View Full Version : Are we all ok?
Just thought i'd pop in and see if everyone is ok. I live right in the CBD of newcastle and it was pretty hectic last night. We lost our roof ans my room got a bit flooded.
My parents are in Paterson so i was pretty worried about them, but they are ok. Is there anyone on the banks of the hunter, williams or paterson river?
:hugs: to all...the storms meant to come back at about 3pm today....shackle down!
Wow! What a night! We are in the process of moving to Newcastle - my husband is already up there and the kids and I will follow shortly.
He said it was like a war zone last night. :gloomy: First the car he was in with a friend (a 4wd) started floating, then stalled and they abandoned it - then when he drove his car home he got hit by a flying billboard which ripped off his wipers and smashed the windscreen!
Luckily he's ok, could have been much worse!
Hope its not an omen! We are all quite excited about moving....
I'm also crossing my fingers that no fuel leaks out of that tanker and spoils those gorgeous beaches.
Hope everyone up there is staying safe - guess its a good excuse to stay inside and cuddle up!
Cheers and good luck! :wave:
punkbaby
09-06-2007, 09:15
I am not near you guys but sending you some luck! Hope your move goes well wennos
SpecialMumma
09-06-2007, 13:30
houses near me have been flooded really heavily. completely distroyed. 20 or more. Theres furniture hanging from trees everywhere. cars broken or flipped. caravans washed down the streams. It came through here with a FORCE.
Its terrible. So many people here have nowhere to go atm and now possibly more storms!
Its just carnage everywhere.
Oh please stop this weather.
Wallalong, where Mrs J lives is completely flooded in and water is rising. My cousin is there atm. I cant get in contact with Mrs J but Im going to keep trying!!
ETA: Mrs J is okay! :)
Ange, we're ok...as you know! If things get too rough just run down the street and you can bunk up here. We seriously heard nothing last night.
King St looks like a disaster area. We drove through there this morning (not realising how bad things were). It's awful! Civic Park is destroyed.
09-06-2007, 13:44
Guys, I'm completey ****ting myself. I live like ON the banks of the Hunter. As in there is the river, the road, then me.
In the 1955 flood, my street was flooded and most the houses got washed away. In my house the water apparently reached just about the ceiling.
I've just had a look at the river and it's REALLY high. I'm really scared. Our house and contents doesn't cover floods as we are in a flood zone and it's our own stupid fault. What do I do? How will I know if we need to get stuff out?
What do I take? All my books, my rugs, I'd be devastated if they were ruined....:gloomy:
SpecialMumma
09-06-2007, 13:47
Zoe, do you have somewhere to go?
Come here if you want too! Pack the car with as much as u can and bring it to my place if you want.
09-06-2007, 13:55
As long as we can get there in time, we can get to my parents house - they only live just up the road from us, but their house is on higher ground. We'll be stuck there, that's all, lol!!
The art gallery is packing up all paintings into cars
i'll go take a photos of the river, i'll be back
If your worried, get out...there is more rain coming! Im glad you have somewhere to go. Get out sooner rather than later though.
Im getting a bit nervous about the next lot of wind...heres hoping it passes.
Carmen, all that tin isnt from my roof, but the theatre....some of it further up is from our place. The news crew took footage of us moving our stuff...hahaha.
The idiots next door have an investment property. They turned up to remove our roof from their front yard and there was like 7 of them, makjing the yard pretty....no one lives there, and there are ppl in our street who really need help. the owners just buggered off after they tidied.....im so angry about it. the selfishness of people:mad:
punkbaby
09-06-2007, 14:30
The idiots next door have an investment property. They turned up to remove our roof from their front yard and there was like 7 of them, makjing the yard pretty....no one lives there, and there are ppl in our street who really need help. the owners just buggered off after they tidied.....im so angry about it. the selfishness of people:mad:
That would make me furious too times like these everyone should all band together
studyingECS
09-06-2007, 14:34
hi ladies
i just flew to new castle yesterday we had to sit on the plane for 2 and a half hours after we landed because it was too dangerous to let us out.
right now i am stuck in my nanas house because it is flooded all around her house.
i hope everyone is ok.
kate
Phin and anyone else for that matter.... you're more than welcome here if you get stuck!
SpecialMumma
09-06-2007, 14:58
Im with you there Karrie.
Our house is open also! Anyone is welcome if you need somewheere to go!
09-06-2007, 15:35
the river is really high.
the SES aren't sure whether to evacuate or not, but for now, they've advised us to start putting things up high. i've put all my rugs on the dining table etc... incase water gets in on the floor. now i'm doing a mad rush of tidying up to get everything off the floor because if it does flood i don't want my knickers floating down the main street:eek:
09-06-2007, 15:43
this is my street in the '55 flood http://text.www.ses.nsw.gov.au/imagegallery/5478/LowResImage/Maitland_1955_Mt_Pleasant_street_small.jpg
Aquamarine
09-06-2007, 15:48
this is my street in the '55 flood http://text.www.ses.nsw.gov.au/imagegallery/5478/LowResImage/Maitland_1955_Mt_Pleasant_street_small.jpg
Wow! I hope all is ok for you.
Your street doesn't have much luck with floods does it.
I hope you are all safe and well up there.
09-06-2007, 15:49
OMG...:hugs:
phin I hope your house stays OK.
we are blocked in now. not getting out. the water is rising. No home phone and no reception.
the river is really high.
the SES aren't sure whether to evacuate or not, but for now, they've advised us to start putting things up high. i've put all my rugs on the dining table etc... incase water gets in on the floor. now i'm doing a mad rush of tidying up to get everything off the floor because if it does flood i don't want my knickers floating down the main street:eek:
Our town has been evacuated. My sis house is gone. It use to be my mums. It where I grew up :(
I hope you all stay safe:hugs:
SpecialMumma
09-06-2007, 16:26
oh rian. Sending big hugs.
Im so sorry hunnie
Aquamarine
09-06-2007, 16:26
Our town has been evacuated. My sis house is gone. It use to be my mums. It where I grew up :(
Oh Dear, I really hope you are all ok.
So sorry to hear about your family home.
Ana Gram
09-06-2007, 16:27
Phin, please be careful!
u there zoe? talk to me hun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
09-06-2007, 16:31
thanks chelle and and m2m4.
rian, i'm sorry.... but y our sis and her family are safe?
i'm just uploading some photos i took, i'll show you in a sec when they are done.
someone on the radio said the levels have stopped rising, so that's good. although earlier they said they'll peak in 24 hours, so who knows!
PunkyDiva
09-06-2007, 16:32
:fingerscrossed: you and your families are all ok. :hugs:
Our floods are set to worsen in singo and maitland.
We just went and checked the levels. It is gone. Most of the town are gone :(
Oh Gumby,
So sorry to hear, are you safe where you are?
Oh Rian..... how awful....
I was just in tears watching the news.... makes it so much more real to see places I know well under water.... I can't imagine how scared my lil sis was last night.... I feel horrible that she had to go through it alone.... :crying:
The rain has just reared its ugly head again here... and the yard is filling up again, but nothing like it was last night.....
I have no idea wot to do. Brendan is back with my bil. I am scared of wot they will say.
millymoo
09-06-2007, 17:32
:hugs:Good luck tonight girls...thinking of you all up in Maitland and Singleton especially.
It has been a mad last 24-36 hours. Ican`t stop watching the news.
I heard on NBn that the Hunter River is set to break banks around Midnight or early hours of the morning and that Sing and Maitland are mostly being evacuated. Are you still both at home Zoe and Rian?
H x
Pobblebonk
09-06-2007, 17:44
Ooooo I hope everyone is okay.....
09-06-2007, 17:47
I hope that everyone is ok,what a horrible thing to go through :(
BIG hugs
09-06-2007, 18:26
This is from the Buerau of Meterology.
I'm at the Belmore Bridge..... I don't know what to do.
My mum just rang and said to pack some stuff and drive to her house, but the water on the way to her house is about 1m deep and it's pitch dark outside... I don't want to drive thru that.
MODERATE TO MAJOR FLOOD WARNING
FOR THE HUNTER RIVER Downstream of DENMAN
Issued at 4:46pm on Saturday the 9th of June 2007 Flood Warning Number : 7
Rainfall has now eased across the valley, with very little rainfall recorded between 6am and 3pm this afternoon.
The main flood peak in the Hunter River is upstream of Glennies Creek. The Hunter river upstream of Glennies creek is currently approaching a peak near 13.3 metres.
The Wollombi River at Bulga continues to slowly rise with river levels currently near 6.4 metres with major flooding.
Major Flooding is expected at Singleton and Maitland. This flooding is expected to be similar to the 1971 flood in the Hunter.
For emergency assistance contact the
NSW State Emergency Service on telephone number 13 2500.
FloodSafe advice is available at www.ses.nsw.gov.au (http://www.ses.nsw.gov.au/topics/2227.html)
River Height Predictions
Singleton - Peak near 14.1 metres by around 3am 10/6/07
Maitland [Oakhampton Bridge]
- exceed moderate flood level [10.0 metres] around
6pm tonight 9/3/07
- exceed major flood level [11.8 metres] around
3am 10/3/07.
- Peak near 12.4 metres around noon 10/3/07,
with major flooding.
Maitland [Belmore Bridge]
- exceed moderate flood level [9.1 metres] around
6pm tonight 9/3/07.
- exceed major flood level [10.7 metres] around 3am
10/6/07
- peak near 11.3 metres around noon 10/6/07,
with major flooding.
Raymond Terrace - peak near 3.2 metres around
around 3 am Monday [11/6/07] from the
Maitland peak and the high tide.
With moderate flooding
PunkyDiva
09-06-2007, 18:38
Stay put Zoe, driving in that would be very dangerous I imagine. Is there an emergency line you can call to ask what to do, any neighbours with high set home you could run to in emergency??
This is from the Buerau of Meterology.
I'm at the Belmore Bridge..... I don't know what to do.
My mum just rang and said to pack some stuff and drive to her house, but the water on the way to her house is about 1m deep and it's pitch dark outside... I don't want to drive thru that.
[b]
omg Zoe. I dont know wot you should do. I have no concept of where ur mum is but just head to higher ground.
09-06-2007, 18:44
http://picasaweb.google.com/superstitiouspigeon/Flood
PD, the entire town is level. It will be disatster if it breaks the banks. Here is a pic from a previous flood, this is the town: http://www.abc.net.au/newcastle/riverstories/stories/m770425.jpg
09-06-2007, 18:46
Well it says the peak is tomorrow at noon, so that's good, I will have a look first thing in the morning and see what it looks like.
Jus thope I don't get out of bed into a puddle of water after the 3am rise!
Rian, you guys are safe aren't you? You're up on a hill?But just stuck at home with no way to get out?
Ana Gram
09-06-2007, 18:46
Don't try and drive in that Zoe!!
omg girls i hope you are ok. Its a really good idea to stay listening to abc radio 1233am. They have all the updates. People that are going to be evacuated are getting knockes on the door by SES. I hope your all ok.
Zoe, i think the rivers look like they will continue to rise. :hugs: My god my house is open too to anyone who needs it.
Rian, i hope your ok. If it gets hairy, just get out. the radio got us through the night last night.
Love to you all.
Zoe, we are meant to rise til 12 am. Our rivers have gone over the banks. The road to my estate is cled. our only road out is gone
Is there water in your house? Are there ppl close by? Your not alone are you? Thikning of you.
Ana Gram
09-06-2007, 19:08
Can you get on the roof if you have to??
09-06-2007, 19:10
Rian have you got enough food and formula?
I hope the levels receed really quickly and not too much devastations has occurred in Singo :crying:
We will be ok unless it breaks the banks. Since the catastrophic flood of '55 they've put all these levees and flood control things in (in my street where there are no houses anymore becuase htey were all washed away!) so I think it will be ok.
Rian, you know how at the other end of my street there is that massive open field? That used to be all houses but they were washed away :eek:
PunkyDiva
09-06-2007, 19:10
Can you get on the roof if you have to??
I was thinking that too, have you got ladder ready??
There were some higher stories of buildings and rooves showing in that pic, what were those buildings??
09-06-2007, 19:13
Who, me or Rian?
Rian I *think* her house is on a hill a bit, so although she is cut off because the road is flooded, her house is higher up iykwim. She is in a diff town to me - that pic was my town - the roofs are mainly 2-storey houses and pubs. We have a ladder in the shed:yes:
Does anyone know if these things happen quickly or slowly? Ie. how quickly would water rise in my house if the river broke the banks :confused:
09-06-2007, 19:16
UPDATE FROM BUREAU OF METEROLOGY
Issued at 7:39pm on Saturday the 9th of June 2007 Flood Warning Number : 8
The main flood peak in the Hunter River flood is upstream of Singleton. The Hunter River at Maison peaked at 13.25 metres at 5pm today.
The Wollombi River at Bulga continues to rise very slowly to a final peak. At 7.20 pm the river level was 6.47 metres with major flooding. The flow from the Wollombi River peak is expected to slowly raise the river level at Singleton to its peak early tomorrow morning.
Major Flooding, similar to the February 1971 event is expected at Singleton and Maitland.
FloodSafe advice is available at www.ses.nsw.gov.au (http://www.ses.nsw.gov.au/topics/2227.html)
River Height Predictions
Singleton - Peak near 14.1 metres by around 3am 10/6/07
- exceed moderate flood level [10.0 metres] around
9pm to midnight tonight 9/3/07
3 am to 6 am 10/3/07.
- rise close to its predicted peak of 12.4 metres
by noon 10/3/07 and reach the final peak
around 6pm with major flooding.
- exceed moderate flood level [9.1 metres] around
9 pm tonight 9/3/07.
- exceed major flood level [10.7 metres] around
3am to 6am 10/6/07
- rise close to the predicted peak of 11.3 metres by
noon 10/6/07 and peak at this level around 6 pm
with major flooding.
around 3 am Monday [11/6/07] from the
With moderate flooding
the hunter river ha speaked NOW at 14.1 . Onlt set to rise.
water can rise rapidly. the best thing is to have precautions ready and stay listening to the radio cos they will tell you if the levee breaks. you can call SES on 132500.
If the water comes in turn off the power points...the switch in your powerr box that deals with the power outlets, but you can leave the lights on.
SpecialMumma
09-06-2007, 19:24
god rian. Do the SES know your still there?
Have you made sure authorities know theres still people in singleton?
the rain has suddenly stopped here.. its like the calm before the storm..
vanillabean
09-06-2007, 19:28
I was supposed to go to a wedding today at Pokolbin and obviously couldn't get through Singleton (or more to the point would not get home) and hubby got home from work early so he could get home. Not sure if he will get there tomorrow or not. Hubby and I went out for tea as the kids were already with the grandparents.
Ana Gram
09-06-2007, 19:31
water can rise rapidly. the best thing is to have precautions ready and stay listening to the radio cos they will tell you if the levee breaks. you can call SES on 132500.
If the water comes in turn off the power points...the switch in your powerr box that deals with the power outlets, but you can leave the lights on.
Good advice. The best thing is have an action plan ready NOW. Don't wait, make sure you you what to if the time comes.
09-06-2007, 19:38
you guys are in my thoughts tonight...please stay safe :hugs:
09-06-2007, 19:40
They say to except flooding similar to the 1971 flood. I've been googling and googling and googling and not coming up with what the '71 flood was like :banghead:
I'm off to pack a bag and put everything up as high as I can :gloomy:
I'm an ex Newcastle girl and my family and friends are all still back there. They are all fine, although some family friends in Hamilton have had to leave their home because of the flooding.
I hope you are all ok. I lived in Cairns for 10 years after leaving Newie and have been through a few floods and cyclones so I can sympathise with how frightened some of you might be.
Hope things settle down soon.
PunkyDiva
09-06-2007, 19:46
QLD had bad floods in '74 could they have meant that not '71??
SpecialMumma
09-06-2007, 19:47
please be careful Zoe :hugs:
vanillabean
09-06-2007, 19:47
No apparently the Hunter had floods in '71 according to my Mum and Aunt.
Ana Gram
09-06-2007, 19:49
They say to except flooding similar to the 1971 flood. I've been googling and googling and googling and not coming up with what the '71 flood was like :banghead:
I'm off to pack a bag and put everything up as high as I can :gloomy:
Zoe, the SES website have a home emergency kit list, have you checked that?
Frazzled
09-06-2007, 19:53
Thinking of all of you. My DH has just called his parents who are in Allandale to see if they are ok - we had no idea things were so bad until I saw this thread. I hope you are all doing ok xx:hugs:
I feel for you Singleton girls, I hope you all keep safe. My Inlaws are in Denman and are pretty much stuck there, though if the river breaks there they're in trouble. Thankfully they're right opposite the SES station and have been helping them today- so they'll be first on a boat out of there if needed!
We're in Bolwarra Heights, outside Maitland. We're about 5mins from the Hunter River and were amazed when we went over it today. They reckon it'll break the levies during the night.
Yesterday our backyard flooded, Matt had to dig a trench round the side of the house to stop it coming in. We're on a hill and get the runoff from the houses above us, but our yard levels out so we cop it all. There's a huge hole under our driveway where the ground has given way, there's just nothing under it. But our friends who are two streets away and higher than us have their house flooded to above the power points. And there's a house near us where the ground has slipped away and half the house is balancing on nothing- scary stuff!
I was down in Newy yesterday and driving on those roads, with hail coming down and water up to the window of the 4wd- it was just plain scary.
It's only lightly raining here, but we've got all the house sorted- everything up high and mattresses ready to go against the windows should the wind get bad- and supplies etc packed in case we need to go anywhere, but I don't think we could anyway as all roads out of our estate are flooded.
Take care everyone,
x Kate
Phineas- they expect the Hunter River to get to 11.3m, and the Levy is at 11.35- so 5cm difference! So its really close, as their predictions aren't exact, so it seriously could break the levy tomorrow. I hope you can get out of there if you need to.
We've got that radio station on too- 1233 am- and its great- no music or ads, just constant updates.
09-06-2007, 20:06
Zoe, the SES website have a home emergency kit list, have you checked that?
Just looking at the site now :yes:
It says that if it gets to 11.8 metres at our bridge, the levee will break so we need to evacuate.
It is predicted at 11.3 for noon tomorrow. So I think we are safe till morning. I'll leave the front lights on I think so incase the SES do doorknocks overnight they know we are in here! Think I'll go to bed and get up early in the morning to go check out the river :thumbsup:
09-06-2007, 20:08
Kate - hope you guys are ok.
I found this on the SES webiste. http://www.ses.nsw.gov.au/infopages/3991.html you can download a small pdf file that tells you what happens at what metres. it's really good.
I took a photo of the kids. I think James knows something is going on HERE (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/rian083/babyandstash035-1.jpg) Do you agree?
SpecialMumma
09-06-2007, 20:49
LOL Rian!
Something so horrible happening, yet you can still manage a smile on our dials.
Hope all is well!
Thanks Amy. I can do nothing more than laugh and pray. It is out of my hands.
SpecialMumma
09-06-2007, 21:01
Im praying for you too.
I have PMed you. :)
Funkychicken
09-06-2007, 21:19
I am keeping you all in my thoughts. I am not a news watcher so have to admit to not even knowing this was happening until I opened this thread. I'm so sorry you are all going through this. :hugs::hugs::hugs::fingerscrossed:
Funkychicken
09-06-2007, 21:27
This seems to be a very recent update, stating that it will peak in the next 3-6 hours.
http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDN36608.html
Nates_Mumma
09-06-2007, 21:34
PHINEAS PLEASE READ BELOW
http://www.ses.nsw.gov.au/news/5575.html
update from ses
Still here guys. Water is still rising. It has reached its 14.1 metre peak at about 5pm when it wasnt suppose to til 3am.
Will keep you updated.
Rian and Zoe-
I hope you are both safe and dry with your family, whether its still at your own houses or somewhere else. Will be thinking of you through the night as you have it much worse than I do.
Take care,
x Kate
PunkyDiva
09-06-2007, 21:46
I have to go to bed guys, sorry, please don't take any silly chances, stay safe and hopefully warm and dry. :hugs: :fingerscrossed: :hugs:
I'm a way away but my home is always open if anyone is in need.
Thanks Ladies. The abundence og invitation are really importnat to us.
p.s punk D I love your sig. Steve Irwin is my hero..............
Funkychicken
09-06-2007, 21:55
Does anyone know if the floods will affect Kanwal? I know someone who lives there and we haven't heard anything from her.
You guys are all in my thoughts, PLEASE stay safe :hugs:
MrsTwith3
09-06-2007, 22:01
Kanwal is mostly up on higher ground apart from a small area near the lake. They should be ok.
MrsTwith3
09-06-2007, 22:03
Im down on the central coast and we have power. If anyone gets stuck for a dry,warm place to stay let me know.
I havent heard about Kenwal sorry :fingerscrossed: they are ok
Funkychicken
09-06-2007, 22:05
Thanks for that. :thumbsup:
Nates_Mumma
09-06-2007, 22:21
Phineas & Gumby + all others effected by this disasters: -
I pray that you all keep safe from the weather and floods and I pray that no harm comes to you or your families....
I will be thinking of you all overnite.. as i doubt with all this going around in my head that i will settle down enuf to sleep...
I also pray that my in-laws in Davistown on the CC are safe - and that the king tide didnt damage any of theirs and our stuff..
Nite all... God Bless..
Can someone PM me with any news or updates in regards to everyone between now n the morning....
TIA AND GOD BLESS
Vic
Evening Ladies,
Hope you are all still safe, here in the centre of town it keeps raining and winds gusting, though not as much as there were yesterday....
Praying for all those who are near to flooding....
Take care and stay safe...
Hope you girls are doing okay...
Phineas have literally been thinking of you, hope the girls aren't too scared... Hope everyone else from that way is safe too!!
I'm not a news watcher either but saw the bulletin before the news so watched it tonight...
Has anywhere been evacuated yet? I saw Singleton on the list of possibles to be evacuated and wondering if I should be giving my mate a call to make sure he's okay... Prob should check and also on mates near Minmi...
Hope everyone is safe and that it doesn't get any worse - only better!!
10-06-2007, 01:06
Hey guys
We just got a doorknock from an SES guy. :thumbsdown:
They aren't sure yet, but he said get everything up as high as possible and prepare for evacuation. I asked which way should we go, and he said "high" :confused:
My parents live high, they are only 2 minutes away but I doubt we'll be able to get through to them because the water over the road will be too high or too fast.
He also said they are expceting it to possibly be like the '55 flood :eek::eek:
I am sh!tting myself - our house insurance doesn't cover riverene flodding!!! Everything is going to be ruined. I'm going to put electrical stuff, rugs, books up as high as I can manage (some is already there), but the beds, lounges, clothes, washing machine, clothesdryer it's all going to be ruined.
We have 2 dogs too, we'll have to cart them with us too. I literally have thousands of dollars worth of books, I hope they don't get ruined.
This sux.
Doesn't say anything abut '55 flood on the BOM site though, this is just what the SES guy said.
Need to go back to sleep but I can't now!!
Phineas and Rian :hugs:
I'm so sorry, I've been thinking about you guys all night. My fingers are crossed that the water stops rising and you don't lose anything.
ETA - Ange those landlords suck. We have an investment property at Maryville and we didn't even think about it until late last night. We have tenants in it but we never got any calls so obviously if there is any damage it's just minor. There's much bigger things to worry about right now than a messy yard.
Hey guys
We just got a doorknock from an SES guy. :thumbsdown:
They aren't sure yet, but he said get everything up as high as possible and prepare for evacuation. I asked which way should we go, and he said "high" :confused:
My parents live high, they are only 2 minutes away but I doubt we'll be able to get through to them because the water over the road will be too high or too fast.
He also said they are expceting it to possibly be like the '55 flood :eek::eek:
I am sh!tting myself - our house insurance doesn't cover riverene flodding!!! Everything is going to be ruined. I'm going to put electrical stuff, rugs, books up as high as I can manage (some is already there), but the beds, lounges, clothes, washing machine, clothesdryer it's all going to be ruined.
We have 2 dogs too, we'll have to cart them with us too. I literally have thousands of dollars worth of books, I hope they don't get ruined.
This sux.
Doesn't say anything abut '55 flood on the BOM site though, this is just what the SES guy said.
Need to go back to sleep but I can't now!!
Phin - on the news they showed people putting their couches on top of their dining table and dining chairs. Can you guys do that?
I hope everyone is safe and well and everyone got through the night. :hugs: I didn't know it was this bad either till last night, and i just read this threat. How very scary.
Phineas and Rian hope you are both safe.
I am still here. I cant sleep and am just waiting for enough light out so I can see the damage. We peaked at over 14 metres at 1030 last night but no news for the last few hours.
Zoe, I hope everything is ok up ur way.
Funkychicken
10-06-2007, 07:19
Has the morning shown promising signs? I was thinking about you guys last night too. Gumby and Zoe, I really hope you guys are OK. Zoe, you may have evacuated, so won't read this but know that there are many of us praying for you guys right now. :hugs:
I hope everyone's ok today.
Here's the latest from the BoM:
Issued at 7:23am on Sunday the 10th of June 2007 Flood Warning Number : 12
The Hunter River flood level at Singleton has dropped from its peak of 14.04 metres recorded at 11.20pm last night. The level of the river at Singleton is still about 0.7 metres above the major flood level of 13.0 metres.
At Maitland the river level is expected to exceed the Moderate flood level of 9.1 metres by 9 am this morning and peak at midnight tonight.
Upstream of Maitland the level of the Hunter River at Greta is still rising .
Major Flooding, similar to the February 1971 event is also expected at Maitland.
Maitland
- exceed major flood level [10.7 metres] between 9am and
midday Sunday 10/6/07.
6pm 10/6/07 and peak at this level around midnight
with major flooding.
[B]River heights on Sun 10/06/2007 were:
HUNTER R AT ABERDEEN 2.58m falling
HUNTER R AT MUSWELLBROOK 2.22m steady
HUNTER R AT DENMAN 2.54m falling
HUNTER R AT LIDDELL PUMP STN 9.60m falling
GLENNIES CK AT MIDDLE FALBROOK 2.47m steady
HUNTER R U/S BOWMANS CK BRIDGE 11.14m falling
HUNTER R AT MAISON DIEU 11.56m falling
HUNTER R AT SINGLETON 13.73m steady
BLACK CK AT ROTHBURY 6.97m rising
HUNTER R AT GRETA 11.69m rising
HUNTER R AT MAITLAND [BELMORE BR] 9.00m rising
HUNTER R AT MORPETH 5.96m steady
WILLIAMS R AT MILL DAM FALLS 5.51m falling
HUNTER R AT HEXHAM BRIDGE 0.85m rising
HUNTER R AT STOCKTON BRIDGE 0.52m falling
I'm near Hunter R at Maitland (Belmore Bridge)- which is the one that
will affect Phineas most likely, too. Although I'm on high ground
so our place is pretty safe, if the river floods there,
so will all the shops and we won't be able to get
out of our estate. There's one family run servo that
do this whole area, but they're almost out of
everything. If the town floods it'll be such a
disaster in so many ways.
Phineas- the BoM said itwould be like the 70's flood,
but whether its like that or the 50's one, both were
horrible and we don't want them happening again!
My heart goes out to you, I hope the levee doesn't
break and that you and your family and your home are
ok.
x Kate
Wondermum
10-06-2007, 07:50
Those that are close to the flood areas :hugs: My thoughts are with you and your families. :fingerscrossed: you all are safe high and dry!
We're in Minmi fairly safe here tho, very soggy. The tank paddock up the road looks like an ocean! We took a drive through Newy and out by the Hunter and Williams rivers yesterday - it's just devastating! :(
~ Jess ~
:hugs: to everyone living where it's flooded. Hope you are all OK.
hayleylea
10-06-2007, 08:24
I hope everyone is OK :hugs:
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 08:29
Morning everyone.
Isnt this sun AMAZING! pray it stays and dries up the water abit.
Rian - How are you? Did you sleep at all?
Zoe - How are you? Has the water risen any? Im going to PM you in a second!
eta: cant be ya hunnie, ur inbox is full.
10-06-2007, 08:31
phineas i hope youve gone... we were flooded in..thank god for the levy bank here or our town would have been completely under, i went for a drive to check out the rivers... the hunter river here was almost breaking its banks, but about 5kms down stream is where the goulbourne river flows in...usually its only a trickle, but i actually sh!t myself when i saw it, it had broken its banks, and was almost over the bridge...which is at least 15-20 meters high.... it was a torrent...so scary, lots of debri too..... be careful.....
Nates_Mumma
10-06-2007, 08:45
i spoke to gumby online at *goes 2 check msn*...
around 8.42am
she was on the ph to phineas and she was just about to leave her place...
i hope shes ok
Pippi Longstocking
10-06-2007, 08:47
Stay safe and dry everyone! :hugs:
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 08:50
Still havent updated the BOM website..
Waiting.. Waiting..
Nates_Mumma
10-06-2007, 08:58
ok just watchin sky news - latest 10am news telling us that the new england hwy at branxton is closed to major - dangerous flooding...
i'll keep u updated from there ok
had 2 reboot austar as only had a 1/2 screen
my friends from Maryland (not Minmi) are safe and well, turns out they moved north of Newcastle not too long ago so it is a relief that they're all okay...
I can't get in contact with my mate from Singleton though... I hope he's okay...
Zoe, Rian, Kate, hope things are okay where you are and the waters don't cause any harm!!
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 09:05
Flood Warning Number : 13
The River level for the Hunter River at Singleton is slowly falling from it's peak last night near 14.04 metres, with major flooding.
River levels for the Wollombi river at Bulga remain above the major flood level and continue to slowly rise. This additional flood water from the Wollombi is not expected to cause higher flood levels at Singleton.
The flood peak in the Hunter River is currently upstream of Greta.
Major Flooding, similar to the February 1971 event is expected at Maitland.
FloodSafe advice is available at www.ses.nsw.gov.au
River Height Predictions
5pm Sunday 10/3/07.
- rise close to its predicted peak of 12.4 metres
by 9pm 10/3/07 and reach the final peak
around midnight with major flooding.
- exceed major flood level [10.7 metres] around 5pm
Sunday 10/6/07.
9pm 10/6/07 and peak at this level around midnight
with major flooding.
around 3pm Monday [11/6/07] from the
With moderate flooding
River heights on Sun 10/06/2007 were:
PAGES R AT BLANDFORD 1.60m steady at 941am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MOONAN DAM SITE 1.37m steady at 932am Sun 10/06/07
PAGES R AT GUNDY 0.73m steady at 940am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT GLENBAWN DAM D/S 0.29m steady at 921am Sun 10/06/07
ROUCHEL BROOK AT ROUCHEL BROOK 0.93m falling at 828am Sun 10/06/07
DART BROOK AT YARRANDI BRIDGE 0.73m steady at 938am Sun 10/06/07
KINGDON PONDS AT PARKVILLE 0.39m steady at 928am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT ABERDEEN 2.52m steady at 938am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MUSWELLBROOK 2.10m steady at 938am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT DENMAN 2.28m steady at 938am Sun 10/06/07
GOULBURN R AT KERRABEE 3.55m rising at 601pm Fri 08/06/07
GOULBURN R AT SANDY HOLLOW 4.43m steady at 938am Sun 10/06/07
WYBONG CK AT WYBONG 1.03m steady at 938am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT LIDDELL PUMP STN 8.75m steady at 938am Sun 10/06/07
GLENNIES CK AT MIDDLE FALBROOK 2.39m steady at 942am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R U/S BOWMANS CK BRIDGE 10.23m falling at 903am Sun 10/06/07
WOLLOMBI BROOK AT BRICKMANS BR 1.12m steady at 1200am Wed 06/06/07
WOLLOMBI BROOK AT BULGA 7.54m steady at 937am Sun 10/06/07
WOLLOMBI BROOK AT WARKWORTH 1.30m falling at 826am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MAISON DIEU 11.05m falling at 908am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT SINGLETON 13.62m steady at 938am Sun 10/06/07
BLACK CK AT ROTHBURY 6.97m rising at 1259am Sat 09/06/07
HUNTER R AT GRETA 12.27m rising at 938am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MAITLAND [BELMORE BR] 8.97m rising at 830am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MORPETH 5.96m steady at 630am Sun 10/06/07
PATERSON R AT LOSTOCK DAM D/S 1.72m falling at 1006pm Fri 08/06/07
PATERSON R AT GOSTWYCK BRIDGE 6.65m falling at 830am Sun 10/06/07
PATERSON R AT VACY 4.35m falling at 912am Sun 10/06/07
PATERSON R AT HINTON BRIDGE 5.51m steady at 830am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT GREEN ROCKS 3.82m rising at 630am Sun 10/06/07
CHICHESTER R AT CHICHESTER 0.59m rising at 550am Thu 07/06/07
WILLIAMS R AT TILLIGRA 1.29m falling at 807am Sun 10/06/07
WILLIAMS R AT DUNGOG 1.99m falling at 705am Sun 10/06/07
WILLIAMS R AT MILL DAM FALLS 2.80m falling at 737am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT HEXHAM BRIDGE 0.76m falling at 728am Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT STOCKTON BRIDGE -0.09m falling at 830am Sun 10/06/07
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 09:05
from the last report at 7am, its dropped .03mtrs?
Last report said 9.00, this one says only 8.97.. thats a good thing..
Ashleigh<3
10-06-2007, 09:07
I'm so sorry guys, if anyone needs a place to stay you know where I live. :hugs:
Plenty of room!
Our friend just called us on his mobile and he's on a boat paddling down his street!
He has no way of getting here, his car is under water and all of his family is here!
He said his whole street is under tuggerah lakes!
:(
This is the road we got stuck on the other night.
Phineas and Gumby- I hope you guys are safe!:hugs:
Adam said the other day, "I'm going to buy four x as much formula as we're sick of running out to get more in the middle of the night, thankfully we did. We're not under water but as long as the water levels don't rise!
10-06-2007, 09:09
its drying up here...and were up stream....might have to go and check it out..
i thought it was bad getting water in my house through the back door..... im really worried for zoe... how scary
Nates_Mumma
10-06-2007, 09:12
just thought i'd list this number here:
Its the Public Information & Inquiry Line
1800 227 228
so if anyone is concerned about anyone or a particular place they are travelling to - call these guys
or the SES 132 500
or the Police
mummyof5
10-06-2007, 09:31
Hope everyone is ok. We are getting some stuff together, just in case...
Tried Phin's mobile, went straight to message bank. Worried about her, her house is on the low side.
:fingerscrossed: none of us actually end up flooded.
hi guys...
Hope you all made it through the night safely....
Phin you poor thing..... :fingerscrossed: it holds out for you....
Was good not to wake up to the sound of clean up crews this morning, so thats gotta be promising.... need to venture out for bread and nappies today but god knows whats open.....
Bit scared about what I might find on the roads.... but its nothing compared to what you guys are going through...
Stay safe!
Just wanted to wish you all well, I hope everyone is safe :hugs: .
10-06-2007, 09:54
I am still here! We wandered across to the river - it was already at 11.2 metres an hour or so ago. Some of our road have been blocked off as the drains are flooding water back out of them.
Still unsure whether to leave or not. The only place we have really is my Mum and Dads which is up nice and high but the road there is already almost impassable - even for a 4WD. Bugger:thumbsdown:
Mum just rang and said to make sure I put petrol, washing detergent, bleaches etc... up high - I didn't even think of that - that's the last stuff you want floating all thru your house :eek:
Thanks for the well wishes guys - we'll be just fine - the last road out of town (one road is already closed) is right near my house :yes:
I'm just worried about all my stuff.
Kylie - I've lost my mobile! Hope you guys don't get a flooded house :fingerscrossed:
Keep Safe Zoe....
If you get stuck head straight down the freeway to my place ok!!
mummyof5
10-06-2007, 10:10
Thank god you are not flooded out... really hope it doesn't happen.
We should be fine, as we are on the other side of the highway to the river...so you are welcome here if you want out. Plenty of room for your doggies too.
We figure we may end up losing power, so am stocking up on wood this morning.
Good to hear the water in Singo is receding.
charlen49
10-06-2007, 10:15
I am still here! We wandered across to the river - it was already at 11.2 metres an hour or so ago. Some of our road have been blocked off as the drains are flooding water back out of them.
Still unsure whether to leave or not. The only place we have really is my Mum and Dads which is up nice and high but the road there is already almost impassable - even for a 4WD. Bugger:thumbsdown:
Mum just rang and said to make sure I put petrol, washing detergent, bleaches etc... up high - I didn't even think of that - that's the last stuff you want floating all thru your house :eek:
Thanks for the well wishes guys - we'll be just fine - the last road out of town (one road is already closed) is right near my house :yes:
I'm just worried about all my stuff.
Kylie - I've lost my mobile! Hope you guys don't get a flooded house :fingerscrossed: u can replace stuff zoe....but u cant replace people!!..keep safe...all my family live in singo and on the putty......so they have been like you sh!tting themselves...my dad was born during the 1955 floods in maitland hospital( abit of history).........i got power back on here after 15 hours without it...what a pain!!!!!!!.........we are all wet underneath house......2 houses across gpot squished by a fallen tree in cyclonic winds....very scarey...stay safe..damn technology.....dont miss it until you go without it........just got our computers up and running!!!!!
Sheer Bliss
10-06-2007, 10:30
Hope everyone is staying safe! Things are OK where we are - thank god we are up high and not too close to river. My sis was close to getting evacuated last night, they live near the bridge in Singleton, but everyone is fine.
Zoe - will send you a PM.
HoopDeeDoo
10-06-2007, 10:51
Hope everyone is keeping safe, :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
I was worried about you Zoe, when I saw the floods on the news this morning
charlen49
10-06-2007, 10:55
Hope everyone is staying safe! Things are OK where we are - thank god we are up high and not too close to river. My sis was close to getting evacuated last night, they live near the bridge in Singleton, but everyone is fine.
Zoe - will send you a PM.
chatting to mum on msn and all roads are closed coming in and out of singo!.no correction just opened up redenberry
rainbowbeetle
10-06-2007, 10:58
i drove from muswellbrook to lochinvar on friday. i got sent home from work at 12:30, what normally takes me an hour, took me 2 hours to get home safely
the ammount of water about on friday was scary, so i can only imagine what it looks like now..
we're due to drive back to muswellbrook tomorrow, hopefully the water will have subsided a little, and the roads that are now blocked at branxton and singleton will be open again...
i am astounded with the ammount of water that has fallen!
keep safe everyone!
charlen49
10-06-2007, 10:58
dad went to the hilltop earliar on and everyroad is covered in water...the town is a sea of water...and they werent going to let him back(ses) into town...silly buggar
singo is receding according to sky news and maitland should be at peak about now......mum said that branxton etc are closed too....the branxton inn is flooded
Nates_Mumma
10-06-2007, 11:22
just a heads up
there was a major storm warning just came on channel 7/prime for the hunter, Illawarra and Mid North Coast areas...
there advising ppl to stay indoors and be prepared for the worst...
good luck to you all:fingerscrossed:
OMG Zoe, so its already that high? Matt's gone over the Lorn bridge to get us some groceries. I've been telling him to go all morning and he dawdled :mad:. Now he's been gone for about 40mins and he was only getting four things! Fingers crossed its just busy getting through, and that the water is still staying where it should be! He's in a 4wd so he should be fine.
Take care of yourself Zoe!
x Kate
im in maryland and power just came back on here.. i hope the storms are finished.. its so scary..
and i hope you guys in singleton and maitland are doing okay!!
stays safe!!
The SES have confirmed on the radio (1233am) that the river at Lorn is over the 11m mark. They're now saying it will get to at least 11.4m, which is worrying. They said there's a series of levees for it to get through, but its burst its banks down near Morpeth and the low lying properties there have been evacuated.
My DH got home ok, but was amazed how much it had risen just in the time it took him to go to Woolworths for a few bags of things, to when he went back over the bridge. The bugger forgot to take the camera though!
Zoe, I hope you're safe and dry somewhere. Don't hang around longer than you have to- it'll be much harder to get out in the dark.
Take care girls,
x Kate
vanillabean
10-06-2007, 13:40
My DH is having a nice day home with us today as he couldn't get to work today out the back of singleton. We are hoping he can get there tomorrow. Are the roads expected to be open through singleton early tom?
10-06-2007, 14:05
mummyjo - I doubt it. Even if the water was cleared, there would be debris EVERYWHERE.
Sky news is across the road from my house :eek:
I've taken some photos but this comp is extremely slow so it's taking a while to upload them.
Kate, Belmore Bridge is practically gridlocked because there are sightseers everywhere!
millymoo
10-06-2007, 14:59
Am following the news and thoughts with you all up there!
:hugs::hugs:
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 15:26
Im guilty of being one of those on the belmore bridge earlier. I tried to find your house Zoe but I wasnt even sure what side of the bridge it was on. :o
We were trying to see how much further it had to go cos we'd heard so many different things.
My best friend will be trapped at her place soon. (Gillieston Heights) cos the Rd this side has been over since yesterday, and the Rd the other side (the only other road) is almost over too. SES said if we wanted to make it back out of there we had to be well and truly gone by 6.
Anyone looked outside at the storm clouds coming? :(
charlen49
10-06-2007, 15:42
Im guilty of being one of those on the belmore bridge earlier. I tried to find your house Zoe but I wasnt even sure what side of the bridge it was on. :o
We were trying to see how much further it had to go cos we'd heard so many different things.
My best friend will be trapped at her place soon. (Gillieston Heights) cos the Rd this side has been over since yesterday, and the Rd the other side (the only other road) is almost over too. SES said if we wanted to make it back out of there we had to be well and truly gone by 6.
Anyone looked outside at the storm clouds coming? :(
i have friends at gillo too....that were told by ses to stock up on supplies yesty....and others in the are that have mooved animals etc to higher ground........mum said singo is cut off and so is branxton...they did open up redenberry earlioar today...so not sure if its reopened
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 15:51
This is what the storm looks like from our house.
Looking Over My Roof. (http://s108.photobucket.com/albums/n15/princ3ssah/?action=view¤t=STORM4.jpg)
Looking Towards Singleton (http://s108.photobucket.com/albums/n15/princ3ssah/?action=view¤t=STORM3.jpg)
Looking Towards Singleton # 2 (http://s108.photobucket.com/albums/n15/princ3ssah/?action=view¤t=STORM2.jpg)
Looking Towards Maitland. (http://s108.photobucket.com/albums/n15/princ3ssah/?action=view¤t=STORM1.jpg)
rainbowbeetle
10-06-2007, 16:11
My DH is having a nice day home with us today as he couldn't get to work today out the back of singleton. We are hoping he can get there tomorrow. Are the roads expected to be open through singleton early tom?
hmmm im with you wondering when the roads will be opened and if i'll be getting back to muswellbrook tomorrow or not....
Hey, I've heard Maitlands Evacuating now.. Hope you've gotten out of there Zoe?
We're all well here. We had some minor drainage problems with the heavy rain but we're fine and managed to keep the house from flooding.
Thoguths are with the families who arent as lucky
vanillabean
10-06-2007, 16:39
hmmm im with you wondering when the roads will be opened and if i'll be getting back to muswellbrook tomorrow or not....
DH has rung the number that someone gave that was a little back in this thread yesterday and they were very helpful, so I guess we could ring that number later tonight and check. I am really disappointed that I missed my friends wedding, but that can't be helped. The weather of late has been so so unpredicatble and uncharacteristic of a normal winter. In fact, I don't know what normal is anymore!!!
charlen49
10-06-2007, 16:48
i doubt it!...branxton is flooded..and closed on hwy!!!!!sorry!!!!:(
charlen49
10-06-2007, 17:01
OMG. did you see blackbutt on the NBN news....destroyed!!!!!!poo:crying: r animals!!!!.....singo...branxton...underwater..mai tland looks bad!!!!!
my sis lost her house. will post pics of the it all when the kids are in bed. I hope all you maitland gals are ok... Kylie :hugs: and everyone else :(
charlen49
10-06-2007, 17:21
my sis lost her house. will post pics of the it all when the kids are in bed. I hope all you maitland gals are ok... Kylie :hugs: and everyone else :(
:hugs: where abouts in singo did they live?...i ve seen 3 floods in singo over the yeasrs!!!!!!!!!
OMG. did you see blackbutt on the NBN news....destroyed!!!!!!
Yep... I was amazed at how bad it is... that is just down the road from my mums house!
I've been too chicken to even leave the house in fear of what I might find.....
Our poor town is just a whopping big mess!! I feel sooooooo sorry for all those people stuck or with property gone or under threat..... feel kind of useless that there's nothing I can do to help!!
Mum was busy manning the evac centre at Maitland last night, and will most probably be back there tonight.... they tried to send them to Singleton but there was no way they were going to get through....
Oh hun..... huge :hugs: .... I've shed a few tears watching the news every night the last few nights.... its just devestating!
charlen49
10-06-2007, 17:30
Oh hun..... huge :hugs: .... I've shed a few tears watching the news every night the last few nights.... its just devestating!
its tragic!!!!!!!!!poor buggars everywhere...how cuel......draught..now floods.......whats next the locust?
mummyof5
10-06-2007, 17:55
We're ok here Rian, thankfully I live on the other side of the hwy to the river...worried for Zoe though.
Hope your sis is ok darl, don't forget to sing out if we can help in anyway.
Wasn't watching the news just freaky? I was in that part of Branxton yesterday, ironically stocking up in case we lost power again.
:fingerscrossed: for all the families along the river.
:hugs: where abouts in singo did they live?...i ve seen 3 floods in singo over the yeasrs!!!!!!!!!I have been there for 1/2 dozen or so floods but this one and 1971 and 1955 apparently are the worse. My sis was in dunolly.
charlen49
10-06-2007, 18:27
I have been there for 1/2 dozen or so floods but this one and 1971 and 1955 apparently are the worse. My sis was in dunolly.
ok yep low lying....not good!..well atleast ( and i know its easy for me to say!) they are safe..! thats the main thing!!!!!:hugs:
We are fine Just flooded in our rivers are on the rise again and its still going over the bank it roars like an ocean. Our mates are in lorn and they have just been evacuated, along with 6000 other residents in Maitland & Lorn. its going to go over around 9.00 pm, its just just holding on atm. This is horrible. I hope we arn't stuck here for much longer :fingerscrossed:. :hugs: To all of us in this horrible weather.
charlen49
10-06-2007, 18:40
We are fine Just flooded in our rivers are on the rise again and its still going over the bank it roars like an ocean. Our mates are in lorn and they have just been evacuated, along with 6000 other residents in Maitland & Lorn. its going to go over around 9.00 pm, its just just holding on atm. This is horrible. I hope we arn't stuck here for much longer :fingerscrossed:. :hugs: To all of us in this horrible weather.:wizard: goodluck and stay safe!!!!!!
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 18:54
UPDATE:
Issued at 7:58pm on Sunday the 10th of June 2007
Flood Warning Number : 16
The Hunter River level at Greta has been steady near a peak of 13.0 metres since 5:00 pm this evening. This is approximately 0.7 metres higher than the February 1971 flood level at Greta.
Major Flooding, slightly higher than the February 1971 event is expected at Maitland.
The Hunter River level at Singleton continues to fall slowly from it's peak of 14.04 metres, last night. River levels at Singleton have now fallen below the major flood level [13.0 metres].
River Height Predictions
- rise close to its predicted peak of 12.7 metres
by 9pm 10/3/07 and reach the final peak
around midnight with major flooding.
- rise close to the predicted peak of 11.4 metres by
9pm 10/6/07 and peak at this level around midnight
with major flooding.
around midnight Monday, with moderate
flooding.
PAGES R AT BLANDFORD 1.51m steady at 738pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MOONAN DAM SITE 1.28m falling at 631pm Sun 10/06/07
PAGES R AT GUNDY 0.68m steady at 737pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT GLENBAWN DAM D/S 0.29m steady at 921am Sun 10/06/07
ROUCHEL BROOK AT ROUCHEL BROOK 0.81m falling at 528pm Sun 10/06/07
DART BROOK AT YARRANDI BRIDGE 0.65m steady at 740pm Sun 10/06/07
KINGDON PONDS AT PARKVILLE 0.33m steady at 723pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT ABERDEEN 2.28m steady at 740pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MUSWELLBROOK 1.68m falling at 740pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT DENMAN 1.57m steady at 740pm Sun 10/06/07
GOULBURN R AT SANDY HOLLOW 3.68m falling at 740pm Sun 10/06/07
WYBONG CK AT WYBONG 0.94m steady at 740pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT LIDDELL PUMP STN 6.43m falling at 740pm Sun 10/06/07
GLENNIES CK AT MIDDLE FALBROOK 2.14m steady at 739pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R U/S BOWMANS CK BRIDGE 6.55m falling at 603pm Sun 10/06/07
WOLLOMBI BROOK AT BULGA 7.33m steady at 741pm Sun 10/06/07
WOLLOMBI BROOK AT WARKWORTH 1.94m falling at 642pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MAISON DIEU 9.27m falling at 208pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT SINGLETON 12.42m falling at 740pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT GRETA 13.02m steady at 740pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MAITLAND [BELMORE BR] 10.51m rising at 747pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MORPETH 6.36m steady at 645pm Sun 10/06/07
PATERSON R AT GOSTWYCK BRIDGE 6.03m steady at 545pm Sun 10/06/07
PATERSON R AT VACY 3.50m falling at 612pm Sun 10/06/07
PATERSON R AT HINTON BRIDGE 5.62m rising at 545pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT GREEN ROCKS 3.90m steady at 645pm Sun 10/06/07
WILLIAMS R AT TILLIGRA 1.21m falling at 507pm Sun 10/06/07
WILLIAMS R AT DUNGOG 1.75m falling at 705pm Sun 10/06/07
WILLIAMS R AT MILL DAM FALLS 2.29m falling at 737pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT STOCKTON BRIDGE 0.72m falling at 545pm Sun 10/06/07
( I think it only holds 11.35.. not far and its over :( )
charlen49
10-06-2007, 19:00
:thumbsup: great update!!!!!wow weather woman extroadinaire
bekkyboo
10-06-2007, 19:09
Zoe - i hope your safe and well!
Rian - I hope your safe and well too!
My eyes are playing up, but can someone tell me if these flood levels are reaching Murrarundi (sp?) or scone? I have STACKS of family scattered there... I noticed that aberden was on this list there.... I have family there too...
Stay safe lovely ladies...
Just found out the man washed away at Lambton is a family friend... he leaves behind a lovely wife and two daughters..... :crying:
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 19:28
My eyes are playing up, but can someone tell me if these flood levels are reaching Murrarundi (sp?) or scone? I have STACKS of family scattered there... I noticed that aberden was on this list there.... I have family there too...
I dont think they are reaching murrurundi Bekky. I think they only go as far up as aBout singleton.
As for Aberdeen. I dont know hun soz :hugs:
Sheer Bliss
10-06-2007, 19:29
:hugs: Caz.
I can't beleive how many poor people have been evacuated in Maitland. There are heaps more cars in our street parked on the road tonight, so at least a few people have friends/family that they are staying with.
Has anyone been able to SMS any of the Maitland girls that may have been evacuated to check they are OK? Zoe hasn't been on since this morning, i am assuming she is at her parents, but it would be good to know that she is OK, and any others that live near the river.
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 19:37
last I heard Zoe had lost her mobile so I dont think we have any way of contacting her?
I think others fairly safe?
Does anyone know of any bubhubbers that live in the area?
vanillabean
10-06-2007, 19:40
No the floods are pretty much downwards from Singleton. No issues at Aberdeen or Scone or further up that I know of.
bekkyboo
10-06-2007, 19:41
Found out that my aunty is in maitland... Dad is going to call her and find out....
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 19:45
I think its gone over. 11.4 and it could only hold 11.35 ... mum is saying its coming acros the screen "11.4 EVACUATE NOW"
I spoke to Zoe just a few hours before the evac notice was given and she was waiting to see how things were going. She was either going up to her parents or out to Rutherford i think?
I was hoping someone in here had heard from her.
Hope they all got out okay
bekkyboo
10-06-2007, 19:50
:eek:
Zoe Zoe - Im praying you r alright! G is sending lots of huggies Evies way!
Scary times... So quickly too... The rain should have stayed here alittle longer... SE QLD could have copt the brunt before sending it down there!
Mummaof2
10-06-2007, 19:54
HI im on the central coast and its been pretty bad down her too i have started another thread as I didnt know about this one
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=98172
charlen49
10-06-2007, 20:15
HI im on the central coast and its been pretty bad down her too i have started another thread as I didnt know about this one
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=98172
omg..just had look at other thread:hugs: u poor thing...glad no one was hurt!
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 20:39
has anyone spoken to Zoe? Anyone got contact with her?
Has she left? I hope so. Police said theyve told people if they dont leave the police can physically remove them! :eek:
bekkyboo
10-06-2007, 20:41
Im sure if they said go, Zoe would go...
Crikey, i hope she ok.... :hugs: Zoe Zoe if you find your way back here soon - please let us know!!
vanillabean
10-06-2007, 20:51
I am just listening to the news on the radio and the water has started spilling into low lying areas at Maitland.
bekkyboo
10-06-2007, 20:52
:eek: Does that mean Zoe's?
tootiredtosleep
10-06-2007, 20:53
I hope everyone is OK and safe.
The last few days have been terrible... I worked in Newcastle Friday night and watched cars floating down the road and what appeared to be looters in Hunter St :thumbsdown:.
So many local people I have spoken to have never seen anything like this before...
vanillabean
10-06-2007, 20:53
I think they said Oakhampton on the outskirts, but Maitland is so flat it won't take long to get into central Maitland. Hope everyone is ok there.
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 20:56
I dont think its reached Zoes yet but it wont be long :(
Im crossing my fingers and praying so hard a miracle happens and Zoes house will be okay!
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 20:58
and what appeared to be looters in Hunter St :thumbsdown:.
Things got stolen out of abandoned ambulances! How LOW can ya get!
vanillabean
10-06-2007, 20:59
I hope everyone is OK and safe.
The last few days have been terrible... I worked in Newcastle Friday night and watched cars floating down the road and what appeared to be looters in Hunter St :thumbsdown:.
So many local people I have spoken to have never seen anything like this before...
How disgusting is the looting and people breaking into abandoned cars and I even heard an ambulance:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: Some peopl are just awful and play on others misfortunes.
:hugs: to everyone caught up in this atrocious weather.
Zoe- i hope your ok.
Rian- im so sorry about your sis's house.
Kaz- :hugs: to you.
Stay safe everyone.
We lost alot of stuff in the Friday night deluge( we are in New Lambton). There are still abandoned cars around , just sitting where they floated to.Our entire backyard was underwater-about waist height- so pretty scary for the kids watching it but thankfully it didnt reach inside.
I really hope that everyone's ok tonight.
bekkyboo
10-06-2007, 21:02
My sister used to live in New Lambton! That is just crazy!!!
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 21:37
Anyone hearing anything?
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 21:52
anyone just hear that bloke on ABC radio saying he knws it all and that it wont flood.
what a toser. thinks he knows all just cause he had look.
LEAVE THE SES TO THEIR JOBS! stop trying to do it for them !!
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 21:59
UPDATE:
Issued at 11:06pm on Sunday the 10th of June 2007
Flood Warning Number : 17
The Hunter River level at Greta peaked near 13.0 metres at 6:00 pm this evening. This is approximately 0.7 metres higher than the February 1971 flood level at Greta.
Major Flooding, slightly higher than the February 1971 event is expected at Maitland.
The Hunter River level at Singleton continues to fall slowly from it's peak of 14.04 metres, last night. River levels at Singleton have now fallen below the major flood level [13.0 metres].
River Height Predictions
Peak near 12.7 metres around 3am
Monday morning 11/06/2007 with Major Flooding.
Peak near 11.4 metres between 3am and 6am Monday
morning 11/06/2007 with Major Flooding.
Raymond Terrace -
peak near 3.2 metres Monday afternoon
with moderate flooding.
PAGES R AT BLANDFORD 1.47m steady at 1049pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MOONAN DAM SITE 1.24m falling at 931pm Sun 10/06/07
PAGES R AT GUNDY 0.66m steady at 1049pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT GLENBAWN DAM D/S 0.28m steady at 1051pm Sun 10/06/07
ROUCHEL BROOK AT ROUCHEL BROOK 0.77m falling at 828pm Sun 10/06/07
DART BROOK AT YARRANDI BRIDGE 0.62m steady at 1051pm Sun 10/06/07
KINGDON PONDS AT PARKVILLE 0.30m steady at 1038pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT ABERDEEN 2.23m steady at 1051pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MUSWELLBROOK 1.59m steady at 1051pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT DENMAN 1.45m steady at 1051pm Sun 10/06/07
GOULBURN R AT SANDY HOLLOW 3.52m steady at 1051pm Sun 10/06/07
WYBONG CK AT WYBONG 0.92m steady at 1051pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT LIDDELL PUMP STN 6.08m falling at 1051pm Sun 10/06/07
GLENNIES CK AT MIDDLE FALBROOK 2.08m steady at 1049pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R U/S BOWMANS CK BRIDGE 5.89m falling at 903pm Sun 10/06/07
WOLLOMBI BROOK AT BULGA 7.08m falling at 1052pm Sun 10/06/07
WOLLOMBI BROOK AT WARKWORTH 1.36m falling at 945pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MAISON DIEU 9.27m falling at 208pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT SINGLETON 11.91m falling at 1051pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT GRETA 12.94m falling at 1051pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MAITLAND [BELMORE BR] 10.65m steady at 1055pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT MORPETH 6.41m steady at 1015pm Sun 10/06/07
PATERSON R AT GOSTWYCK BRIDGE 6.00m steady at 845pm Sun 10/06/07
PATERSON R AT VACY 3.38m falling at 912pm Sun 10/06/07
PATERSON R AT HINTON BRIDGE 5.66m steady at 845pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT GREEN ROCKS 3.93m steady at 1015pm Sun 10/06/07
WILLIAMS R AT TILLIGRA 1.18m falling at 807pm Sun 10/06/07
WILLIAMS R AT DUNGOG 1.70m falling at 1005pm Sun 10/06/07
WILLIAMS R AT MILL DAM FALLS 2.18m falling at 1037pm Sun 10/06/07
HUNTER R AT STOCKTON BRIDGE 0.11m falling at 845pm Sun 10/06/07
Next issue time: Next warning will be issued by 2 am Monday 10/6/07
SpecialMumma
10-06-2007, 22:07
okay well Im off to bed.
Very tired. If anyone hears anything can they let me know?
Nite All.
Praying for Zoes House!
Hi GIrls
We're still safe and dry here (in Bolwarra), but we will be cut off from Maitland and anywhere else as I heard on the radio that the river is up at the peak. I'm only new to this area and until I looked at a map tonight, I had no idea the Oakhampton part of the river was so close to us too- like directly across! I've only been looking at the Belmore Bridge info! lol
And as well as having Lorn below us, the river then bends up to the west, so we're sort of surrounded on three sides by the river and just paddocks between us and it! PLus I've just seen a photo on the msn site that was taken near my daughters school, of the river in someones backyard, so thats freaked me out a bit too! :eek:
Our house is on a small hill, 3 houses up from the bottom, so we should be fine, but may be restricted to this street if it comes straight through the floodway at the bottom there, where there's a big drain that takes the water back out to the river :(. Ah well, we're in a great neighbourhood (could never afford to buy here!) so we'll just knock on our neighbours door if we need anything! lol
I hope all the other Maitland girls are ok (especially you Zoe), and you are all safe and warm somewhere.
x Kate
H&B'sMum
10-06-2007, 22:51
We are all okay here. Only our garage got flooded.
I really hope Zoe and the girls are okay, it's sooo worrying not hearing from her. We were coming back from my IL's farm out west of Parkes and only just made it through singo, the police were there about to close the road but we convinced them to let us through. What normally takes 6hrs it took us 8 hrs to get home, with 6 road closures and detours.
Praying that everyone is okay, at least the rain has stopped.
it has gone over at Maitland but was not anywhere near as bad as they thought which is a relief, All low lying house's are flooded. I hope that excludes Zoe's House. They are not letting the evacuated residents back as yet they said it is still not safe. ALL this blocks us in longer, we are looking at the rest of the week :eek: but people have bigger problems than us so we are lucky.
charlen49
11-06-2007, 06:43
anyone just hear that bloke on ABC radio saying he knws it all and that it wont flood.
what a toser. thinks he knows all just cause he had look.
LEAVE THE SES TO THEIR JOBS! stop trying to do it for them !!
well he was right in the end.....it didnt break....0.9 meter under and holding steady!
Yeah i met an optomistic fella once. His house went under...
:fingerscrossed: all is ok Zoe
charlen49
11-06-2007, 06:53
Yeah i met an optomistic fella once. His house went under...
:fingerscrossed: all is ok Zoe
well id like to say that abc radio has had the only not stop coverage letting people know what the hells going on in newy and hunter......numbers etc......its been a releif listening to them..especiallyy on the weekend when we lost power for a total of 20 hours!!!!!!!!.....u always get some moron on talkback.......but you get a lot of good people and its great to hear from the horses mouth.....for example tv was repoting that the road to kurry from maitland was closed......and a lady got on and said that it was untrue because she had just driven from kurri along that road and she got through fine
bekkyboo
11-06-2007, 07:00
I hope Zoe and her family are ok! I hope her house is ok, and if it did get damaged, it will be replacable.... :hugs: to all
So is the worst over now?
This particular fella though left EVERYTHING in his house, he was so sure it wasnt going under. Animals and all.
I called SES after requesting an ambulance yesterday and they said there was noway I was getting into town even in an amulance so jumped in the 4wd and 2 roads were clear already :(
charlen49
11-06-2007, 07:02
I hope Zoe and her family are ok! I hope her house is ok, and if it did get damaged, it will be replacable.... :hugs: to all
So is the worst over now?
yes as long as the weather stays good...which its looking fine at the mo!
charlen49
11-06-2007, 07:03
This particular fella though left EVERYTHING in his house, he was so sure it wasnt going under. Animals and all.
I called SES after requesting an ambulance yesterday and they said there was noway I was getting into town even in an amulance so jumped in the 4wd and 2 roads were clear already :(why an ambo?
Bubby is in hospital. Cant breath. Plus my neice has this blood disorder and we didnt know it, and her legs blew up like baloons and we were packing ourselfs.
Wondermum
11-06-2007, 07:11
Just checking in here to see how you're all going, I've been thinking of you guys!
Rian OMG poor bubby and your niece! I hope they're o.k.
I hope Zoe's place has held up through the night without too much damage :fingerscrossed:
bekkyboo
11-06-2007, 07:13
hope everything is ok Rian
charlen49
11-06-2007, 07:20
Bubby is in hospital. Cant breath. Plus my neice has this blood disorder and we didnt know it, and her legs blew up like baloons and we were packing ourselfs.:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
god thats not good......atleast he was safe in singo hospital....not many ambo around....plus they cant get though the water!!...they lost 2 ambo's in newy over the weekend....and then people looted them( probably druggies!!!!!)....can you believe it??
11-06-2007, 07:36
Bubby is in hospital. Cant breath. Plus my neice has this blood disorder and we didnt know it, and her legs blew up like baloons and we were packing ourselfs.
scary, hope their both ok
wow didnt zoe say she lived across the road from the river? i hope her place is ok
mum2peanut
11-06-2007, 08:18
Been watching the thread. I hope all of you are okay.
Has anyone heard from Zoe yet? I hope her and her family are all okay, as well as her house and everything in it.
mummyof5
11-06-2007, 09:05
Rian, is your gorgeous boy alright?? Let us know asap please...hope your little niece is ok too.:hugs:
Apparently they are starting to let residents back in, though Zoe's street is one that had blockages, so even if her house has been spared, not sure wether she would have been able to get home yet. :fingerscrossed: her home is safe.
The SES are letting most people back into Central Maitland, South Maitland and Lorn, as long as they're careful. Thankfully it wasn't the big disaster in Maitland that they thought it would be. The river is slowly going down here, I think Hexham etc are the worrying areas now as its travelling down that way.
Zoe- I hope you're doing ok and your house wasn't affected.
Rian- I hope both little bubs are better now and you're all holding up ok.
And to think we moved here from Melbourne to get away from bad weather! :laughing:
x Kate
SpecialMumma
11-06-2007, 09:11
I live between Kurri and Maitland and the road WAS closed yesterday.
Then when the floods came yesterday, it closed just other other side of the town that bordered the first blockage, so they are stuck in. So basically theres an 'island' in between me and maitland.
Havent checked today though.
11-06-2007, 09:24
Hi guys :wave:
We are safe and the house is safe :smiliedance:
WE WERE JUST ALLOWED BACK HOME A FEW MINS AGO.
We left before evacuation yesterday as we lost power about 4pm, I wasn't going to stay home with no electricity! lol
The road was totally flooded to my parents house (Oakhampton - that's where the major spillages were - you should see all the water there, it's amazing)
but we managed to get around thru Walka Water Works nature reserve.
Low-lying farmland around here is all flooded, but the city is safe because of the levees. Bekky, I do live right next to the river, but we have a flood mitigation system, so it has 3 spill ways futher up so the water would go around the city before breaking the levee banks iykwim. Long, sad history of really bad floods here.
I was so stressed last night. They were predicting 11.4 - which is just 10cm short of the '55 flood. And anyone around here knows the devastation that caused.
The river is steady at 10.4 metres. Sky news is just accross the road from my house (Maybe I will get on TV :D)
Awesome to hear Zoe.. I had been worried for you all night!
Thanks for getting on and letting us know
Was watching this morning when they said the levee hadn't broken and hoped you were close enough to tow n that your house was okay..
bekkyboo
11-06-2007, 09:45
glad to hear from you Zoe...
I prob should find out how my aunty is... She lives in Maitland...
11-06-2007, 09:45
:eek: Somethign has happened - they just blocked off our road with police and about 6-7 SES emergency vechiles and fire trucks sped up the road with sirens going - I wonder if someone is stuck in all the water at Oakhampton :eek:
millymoo
11-06-2007, 09:47
We left before evacuation yesterday as we lost power about 4pm, I wasn't going to stay home with no electricity! lol
The road was totally flooded to my parents house (Oakhampton - that's where the major spillages were - you should see all the water there, it's amazing)
Low-lying farmland around here is all flooded, but the city is safe because of the levees. Bekky, I do live right next to the river, but we have a flood mitigation system, so it has 3 spill ways futher up so the water would go around the city before breaking the levee banks iykwim. Long, sad history of really bad floods here.
I was so stressed last night. They were predicting 11.4 - which is just 10cm short of the '55 flood. And anyone around here knows the devastation that caused.
The river is steady at 10.4 metres. Sky news is just accross the road from my house (Maybe I will get on TV :D)
Been following the news and was hoping you just had no power all of a sudden,:yes: were whisked to safety:yes:....and then they just said residents allowed home and at that point you posted! It must have been a terrible time and we realise how lucky we are on the Lake.
Oh gosh, you're like a live news report.
Let us know whats happening!
If theres anything you need give us a yell (or if you want to get away from it all for a bit)
WE HAD A MIRACLE YAY :yelclap:, The road is still blocked from Maitland up Kurri Kurri, they are also saying its blocked at Heddon Greta, we got out through Raymond Terrace today for a drive, we got back quick though as Raymond Terrace is going to go back over. The Road for us to head to Maitland has broken its banks in another spot and is now cut in 2 place, its also cut at bolwarra. Hinton is still blocked in and our main road is still rising. :banghead:
rainbowbeetle
11-06-2007, 12:06
we got back safely to muswellbrook this morning.
to look in some places, compared to my drive home on friday, you'd never think it had rained.
the water has subsided a lot in most places.
watching the hunter river, that has been so dry for so long, as we got closer to muswellbrook, and seeing how high it has risen was amazing.
i hope everyone is keeping safe.
charlen49
11-06-2007, 13:28
Hi guys :wave:
The river is steady at 10.4 metres. Sky news is just accross the road from my house (Maybe I will get on TV :D) Glad ur ok.....yeah..i had 20 hours without electtricity on weekend.....not fun...especially with bub!!!!
we got back safely to muswellbrook this morning.
to look in some places, compared to my drive home on friday, you'd never think it had rained.
the water has subsided a lot in most places.
watching the hunter river, that has been so dry for so long, as we got closer to muswellbrook, and seeing how high it has risen was amazing.
i hope everyone is keeping safe. Horray...glad you could get back safely!!!!!
12-06-2007, 04:52
:smiliedance: great news zoe....
Wondermum
12-06-2007, 09:42
Glad to hear you're all safe and without too much damage :yelclap:
Thank goodness everyone is all ok:hugs: , it makes you really grateful when you hear of the death toll :crying:.
I must say this again... A big BOO to the looters :thumbsdown: ... how utterly disgusting!!!:no:
Thank goodness everyone is all ok:hugs: , it makes you really grateful when you hear of the death toll :crying:.
The sad part is the family I know who lost their father/husband can't even greive in peace as they have the media constantly hounding them..... surely there is a time and place where they need to respect peoples privacy..... :shame:
Thats disgusting!!!!! *insert some bannable from bubhub words*
There is way more to life than being entertained from others losses.
Yep...i know they have a job to do but thats just so very wrong on so many levels.
Massive hugs to that family!!:hugs:
Zoe- I'm glad to hear you're home and ok. :)
My DH is on his way home from work. It took him 2 hours to go from here (Bolwarra) to East Maitland this morning, now they've told him to leave soon or risk not getting home for hours and hours. He's on the main highway at East Maitland (Valley Tyres) and says the traffic into Maitland is at a standstill- it'll take him forever to get here!. So the fun isn't over yet! lol
Gotta go ring the school now and see if they're open tomorrow- they're on the list on the DofE website of affected schools, but it says to ring the schools directly on Tuesday.
Hope everyone's doing ok and getting things back to normal
x Kate
*sigh* Well Anyone with children at Newcastle East, the School is shut again tomorrow, as there are STILL trees on the demountables there...
Does anyone know what shopping centres are open and stocked at the moment???
Unfortunately I desperately need to go do grocery shopping tomorrow.....
Wondermum
12-06-2007, 14:46
That's really terrible Karrie :( I hope they all bugger off and leave them to grieve in peace!
Wondermum
12-06-2007, 14:48
Does anyone know what shopping centres are open and stocked at the moment???
Unfortunately I desperately need to go do grocery shopping tomorrow.....
Jesmond is... well it was the other day we went!
Woolworths at Mayfield is good as well, called in there last night
Jesmond is... well it was the other day we went!
Sweet that's what I was hoping to hear.....
charlen49
12-06-2007, 16:45
glendale yesty was...and there were stacks of people there too....we were desperate to groceries too.....didnt get to do do them friday as planned!:eek:
*sigh* Well Anyone with children at Newcastle East, the School is shut again tomorrow, as there are STILL trees on the demountables there...
Its shut tomorrow too, incase your wondering.
Hi everyone, im so glad everyone is ok. :hugs: to you Zoe...that must have been pretty intense. Im stoked your ok though.
We moved into our new place in Mayfield. News cameras took footage of my house mate and me struggling to get my mattress up into the van in the rain. I sad " dont take footage plz " and the guy (yes two guys standing there just watching us stuggle) said "oh im just taking a pan shot" I was so angry. My old place has a big hole in the roof, so we were very happy to have somewhere dry to go to.
I hope everyones family is safe and well.
I really feel very sad for that family Karma. The media are just leeches sometimes. When i was 16 my dad got shot and i was obviously in shock and the media hounded me. It was horrible. They tried to get into the hospital room. I did work experiance for newcastle herald when i was younger too, and one of my jobs was to sit with the police radio and wait for accidents etc. Yucka.:no:
H&B'sMum
13-06-2007, 19:28
Thank goodness you are okay Zoe, been think about you all day. My work is a right off, we have lost everything, phones, computers, carpet, bookshelves, desks, chairs, anything that came into contact with the water (which is everything) has to go. I'm buggered and smell like bleach as we have had to clean everything we are keeping to. It's just a mess and I'm very glad I'm now on holiday's for all of next week.