View Full Version : 2-2.5 year gap?

ButterflyMama
12-06-2007, 09:35
DH and I decided last night that we'll start TTC #2 around March '09.. :smiliedance:

This means, if we conceive first go, Scarlett will be about 2 years and 7 months when baby number 2 is born..

Does anyone else have this age gap? What did you like about it? What didn't you like about it?

Thanks everyone..

Jessie

12-06-2007, 10:50
Yup thats our gap:thumbsup:

Loved experiencing the pregnancy through my sons eyes, he was very keen to learn about what was happening and loved talking/kissing/rubbing my growing belly

Loved the fact he TT himself (days not nights) just before bubs arrived, helped me heaps!

Love his connection to his lil sis, his eyes light up when he looks at her and his old enough to be really gentle with her and loving

Loved the fact he is slightly more independant and so is able to do some things solo leaving me with time to settle bubs/ bf etc

Dislike:

nothing really, our son has really taken to being a big brother and although it took me some adjusting to having two kidlets its been great as bubs is an:angel: and feeds and sleeps brillantly shes no trouble at all!

Gd luck with making no2 in 2009:D

kaybee
05-07-2007, 16:05
Hi there is exactly 2.5 yrs between my brother and myself and I think it's a great gap! We didin't get on when we were teenagers but most siblings don't, but when we were little we were still able to play together and I loved having a little brother to help Mum look after. As adults we are very close. I remember Mum saying it was good as I was TT by the time he arrived too, so only one lot of nappies to worry about.

Good luck.

Mamaduke
05-07-2007, 16:10
There is 2yrs 9mths between Jesse and Lucas and Jesse was an absolute angel throughout a terrible pregnancy...and a fantastic big brother, although I must say, that changed once Lucas was able to make his own decisions!!
On the other hand, I really don't know how Lucas will cope when this baby comes along - he'll be 3.5 yrs old...completely different child though so it just goes to show every child is different.
There is 4 years gap between my brother and I (I'm the oldest) and I distinctly remember the hatred that I felt for him when he was born...my nose was definately out of joint after 'having the floor' for 4 years to myself. Also, I was never into dolls &/or babies when I was a child so that's probably another reason I wanted nothing to do with him.
I think it differs with each child but it does seem to be the easiest age gap to 'add another one to the mix'!

05-07-2007, 23:31
Theres 2 y 7 month between Zachariah and Isobella.. he was developmentally delayed at that age though and so the gap seemed quite a bit smaller.

It was a brilliant gap though, he was more independant and able to entertain himself. He didnt get jealous, at ALL of isobella which was brilliant. He was just at the right stage to show some interest in her without driving me crazy with touching her etc. It was like 'yep great theres a baby in the house.. now where are my toys?' hehehe :D

Angel333
06-07-2007, 15:48
When I have this bub in february 2008 there will be exactly 3 years between my babies. I think it will be great.

sasa
06-07-2007, 15:51
Hey Jessie,

When bubba no.2 is born in November there will be exactly 2 years and 6 months between our girls.. We always wanted a 2.5 year age gap and managed to hit it almost to the day :laughing:

So doesn't help now but I will let you know how it goes in the future :D

06-07-2007, 23:36
Hayley and Skye are 2 and a half years apart, so far its been ok, Hayley loves her sister (for now anyway) the cons with us is that Hayley is still in nappies (only at night though) and she is still somewhat a baby. I think when Skye starts getting mobile her and Hayley might fight (well hopefully not). I hope they can be close to each other.

kelpat
06-07-2007, 23:42
I have 2.5 years between my last 2 and thought it was a great gap. Before my last one I had a 6 year gap and that was dificult. Trying to get a 6 year old settled into grade 1 while carting a newborn with me every where. Then when Kitty(my fifth) was born my forth was nearly 3 and a great help. then by the time he was ready to start school Kitty was walking and made it alot easier.

Jenko
07-07-2007, 08:01
When bubba no.2 is born in November there will be exactly 2 years and 6 months between our girls.. We always wanted a 2.5 year age gap and managed to hit it almost to the day :laughing:

Same here. We were 2 days off it being 2.5 years exactly. :laughing:

Pros
-DD is TT
-She is more independant, could entertain herself whilst I settle bubs.
-I have just started her at Kindy, so I get 2 days a week with bubs alone.
-She can help me...grab a nappy, grab a bib etc
-She loves her baby bro

Cons
-She can be very demanding and loves waking him up (i guess that's part of being a 2yr old)
-Sometimes she cuddles him so tight, i think she's gonna squash him.
-She gets a bit jealous sometimes, especially when DS is with daddy, she's a real daddy's girl

I think the cons come down to her personality. Everyone would have different cons depending on the older childs nature.

I love this age gap. Wouldn't want it any other way and definitely wouldn't have wanted it any closer.