View Full Version : Fab Feb Mummas (June Thread)
ok guys!!! How's things?!
I've tried hard today to get up to date with everyone post's, but looks like it's not going to happen lol!!
Been extremely busy at home with the family and decided to take a bit of time away from bubhub - oh man I missed it!!!
All's good here :) I'm taking the kids interstate tomorrow for 10 days to catch up with the family & to take some time out away from DH (things have been, lets say, very troublesome around here of late). Looking forward to it, but petrified at the same time as I will be away from my "home" for so long - a good rest will do me wonders one thinks :rolleyes:
Starting up a new business with my sister, so no doubt this will be time consuming, and hopefully a great deal of fun!!! Can't advertise it here (I think), but, as per everyone else I seem to be meeting lately, is targeted at babies & children. How exciting!!!
My PND is under control now, which is a big relief. I now understand what triggers me off, and it's more anxiety now rather than depression (which I found out both run in my family.....) so will be talking with the doctor about that more when I return from interstate.
Evie is doing really well. I've no idea how much she weighs - I dont' see health nurses - but will be finding out when we get immunised in the next few days. She is now confidently rolling like crazy & has started solids and is doing just great! I can't believe all the troubles I had with her since birth (re Colic & Reflux, etc) - all gone now!!! Except of course Little Miss Independant tantrums :laughing:
Good to see most people are still around & welcome to all the newbies in the group (who are probably wondering who this MrsP person is lol!!! - I tend to go awol a bit lol!!!
Take care girls - will catch up again when I return from hols.
Gee I'm having a *****y day. Poor Jack so sick but he won't go to sleep......I've tried EVERYTHING!!!!!!! He's been up for 3 hours. I walked around the house with him for nearly an hour, I've tried his swing, he screamed blue murder in his cot, I tired to feed him to sleep and the terror kept biting me :( I layed on the bed with him and he cried
He's exhausted and the crying makes his cough worse......I can't take him out as the cold will effect the bronch. I've given him some panadol
I just feel like crying with him :crying: Any other suggestions????
He's asleep....in the cot with the untuned radio on full volume
:hugs: Lauren, i know what thats all about. I had to resort to having the washing machine and dryer on while i was settling Cassidy this afternoon. Poor kid is buggered but doesnt want to sleep.
Well went to the doctor this afternoon. Got seen straight away and it was bulk billed as well.
Apparently i have a classic case of PND and now have a months worth of Prozac (!) to start setting things right again. Doc kinda knew what i was going to say cause as soon as i sat down in his office i burst into tears. :rolleyes:
Feel better now for admitting that there is a problem but at the same time feel kinda silly for not being able to deal with it as well.
Anyway, went shopping this morning and bought some more clothes for Cassidy (shopping for her is a serious addiction for me at the moment, cant help myself.) Other than that, everything is going ok.
Must be going need to make some dinner soon enough.
SuperFrog
26-06-2007, 17:02
Hels - Congrats on being the 500th poster in this thread! Somehow I don't think we are going to make it to 1000 this month.
:laughing: You all thought I'd forgotten about that... didn't you?
Hope to chat to you all in the live chat tonight.
Poor Jack. he must feel miserable. when i am sick i like to take painkillers like panadol and nurofen. this always seems to help my sore throat and aching joints.
you said you gave him panadol which is good. if it were lily i would give her 4-6hourly panadol for 1-2 days. if she was still unsettled i would also add nurofen alternatevely every 3-6 hours (eg panadol then nurofen). the dr gace lily nurofen in emergency when i took her there.
i know in adults that panadol works to relieve pain better if it is given regularly. maybe icugal could confirm this for us??
if you havent tried nurofen maybe best to wait till morning - it is always best to try out new things in the day in case of a reaction. maybe my lot can confirm this.
best of luck to a settled night for you and jack.
Welcome back Mrs P!!! We missed you!
:hugs: Lauren, wish l could do more -- poor Jack!!!
Juzzy - that's great news - that you got to see the doc so easily and that your on your way to recovery!!! Good on you for doing something about it - and its a condition - nothing you have done wrong - so don't go laying guilt on yourself (THATS AN ORDER). My theory on shopping - its too hard to buy for ourselves atm so we compensate on buying for our kids!!! ? How did you manage to buy jeans when you had Cassidy with you the other day? I tried to go shopping once - it was a bit of a nightmare...
Went to the gyno today he said that we will not be looking at surgery - he said that is an absolute last resort cos once its done you have no further recourse... which is bad especially if l want more kids ... and also in menopause etc. So he advised me to continue seeing the pF physio and to see a specialist Pilates lady who focuses on this stuff (in hawthorn) - its a pity its all over the other side of the city for me, but l think its worth doing... He said the recovery will almost solely up to me doing my exercises, minimising my lifting and doing everything that the physio recommends ... and l am going to try very hard to do just that!!!
So fairly positive... oh and he also said the mini-pill will help with my PCOS a little, so l am going to start on that tomorrow... and lastly the pain on my ovaries... he said it could just be my ovaries waking up... if it continues/increases between now and the end of the year he has given me an referral for an ultrasound - but l am unlikely to be doing any damage in the short term... so all up pretty heartening news!!!
Oh and Coen took two small bottles from mum today (2 x 80mls), just the regular Avent ones... so wrapped with that as well... so l guess we've had a pretty good day - oh and Coen had 4 x 45 minute sleeps today (maybe my mum is a bit more of a sleep nazi than l am - l'm going to have to check what she did!!!)
Not sure if l will make it into chat tonight cos l have mum over -- it would be a bit rude... l can get in here now cos she is playing with Coen... but l won't have any excuse tonight... hmmm c'mon gals got anything for me???? Nah, given she has cleaned my whole house for me, l think the least l can do is entertain her tonight....
Its Coen's 4 month birthday today!!! happybirthday
We have his needles tomorrow :thumbsdown: l hope we go okay :fingerscrossed:
*Sparkles*
26-06-2007, 18:22
Sandy - That's really good news from the gyno :thumbsup: I'm sure things will start to improve with the right advise and exercises etc.
MrsP - Nice to see you back in here again and you sound really great. Good luck with the business venture :fingerscrossed:
Juz - You and I are both addicted to shopping lol. If I'm not at the shops then I'm buying online. I won the exersaucer too :smiliedance: So far today I have bought 7 pieces of clothing and the exersaucer for under $100. I'm selling one of my prams too so I hope it sells to pay for today's spending :laughing:
I doubt if I will be in chat tonight, or maybe not until later. I am going to have a nice relaxing bath and do some personal grooming, my legs haven't been shaved in months! lol
Purplebird
26-06-2007, 19:12
Just me again :) I'm back with a question;
We have been invited to our nephew's wedding in August (in Melb). The invite is only for me and DH (not Reece) so I assume that this means he is not invited? Even if he was invited, I don't want to take him to the reception. I think it's not the right sort of place to take a baby plus DH's family all like a drink or 10 (you get my drift). Anyway, we don't have anyone to babysit as all of DH's family will be at the wedding. It's on the north side of the city and there's a 3 hour gap between the church and reception. So what the hell are we meant to do with a baby for that long in winter, on the other side of town?
So, I think we will just go to the church only (with R). Should I send a regret and make a note that the 3 of us will attend the ceremony only? or should I send an acceptance but say that we won't be attending the reception :confused:
Any thoughts?
Hels - i'd go the regret i think with a note about the 3 of you attending the ceremony. I need you to name your poison :D which choccie is your choccie of choice?? Are you a Cadburys gal?
Lauren more :hugs: to you and Jack
Sandy - it sounds like you had a really positive day. That's great news about not having to have the surgery - make sure you get heaps of rest. Yay to Coen for taking the bottle. We had some success with a Pigeon bottle last night and some EBM so I'm pleased too. I am soooo not organised at all! The house is like one giant packing station with piles of stuff and lists everywhere. Instead of staying home to get organised tomorrow I'm off to the cinema instead, probably a bit silly!
Sandy great news about the gyno appt today! Glad to hear that you wont be having surgery or anything nasty like that. As for shopping, the shop assistants really loved Cassidy so they were happy to talk to her while i was trying on jeans and things. I could see her from where i was so i was happy just to duck off for a min to try on jeans. Cassidy seems to love going out in the pram esp to shopping centres, i think its cause of all the bright lights and things LOL. All just an excuse to keep shopping for me really. When i went into TRU this afternoon she was flaked out in the pram, we'd had a fairly big day by that stage so i dont blame her!
Hels im doing some ebay shopping over the next day or so as well, have my eye on a few things.
Its been awhile i've been sooooo busy latley and i've just skimmed the thread.
It was great to finally meet nina, sharron, kylie and teagen i had a great day maybe next time we can do it at someones house so the bubs can play a little.
My baby is 5 months old now and is so grow up she can nearly sit up all on her own and she is slowly getting on her knees.
She is on solids at night now i make her sweet potato with cauliflower and brocolli and blend it up. I'm going to hold off on the 2nd lot of solids if i can till she is 6 months.
Anyway i'm going into live chat for a bit then to bed i have to work tomorrow.
I will post some pics of our brissy meet when i get a chance.
Night night.
Alicia
xxxxx
didn't mean to leave chat so abruplty, it dropped out and had to feed anyway.
Thanx for the chat girls
hi everyone.
are we all sucking it up while we read/post??
i did go into chat but missed most of you by the time i got there..did have a chat tho so i was happy with that.
i wanted to share some pics with you all...this is what you get when you dont do tummy time!
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5198.jpg
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5130.jpg
JoJoMart
27-06-2007, 08:04
Good morning :wave:
How's everyone today?
My_lot - thanks for the reminder re: sucking it up! Doing it now....
Sandy - great news that you won't need surgery and good luck with the physio & pilates. I really hope it all helps......great that you mum has been helping out too.
Lauren - I hope Jack is better & sleeping okay now? It's tough when they're like this isn't it. Is he possibly teething? Liam is and it makes them more unsettled I think.
Hels - congrats on winning the exersaucer! Your a champ on Ebay by the sound of it :)
Juz - sorry to hear that you have PND but I hope taking the meds and having some counselling helps. I went to the GP yesterday and I have mild depression but I'm not taking medication for it......just going to talk to someone which should help.
MrsP - welcome back! Have a safe trip away from home and I hope you sort out any issues with DH.
It looks like Liam is definitely teething......rosy red cheeks and a little tooth is popping through. He's been quite unsettled but slept fine last night....it's mainly during the day he's more grumpy. Baby panadol works so we've given him that a bit.
I feel like I don't have control over my day anymore.......some days I get absolutely nothing done......does everyone else experience this or am I just not organised enough??? :no:
Jo - no you arent the only one who achieves nothing! LOL i dont at all. Cassidy pretty much dictates how much i get done during the day and that, at the moment as she is a little clingy, is very little. I totally feel like i have lost control. When she has her nap in the afternoon is when i try to get most things done. But that means im running around like a headless chicken trying to do that when id rather curl up for a few hours sleep.
SuperFrog
27-06-2007, 09:21
Hels - Good for you on your eBay skills! I might have to get onboard the eBay train... although that could be disastrous for my finances.
Kay - Clever Eli! How long can he sit up for? Gee they grow fast don't they?
Alicia - The sweet potato, cauliflower and broccoli was sounding scrumptious and making my mouth water... until you mentioned blending it all up! I guess Marissa enjoys it :D
Marianne - I left the live chat abruptly too. Liam just wouldn't settle so I ended up feeding him again. Am going to make the lactation boosting cookies again... I could do with a 15 hour sleep again :)
Jo - Once you have a baby I think you lose control over your days. Just roll with the punches and do what you can... just be sure to make some time for yourself somewhere. Oh, and I didn't really say a big thank you for hosting the meet last week. I feel like I ran out the door without saying a proper good bye and thank you. I hope you enjoyed the day as well.
Sandy - Great news about your nether region! I thought I might have had a surgery buddy, but it is fantastic for your that I don't. Hope the pilates is enjoyable and not too torturous.
Juz - Hope you start to feel more on top of things soon. And good for you going clothes shopping! I hate trying on clothes at the best of times, but trying to do it with a baby is much harder.
Lauren - Did Jack sleep well last night? When Liam was sick we had one night that he was waking himself up coughing every 20 minutes, and wouldn't settle until we put his dummy back in. That was a LONG night!
Hannah - I also joined this group late, so you're not the only one. Hope you enjoy your trip!
Mrs P - Hello! I don't think we have crossed paths before. :wave:
Penny - How is the quilt coming along? Figured out your sewing machine yet?
Sorry if I've missed anyone... I just went back through the most recent posts.
Us - Saw my GP yesterday to get referrals for Liam's paed and my gyno. She suggested leaving the cyst until after I have another baby, and getting it removed later. It interferes with "DTD" so that might not be logistically possible, but it is an interesting thought that I hadn't considered.
My throat is a bit sore today... different to my previous sore throat. Hope I'm not getting tonsillitis or something. :fingerscrossed:
My Mum and Dad are coming over today and the place is a mess. Better go do some housework while L is asleep. Boring!
JoJoMart
27-06-2007, 09:24
Melb girls here's the pics from our meet last week!
http://s180.photobucket.com/albums/x174/JoJoMart_photos/Melb%20meet%201/
Ohhh Mon, im making the lactation boosting cookies today as well. Dont really care if they dont improve my milk supply or anything i love the taste! Very addictive!
As for house work, too damn cold in Melbourne for that today. Cassidy and i are going to curl up on the couch for a few hours and watch a season or two of my favorite tv shows lol
Hope all the Melbourne ladies are keeping warm today, its soooooo cold and rainy outside!
*Sparkles*
27-06-2007, 10:55
Hannah - A block of cadbury dairy milk sounds great :thumbsup:
Have fun at the cinema, what will you see? Is it one of those mum and bubs sessions? Let's us know how it went as we are thinking about doing that for one of the Melb meets.
Jo - Reece must have been asleep when you took the photos, typical :rolleyes:
When you post them in here, copy the link under each photo next to URL link, eg http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x174/JoJoMart_photos/Melb%20meet%201/P1010139.jpg
Otherwise I think anyone can access your whole photobucket album (and it's a public forum) :)
Mon - The eBay thing is great if you keep recycling the unwanted goods aswell.
Personally, I would get the cyst removed now, it's really not that bad and easier to recover now than when you have a newborn and toddler to run after... just a thought?
I have to have one removed from my neck, I'm not looking forward to it but I know it has to be done.
Us - Reece had a better night, he woke up twice. The first time DH got up and the second time he resettled. We both went back to bed this morning and I have only just got up :shame: but I feel better for it.
I never get anything done either as my day usually starts around midday lol. I really want to make some more blankets and playmats to sell but never seem to get the time. We do alot of the housework and gardening at the weekends, it's the only way we can keep up.
Anyway, I'd much rather take R out and do things rather than worry about the housework.
I've decided I'm not going to my mother's group meet today. For one thing it's so cold, wet and windy outside and also R is still not himself yet (but better). Plus I have a few things to do today if I get time.
I'd better go, it's time for his feed and a bath.
Me again, i have no life today
i have just given cassidy one of those teething rusks as she kept trying to chew on everything in sight. Just wanted to know when i should take it off her?
ETA: doesnt matter she spat it out, obviously had enough... LOL
Hello...cough, cough
I'm sick :banghead: Bad night with Jack.....his cough is so much worse at night. He's still wheezing a lot. I'm absolutely exhausted! I don't think there is anything worse than when your baby is sick and your sick too. Changing his nappies makes me want to :barf: and it's bad atm as he's still got the runs too so we've been averaging 10 a day...plus when he coughs he follows through :laughing:
DH is coming home at 2.30 hopefully, to take over.
Kay - Ohh look at Eli :yelclap: What a clever little boy!
Juz - So glad all went well with the doctor. You seem more upbeat already..I guess it helps to talk about it hey?
Sandy - Good News for you! Your mum is such a champ to be helping you out and Coen obviously adores her......
Hels - Hope Reece is feeling better....I loved him hands and feet too. If you don't mind me asking hom much was it?
I also get nothing done during the day...As you all know Jack only sleeps for 40 minutes at a time...and that 40 minutes goes sooooo quickly. If I can get tea made, me showered, and a few loads of washing done I'm pretty happy. Jack will normally sit next to me happily in his bouncer when I bubhub. When I have Jewellery orders to do (like now) I can only do it when Jack goes to bed. That's the best thing about him going to bed at 6.30 is that I can have a few hours to myself
Can't wait for him to be feeling better as I've been holding off the solids while he's been sick....he was opening his mouth when I was having a drink this morning. Too cute!
It is the most horrid day in Melbourne...better go the little pooper is hungry again
*Sparkles*
27-06-2007, 14:56
Hello...cough, cough
I'm sick Bad night with Jack.....his cough is so much worse at night. He's still wheezing a lot. I'm absolutely exhausted! I don't think there is anything worse than when your baby is sick and your sick too. Changing his nappies makes me want to and it's bad atm as he's still got the runs too so we've been averaging 10 a day...plus when he coughs he follows through
DH is coming home at 2.30 hopefully, to take over.
Hels - Hope Reece is feeling better....I loved him hands and feet too. If you don't mind me asking hom much was it?
Sorry to hear you are sick now aswell :hugs: It's not surprising when you look out of the window, it's enough to make anyone feel sick isn't it?
The hands and feet were $135, normally $155 but we had a $20 voucher. It's about $185 if you want one with a photo. The company is called Twinkle Toes, they have a website (google it lol).
I have been eBaying again this arvo, but haven't bought anything today except for a New Macdonalds Farm DVD. Reece loves this kids show and it's no longer on ch 9 so I thought I would get him the DVD. He will happily lay on his playmat singing and dancing along :laughing:
This morning he was playing on his back, when I went back to him he was full on his tummy with his arms propping himself up. Clever Boy!!
Kay - Eli is a clever boy too. I tried sitting R up today by himself too, but he would have fallen flat if I hadn't held him, so he still needs the bumbo seat for support.
Oh, and I have also seen a nice dress online to wear to the upcoming wedding, I'll see what DH thinks and then I might buy it :rolleyes: .
Yikes! There is water coming into my laundry from under the back door!
CJandMum
27-06-2007, 18:11
Just a quick update everyone! Sorry it's been so long. I started back to work three weeks ago and now I have no time for anything.. urg, it's exhausting. Charlotte comes home from daycare and I have a whole half and hour with her before she goes to sleep.. I miss my baby so much! DH and I are already thinking about expanding our family :D I can't wait! Anyways, take care everyone and I'll try to post again soon.
Hey girlies... I'm still here. I quite often have a baby attached me lately (K's going through a clingy phase)... and I'm just too lazy to sit down and reply to heaps of people when I can only type with one hand. Anyways, K has gone down for a little bit so thought I'd take this opportunity to post :)
Tara - Good to see you again... don't be a stranger ok? Hope all is going well with Charlotte.
Mon - the sewing machine is still in the box !! :) However, I have spent a lot of time cutting out squares for my quilt. I seem to have bought a blunt rotary cutter thingie.. so it's probably taking longer than it should. I've also been playing around with K's photo album... so I've had very little spare time lately.
It will get to the point in the next couple of days where all the quilt squares will be cut out.. so I'll be forced to pull the dreaded sewing machine out of the box... how scary !!!
my_lot - Yay for Eli sitting up !! K is doing the same thing at the moment.. although he can only balance for a short time before falling to the side. I took a photo of him sitting up tonight... but I haven't got it online yet. As for rolling... well, Kaelan wants nothing to do with it... if I put him on his back, K just lays there like a stunned mullet (as the Melb girls can testify *LOL*). Doesn't move a bloody muscle...
Jo - I'm lucky to get anything done around the house lately (though I've been making a point of trying to get some 'me' time with my crafty endeavours). As I said above, K is clingy at the moment and wants to be held all the time... if I try to put him in his high chair, bouncer, swing etc... he usually starts crying after about 2 minutes.
Sandy - Glad to hear you don't have to have surgery... you've given me hope considering I'm going through pretty much the same thing.
Juz - :hugs: to you !!
Hels - I always thought I was a bit of a shopaholic... until I met you !!! *LOL*
Lauren - Hope you and Jack both get well again quickly !!
Us - Well Melbourne girls... how $hitty was the weather today??? DF, Kaelan and I went down to the shopping center this morning to do a few things and OMG... it was like a cyclone out there. I felt like a bit of a bad mother taking K out in the heavy rain and wind.. however, I now know that the water proof cover for the pram works well !! :)
As I briefly mentioned above, I've decided to bite the bullet and attempt to make a quilt. It's something I've always wanted to try my hand at but have never done... so on Monday, I took advantage of Spotlight's 20% sale and went and bought the supplies I need. Note to self - never EVER take a pram into Spotlight during a sale again... what an absolute nightmare !!
Tomorrow we have our one year warranty inspection with our builders (Henley)... so someone will be coming over early tomorrow morning to go right through the house to find everything that has gone wrong in the last year since settlement. I don't think there'll be too much to fix because they actually did a pretty good job building this house. I only wish that my house were a little tidier... it's a little bit messy atm (too busy doing my quilt and photo album *LOL*) I don't know how much I'll be able to get done tonight.
Maybe if I just close my eyes and deny all responsibility, the cleaning fairies will come and clean it all up for me??? Do ya think??
Tara- welcome back!!!!!!:wave:
Kay- what a clever boy Eli is! :smiliedance: My goodness.how fast its going!!
ooh tara. the other part of our fab 5 (feb 5th babies)
glad you posted. yes i remember when my eldest was little and in childcare at 7 months. i missed her so much (and loved the break too!)
i always seem to sit eli in my lap (i sit cross leg) on the floor to show him his toys and i just noticed hes started to sit more foward. also after i feed him i sit him on my lap facing me and when i dress him i sometimes sit him up (hes chucking tantrums over being dressed these days)
so i sat him on the floor and put some pillows around him. we have a round quilted bag my mother made for ds1. we put a horse shoe shaped pillow in it behind him and hold his belly . he like to reach for his toys in his lap.
so its not like ive been training him to sit its just been more a part of his day to day life than tummy time because of the reflux and the fact that he hates being on his tummy.
dd1 was sitting at 5 months (also a bad refluxer with very little tummy time)
we have gone head to head with our neighbours over the dog- again. they asked dp if we had a dog?? dah they see him nearly every day! and so dp told him he can do whatever he likes in his house and he cant tell us what to do in ours...well now weve got another letter in the mail saying they dont want us to have a dog. blah. go tell it someone that cares what you want!.
and news from my SIL- she had to have an op and now only has 40% chance of falling pregnant again. i feel so sad for her. if she didnt hate me so much id carry a baby for her...i love being pregnant and giving birth...
oh it just took me an hour to post that!
i was ebaying. not buying just looking and working out the best way to sell (any tips?)
for those that sell- do you think thats busier than monkeysundies?
penny- eli cant roll. off the pillow in a screaming fit- hes done that a few times but thats about it. no roll from back to front. he doesnt like being flat on his back much. he is happier sitting on my lap.
and hes sooo clingy. i didnt know this was going to happen at this age. wonder how he will go when he starts childcare. maybe its just a body to hold him- not an i want mummy/daddy to hold? im not sure.
I have done the photos of the brissy meet the girls who attended are;
Kylie (lukeandmattsmum) with baby Matt
Sharon (Ziggy) with baby Lilly
Nina (Nina79) with baby Ryan
Tegan (Butterflymumma) with baby Lillyana
And Me Alicia with baby Marissa
Here are the pics;
Lilly (sharon)
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/febmumsmeet005.jpg
Lillyana (Tegan)
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/febmumsmeet007.jpg
Tegan and Lillyana
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/febmumsmeet006.jpg
Lilly
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/febmumsmeet004.jpg
Ryan Lilly and Matt
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/febmumsmeet003.jpg
Marissa and Lillyana
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/febmumsmeet002.jpg
Marissa and Lillyana
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb192/mums_angels/febmumsmeet001.jpg
Will catch up later.
Alicia
xxxxx
ooh i love the photos! thanks alicia.
i like the one of lilly with ryan and mat and the last one of marissa and lillyana! how funny is the look on marissas face looking at lillyana..all your babies have hair! my little baldy basher will be the misfit!
so wheres the next meet on at? someone PM me the details please so i can get the maps out...oh and ill need a mobile number for when i get lost!
***remembering when i went to meet tanya****
Thanks for posting the photoes leashie. they all look so grown up (sob).
I just booked 2 tickets for gold class to see harry potter on the first saturday night it opens! HORRAY!
harry potter :laughing:
i thought i was bad! i took the kids out of school the day charlie and the choc factory opened in oz...
then one told their teacher thats why she had the day off and i got told off by the teacher :shame: like i was a naughty little school girl :laughing:
Morning All :wave:
Great photo's Leashie....... I love seeing pics of all the bubs. Sharon, Lily looks exactly like you!! Thanks also for the tips on solids. I think I will do the same and freeze some vegies
Kay, Eli's not the only bald baby - Jack had more hair when he was born and then it fell out....it just won't grow. He's the baldest out of the Melb bubs.
I've been Ebaying this week too as I can't really leave the house with Jack. I bought myself a Japanese Doll which I collect....it's one I've been after for ages so I'm rapt. I also bought some jewellery supplies...nothing for Jack (yet) I have seen a jumpsuit with Guns 'n' Roses on the front which is very tempting...I'll have another look today
Jack is much the same still...his wheezing is terrible. Last night was much better. He only woke twice but cried out in his sleep a bit...poor bubba. The best thing is all this week he's been having a two hour nap in the mornings.....Do you think it will last when he's not so sick? I won't hold my breath :p
I still feel like rubbish....DH is starting some holidays next week and I can't wait!! I'm planning to have some baby free time everyday. I'm dying to go shopping without the pram!!
Hope little jack gets better soon lauren. Lily got really good at sleeping when she was sick and kept doing it when she got better so fingers crossed for you.
I went to the GP for a review of my PND. I am basically 50-60% better but i need to keep working on it. she wants be to walk 30 mins a day (hard in the wind and rain) and to take fish oil. apparently new research shows fish oil is very good in PND so i am going to give that a go as well.
Other good news is that i spoke to the ABA today about me going back to work and lily missing a breast feed. she said i didnt have to worry about lily missing one feed now that my supply is well established.
horray - no expressing for me. she can have formula or ebm i have frozen.
she said i could do it up to twice a week as long as i try to feed her frequently went i get back. i will have to ask my mil to only give her a small feed at lunch so she will be starving when i get home to her.
hey my lot are you coming to chat tonight? maybe we could try to organise a meet then.
Just a hint Brisbane girls!
When organising a meet and telling Kay what time? Make sure you tell her 2 hrs early! That way when she gets lost (oh and she will) she wont be late!:laughing::laughing: Sorry Kay....couldn't resist!:laughing::laughing:
Hope little jack gets better soon lauren. Lily got really good at sleeping when she was sick and kept doing it when she got better so fingers crossed for you.
Ohh....I hope so! He's also been settling really well for his naps too. I don't even have to do anything now I just wrap him and leave the room. He will chat to himself for a few minutes and then go off to sleep :D
Sharon - How did Lily take to the formula? Jack won't have a bar of it...spits it out! Did it take her a while to get used to the taste?
Great news about your PND too
oh yes tanya- :laughing: i was just thinking about that tho. like what time i should leave to leave space for pulling over the side of the road and checking to see where on earth i am!
oh and this time ill make sure to take a map thats for the area im going to- not one that stops just short of it!
SuperFrog
28-06-2007, 14:00
Afternoon everyone!
Nothing much to say, but thought I would pop in anyway. Hope to make it to the chat tonight... rather than last Monday night when I logged into the chat and wondered where everyone was. :laughing:
SuperFrog
28-06-2007, 15:27
Almost forgot, here is a pic of the blanket (http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t250/superfrog1976/Craft/Glendasblanket2600x450.jpg) I made for my MIL. It's flannelette on one side, polar fleece on the back. Hard to tell the size here, but it is doubled over in the pic and each square is 30 x 30 cm. A bit smaller than a single bed quilt I guess. I wouldn't have put green on the back, but that is what she wanted.
I'm all ready for my next project now. What to make???
Kay - oh wow, Eli really is sitting up on his own - your little man is growing up!!!
And what a lovely thought (to carry a baby for your SIL) - one of my besties offered to do that for me when l was concerned l wouldn't be able to conceive - its the nicest thing anyone could have offered!!! I was wondering the other day if l would do it - a big part of me says yes because l would hate to have anyone miss out on what we have with Coen... but a small but very adamant part of me says... whilst the pregnancy was fun- 41 weeks got a bit much - & l still haven't got my body back...
Jo - i am definitely with you on the no control over my day - and not getting anything done... but l am not letting it stress me out anymore, as long as l can get out for a little part of each day l am happy - the house is quite often not as clean (and never as tidy) as l would like - but hey l have learned to accept that also.
Teething rusks - I bought a packet of those teething rusks for Coen as well - cos he can't seem to hold on to the teething rings... but l have since been advised not to give them to him until he is 6 months - apparently wheat is not good for babies under 6 months (something about their digestive systems still being too immature to deal with it) - which now that l think about it might be some baby cereals say can be given at 4 months and others say 6 months...
"Can't wait for him to be feeling better as I've been holding off the solids while he's been sick....he was opening his mouth when I was having a drink this morning. Too cute!" l have this image in my mind - how gorgeous!!!
:wave: Tara - it must be sooooo difficult coming home to your baby for 30 minutes - l am dreading going back to work for that reason!!! But you probably get really good quality time with her on the weekends...
Penny - good on you for getting to the quilt - l love those patchwork quilts... doubt that l will ever get of my a$$ to make one though - oh btw, did the cleaning fairies come??? if so please send them over my way too! How did the inspection go?
The brissie bubs are all so cute!!! Glad to finally see them
Sharon - that is great news that you are on the mend!!!
Okay - confession time - l have been trying to educate my inlaws to please ring before they come - and not when they are on their way here either... anyway l was on the phone, l had just put Coen down for his nap, and the door bell rings - not once but twice - l knew it would be my inlaws ... so l hid... l was really really angry that they put me in a position that lwas hiding in my own home - but l just want them to get the picture - CALL BEFORE YOU COME!!! Anyway they called later and l said - oh was that you, l was home but in the shower, l figured it was a salesperson and ignored it - you should have called... and left it at that... (meanwhile they had rung DH to see where l was and he had told them they should have called too!!! :yes:)... they came over around lunch time again and l finally did it - l left them alone with Coen - l asked them to call me if anything was concerning them and they did... (he had his injections yesterday so got a bit feral after about 20 minutes) - l am really glad that they called me though and didn't just let him scream -- he had been crying for awhile before l got home cos he was doing that whole hiccup thing... but they called and that is the main thing - l feel a lot more confident about leaving him with them now... and who knows perhaps they will call before they come next time :D
I hope to make it to chat tonight - l missed you all on TUesday - but decided it would be rude to leave mum to fend for herself!!!
Oh what a long post -- hope l didn't bore you all to death...
BTW l forgot to mention that l got the Littletouch Leappad (thanks Juzzy) for $40 from Toys R Us!!!
Thanks Kay for the info... now l just have to keep an eye out for the stories, if anybody sees them on special do let me know - they are $20-$25 full price!! I have now until Christmas to stock up...
Mon - we posted at the same time -- l love that quilt -- yeah l might have chosen a different color for the backing too - each to their own though!!! You are inspiring me to try my hand at something similar - but l haven't sowed since high school!!!
SuperFrog
28-06-2007, 15:50
l haven't sowed since high school!!!
Ha ha! I have this image in my head of you planting a whole lot of threads, and then coming back later to pick your fully grown quilts! :laughing:
I think you meant to type 'sewed' or 'sewn', but I'm glad you didn't as I enjoyed having a giggle. :D
Glad to hear you got the Leap Touch thingy. Will have to check it out as I'm still not 100% sure what it is.
Sandy - have a look on ebay and things like that for the books for the little touch. I am looking for them as well as i bought one for Cassidy while i was getting yours... i must have looked funny buying three of them but anyway.... I bought a winnie the pooh book for the little touch last night from ebay for $12.50. They retail for $30 in TRU
Didnt someone say that big w or something like that was the cheapest place to buy the books? lol cant remember.
SuperFrog
28-06-2007, 18:39
Sandy - have a look on ebay and things like that for the books for the little touch. I am looking for them as well as i bought one for Cassidy while i was getting yours... i must have looked funny buying three of them but anyway.... I bought a winnie the pooh book for the little touch last night from ebay for $12.50. They retail for $30 in TRU
Didnt someone say that big w or something like that was the cheapest place to buy the books? lol cant remember.
Three??!! Are you starting your own black market for children's' toys???
LOL Well now that you mention it... sounds like a good idea Mon!!
Nah i was playing santa for Sandy
It just goes to show how much l know about SEWING!!!;)
black market? :laughing: i though you meant me for a sec! it probably looks like i work for the company!
i got the books at kmart for $3 and $2 one was pooh bear. i got the fish one with two hand puppets at target for $15 and i got another one at bigW for.... i think it was $15? ive put all of them away til xmas. i was looking at them on ebay too. the toy shop by me has a few and they are under $20. just wait for the toy sales. last year i got "buy two get one free" on the leapster hand held and the Vtech games.
i hate the accent on that dora girl so im not going to get book one for now! i get sick of hearing her on fox! give me the wiggles anyday!
i got eli a fisher price phone last year before xmas for $6 so he will get that this year too.
oh and sowing!! OMG too funny! i thought i was the only one that doesnt think beyond phonics when im typing! i was laughing so much! i wont say what i was thinking and it wasnt quite gardening :laughing:
sandy- i think youll find the baby cereals differ because theres no law in place to make them say 6 months. there was a thread on this a few weeks back- people wanted them to change it to read 6 months on all baby food- in line with WHO findings.
the mchn told me it was changed to 6 months because people were getting to 4 months and going "right now your going to be fed" when their a baby may not need/want it.
there are still plenty of people who start at 4 months (or younger)...so i guess that company doesnt want to miss the $$$
im going to read the back of those two boxes of cereal -i never have but always thought it was just the same thing- i mean really its "rice cereal" there cant be much of a dif to it??? when my others were little you got farax or farax and that was about it. now i see "organic" everywhere.
i dont know how much of the rusk stick a baby of four months will eat? eli only gives it a lick and a rub around on his gums then it falls out of his hand. i give it back to him and we repeat this. after 10-15 minutes this activity is over and the dog gets the rusk stick...so its not really like he eats it til theres a little chokable chunk left. im starting to think they are a waste of money for eli right now. he doesnt even get them mushy. he doesnt even chomp his teeth into them- maybe we should use that mesh thingy more. cold banana would do the trick.
Leashie - Thanks for posting the brisbane meet photos. Do you mind if we put them in our February Gatherings Photo thread in the Photo Gallery section?? We have a lot of Melbourne photos in there... so it would be nice to balance it up a bit with girls from another state??
Mon - fabulous blanket !! You're such a clever girl :)
Sandy - The cleaning fairies did not arrive so DF and I got up at 7am to give the house a bit of a go-over. The inspection went well... Henley are going fix a few things and repaint a couple of doors and walls... so the house will basically be back to 'brand new' standard again once they've finished. After we sign off on the repairs though.. that's it... no more little touch-ups and things fixed by Henley. We'll only have our structural/electrical and plumbing warranty for the next seven years.
It's nice to know that my house will have a little spruce up over the next few weeks.
Me - Today I went for a quick shop and called into the Warehouse. Whilst there, I finally found a small round kiddies inflatable pool that I figured I could use as a makeshift bath for Kaelan. And the best bit.. it cost me a whole $4.00.
It all worked quite well except that my back got a bit sore leaning into the shower to try keep Kaelan sitting upright (he was splashing around so much, he kept slipping down). I think that once K can sit up properly, it will be much easier... because then I won't have to physically reach in and keep him upright. He had an absolute ball though and I've never seen him so happy at bathtime.
Somehow I managed to hold K with one arm in the bath.. and yet still take photos with the other... you can't keep a snap-happy mum down !! :)
http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/jun07_21.jpg
http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/jun07_23.jpg
I've also put online the photo I took yesterday of K sitting. At the moment, he can sit for up to a couple of minutes unassisted... however, any sudden movement on his part... and he is straight over onto his side. It's all a big balancing act right now.
http://www.penny-clark.com/kaelan/jun07_20.jpg
*Sparkles*
29-06-2007, 07:11
Penny - That inflatable pool is a great idea. I wasn't sure what you meant until I saw the photos. I had a vision of a huge wadding pool set up in the garden :laughing:
Not much happening here, I got up early today (when DH went to work) and I've been doing work on the 'puter for an hour. End of financial year, not my favourite time :no:
R is still asleep but I'm going to wake him now for a feed. Then he should go back to bed for an hour or two and I think I'll grab another hour's kip if I can. Then we are off to the shops this arvo :)
BTW, I notice they have deleted the "rolls eyes" smiley. That was one of my favourites!
Oh and look at my ticker, 22 weeks old today :eek:
SuperFrog
29-06-2007, 07:33
oh and sowing!! OMG too funny! i thought i was the only one that doesnt think beyond phonics when im typing! i was laughing so much! i wont say what i was thinking and it wasnt quite gardening :D
Yeah, that was actually the first thing I thought of too... but I was already picking on Sandy and didn't want to push it. :D
Hels - When did the roll eyes smiley get removed?? I need that one! My life will be over if they take away this one: :laughing:
SuperFrog
29-06-2007, 08:07
:detective: The mystery of the missing smiley...
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=102952
So, what smiley do you think should be added to replace the empty void it leaves in our lives? Often I've looked for one to convey: "I can't believe I didn't think of that"... but not sure what it should be.
Does anyone use this smiley? :idea: I don't think the expression is right for a good idea.
Or we need a better dancing one. This one: :smiliedance: freaks me out a bit.
And while we are talking smileys, this one repulses me: :barf: . If you look carefully, after it vomits everywhere, it still has a bit of puke around the side of its mouth. Gross!
And why is there only a four smiley limit?? My posts are mega long sometimes and I need more smileys! I think my quota is already out in this post. Boo *frowny face here*
Hello :sleeping:
Poor, poor Jack.....we were up from 3am onwards. He finally settled in the spare room with me laying next to him but I couldn't sleep from his nose and chest making so much noise.
He's crying now when he coughs :crying: I'm taking him to his doctor this afternoon...he's just not getting any better.
I love this smiley :chef: but never really use it....
SuperFrog
29-06-2007, 08:59
Sounds like a good idea to take Jack back to the doctor Lauren. Better to get him checked out... even if it is just for peace of mind. I took Liam to the bulk billing clinic when he was still coughing, and the doctor we saw told me I was worrying too much. But I didn't care. I'd hate to become complacent and not worry when it could actually be something serious.
So, what are we all having for dinner tonight? :chef: (I just wanted to use that smiley!)
I'd hate to become complacent and not worry when it could actually be something serious.
My thoughts exactly Mon :)
Oh and look at my ticker, 22 weeks old today
Not to mention that Reece turned FIVE months old three days ago !! K hits the big five months tomorrow.
re: SmileysI don't like this smiley :geek: It doesn't fit in with the style of the other smileys.. they should replace it with a better geek smiley.
I also don't see the point of the wizard smiley... wtf is that about???
Lauren - Poor little Jack. Hope you've got a good GP that doesn't fob you off.. in other words, don't go to one of those cattle-class bulk billing centers. This is way too important.
Hope everyone has a lovely day.
oh dear..eli got a thump on the head this morning...dd was sitting with him in her lap playing with toys... til she decided to let him sit alone (with no cushion aound him...and no hands and a little too close to the lag of the chair) so when he just sat there she moved in front of him to play- well it ended with a lot of tears- from him and from her!
im running out of ideas for eli my "princess cranky pants' hes driving me nuts with this crying...on and off all day. just no pleasing him.
how long does everyones bubs stay awake for now between sleeps?
Hope you've got a good GP that doesn't fob you off.. in other words, don't go to one of those cattle-class bulk billing centers. This is way too important.
Jack's GP is really good. He used to be a paediatrician. He's a children's only GP too. Thanks for your thoughts :)
im running out of ideas for eli my "princess cranky pants' hes driving me nuts with this crying...on and off all day. just no pleasing him.
how long does everyones bubs stay awake for now between sleeps?
Kay...Jack can still only manage 1.5-2 hours between naps. Any longer he becomes cranky, needy and harder to put down at night. Jack's pretty high maintenance these days too. I'm roatating his toys ATM
BTW - Jack has the same top as Eli in your avatar :D
kay we have about 7 hours between waking in the morning and then her afternoon nap. So shes awake from 8am until about 3pm and then about 7pm until she goes to bed for the night at about 10-10.30pm.
lauren good luck at the doctor this afternoon
as for my favorite smiley, i like :banghead:, :devil6: and :laughing: as for the others, havent really found a way to use them lol
So, what are we all having for dinner tonight? :chef: (I just wanted to use that smiley!)
Steak....don't know what else
I'm bored!!! I've been stuck home all week. I spose I could be doing housework....:no: I still haven't had a shower....one day I'm gonna get a surprise visitor and be massively embarassed.
I hear Mr Jack best be off....
lauren- i love that "my momma aint raisin no fool" shirt!
i got the same shirt for ds too. dp being a bloody yank just loves these tops.
i just painted this one for ds-
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/my_lot/100_5146.jpg
i saw it on a website for $65 - just a green T with the printing. so i got a $2;50 shirt in the kamrt sales and painted it- he loves it.
is anyone watching "home and health" right now?
6 babies!! :eek: and one family already had twins :eek::eek:
juzzy- 7 hours!!!! im having trouble with 2-3 hours. what do you do with her?
Kay- Cody gets up at 8am (when i wake her) and then is back in bed at 10am till 11.30.
After she has her lunch she goes back to bed around 1 and gets up at 5pm. She's back in bed for the night by 8pm Hpe that helps. Oh except when she's sick like now and it all flys out the f%$^ing window!
icugal- re the wizaed smiley- i think that ones for sending good luck....well i hope it is, thats what i use it for.
My fave was the rolling eyes as im very sarcastic IRL and i guess i used to over use it...oh well..never mind.
lmenz-i hope you get some answers for Jack today. I know when Riley had it he had it for about 2 weeks. It was awful.
Oh and on the surprise visitors thing...my neighbour dropped in on me the other morning as i was running for the door to get to school on time with the kids tripping over themselves behnd me and walked into the house.
Now ;et me paint a picture for you....the boys had had a fight with the rice bubbles box-they were all over the floor, Baylee thought it would be fun to join in and tipped all the coco pops out on top! Cody sitting on the floor looking on screaming for her bottle and laughing at the bedlam at the same tme. My neighbour walks in to hear..."i swear to god, kids, i am so going to be handing out HOT BOTTOMS left right and centre to anyone one of you that cross my path this morning"
The n i hear "hellllllloooooooo"
The ground would not swallow me up so i had to stand there with this plastic smile on my face trying to be nice to the kids when all i wanted to do was strangle them LOL.
Lesson learnt though...now when telling the kids off i wont yell at them... i'll speak to them in deep gutteral threatening tones instead!:laughing::laughing:
juzzy- i cant believe you bubba is awake for 7 hrs straight:eek: does it drive you nuts sometimes? Wow i would be crazy!!:D
i saw it on a website for $65 - just a green T with the printing. so i got a $2;50 shirt in the kamrt sales and painted it- he loves it.
What a fab idea...might give that a go I think
..."i swear to god, kids, i am so going to be handing out HOT BOTTOMS left right and centre to anyone one of you that cross my path this morning"
:laughing: PMSL:laughing:
Still no shower......maybe they should have a skinky smiley :p
Penny - Kaelan does look very cute in the bath - good idea!!
Mon - you have way too much time on your hands!!! :-) (rolleye smiley would be good about now)
I :chef: chockie muffins yesterday - and now l have to stop myself from eating them....
Tanya - how on earth do you get Cody to sleep so long??? - The best l can hope for is 3-4 45 minute sleeps during the day - and today, don't even ask me about today - he didn't go to sleep until just now- or about 2.40pm... that is he has been awake from 8.30 until 2.40!!! Any tips would be great!!! BTW your surprise visitor story cracked me up... especially the cocopops joining the rice bubbles!!!
Kay - dumb question here, but do you need special paint, what type? Oh Coen - usually has about 2 - 2 1/2 hours between sleeps (but not TODAY!!)
My inlaws decided to push the envelope today and rang to see if they could come over again (at least they rang first this time) - its just that l hate that when l say no they question me about it!!! -- Are you going to be home later? No, oh because we were going to come over and prune your roses.... I told them yesterday that we were going to do it!!! I half expect them to just show up and start snipping my roses!!! I will be furious if they do!!!
I've had a good day today - besides Coen not sleeping - sh!t he has already woken up - its only been 30 minutes :mad:
How did you go at the Doc's Lauren? Poor Jack - and poor you - you must be really struggling after a week at home!!!
I am just going to ignore Coen - hopefully he will resettle - l know if l go in there he will expect me to get him up - but he NEEDS to sleep!!!
How did you go at the Doc's Lauren?
His appointment is at 4.40....I don't think they can do anything but I will feel better having him checked out again
Did you In-laws end up coming over?
juzzy- 7 hours!!!! im having trouble with 2-3 hours. what do you do with her?
I generally have to take her around the house with me. She can get quite upset if she figures out i am not near her sometimes. Other times she is more than happy to be left alone playing on her playmat. This morning i sat her in the washing basket (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000652.jpg) and she watched me clean her room.
Sometimes i get lucky and she will fall asleep in her high chair while i'm having lunch or something but thats usually short lived, yesterday it was while we were watching Dr Phil (http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/juzz01/P1000612.jpg)
juzzy- i cant believe you bubba is awake for 7 hrs straight:eek: does it drive you nuts sometimes? Wow i would be crazy!!:D
Yeah totally drives me nuts. I get nothing done unless DP is home (even then he hands her back to me pretty quickly) or she goes to bed for her nap which is from about 330 until 7ish.
So in other words... i should be doing housework right now!! haha
*Sparkles*
29-06-2007, 15:53
I'm bored!!! I've been stuck home all week. I spose I could be doing housework.... I still haven't had a shower....one day I'm gonna get a surprise visitor and be massively embarassed.
Just hide somewhere in the house, like Sandy does! :laughing:
Daytime Sleeps - Reece normally stays awake for 2 hours at a time and then sleeps for anything from 1-3 hours. Today we went shopping and he only had about an hour's sleep in the pram. When we got home, I fed him and put him down for another sleep. By this stage he was over-tired so I had to work hard to get him to go off. I expect he will sleep for a couple of hours now :fingerscrossed:
They had another baby show at the shops today. We turned up just as it finished (I didn't know it was on). I would have entered a couple of the categories if I had known. But then again, we don't want to win all the prizes :p ;)
Our photos are ready but the guy won't be home this weekend so we'll have to pick them up next week sometime. I can't wait to get them.
The weekend is almost here, YAY! What does everyone have planned?
Just hide somewhere in the house, like Sandy does! :laughing:
I advise against hiding in the toilet -- it can get quite boring!!!
BTW - I ended up getting in to bed with Coen, or rather putting him to bed with me & thus got another hour out of him - l know l shouldn't resort to this but l was desperate and tired so it worked out well...
Whilst l was in bed somebody came to my door rang the doorbell and knocked twice - l suspect it was my inlaws again - but hey - who knows!!! If it was - then hopefully they have NOW learned their lesson!!! I will keep doing this until they do (l was in bed with my son on my arm - so technically l wasn't hiding this time) :laughing:
I'm with you Lauren - better to have peace of mind by going to the Doc - let us know how you go - I hope you have had a shower by then stink woman (just kidding)!
JoJoMart
29-06-2007, 16:02
Re: daytime sleeps.....Liam gets tired and grissly anywhere for 1 1/2 to 2 hours awake time. If he's awake longer than that at a time he gets really unsettled and hard to get to sleep........he will usually sleep 45 minutes (sometimes less) and if I'm lucky have one long stretch during the day approx 2 hours (again, if I'm lucky). He's quite a good night sleeper so I can't complain in that sense.
Lauren - how's Jack?
Hels - sorry I didn't get any photos of Reece at the meet at my place......if it makes you feel better Liam was asleep in his cot during the photo shoot of all the bubs so he missed out on that one :gloomy:
Juz - gosh you must be exhausted with Cassidy not sleeping much during the day........I'm exhausted just thinking about it
Sandy - your inlaws sound painful.......it's hard isn't it? Brian's heading down to Mornington tomorrow to pick up something from Ebay he bought but doesn't want to take Liam.......the inlaws & brother in law live down there so they will be disappointed Liam isn't with him.........I tried to get him to take him but he wants to be quick and taking a baby will slow him down.........oh well, I'll get a break another day :thumbsdown: maybe for my birthday next month (or there will be trouble!!!)
Liam is so alert these days he gets SO BORED if I don't rotate his toys and walk him around the house showing him things. This must be why parents have a house full of toys because kids get bored so fast. Any recommendation on fab toys for babies other than the usual??? My sisters bub loved those wooden blocks but he was older when he started playing with them.
JoJoMart
29-06-2007, 16:04
Hels - forgot to mention let me know when there's another baby show on? I wouldn't mind going.
Have a great weekend everyone.
Jack has an ear infection........mother's instinct has served me well - I knew he wasn't quiet right
If he gets worse we have to take him back tomorrow...as he has the runs too the doc was hesitant to give him antibiotics (as it will go straight thru him)
We also have to do a stool sample as today in one of his nappies there was some blood :crying:
Poor little boy.....Fingers crossed for us that he gets better soon!
*Sparkles*
29-06-2007, 17:03
Lauren - :hugs: I hope Jack is better soon, you did the right thing taking him back to the Dr.
Jo - I might give the woman a ring who organises the Baby shows and I'll find out the schedule for the next few.
What date is your birthday? (you can PM it to me if you'd rather).
I have an :idea: , why don't we organise for the Melb girls go out somewhere for your birthday, on a saturday night without the bubs? I reckon it's about time the partners did the daddy thing for one night.
What do you think?
Lauren - poor jack. i am a bit confused though. if he has an ear infection how will it get better if he doesnt hae antibiotics?
Lily can only stay awake 1.5 - 2 hours before she gets feral. she wakes up at 7am and back down at 8-9 for 1.5-2 hrs, then 1.5 hrs up - then sleep 1-1.5 then awake for 2hrs plus then a nap about 430 before bed at 7. our problem is that long afternoon stretch when she gets feral. maybe i should keep her awake longer in the morning?? but when she is overtired she sleeps less well :cool:
went to work today and it went fine except i am buggered. mil looked after lily well except didnt really let her sleep "when i looked in on her, her eyes were open after 20 mins so i got her up" wtf - it shes happy leave her to drop back off in her own time. i think she learnt her lesson though as she said it was quite hard to entertain her till the next feed....
harleyq -with your in laws i know they are intrusive but maybe they really want to help you out. could they come and take cohen for a walk for you a few days a week to give you an hour by yourself away from them and him. dont freak out at me - no rollie eyes emotorcon left. but i did find this one for you http://tinysouls.com/forum/images/smiles/hide.gif
i miss rolled eyes emotorcon but i cant remember what he was like. what colour was he and please explain the diference between these two - :(:mad:
and what does this mean? :p a silly dog is going to lick your face.
CJandMum
29-06-2007, 18:02
It's me again. WOW this thread moves so fast! I just thought I'd drop a quick line and share some pics of my baby girl. ENJOY!
Just born: http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n65/grek_ts/Charlotte/Charlotte5daysold.jpg
1 Month: http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n65/grek_ts/Charlotte/OurBub006.jpg
2 Months: http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n65/grek_ts/Charlotte/charlotte8015.jpg
3 Months: http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n65/grek_ts/Charlotte/charlotte3months.jpg
4 Months: http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n65/grek_ts/Charlotte/Charlotte-14-3months011.jpg
5 Months: http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n65/grek_ts/Charlotte/Charlotte-24-4-1.jpg
My girl is growing so fast!!
Lauren - poor jack. i am a bit confused though. if he has an ear infection how will it get better if he doesnt hae antibiotics?
He's got the runs so the antibiotics will make it worse and just go straight thru him...if the poo stops being so frequent he will have the antibiotics.
If he gets worse overnight we have to take him back tomorrow as an ear infection needs to be closly monitored.......won't know what's going on til we get the stool sample back either.
Either way he's back to the doctors on Monday for a review...not sure if that makes sense???
harleyq -with your in laws i know they are intrusive but maybe they really want to help you out. could they come and take cohen for a walk for you a few days a week to give you an hour by yourself away from them and him. dont freak out at me - no rollie eyes emotorcon left. but i did find this one for you http://tinysouls.com/forum/images/smiles/hide.gif....
and what does this mean? :p a silly dog is going to lick your face.
LOL, oh and I like your face under the chair - it cracked me up - you're right - and that's what annoys me, l know everything they do they do with their heart in the right place - its just every time l am with my MIL she picks at me, for example, in the space of 5 minutes she told me Coen might have a fever cos his cheeks were red, and then complained to me that his hands and feet were cold and where were the socks she had bought him; in years gone by l probably would have let most of it just roll off me, but you know how challenging motherhood can be, the last thing you need is somebody second guessing your every move -- and the other thing is that they never take No for an answer - and l end up feeling guilty cos l have to go to mothers group when they "Really want to see Coen today"... l hate that they make me feel that way -- if they could just respect me then it would be great - they are incredibly good to us - and would do anything for us - and l want Coen to be close to them... Aaaarrrrggghhh l just hate the way they make me feel most of the time!!! And one last whinge - they are very superficial (l don't mean that in a totally bad way) l just mean that everything is about looks to them - and most of the time l don't measure up - they once told my husband (before they officially knew we were dating) that he wasn't allowed to go out with a short person (cos they like his tallness and want that carried on in their linage...) bad luck cos l am basically 5" nothing!!!
Anyway - l have devoted way too much time to my inlaws on here!!!
:hugs: to Lauren & Jack --you're right about trusting our instincts - good on you for making that appt. - and :fingerscrossed: crossing my fingers that it all gets better very very soon!
Jack has an ear infection........mother's instinct has served me well - I knew he wasn't quiet right
If he gets worse we have to take him back tomorrow...as he has the runs too the doc was hesitant to give him antibiotics (as it will go straight thru him)
We also have to do a stool sample as today in one of his nappies there was some blood :crying:
Poor little boy.....Fingers crossed for us that he gets better soon!
I could have written this post!! Cody had had diarrhea for 5 days now and i have been taking her to our chemist (who is fantastic) everymorning and afternoon to make sure she isn't getting dehydrated. Well this afternoons visit proved she was looking a bit dry so i rang the GP...lo and behold....couldn't get in..then rang the after hours number who told me to take her straight to hospy which is where i have been most of the evening.
She has a middle ear infection, slighly dry (not necessarily dehydrated, and a virus. No anti biotics for her either as it will make the poo worse...and that could be really harmful. Ear infection has just gotto ride itself out. If she's not better by Monday we have to go back.
There's NO blood in her poo though so thats a good thing for us.
Sorry Lauren that Jack is so ill.:hugs:
harleyq - totally understand. motherhood is sooooo hard and we do not need any one second guessing the fantastic jobs we are doing with our kids.
my mum has a great heart but totally makes be feel sh@t heaps of the time. when we go shopping together (prepregnancy) i would pick up a size 12 shirt to try on and she would laugh and say " there is no way you would fit that - better to hide your larger figure"
also she makes us yummy meals (:chef: ) but it is a totally tit for tat environment ie she says i made this meal for you so you need to take me to the dr one more time when i am old. like i wasnt going to anyway.
Dh just walked into the room with a full dream feed bottle and a beer - babys milk and mother milk (insert rollie eyes icon here).
lauren - i get it now. hope he goes ok overnight. at least it is the weekend and dh can help. try to focus on resting and not doing anything else this weekend. if dh dosent understand tell him to call me and i will explain to him.:geek:
Tara - charolette is beautiful. i love th progressive shots. i challenge everyone to do this for the five month birthday (i have 2 days - comon hels and penny - hurray up)
roopee - hugs to you too. poor little one. i live in fear of that first ear infection. are their any signs i should look out for?
sharon- i had no idea she had an ear infection...i have 4 kids, one with chronic issues with his ears (infections, operations, grommets and the list goes on) and i STILL didn't know. I feel so guilty.
Usually they will pull at their ears, their ears will be red, they will be whingy and clingy but Cody has been NONE of these so i had no clue. Only thing she had was/is diarrhea and thats not a "classic" symptom. So while there are symptoms not all kids will show them if that makes any sense.
at least it is the weekend and dh can help. try to focus on resting and not doing anything else this weekend. if dh dosent understand tell him to call me and i will explain to him.:geek:
Thanks Sharon...HA HA to my DH - he's sick too and you know what it's like when MEN are sick...he thinks he's going to die *insert roll eyes smiley here*
I could have written this post!! She has a middle ear infection, slighly dry (not necessarily dehydrated, and a virus. No anti biotics for her either as it will make the poo worse...and that could be really harmful. Ear infection has just gotto ride itself out. If she's not better by Monday we have to go back.
:hugs: Tanya, poor Cody. I had no idea that diaorhea could happen with an ear infection. The reason I took Jack back to the doc was because he'd started crying when he coughed....when the doctor was taking a while looking at his ears I just knew then
Poor little bubbas...I wish they couldn't get sick
Forgot to add we had a much better night....Jack woke at 1am, fed and then didn't wake until 6.30. Best night we've had for ages :D
Have a great weekend everyone....Melbourne weather looks a bit better today too!
Whinge alert!!!
You all know hos it has been hell for me getting Coen down for his naps during the day the last few days (basically since his needles), but in all honesty the last few weeks haven't been great... anyway l read this book today and mentioned some of the things it said to DH - anyway after trying one of them once - which basically says to keep trying to settle them for 70 minutes... DH gave up, yelled at me (mind you we were both taking shifts with it and it was the middle of the day) saying that l could try it when l was at home alone with him!!! I got so angry and screamed at him like a banshee!!! "You don't know what it is like when he has gone all day without a nap - l am going to leave you at home with him and see how you cope when you can't get him to sleep all day long"...
I am not talking to him now - l am still too angry - he accused me of jumping on the latest theory- saying that l put Coen to bed cos the book said after two hours awake l should - which is complete BS!!! He came back from his mums (only the 2nd time he has ever taken Coen anywhere w/o me) and he said Coen was asleep, he woke up when he got out of the car, so l fed him and put him to bed -- reasonable wouldn't you say when he has only been asleep for 2 minutes and it was time for his nap anyway!!!
How dare he say that!!! Coen has been on a 3 hour feed, play nap routine (rough) for many many weeks now!!! (when l can get it to work)
Lauren - Tanya - l hope Jack and Cody are feeling better today!
Hear you go Sandy, have a few of these :hugs: :hugs: I've decided men are idiots....Sounds like a tough day. Hope tomorrow is better for you guys. I'm glad you had some 'alone' time though
My alone time today was doing the food shopping...I got a phone call half way thru to say Jack wouldn't drink his EBM and was just crying. So I said have you given him some panadol?? The reply was "ah....no" :banghead:
When I got home Jack was in his swing and DH was lying on the floor....
He has no idea what it's like day in day out looking after Jack especially this week with him being sick
Anyway we had a quiet day....just went to baby bunting to get a car seat for DH's car - I've been nagging him for months to get one.
Pretty quiet here today......where is everyone? :detective:
01-07-2007, 10:53
July thread is now open for you ladies
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=103733