Default exercise - what helps you.?

what exercise really helps you lose weight or tone.

so far i only walk ever day i use to walk an hr and a half when i was dieting but now im only walking 45 mins just to get my back into it.

would love to hear what works for you.
    Last edited by mum2littleman; 01-01-2008 at 11:46.
    THE MUMMY: Lou 24 The DADDY: Cayne 25
    THE Little man: Lukey 25-11-05
    The one on the way - due 2nd April 2011

Well walking works pretty well for me, but I can tell you one thing that does NOT work..
    Tried to go a bit hard and do a heap of situps/stomach crunches the other day, probably a bit too soon after having dd (almost 6 months) I was in soooooooooooooooooooo much pain later that day.. not doing that again!! got to take it easy.

CArdio - getting the heart rate up. Walking heaps, aerobics and aqua are all things I've done that have helped me lose weight.
    Nikki ~ Chris
    Space Cadet Cobey C. (18/7/06)

Wiggle Worm Eva D. (28/5/09)

punkbaby is offline Got it back :D
    Winner 2007 –The most helpful member award & The member
    you’d most like to meet in real life award & The newbie of the year award
    i walk everyday but i also dance to the wiggles with the kids LOL. Also i lay on my back and push my knees to my chest and sit bubs or dd3 on my shins, i move them back and forth slowly, seems to give my bum a good work out
    DD10
    DS5
    DD3,
    baby dd 10 months my little boobie monster cloth bum

Running, spin classes and swimming. In the end it's just about getting moving, if I have a lazy week I notice I don't lose anything compared to if I'm doing a lot of housework and on my feet. I've noticed recently I'm an all or nothing kind of person, I'm taking two weeks off my normal exercise routine and I haven't moved at all
    Nanny&childcare worker
    May others expectations have no effect on me, everyday I will aim to be as loving as I can be to all those around me but above all to myself.

My favourite things at gym are what I call the 'dancing around' things, like step and aerobics, but bike (which I think some call spin) really burns calories and weights are really good, too! Higher muscle mass helps you burn calories.

Also, I find landscape gardening really good exercise! All that digging and lifting and hauling of wheelbarrows. Works your muscles and your heart!
    Seamstress; Costumierre; Children's Entertainer; Face Painter...I have two girls aged 12 and 10; I have been married 12 years

Lastcenturymum is offline I'm on a break from modding (it wont last forever ... I'll be BACK!!)
    The thing that really works (for an old chook like me with a slower metabolism) Is running. Ok. Jogging! I need to raise my HR above 135 for it be most effective.

The secret to starting off though is to run/walk. If you are out walking add some runs - say between lamposts if you have them. If not, 1 min run, 2 mins walk and keep repeating that for 30 mins. Gradually increases the runs and decrease the walks.

Whenever I get back into running this is what I do rather than try to kill myself by running 5kms straight off. It also means you can go for longer, so when you can get to 60 mins of 5run/1walk you are doing really well.

Cycling helps too, but I need to ride for about 1.5 - 2 hours for it to be effective and I ride a mountain bike, so I do ride hard.

Im now up to running 5kms at the gym on the treadmill, anymore and Im bored stupid, whereas I can do 10km outdoors with a running friend (someone to talk to!)

Metalhead how is the tummy, I was thinking about you yesterday when I was doing abs at the gym and wondering how you were feeling now?

Oh and I find doing some weights and abs work helps the toning

Im finding morning sickness is helping me heaps! I do enjoy walking in the evenings, but bub has other ideas as I am exhausted all the time. I am going to do some pregnancy yoga when I feel better.

Good old fashioned walking for me. It has helped me lose 20kgs in the past and 15kgs last year. Since I have stopped i have gained weight again ( along with the unhealthy eating).
    Me 35
    DH 38
    DS 8
    DD 6
    DD 2

Free weights, squats and dips and boxing.

I dont have a snowflakes chance in hell of completing a boxing class in my current state, so am doing fatburner type exercise DVDs instead.

ETA I was exercising but stopped, I haven't put the weight back on but the difference in my appearance (ie floppy belly) is phenomenal.
    My Galaxy
    Mama StarDaddy Star
    Miss E + Mr P = maximum trouble