View Full Version : How about this rain ey?!!!
SENT IT DOWN HUEY :smiliedance:
Love it love it....
MrsTwith3
08-06-2007, 08:56
The rain is great but the wind is scaring the cr@p out of me. We have a huge gum in the front yard that Im worried is going to fall on the house. Its not looking too healthy and has lost a couple of BIG branches in the past couple of weeks.
Oh we dont really have wind. Your on the coast though mel arnt you?
Stay safe.....
millymoo
08-06-2007, 09:09
Bloody windy in Belmont!! Next doors tree is down and my windows are shaking!!
Its so confusing isnt it. We wish for rain and then we get it, it comes down like noones business. We have flood warnings here atm...
Wondermum
08-06-2007, 09:26
I love listening to the rain in bed, all snuggled up :D .... but yeah when it rains it reeeally seems to bucket down for days! It's been pretty windy here too - my sheets on the line are now firmly wrapped around like ropes :laughing:
Wondermum
08-06-2007, 10:06
Just had a call from the other half letting me know one of the ships off Newcastle has run ashore on Nobbys Beach :eek:
omg really? So scary.
kellieanne08
08-06-2007, 10:10
The Sydney winds at the moment are terrible... Been getting stronger since last night.
I gotta tell you, I really don't like winter at all. It's just too cold and wet etc.
It makes things hard with a toddler too who loves to play outside or go for walks to the park etc... Being 13 months he just doesn't understand why we can't go for our usual walk etc...
MrsTwith3
08-06-2007, 10:12
Yep on the coast....being hammered.
Wow Jess those ships are huge and to have one sitting on nobby's:eek:
Wondermum
08-06-2007, 10:16
Yeah pretty freaky hey?! They've blocked it all off apparently... as you would!
tootiredtosleep
08-06-2007, 10:20
Check out www.smh.com.au (http://www.smh.com.au) for pics of the ship off Nobbys.
Very scary!
Ok so I was just checking out the rainfall in singo TODAY 41.4 mm
so far and no signs of slowing....
kellieanne08
08-06-2007, 10:23
wow those pics are horrible! This weather has come from no where....
Wondermum
08-06-2007, 10:27
Check out www.smh.com.au (http://www.smh.com.au) for pics of the ship off Nobbys.
Very scary!
*EEK* a fuel ship:eek:
tootiredtosleep
08-06-2007, 11:03
I hope that they can pull it out - Im not sure how though??
All I can think of is the Sygna at Stockton... I hope Nobbys doesnt end up the same.... we are just out of Newcastle and the wind is blowing our outdoor furniture around and I keep on hearing police/ambo sirens..
Its very surreal
millymoo
08-06-2007, 11:07
The sky news main story is of the boat and nobbys beach...apparently Newy is getting grid locked witht the sight seeing public!!
It looks unreal on the footage and huge!
Yeah its crazy.... a mate of mine sent me pics... but I can't get photobucket to work..... :banghead:
*EEK* a fuel ship:eek:
It's actually an empty container ship.... but has full fuel tanks that are supposedly still in tact....
Pics....
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h201/KJM1310/NewcastleBoatStuck.jpg
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h201/KJM1310/ShipNewcastle.jpg
tootiredtosleep
08-06-2007, 11:37
Very scary.. the ship is about 20 meters off the beach now and they are rescuing the crew by helicopter..
Theres another one getting close, but it still has power.
Ive been watching the weather loop over Newcastle and it is not good at all...
I have to work tonight, on an emergency line!! I am hoping that they have organised someone to help me or I am not going to have time to blink!!
There are about 12 pics on www.smh.com.au (http://www.smh.com.au) now and a very dodgy short video.
mummyof5
08-06-2007, 13:09
I had to pick up the kids early and move all the chooks. Half of Greta is flooded, the creek next to my house (our boundry) has broken it's banks, and is about a foot from the egde of my chook pen. It's a little scary since I am here by myself, don't expect hubby to get back in due to the seas, so won't even speak to him till late tonight if at all today.
whatwasithinking
08-06-2007, 14:05
Bloody windy in Belmont!! Next doors tree is down and my windows are shaking!!
Can you keep me posted on the weather conditions for Belmont/Floraville please. My FIL is down here and a bit freaking about his house.
All the best for everyone else too in other areas - hope you are all OK.
I had to get a car load of kids from the local school today. The S.E.S closed all the schools in town down and some of the kids missed there bus' home before all the roads were closed.
The rain has stopped now. I might check the B.O.M.
If anyone wants to check out the loacal weather go to
www.bom.gov.au
charlen49
08-06-2007, 14:58
I had to pick up the kids early and move all the chooks. Half of Greta is flooded, the creek next to my house (our boundry) has broken it's banks, and is about a foot from the egde of my chook pen. It's a little scary since I am here by myself, don't expect hubby to get back in due to the seas, so won't even speak to him till late tonight if at all today.
the newengland has been closed most of the day due to that flooding.....sil stuck trying to get to singo
charlen49
08-06-2007, 14:59
we had balckout from 8.30....till 1.30......not fun.....especially with bubs in almost blackness....managed to scrap up a few candles....but the light got so bad i had to stop reading and that was the last thing avilable for me to do.....thankgoodness the top part of our stove is gas....and i had just heated bubs bottle before the power went out.......what a pain in the @rse....then it buckets down with hail and because our block is slpping we had a raging river running under the house....floods the garage.....almost made it in the back door..scary!!!!!
...today has just been one of those shocker days.....grrrrrrr
Helen i know ur power went off for a short while...is it back on yet........dp said energy had everyone of its sites down in newy today........flooding up the hunter.......its taken my sil allday to get to my mums house in singo( i dont even know if she is there yet...coming from diamondbeach near foster)....because roads have been closed and she has had to go long way arounds and she gets to greata and the road has been shut due to flooding...most of the day.....so traffic is apparently banked up forever.....what an absolutely shocker of a day....and then the ships have gone ashore in the harbour...........( apparently they were all told told to go out to sea 10 nautivcal miles last night because of the storm front coming by authorites....they chose to ignore the warning s.....so they have lost 1 ship and 2 others have now broken anchor in the rough oceans.....idiots......to save money they didnt moove....now they have lost bigtime.....hope nothing spills onto newy's lovely beaches!!!!!!)
It sucks! I am soooo over the rain! I wish it would go where it was really needed. Do you know how horrible it is taking your dog out to pee twice a day in gale force winds + having it hammer down rain on you?
I just went outside and had no choice but to step in a puddle (only way I could get back home) and I sunk up to my calf muscle!
We haven't lost power today thankfully....a couple of dips but not actually lost it. The advantage of living in the CBD I guess.
charlen49
08-06-2007, 15:07
I had to get a car load of kids from the local school today. The S.E.S closed all the schools in town down and some of the kids missed there bus' home before all the roads were closed.
The rain has stopped now. I might check the B.O.M.
If anyone wants to check out the loacal weather go to
www.bom.gov.au (http://www.bom.gov.au)
my sister is trapped in her home...creeks are floded at howesvalley!!!!!!
millymoo
08-06-2007, 15:12
I have just got power on here in Belmont after 4.5 hrs!! freezing we are. Can`t stop though as want to do a few things in case goes off again...like have a cup of tea!!
millymoo
08-06-2007, 15:13
Must add...no signal on mob either so dd1 just came in over an hour ago after school evac as she got a lift. Scarey to be so un reachable ...
charlen49
08-06-2007, 15:15
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: helen.so thats why i didnt get message back.....i know how u feel!!!!!!!!
BlueEyedGirl
08-06-2007, 15:28
Charlen49 - sounds exactly like my place!!
My younger siblings were at school today - couldn't get in contact with the school cause they have water going into their buildings, so all power is off - luckily, my older sister who lives behind the school was home today, and they have gone to her house!
A tree fell on the power lines on the road across from our house - so no power all day, and all the phone lines are busy so I couldn't get in contact with anyone!!
Next doors bottom paddock is full of water - there is water as far as the eye can see - so much water on the roads..... hopefully everyone can get home safe - if they can make it!
charlen49
08-06-2007, 15:31
im a touch scared...here are some pics i just took of rain flooding up to our backstep!
http://www.charlen49.com/photo/displayimage.php?album=18&pos=2
BlueEyedGirl
08-06-2007, 15:33
im a touch scared...here are some pics i just took of rain flooding up to our backstep!
thats not good!
Any whre you can go that might not be so wet??
I didn't think to look out back at my yard til just now and it is completely under a LOT of water.... almost up to level with my raised garden beds....
There is water just streaming through the retaining wall from next doors backyard.... makes me a little nervous re: landslides if it keeps it up....
My sister is stuck at work in Westfield Kotara cos the carpark is VERY underwater....
She said her partner told her people in Mayfield/Waratah are missing their cars thanks to flash flooding....
charlen49
08-06-2007, 15:45
there go the sirens ...i live in the same street as garden city...........its p!ssing down ....dp said at his work today flasflooding sunk cars up to there windows
I am on the Central Coast and my backyard is underwater. Lucky we have a raised house.
I can't believe how much rain we've had and are continuing to get:eek:
Wondermum
08-06-2007, 15:50
Guess the hot topic on the local news!
My other half called me a while ago to say he was on his way home but it may take him a while as the roads are congested with cars fighting their way through the flooded roads!
My DH is in for a fun night he is organising all the runs for the Woolworths trucks to Newcastle, The Hunter and Central Coast. :eek: Something tells me the deliveries will be late:yes:
millymoo
08-06-2007, 16:08
The weather forecast is set to worsen overnight!
It is unbelievable!
Be glad when DH home and all safe and :fingerscrossed: bloody power stays on! That was just awful for 4 hrs and no mobile either. Milly and I had a hot shower and got in bed!
:hugs: to everyone! Keep warm and safe.
Oh Helen, is that for the lake or hunter in general???
charlen49
08-06-2007, 16:18
The weather forecast is set to worsen overnight!
It is unbelievable!
Be glad when DH home and all safe and :fingerscrossed: bloody power stays on! That was just awful for 4 hrs and no mobile either. Milly and I had a hot shower and got in bed!
:hugs: to everyone! Keep warm and safe.
i couldnt have a hot shower Helen.....we have rinnai gas...so its control by an electrical switch!!!!8.30 till 1.30 in dark was crappy!!!!
millymoo
08-06-2007, 16:22
Oh Helen, is that for the lake or hunter in general???
Well yes the Hunter and Lake area it said, then moving down to Sydney.
Will watch NBN at 6pm though as they should have all details and some great shots of that boat and maybe the two others they are worried about.
I really hope the power stays on cos until it goes you don`t realise how much it controls!!
Milly and I were all raedy for bed by 2pm...ah well saves a job tonight!
millymoo
08-06-2007, 16:27
Not just here then
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=1559917&posted=1#post1559917
my god.. im in maryland and i thought it was bad here! you guys are copping it heaps worse.. we havent lost power.. im praying it stays that way...
My brother has just gone to pick my mum up from newcastle and he has broken down at markettown... can you believe it.. of all the days to breakdown!!
hope everyone stays safe!!
charlen49
08-06-2007, 16:45
omg....Kotara westfiels just down the road from me is under water and they have closed northcott drive............we are flooded out the front here.... central coast has had cars swept away according to sydney radio
Just spoke to my mum, who is stranded at warners bay, the major roundabout is completely flooded.....
My nan and pops place at adamstown has water coming in everywhere and is starting to flood....
The family bird got out.... :crying:
My biggest lil sis is stuck at work at Gardo cos they aren't allowed to leave....
My 2nd biggest lil sis is at work at Kotara Macca's til 7pm so there's pretty much no hope of her getting out of there soon too....
charlen49
08-06-2007, 17:15
Just spoke to my mum, who is stranded at warners bay, the major roundabout is completely flooded.....
My nan and pops place at adamstown has water coming in everywhere and is starting to flood....
The family bird got out.... :crying:
My biggest lil sis is stuck at work at Gardo cos they aren't allowed to leave....
My 2nd biggest lil sis is at work at Kotara Macca's til 7pm so there's pretty much no hope of her getting out of there soon too....
How scary is all this...i live on parkave kotara........and its comlpletely flooded.....dp had trouble getting home
Big :hugs: to everyone!!!
We are right next to the uni & very lucky to still have our car & not in the creek that our boundary is on.
Very scarey!!! My Mum got DD from school & was taking her back to her house in Cooks Hill & rang me in distress as the car was in water up to the bonnet... they made it home safe, thank God.
We also have a huge gum tree in the front yard that we home stays put... we have been putting off getting it cut down - lets just hope our laziness dosn't end up crashing through our house tonight!!!
Hope everyone stays safe :fingerscrossed: .
XO Bex
Yeah sending every one "Stay Safe" vibes..... tis crazy.....
I have a mate that treks to Muswellbrook everyday for work, and I'm guessing she is more than likely stuck there....
charlen49
08-06-2007, 18:48
Yeah sending every one "Stay Safe" vibes..... tis crazy.....
I have a mate that treks to Muswellbrook everyday for work, and I'm guessing she is more than likely stuck there....
:wizard: lots of stay safe vibes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and hope they find that family washed away on the cental coast!!!!!!!:fingerscrossed:
charlen49
08-06-2007, 18:51
Big :hugs: to everyone!!!
We are right next to the uni & very lucky to still have our car & not in the creek that our boundary is on.
Very scarey!!! My Mum got DD from school & was taking her back to her house in Cooks Hill & rang me in distress as the car was in water up to the bonnet... they made it home safe, thank God.
We also have a huge gum tree in the front yard that we home stays put... we have been putting off getting it cut down - lets just hope our laziness dosn't end up crashing through our house tonight!!!
Hope everyone stays safe :fingerscrossed: .
XO Bex
:thumbsup: glad ur dd and mum were ok......this is one crazy day!!!!!!!thats for sure
Major flood warnings for Singleton today. I am ****ting myself. I have to work tonight and my restaurant is DIRECTLY (couldnt get any closer) to the bank of the river...
I hope my boss sees sence and closes for the night.....
Can anyone tell me what its like in Singleton and Lower Belford? I have family there and Im getting a bit concerned. Thanks
Hi hun. I am in Singo. We are being evacuated down here with the river set to spill out threw town at midnight tonight.
I have to sign off. We have to move the kids and animals to higher ground.
The s.e.s have been fantastic and are walking the streets helping ppl..
I will try and sign in at home later.
Stay safe Rian!!
Its been absolutely insane.... my sisters work let them go last night.... so the wrong decision, they told people to leave and basically directed them to drive straight out into flood waters..... :shame:
She ended up getting stuck at Adamstown, had to ditch her car and wade through waist deep water in tears til some stranger took her in..... poor darling..... :crying:
Mum and fam are without power at kotara, and apparently the reserve behind their house is a mess.... a couple of houses have had their front yards washed away.... it took mum 2 hrs to get home from warners bay last night....
Luckily we live directly next door to energy australia.... so we have power.... and not likely to lose it unless something REALLY severe was to happen.... the water in the yard has drained away this morning.... thankfully someone thought long and hard when they built around here as there is major drainage everywhere.....
It is pretty scary when all you could hear all morning are sirens and chain saws.....
neostudded
09-06-2007, 10:21
Iam LOVIN this lovely RAIN So peaceful and soothing, makes me sleepy :sleeping: and happy :smiliedance:
crazy lady
WeloveHarriet
09-06-2007, 10:30
Yep rain is nice but unfortunately not the scale of rain we have had in Newcastle over the last 24hrs.
neostudded
09-06-2007, 10:32
crazy lady:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
Ok so I have the kids (10) at home. I need to go clear my sis house out. They are about 2 houra from going under. The roads are closed and I am scared :(
millymoo
09-06-2007, 12:41
Good luck and keep safe and warm x
Stay safe Gumby.
We were flooded last nigh so have a big clean up to do today!!:gloomy:
millymoo
09-06-2007, 13:35
I can hear it getting all blustery again as I sit here.
Have been making Starstruck costumes all morning!
:banghead:
Gunby ..I am a bit slow these days but just realised who you are!
Oh sorry helen,. its me RIAN :wave:
SpecialMumma
09-06-2007, 13:44
Someone stop this god damn rain before it kills ANYMORE!
I am with you on that one....
:banghead:
mummyof5
09-06-2007, 14:09
Things are quiet at the moment around here, though for how long who knows. We were without power for about 9 hours from middle of the night.
Had to drive to Morriset to pick up DH and the destruction is just heartbreaking...
I am thinking about you all, Rian, if you need us, just yell! My house is small, but you're welcome...
Same here ladies... if anyone is stranded please let me know.... we are dry, warm and with power and plenty of room for anyone that needs it.....
We wont be going anyone. we are all stranded. Brendan and my sis and family are still packing my sis house. The water is near there door. GOD HELP THEM....
I hope it holds out for them Rian....
My nan & pop's place got flooded last night.... so i feel your pain!
charlen49
10-06-2007, 09:55
hi all...got power back on in kotara..after 15 hours without it yesty..bloody hard with a bottle fed bub!..my mum /family in singo.........they are down near the hospital....and a bit worried about water coming from redenberry way!!!!!...my sister is stuck out on her propert at howesvalley on the putty road..as the crreks are flooded....so they can't go anywhere until water goes down!!!!!