Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Terrified of Labour....

I am expecting my first child, although I am only 5 months along in my pregnancy from about 8 weeks I have been having sleepness nights and panick attacks about labour and coping with the baby. I have a few questions if someone can help that would be fantastic.

1. Once fully dilated do the contractions stop and is there less pain.
    2. I have heard people say that their labour went for 24 to 32 hours, do you have pain all this time or do the contractions come for a little while then go for a while?
    3. Does anyone else have panick attacks about labour?
    4. What does a contraction REALLY feel like, I've been told it's like period pain but 100 times worse?

I think I have a million more questions but this will do for now...

Well, my birth wasn't normal - and I don't really want to answer those questions because I really think you should focus on the good things about labour.

When I was in labour in transition phase, I can't remember it all. When it was over, I felt like "oh wow that was quick" but it wasn't!

Plus, when you have your baby you will forget all about the pain Promise.
    some people are so poor, all they have is money

congrats on your pregnancy, and try not to worry, it all seems daunting but you will be wondering what you were so worried about once its all over. To answer you questions;
    1. No the contractions dont stop once fully dilated, thats how your body helps you push the baby out, contractions usually get worse when fully dilated but you will be too focused on pushing with each one
    2. I was in labour for 24+ hours and the pain gradually got worse, for me I needed an epidural to cope but it all depends on your pain tolerence. You generally get a few minutes break in between but the break inbetween gets shorter as baby is closer to being born
    3. not everyone but I got quite worried, I can honestly say I dont remember much of it now it will be over before you know it
    4. contractions feel different for everyone but for me, they felt something like a baseball bat pushing down on my cervix and a vice squeezing around my guts

you will be fine though dont stress

I'm sorry to hear that you are having panic attacks about this.

My advice would be to perhaps read as much as you can about all of the possibilities during labour and birth.

Then throw that all out of the window and go in without any expectations of what it might be like - every birth is so bloody different.

For the record, my birth was fantastic. Six hours from start to finish (starting at a very respectable 9.30am). I had an epidural after a couple of hours and kicked back to watch footy and talk on the phone with about an hour of pushing.

I would do labour and birth again before the hideous 9 months of pregnancy you have to endure.

Good luck - focus on enjoying the here and now and don't worry about what you can't control (because that baby is coming out whether you like it or not )

Me, DH and DS (May 2006)

I would suggest reading some books like hypnobirthing or the like. I recommend Hypnobirthing - the Mongan Method. They explain all about contractions and how they work and how its the fear of labour that actually makes it painful. The more scared you are the more painful it will be because you will be fighting your body.
    The book also teaches you techniques to practice for labour etc.
    Stay away from horror birth stories and just read heaps of positive birth stories.
    I've been through labour once and yes it hurt like hell but I was terrified. I am not doing that again! I'm trusting my body this time and believing that its going to do what it needs to do.
    If its that severe that you are having panic attacks over it I would seriously recommend you talk to someone about it all. Going into labour with that amount of fear is just not good in my opinion.

It is normal to have all those fears. Hypnobirthing is a great way to address them and teach you techniques to deal with the pain.

There is pain worse than childbirth. I started a thread on this a while ago and the winning pain was gall stones over labour.

For me, contractions were similar to bad period pain, but came and went in waves and were totally bearable. For me, the key was to relax and go with the contractions, understanding that they were there for a reason and that the more I went with them, the easier it would be. Also, it helped me to think about the billions of women before me had done the very same thing and survived just fine. And that there were lots of other woman birthing at the same time, many who were in third world countries, without hospitals.

You'll be fine. As Scout said - educate yourself as much as possible about birthing. It will make a big difference to how you feel.

Also, perhaps talk to a doctor or counsellor about help with the panic attacks.

Good luck!
    DS - 3 A Hypnobirth Bub!

I know how you feel !!
    Im having my first baby too.
    But try not to worry .. ( I know thats easier said than done)
    I was exactly like you through alot of the first months and was FREAKING out about giving birth, even up till not long ago....

but ... Im 38 weeks now and I feel much better about it all and feel as ready as I'll ever be and feeling really positive about it all - thanks to alot of support and advice ive gotten from ladies here on bubhub so keep talking about it on here and ask lots of questions .. and also a book Ive been reading really put me at ease - it's called 'Birth Skills' by Juju Sundin and Sarah Murdoch.
    You gotta get this book if you can it really helped me with some techniques and how to cope with pain etc.
    All the best to you.
    fka - Matchstic

and of course while i havent used these techniques yet .. its made me feel alot more confident that im going to be able to cope !
    fka - Matchstic

Hmmmm... see,labour is different for every woman. Some dont find it that painful at all, others find contractions very painful. when I was fully dilated the stomach contractions stopped, and the pushing contractions started which was actually a good feeling.

Labour is very painful, I wont lie. But you know what? As soon as that baby is born all the pain goes instantly and you get such an endorphin rush. It is the most beautiful thing ever and I cant wait to do it again!!
    Before you judge someone, walk a mile in their shoes... because then when you do judge someone, you are a mile away and you have their shoes.

Two things to remember that might help:
    1. Billions of other women all over the world can do it - so can you
    2. By 9 months you'll be so excited about going into labour because it means you're really close to meeting your baby, seeing them for the first time, holding them, smelling them, touching them. This is especially so if you go over your due date.
    Him (39) Me (42)
    DS (Jun 2007)
    DD (Dec 2010)