View Full Version : Rockingham Chat
Hey, I know there were a few rockingham people here (Port Kennedy, Warnbro, Safety Bay etc) parents here.
Thought perhaps we could have our own little chat too.
I am in Safety Bay at the moment, but looking at going down port kennedy way.
I have 6 kids, they are 13b 9b 8b 4b 4b almost 2g
sammykat
20-01-2006, 23:47
Yeah thats a good ideas im looking to chat to people in the same area, im in Shoalwater at the moment but im looking to move Waikiki way.
My name is Sam, Im 19 and the mother to a beautiful 3 1/2 month old girl named Scarlet Jade.
So what playgroups do you go to if any, and how is it being a mum of 6, Im one of 5 myself, my youngest brother is 9
I havent been going to play group, but am thinking of taking DD this year, as all the kids are in school this year. Last year the twns were in kindy 4 hald days a week, and that just gave me time to do the shopping and a bit of cleaning.
There was no way I was taking the twins anywhere by myself, they are just way full on!
Do you go to playgroup?
My kids are pretty much well behaved mostly, but one of the twins is 10 handfulls on his own, suppose I had to have one that was/is very active! LOL
hello! I live in Port Kennedy :) I have a four year old boy and a 2 1/2 year old girl and one due in April!
I go to a great playgroup in Safety Bay on a Friday.
sammykat
22-01-2006, 00:14
I know of one playgroup which is at the Station in Rockingham, but it is for under 25s I may check it out.
Where, when, etc is the playgroup in Safety Bay and what others are there.
I definetly need to goet out of the house. Scarlets too little to socialise properly but I'm not. :D
I'm not under 25 ;)
I'm 33
My youngest (Alannah) is 2 this March. All the rest are boys, and in go to school. Not long now, cant wait as my twins are driving me up the wall!!
MIM, you say you go to a great laygoup, do many others go?
Oh yeah, there are quite a few of us now. All lovely ladies, easy to talk to if you're a bit shy like me! It's at the CWA Hall in Safety Bay on a Friday 9.30 to 11.30 and starts again I think on the 3rd. Mums and kids of all ages go, I'd love to meet you both! :)
mummyto3
26-01-2006, 11:49
I am Bianca,mum to Kaitlyn(3),Blake(17mths) and Madison(4mths).We live in Port Kennedy.
I am thinking about taking the kids to playgroup this year,but its a bit daunting with the 3 of them by myself,especially when they all want my attention at the same time!.The older 2 go to daycare on Tuesdays and Fridays,so they get some interaction with other children.Though Mim the one on friday sounds good,even if i just bought the little one down and got some adult conversation!.
Anyway hope you all have a great day :D
Hi Bianca,
I never went to play group last year because the idea of taking the twins by myself and Alannah put me off.
Usually though I dont like big groups, I prefer 3-4 others, so I dont know how I would go with play group. Although my DD is used to kids at least.
The one in safety bay sounds good LOL, its close to me :D
Maybe a meet at Maccas (if you eat their stuff) on a Tuesday morning will be good for everyone? Either Rockingham, or Warnbro. LOL, they have nice cappaccinos now ;) yes but $3 each. Or somewhere else.
sammykat
27-01-2006, 00:02
The 3rd of Febuary is that when the playgroup starts up.
I know exactly where the CWA hall is because I use to rent it out to teach art there.
I think I might come down one morning when it starts up again, bring my mum for morale support, does it cost?
And meeting at mcdonalds sounds tastly! LOL@ :D
I'm not bothered with anyones age I'd just like to talk to people that dont go baaa baaa dribble, not that I dont love it!
When I tell people Im 19 I get the typical same knocked up teenager reaction :confused:
Sammykat
Yep playgroup starts on the 3rd of Febuary. I can't remember if it costs for under ones. I think it might be free. But you don't have to pay anything to come the first couple of times to see if you like it :) .
And at the reaction you get from other people, when I had my DS I was 20, but looked about 16, I got it ALL! Just ignore them, they are obviously small minded and most definitely bored with waaay too much time on their hands :rolleyes: .
And if you guys do end up coming to playgroup, my real name is Anne (ssshhh)
I'll second the Maccas meet! :)
mim xxx
I remember those looks, I was 19 when I had my first.
sammykat
05-02-2006, 18:12
oh thanks for the support guys.
im gonna come to the safety bay cwa play group on friday (10th) i missed the first one woops! and check it out
Sammykat - looking forward to meeting you :)
mim xxx
I dont think I will be going to playgroup this term.
Does anyone know of what there is for an almost 2 year old to do, like gymnastics, I think itss called kindergym I went about 10 years ago now with my first son, and cant remember where. Do they still have something like that?
And Kindermusic Do they have one close? If anyone knows of?
I dont really like swimming at all.
Another Port Kennedy Mum here with a 6 month old daughter Ava......
Closest Kindermusik to us is Mandurah ~Allanah's_Mum~
mythreelittlemonkeys
07-02-2006, 09:47
soon to be a mummy and just got news our house loan been approved which means we moving to orelia...so will kinda bear a near Rockingham mummy soon!!:D Are there any mother and baby groups for ickle ones in Rockingham area? Just thinking I will want to do stuff and socialise fairly early on...being new to area (and country!) sounds like there are a few playgroups anyway from your thread! Sooooooo excited about move and being a mummy!:D
georgiem, congrats on the house loan approval! :D Hope your move goes well.
justcooked, ta, I just realised kindermusik has a website, and saw the MAndurah one, thanks :D
I have just opened a website for parents in the Rockingham/kwinana area (about 3 weeks ago now). We had a meet this morning. (I had to leave early tho :( ) georgiem, I think I already gave you the address for it.
mythreelittlemonkeys
07-02-2006, 17:24
yup you did but my silly post box has deleted...as I forgot to flick over to safe!
Can you send me the link again :D
Lexiesmum
07-02-2006, 23:28
Not sure who was asking about the Kindagym but I have been looking around as well and althought Lexie is a little young yet there is a palce in Port Kennedy right next to Dankz furniture (used to be Spotlight before they moved) that has Kindagym from 1 years old ons. It seemed very reasonably priced and although you have to pay a one off insurance fee from that point you can either pay weelky, monthly or by term.
I have also heard that there is supposed to be Kindagym at the Kwinana Acquatic Centre / Complex but could not find info on their website and haven't got around to ringing yet.
I was looking for a Gymbaroo as they do ther really young kids from about 6 weeks but there is nothing in the area at all - the closest is Booragoon and the fees are pricey at about $140- a term.
Hope that helps...
Taken from todays news:
School of sharks spotted at Kwinana Beach
A school of sharks has been sighted at Kwinana Beach, south of Perth.
Water police say the sharks were spotted about 100 metres off the beach by a skywatch flight early this morning.
A police boat has been sent to the area.
Members of the public are being warned not to swim or take horses into the water until further notice.
Luckymummy
10-02-2006, 20:57
Hi, my name is Simone and in the process of moving to Waikiki, in the next few weeks.I have two daughters aged 2and a half and 4 and a half.My eldest is going to school at Charthouse primary, whilst my youngest goes to Nippers day care Safety Bay once a week for socialisation.If there is anyone out there willing for a chat I would really appreciate it.:D
sammykat
10-02-2006, 22:30
Hey Simone
Welcome to Waikiki, its such a nice area, where abouts are you? I too am in the process of moving to Waikik. Where are you moving from.
Charthouse is a lovely school, I went there my partner went there, my brothers go there and my little girl will go there when shes big enough.
I forgot to say, I have 5 boys, they are almost 14, almost 10, 8, and almost 5 year old twins. Then I have my little girl, whos almost 2.
I've been in Rockingham for about 12 years now. Lived in Rockingham, Hillman, waikiki and currently safety Bay.
My partner works down in Port Kennedy (real estate agent, for about 12 months now) so we are looking at moving down that way when we get around to it. I suppose thats one plus of renting :p
So, hows everyone down this way going?
Anyone want a meet ant the funstation in about 2-3 weeks time?
mummyto3
22-02-2006, 23:27
Hi girls,sorry havent been on here lately!.Have been busy with the kids having chicken pox :(
Lexiesmum,i have been eyeing off that kindergym place,only today actually.I cant seem to be able to find their number in the phone book.I might have to go down there and ask about it for my eldest daughter.She is 3.5 yrs and doesnt kinderdance at daycare,and loves it.Though finding out its for as young as 1 yr olds,i might see if my 18 mth old son wants to join in too.
Anyway better run..take care :)
sammykat
24-02-2006, 11:16
Are any of you ladies going to the zoo on the 18th March?
Cant make it to the zoo, too far for me to drive on my own
sammykat
25-02-2006, 14:08
why dont you catch the bus, i put the route on the other thread.
i cant wait
kayleesmum
08-03-2006, 09:13
I know this is a Rockingham mothers group but was hoping that i could join in. On the 14th December 2005. Our beautiful daughter Kaylee was born. She is our first so we are on a steep learning curve. I have no family over here as they all live in NSW so it is pretty much me, Kaylee and our 2 dogs as when my husband is at work the days can get long with no one to talk to or visit. I am hoping to be able to make some nice friends on this site and learn a lot as well.
Bye Mel:fingerscrossed:
Hi Mel,
Welcome to bubhub! Congratulations on your new daughter! :)
I'm in Port Kennedy, and all my DF's family is in Mandurah.
There is a meetup of WA girls at the zoo on the 18th March if you would be interested? There is actually a thread about it in WA chat.
Looking forward to chatting! :ecomcity: .
mim xxx
sammykat
08-03-2006, 11:35
Hey Mel
Mandurahs not that far!
Im in the process of moving from Shoalwater to Waikiki.
Congratulations on the little baby girl! Its sooo fun.
I had my first little girl, Scarlet in October 05, she grows so fast!
Yes you should come to the Zoo meet on the 18th and we can all catch up it would be great, I love the zoo.
If you dont mind me asking how old are you and your partner?
Well hope to talk to you again
:detective: I just put him coz hes cute!
kayleesmum
08-03-2006, 13:38
Thankyou for making me feel so welcome. My husband is turning 34 in May. I am turning 27 in April and Kaylee is 3 months old today. We have two dogs who are 5years old.
Mel:D
Welcome. Nice to have you in this group.
Hi Mel,
We are similar....I turn 28 in April. My DH is 34 in December just gone. I have a 6 month old daughter, my first, and we have two dogs that are 4 years old.
We are in Pt Kennedy.
Nice to meet you anyway!
I run a rockingham forum for parents wanting to meet up, and we're having a little get together on:
Tuesday, 14th March, 10amish
At the park where near the autum centre behind hj's rockingham
if anyone here wants to come, thats ok too.
kate_perth_10
14-03-2006, 17:07
Hi my names Kate and i have two boys aged 2 and 3.I'm 21 and i live in Waikiki.i don't know anyone with kids and i really like to get to know some people and make friends.Anyone interested in meeting???:)
Mummy~Kate 21
Daddy~Glenn 26
Jack 3
Nicholas 2
Welcome Kate! Have you been in the area for long?
kate_perth_10
14-03-2006, 17:25
Yes,all my life!! When i had the boys everyone i knew was kinda off doing other things.I try to catch up occasionally but we don't really have much in common anymore and its really getting kinda lonely!!!
What about playgroups. I think Waikiki CH centre runs one and in the events section on Bub Hub I am sure I saw a Safety Bay young parent group (under 25's).
Apparently, I'm too old for it being an ancient 27 now :p
kate_perth_10
14-03-2006, 17:33
yeah we've just started going to the one at the westerly centre and its good,for the boys,i just find all the mums are like late 30's,its kinda like talking to my mum haha and 27 is not old!!:rolleyes:
Hi kate! I sent you a message
kate_perth_10
14-03-2006, 20:40
hey sorry i missed you i was cooking the dinner,bathing the kids and they've just gone down to sleep hooray!!!!:yelclap:
sammykat
14-03-2006, 20:59
Hey Kate.
Im Sam im 20 and live in Waikiki. Ive lived in Waikiki most my life.
Theres an under 25 playgroup at the station near rockingham city, I havent been yet but im keen to check it out.
Id love to meet up sometime as I too know the feeling when everyone else goes the own way after you have a child, my friends either were too busy or just didnt want to know, I still keep in touch with a few true friends, but everyone seems to show the true colours:thumbsdown:
Any way send us a message or feel free to add us to MSN and well chat
kitty_kat_meow4@hotmail.com
kate_perth_10
14-03-2006, 21:18
Hey haven't figured out how to pm you yet.We just got the internet last week and its all really new to me.Its sad i know!! How old is ur bubba??:)
sammykat
17-03-2006, 00:03
My litttle girl is 5 1/2 months.
To pm people on here I think you just click on their display picture and it takes you to another page wear you have the option of emailing or pming. lol
If you want to set up MSN you go to www.msn.com.au and download the program and it tells you all about it on their.:thumbsup:
kate_perth_10
17-03-2006, 11:52
cool thanks i'll try that!!
thats such a cute age!!! Is she trying to crawl yet???
i'll try and pm u later on:smiliedance:
Monday 10th April, anyone want to meet up at the playhouse in Port Kennedy? around 10am?
kate_perth_10
02-04-2006, 19:20
Would love too and i will make it this time.Hard cause i don't drive but there's a bus that goes up that way i think!! :) Hope to meet u all there!!:yelclap:
if your boys are big enough for a booster seat, or without one, I can pick you up on the way if you like, as its just me and Alannah. I only have one anchor point in my car, and even then, its in the wrong spot, right behind the seat that has to fold up so the kids can get into the back back row, really stupid spot!!
Are you going to the kwinana meet tuesday Kate? (thats if its still on, dont even know which park yet)
mummyto3
04-04-2006, 19:07
i am so slack at posting but i am here :)
I will be going to the playhouse meet,looking forward to seeing some familiar faces as well as some new ones.
Just cooked,i am also 27 and have found that places seem to accomodate for teen mums,under 25's and 30 something mums.Seems we get left out :(
only a quick one,i have my youngest on my lap and i hate typing one handed.
sammykat
04-04-2006, 20:03
I will try and make it as well. Im sure I can get dropped off.
Whats the address?
mummyto3
04-04-2006, 21:14
Sam,its on the corner of Stockton Road and Dalloway Road,in the port kennedy industrial area.
Hope to see you there :)
mythreelittlemonkeys
08-05-2006, 12:42
Hi :D I just moved to Kwinana too - Orelia...I am expecting my 1st next month...and I pretty much know noone as we emigrated last July...there a website that Alannahs Mum does that is for Rockingham and Kwinana parents and lots of local meet ups...I not been to one yet only cos was working until Easter... if you PM Allanahs mum she'll give you an invite/link to the site...:D
mythreelittlemonkeys
08-05-2006, 19:05
:smiliedance: cool that just really is next door!!we right on the border of Orelia/Parmelia...I dunno if boy or girl was never told in scan so it a surprise...some days wish I did know so I could buy some cute clothes but now quite looking forward to the whole surprise thing!! Hope to catch up sometime soon :wave:
Oh wow cool! How exciting that its a suprise but i couldnt wait to know so we found out!! :D
tommytomato
14-08-2006, 13:17
Hi people
We have lived in Rocko for a while now, allways keen to meet new people, would love a great fishing parter, The Mrs works there fore I look after the house hold, well I should say we both do.
Allways out and about around rockingham fishing.
5 kids, 3 boys 6, 14, 15, two girls 11, 13
We now live in Port Kennedy
allways good to find another chat forum other than our's
TT
Hi TommyTomato, we might be in port kennedy soon... looking for rentals close to Hillman PRimary isnt easy! Everything seems to be down in PK.
mummyto3
21-08-2006, 15:28
Hi tommy Tomato i am also in PK :)
Where is everyone lately?.Its quiet in here.
mythreelittlemonkeys
21-08-2006, 17:26
seems to be quiet everywhere Bianca :) Hope you and Matt are well and all your littlies adn are settling in to your not so new home :)
Elmopalooza
21-08-2006, 23:39
Hi! I am new to the area! Well im not really IN the area... I am moving to Willagee but have noticed that there arent too many bubhubbers around there. How long does it take to get to Safety Bay from Willagee?? About 30 mins?? I would love to go to a meet down that way..
Hi Amitys_mum, and welcome to the (sort-of) area! Yeah, Rockingham is about 30 mins from Willagee. We will have to organise something :)
Is anyone else interested in a meet? Might be time for me to meet some of you :o Have been lazy, but life with 3 is a bit easier now.
So anyone?
Anne xxx
Elmopalooza
22-08-2006, 01:00
Thanks for the welcome Anne! So how old are ur other kiddly-winks?
I would love to meet up once i get settled in. We are moving tomoro and Wednesday! so by give me a couple of months and i should be set up! :laughing: joking! next week i should be good!
kate_perth_10
25-10-2006, 20:46
Hey
Just thought i'd bump this up a bit :)
Is there any Rockingham mums still out there ??
I'm still here... its gone quiet hey.. oh well you get that LOL
everyone must be shy.. or busy (or both)
mummyto3
04-12-2006, 08:06
i am still here,just been busy lately :)
mythreelittlemonkeys
04-12-2006, 09:09
I am always here...it keeps me sane...been busy too - now got to get ready for UK :)
Hope you all good and enjoying the sunshine and looking forward to the holidays! TIllie now sleeping through last night was from 6 -7.45am which is wonderful for me :)
hope to catch up with you all in New Year...:tree: :xmas:
Owens-Mum
09-01-2007, 09:50
Hey I am new to this site, I have a 16mth old boy, looking at taking him to play group has anyone found any in the Rockingham area??
Oh, I just wanted to add, for those that dont know,or havent noticed, I used to be Alannahs_mum, but changed user name to the first inital of each of my kids.
welcome Owens-Mum, I dont got to playgroup, so Icant really help you. I think there is one on safety bay, on fridays, but playgroups wont start till school is back.
theres usually something about the Safet bay group on this site when it gets closer, if you scroll to the bottom of the forums, you will see it says
Upcoming Events for the Next 5 Day(s)
you might want to keep your eye on that
Hi Owens-Mum :wave: I go to a great playgroup on a Friday morning, it starts again on the 2nd of Febuary.
If you want the details, feel free to send me a pm
Anne
Owens-Mum
10-01-2007, 14:33
Thanks for your help. I have only just using this website and I am not sure how to send you a pm!! What sort of age groups go to your playgroup? Are there many 1 yr olds?
to send a PM, left click on the users name and a options box should appear, one of those is send pm to user, if that helps
[quote=Owens-Mum;980419]Thanks for your help. I have only just using this website and I am not sure how to send you a pm!![quote]
Sorry! I will send you the details later :yes:
Anne
tommytomato
05-03-2007, 11:05
Hi tommy Tomato i am also in PK :)
Where is everyone lately?.Its quiet in here.
we are all still here, still living in Port Kennedey, I had forgotten about this site.
TT
shannysmum
29-06-2008, 22:26
i just came across this thread and thought id try start it back up to c if there are any other rocky people around
xygirl351
29-06-2008, 22:33
Im not rockingham but close enough haha
I am Emma 21 yo and live in Kwinana with my partner steve.
We have a almost 18 month old daughter named Hayley.
shannysmum
30-06-2008, 09:14
yeah, me neither, but close enough... safety bay.
my name is sharon and im 30 (but dont feel that old really :) ). i have a just 2 year old little boy and have moved here from qld just over 2 mths ago, so know no one yet.
Are any of you ladies going to the meetup at Kings Park ?? I'm arranging a bunch of us Defence spouses / civvys to go up on the train and meet up with other bubhub folk. Anyone is welcome to meet up with us for the trip.
Not sure if we're meeting at Rockingham or Warnbro station yet.
(we are in Waikiki)
me, not in rocky anymore, but still close enough ;)
if anyone has read the whole thread, the mention of a website, that one is no longer going but there is a different one thats for all parents in perth.
I have too much to do this week to go anywhere too far, then the following two weeks are school holidays, and we dont go out too much during them (plus usually when we do decide on a day out, it rains LOL)
Hi , I'm mum to 3, a 4yr old and 18mth old twins and new to rockingham.
Does anyone know of a multiple birth playgroup or the like?
skeet, I've sent you a PM. Welcome to Rockingham :) I'm fairly new myself having been here 6mths.
mummy2jack08
23-07-2008, 12:56
Hi there :)
i have recently moved to Wellard (just round corner from rockingham...
i am expecting my first bub and thought i would drop a line!!
:yes:
take care
Wright4kidz
23-07-2008, 23:20
I also live in Safety Bay. We moved here @ the end of 2006.
After a crazy year last year, things are finally settling down. I now have 2 children in full-time school. I seem to have so much more time on my hands and love taking my 2 littlies out for play dates.
It has taken up until now to find some Gr8 playgroups.
BUT...Trust me...if anyone is stuck at home, once you make the decision to step outside your door there are some Gr8 people in our local area and many are looking for the exact same thing...friendship and somewhere safe and exciting for the children play.
Would love to hear from anyone in the area.
Me - 34
DH - 37
DS - 6
DS - 5
DS - 2
DS - 1
shannysmum
25-07-2008, 16:16
yes im safety bay. my husband just started fifo out work, so i now have the car and can get about... yay, not so good that dh away tho.
anytime a play time wanted id love to join in
sharon
Hey Sharon ... my DH is away too .. if you want to trade mobile #'s that'd be cool. My little one is a November 06 baby. Wright4kidz sent me a txt on wednesday and we met up with some of her friends at the Playhouse .. which was a random spur of moment type get together for me lol.
tracynben
29-07-2008, 18:46
hi everyone can i join u, i live in baldivis, just moved down from yokine. I take my little one ben to gymtots every weds 9.30-11.30am at ymca in warnbro, its very god, but quite pricey, you do get a free cuppa though lol
tracy xxxx:)
Teegs mum of one
01-08-2008, 19:59
Hi all, Im brand new on this site. i live in hillman with my 16 month old daughter Indie. Im struggling to find other kids around her age for her to play with. i do swimming lessons on fridays but apart from that not much else.... can anyone give me some ideas? i tried her at kindermusic in kwinana but its $150 a term and shes still a bit too young... thanks x
Tegan-21
Indie-16 months
erinjacob
02-08-2008, 11:10
hi im jess 21 i have a 4yr/girl 3yr/boy 2in nov/boy an 4month/girl were always looking for things to do i dont have any friends because they left me cos i had to many kids haha
mythreelittlemonkeys
03-08-2008, 23:49
Hi all, Im brand new on this site. i live in hillman with my 16 month old daughter Indie. Im struggling to find other kids around her age for her to play with. i do swimming lessons on fridays but apart from that not much else.... can anyone give me some ideas? i tried her at kindermusic in kwinana but its $150 a term and shes still a bit too young... thanks x
Tegan-21
Indie-16 months
I know you :) We had swimming with you last term :) Matilda is my daughter...check out www.kwinanakids.com :) the newsletter has whats on every month in kwinana...but also there is a kindy dance time thing in Rockingham just started...which I am going to try next term, and kindy gym is really good at the recquatic :) and you can do it casually 6 bucks a session...there is a new playgroup just starting at the Wellard Community Pavillion, in Wellard Village (off Wellard Road) Wednesdays at 9.30...really informal as last week was first get together...
Georgie :)
Hiya ladies. I have come in (hope you dont mind) to ask for some advice. Next year i am moving house and will be heading somewhere between Rockingham and Mandurah. Can anyone recommend some areas where there are good state schools? Im willing to move to a particular area for Bugs schooling as long as it is a good one but I have no idea what is down that way as Ive mostly lived NOR.
Thank you!
tracynben
04-08-2008, 14:56
hi mum2bug, i live in baldivis, and i really love it here, its pretty quiet and a bit country but not too far from rockingham and the beaches and there are plently of things near by to do.
Im not sure what the schools are like round here, i think the one in baldivis is good, but gets fully booked pretty quickly
hope taht helps in some way
tracy xxxxxx
I think there are a few lovely primary schools in the rockingham area, my kids have been to Hillman Primary and Bungaree primary, and they loved hillman, its small, but very friendly and lovely!! (though Hillman is an older suburb, but we drove the kids there from safety bay everyday for 2 years, after we moved out of the area and didnt want to change them) but then I hear others that friends go to and they love it also. I have cousins and their kids that have been to various private&public school in the area also, and again, they were all happy. I guess its what you are used to and what area you want to be in.
look at the education site and read up on each school and their policies might give you some help.
kellstar
04-08-2008, 16:05
Hi everyone, im new to this site, im 25 and have a little girl who is 14mth's, jaida, im currently looking for a playgroup or something to socialise her as we dont know anyone with the same aged kids! Im living in port kennedy, anyone know of any good playgroups in the area?? thanks
CJJHRA - i tried looking up the schools on the site but because i dont know what is down there, im not sure what schools i should be looking at. I just want her to go to one that is pretty decent and that she isnt going to be left to fall through the cracks like some of the other schools. I just want somewhere that I can feel safe in the knowledge she is attending a good, happy school and im happy to move to that area. I had actually planned to move down there now but things have changed so it has to wait until next year now, but atleast that gives me time to research things and pick an area to move to.
kellstar
05-08-2008, 00:34
Hi Mim, about playgroup on friday morning's in safety bay, can anyone just turn up?? Im really keen to get Jaida my daughter into a playgroup and for me to meet new people as i dont know anyone down here in Port Kennedy. Hope to chat to u soon. :)
Mum2bug- do an advance search, and look in the fremantle-peel region that will narrow it down..
heres the ones I caan think of though
Baldivis Primary School
Bungaree Primary School
Charthouse Primary School
Cooloongup Primary School
East Waikiki Primary School
Endeavour Primary School
Hillman Primary School
Koorana Primary School
Mandurah Primary School
North Mandurah Primary School
Pinjarra Primary School
Port Kennedy Primary School
Rockingham Beach Primary School
Rockingham Lakes Primary School
Safety Bay Primary School
Secret Harbour Primary School
Settlers Primary School
Singleton Primary School
Waikiki Primary School
Warnbro Primary School
Thanks so much for that list, its great!
tracynben
05-08-2008, 16:40
http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/wa/
For anyone looking for playgroups heres a good link, there are quite a few in the rockingham area, and if you click on info its gives you days and times, i havent started any yet, but i take my little un to warnbro YMCA on weds mornings 9.30-11.30, its called gymtots, and it cost 10 dollars, bit pricey but its good and lots of mums and dads there.
hope that helps people
Hi Mim, about playgroup on friday morning's in safety bay, can anyone just turn up?? Im really keen to get Jaida my daughter into a playgroup and for me to meet new people as i dont know anyone down here in Port Kennedy. Hope to chat to u soon. :)
Hiya, yep it's open to everyone, so just rock up.
I haven't been for ages actually, I have to start going again.
let me know if you don't want to go alone and maybe we could go together :)
Anne
Mum2Bug - I recommend Rockingham Lakes PS in Port Kennedy. They are a really great community :yes:
Stay away from East Waikiki PS though :no:
Mum2Bug - I recommend Rockingham Lakes PS in Port Kennedy. They are a really great community :yes:
Stay away from East Waikiki PS though :no:
Thanks for the hint mim, it is the exact kind of thing im looking for. Not sure if im nuts choosing an area to move to by the schools but i dont drive so its a case of needing to be a good school that i can walk her to.
kellstar
06-08-2008, 00:33
Hi Mum2Bug, i just recently mover to Port Kennedy and i live a few houses away from Rockingham Lakes PS and my neighbours and everyone in the area i have spoken to say that it is a fantastic school. Also the area is really nice, i am absolutely loving living there, plenty of parks to take little ones etc, Hope this helps. Cheers Kellie
Thanks Kellie, Port Kennedy is one of the areas I am looking at actually as a friend of mine lives there as well.
To be honest I just wish I was moving down there now instead of moving bug in the middle of a school year but it cant be helped. I dont even know anyone else down that way except my friend but it just seems like such a nice area along with some of the surrounding areas.
Thanks ladies.
Hi Ladies!
I’m hoping you can help me out... I am a freelance photographer living in Port Kennedy and I am looking to update my portfolio and website with baby and family portraits. In return, you will receive one 8x10 print or two 5x7 prints for free. Since you are helping ME out, there is no sitting fee or any obligation to purchase the photos.
All I ask is that you sign a model release so that I may use the photographs in my portfolio and in my advertising (web and print). I want to make-over my website to include Baby Bits portraits similar to the one I’ve done of my nephew that you can see here: http://gabbylewis.vox.com/library/post/kids-bits.html (http://gabbylewis.vox.com/library/post/kids-bits.html) and you can really help me out!
You can view my work at www.gabbylewis.com (http://www.gabbylewis.com/) and you can email me at info@gabbylewis.com (info@gabbylewis.com).
Thanks so much! :)
Gabby
Thanks to all the wonderful mums and families that have helped me to update my website! You can see some of the photos in my album here on Bub Hub!
The offer is still open so if you're interested, give me a call! :)
Gabby
studentmum
02-12-2008, 21:21
Thought the Rockingham meet thread may be of interest to you...
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=224015
Sarah :flowerz:
Awesome photos Gabby. I've always got cats, dog and kids up for photos (if they cooperate). LOVE the cats and dogs.
Kidsbits is a great idea. We've just had our family photos taken at the local playgroup fundraiser .. who they use each year but I guess if you wanted to put your business card or a flyer at the playgroup it could be possible. It's a mixed Navy and non defence mums/kids that go there. I try my best with photography lol got some really sweet pics. Are you a member of deviantart ? it's a great website to show off your work. You can put a watermark on them to prevent ppl swiping them.
Sarah .. will check the link.
Hi, I'm new and would like to chat with some mum's in my area. I live near Secret Harbour in Golden Bay. I have a 8 week old daughter and need some company!!
Hey Nicki,
Hope to see you at the Rockingham meetup. I will have my 2yo with me and like most mums, I love having a newborn fix .. well at 8wks she's still a newbie.
mummy2jack08
09-12-2008, 07:20
Hi Nicki and KJEmum,
hope to see u both at the rocko meet... i also have a relativly new ish baby lol hes 10 weeks now :)
The ladies are lovely :)
Take care xxx
myclan39
14-12-2008, 13:59
New to the site..we are in Lakelands (Mandurah) just moved here month ago..we were living in Mandurah (Dudley Park) but we needed a bigger house! My boys miss there old neighbor friends and luv to make new ones!
We have 3 boys, 12, 10, and 7 and a 20mth old girl..would luv to meet up with any mums in the area. Im not far from PK or Rocky...Is there any playgroups around Lakelands, Madora Bay or Singleton that are starting in the new year?
Look forward to hearing from you...
My msn is mariomouse@hotmail.com
Kath
hey Kath,
We have a similar age difference with our kids .. I have a boy 12yo, girl 10yo and another girl 25mths. I bet you're finding a little girl different to the boys. I find girls more stubborn and strong willed than boys.
Hope you like your new area, we've been in Waikiki for 12mths coming up and love it here. We spent 2yrs in Darwin previously.
mummy2jack08 look forward to meeting you and your little bub.
myclan39
16-12-2008, 10:34
hey Kath,
We have a similar age difference with our kids .. I have a boy 12yo, girl 10yo and another girl 25mths. I bet you're finding a little girl different to the boys. I find girls more stubborn and strong willed than boys.
Hope you like your new area, we've been in Waikiki for 12mths coming up and love it here. We spent 2yrs in Darwin previously.
mummy2jack08 look forward to meeting you and your little bub.
Thanks KJEmum...yes it is a big difference, she luvs her brothers to the max, as much as they luv her, its so gorgeous to watch. She is very strong willed, will try anything and luvs all the boys toys hahaha...she is my little princess still! :cloud9:
Have a Great Christmas everyone!
:xmas:
I'm finding the whole experience much enjoyable this time around, are you ? When K & J were little it was a bit more stressful .. although they were pretty good kids until they got corrupted at school lol. Personalities developed and now .. especially with my 12yo, he's very very challenging where as my girl is still stubborn and kind of up herself at times. Having a baby helped with her behaviour in a more positive way because she is great with her baby sis .. yet still has her stubborn times but I trust her to look after her sis than I do my boy.
I agree it's great to watch the little one with the big ones. My girl is like a mini mum and she says 'mum take care of Eve' if I leave her to cry for a little longer than expected .. ie .. she's not going to break if I have to finish something off in the kitchen first.
Maybe we can catch up in the new year.
myclan39
17-12-2008, 18:44
I'm finding the whole experience much enjoyable this time around, are you ? When K & J were little it was a bit more stressful .. although they were pretty good kids until they got corrupted at school lol. Personalities developed and now .. especially with my 12yo, he's very very challenging where as my girl is still stubborn and kind of up herself at times. Having a baby helped with her behaviour in a more positive way because she is great with her baby sis .. yet still has her stubborn times but I trust her to look after her sis than I do my boy.
I agree it's great to watch the little one with the big ones. My girl is like a mini mum and she says 'mum take care of Eve' if I leave her to cry for a little longer than expected .. ie .. she's not going to break if I have to finish something off in the kitchen first.
Maybe we can catch up in the new year.
Catching up would be great!
It was definitely more easier this time round, much more placid baby and she actually goes to sleep!..April is the same if I am busy she will go sit in her chair near bookshelf and read her books..well look at pictures!..hehehe...the boys thats another story...lol...gotta luv them! I hear ya about your 12yr old being challenging!!!..Dont they luv just testing ya to the extreme?? :hair:arrgghhhh...lol
Day 1 of the school holidays and I have survived ..bring on the next 5 weeks, 6 days, 2hrs and 40 minutes..Im not counting, really Im not!:p
If you would like to chat Im on msn as mariomouse@hotmail :)
Mirandabella
26-12-2008, 13:34
I am a 22 yr old single mother to Joseph 18 months. He is a gorgeous little terror and the light of my life. We recently moved to Shoalwater and I was wondering if there are any mothers groups that meet around Rockingham? I don't know anyone around here and Joey and I need some friends! If anyone has any info could they please email me on frangipani7@live.com.au. I would really appreciate it. Thanks:flowerz:
Hey Mirandamebella .. I go to a playgroup twice a week at Marilla House, Dargin Way here in Rockingham. It's a mix of Navy wives and non Navy .. It's not a group that suits everyone but I try to encourage folk to give it a go cos there is nothing worse than sitting at home, bored and miserable. The age group of mums is a mix and so is the kiddies. Yours would have similar ages there. Unfortunately it's school holidays so doesn't start up again until 2 February.
It's only one of the few playgroups around so once school goes back in Feb, that'd be the time to start up with playgroups.
I don't go to any mothers groups, never did with any of mine I don't think ...but if you maybe get in touch with Ngala they could help or maybe some of the ladies here.
jaktel08
29-12-2008, 22:36
hi i live in port kennedy and was wondering if anyone knew of some playgroups in rockingham where i can take my kids.im sick of being at home
Ilovethewayyoulie
23-08-2010, 00:07
hey i just moved to schoalwater . im 20 m
Ilovethewayyoulie
23-08-2010, 00:08
isent it hard being single parent ? im 20 m names Tyrone