View Full Version : proposing to him (ideas?)

new_mummy82
08-06-2007, 20:29
i've decided that i'm going to propose to dp :o, i just have no idea how to go about it......i want to make it special but not mushy lol

anyone have any suggestions at all??? any ideas will be greatly appreciaited.....TIA

Bree3
08-06-2007, 22:36
Hi new_mummy82

How exciting to be proposing to your dp. I'm not really sure on what you can do but a friend of mine proposed to her DP at a football game. He appartently had the best day of his life, so i'm told.

Anyways thought that might be an idea if your DP is in to a particular type of sport. Hope all goes well for you and let us know how you went.

punkbaby
08-06-2007, 22:58
Depends on your budget tell him you want a night out somewhere, go see a movie and ask your cinema to put the proposal up on screen :) otherwise plan a night out and then have a limo come and get you and have a nice quiet dinner somewhere quiet where you can ask the waiters to help you.

no1pearl
08-06-2007, 23:46
a horrible thought crossed my mind... slip the ring in a (wet only) nappy when its his turn?

could work out ok??

what a surprise - it'l show how much u both love him 4 doing it!?!

{bit extreme i know!}
but hey congrats and good luck

new_mummy82
09-06-2007, 08:13
maddy&kayleesmum - dp LOVES footy but unfortunately we live in cairns so no footy up this way but thats a good idea

no1pearl - :laughing: :laughing: thats a very unique and funny idea LOVE IT :thumbsup:

Lirael
09-06-2007, 08:15
to be honest, he may not be happy. i mean, thats the mans job isnt it? well thats what they think anyway. I would be worried he would get upset that he didnt get to ask you.

neostudded
09-06-2007, 08:24
Ive never done anything like this before but how sweet.I cant think of any ideas now but if I do ill get back to you.:)

09-06-2007, 08:37
Depends on your budget tell him you want a night out somewhere, go see a movie and ask your cinema to put the proposal up on screen .

That is a brillant idea!
You could put the ring on the top of the choc top hahahhahhaa

to be honest, he may not be happy. i mean, thats the mans job isnt it? well thats what they think anyway. I would be worried he would get upset that he didnt get to ask you.

awww em when are you going to join us in 2007 luv:rolleyes: :laughing: its really nice here:wave: :yes:

Why not email/write/ring the footy show and have them announce your proposal on national tv?
better yet they might even send a tv crew round your place to capture his reaction!
NOW that would be special hahahaha

GD luck hun!

Melo
09-06-2007, 08:52

We aren't back in the 1950's when it was the 'Mans job' to propose :rolleyes:.

I love Nemos Mums idea of the Footy Show.

Maybe a nice lovely dinner?

Lirael
09-06-2007, 08:54
yes im aware of that, but come on, we get to have babies breastfeed etc etc what do they get thats only for them? I know many men who have said they would hate to be proposed to, as they feel it is their 'thing' to do. your DP may think its great. he may not. i was just giving my opinion. the movie idea is cool!

Mybabble
09-06-2007, 13:53
Ok,this is a little corny but its sweet....and cheap!

After my shower the other night i hopped out and noticed that dh had written on the mirror "i love you". He said he had done it after his shower so that when i had mine and the bathroom steamed up again it showed up. It was very sweet. Maybe that is an idea,it would be a nice suprise for him. Have a nice dinner then tell him to have a nice hot shower,then when he gets out, there it is.

09-06-2007, 14:08
yes im aware of that, but come on, we get to have babies breastfeed etc etc what do they get thats only for them? I know many men who have said they would hate to be proposed to, as they feel it is their 'thing' to do. your DP may think its great. he may not. i was just giving my opinion. the movie idea is cool!

Em hope you know I was only joking around:yes: :laughing: :o

Ive never thought of men feeling like they are missing out.....
I guess I always assumed men like the fact they dont have to squeeze a bowling ball out of their privates OR have their boobs used as private breastaurants LOL:laughing: I reckon they have got it pretty good!

BoyzMummy
09-06-2007, 17:57
I thought I would ask my DH as he is a guy and guys think differently to chicks. He has suggested the following. (Don't hold them against me!!!)

1-Take him skydiving and ask him just before he jumps out, that way he has the whole way down for his life to flash in front of his eyes...meaning you.
2- Pack to kids off to someone else for the night then walk out into the lounge wearing nothing but two wedding rings...you decide where!!! Just make sure he's not watching the football at the time!

Personally I prefer the first option.

new_mummy82
09-06-2007, 19:59
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

BoyzMummy - the second idea is too funny!!!!

I'm kind of having second thoughts now after emevity's point of view (didn't really think about him being disappointed if i asked)...guess i need to give it some more thought :o

misskittyfantastico
09-06-2007, 20:11
We'd been together 7 years - I'd hinted and hinted and hinted - One night over a really romantic Beef Strog in front of the telly, I said " Are you EVER going to ask me to marry you?", he said "Yeah" and I did some eyebrow raising and gesturing and he took my plate and got down on one knee and....*sigh* was lovely.

I guess I didn't really propose though, did I?:laughing:

dominatrix
09-06-2007, 23:56
Id dress in something ultra sexy and raunchy and seduce him then maybe pull out a small whip and threaten to use it on him unless he says yes to marrying you.:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

Sorry bit ova the top i know but just trying to think of an awsome proposal from a mans point of view and i reckon that would be pretty awsome to a guy. However i dont know how you'd explain the way you proposed to him to your family.:D

defaipe
10-06-2007, 18:33
However i dont know how you'd explain the way you proposed to him to your family.:D
LMAO!

grass is always greener
05-07-2007, 13:19
I had a great idea, but i realised that it couldnt happen as your bubz is a lil bubz.

But for future reference, maybe you could incorparate her (and maybe any future bubz) into the proposal (kinda like the nappy one but without the poop)

I really like the footy show one and the bathroom proposal!!!!!

GOODLUCK!!!

High n Mighty
07-07-2007, 22:49
1-Take him skydiving and ask him just before he jumps out, that way he has the whole way down for his life to flash in front of his eyes...meaning you.

I'd jump:eek:

suemp
08-07-2007, 14:30
id subtly (ok i cant spell!lol) ask your dp wat he thinks of women proposing as i know MY dp hates the idea and only wants to do it wen he is ready (hes mum has gone thru 2 messy divorces so is a bit iffy of the whole wedding idea). if i asked him it would just be an uncomfortable moment instead of romantic, and id hate you to be in that position, (as its a moment to remember fondly)
jmo...otherwise maybe weekend away. having b/fast overlooking the beach
theatre restaurant you could get the actors in on it somehow
get bub to wear a will you marry my mummy t shirt
ummmm, cant think anymore atm

larazie
01-08-2007, 16:20
Im sorry but im going to have to agree with some of the ladies here that just make sure ur doing the right thing...ur DP may want to ask u to marry him but then again he may love it u asking him BUT...i asked my DH and he said no coz he wanted to ask me so i had to wait even longer for him to get his act together ( he didnt ask me for bout 2yrs later so i would be surprised still)

All im saying is just make sure its ok 1st..dont know how but its a hard 1.

wantabub
01-08-2007, 17:41
Brilliant Idea:

Give your bubs a ring and say to she/he to take it to daddy, and say to daddy 'look what mummy gave you' and when DP gets it from the little one, walk out and say something like I love you, will you marry me?

That is sooo sweet your doing this for your DP, I envy your courage!

nattytheratty
01-08-2007, 18:57
I'm sure you already know your man well enough to make up your own mind whether or not he would mind you proposing.

I asked my hubby by covering our front lawn with giant pink plastic pigs (I called him piglet) with a sign facing our front door saying "will you marry me?"

He still proposed to me himself later on, but sometimes they need the confidence or the kickstart!

Good luck

miraclebaby
01-08-2007, 20:40
Father's Day is coming up in September. You could get a Father's Day card and write in it as though your bub has written it saying something like ' I love you Daddy. Will you marry my Mummy?'

littlefreckle
05-08-2007, 12:11
Hey there
If this is what you want to do go for it. I proposed to my DP in 1999. We got together at my going away party when we were 17. I was going to Germany for 12mths as an exchange student. I got back in July and he was there waiting for me. We were staying at his parents in november for the night and was laying in bed in the morning. I'd been thinking about it for a while and just rolled over and said 'will you marry me'. He looked at me smiled, scratched his chin and said yes. We went and brought a ring about a week later and have been happily married for just over 5 years with our first bubba on the way.
We don't live in the 50's anymore. I'm the sort of person that if i want something ill go after it. Deep down i had no doubts that he would say no.
What ever you decide to do I hope it works out for you. Best of luck

Mum2Monster
07-08-2007, 13:14
So...whats the verdict??? Its been a few months since the thread started so have you got any ideas?
And for what it's worth, I say go for it!