Question Things to do with little kids in & around Brisbane

I'm after some ideas for outings with my kiddies. I have a 3 yo and a 1yo. We have exhausted the parks, so new ideas are needed.

So are there any particular day trips/outings your kids love to do? Don't mind taking a scenic drive up or down the coast or inland for an adventure.

ta, Ginia

we liked the train museum out at ipswich and check to see if there are any little hobby farms near you. Alma park zoo is also good havent been to lone pine in awhile, my ds (3) loved the science museum at sth bank as you can do stuff in there and then we caught the citycats for a look around. We are hoping to get to the glow worm caves down the gold coast aswell (they are man made ones but look good)i always google great south east and see what they have or racq website or whats on in brisbane website. bubhub has a section aswell

Have you been to a play centre? There's one in Cannon Hill called lollipops that we go to all the time and the kids absolutely love it!

Also, southbank and the muesum my kids love to go to.
    Krissy 23 Karl 27=
    Princess Summer Leigh 02.04.05
    Princess Taliyah Jade 02.11.06
    Brooklyn Candido 01.12.09

Southbank and the museum have been mentioned, but while you are around there, check out the state library. They have 'the courner', an awesome place for young kids.

Also, look into your local library for story time.

I agree with the play centre idea. Look up Lollipops, or there is Crazy Critters, and plenty of others.

Depending on where you live, Lone Pine Sanctuary at Fig Tree Pocket is a sure fire hit. We have a yearly pass and the kids LOVE it. Its open almost everyday of the year and if you dont drive you can get there by bus or ferry.

ummm, are you a member of playgroup? That has been a lifesaver for me. A lot of the mums meet outside the playgroup time for meets in the park too.

For a cost, you could check out Bim Bam Boom. They do arts and crafts workshops for 2 - 6 year olds. They are based in Sherwood, but you could check out similar places closer to you.

And i remember being taken to plays once in a while when i was a kid.

And the Art Gallery does programs specifically for kids too.

Yeah we do Lollipops playcentre for playgroup every month. The kids absolutely love it and so do I everything is padded so my rough and tumble men can't hurt themselves to much!

Thanks for the lovely ideas ladies, we will defiantly be giving them all a go especially Bim Bam Boom Milk_Monkey
    DH & Ginia (working it out ) = Bud (4) & Chook (2)

I second the Train museum my boys love it there at its not $$$$. Also the playgroup I have found a great one and we all look forward to it each week.
    Me 36 DH 37
    DS#1 6th Sep 05 DS#2 23rd May 07
    DS#3 19th Jan 09
    The shop is now shut

I talk my little one to Bunnings.They have kids DIY workshops for FREE a few days a week! Last week we did sand pictures, they are so cool. They make all different types of things and u get to keep them.

We also like to go to the park late arvo and have a bbq there for an early dinner..just a few snags etc. He loves it!

We go on bus and train rides to random places and get off and have lunch somewhere then get back on and come home. He loves public transport because we drive everywhere!
    Electric Mumi
    ME - 31
    DS - 4 yrs
    Baby Milla arrived 08 Oct 08..
    Such a sweet delicate little angel