Question When to enrol in school?

Hey Everyone

My daughter has just turned 6 months and everyone is telling me that I need to start looking around for schools...some even say I should have started before her birth.

Is there that much of a waiting list in schools these day? I have sent out for a prospectus for a private school and they want me to fill out heaps of forms then pay a $55 enrollment fee. Is this standard with all schools or only private?

Can some mums with older kiddies let me know what the deal is... when I ring the schools they just say to be prepared is better, so start looking now....I reckon they just want my $55

Hope you guys can help !

Hi I am in Brisbane and for some of the more exclusive private schools you do have to put your child's name early. Here probably before 2 is wise. They all seem to charge a waiting list fee, I had to pay $200 dollars for this so $55 seems like good value to me Public schools don't charge a fee, it is only private schools that do this and it is probably a nice revenue raiser for them

For State school which we are doing for primary, the school just opens up enrolments at a certain time (usually the year before) and you have to be located within their catchment although people from outside the are can go on a waiting list and if they have space they will let you enrol.

As all the states have different schooling systems there must be some WA here that will be able to help. Good luck choosing schools it is such a big decision

Two of the schools I put DS on the list for were $100 application fee. One was $25. A fee of $100 in Melbourne seems to be standard.

And you need to get in ASAP to get them on the lists if youwant some of the better known private schools. One of the schools I know of needs application pretty much at the time of birth to get a chance for a Prep place.

I should have looked more into schools before putting Vallerie into kindergarten, because late last year when I started calling schools, quite a few of them didn't have mid-year intake for reception. I started her in kindy right after her 4th birthday, so this term coming up is her last one. So we were limited in our schooling choices. Having said that, the kindy was pretty laid back about it, and said she could probably stay at kindy for another 2 terms - but IMO I should have started her at kindy 2 terms earlier, because she is SO ready for school already.

Anyway, yes the enrolment fee is pretty normal, I've seen from $50 to $200 in the private schools we looked at. I think if you find a school that you really really like, and that you really have your heart set on for your child, then it's worth paying the fee to secure a place there. So don't just fill out the enrolment form and pay the fee - check out the school more than a couple of times, have tours, speak to other parents, speak to the teachers and the headmaster/mistress, read all their policies, check out how involved you can (or have to) be, investigate public transport or school bus routes for when the child is older, what sort of sports program they have, what sort of gifted education program they have, as well as what kind of help is offered to kids who "fall behind" a little bit.

I recently booked our 22 month old into a public primary school (we are luckily in the catchment for the one we wanted). It was literally a case of going there and filling out a form - he is guaranteed a spot and we will get the invite to the open day next year.

We also booked him into Private school starting in Yr 5 - we had to pay an $80 application fee and won't find out if he made it in until a few months before.
    DS - Our big school boy
    DD - Our miracle little girl
    Angel babies - 3 gorgeous souls watching over us all

Quote Originally Posted by aardvark
    And you need to get in ASAP to get them on the lists if youwant some of the better known private schools. One of the schools I know of needs application pretty much at the time of birth to get a chance for a Prep place.
    some body please tell me this is a joke.

gee I better start getting organised!!!! I have not even decided what I want yet!!!
    Do I need to start looking for a prep and/or kinder waiting list soon too?
    Last edited by Fairyfloss; 28-04-2006 at 04:02.
    It's not what you gather, but what you scatter that tells what kind of life you have lived )

My DD was "booked in" at 4 months old to a private school here on the Gold Coast along with an application fee. I was told the earlier you get them on the waiting list the better. I do think it is a ploy for money that the school will earn interest off, but having said that the population has and still is exploding here on the coast and if she is higher on the waiting list all the better.

Now I'm worried! I don't even know where I'll be living in that amount of years let alone what interests my child will have!
    Me: 29; He: 32; DD1: 3!; DD2: 1!
    Av = 21 March 2008

Some people are like slinkies: Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs