View Full Version : 40+ Parents June Chat

Tabby
02-06-2007, 20:40
Thought I may as well get it started.
Welcome everyone, chat away!
Hope everyone is having a great weekend.

Ys_Woman
03-06-2007, 11:26
*looks around* hmm..nice place to chat..I love the drapes Vicki:)
OK..tomorrow is D-day, otherwise known as THE SCAN! I am toey today and can't settle. I can't wait to see movement and a heartbeat and hear that all is well. I have started popping out already and if all goes well tomorrow I will be out buying maternity clothes as my bra's are starting to dig in.
*wish me well*
Hugs,
Amy.

Tabby
03-06-2007, 15:03
:hugs: ALL the best hun! Will be thinking of you and popping onto here often waiting for a update!

Ys_Woman
04-06-2007, 11:39
I am just back from the scan..and I saw legs and arms and a face and a HEARTBEAT of 150bpm. WOOHOOOOO! The nuchal fold measured at 1.7mm and I had the maternal serum testing (results should be back in 2-3days). Baby dated 12w 6d and due date was changed to 11/12/07.
*Fingers crossed the serum testing comes back fine*. One more hurdle climbed.
Breathing again for the moment.
Hugs for your support.
Amy:)

Elfin
04-06-2007, 12:15
Hi everyone, that is great Amy, you must be so excited:)

Ys_Woman
04-06-2007, 15:36
Yes I am really excited Elfin..but I have yet to stop worrying :( Once I can feel the baby kicking I will be able to relax a bit more and feel reassured. I used to be really complacent about pregnancy but after the missed m/c last year I have changed my tune. This time around I promise not to complain when the baby is beating me up..lol.
Hugs,
Amy

Tabby
05-06-2007, 09:05
I didnt get on here most the day i was exhausted and look what I missed!
Wonderful News Amy!!!!
Look how the worry starts even before they enter the world! ds1 is 25 and I still worry! but of course we usually worry for nothing as it all turns out just fine, as am sure your new little one will also be :hugs:
Did you get a pic? LOVE scan pics!
what was your previously thought edd?
heh I have 2 December children, 20th and 24th!

Ys_Woman
05-06-2007, 15:54
Hello Vicki. Thanks. It went way better than I expected. Jellybean was jumping all over the place the moment the scanner hit my belly so I knew at least there would be a heartbeat.*phew*.
I do have a pic but I need dh to get home and tell me where he hid the scanner. The pic is lousy but you can make out a foot, the head and body, and an arm. To me it all looked like a black and white pic of a cloudy day but the lady was enthusing about how much you could see. I had to get her to point it all out..lol.
I might put it through Paint first though to add the words 'foot', 'head' etc.
Going by my LMP my due date should be the 15/12..roughly but the first scan determined edd as 21/12. This scan yesterday put me at the 11/12 but I told hubby that can't be right as it can't be less than my lmp date (unless I fell pg 4 days before my last period:p) lol. So I am going with the 15th as my due date..but I am certain the baby will ultimately choose its own.
Hope you are having a great day. Hugs to Katie.

red crayon
05-06-2007, 19:41
hey everyone. great news, amy. having the scan is amazing. it makes everything seem so real. there's heaps of pregnant women here in hanoi. this year is an auspicious one for having babies. it's the year of the pig - but not any old pig, a golden pig. so amy you are having a golden pig.

Ys_Woman
06-06-2007, 09:42
Hello Jacqui,
Tell me more about this golden pig. I was told that my eldest is an Indigo child and my youngest is a Crystal child..and now I will have a golden one too..lol.
Actually it is funny you saying how many ppl are having babies this year. I was only saying to my hubby last night that this year the cosmos must be focussed on family and relationships because most of our friends and family are either marrying, having babies, or separating. Not usually so many in one year..and the year isn't even half over yet.
So what is it like living in Hanoi? Does it get cool at this time of the year? It is down to zero overnight here and up to around 11C during the day..brrr.
Look forward to hearing back.
Hugs,
*love the name red crayon*

red crayon
06-06-2007, 15:51
i don't know too much about the golden pig actually. i'll google it and see what it says. tell me about indigo and crystal children - that sounds really interesting. 2000 was another 'lucky' year here for babies so there's heaps of 7 year olds running around.

hanoi is as hot as hades. hot and humid. we're actually due back in melbourne for good in mid june. and as much as i hate winter, i'm happy not be living through another hanoi summer.

Ys_Woman
06-06-2007, 17:54
Uggh. I don't go much on heat and yet I lived in the tropics for eight years. I love snuggling under the doona in winter so I can't see myself ever moving back to the heat though.
Indigo children supposedly hit town from the mid 80's. Apparently these children are special and are here to heal the earth or humanity. Crystal children came on since the millenium and I think pretty much have the same agenda as the Indigo's but are noted by their vivid and engaging eyes. Frankly I don't know if I believe all the hoo-ha but it sounds pretty cool...lol.
My son was born in 2000..I do feel lucky to have him :)
Sounds like you're homesick for Melbourne. I moved from there to here back in late 2000 and I so miss all the friends I left behind. We get back about every two years and will be down there soon for a christening. I bet you will be glad to be back on familiar turf.
One more post and I had best away to feed hubby.
Hugs,

Ys_Woman
06-06-2007, 17:58
Did you get a pic? LOVE scan pics!

Hey hon. I did get a pic but it is slightly craptacular..lol. 12wkscan (http://mywebpage.netscape.com/amypendragon/images/scan12wkpaint.jpg)
Hugs,

Tabby
06-06-2007, 22:32
Awww but its still wonderful! Your little beany YAY

LOL those first scans always are a bit "hmm whats that bit??" lol

Redcrayon: You probably already said, but are yous there for work etc?
I love the summer but hate humidity too, Mid june.. Not too far away for you!

red crayon
07-06-2007, 18:39
thanks for sharing your scan pic, amy. i love looking at scans. are you going to find out the gender? i checked up about golden pigs and apparently they are supposed to bring about wealth and prosperity. so start filling out those tatts tickets.

tabby - my DP has been working in hanoi on an HIV/AIDS project which is now coming to an end.

Ys_Woman
08-06-2007, 11:05
Woohooo Jacqui, we could sure do with some financial luck now that there is another on the way! We will be sure to buy some tickets.

Ys_Woman
08-06-2007, 11:08
I had some other good news girls. My bloods, coupled with the nuchal scan, put me in a low risk category for neural tube defects..so no need for an amnio!!!
GOD IS GOOD.

Elfin
08-06-2007, 12:39
That is great news Amy:)

red crayon
08-06-2007, 15:51
Fantastic news, Amy :smiliedance:

Tabby
08-06-2007, 21:44
Wonderful News Amy!!!! :hugs:

Tabby
09-06-2007, 11:56
Hope everyones weekend is off to a good start.
I was going to take ds1 driving lessons but DP had to take our car to work today as no bus that early to get to work so cant get to ds's house. Would have been nice as its so lovely out here in Perth, suns out! oh well, always tomorrow.

Katie woke for the first time in ages last night so I think a mummy nap is in order lol.

Ys_Woman
10-06-2007, 10:39
Hey hon..sorry to hear about the public transport situation..ours is no better here. I have a bus stop outside the house and one directly opposite and yet I can never get a bus to go where I want, when I want, or to come back to here..agggh.
Is Katie teething hon? Enjoy your catch up nap.
The sun is shining here and I am about to curl up in front of the window and read.
I spent last night ringing family and telling them our good news. Some were thrilled, others were less enthusiastic. Don't they know a baby is a blessing?!
Hugs,

Tabby
10-06-2007, 20:55
Hi Amy!

Yes she sure is teething and has been for weeks now, its just peeking through this last few days. I actually thought they were through a couple of weeks back, have heard they can come up down up down???
Up until now they've not been much of a bother, still wont complain though, getting up a couple of times to re-settle quickly, if thats all the teething trouble then thats great!

Sorry to hear some thoughts were less enthusiastic.
Such a shame, as you say they are indeed a blessing thats for sure!!!

We went for our driving lesson today, was lovely out in the sun. DP had Katie and I was baby free for 2 hrs and ds1 is a great driver! No need stress, so we plan to do it every Sunday. Great for some quality time with him too.
Also went to the morning swap meet and got Katie a high chair which we needed and some jump suits. I have a HUGE Winnie the pooh adoration and its passed to katies room/clothes.
(wtp make a lovely range of clothes )
At the swap meet there was a actual wtp suit, complete with hood and ears, yep! couldnt resist, even when DP gave out a huge sigh hahhahha. Ill take a pic when shes in it.
oh here she is in the new high chair, bargain $25!
http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2006/KatieAndFamily/photo#5074400989807131298

Hope you got a nice rest today reading xxxx

Ys_Woman
11-06-2007, 14:52
Oh I did have such a lovely day in the sun Vicki. It streamed in through the lounge room window and I sat with my Take 5 mag and spent a few delicious hours. Today is not so bright unfortunately :(
It is fireworks weekend in Canberra. The only weekend ppl are allowed to let them off. The 10pm curfew isn't being observed around here..lol..but it has provided the kids with a few night's entertainment as our neighbourhood fills the night sky with colour. Tonight is the final night, except for the few rogues who will try it on for the rest of the week.
Oh teeth..yes..they do have a habit of making mischief. They can go up and down in the gums, give your child anything from a runny nose to colds/ear infections/chest infections etc. Doctors will tell you it is not so but we all know it is. My friend used to get a spoon and tap where the tooth was coming up and if you heard a chink you knew it was through. Good luck..sounds like Katie isn't having too bad a time of it thankfully!
Thank goodness your son is a good driver..lol. Brittany was too but once she had a minor bump with another car (at a roundabout) and we had to fork out $400 for a tiny tiny scratch to the other car's bumper bar..so we had to stop her driving our new car. Sadly she hasn't taken any more lessons so is stuck with public transport.
I just loved the pics of Katie as a newborn. My husband and I were wondering what that dark hair-like stuff is on her head at that age..hehehe. Our babies don't get that until they are about 18mths-2yrs old..lol. Poor baldy babies!
I do love wtp too..I have a few jumpers with him on and a tattoo of the older style Pooh on my ankle. I loved what you did with Katies bedroom.
What a shame the long weekend is over. I love having all the family home. Back to the grind tomorrow.
Hugs,

Tabby
11-06-2007, 23:19
Glad you got that time to relax!

haha, Katies hair amount is exceptional thats for sure, ds1 and 2 had a fair bit but nothing like she had/has! Must say it adds to her cuteness though.
She has this one tuft on the top that sticks straight up and curls at the end, no matter what i did so now I just leave it, its her unique style :laughing:
Thanks, her room: It was something I never did with the boys but was always in my heart to do it but long story short, single mum with both :thumbsdown: explains a bit. So having the finances and the loving man to share all of it this time I couldnt wait and was decorating her room as soon as I saw the :bfp:haha. Oh and added bonus of a girl with the pretty colors and frills of course.

Older style pooh was the better one anyhow imo! How cute.

Had a pretty wakeful night, stopped counting after 10 times..Have dressed her a bit warmed to see. It might be the cold not the teeth waking her as shes not upset/grumpy..just waking or stirring etc. will see tonight....
You think Ide know by now being no3, need a manual with each one but LOL

Better go get some sleep
Hope the fireworks have eased for you lol.
Vicki

Ys_Woman
12-06-2007, 15:13
Gday Vicki. I have all those sleepless nights to look forward to again. I am not complaining though...yet! hehehe.
Today I decided to walk to a shop I hadn't walked to before. I got lost..and by the time I made it home I had been walking for an hour. I am sooo tired. I think I might grab out the big exercise ball and start working out on that instead. Give me the car any day!
I too know the single parenting thing. I did it for the first twelve years of Brittany's life..hence the reason there is such a big gap between nr1 and nr2. Dh was exceptional in suggesting I stay at home and raise the kids as Brittany had been in family day care from ten weeks of age. I missed out on so much whilst working a rotten shift roster.
I have never made up a proper nursery and just figured out today that I have never had a baby shower.. so dang it I amgoing to host my own in the last month of pgcy..lol.
I can't figure out how to put in a pic of my tattoo so I have added it as the avatar..lol. Winnie is floating along attached to a kite with the yin/yang symbol..my life has been a bit like that really.lol.
Hugs. Hope you had a lovely day.

Tabby
13-06-2007, 08:50
Hi Amy,
I almost had my own baby shower too, but suffering from spd those last 2 months I had no enthusiasm for anything never mind looking for something lol but yep the nursery more than makes up for it..my dream come true.
LOVE the tatt!!!
Heres Katie in her outfit this morning
http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2006/KatieAndFamily/photo#5075311312420485842
also next two pics as well on there.
Personally I think its SO cute never mind dp's sigh haha
You could make a picasa site album?, easy to sign up and then upload and its more personal, no different to uploading your avatar, if I can do it you can!

Can remember the tired feeling when walking etc! Am trying to stay a bit fitter for this next one. Hope you feeling better.

DP had no hesitation when I said I prefer stay home and raise Katie, makes it hard financially but the benefits of being the one to raise her out number that to us. I think he likes it actually, keeping me barefoot and pregnant and in the kitchen. our own standard joke there. :laughing:
Hes not like that really, he has the utmost respect for me and all that I do. :thumbsup:

Better go get some things done while she naps, goodness knows if shes awake nothing gets done, not because shes difficult, just that I cant drag my self away hahha

Ys_Woman
13-06-2007, 16:58
Awww! She looks adorable Vicki. What a cute suit!
I do have a website but I didn't have my tattoo pic on it. My family page is:
http://mywebpage.netscape.com/amypendragon/page2.html
I had best dash as I am cooking schnitzel and it doesn't take long..lol.
Hugs,
Amy

Tabby
14-06-2007, 08:01
A beautiful family you have amy!

Tabby
14-06-2007, 14:17
Just got back from Target and scored a bargain walker for $44.
http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2006/KatieAndFamily/photo#5075783526894811906

http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2006/KatieAndFamily/photo#5075890347026430882
How happy does she look? her face says it all.

Shes been bouncing away in it, little legs going fast but going no-where ( only tip toes reach floor ) lol and her whole face just lights up!

Tabby
17-06-2007, 08:29
You've been very quiet Amy hope your well xx

nothing much here this weekend.
Ds2 driving lessons last night, Katie was put to bed and left with DP ( not that she wakes much ). So had a nice couple of bonding hrs with ds1 and 2.
530 am wake! What is this girl thinking lol.
Coffee time

Ys_Woman
17-06-2007, 17:39
Sorry Vicki I didn't mean to worry you. I did post days ago to say how gorgeous Katie's new rocker/walker thing but it mustn't have sent it. I think my firewall isn't set up right. I hit 'submit reply' and it says it can't post and then I hit the 'try again' button and it posts *shrugs*.
I had my 44th birthday on Friday! Brittany came to stay the weekend and showered me with presents. Hubby got me the two things I wanted most (and suggested..lol): the last version written of Everywoman (as my copy is from 1982!); and a cd called Housework Hits..plus a karaoke dvd and a 1kg bag of jellybeans..mmmmmmm.
I have caught up on washing and pretty much just lazed about this weekend. I am soooo showing now. I bought a few maternity tank tops and have a belly belt on hold at the maternity shop. It costs $89 and velcro's around the body, holding the belly up and supporting the back. I tried it on and it is sensational..won't be able to pick it up until next pay though :(
Otherwise all is well here. This is another easy pregnancy and I am just hanging out to feel some movement on a regular basis. I think it will feel more real when that happens.
Hugs. Hope you had a terrific weekend. Sounds like you got some great bonding time with the boys.

Tabby
17-06-2007, 21:03
Good to hear from you Amy!
happybirthday For last Friday!!!! xxxxx

hahha thats a LOT of jelly beans!!

I still have my belly belt, we got it through the hospital for about $50 so that was lucky if average 90. Bit of a rip off when you think of whats in it!
Worked for my SPD with great results, until the last few weeks when nothing worked though.

Yep once we start feeling bubs its a big relief too, nothing like regular pokes/kicks in the bladder to reassure us all is well :hugs:

May have been bubhub thing, noticed the other day it was down a few times though only short.
Will post again tomorrow, shower and early one for me

Ys_Woman
18-06-2007, 16:15
*pssst..Vicki..over here in the alley..*opens her coat* ..wanna buy some jellybeans?* hehehe.
Oh but it is cold today. Is it cold in Perth today too? I have to take poor Lachlan to the dr when hubby comes home. I think he has a UTI as he is in pain when he wees. aggh.
I didn't think to ask the hospital about the belly belts. I need the belt though because I fear I may tear open the hernia repair I had done two years ago.
The midwife rang this afternoon and made a home appt for Wednesday! Woohooo! She couldn't quite remember me so I ran through the birth story of Selia. I said: Do you remember a woman sitting in her car begging you to take off her wet pants 'cause her water just broke and she was giving birth in the car? And then running with that woman in a wheelchair and just making it to the bed?
She laughed so hard. She remembered!..lol.
I promised I wouldn't do that this time round *fingers crossed*.
Hope you had a great day.
Off to make tea and turn up the heating.
Hugs,

Tabby
18-06-2007, 21:07
oh what a story! how much longer after you got inside did you deliver?
how exciting, midwife app allready!!
YES very cold here last night and has been since rain here a few nights ago. Not as bad tonight though. maybe rain coming again...
nothing much new here, off to meet up with a few of the perth jan 07 babies + mums tomorrow. Their 3rd meet but my 2nd ( missed last due to the flu ) so am really looking forward to catching up with them.
Will let you know more tomorrow!
Sleep well and hope Lachlan is better soon and nothing too bothersome xxx

Ys_Woman
20-06-2007, 11:48
Good afternoon hon. I smile every time I see the pic of Katie :) she is just sooo cute.
Poor Lachlan does have a UTI and it is awful. He runs around in agony every time he needs to wee. Don't know how he got it but hope he never gets one again! I had to take him to a late night doctor on Monday night. The only bonus was that the doctor I saw had previously worked at the midwifery program I am booked to and is really keen to do shared care. My regular GP is moving shortly and is not at all enthusiastic about my pregnancy so I will be glad to transfer over.
I had my first appt with the midwife today. It was great catching up and she is so keen to have me again. I have promised that the first twinge will see me at the hospital..lol. Lachlan was a 90min labour and born on the floor at home, Selia was an 80min labour and we pulled up outside the front door of the midwifery clinic with 5mins to spare. My water broke as I stood to get out of the car and the head was almost out. She was born less than 2 mins after they got me inside and onto the bed. She said that she is happy for hubby to deliver this one too but will stand behind him and coach me so I don't tear (the same as she did when I was having Selia).
She had the doppler with her and hb was 150. She reckons I am having a boy..but nonetheless we have both sexes named already.
She is going to ring the lab for a breakdown on the blood testing I had recently. There may be a slight chance I will have to have an amnio but it relies on what the lab says. She was very unhappy with the lack of info my GP sent to her. She did say the nuchal results were encouraging though.
Hope your Jan07 group meet was great. I see on here that there is an ACT group that meets but without a car during the day I am pretty stuck..plus the fact that I don't have a littlie to take with me, just a bump, might feel a bit awkward..lol.
Hugs to you on this rainy cold day.

Tabby
20-06-2007, 19:54
hi Amy,
yesterday was great, Katie was a show off and sat un-aided for about 15 mins ( longest yet ).
She also was laying between the two boys there and they were holding her hands, never seen anything so cute!!! Its the only contact I have with other bubs/mums so it was a great day for both Katie and I.

Wow thats some quick labours!! :eek:
:fingerscrossed: you get time to at least get in the door lol.

New gp sounds lovely, makes app's all the better too when they are as keen as you thats for sure.

Nothing much here today, house work and fill a refuse bin out front with all the stuff laying rnd.
My yard is terrible! Not done much in there since preg so very out of hand now, oh and a puppy ( 12 months now ) didnt help it lol.

xxx talk again soon

Ys_Woman
21-06-2007, 16:45
It sounds like you had a real burst of energy there Vicki..way too energetic for me...lol. I guess our garden could do with some attention now that winter is here and half the plants are frosted.
What a great get-together you had with the other mums. Nice to get out and chat with other mums.
Well we ended up at the hospital with Lachlan today as I cannot see the antibiotics working. Poor angel is still in agony. The doctor said after the infection is cleared we have to see a pediatric surgeon to get him circumcised as otherwise this problem is going to reoccur over and over again. We had wanted him circumcised at birth but our gp at the time was dead against it and told us it would cost $2000 to do..so we let it slide. Pity. I hope the antibiotics kick in soon.
I had best away to dish up tea. I have made apricot chicken and rice so I imagine the kids will say wonderful things like: "yuk", "I didn't want that", and many other heartwarming things..lol.
Hugs to you on this freezing day.

Tabby
21-06-2007, 23:13
Firstly :hugs: to Lachlan! Poor fella. How old is he Amy? Hope he feels better soon!

apricot chicken!!! My favorite! haha now I am going to have to buy the ingredients for it Saturday shopping, I want some now lol.

Took ds1 out again driving tonight, so lucky katie is so good, asleep and stays asleep from 630ish so dp stays here while I go out with ds. We have expanded to highways now as hes so confident, its amazing how well hes taken to it, though he is 25 so more understanding/patience/etc helps.

Rest up tomorrow for us, bit to do over the w.e so will take it easy for tomorrow, hope you are rested and your feeling well! xxx take care

Tabby
22-06-2007, 09:05
Did I say a rest up day today?!! lol forgot I clean ds1's house now once a fortnight and planned for today. ah well they have only been in there a few weeks so shouldn't be too bad?? Then again two young men...:laughing:

Ys_Woman
22-06-2007, 15:15
Wow, you clean your son's place? I hope they pay you handsomely for that..lol. He is at the perfect age to be learning to drive though, because he is likely over the macho phase that the younger drivers go through. Here in Canberra they drive at 15yrs 9mths..way too young I think.
True to form the kids balked at the dinner. Once they realised that dessert wouldn't happen they managed to eat some though. I was shocked when Selia ate all the rice, something she has never done before. My kids can be picky at times but slowly I am getting more vegies and spicy foods into them.
Lachlan is six. I am told that circumcising him now though will likely cure the problem. I would hate for him to have this infection again.
I haven't done anything this week..such a slacker! The weekend will be a different story though as the front windows need a wash and there is a pile of leaves blowing in and building near the front door.
Nothing else planned for the weekend..boring.
Hope you have a better one.
Hugs,

Tabby
22-06-2007, 16:19
Nothing planned here now, a bout of horrid weather has come in and suppose to last for a few days.
Very blowy and heavy rain at the moment.

Yes, ds1 pays me, they aren't all that messy seeing its 2 young men really. I did tell him though I wasn't going to be doing his dishes /make beds/washing etc, really only to mop floors and a good vac ( move things unlike them lol ) and scrub shower/bath etc so never gets out of hand. I don't do their rooms, only kitchen /dining /lounge /entrance /shower and toilet, so not too much actually.

Have to run, Katie wants a chat :D
Hope your weather is better than ours and your little man is feeling better xxx

blitzzah
22-06-2007, 18:47
Hi all, I posted here as 'peachez' a few months back but got very little response at the time and figured that maybe there were no more older mums on the board. Couldn't remember my password so I've got a new ID...lol I made an attempt to post in the 'due in Sept' thread (or whatever it's called) and found it hard being the oldie there too :o

Not sure what I posted last time, but have since had scans and tests that show I'm now about 27 weeks along and expecting in September. Had a CVS test (because I could have it earlier than an amnio and the tests are just as accurate) and while it hurt like hell, test results showed that the baby is healthy and we are expecting another girl!

So that means in September I will have three daughters - my oldest is 26 (married last year) and youngest turned five on June 8 (in Prep this year).

I turned 45 on June 2nd and never in my wildest dreams (or nightmares!) did I think I'd be having a baby at this age. Took some getting used to the idea but have been having very strong movements for some months now and that along with those fabulous 3-D scans have most definitely bonded dh and I with this little one.

This pregnancy was really hard the first few months as I had every conceivable 'symptom' and spent four months vomiting, gagging and trying not to faint. The last month has been ok apart from lots of nosebleeds due to the colder weather. Sorry if that's all tmi... :D

Hubby is still getting used to the idea of being a dad again at 45, oldest daughter is thrilled and youngest daughter is really happy to be having a 'baby sister'.

Just thought I'd pop in and say hi, and see if anyone is still chatting here. If anyone is from Brisbane I'd love to catch up irl sometime!

Deb

blitzzah
22-06-2007, 19:02
Hi Amy, hope you don't mind me commenting on your son's UTI, but this very subject came up when I was at work the other day. We were talking about the pros and cons of circumcision and I remembered an old friend of mine who had it done when he was 21 years old for similar reasons. He kept getting infections and the foreskin was getting too tight and would tear easily. He said it was the best thing he ever did and was fairly painless as he went under general and then healed up quickly.

jariah4
22-06-2007, 20:56
hi everyone!
i have posted before a long time ago.however i hope to be more regular!!:wave:
i'm 43 and dh is 41, we have two girls jade 8 and ariah 4.i really would love some over 40 mums to chat to.i'm trying to learn the technology thing ,but am a bit slow...so see how i go!
have been trying to decide whether to go for child no.3 for a while...feel a bit past it i must say!
so we've had a couple of cycles now without contraception and no luck so far.:no:
time will tell.
my dh would love another, but doesn't really help much and tends to leave it all up to me.
i have also had PND with all my pregnancies and definetly dont look forward to that again!!:banghead:
so i think i'll leave it up to fate, and see how we go...:fingerscrossed:
bye for now.
jariah 4.

Tabby
22-06-2007, 21:03
Hi Deb!

Congrats on your pregnancy. Glad your cvs results came back ok, nice to ease the mind.
Has the vomiting etc eased now? Sure hope so, can imagine how draining that must be.

A bit about me:
Im 43 and have just had our beautiful daughter Kaitlyn just 6 months ago adding to my 2 boys, no1 who is 25 and no2 whos 15.
We are currently ttc again. so :fingerscrossed:.
New partner (2.6 yrs now ), waited a long time for him but he was worth the wait lol
Kaitlyn is his first child and the apple of Daddys eye.

I really should stop rambling on about us and get things done while she sleeps.
Hope we will hear from you often, its great to have you here!!!! :D

Vicki

Tabby
22-06-2007, 21:08
Hi jariah,
Wonderful to hear from you and do hope youll be a regular also, as much as I love Amy the more the better lol.

YAY a ttc buddy??? and a "mature" mum to keep me company there too. :thumbsup:
Feeling past it? I sometimes think that but then I take a look in Katies eyes and I feel 20 yrs younger! Its hard yes but soooo worth it thats for sure.

I hope fate is kind to you and gives you another blessing xxx :hugs:
I look forward to getting to know you.

jariah4
22-06-2007, 21:36
hiya blitzzah and tabby!:wave:

great, i may have found where i wanna be!!:yes:
older mums unite.
yeh, well thanks for the welcome .as for the TTC dh has gone away till august so i cant do it on my own!!:thumbsdown:
but you never know after that...
take care.
jariah 4.:hugs:

Ys_Woman
23-06-2007, 12:50
WELCOME!!WELCOME!!WELCOME!! new ladies..
It was great to log on this morning and find some new posts :)..even though I really enjoy chatting with Vicki too.

Here is a quick rundown on me. My name is Amy. I turned 44 on June 15 and am just over 15wks along with nr4.
I have three children: dd#1 is 20, ds is 6, and dd#2 is 5.
I fell pg last year but lost the baby at 10.5wks. As none of the doctors were interested in the m/c or my continuing health I turned to a naturopath for some sort of tonic to heal the uterus. She gave me something called false unicorn which I took from Sept to Dec last year.
I returned to studies this year to take my mind off things and discovered on Easter Sunday that I was pg again! I rang the naturopath to tell her and she is pg too! lol. I can't say whether the tonic is to blame or not, but it surely must have healed things in there :)

Deb: Congrats! I really hope you come in and post heaps. My kids are yet to be excited about the baby-to-come. My eldest is happy for me but moved out last year because she couldn't cope with the littlies and their noise. She says that seeing them born and watching them grow has been the best contraceptive for her..lol

Jariah: :fingerscrossed: with your ttc after August. I will be rooting for you and for Tabby too (no pun intended..lol).

I had best away. I look forward to getting to know you all better.
Hugs,

Ys_Woman
23-06-2007, 13:00
Sorry Deb, forgot to say thanks for the info about circumcision. Hubby and I wanted him done at birth but our gp made it all seem too hard, he was obviously running with his own agenda. I will be happy to get Lachlan done if this stops the infections. I can't tolerate to hear him scream like that.
If this baby is a boy he will be done at birth regardless of what our current gp may think or not think.
Hugs,

jariah4
23-06-2007, 21:01
hi amy :wave:

thanks for the welcome!!! hope all is well with you and yours.had to seperate my girls in the bath this evening as they were having their first major punch up, definetly not like them....
ariah (4) had some birthday cake at kinder yesterday, (mainly the icing) and ever since has gone crazy behaviour wise. i dunno what was in it , but i hope she never has it again!!:eek:

my girls are both allergic to dairy and sugar, but at parties i have to let them have a bit or they feel left out and crave it even more!!:(
it was hot pink icing so it may have been the colouring???
i dont give them anything like it , so she's not used to it.
any way... ...sorry for rambling on about it!
by the way thanks for rooting for me!:laughing: it may just do the trick!!
ok, better go.
thanks again.
jariah 4. (tracey)

Ys_Woman
24-06-2007, 09:31
Oh dear about the girls fighting in the bath. I am a professional referee to Master 6 and Miss 5. With only 14mths between them they are on the same page most of the time and get along famously. The flip side to that is the things that bond them irritate them at times too. At least you rescued them before someone was drowned *j/k*.
My eldest has a dairy intolerance. The allergist said not to cut her dairy intake (when we went at age 4), that she would at some point cut it herself. She dabbled with soy milk for a few years but of late has found a long life milk that is lactose free and seems to tolerate that well.
Kids and parties..it always seems to wind them up and I don't think heaps of colouring and preservatives in the food helps either..but as you say it is only a treat and at least they won't feel deprived. Nice to have a soundproof padded room when they come home like that though..lol.
It is a quiet weekend. I haven't done my windows as hoped..can't be fagged really..lol. I will have to get to them this week though when the kids are at school.
Hope you are enjoying your w/e Tracey.
Hugs,

Tabby
25-06-2007, 20:09
Evening Ladies.

Hope you all had a good weekend?
Our was relatively quiet due to crappy weather. Inlaws here for dinner sat night was about it.

Amy: ah the windows, dad dropped off one those squidgy things last week for me, said today " havnt you done them yet?"
Nope..like you cant be assed at the moment..always something else to do anyway!

Had to have a giggle at the bath episode, ahhh the joy of what I have to look forward to if conceive soon? lol
ds1 and 2 are 1o yrs apart so never got that....Now 15 yrs from ds2 - Katie so wont definitely wont get it there either.

I finally got AF so can commence the clomid tomorrow :smiliedance:
Wish me luck!

blitzzah
25-06-2007, 20:52
Hi Vicki, congrats on the birth of Kaitlyn - sounds like she's the apple of your eye! She is just adorable in the pics you've posted of her. Good luck with the ttc journey, I'll definitely keep my fingers crossed for you and the other women here who are trying to have a baby! I'm DONE after this one - just don't have the stamina like I used to, lol.

Deb

Tabby
25-06-2007, 20:58
Thanks Deb!
haha yer this next one will be it for us too.
I fully understand the stamina, I'm usually dead tired but figure what the hell...another wont make it any worse? yer I know..who am I kidding? but leave me to my ignorance lol
Least I wont be sleeping my life away :laughing:

Hope your feeling well?

blitzzah
25-06-2007, 21:05
Hi Amy, congrats on your happy event! Hope you haven't had much morning sickness like I did...just got over that and now I have constant reflux and indigestion - the joys of pregnancy, lol.

Interesting about your experience with the naturopath. Before I got pg with my last daughter (now aged five), I went to a chiropractor for back pain...next thing I found out I was pregnant so I wondered if his handiwork had something to do with it. He had a book of testimonials on the coffee table in his waiting room and quite a few women had written about falling pg after his chiro treatment even though they'd been ttc for long periods of time.

LOL at your daughter's newly found form of contraception! I have a friend who worked as a paramedic for years in the US and has actually delivered two of his own children at home, said it put his teenage daughters off sex for life, lol.

Are you still keeping up with the studies since you found out you were pg? I have been considering taking up further study as well, but have been quite sick in one form or another with this pg so it's probably best that I take it easy I suppose. Just finished work on Friday and was glad to kiss it goodbye for a while too...have just been feeling to big and heavy to do much more!

My oldest lives around the corner from us with her husband of one year. She visits often with her little sister and they really do adore each other...mind you it might be a different story if she had to live at home with us and deal with teh 24/7 of living with a preschooler, hehe.

Are you going to find out if you're having a boy or a girl?

Deb

PS. I should do one of those sig thingos like you all have here.

blitzzah
25-06-2007, 21:12
Hi Tracey, it's great to see you here!

Know what you mean about that gooey icing on cakes. We just had a birthday party for our five year old but I tried not to have too much sugary food. Last year we had LOT of cake and lollies and such...and oddly enough the foods that went down the best were ham and cheese sandwiches and juice, lol. So this year we had savories and the kids gobbled everything in sight. We did have a pinata (pull string) at the end but that was so they could take some sweets and toys home with them...I'm sure the mums were going *arrrghhh!*

Good luck with ttc, I too will be rooting for you, lol.

Deb

blitzzah
25-06-2007, 21:21
Hehe! Sleeping your life away...with a new baby... in our dreams!

I keep wishing for lots of sleep-ins right now, but everyone in our house is sick with flu and we've all been on antibiotics. Youngest daughter is sleeping with me every night as she wakes up coughing and I have to comfort her...so I figure it's easier just to keep her with me all night instead of getting in and out of bed.

I'm thinking of stopping the antibiotics she's been on...they are now giving her watery bowel movements, occasional vomiting, stomach aches and this morning she showed me a massive pimple thing on the side of her tongue :( She had none of these symptoms before starting the AB's. Add to that she has barely eaten a thing all week and I'm just not seeing much to justify keeping her on the medication right now. We went to a new doc who said it's best to persevere even if she's having these side effects, but I'm going to over-ride that suggestion.

Speaking of stamina...I'm going to get some sleep so that I can keep up with my little girl tomorrow. Even when she's sick she can run rings around her mum, lol.

I'll try and get some pics up one of these days.

Deb

Ys_Woman
26-06-2007, 15:32
G'day ladies. I do think it would just be easier if you all moved to Canberra ;), then we could get together over a cuppa. I can highly recommend the weather here. It has rained all day and we achieved a top of 3.5C, some roads have been closed due to snow in the lower lying areas and I can see it covering the hills and mountains at the end of my street. Bet you are all tempted to move here now *raises her eyebrows* huh?huh?

Vicki: the windows still have handprints on them..lol. I love your dad thinking you would leap to doing yours once you had the squeegees! Men are so practical. When Brittany was born I was using cloth nappies. Dad went out and bought a broom handle and a funnel and nailed one to the other. The funnel was upside down on the stick and apparently closely resembled something the navy had used to wash clothes in a bucket with. I didn't have the heart to tell him that after soaking I simply threw them in the washing machine..lol.
:fingerscrossed: with the Clomid. I have heard that it gives you a risk of multiples though. How do you feel about twins?

Deb: Yes it is so cool to have other 40-somethings to relate to. Most of the mum's in the Dec thread are in their mid 20's to mid 30's. I guess some ppl will not agree with having a baby at this age but when nature hands it to you how could you be anything but thrilled? My grandmother had her last at 42 and she coped, even with her chronic diabetes.
That is not cool about the side effects of the a/b on your daughter. I complained that the a/b Lachlan was taking last week was making his tongue feel thick and his breathing a bit labored but they told me to keep going. Thank goodness the bottle ended today. I hope your little one is feeling better soon.
I won't be finding out the sex. The others have all been surprises and hubby and I have decided to stick with the tradition. I was wavering but then I remembered how thrilling it is awaiting hubby's response to the: "Is it a boy or a girl?" question.
I gave up the studies shortly after discovering the pregnancy. I was studying Cert IV in telephone counselling with Lifeline but it required whole weekends. After the last weekend of suicide intervention training I was too wrung out. I have deferred the studies for a year as the doctor thinks I should rest up. I miss it though.
I bet you are wrapt to be home now. Your daughter(s) will no doubt adore having you around.

Hugs on this freezing day.

Tabby
26-06-2007, 19:42

Amy: yep clomid increases multiples PLUS so does your age apparently!!!. Twins would be hard but am sure we would get through it and love every minute of it ( after the getting used to two at once lol )
3 under 3!!! my goodness

Umm think Ill pass on Canberra, cold enough here for me at 6c lol day was nice today though after wind and rain for two we got sunshine, was quite nice out.

LOL at your Dad! Arnt they hilarious at times :laughing:

Deb: hope your little one is feeling better? xx

Hop everyone is well.

HBM
26-06-2007, 20:43
Hi, glad there is an area for the over 40 mums. I just had my 2nd child in February at the age of 42. She is perfect and adoragble and very very worshipped. My first girl is 6 now and both were conceived with IVF+ICSI. Ive done around 13 IVF cycles and 1 donor egg cycle, I lost two of my own cycle pregnancies and the donor egg pregnancy as well, but found a good doctor who worked out what was wrong with me and we had another stab at it and got lucky. I swore blind Id not do this again, but now, because I hve one frostie at the clinic, I cant bear to leave it there, so we have decided to give this one last little frozen nugget a chance at life. So.... soon, Ill be trying again with all the damn drugs and stuff..... but, hey, been doing it for so damn long, I'm getting withdrawal symptoms:eek: . NEed a fix of the horrormones!

So, hope you dont mind me dropping in now and then for a catch-up.
HBM:ecomcity:

jariah4
26-06-2007, 21:12
hi girls!!

i'm back.been trying to get here!DD2 finally got thru the icing problem (thank goodness).
but now she has lots of lovely green mucous:eek: coming out of her nose and is generally not herself...as for antibiotics , have i got a story for you!!but it would take all night. to make a long story short (i'll try) so here goes.........
both my lo's were posterior and i ended up having emergency c-sections with both.well , we received via the drip very strong antibiotics and then i got an infection and had more very strong ab's.so both myself and my girls became very unwell from them. we have had thrush in the mouth and the intestine from them. it is called candida overgrowth (that pimple on the tongue will be most likely a sign of thrush).
ANYWAY....i still suffer from thrush in the intestine after 4 years and my DDs have it flair up on and off too.i cant even eat fruit much at all because it flares up when you have anything sweet:mad: so my DD2 can only have a very small slice of her fav fruit which is banana, because otherwise she gets sick from it.so please take my advice and be very careful of them.
if you do have to have them make sure you get some acidophilus capsules/or powder to take after.have you seen the tv ad about the good bugs needing to be replaced? that is so true.yoghurt doesnt have as much as the capsules do.
i now go to my naturopath/homeopath first before even contemplating ab's and so far we have been lucky (touch wood).

the clomid , could you tell me a bit about it?also interested in the side effects etc.i suppose i would need a referral from my gp?
my weekend was ok ,a visit from mum-inlaw.and i seem to miss dh more on the weekends hmmm.
had kindergym and gymnastics today with both girls, a busy day!
love the 40+ contact it's great!!:yelclap:
talk to you soon,
love tracey.;)

jariah4
26-06-2007, 21:18
g'day hbm,

great to have you here!the more the merrier!!:wave:
sounds like those horromones really get you going!would love to hear about ivf and the effects of the drugs, in case i go down that road.
good luck with everything , hope all goes well.:hugs:
getting past my bed time!:sleeping:
bye for now,
love from tracey.

Tabby
27-06-2007, 10:32
Welcome HBM. Hope to see lots of you, yep the more the merrier!
Wishing you all the best with your next ivf cycle, when do you start?

Tracey, Clomid does have side affects yes, Ive been rather lucky and only get the hot flushes and only mild. I fell first go with DD so I hope can do the same this time:D
Wow the thrush thing youve been both going through! Will it ever clear up?

oh got to run , katie wants a bottle
try get back later

Ys_Woman
27-06-2007, 10:55
Well today started sh*tty and I can't see it getting any better.
Hubby left a bit later than usual this morning and moments after leaving was back. Our beautiful Tonkinese cat Tonka was lying dead in the gutter outside:gloomy:. Tonka is actually Brittany's cat but I will have to wait until she comes to visit tomorrow to tell her. I couldn't say it over the phone and leave her feeling so sad by herself. The strangest part is that her cat never ever went on the road before, so why this time? Sometimes life is unkind.
Today is a repeat of yesterday's weather. The snow is really piling up on the hills and pretty as that is, the wind and rain coming off it makes walking the kids to and from school bitter.
I feel like crawling back in bed but I have cleaning to do.
I hope you are having a better day where you are.
Hugs,

Tabby
27-06-2007, 11:49
Aww Amy :hugs: to you for the loss of your cat Tonka
I feel for you, we lost our precious "soxy" 4 yrs ago and he was run over right before our eyes. Same thing, he never went on the road!! but why did he then? He used to sunbake on the driveway so we think he went a bit far not realizing. I still have the scars on my arm where I picked him up and he fought me in pain, he died in my arms a few minutes later.
So sad..hope tomorrow brings a better day for you xxx

Ys_Woman
27-06-2007, 16:15
Thanks Vicki..and sorry you lost your pussy cat Soxy in such a traumatic way. I know it can still hurt years later.
I rang Brittany to see if she was still coming over tomorrow and she is. She has had such a tragic run over last few the years, more than any girl her age should have to deal with. She is dealing with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder now and I just couldn't dump this on her over the phone. I wish we lived on a quieter street.
Hugs to you on this freezing day again.
Amy.

Tabby
27-06-2007, 17:38
All the best for tomorrow and hope shes ok after the news Amy. :hugs:

Cats&Kid
28-06-2007, 02:26
Hi ladies! May I join the fun? I'm a member of the Fab Feb 07 group which is wonderful but I sometimes feel left out and I don't know if it's because of my age, or whether I don't have enough time to keep up with everyones postings.

anythingmychild: :hugs: re Tonka and telling your daughter, I do hope she is ok. It's dreadful to loose a pet - they're so much a part of the family. I'm a big cat person and have lost my fare share during the years and they all still have a special place in my heart and memories.

Tabby: Kaitlyn is gorgeous! Love the photos.

jariah4: I've heard there can be reactions from the red food dye with children, I'm pleased your daughters over it now. If I can find my additives book I'll look up what it has in it and the reactions.

HBM: :fingerscrossed: Looking forward to hearing good news from you soon.

blitzzah: Congratulations on your 3rd little girl! Do hope your pregnancy is going well.

A little about me: I had my beautiful boy, Matthew, on the 21st of February, this year and turned 40 on the 13th of March but I was so pre-occupied I haven't had a chance to celebrate but who could complain with the sweetest birthday guest ever - you can tell I'm smitten :)

I've been with my partner 15 years with many ups and downs and had a mc in 2003. I'm currently TTC (hoping for a girl) for March 08 which many of my friends would think was crazy (so I'm not telling them!) but my obst. said I should asap. and I've heard so much positive feedback (other than the fatigue) about having babies close together. I'm currently suffering from sleep deprivation (so what's a bit more) as my boy isn't sleeping at all well so I'm a little off in the clouds - can someone tell me if this gets better.....

I've currently 2 feline babies, (see profile) one of which came down with diabetes 4 weeks before I was due. Which has been getting worse unfortunately. We live in the centre of the city (It's very cold here too by the way - no snow though) in a very cramped appartment, but hope to move back to the country soon (hopefully by the time Matthew's walking).

How's Lauchlan going? We'd wanted to circumcising Matthew but the obst. was against it and wouldn't give me a referral until my 6 week check up and then when I rang and had the referral they said they only did them pre 6 weeks otherwise you have to wait until 6 months and they have to give them a general. Neither of us are keen of him having a general so young so will leave it for him to decide and hope that he doesn't end up with UTI. Having suffered from UTI for many years I wouldn't wish them on anyone!

I'm so excited to find this group - it's such a pleasant number I might actually remember who's in it (baby brain - there is so many in fab feb I can't remember who's who).

My boy is calling.

Take care all :hugs:

Tabby
28-06-2007, 08:30
Welcome cats&kids!

Thankyou yep Katie is a cutie and personality to match. A long awaited girl for me..so is the apple of my eye for sure.
Oh another ttc buddy YAYAYAY.
I start my clomid tomorrow...Last time I did it first dose so :fingerscrossed:. Also :fingerscrossed: for you too!

Im the same as you, whats a bit more sleep deprivation? lol Rather get it all over with Quicker personally, than get more sleep and have to revert back again later. I can sleep all I want when they are older.

uhoh Katie is calling for nap
be back later

jariah4
28-06-2007, 09:25
hi there and welcome cats & kid!:wave:

Great to have you here!! thanks so much for the info about the red food dye...still cant believe what it did to her!:eek:

Tabby: :fingerscrossed: great luck with the clomid,hope all goes well.have been checking it out and will see how i go.

Amy:hope all goes well with brittany.you are so thoughtful and kind to be there for her.it is painful to lose them, we are great animal lovers here and have recently adopted two pupppies from the pound.

well, my sisters down from qld and on her way with mum.so better go the house looks like a bomb hit it!!:(
talk soon,
tracey.

Ys_Woman
28-06-2007, 16:10
WOW! I turn my back for a night and suddenly there are new ppl to chat with. I didn't even see the posts when I posted about the cat.
Nice to see we over-40's-mum's are a strong concern :)

HBM: Congrats on your gorgeous daughter. What a relief and a blessing she must have been. How did you feel when the test came back positive? Did you shout it from the hilltops? I reckon I would have..lol. Fingers crossed on your next attempt.
I had my two youngest 14mths apart. My biggest worry was how I could possibly love another when I was so besotted by my son, funny how the well of love is just topped up each time. The first nine months were a blur and full of exhaustion but then things got into a nice swing. I agree with Vicki..you can always sleep later..lol. This year my youngest started school and it has been awesome being able to come home and have the house to myself for those few hours. I had best make the most of it for now.

Jariah: Gotta love the green mucous..ugggh. Thanks for the tip on the pro biotics. I will have to get Lachlan some. His pain is returning so I think we will be back to ab's by tomorrow. Pity they didn't write a repeat prescription in the first place. Hopefully the hospital won't make him wait too long for surgery.

Cats&Kid: Welcome! Congrats on your gorgeous baby boy. Good luck with your ttc. Depending on their individual natures they can be the very best of friends when they are close in age.
As to circumcision..what happened for you and Matthew was exactly what our GP put us through. He ensured that we didn't do anything in the first six weeks and then told us the only way we could have it done was to pay a surgeon $2k out of our own pocket. I could choke him now that Lachlan is having so much trouble! Only yesterday I heard on the Pregnancy for Dummies video them saying that boys don't need to be circumcised at birth as there is no medical reason to do it. Tell that to all the boys I know who have been done at 6,7,8 and beyond due to tight foreskins and repeat infections. Far better to get it out of the way in the first day of life. I am going to ask around now so that if this baby is a boy he will be done asap after birth! I heard about a Dr on the Gold Coast who uses an elastic band method that isn't painful..might see if anyone further south uses that method.

Lovely to have new stories to hear and to retell my own tired ones..hehehe.
Hugs,

HBM
28-06-2007, 18:03
Amy, thanks and yes, I did, though I was scared to beleive it also. Once I got past the 12 week mark, I felt like I wanted to stop strangers in the street and say...."hey, Im pregnant!", but I had to refrain, it was hard.....

Now, to try for #3. IN total I have been pregnant 5 times, sadly only 2 of those crossed the line, but the two I have are precious.

My doctor told me I am allowed to try again 6 months after my c/s, which is August 17.... trying to get organised cos i have to see an Immune Specialist also and go on some fancy drugs so my body dosnt kill any possible pregnancy, but, Ill write about all that as it occurs...

The cat story was sooo sad. I had a beautiful Russian Blue, almost adult cat called Minky. Such a lovely nature and one day I found him in the back smashed to bits, yet still alive, it was dreadful, he had gone to play with traffic and then I had to take him to the vet and there was nothing they could do and I had to be there when they put him down, still now, Im crying remembering it..... we lived on a main road and well, it was awful, and it was during my 2ww for an IVF cycle and sadly, that failed as well. What an awful time it was. SO, yes, tis very sad. Ive had a beloved dog die of an injury and another one ( an adorable little Cairn Terrier puppy) floating in our pool. THat happened the day before I was due for egg pick up with IVF and we went out the same day, got a Cav King Charles and he slept with me for weeks...I attribute my success with my first pregnancy due to "Q", the spaniel. We have him still, dopey dog that he is! BUt devoted. Pets are just the most wonderful thing to have...teaches you a LOT!

Ys_Woman
29-06-2007, 10:34
Hello HBM,

I cannot profess to know much about IVF and ICSE, just what I have seen on telly. I watch a show called Test Tube Babies and see the angst the couples go through. It is fantastic to see the ones who get the great phone call but devastating to see the ones who get bad news and know the hard slog starts all over again.
I have only had one m/c and I have to say that it is the hardest thing I have ever had to go through. Thankfully I worked through it and by the baby's due date (Dec 23 last year) I had come to terms with it as best I could. I was incredibly shocked to find myself pg again this year and due roughly the same time as last. I wondered if the spirit last year just felt it was wrong timing???
I hear you when you talk about the sadness you carry after losing a pet. I still can cry when I talk about past four legged family members. The loss of Brittany's cat the other day was very hard for her to hear.
Just over two years ago she sacrificed her doll collection to the Ebay gods in order to buy me a chocolate Burmese kitten for my birthday. She developed a rapport with the breeder and intimated that her first pap smear had come back borderline cancer and she was to have surgery and was scared. On the day she picked up the Burmese kitten the breeder handed my daughter a gorgeous cream coloured Tonkinese. She felt he would help ease the pain of what my dd was going through. He was a great comfort to her through that time but sadly she couldn't take him with her when she moved from home last year.
Every visit home she promised him that soon she would have a place for them both. It is a crushing blow to have lost him. I am worried because since she returned home yesterday afternoon her mobile is constantly engaged. Hubby has the car at work so I can't drive over there until later today. Hopefully she turns it back on soon so I can talk with her.
I have the two youngest home today as the roof at school has become waterlogged and needs repair, so I had best away to make them some lunch.
It is a lovely sunny day here today and I intend to sit out in it.
Hugs,
Amy

Tabby
29-06-2007, 22:46

Amy: Hope you got through to dd's phone finally? Beautiful avatar, is that Tonka?

HBM: All the best with ttc when time comes.
When do you go see immune spec etc?

Katie finally cut her tooth! and no2 not far off, might even be there as well but only slightly.
No dramas what so ever, but is expected from her, nothing every is lol. Sort of knew she would cut them with out too much hassle.

Day1 of clomid, taken tonight to help minimise any side affects to while I sleep ( hopefully ) thats what they say where Ive read up anyhow, Only had minor hot flushes last time so hope same again.

HBM
30-06-2007, 05:02
Amy, have you managed to get through on the phone???

No news here yet, still waiting to hear back from Immune Specialist and the IVF clinic. I guess Ill have to go on the pill or somethign to get my body into line...I dont know, cycle is pretty normal,but nothing is more certain that it will go haywire now that I want it on time...go figure!

Having a very dull weekend, just around the house stuff.....nothing of noteworthyness!

Yes, Imup at 5am thismorning doing the feed for little Kyra. Have some issues with her and feeding, cant seem to stretch the night time feed out, she's always hungry and she gets plenty...so Monday morning I have an appointment at the Baby Health Clinic to talk through how to make this better for us. She's 19 weeks old today (but 15.5 weeks corrected), and she is solid now so its not like she's missing out and I am formula feeding so I know how much is going in..... have tried the settling, changing position, patting, (sniffing the nappy in case theres the business, but she wont have a bar of it, she wants FOOD!!!! Tis getting a bit of a drain. THis is just new, a short while back she was sleeping a stretch of 8 hours and on 3 nights we got to sleep right through like normal people! And here I am wanting to do this again, I sometimes think I have rocks in my head!:banghead:

OK, kettle has boild so Im going to put my feet up and enjoy the silence for a short time, until Sabrina wakes and starts at me for something or other.....(but, Im not complaining!);)
Rita

Ys_Woman
01-07-2007, 07:40
Wooohoo to the first tooth Vicki! Glad Katie is having an easy time of it. Do you think that is genetic? My brother always had an awful time but I breezed through it as a baby. My kids had it fairly easy but all would get runny noses or colds. Have you written the new tooth into the baby book?
Congrats on starting the Clomid. What sort of side effects can it produce? Nothing nasty I hope.
A friend of mine was on Clomid years ago...the worst part for her was discovering missing tablets and then finding out her 15yr old daughter was taking them.. eeeek.
I finally got hold of Brittany. She said the mobile battery was flat but I believe she had it turned off to avoid everyone. We picked her up yesterday and went on a family outing to the snow (the small amount there was of it..lol). Sometimes I have to guilt her into coming out with the family but if I didn't she would remain hermitted away in her place getting more depressed. We had a lot of fun yesterday so hopefully she is feeling a bit better about life now.
Yes the avatar is Tonka. He was such a darling cat. I miss him. Teddy, our other cat, is so restless now. I wonder if cats understand when another cat has died? She had a smell of him before he was buried. Do you think she knows?
Hugs to you. I hope you have a great weekend. Selia has a b'day party to go to today and I am still stalling on the cleaning..lol. I need a maid!!

Tabby
01-07-2007, 08:00
Morning all

HBM: There is a couple of other Mums on my jan07 babies thread with the same issues, bub wanting feed still in the am. Not uncommon? They are slowly sleeping through now..Hope you get some sleep throughs real soon!
LOL you sound like me, having rocks in my head is my fav way to explain why am ttc again :laughing:
I just tell DP "yep well you knew I had rocks in my head when you met me" hehehe.
Hope you get your app soon.

Amy: yes the toothies!! They are coming up so fast! this morning she could have bit me no problems. Oh and yes maybe genetic? Both ds1 and 2 never had issues either. Really think its her personality too. very happy go lucky type, always laughing or smiling no matter how tired/hungry or wet she will smile for who ever.
Even my mum with 3 kids and numerous grandkids cannot get over Katie at how happy she always is. sorry rambled on there lol

Tonka is such a beautiful cat!!!! How handsome he is. I think they know yes, cats are amazing creatures and it wouldnt shock me to know that they know and understand more than we give them credit for sometimes.
Glad your day out went well and hope Brittany feels better xxx

Clomid: There is quite a few side affects yes. Hot flushes being the worst, I read to take them at night so by the time you wake you have slept through any affects, seems to have worked a treat! Others common ones I have read are thirst & headaches.

Better go, Katie will want her morning nap soon.
hope every one is having a great w.e

Ys_Woman
01-07-2007, 08:05
Hello Rita,

Yes I managed to contact Brittany the next day. Hopefully our outing yesterday has left her happier.
I hope you get some great tips from the health clinic nurse. I know they don't like babies to eat until after six months but I hear all these 1960's mums talking about how they fed their babies runny egg and put a teaspoon of Farex in the bottle of a night, sometimes as early as two months because they had such hungry babies. I will be keen to hear what they do nowadays.

My first two were tagged as 'failure to thrive' as they were not very hungry and barely made gains. Brittany always sat under the 5th percentile and poor Lachie didn't even get onto the chart for a few years. Then Selia came along. She came into the world hungry and hasn't stopped since! From the moment her eyes open the mouth is saying: "I want breakfast!" lol. She is a dynamo though and burns it all off quickly. All day long she is hungry.

If you start the process of IVF now does it take long to prepare your body for the first egg retrieval and fertilisation?
I have heard that fertility is high for about six months after having a baby. I hope it happens quickly for you hon whichever way. Have you a preference for the sex?

I had best away to dress. Just slacking around in my jammies. I am really starting to look pg now and I am feeling a lot stronger movement. Just this week I have started enjoying the pg and stopped feeling as afraid. Gotta love life!

Hugs,

HBM
01-07-2007, 10:53
Yes, Kyra was a hungry baby from the moment she was rudely extracted from her cozy home. Her blood sugar was really low at birth, so they whisked her off to the special care nursery and Tom fed her 20ml of formula, half an hour later, she was screaming for more, so another 20ml went down in what the Nurse said...Oh My God, Ive never seen a baby so hungry", and like you, she hasnt stopped being hungry since.

I have heard also that the frist 6 months you are most fertile, so Im gonna ride that wave....milk it, so to speak! This cycle will be a modified cycle, I dont need to do the stimulation with the drugs cos I have an embryo in the freezer, so dont need to be pumped up.... but...only one embie and success rates at thawing are around 70%. Hubby and I have chatted about this and though we havent said it "out loud", I think its already decided that we will do one more fully stimmed cycle to see what we get.....if no luck with this one...

My daughter heard me talking on the phone to her dad discussing this attempt and she was SOOOOOOO excited, jumping up and down saying "YAY YAY YAY, Mummies going to have another baby, Ill have another new friend!" Boy, did I bawl at that....., then she said "Ill be careful how I sit on your lap and I wont jump on you and you cant pick me up"..... how sweeeeeeet is that eh?

You know, she washes the formula bottles for me every evening, does a good job too. It helps that kids just love splashing around with sudsy water, so thats one less job I need to do. She actually got upset with me last night when I started to rinse out the bottles saying..."MUM, thats MY job"...why cant she clean her room with this dedication???????????????????

Have a nice day today ladies, Ive promised Sabrina we will cook a chocolate cake today, so fun fun fun! Especially when Im doing Jenny Craig and all I can do is perhaps lick the beaters!:crying:

You know, now that the decision to do this is made, I cant wait to get started...I just want a baby and if its a boy this time round, tha would be awesome, but so far 2 girls, so odds are against me..... I have to keep reminding myself.."I have all that I ever wanted".....

Just wish I had time on my side, we are getting older everyday eh... thats the one thing we cant change, our age and the clear proof that we are closer to death every day...morbid I know, but I try not to think of it. Hubby says having kids again has kept him young. I personally feel more tired, less energy, but more patience...

Ys_Woman
03-07-2007, 17:52
Just the quickest post to say I am still alive. I have started the middle of the night wakeup. I get it with every pgcy..I guess most women do??? I woke at 3:30am and couldn't get back to sleep so I watched telly ..a birth program that infuriated me cause the woman was going on and on after her birth about how she didn't feel much pain and how easy it all was. I wanted to yell: that's because you were numbed from the waist down and drugged up to your eyeballs you stupid ****** :)
Then I spent the entire day cleaning my heart out as we rent and have bi-yearly inspections. I can't believe how much I am plodding at the moment..probably due to tiredness as well as a belly that is getting bigger by the minute (feels like quads)!
After inspection I had parent-teacher interviews for both the littlies. I detest going to them and hearing someone else talk about my kids. I know their issues better than the teacher and I find myself getting really anxious that they will say awful things like: "Your kids will never amount to anything"...which is basically what the year 8 co-ordinator once said about my eldest dd *sigh*.
Thankfully both teachers had relatively good things to say. Selia's teacher is scared that she will break Selia somehow..lmao. Selia is gifted and the teacher is stressed about what to teach her and if she is stretching her enough. I wish I could advise her but we are both playing it by ear for now.
Lachlan's teacher says he is at the top of the class but has issues with confidence in his work due to his little sister outdoing him on everything (she even assists the vice principal to teach his class an English lesson every Wednesday..which is really stripping his confidence).
All I want are two kids that are happy going to school, make good friends, and finish out high school and hopefully go on to uni..don't have to be high achievers, just keen to learn.
OK..I have raved on enough. Sorry. I am soooo tired and can't wait to fall into bed.
Hugs to all. Hope you had a lovely day.
Amy
*sitting in her pristine home..well, pristine until the kids start messing it up again*lol.

Ys_Woman
03-07-2007, 18:05
P.S. Did I say the quickest post? Dang but my fingers can talk!:laughing:

Tabby
03-07-2007, 21:09
New July thread lovies!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=104364
(http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=1659712&posted=1#post1659712)