Default Can i ask a dumb question??

I noticed that some of the mums here are tandem b/f- (way to go!!!)- but how do the nutrients match up for each baby ??

I thought the composition of b/m changed as the babies grew?? So how does a newborn get what they need if the milk has changed to provide a 2 year old with their nutriants ??

This is just for intrests sakes - as my little one has changed to bottles!
    Shannan 24

Imogen 10/7/05
    http://community.webshots.com/user/imogensmum
    Check out imy!!!

Hmmm Shannon, well the way it works is like this:

I have got no idea

Will someone let us know?
    ali
    luka - jul 18/05
    felix - mar 16/07

Oh veve- I am ever thankful to have a friend as glorious, gorgeous and just plain adorable as you!

veve is offline Assistant Forum Manager :)
    Winner 2007 - best signature
    Winner 2008/2009/ 2010- naughtiest mod

RG always has to save my butt <3
    Quote Originally Posted by lukaelmo
    Hmmm Shannon, well the way it works is like this:

I have got no idea

Will someone let us know?
    Ali - you doofus... and I thought you were going to fill us all in - I have often wondered the same thing Imogensmum... hopefull someone who KNOWS stuff.. will post soon

Jenny - Forum Manager
    DHJamie DS Jack and DS Alex and Dudley

mwahahahahahahaha

Quote Originally Posted by veve
    Ali - you doofus... and I thought you were going to fill us all in - I have often wondered the same thing Imogensmum... hopefull someone who KNOWS stuff.. will post soon

You wouldn't, perchance, be possibly insinuating that I don't knows me stuff?

Unbeeveveable!
    ali
    luka - jul 18/05
    felix - mar 16/07

Oh veve- I am ever thankful to have a friend as glorious, gorgeous and just plain adorable as you!

I have wondered too.... JanetF....Goosie.....where are you?????
    Jem & Scott
    Zack 4...lego addict.
    Leigh 3...such a dag!

Evie 12 months...our beautiful baby girl, fighting Leukaemia every day.

Not 100% sure.. and someone please correct me if I am wrong..

Once bubs is born, the breastmilk turns back to colostrum (sp?) to nurish the newborn... From what I know the milk doesn't change when the toodler pops on... But you can certainly feed both...
    Mum ♥ Dad
    ♥ Jack 18/05/2005 ♥ ♥ Lucy 31/12/2007 ♥
    ♥ Angel Baby 23/01/2007 ♥
    Photo Signature

http://www.kellymom.com/nursingtwo/f...lkchanges.html

Jacksmum is on the ball. Another thing to consider is that if you are going to tandem nurse you usually have been breastfeeding your older baby (wihtout substitutes)for quiet sometime as it is unusual (not imposible) that you would have you babies feeding together under a year old. So the composition is cattered to the newborn and the toddler just puts up with the changes or weans. Most will put up with it as they love their Boobie Juice and their special times with mum it also helps them feel part of the changes in the family.

Sorry I wan't here to answer you calls earlier~School starting and all

veve is offline Assistant Forum Manager :)
    Winner 2007 - best signature
    Winner 2008/2009/ 2010- naughtiest mod

RG always has to save my butt <3
    LOL - I KNEW someone would come forward with the answer - sorry that Lukaelmo and I were no use (honestly alison... I am STILL disappointed you didn't have the answer )

- it obviously wasn't a silly question though Imogensmum... since few of us actually knew the answer

Jenny - Forum Manager
    DHJamie DS Jack and DS Alex and Dudley

mwahahahahahahaha

Thanks all- and thanks heaps goosie !

I was really confused about that one and everyone (in the real world not my computer buddies) that i asked didn't have the foggiest!

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm- that is really interesting!!!
    Shannan 24

Imogen 10/7/05
    http://community.webshots.com/user/imogensmum
    Check out imy!!!

Goosie and Jacksmum are spot on. My 3.5 year old still has a night time boobie, my milk went at about 12 weeks to milky colostrum, then dried up completely.. to reappear at 28 weeks as colostrum again. DD isn't fussed about the change at all and it has made her more dependant on other things for a drink, and only ask for a boobie when she needs the comfort. If she wants to continue after Thomas is born, that's fine, but he feeds first
    I AM a YUMMY Mummy. 4 kids has left me with a "muffin top" over my designer jeans. Muffins are delicious