Question Starting solids !

OKay so I Kaid will be starting solids in 3 weeks but about 2 months ago he had a bit of rice cereal....

Anyways what food do I start off with baby cereal then what?

Thanks In Advance

I did rice cereal mixed with either pumpkin or sweet potato, then increased the ratio of pumpkin to cereal each week till all pumpkin, then added in say peas, potato, carrots, etc separately and in different combos, then fruits once vegies were established.

Have fun!!!

I started DD on mashed vegies and fruit. Pumpkin, green beans, broccoli, apples and pears etc...

Mixing them with some rice cereal helps at first and make sure he gets some water in between.

Oh exciting times!!

I started my girls out on farex firstly then started mixing fruit in with it which they loved. Then I started using the bottle food because I was scared of making my own in the beggining but soon got over that and started making pumpkin and mashed veges!
    Krissy 23 Karl 27=
    Princess Summer Leigh 02.04.05
    Princess Taliyah Jade 02.11.06
    Brooklyn Candido 01.12.09

We started Sno on pears. Then apples. Now she has had asparagus, avocado, banana, zucchini, squash, rock melon, watermelon, peas with mint, carrots and yogurt. All home made, the best way there is. Tomorrow we'll try sweet potato. She loves it all!
    mama to 2 precious girls.. growing a spring surprise
    Cloth loving, homebirth dedicated, babywearing, non-vaxxing beautiful family.

Quote Originally Posted by MissBehave View Post
    Tomorrow we'll try sweet potato. She loves it all!
    Just be careful with the sweet potato...i found it made my dd constipated.

Another question ladies, If he acts like he is not ready for it can I just wait a while before I start him on it or do they have to be introduced solids at 6 months?

Personally, I'd wait till he's ready, otherwise you're just going to end up upsetting him by trying to force it and he may end up refusing them altogether cos he associates it with being upset. Each time he refuses, wait another few days and try again. Also, he may just not like the taste - try mixing a little pureed apple with the cereal and either EBM or boiled water

Tam-I-Am is offline Winner 2009 - Most Helpful Member Award
    Winner 2007 The most helpful moderator/admin award
    2008 AWARD WINNER - The most polite member
    You can absolutely wait until he's ready - 6 months is an indicator only.

I'd try him on farax mixed with breastmilk first, so it tastes familiar even if the texture's a bit different... Then go from there. Its often recommended that you try savory foods first rather than sweet, because little bubs often get a taste for sweet food and then refuse savory.

After farax, we introduced pumpkin, potato, broccoli, peas etc, and then after a bit apple, pear etc. Avocado's also a good first food - and you don't need to cook it, just mash it.

HTH
    "Making the decision to have a child - it's momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body." -Elizabeth Stone

I tried my DS at about 6 months and he clearly wasn't ready. He would spit the food out or just open his mouth and tip his head so it would fall out. I left it for a week, tried again and he still wasn't ready. He also used to screw his face up like I was feeding him lemons.

I never forced him, just kept offering. That's why the farex is good, it's quick and easy to prepare if you end up having to chuck it out if he's not ready.

Eventually he started to enjoy it about 7.5 months. I started off with farex, pumpkin, sweet potato, carrot, apple and pear and avocado and banana mushed together.

I started giving him one solid feed a day at about 11am for a week or so, then another solid at about 3pm for a week. He was soon having brekky (7am), lunch(11.30am) and dinner(5.30pm). He also has some finger food now for morning/arvo tea.

Good Luck with it all, it's a whole new world...
    Miss J - 2004
    Master K - 2007