Thread: Sunny Coast..?

Default Sunny Coast..?

Hey Girls,

DF Work has offered him a position on the sunny coast, So we are thinking of taking it and moving up there.

Can you please help me out theres a few things I need to know.

1. good/bad places to live. Prices on rentals.
    2. hospital...? Im due to have bubs in Oct everything is all go for the gold coast hospital but its a little far to drive.
    3. Anything that you think i should know.
    4. Most importantly SHOPS

DF lays a termite barrier on houses before and after they are built so he'll be travelling all over the sunny coast. So we are not bound to one area.!

YAWN IM BORED.

tiggles is offline "Mum, how come you have a bad hair day, everyday?"

Default hi luckie_me

We moved to the Sunshine Coast about 15 months ago. Hope this info helps

The really big shopping centre is at Maroochydore, Sunshine Plaza. We live near Noosa which has a smaller shopping centre with Woolies, Big W and specialty shops, small but better than nothing.

I know the public hospital at Nambour has a maternity wing. There is also a private hospital at Nambour called The Selanger that has a maternity wing too.
    Not sure of any maternity hospitals on south Sunshine Coast.
    We rented some acreage in the hinterland when we moved here, $290 for 3 bed house on 10 acres, which is pretty cheap, BUT, 45 mintes drive to anywhere. The local town only had a part time doctor and chemist, no daycare. So if you are looking at living in a rural area, do your homework, which I didnt lol.

Good Luck

Shelley
    DD1 - September 01 "Little Chook"
    DD2 - June 08 "Mini Chook"

We live at the Caloundra end & find it's a great area to live. Central in as much as nothing is very far away. You can get to anything you need usually within 20 minutes - often less. Great shops (good variety) and schools, beaches, restaurants, activities etc. etc. etc. We just love it!!

Rentals anywhere on the Coast are very pricey ATM. We are on a small acreage with a pool, 3Brm house w/ ensuite & we pay $430/wk. (We also have 2 big dogs though, so we're limited to places that will accept them.) Have a look on realestate.com. They always have a good selection. If you're not worried about living near the beach & are happy to live a bit further inland, rentals are cheaper.

I've had both my bubs at Nambour General & found them excellent. I'd have no worries going back there again. If you're at the Southern end of the Coast, you could also have the option of going to Caboolture. If you have Private cover, you can choose from Selangor at Nambour (they are excellent also) and Sunshine Coast Private.

Best of luck with it all!! Look forward to seeing you at one of our meets!
    My Beautiful Babies
    Claire Fae*Oct 05
    Owen Frederick*Mar 07

"Hey you with the pretty face, welcome to the human race."
    - Mr. Blue Sky; ELO

I live at Buderim and find I am about 35 mins to Noosa and 20 mins to Caloundra, 5 mins to Sunny Plaza and 15 mins to Nambour Hosp.

You can get rentals in Buderim from $320-$450.00 depending what side of Buderim it is and the age of house.

Mountain Creek/ Sippy Downs (also known as Chancellor Pk) is also very central. Both with their own local Woolies and only 10-15mins from Sunny Plaza OR Kawana Shopping Centre.

There are too many good places to name!!!

The best thing to do is get a rental alert from Real estate.com.au and they will send all the latest rentals via email every day. It will give you a fairly good indication of rental prices.

Personally I don't think there are any BAD areas as such although there are areas that are a little old and run down. Mainly in the more older established parts of Caloundra, Maroochydore and Nambour. Kind of like some parts of Southport, Labrador and Main beach.

Feel free to ask more info as I get the email alerts regularly and are pretty up with the rental situation.
    Raising Children isn't the only way to go crazy,
    BUT it's certainly the fastest!!!!
    DS 9 yrs
    DS 6yrs
    DD 2yr

Thanks Girls for your help. Im doing alittle homework at the moment, and we are going for a drive up to Caloundra and Caboolture on saturday to check it out! Probably have a drive around the areas see what we can find that we like.

Nambour Hospital, sounds like the go, Will give them a call when I work out whats going on! Hopefully it wont be too much hassle for the to hospitals to communicate...
    YAWN IM BORED.

U will love moving here, there is so much to see and do! And Us bub hub girls are here so what more could u want??
    There are many posts on people moving here thats discusses rentals and hospitals etc so if u go through the old posts then u will be able to find what your after.
    I work at Nambour Hospital and also have had a baby there and they are a great mob in the maternity ward. If the hospital u went through in GC is the Queensland Health then there will be no problems traansfering all your details as they do it all the time!
    Good Luck

Thanks 3KIDS, I've googled sunshine Coast but im not finding what Im looking for so will go thru and have a look at the threads.. Thanks for reminding me
    YAWN IM BORED.