View Full Version : Snacks ideas for 11 month old

Rockett
14-01-2006, 10:30
I'm after some ideas for snacks to give DD,who is almost 11 months old.
She's cut down to 3 breastfeeds a day,so she will be now having a mid morning snack to replace that feed,but I can't think what to give her apart from fruit, or arrowroot biscuits.
She has fruit,toast,custard and yoghurt already with her main meals,and I would like to give her something different for her morning and arvo snacks.

Any ideas ladies? :)

MissSparkle
14-01-2006, 17:37
My little one is 11months old and loves sultanas. As they r a little hard to chew I soak them in boiling water for a min first! He also likes grated cheese as these r both snacks he can feed himself!!

meglet
14-01-2006, 17:45
I used to get a stick of celery or some dried apricots (they were the most popular) and put philly cream cheese in it and some sultanas, I called them mouse boats and they were a real winner!

14-01-2006, 18:27
I think when DD1 was that age, she had sultanas, grated cheese was and still is a winner, but the fruit was always a goer for her, and since she didn't eat many vegies and still won't i didn't mind. Another one was little pear and cinnamon? mini muffins.....she loved them. After tea, i will get in and find the recipe and post it for you. They are easy for little hands and yummy too! DH actually liked them better than Mac i think! LOL

jembelina
14-01-2006, 19:47
My little guy is 11 months too and he snacks on... all kinds of fruit, vegemite on bread, sultanas, pieces of cheese, dry biccies, olives, banana pikelets (just the normal recipe with 1/2 cup mashed banana thrown in - yummy). When we are out and about he might have the occasional baby chino (thanks nanny for starting that one!!). He would live on fruit if he could so I am looking for some more ideas too, will keep my eye on this thread!! Grilled cheese on toast is a big hit too.

14-01-2006, 20:37
Ok, here's the recipe.

Little pear and Cinnamon Cakes

1 medium (230g) pear
1/2 cup (125ml) vegetable oil
1/3 cup (75g) caster sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup (75g) plain flour
1/2 cup (75g) SR flour
1/4 teas. ground cinnamon
1/2 teas. caster sugar, extra

Grease 2 small 12-hole (2-tablespoon/40ml-capacity) muffin pans. Peel and halve pear, remove and discard core; chop into 1cm pieces. Whisk oil, sugar, and egg together in medium bowl.

Add flours and pear; stir until just combined. Drop level tablespoons of mixture into each pan hole; sprinkle with combined cinnamon and extra caster sugar. Bake in moderatley hot oven about 15 mins. Turn onto wire rack; serve warm or cold.

Makes 24 - Keep in airtight container for up to 3 days. I found they froze alright too, as it makes so many little ones they may not all get eaten.

These are really tasty and come out of the Woman's Weekly 'Babies and Toddlers Good Food' book. I found heaps of good recipes in there, also for family meals too.

jasminesmum
14-01-2006, 20:41
Yummo Shannon.

I will have to try these. They look really easy too. My sort of recipe.;)

14-01-2006, 20:48
They are yummy Michelle! I could eat heaps at once! LOL. I don't see why you couldn't make them normal sized either, just have to alter the cooking time to suit. I've tried them with apple too, and they're just as tasty.

14-01-2006, 21:30
Oh yum !!!
Im going to try these this week now cause even if bubs doesnt like em i know i will :p
Bubs loves toast so he has vegemite on toast a lot as well as grilled cheese LOVES it hehehe.
He loves little pieces of fruit also as he can feed himself so fingers of kiwi fruit & apple or just pieces of banana plus then if he doesnt want it i eat it ;)
As you can tell i love food :D
Someone posted this recipe for rice pudding on another thread

Rice Pudding !
1 cup cooked rice
1 cup milk warmed
few drops of vanilla flavouring essence
1 tablespoon sugar

1. Combine all ingredients
2. Cook very gently for 10 minutes until rice is heated through.

It says it is 2-4 baby serves

Thats a winner for us plus there is always jelly as well bubs loves it !

andrewsmum
14-01-2006, 21:44
If you want snack ideas for when you are on the run/shops/visiting etc, you can always get some Goulburn valley fruit cups or Heinz Little Kids Muesli bars. Or take some grapes (cut in half) in a small tub.

Otherwise if you are at home, banana muffins and fruit are winners.:)

Rockett
14-01-2006, 21:52
Thanks heaps guys for your ideas and recipes.I will definatley give them a go! :D
I think I might have to invest in a Womens Weekly baby cookbook,it sounds good.:)

Tea Lady
16-01-2006, 19:52
One other thing you might like to try is baked beans rinsed under the tap. We also eat alot of vita weets - no sugar and lots of fibre!

Rockett
16-01-2006, 22:51
Thanks Tea Lady,she does have baked beans every now and then. I didn't think of vita wheats though,I'll give them a go too.Thanks:)

sugar n spice
16-01-2006, 23:40
my 12 month old eats virtually anything. He likes nuggets, chips and cheeseburgers when we have take out rarely. He loves bananas. Baby cheddar crackers and baby dried apple, baby muslie bars, motherly cubes, cheese, scones, jam on toast, ice - cream, beans, turkey, roast chicken, weet bix, porridge, baby gel in the jars, casseroles, ham and vegetable frittata. bake beans, the list goes on. eats his fruit and veg.