View Full Version : Strangest Name You've Heard???
BlessedWithBlue
17-01-2006, 15:50
Just Curious, what is the strangest name you have heard in real life???
littlepickle
17-01-2006, 16:05
definitely Satchell or another one of those celebrity kids names...
In my own life, I think the wierdes name that I ever came accross as a child was "chance" I was only young at the time and had never heard that name before - now its a lot more popular though.
Oh and a friend of mine gave her daughter the middle name "button" but I think it sounds kind of cute!
one of the kids at a school I used to work at was named- :eek: Ziggylion... I have never heard anything more unusual...
The most unusual name I came across at school was a girl called Vasiliki, pronounced Vaslagee.Nice girl too :)
At my son's school they have a Blossom lol
17-01-2006, 18:48
Ok here are a few.........
Princess :p
Zidan :D
Butterfly and Sunshine :) (the last two are sisters)
i once heard of a boy called Cassette.
perrywinkle
17-01-2006, 20:01
Gigi
Ollie
OMG I use to manage a child care centre and that's all I can think of at the moment!!
Mamaduke
17-01-2006, 20:47
Anghared
Chinzia
Ingabold
17-01-2006, 20:50
Xsara for a middle name (pronounced Zara)
I know a Ceridwen (Kerry-dwen). That's the best I can do - pretty boring ... :rolleyes:
littlepickle
17-01-2006, 21:07
I have heard Anghared, apparently it is welsh for "our love" or something like that
17-01-2006, 21:16
I was friends with a Ping Ping during primary school & then a Ping through high school hehe.
You can imagine what they got taunted with LOL !
A little girl named Nixie..
LittleBoysRock
17-01-2006, 22:03
Phesophone or Qinnipilous..... both very odd. :)
I have alway's remember these names because I could not prenounce them when I was little. They were girl's in my grade 4 class (That Was a long long time ago)
Milika and Gollie
Superdad
18-01-2006, 08:25
Dejablue....
Some people must still be high on drugs when they name their child!;)
onabreak
18-01-2006, 09:12
Went to school with a boy called Olz Thruster and his brothers names Drimsby.
Irish Dad
18-01-2006, 09:17
My mate has a son called MoJo, if thats not weird nothing is :D
bubbles28
18-01-2006, 09:18
I went to school with a boy called "Hero"
I know a boy called "Satan"
jacks mum
18-01-2006, 10:19
rastis, i thought it was a dogs name
BelindaL
18-01-2006, 12:06
Ephraim -Boy's name
I quite like it :D
Xanthe, (pronouced Shanthee).
Algernon
18-01-2006, 13:45
I worked with a woman who named her daughter Euphemia and another who named her son Plato.
Satan is an absolute shocker:eek: I think that is very cruel actually.
Yes, Satan is cruel. I know some little boys who COULD be called Satan, but none who actually are :D
I taught a Japanese boy called Seiten (pronounced Satan) and thought it was bad enough when it wasn't even spelt the same.
The worst girl's name was Girly. Some people are just cruel.
Shona
Supermum
18-01-2006, 14:42
I work with a guy called Dag.
I used to work with a fellow who named his daughter Excel Star.
The Satan thing is horrible. I've called my son the Prince of Darkness on a few occasions but certainly not on his birth certificate!
Was watching a tv show today,and a girls name (her real life name) was ... ITSY!!!
I kid you not! :eek:
BlessedWithBlue
18-01-2006, 15:39
OMG lmao at these names:eek: Satan is just cruel:( poor kid.
Df is Filipino and there's some strange ones, his uncle is Boy:eek: there's more but my brain isn't switched on today 'cause ods is at grandma's and yds is sleeping:D
Df works with a girl called Ybin pron Ee-Bin and a guy called Aras
18-01-2006, 17:03
I know a lady who's name is IBTIHAJ (not sure of the spelling) From memory i think it means happy or joy in Arabic. Most of my friends growing up were Lebanese, Turkish, etc so there were many names that are considered strange to people.
RB
Foxymoron
18-01-2006, 19:32
Seven.... for a boy :eek:
Worm'sMum
18-01-2006, 20:16
Some parents are so cruel!
There was a boy at school called puhdon - not sure of the spelling but it was pronounced pooed-on his friends called him poohy!
Also celebrities go for some good ones - Frank Zappa named one of his Moon Unit!! Now that's just cruel!
I went to school with a boy called "Hero"
I thought that was a girls name - Shakespear isn't it from Much Ado about Nothing (I sort of like it, but wouldn't do it to a baby)
Oh and ID
Still love the "I've lost my MoJo" mental pic :D
jillaroo
18-01-2006, 23:10
I know a family whose girls are called:
Arabella (fine!)
Columbine
Calypso
Horatia
Dad's a doctor and mum's very well read. All names have to do with literature.
I'm a primary teacher so I've heard some shockers ... Harley Davis, Ben Overs (sounds like bend over), Carrington, Jamanda, Harmony & Melody (sisters), plus my friend's great-aunts are called Precious (christened name) and .... the other name escapes me, but it's similar to Precious.
18-01-2006, 23:44
i knew an asian girl when i was younger and her name was really long but it was weird cant remember it but it started with ON later changed her name to angel LOL.
A girl at schools name was Agnuishka pronounced (ag-nish-ka).
heard more but cant remember the names.
Tan-mumof3
25-01-2006, 16:13
i went to school with a guy called phouck. And also twins Thien (pronounced Tim) and his twin brother was Tam. My cousin also called her son Khreed. thought that was a bit odd :confused:
Thats all i can remember.
kiwibird27
25-01-2006, 16:28
It's the reasons for naming that freak me out - like named after where they were concieved - Paris, Holden, Sand
...... or an object, apple, circle (yes I know a circle!!!!)
Was watching a tv show today,and a girls name (her real life name) was ... ITSY!!!
I kid you not! :eek:
Did she play the banjo and widdle wood on the front porch?
Df works with a girl called Ybin pron Ee-Bin and a guy called Aras
Ybin is Arabic for "Son-of"
Anyway here's a few I've known over the years:
- Ben Larden (yes that IS his real name)
- A friend called her son Ocean
- Frank Zappa's kids Dweezil and Moon Unit
- An old teacher who's first name was D|ck and middle name Leslie
- A guy I knew who's name was Slobodan which he shortened to Bobby
- Cher's daughter Chastity
- Gaylord aka Greg (meet the fockers :lol: )
- Sri Lankan cricketer Warnakulasuriya Patabendige Ushantha Joseph Chaminda Vaas
- An old g/friend from year 7, called Zekie aka Zekie the Geekie
- A former school mate Enterprise Spock Kirk
- Collin Woods and his sister Maggie Woods (AFL fans would get it)
- Gecko Bilby Jones (A kid I played cricket with)
I know a family whose girls are called:
Arabella (fine!)
Columbine
Calypso
Horatia
Dad's a doctor and mum's very well read. All names have to do with literature.
I'm a primary teacher so I've heard some shockers ... Harley Davis, Ben Overs (sounds like bend over), Carrington, Jamanda, Harmony & Melody (sisters), plus my friend's great-aunts are called Precious (christened name) and .... the other name escapes me, but it's similar to Precious.
Why do you have to prove you are well read by giving your kids stupid names!!!
There was a baby in my mothers group called Rhythm!!
Was she named after the contraceptive method that failed and resulted in her birth?:D :p :D
whatwasithinking
26-01-2006, 15:11
Colt - boys name - after the gun not horse
I know a girl named 'Snookums', yup thats her actual name not a nickname:eek:
sonlou73
27-01-2006, 09:06
On a documentary the other night there was a girl called Gorgeous.
An adult changed her name to
Sky Blue Pink
(she was a client - I was working in Probation at the time say no more;) )
mummy sam
27-01-2006, 10:26
when i was growing uo i had friends called China and isis pronounced iceis
and the other day i heard of sisters eden and opal(oh shes a little gem) ha ha
oh and i have a long time friend harley but i guess thats not that weird these days
oh and one of my best friends named her son Kion, but i've grown to like it
Bronte'sMum
27-01-2006, 10:42
Mine are fairly tame compared to some of those already posted...
Before Bronte came along I worked with young children and heard some shockers.
Prince and princess ( brother and sister) Mum was often very psychotic and thought she was pregnant - planned to call her next child queenie ( and she thought she was having a boy). Luckily she wasn't pregnant and also recovered from the psychosis..
Troylene - wanted a boy but when she popped out as a girl they just adapted their boy's name!
Sweetheart
Luke skywalker
Anatomic Superstar
I think Bronte's quite run of the mill in comparison!
ive given my kids different names because i like to b different.
my eldest son is Zaiah pronounced zay-ah.
Tanesha although ive heard it a bit now shes 6
and my little fella Kynan 13 mths which is a welsh name
now if i have a 4th its going to be tricky as it was really hard to name my 3rd as it had to be different.
although i had Kiece but i was told no
my sil girls names are Aiolani and Chenoa.
moonblossom
27-01-2006, 16:08
Z yup just plain Z
couldnt believe it, but its amazing how easy you get used to it.
uptheduff
27-01-2006, 16:52
well, my name's wednesday
Some people think that's wierd! :D
27-01-2006, 16:59
well, my name's wednesday
Some people think that's wierd! :D
We were considering Wednesday :eek: Addams family fans :o I think its cute. No different to April, May etc IMHO
RB
Z yup just plain Z
couldnt believe it, but its amazing how easy you get used to it.
Zee or Zed?
hehe
my sister has a friend at school named "Dejeralina"::rolleyes:
I went to school with a girl called Bikarimi - Bic - a - rim-ee
I worked with a girl called Dagmar
My pops name was Denzil
My neices name is Nivana
:eek:
I have a friend who didn't want her child named the same as any other. So she named him Tiest (or Teist... I can't remember) apparently, when born at least, he was the only one with that name registered in Australia.
My DP wants to name our next boy ( if we have another one) Donte'e, im not very fused on this name hehehe :p
Reminds me of Dante a la Bold and the Beautiful. Tell DH that - it'll cure him :D
while teaching in hong kong and china i had some students with crazy names, i had a buzz lightyear( his mothers name was snow white), lots of eunice's and fanny's, one boy called himself window but we told his parents they should change it, aahh there was so many that even the odd ones ended up seeming normal!!
jas
To infinity & beyond lol hehehe :p
busylizzy
27-01-2006, 23:55
I worked with a guy called Steel and in highschool my best friend's cousins were called - get this - Romeo and Juliette :eek: and they were brother and sister! Don't know what their parents were thinking :o ?
There is this woman who went to Centrelink one day and as she was getting asked questions by the interviewer it came about that he asked her about her 10 kids name's.
She says "Their names are Wayne, Wayne, Wayne, Wayne, Wayne, Wayne, Wayne, Wayne, Wayne and Wayne."
He says"How do you get them to do stuff for you?"
She says "Well I just call out Wayne clean your room and they all clean their rooms for example."
He says "What do you do if you want one in particular to come and give you a cuddle?"
She says "Well I just call them by their last name!"
Sorry ladies, I couldn't resist :p
28-01-2006, 00:47
ROFLMAO thats a good one SH3LBY thanks for that youve made my day hehe LOL!!
Was she named after the contraceptive method that failed and resulted in her birth?:D :p :D
Actually it was a HE. Very hippie parents.
Thanks for that Meshan
I realised after I posted that I'd assumed it was a girl (even though you didn't give any clues). I guess we can safely say I am not psychic :D .
subigirl
30-01-2006, 14:44
I had a friend in school who was from latvia and her name was Liesma Pronounced lee-ez-mar)
another who was from poland and her name was Petra
Another (guy) frfom germany and his name was Hiemo. (pronounced high-mow)
busylizzy
30-01-2006, 19:57
I'm going to be really careful what I call my next baby. I don't want them to end up on a thread like this :eek: !
ok here is a shocker... in an email i received (an article from an English newspaper) a couple called their child (innocently) DREW PEACOCK...now say it faster...
...Droopy C**K. They thought it was innocent enough until the dad put it into a search engine to see if there were any famous namesakes out there with the same, only it came up Droopy C**k!!! (the kid was a couple of weeks old by now) and now at work the dad's workmates say "here comes droopy's dad" poor kid and of all he's a BOY!!
(imagine how that'll come over in the playground!!)
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
I know a Ceridwen (Kerry-dwen). That's the best I can do - pretty boring ... :rolleyes:
Me too! Only the spelling for this girl is Ceridwyn. Apparently it is a Welsh name. I quite like it actually. I have come across a couple of others too. :)
jarrahsmumma
23-02-2006, 22:38
My english teacher had a son called... Jango.
My aunts first boyfriend was called Ivor Wiggley. :rolleyes:
I know someone with a child called Lint.
MumsieMel
24-02-2006, 07:08
LOL some of these are a cack!!
Sh3lby, loved it!! :)
I knew of a girl called Fatima!!!!!!! :eek:
What are some people thinking???
Im all for the unusual, just not the ridiculous! ;)
It depends what culture they are from.
I'm sure that some of our most popular names mean something like "Fart" in somebodys language somewhere in the world :laughing:
I worked as a nanny in London quite a few years ago and one of the boys I looked after his name was Napper from a family decendent his friends names were cosmo and Leo.
i heard somebody calling out to their daughter yesterday her name was Rhapsody
CrazyBeautiful
24-02-2006, 14:04
MumsieMel, Fatima is an Islamic Arabic name, which is believe it or not actually quite popular in the Middle East. I know what you mean though, it sounds dreadful in our language.
I know a little girl called Symphony.
jarrahsmumma
24-02-2006, 22:04
Creation Koala
Daintree and Chaplian (brothers) though i like Daintree but definatley an unusual name
busylizzy
26-02-2006, 21:56
ok here is a shocker... in an email i received (an article from an English newspaper) a couple called their child (innocently) DREW PEACOCK...now say it faster...
...Droopy C**K. They thought it was innocent enough until the dad put it into a search engine to see if there were any famous namesakes out there with the same, only it came up Droopy C**k!!! (the kid was a couple of weeks old by now) and now at work the dad's workmates say "here comes droopy's dad" poor kid and of all he's a BOY!!
BiNdi86 - that is a crack up:laughing:
Liz.
Frazzled
26-02-2006, 22:01
I went to school with a boy called Habib Boohabib and a girl called Poojah...
rockabye
26-02-2006, 22:03
this one is a friend of mines nephew
iehvear - pronounced eafer similar to eather
nephew of Aislinn - pron ashlyn
nephew of Eimmear - pron eama
I can't even spell his mums name but its pronounce neve but it doesn't have a v and its got an M in it somewhere. They are all Irish names.
That would be Niamh - I think there is a Princess Niamh on here somehere (and also one of my favourite names)
I have never heard of Iehvear though.
misskittyfantastico
26-02-2006, 22:40
I'm from Polish, Russian and Italian descent so have heard a number of names that are undoubtably thought of as strange here.
Zbigniew (he was nicknamed John at school)
Wladislaw
Agnieshka
Weislawa
Fortunato
I could go on and on...I love them all though. I guess it's what you're used to:)
2SPUNKRATZ
01-03-2006, 15:09
my cousin has 9 kids, some wierd some normal.
natasha
daniel
DUSTY LEE
ethan
BUCK TYSON
AMBER SKY
shannon tulah
BROCK KYLE LEE say it fast, its like broccoli
robert
kellbell20
04-03-2006, 15:11
i went to school with someone called MESHAK MANGOES. (pronounced me-shack)
He was a surfie. He was born in a mango orchard in Queensland somewhere! He used to get heaps from the guys at school...But the girls...hmmm...they thought it was great! Especially his girlfriend, who came to school and said " Meshak mangoes". it was rather...unusual...! But he was a pretty opular guy at school...not to say good looking....:smiliedance:
And then theres actress Shannyn Sossaman who named her son Audio Science. What celebrities wouldnt do to be in the spotlight!!!! Freaky..... :p
charlach
04-03-2006, 15:13
I once heard a person called "Cadbury"
jarrahsmumma
04-03-2006, 15:14
Dunno if it has already been said, but Frank Zappa has a daughter named Moon Unit.:smiliedance:
Michael's mummy
04-03-2006, 15:41
I know a little boy whose name is xaphyan. Pro zafen
ButterflyKisses
04-03-2006, 16:20
(imagine how that'll come over in the playground!!)
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:I think you're having us on - LOL.
Just goes to show you you should not only be careful with what names you chose for your kids but you should also practice saying any names intended really fast so you don't end up like poor old Droopy....:laughing:
Asian lady called tammy pon
I kid you not!!!
melfunction
04-03-2006, 16:52
O&G'sMum you just reminded me.....
I once had a vietnamese patient. Her first name was Hy. Wouldn't have so bad if her last name wasn't Mihn.......:eek:
My younger sister went to school with some kids that had just moved to Aus from China. Not speaking much English, and having Chinese names, their parents named them, as their Aus names,
Pepsi, Cola and Fanta!!!! :laughing:
I honestly kid you not!! I was ROFLMAO when she told me, and did not believe her until I saw it in the school mag!!!
Briannabear
11-03-2006, 11:11
You wanna see bad names check out this site! :eek:
http://www.notwithoutmyhandbag.com/babynames/ (http://www.notwithoutmyhandbag.com/babynames/)
Sucu-nthia nn Cun-thia
(imagine no hyphens just added them so I could write the proper words)
It was the name of a friends girlfriend. She was Malay or something.
We all had a good chuckle over that one :laughing: