View Full Version : omg tuggerah is under water!!
Dh has just spent 3 hrs driving from tuggerah to terrigal !! he said at 1 point the water was up over the headlights:eek: people are sitting on top of there cars!!!!!This weather is nuts
millymoo
08-06-2007, 17:26
Agrree.....I am finding it quite worrying as the stories come in and DH not home. Am in Belmont.
We live at Bateau Bay and my husband left for work at 3pm to go to Warnervale and he is only just on the freeway now:eek:
Its crazzey also all our mobiles aren't working
millymoo im sure he is fine traffic is relly bad cause there is heaps of flooding :hugs:
MrsTwith3
08-06-2007, 17:32
All of my downstairs is flooded:gloomy: Its going to be a long night trying to get it dried out. To top it off we keep on geting blackouts. Luckily the power came back on at 4:30pm as I didnt really want to go out so I could feed my kids:no:
where on the coast are you?
MrsTwith3
08-06-2007, 17:40
Buff Point...near Budgewoi
I posted this in the other thread too. What do I do?
Question, I live in a two story house am I better off getting everyone upstairs or staying downstairs? My backyard is flooded. I am worried that the wind may blow the roof off, so what do I do?
Up or down?
MrsTwith3
08-06-2007, 17:43
I'd stay upstairs!!!!!
This is so scary. I have never expereinced weather like this before. If my power goes out I hope you all stay safe:hugs:
millymoo
08-06-2007, 19:18
:hugs: Everyone!! DH home and was stuck in floods.
It is horrible!
I'm glad to hear you're DH made it home:hugs:
charlen49
08-06-2007, 19:59
:thumbsup: Yay helen.....it took dp.....1hr to get home from work in wallsend to kotara...usually takes 25....he procceded to tell me that he a nd dd#1 were nearly totalled by a truck....thanks babe....as if i wasnt worried enough.....been listening in bathroom(whilst washing bub this evening)...ABC newy radio talkback....the amazing stories coming from people in newy/ lake mac/ and the cetral coast are unbeleivable...one lady said its worse than the 99 earthquake....and i tend to agree..its effecting a lot more people thats for sure!!!!!there are people on the cc.........will be without power until sunday....poor buggars....especially in this weather!!!!
punkbaby
08-06-2007, 20:00
Floods are so scary I hope everyones ok up that way
SorenLorensen
08-06-2007, 20:14
hello all :wave:
im ment to ring my friend but i cant get him on his mobile so i am guessing he is still driving home (he turns it off in the car).
he finished work at 7pm
how long would it be taking for him to get from uummm i dont know the town it has factory outlets in it with a bunnings just out of them and has ING kinda across the road, oh and it starts with a T (i think). he lives (ok i really need to learn the names of towns:o ) as you drive into the CC, near the reptile park, his town is there, on top of the hill befor you head down to gosford (sp).
now if anyone can work out where the hell i am talking about.......would it be busy tonight ? is that why it is taking him so long to get home ?
i am ment to ring him beofr 8:30 but i really dont see that happening:no:
MrsTwith3
08-06-2007, 21:31
Your friend works at Tuggerah and lives at Kariong :confused:
It would normally take about 25-30mins drive up the F3 but considering the rain/wind and stupidity of some of the drivers on the road it may take him close to an hour to get home. That is of course if he could get out as there is alot of flooding all over the coast.
Hope your friend gets home all safe and sound.
P.S. My mobile has been losing coverage off and on all day...I think it has to do with the weather as well.
PunkyDiva
08-06-2007, 21:35
Sending lots hugs:hugs: and safe vibes:fingerscrossed: your way ladies.
my power just came back on.i just spoke to my best mate her 3yr old is stuck in wyong at his family day care the roads are closed and she can't get to him:eek:
MrsTwith3
08-06-2007, 21:45
my power just came back on.i just spoke to my best mate her 3yr old is stuck in wyong at his family day care the roads are closed and she can't get to him:eek:
OMG I have a 3yo that would be totally hysterical if he wasnt going to be getting picked up from daycare and I would never get him to go back ever again.
Your poor friend must be beside herself and her 3yo as well. I hope they get reunited soon.
MrsTwith3
08-06-2007, 21:46
My parents live at Gwandalan and have been told not to expect any power till tomorrow arvo:eek:
Ashleigh<3
08-06-2007, 21:49
We were stuck on Tuggerawong road. Between Rocky point and Back roads of Wyong station.
It was scary :(
And the poor family missing after the road collapse in Somersby. :(
millymoo
08-06-2007, 22:48
Just watched Sky news and The Hunter and CC have been declared a Natural Disaster Area.
I have power now but :hugs: and best wishes to those who don`t ...it was awful for Milly and I from 12 til 4 with none and no mobile coverage.
punkbaby
08-06-2007, 22:55
apparently there is an elderly couple missing too now as well
Meanwhile, the search for an elderly couple whose car was swept off a bridge at Clarence Town, near Dungog, in the Hunter Valley, also has been suspended until tomorrow.
So horrible i hope everyones all safe up there or as safe as you can be!
My power just came back on :smiliedance: its been off since about 9 last night we are very lucky.
As for the family thats car got swept away not such good news the dad and two kids were found dead today:crying: :gloomy:
Please pray the mum and other child is found safe:fingerscrossed:
I live in Wyong, and had power out since 7 am yesterday - I am at my parents place up near Nelson Bay at the moment, DH brought me and the boys here as we are not sure when the power will be back on, and the wyong river is very close to our house. Waiting on news on our place is (DH went home just under an hour ago).
Just watch the news and saw the horror in newcastle and central coast. Praying for those who have lots loved ones and who houses, cars, business that have been damaged.
:fingerscrossed: this weather starts do improved soon!!
Its stopped raining here now i can even see a star in the sky:smiliedance:
Just a quick update: DH is home, power is on and house didn't get flooded :smiliedance:. :fingerscrossed: That is the worse of it!! Hope everyone else is ok.
it just started raining again here:gloomy:
BlueEyedGirl
09-06-2007, 21:01
We had power on and off on Friday - Friday night around 8.30pm, it went out and again and still no power!
My sister's have power, they are in Mardi, so we are here enjoying the luxeries of electricity!!
My heart goes out to the families that have lost loved ones in this terrible time.:hugs:
My brother is an SES volunteer and he was out from early yesterday until 3am - and gone again before anyone got up.
My sister;s school is under water - right on Wyong River - all their records and photos and etc were being kept in the area that is under water...
The rain hass died down, but I think it will pick up again - apparently power wont be restored to some parts until late next week:no:
I am in singo and we are flooded in. Half the town in flooded and we have no contact with the rest of town...
BlueEyedGirl
09-06-2007, 21:28
I am in singo and we are flooded in. Half the town in flooded and we have no contact with the rest of town...
I heard that on the news Gumby :hugs: for you and your family to stay safe!