punkbaby is offline Got it back :D
    Winner 2007 –The most helpful member award & The member
    you’d most like to meet in real life award & The newbie of the year award

Default Quotations - Can they be changed on the day of the job?

We have a builder here repairing the facia he gave us a quote Tuesday, in writing and it was $670 this was labour and materials. He asked us to pay for the materials which we did worked out it was about $300 worth as well) that day (he got a price for it all . His a one man team and we figured it was fair for him to ask for materials we didnt mind doing this as most places like a deposit anyhow so its no different really.

Now he comes this morning to do the work and tells me that materials were $200 more than expected....i am like pardon? I said you got a quote you got a price on everything and you told me it was going to cost X amount he said well now its $200 more!! I am so angry considering he said he had priced everything already.

Now i dont want him getting ripped but i think its his fault for not getting the correct quote plus i budgetted to get it done so $200 more is really a chunk out of what i have left for the month (i am paid monthly)
    Now seeing its his mistake do you think its fair that i pay him what he quoted orginally and then pay the difference at the end of the month when i got paid due to him underestimating things or do i not have to pay the $200
    I dont mind paying it but i thought quotes were for that reason and honestly i cant afford that extra today IYKWIM

any advice please would be appreciated
    DD10
    DS5
    DD3,
    baby dd 10 months my little boobie monster cloth bum

Tam-I-Am is offline Winner 2009 - Most Helpful Member Award
    Winner 2007 The most helpful moderator/admin award
    2008 AWARD WINNER - The most polite member
    If he's given you a written quotation, and you've give him a deposit, I'm fairly sure that he's legally required to provide the service at the price quoted. It probably wouldn't be worth your while following it up with a lawyer, but I'd ask him for the $300 back and get somebody else to do it.

This is a common practice for 'dodgy' operators - to give a cheap quote and then not follow through on it.

Call a different builder and get a different quote...

Its not on
    "Making the decision to have a child - it's momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body." -Elizabeth Stone

I tend to agree with Tami. At minimum I'd want to see his bill for the materials he purchased, to confirm that he spent so much and that they were all for your job.
    Martha
    Jack of all trades, master of none.
    But loving this life of mine.

tiggles is offline "Mum, how come you have a bad hair day, everyday?"
    Did the written document he provided to you say "Quotation" or "Estimation" ?

If it was an estimation, then you are probably obliged to pay him. Personally I would make him wait for payment.

If it was a quotation, and didnt have wording to the like "prices subject to change...etc" then you are not obliged to pay him the extra, he should wear the extra costs.

Either way I would politely get up him, as he should have advised of the price rise before purchasing the materials and starting the job.
    DD1 - September 01 "Little Chook"
    DD2 - June 08 "Mini Chook"

If it was a written quote...what he is doing is totally illegal. I would tell him to pack his tools and bugger off
    Certified Doula CBE and now retired

8 Children ages 30 to 5
    Alexander Blake born 13th July 2006
    My family is complete

It was a quotation listing all materials with their prices the only thing it said it was subject too was stated like this "job to commence on 15 Nov 2007 subject to weather and subject to circumstances beyond my control"

I find that $200 is a fair wack out thats all and i am still pretty annoyed. if it was $30 or something i would be ok with that i guess.

He sais he has receipts

Sadly tam i am too much of a sook and i was going to ask for my deposit back but i was home alone and didnt feel like confrontation i am hopeless like that, i know that i would have prob lost the $300 if i argued as i am not strong enough if these situations

I think i might make him wait for the $200 when his finished i will tell him, just say i cant afford the extra and i will pay it when i get paid is that fair you think?

Damn i am kicking myself now
    DD10
    DS5
    DD3,

Hi punkbaby.. Congrats on the birth of your daughter.. Now if I was you I would give consumer affairs a quick phone call to find out exactly what your rights are.. This way you have something to fall back on iykwim.. I am fairly certain though that this man sounds shonky $200 seems a bit extreme for a simple mistake.. Give them a call and see what they say anyhow.. You may not have to pay him the extra at all yet, I would wait till he finishes his work though before you hit him with it just to be sure he does get it done.. Good luck..

Hi Punkbaby

I think if he gave you a written quotation then that is what you have to pay as before he gave you a written quote he SHOULD have got prices on material before writing a quote especially if you have a written document Dad is a builder and thats what he always has done. In the other case if it was an estimation as someone has already said then thats what it is an estimate but then you have the right to say thanks but no thanks..

I agree $200 is a huge difference and that is his cockup and he should have to wear it not you...

He said he did get a price on materials thats what i dont understand he spent two hours here looking at things (no charge for quotes he said so it cant be from that) and in that time he went to price timber and other materials and then wrote me a quote.

I have rang consumer affairs they told me to fax throughthe quote to see what it sais and they will advise me from there, but they said from the sounds of it he can forget about the $200 as it was his mistake when it states quote.

I just dont want to cause sh!t i am freaking if he gets nasty he will do something lol paranoid little me
    DD10
    DS5
    DD3,

I dont think you will have to pay it as a quote is what its going to cost not what it may cost IYKWIM...

Some people like to get away with everything they can...I know there have been times when Dad has underquoted and he just had to wear it and it not only my Dad my FIL has had the same problems they need to do their job properly as thats what they do.

How long was in between the quote and when they came to do the job if you dont midn me asking