View Full Version : baby photo comps

milkshake
15-08-2004, 17:01
Does anyone know any free australian baby comp sites?

Angus'mum
16-08-2004, 14:08
I don't sorry... ;) But I would be interested in this too..
You, like me - must think you have the most adorable baby in the world. :p
Aren't mothers grand? :)

tappy
31-08-2004, 13:46
can't you let your children grow up without the judgement of others?
Worst of all, how would you feel if you lost? They are ALL beautiful - leave it at that... : :confused:

razzle
01-09-2004, 08:54
That's a bit harsh Tappy. As long as it doesn't get out of hand like those poor little pageant kiddies in America with the false teeth and Barbie Doll hair, I don't see anything wrong with baby competitions. And what's so wrong about thinking that your baby is the most adorable?? I'm sure I'm mature enough not to throw a tanty if my little one is not judged the cutest or most adorable. Everyone has their own opinion - I think she's the most adorable and that's all that matters to me. But if a bunch of other people think she's the cutest and want to award her $10,000 or a year's supply of baby food for being so - I'm not gonna argue with 'em!! :)

Milkshake & Angus' Mum - I find most competitions in magazines - Women's Weekly has a "Favourite Memories" or something comp on at the moment, and Australian Parenting has one as well. I just got my Coles Baby Club mag yesterday and there is a Bonnie Babes comp in that as well.

I enter into competitions all the time, I just make sure they're for a reputable company or cause - and avoid those dodgy internet ones!!

Good luck!! :p

Gemma
01-09-2004, 12:04

I agree with Rach, your a little bit harsh Tappy. However, we are all entitled to an opinion. :D

milkshake
09-09-2004, 14:16
Tappy,

You are entitled to your oppinion, BUT you should not JUDGE us for wanting to enter competitions. Yes each and every baby is gorgeous, but we're not hurting anybody by entering baby comps. If you are so against baby comps, why the hell did you even look in this thread?

My advice to you would be to mind your own buisiness and don't stick your nose in where it doesn't belong.

You have NOT made a friend in me, people like you really get me p***ed off!

razzle
09-09-2004, 22:29
Onya Tracy! ;) 'nuff said!

nyrrek
10-09-2004, 20:42
There is a site called [deleted by moderator] which has a forum devoted to competitions / sales / freebies etc. Maybe you would find something on there if you joined. Good luck to your beautiful bubs.

tassiedolphincreations
27-09-2004, 23:06
i love entering my 2 kids inot baby comps ,it is fun i think of them as not whos baby is the cutest but more which is the best photo.
i have entered them in heaps of the big ones and not had them win ,it dosn't bother me though as all mums now that in their eyes there kids are the cutest and thats all that matter,
all baby and kids are gorgeous so it's normal for lots of parents to want to show off how much theirs is.

i am also on the look out for austrailian baby comps to enter my kids into ,free ones that is i can't afford the pay ones.
they are hard to find,at one stage i was thinking of opening my own but decided it would take up to much time.

Caitlin's Mum
29-09-2004, 11:35
Johnson & Johnson hold a competition each year at www.babyoftheyear.com.au. All you have to do is send in a photo of your little one and the top prize this year was $10,000.

I entered my little girl last year and she didn't win and I have entered her again this year and the competition has closed now so I take it she hasn't won :confused:

It absolutely did not bother me that she didn't win. I know how gorgeous she is and everyone around her knows how gorgeous she is and that's all that matters. :)

Bubinski
12-10-2004, 13:13
Don't forget all the baby mags have their monthly 'beautifil babies' photo pages, i think everyone gets a small prize.

Sandy

fillin mum
20-07-2005, 07:10
hey mums...

i'm new to the baby world as a good friend of mine has an 8month old baby girl. the mother of the baby has left and my friend has now been left with the baby... which i must say he is more then happy about :o and he has asked me to be a mother figure to his child...

i think she is a beautiful baby and i am interested in starting her in modeling or some forms of baby copmetitions but i really have no idea where to start... i'm located in Brisbane and i would highly appriciate any tips or starters... :)

katherine

mumofethan
20-07-2005, 07:29
there is the basic modeling companies that are local to you, u would need to look in your yellow pages...

otherwise at the moment there is the baby of the year contest, go to www.babyoftheyear.com.au

Michelle

WeThree
22-07-2005, 18:38
hi girls im keen to get my 2 youngest in some baby comps too, as like all mums im sure mine will win :) when i was younger i can remember all the local stores seemed to have baby comps where they would all get a trophy, winner would get small cash prize etc, they dont seem to have anything like that anymore, does anyone know why? im assuming it probably has something to do with liability, insurance etc like everything does these days! but i think those sort of things can be fun, as long as baby isnt upset and mum doesnt take it seriously, then why not? especially if your bubs is going to get a good prize out of it!

Ethans_mum
10-09-2005, 23:26
I don't know what kind of competitions you guys are after that is if you are into winning big prizes but I have entered my bubby in a couple that offer small prizes like hampers etc...

Try:
[deleted by moderator]

Like I say these are only small comps with small prizes, maybe somewhere good to start!!!

jjjjj
30-10-2005, 17:13
That's a bit harsh Tappy. As long as it doesn't get out of hand like those poor little pageant kiddies in America with the false teeth and Barbie Doll hair, I don't see anything wrong with baby competitions. And what's so wrong about thinking that your baby is the most adorable?? I'm sure I'm mature enough not to throw a tanty if my little one is not judged the cutest or most adorable. Everyone has their own opinion - I think she's the most adorable and that's all that matters to me. But if a bunch of other people think she's the cutest and want to award her $10,000 or a year's supply of baby food for being so - I'm not gonna argue with 'em!! :)

Milkshake & Angus' Mum - I find most competitions in magazines - Women's Weekly has a "Favourite Memories" or something comp on at the moment, and Australian Parenting has one as well. I just got my Coles Baby Club mag yesterday and there is a Bonnie Babes comp in that as well.

I enter into competitions all the time, I just make sure they're for a reputable company or cause - and avoid those dodgy internet ones!!

Good luck!! :p

CheersHi, Just want to say is that your daughter on the photo.."she is cute" :)

jjjjj
30-10-2005, 17:26
Hi, Just want to say is that your daughter on the photo.."she is cute" :)
COULD I ASK HOW DID YOU GET THE PHOTO THERE? :)

30-10-2005, 20:47
jjjj - noticed no one had answered you yet... if you want a photo (or 'avatar') there, go to user control panel up the top of the page, then down the left side of the page it will say 'change or edit avatar'. Go there and it will basically explain how to do it. You just choose your photo, but it has to be no bigger than 80x80 pixels. There is an avatar resizer thread in the friends chat section on, page 4 i think, that you go to and download the program and it will make the avatar the size you need...thats if you don't have a program you can do that in already...

Hope i helped...i think i made it sound a bit more tricky than it really is!! Sorry, hope you figure it out okay...

razzle
30-10-2005, 21:16
Hi, Just want to say is that your daughter on the photo.."she is cute" :)

Thank you for your compliment! :)

jjjjj
12-11-2005, 20:57
jjjj - noticed no one had answered you yet... if you want a photo (or 'avatar') there, go to user control panel up the top of the page, then down the left side of the page it will say 'change or edit avatar'. Go there and it will basically explain how to do it. You just choose your photo, but it has to be no bigger than 80x80 pixels. There is an avatar resizer thread in the friends chat section on, page 4 i think, that you go to and download the program and it will make the avatar the size you need...thats if you don't have a program you can do that in already...

Hope i helped...i think i made it sound a bit more tricky than it really is!! Sorry, hope you figure it out okay...
Hi, Shannon, Thankyou for your helpfull info, yea i did try what you said to do but it said that my picture was to big.**j***
i did the picture, :confused: :)

ThomasMum
13-11-2005, 08:01
Hi, Shannon, Thankyou for your helpfull info, yea i did try what you said to do but it said that my picture was to big.**j***
i did the picture, :confused: :)

Great pic, jjjj! As per guideline avatar for HubBub as long its "The maximum size of your custom image is 80 by 80 pixels or 19.5 KB (whichever is smaller)", and the pic should come out PERFECTly, if you had any problem you are most welcome to send the pic to my hotmail addy and then I shall edit it to you :)

T'sMum

jjjjj
13-11-2005, 12:16
hi girls im keen to get my 2 youngest in some baby comps too, as like all mums im sure mine will win :) when i was younger i can remember all the local stores seemed to have baby comps where they would all get a trophy, winner would get small cash prize etc, they dont seem to have anything like that anymore, does anyone know why? im assuming it probably has something to do with liability, insurance etc like everything does these days! but i think those sort of things can be fun, as long as baby isnt upset and mum doesnt take it seriously, then why not? especially if your bubs is going to get a good prize out of it!hi coopsntilly

jjjjj
13-11-2005, 12:20
hi coopsntilly could you tell me what else people do when they com online!! :)

ThomasMum
21-11-2005, 08:25
i sent your pics back to you, all done! :D

M

uptheduff
05-12-2005, 15:50
I enter my boys in the baby and toddler of the month competition on www.bounty.com

It's a UK site, but i just do it for a laugh. You get £50 in boots vouchers if you win (boots is kinda like priceline over here), not sure if you can use it online or not....you also get a certificate.

My gorgeous boy Angus came first in last months baby of the month competition...(if you're going to the site, have a look at the winners of last months section!!)

kimmy
14-12-2005, 00:09
have you guys heard of any new comps?

28-12-2005, 17:10

I saw a comp advertised in Sydnye's Child mag:

Australia's Cutest Kids Comp

How to enter:

1.print your photos at a particpating Fujifilm outlet.
2.Choose your cutest pic
3.Have your photo stamped instore and send it to Fuji with your entry form.

*Entries close 28/2/06 and winners are announced on 4/4/06

*There are two categories 1.under 3 years and 2. 4 years +

*Participating stores: Fujifilm Image Plus, Rabitt Photo, Harvey Norman Photo Centre, Camera House and Fletchers photographic.

You can win: one of two Education Funds valued at $15,000 each PLUS one of ten Pumpkin patch vouchers valued at $500 each.

Good Luck Everyone!

sugar n spice
28-12-2005, 18:11
Each parent has the right to enter there child into a competition and not be judged. i don' t think there is anything wrong with it except when you read about the pagents and kids are made to do it and where make up that makes them look twice there age then i think thats not on but just comps thats fine. Goodluck in finding one. Tappy if your going to be negative i don't think you should post on the thread then.

kimmy
28-12-2005, 18:46
does anyone now of any comps in Brisbane - Ipswich area???

kyeaj
21-01-2006, 00:33
On ya Milkshake!!!

Everyone IS entitled to their own opinion, but I too, find it funny that people read threads and reply just to "have a b*tch"!:mad:

My ds is (of course) the most gorgeous of all bubs (to me - LOL) and I wouldn't be bothered if he didn't win a comp, but the fact he was entered and in with a chance to possibly win some great prizes is what counts!

Who wouldn't pass up a chance to put money into their baby's bank account, give them some great clothes, or new products, etc? It's not to say that our babies aren't beautiful to us, just that someone else was "luckier" this time 'round!

It's supposed to be lighthearted fun and hopefully a prize at the end, not recognition of how great your child is - they're ALL great!!!

dormouse
04-02-2006, 01:31
The 'Little Aussie' baby comp (raising money for Rocky Bay) has started in WA!

They will be in shopping centres around Perth & I think some rural areas too.

I will be entering my bubba!

rylea's mum
13-02-2006, 18:45
i dont know if this has been posted but [deleted by moderator]
has a monthly free photo comp, its called [deleted by moderator].
give it a go, its a bit competitive as it goes on votes(i think some parents have it rigged)but its nice to see your beautiful bub up there.
its all in good fun.
they have monthly prizes and a great end of year final prize

maydr
24-02-2006, 10:29

I saw a comp advertised in Sydnye's Child mag:

Australia's Cutest Kids Comp

How to enter:

1.print your photos at a particpating Fujifilm outlet.
2.Choose your cutest pic
3.Have your photo stamped instore and send it to Fuji with your entry form.

*Entries close 28/2/06 and winners are announced on 4/4/06

*There are two categories 1.under 3 years and 2. 4 years +

*Participating stores: Fujifilm Image Plus, Rabitt Photo, Harvey Norman Photo Centre, Camera House and Fletchers photographic.

You can win: one of two Education Funds valued at $15,000 each PLUS one of ten Pumpkin patch vouchers valued at $500 each.

Good Luck Everyone!

you can also join your bub here thru this link:

http://www.fujicolor.com.au/en/promo/cutekids/cutekids.asp (http://www.fujicolor.com.au/en/promo/cutekids/cutekids.asp:thumbsup:) (http://www.fujicolor.com.au/en/promo/cutekids/cutekids.asp:thumbsup:)

shinebrite
24-02-2006, 14:12
Hey I found this it seems fun but i dont got a baby so cant do it yet the prize looks like a good one not to miss!!!!

http://www.bellapictures.com.au/Competitions/main.htm

BTW its free to enter!!!!

Issey
28-02-2006, 10:57

I don't see anything wrong with baby competitions either as long as you have fun and don't take it too serious.

I entered my little Tyger at a Big W baby and tots show and he won first prize for a boy in 0-6months (a trophy) and another trophy for best photographic sime :smiliedance: I nearly cried I was so proud! He was 9 weeks.

It didn't matter to me whether he won or not and the entry fee went to a good cause (charity) we both had heaps of fun and it was a bonus he won. All the children got something ie: medalion as they are all special

I did here another lady b*tching about a 2week old that won something and that made me a bit sad :(

I have now entered my babe into a photo competition at a shop in Nambour which is 'voting' on cutest babe - probably not as fair as being judged as if you have heaps of friends to go in and vote you will win. I don't know many people here on the Sunshine Coast. The prize is $250 worth of clothes. It was fun doing a FREE photo shoot.

Let me know if anyone knows about any comps on the Sunny Coast appart from the Newspaper one which is a money making venture.

creativewarrior
04-03-2006, 13:15
i entered a pic of amber on this site: http://www.picture.com/
and now shes going to be published in a photographic book - its probably a bit of a scam as they probably use all submitted photos but just to see my little girl in print is joy enough - you can also win money and make money off your photos if you agree for them to sell them as stock photography - you get 10% of the profits.

i think this is really cool cuz you can bring in a little cash just for sharing your photos - and its not just kids its animals and everything else too

Chickadee
04-03-2006, 15:33
and now shes going to be published in a photographic book - its probably a bit of a scam as they probably use all submitted photos but just to see my little girl in print is joy enough
I have no experience with the site you've mentioned, but do have some with a similar site that accepts poetry submissions. As you suggest, all poem submissions were accepted for publication in a book which you could order. When I submitted the poem the book it was going to go into was named and was due to be published in 6 months. I didn't order it. 9 months later when I checked again, the book title had changed and publication of my poem was still 6 months away. I received a bunch of emails and letters encouraging me to buy the book my poem would be going into. My conclusion: my poem wouldn't be published unless I paid the $100 to buy the book, which would contain a bunch of other crap poems by people I didn't know but who had paid their money. I never did buy it.

So good luck to you, and enjoy your daughter in print if that appeals to you. But I think it's a scam.

Edit: if you do a quick google search on the words Ephotograph & scam you'll have some interesting reading. It seems your pic will be published, but all pics are published and there may be some truly awful ones in the book along with your dd's. Good luck to you.

creativewarrior
04-03-2006, 16:03
oh yeah its definaltly a scam - the thing about the book tho its great for the grandparents who never get to see amber and something for them to show off too - they are none the wiser - the book was only $30 and even tho im a photographer/designer myself i could never have something printed up that cheap that would impress the folks so much.

its called a vanity scam but no real difference from entering kids in magazines - your still gonna buy the magazine w your kid in it and probably a few for all the family too - magazines do it to boost sales - i know because i ran the competition desk at a magazine once, they just pic any picture and anyone for the prize - its not even pulled out of a hat. its all just luck.

shopping centres do it so that you'll buy something while your waiting for your kid to go onstage, so you'll buy stuff so the kids look good on stage, you'll buy a coffee and a meal while your waiting and so they can advertise other companies to you aswell - life is a scam! ya just gotta pic your battles... it doesnt lessen the pleasure you get out of seeing your kids in print or on stage tho - its just a bit of fun really.

there are PROPER competitions out there like the fuji one where you win a prize - ultimately their hoping to win you as a customer tho so just a scam also but a harmless one at that

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2006, 11:18
Hey there all proud mums and dads in the next couple of months i will have a website up and running for a baby photo competition it will be a ten dollar entry fee and each month there will be a prize for baby of the month. The prize will be either a pumpkin patch voucher or fisher price toys. I would like some feed back on this and would like to know if any mums and dads out there will be interested in entering. There arent enough comps out there like this and this website will be australians only. Any feedback would be appreciated

creativewarrior
14-03-2006, 11:43
that sounds like a great idea tho $10 may be a little high for some people - maybe try $10 for a 3 monthly comp and $5 for a smaller monthly prize maybe?

i can help out with any web design if you need a hand as its what i do for a living.

amanda

Jax Tellers Old Lady
14-03-2006, 11:47
hey thanks heaps for your reply that would be great if you would help me im not looking at profiting from this at all i am just basically trying to have some fun and let others have fun too i think your idea for 10 for a 3 month comp is good if you have any other advice and tips on setting up a website it would be greatly appreciated my email address is liam.carew@bigpond.com

robinson
18-03-2006, 14:09

Does anyone know of any current free baby pic comps either online or at a Brissie shopping centre?