View Full Version : Elimination Communication, Natural Infant Hygiene

no1pearl
10-06-2007, 21:31
So, i'm into this, but haven't seen much (anything) here - and i'm curious as to the stats on it. Vote away!...

unhindered
10-06-2007, 21:46
Yep we have been doing elimination communication with dd2 since birth and she is now strong enough to sit on the potty with support and she loves it. She will hold on until she is on the potty hates having a nappy on. Works great for us and will be ECing furture children from birth too.

Dd1 has been out of nappies for a few months now and will use the potty if she cant make it to the toilet in time, so sometimes we have a potty que:laughing:

no1pearl
10-06-2007, 22:19
cool Unhindered!
I'm not brave enough for 'full time' ec yet, though we have had dry nakey butt nights!

(Congrats on your beautiful birthing!)

11-06-2007, 00:06
I am very interested in EC. I looked into it at the same time as modern cloth nappies when bub was 8 mths. He is now 19mths.
I have a lot of trouble seeing his cues. He just gives a look! So no grunting to speak of. Today he was in undies for a few hours and I watched him intently as I was expecting something! I could see he was trying to hold on (he usually doesn't) He kept taking his undies down and I would ask him if he needed to go. Then he would pull them back up. Then he turned around when I wasn't looking and I saw a drip....Rushed him to the toilet and then put him in a nappy and he finished *sigh*
I like him being nappy free when at home. I hate nappies atm.

no1pearl
12-06-2007, 21:00
kymmy - inwym, :rolleyes: thats what many of the signs from 4m dd are, just a look, a facial, a kick, it is consuming, so part time works for us, tho we always change as soon as shes wet so she doesnt get used to it. :no:
hm 8 months is out of my league! i think trying the common times - a few minutes after wake up, and after meals etc. these times that u know something must be coming, run the tap, take a deep sigh so he relaxes, sometimes my dd pees if i look away, i kind of stare near her, a bit like the gaze she does as she pees!

do you do classic hold or does he sit on a potty?

nosey - sorry

i heard a lady say she put bub on potty in bahroom when bath was being run... that way theres water flowing and he has heaps of time to do something, and no pees (or less) IN the bath.

anyway, do it how it works 4 u, i think theres a yahoo group for late starters or something, maybe reading there can help?
:ecomcity: :ecomcity:

13-06-2007, 15:57
Will have to look at the late starters group. Thanks :thumbsup:

He sits on the toilet now with a child seat. I think he enjoys the novelty of it but not much success. I try the tap thing but it doesn't work. Cheeky thing!
It doesn't help he is very unpredictable.

dragonflyblu
13-06-2007, 22:21
how are the nights for those who do nights. I do pt during the day, but lately it has been hard to see her cues... and if i put her o the toilet she cries. So I lay her down on some terry flats. day sleeps are bare bum on terry flats when I can, but it is so cold at the moment....

djkinks
14-06-2007, 16:05
My DD always poos when she is being fed... how would nappy free work then?? I am keen to try but I'm not sure how I would when she always does it then....

Pixie
14-06-2007, 16:34
Yep we do it part time, my DD now walks up to the potty and goes "pishhhhhhh" and squats or if she is to busy watching her bath run she stands in it and wees:rolleyes: lurvely I know lol we started when she was 6 months and we would have 2 hours nappy free but things got hetic with emigrating so we stopped now she is 14 months we are getting into it again I want her out of nappies! At least at home!

no1pearl
15-06-2007, 12:38
how are the nights for those who do nights. I do pt during the day, but lately it has been hard to see her cues... and if i put her o the toilet she cries. So I lay her down on some terry flats. day sleeps are bare bum on terry flats when I can, but it is so cold at the moment....

nights are good - somehow, i find MORE success when i put a nappy on than when i leave her nakey! murphys law is it?!
we co-sleep, so normally everytime she wakes, it'll be for a wee then a drink to get back to sleep. Just sometimes i don't wake up until it's over and the wriggles are from her being uncomfy in the wet spot!! lol

- hey... you said cold... is the loo seat too cold?
just a thought!:fingerscrossed:

maiko
25-06-2007, 20:33
I read about EC awhile ago and love the idea. I'll definitely give it a go once we have a bub. Not having researched it too much, how do you cope in winter? Would you still let bub go bare bum?

My DD always poos when she is being fed... how would nappy free work then?? I am keen to try but I'm not sure how I would when she always does it then....

(From the Diaper Free website)

How can I use the method if my baby poops or pees during nursing?

This is one the easiest ways to practice Natural Infant Hygiene, because the baby has a very reliable and clear timing pattern. Simply have a small potty, bucket or bowl to hold on your lap, between your thighs, or beside you on the couch or bed that the baby can eliminate into while you nurse. The baby goes into the receptacle rather than in a diaper.

Alternately, you can have a diaper or absorbent cloth on your lap under the baby. Make the cueing sound as soon as you notice your baby going so she learns to associate this "language" with elimination.

Lillynix
09-07-2007, 14:32
I know what EC is, i've done a fair bit of reading on it in the past as I was interested to learn what it's all about and how it works.

Although I give a HUGE :thumbsup: to those of you wo are giving it a go. I for one couldn't do it. mainly for selfish reasons LoL

I like being able to have DD on the floor playing while I get my housework done without checking on her every 5seconds to see if she needs to pee/poop (i'd be paranoid i'd miss it otherwise LoL) that and I have monitored her during nappy free time, and to be honest, I don't think my DD has any signs she needs to pee/poop! She doesn't grunt, she doesn't grimmace or pull any kind of face, she doesn't even stop what she's doing, she'll just go ahead and pee no matter what she's doing! Plus we don't co-sleep or anything, DD is in her own room, so i'd have no chance of doing it overnight.

I don't have the time or the patience to perservere with something like this. Perhaps if I had someone here with me to help out, but i'd find it all too much on my own. And with #2 on the way, I just can't see it happening!

So yep, :thumbsup: to those of you giving it a shot, I admire your dedication! But for us, i'll just be following DD's lead when it comes to TT :)

Kittyfaye
17-07-2007, 03:57
Yep...we have been ECing part-time since DD was 10 weeks old. She is now almost 8 months and although we are still only part-time I have only ever had to change less than 10 pooey nappies since we began this (a few when she was teething and a couple when she was sick).

DD won't use the potty though...she flat out refuses, so she goes on the toilet...sits by herself on a padded seat with us nearby to make sure she doesn't fall. We used to use the classic hold when she was little but soon needed an alternative when she got too heavy.

When I first heard of Elimination Communication (on a current affairs program) I was mortified...it was portrayed as messy and dirty with footage of the child standing in poo which was smeared everywhere. :eek: An article a read after DD was born described it very differently and I am so glad I decided to try it out. I have not yet encountered one of those messy scenes and actually find it much cleaner than normal nappying...it just flushes away and a quick wipe and all clean. I will be doing the same with my next bub/s. Wish I was brave enough to go full-time though...I live in a small community and still worry about what others might say, so we use nappies when out...but while all my friends are changing pooey nappies at mothers group, lucky me has only had to deal with wet ones. :smiliedance:

Would love to hear more from others who EC.

no1pearl
09-08-2007, 03:06
[quote=xxxDragonFlyxxx;1677235]I like being able to have DD on the floor playing while I get my housework done without checking on her every 5seconds to see if she needs to pee/poop (i'd be paranoid i'd miss it otherwise LoL) ...
...I don't have the time or the patience to perservere with something like this. Perhaps if I had someone here with me to help out, but i'd find it all too much on my own. And with #2 on the way, I just can't see it happening!
/quote]

EC is totally flexible, i you have something you have 2 do, nappy back-up is fine, it's warm here so i tend to nappy the area instead of nappying her!
i was only thinking the other day about what 2 do if there were 2 chn, and i read a post elsewhere about 3rd child out of nappies b4 2nd chld because he/she was offered loo everytime 1st child went 2 loo and/or when child2 needed a change!!

Congrats kittyfaye, were almost 6mo and since about 2mo have had 4 poos not in potty place! DD has`sat on a potty since 4mo(ish), first with our support now we just watch! Those poos not in potty place are scary, i cant imagine putting that smell into the rubbish bin or washing it out of fabric every time! its so good we can just tip it down the loo and give a little wipe - no scraping it off the cheeks and back, or getting it out her labia!

I LOVE EC!! :thumbsup:

ok so my house isnt the most spotless, but its hygenically clean enough, bubs bum is clean 2, and i reckon we have heaps good communication too, because i make time to 'listen' and learn from her...
anyway thats my bit 4 a while!

ciao!

no1pearl
09-08-2007, 03:19
I read about EC awhile ago and love the idea. I'll definitely give it a go once we have a bub. Not having researched it too much, how do you cope in winter? Would you still let bub go bare bum?

hi, its warm 4 us atm, well always really, but tracksuit pants are good - easy to get down and up, (and soak some up before it hits the floor!)
Also there are tracky pants available on the net which have a split in the seam between the legs so instead of pulling the pants down, as you hold the bub in position, the pants open (with some help i'd say - i havent tried them yet) up, letting the business out kepping the bulk of bub still warm!
somewhere i saw them was called theecstore .

good luck - there are yhoo groups on ec / NIH too you might be interested in.