

The house is full, the car's full and the bank account's empty

Nomsie is online now Administrator
    Winner 2009/10/11/12 - Most helpful Moderator
    Winner 2011 - Naughtiest/Cheekiest Mod
    "But honey, I'm making your life easier!"

Oh, you poor thing!
    Multiple Mummy to 4 year old boys.

....And I was like:

Yeah, it'd be nice wouldn't it....if they actually asked what would make my life easier Not having to chase kids around at a garage sale for starters...

Make him do the selling at the garage sale and you can stay home with your kiddies.

OR

Make him stay home with kiddies and you do the selling.

Wouldn't it be nice if they just asked you first.

I should have put in the OP that DH is 'conveniently' working both days, otherwise he'd be the one selling or looking after the kids. Why they couldn't make it a weekend DH has off is beyond me

Very nice of him to organise that and then leave you to do the work.

I reckon, as you're doing the work, you deserve the money from the garage sale.

It's only fair.
    Seamstress; Costumierre; Children's Entertainer; Face Painter...I have two girls aged 12 and 10; I have been married 12 years

Personally I would just turn around with a big fat NO, and tell him that the garage sale can happen ONLY when he has a day off so that one of you can look after the kids while the other does the garage sale.

Good luck hun Men can be so inconsiderate and unthinking sometimes.

Quote Originally Posted by blackdog View Post
    Very nice of him to organise that and then leave you to do the work.

I reckon, as you're doing the work, you deserve the money from the garage sale.

It's only fair.
    Well, I have plans for about $100 - a snap press for nappy making. I've been hanging out for one for ages