Default 4 year old kinder

DD starts 4 year old kinder next year, and I got a letter in the mail yesterday asking me to choose which option I would prefer for her.

Option A is 3 days a week, Mon arvo, Wed morn & Fri morn (3 hours, 3.5hrs & 3.5hrs).

Option B is 2 days a week, Tues & Thurs 9.30 till 2.30.

I always thought 2 days a week would be good, but after reading about the 'points to consider when choosing a group' I'm starting to change my mind.

DD used to go to daycare 1 day a week, and her biggest problem was separation anxiety. She hated me leaving, because 'she missed me' and 'wanted to be with me'. She always had fun when I left, but the day before daycare she always got really upset about going. Some of the 'points to consider' was that this group may suit your child if they have had separation difficulties, has not had much experience away from home (well she has, but not without me) and some other things.

What I guess I'm after is your opinions, if your child has been/is going to 4 year old. Do they go twice or three times a week. What are the benefits of the amount of times your child goes a week. Has the separation anxiety settled down?? Were they a 'clingy' child before but have really come out of their shell? Did you have to stay with them alot in the beginning??

Thanks for your help!
    Gorgeous 8yo DD: Adorable 3yo DS

punkbaby is offline Got it back :D
    Winner 2007 –The most helpful member award & The member
    you’d most like to meet in real life award & The newbie of the year award
    Blaze was going three days at his old kinder Tues 1-4pm, Wed 1-4pm and Fridays 9-1pm now his new kinder (his going again next year as well) is Mondays 9-2 and Wednesday 9-2. Personally i love this set up as it gives me 5 hours with just one at home so i can do doctors, shopping etc plus have time to come home and chill for a while, i found that 3 hours wasnt really that long by the time i got home or went shopping etc it was time to get him again.

His shocking separation wise but his settled in really well i still have to stay with him for 20 minutes when i drop him off but now his starting to tell me to leave, not me tell him thats its time for me to leave.

This is just how i feel anyhow i love my mondays and wednesdays its soo much easier having one child to do all my things that i have to do rather than 2 LOL as horrible as it sounds, plus when bubs comes i imagine i will appreciate the 5 hours too as i can at least have a power nap!
    DD10
    DS5
    DD3,
    baby dd 10 months my little boobie monster cloth bum

Thanks PB, I knew I could rely on you to reply
    Quote Originally Posted by punkbaby View Post
    Personally i love this set up as it gives me 5 hours with just one at home so i can do doctors, shopping etc plus have time to come home and chill for a while, i found that 3 hours wasnt really that long by the time i got home or went shopping etc it was time to get him again.
    This is exactly how I felt. I wanted her to go 2 days a week, so I had a 5 hour gap to do things I needed to do (in peace), and in May next year I'll have a newborn so I also thought that would work well. BUT I need to do what's best for my daughter, not for me. I feel selfish putting her in for 2 days a week just because it suits me better, if 3 days would suit her better (not picking on you at all PB, I'm just trying not to put MY needs before hers, if that makes sense).
    Gorgeous 8yo DD: Adorable 3yo DS

punkbaby is offline Got it back :D
    Winner 2007 –The most helpful member award & The member
    you’d most like to meet in real life award & The newbie of the year award
    I know what your saying i felt bad but blaze is shocking after everything his been through, he still wont even play with the other kids at kinder and even though his standoffish when we drop him off, in the mornings when getting ready his so excited and gets dressed packs his back etc so i know that he enjoys it, his happy when i pick him up as well. I guess the 5 hour stints are a good preparation for school thats another good thing too, (i thought about this too)

Can you put her back into daycare for one day a week to see how she goes just as a starting point then maybe stretch the days out to 5 hours and see how she is?

Is there any chance you can change it to 3 days a week if she doesnt settle in?

Blaze hated day care alas the reason i pulled him out but he loves kinder i think kinder is more fun in general hopefully your dd feels the same.

Dont feel selfish for putting your needs first or what suits you better think of it as only having her away for 2 days not 3
    DD10
    DS5
    DD3,
    baby dd 10 months my little boobie monster cloth bum

Both of my older kids have done the 2 full days. At the start of the term they only did half day one week then one day and so on til over a month it was built up to 2 full days.
    I found both kids were dissapointed when they weren't going to kindy, & neither of them had a prob with the full days. They had rest time - early afternoon & we could pick up the kids anytime we wanted not to mention being able to stay as long as we wanted.
    I think with half days they just get there & they have to go home again. This doesn't always sit well with the little ones either.
    Yes the full days at home with no 4 year old is a bonus but with half days you have the whole upsetting babys' routine thing.
    Me - 36 + He - 42
    DSS -17 DD - 11 DS#1- 8 DS#2 -4 year old

My DD1 is in 4yr old kinder on tues & thurs 11am-4pm. DD2 is also at daycare on these days for the same hours. I found that the 2 days of 5 hours were & are really helpful especially cos my youngest was only a few weeks old when kinder started. It gives me time to do housework, shopping, playing with DD3, or just to have a nap/rest. Its better having a 5 hour break then just 3 or 3.5 hrs. I also found that DD3 would get a good nap & i didnt have to wake her. Even though she usually goes down aroung 10am & i have to wake her to take them but then she usually sleeps from 11.10am til around 2-3pm (most kinder days anyway).
    At the beginning of the term they will go for 2 hours the first week, then 3.5 hrs the next week, then the full 5 hours the 3rd week into term.

I've tried getting DD2 into 4yr old kinder next year & its completely full, even at the other kinders around the area. She is on a waiting list of 37 kids at one kinder and 33 kids at another kinder... hope she gets a spot.
    ME (31) DH (35)
    Our little boy. Born sleeping @ 36 weeks.
    Our 4 Munchkins are 10, 9, 6 & 2

My DS1 goes 3 days at 3 or 3.5hr sessions. Our kinder teacher explained it that in a 5hr session, a child may only get 3-3.5hrs of learning in that time as they get tired and can't concentrate whereas in a 3.5hr session, they get the same amount of learning but 3 times a week. I hope that makes sense.

I forgot to mention that my nephew did the 5hr sessions and they had heaps of free time where the shorter sessions seem to be more structured.

My ds has just started 4 y.o kinder.
    He goes monday thru to thurdsay from 9am-11:30am but Fridays they have off. The kindy he goes to also have the option of doing 2 full days from 9am-3pm or 1 full day an but 2 half days. Atm i am leaving the sessions how they are but i think i may start him with doing the one full day and 2 half days after xmas as i want him to settle in first but he loves going and can't wait to get there in the mornings lol.
    I did however just have to change him to morning sessions as he was going from 12:30pm-3pm and it was disrupting the other kids routines big time.
    My ds isn't a clingy kid at all and his first day there he was off playing and forgot to say goodbye to me too lol, i think i will see how he goes and think about doing full days once he has been going a bit more as this is only his third week at kindy.
    Us and them, life is perfect........

omg , my DS turns 4 early next year and i know nothing about kinder options, schooling in Qld, schooling in WA where we will ultimately end up....does he have to go somewhere at 4, at 5, or just at 6? i know nothing in this whole area.......

can anyone recommend me a website so i can learn about all this or do i just get a letter sent in the mail?? what the........
    Sit, be still, and listen,
    because you are drunk
    and we are at
    the edge of the roof - Rumi