View Full Version : Nursery is almost done!

12-01-2006, 16:04
Oh, I feel kinda cool...I'm the first poster in their thread....actually thats why I'm rambling.... :)

Dear hubby painted out the nursery over Xmas, and we picked up all the furniture off layby on Saturday. The nursery is all set up and nearly ready to go!

Steve has painted the walls a really soft lemon colour, and the cot, changer, and dresser all match perfectly (in teak).

Its scarey though, when it was all set up and I moved ALL THE STUFF we have bought or been given for baby in to the room...I suddenly realised...MY GOODNESS WE DONT HAVE ANYTHING!!!!!

Needs heaps more nappies, towels, face washes, clothes, ect...the only thing we have in abundance is toy dogs and teddy bears!!!

So, have you set up the nursery yet? What colours did you go? Ect?

brooke
12-01-2006, 16:16
hey kat...
congratulations! You must be so excited about setting up the nursery!
I remember when we had ours first set up I was so excited.. I would just go stand in there for hours! I loved it!

Dont worry you will always feel like you dont have everything! even when you have more than enough!

angcaltam
12-01-2006, 16:22
It always feels good when you get it all set up. With my first I set it up to early and then had nothing really to do, with the second we waited a little longer to set it up, and well, with this one, we are still cleaning out the room so we can set it up. I have just over 12 weeks to go. But we have had a lot go on this time round like the loss of my mum just before Christmas, so we are just taking our time.
And yes there will always be more stuff you need to get.
Sticky baby dust to all.

dannii
12-01-2006, 16:23
hi kat, yeah i know what you mean, it always seems like you dont have enough! and im with you brooke, soon as my nursery was done all i wanted to do was stand/sit in there for ages just grinning my head off.

Indy's nursery is in a yellow and purple, i have hot pink curtains etc. . i wanted to go for lots of colours. is so pretty :D

i love getting ready for new babies !

Pixie
12-01-2006, 16:49
Aww congratulations :D It sounds really nice, shame we can't post pictures here I love seeing nursery's!

Our bubba is coming into our rrom for the first 6 months not much choice we live in a 1Br unit lol..I have 11 weeks to go before I have our lil one.

so far
I don't have my cradle can take upto 12 weeks to deliver :eek: been 4 already
I don't have any nappies don't have the pram, don't have the rocker etc. We have all her clothes, wraps blankets, nappy bag and some stuff for me but I have a big list written and in a few weeks I am going to hit babies galore big time lol just waiting they said they were having a sale soon lol

You have plenty of time and you are already so organised...:D

Crazy Monkey
12-01-2006, 20:54
Congratulations on setting up the nursery.. It such an exciting time, now you just need bubs... Don't go too crazy buying clothes, you will get heaps as pressie when bubs is born....

12-01-2006, 20:56
DM - keep an eye out at target & kmart also with their sales atm you will be amazed at what you can pick up :D
I loved setting up bubs nursery !!!! Was soooo exciting !!!!
I did all the walls white & then from waist height i put up a wood trim which got painted white also & from there down i did blue stripes about 10cm thick ( not much fun taping them up when 8mths pregnant !!!! ) then i stenciled on green stars at random intervals. Looks great & i was so proud !
Now bubs is older im going to do a mural on one wall for him & considering he has a lot of winnie the pooh stuff guess what the mural will be heheheh yep thats right winnie the pooh & friends hehehehe :rolleyes:
Now i just need to keep the furniture in one possie so i can do this just gotta find what i like first hehehehe ;)

petal80
12-01-2006, 21:04

I had my little girl in Oct last year

We didnt know the sex and did a bright jungle themed nursery - and had alot of fun doing it!

I was always going in and standing in there before she was born :)
you just cant help it!!!!

Brooke

12-01-2006, 21:19
petal80 - Oh wow !!!! Id love to see piccies that sounds great & have pondered that for bubs when he is older hehe.

petal80
12-01-2006, 22:43
allyoo

Well I think that we did an alright job - concidering that we have a rental property and we couldnt "Paint" the walls - I'll email you a photo if you like ... its not much -
but we tried .... (my mum helped out alot!!!) our goal was Bright colours and jungle animals :)

Brooke

einalem
12-01-2006, 22:59
we did a celestial theme in our nursery. we rent, so we couldn't paint the walls, but we found some great sitckers thet peel off walls with out taking the paint. They have a cosmic hay diddle diddle theme to them.

I wanted to paint the shelves white and add cloud cutouts, but the smell of paint made me sick while I was pregnant, and now I just don't seem to have the time.

I made some nice thermal lined curtains that are blur/lilaic/silver/purple.

Then We had starry bed sheets and I made a nice chair cover in blue to match.

I'm thinking of making the room a bit more childish (not babyish) now that he's 1.

Hunter's Mum
12-01-2006, 23:00
Congrats on setting up the nursery.. I remember how excited i was about that.. at night when i couldn't sleep i would go the the room and move things around, double check the stacks of clothing i had brought etc...

Enjoy the rest of the pregnancy!

andre
14-01-2006, 14:43
Hey KatandTiny, I’m with Jacksmum05’, we got so many great things given to us before Matty was born – especially at the baby shower - and we’re still being given gifts! Only yesterday a neighbour from across the road (who we’d never met!) knocked on the door and asked if we’d like to come and have a look at her 2 year old son’s ‘pre-loved’ clothes etc. as she no longer needed them – lovely lady :D !

Katherine, sorry to hear about your mum.

You guys sound like you have some cool ideas. I think we’re going to opt for a “Where the wild things are” theme for one of Mattys walls. I plan on cheating by using an overhead projector and tracing the image onto the wall before we paint....saves heaps of time!

Anyone have any experience with cable management? By that I mean keeping TV, DVD player, speaker cables etc. tidy and out of sight – kind of un-related but thought I’d give it a shot.

Andre.

shanz
14-01-2006, 16:36
hey kat,well our nursery has been set up for a few weeks now,hubby painted before chrissy and as soon as it was done the furniture had to be set up and then i sat in there for hours packing the cupboards and organising the clothing into sizes only to have steve walk in and see what i was doing and mention that i still had to wash them and then re organise it all again!!:o silly me. but oh well it was fun!!
In answer to the other question we painted grass green to chair rail height then sky blue above and put a border through the middle with a train and animals on it. Its unisex and very cute. We love it anyway and daddy was so proud of the hard work he put in to it.:D

einalem
14-01-2006, 17:25
Hay andre, the only way we could keep cables out of site (and the video flap on the vcr-which aj loves to play with) was to buy a glass door tv unit.

Not as easy to find as it sounds. All I wanted was a white malamine unit with a glass door, and since ikea nolonger carried our range I had to improvise.

We ended up with one from K-mart for $50, it isn't as matched as i'd of liked it to be (the unit is silver), but I no longer find vita wheats in the VCR. Then to keep the cables neat we use the 3M removable cable tidies and we try to put furniture infront of powerpoints we don't use.

Hope that helps

Stacy
14-01-2006, 17:36

Just had to use this opportunity to brag about my baby's room.

We saw this amazing farm theme at a baby shop and I just knew that that was the theme I was going to do. We have bought the quilt and valance and bumper and nappy stacker and....

We too painted the walls green at the bottom and blue at the top (I matched these to the colours in the design.) Then in the middle we stuck a matching border the whole way round. The only problem was DH got frustrated while putting the light switch back in and morphed the border. Luckliy I managed to get it so you can hardly notice. (I was very heart broken) I cried for a couple of hours.

We needed new carpet in the room so we picked something that was very child friendly. So had to wait for that to be in before I could put all of the furniture in its spot.

I have bought all of the furniture second hand ( the farm stuff had cost more than the furniture) The only thing that I am waiting on is a cupboard ( we have to go and pick it up from DH parent's place 3 hours drive away :rolleyes: So I can't put the clothes that we have away.

Oh well I have four months to go so plenty of time yet.

I too love sitting in my rocking chair and just looking around.

Stacy

14-01-2006, 20:44
Well ive moved bubs room around for like the eightieth time today & im still not happy LOL oh wells hopefully when i get a new chest of drawers this will help me decide where i want everthing so i can do my mural !!!!!
Anyways andre just in reply to your question rather odd i know but are you able to run the cables under your floor boards ? We plan to do this with the cables for our surround sound as they are driving me nuts or if you have carpet can you lift the edges so you can put the cables underneath IYKWIM As sometimes this is a great option if you can do it. We are lucky in that when we agreed on cupboards & where they would go the wall we chose backs onto the alcove under the stairs which has its own power point so my partner drilled a hole through the cupboards & wall so everything goes straight out the back through the wall so there are no cords to be seen anywhere so even the powerboard sits in there out of sight & will be out of reach for little curious hands hehe.
Otherwise as einalem said a nice unit & the 3M cable tidies are great !

andre
15-01-2006, 12:00
Thanks for the replies, Einalem and Allyoo - we've just managed to get rid of our tv cabinet and suspend the tv form the wall which is why I'm encountering problems with dangling cables (just right for little monkeys to swing on!). :rolleyes: I've devised a solution but have to figure out exactly how I'll do it. I'll let you guys know if you're interested.

Just thought it might be wise to get all the expensive and breakable items up, out of reach before Matty starts exploring! :eek:

Thanks again.

Andre

17-01-2006, 07:30
Thanks for the replies girls! :)

Its funny, a few of you said you used to sit in the nursery....almost every morning or evening I go in there and wind up Yertle the Turtle (my old musical toy who moves his head and plays Its A Small World)...and then just sit there and feel happy. :)

Only need the baby now!

shed
17-01-2006, 08:05
I can't wait to do the nursery. I don't even know where it will be yet because we are moving. We will be renting but I will definitely be painting the walls, I will tell them I am doing it when we apply, and I will say we will paint it back when we leave. There's no way I am going to miss out on doing a nursery because I have waited so long and this will be my only child.

I am thinking of magenta, lime and white if its a girl, and I don't know for a boy. I might pick out some sheets and quilt and then match the colours of the room to that.

Very exciting times ahead!!

Cheekychops
17-01-2006, 08:11
DH and I set up our nursery for our first when I was 6 weeks preg! It was cute really cause he was so excited!!! We spent the day shopping and bought everything.....portacot, nappy bag, change table, high chair, pram etc.......put up wall borders and stickers and had it all set up beautifully. the only prob was ......then I had nothing to do but wait to fill it!!!! Next thing I know, hubby wants to sell the house and get something bigger!!!!!! So down everything came and had to get reset up in a tempory nursery while we built our dream home!!!!!! It makes me laugh just thinking about it!!!! heehee :D

Mummy_Johnno
18-01-2006, 20:15

I am due with my little boy in April. I have a Humphreys Corner theme for the nursery and am waiting for the furniture to arrive in the next week or so. Humphrey is a cute elephant and he has a sister and little brother called Jack. Everything is pastel in colour and looks great. I have found it difficult to find lots of stuff though as it really is English.

I have a wall frieze, cot sheets and head rest thing, mobile, stuffed toys and am buying a few figurines on ebay.

If i didnt do this theme, i would have probably gone for a sea / ocean theme with fish and whales and decorated one wall with a huge mural etc ...... i also would have cheated and used a over head projector!!

Keep us informed of any developments n the nursery situations

hayleylea
21-01-2006, 12:46
I did a baby looney tunes theme because i just think they are soooooooooooooo cute. I just painted it a neutruel colour then put up a baby looney tune border, have the cot shets,bumber and quilt all baby looney tune including nappy stacker and then huge big stick ups of all the baby looney tunes, tweety curtains...as the nursery was huge i also put a single bed in there for all the stuffed toys and got a BRIGHT Tweety doona cover which looks great!! Im in the process of making a toybox now.....i make character toyboxes which are seats...they have a high back and a padded seats and open up to a toybox. For my nephew i did a bob the builder one and for my other nephew and neice i painted a mural on the back which matched their wall borders in their rooms so thats what im giong to do for my little boys room, do a looney tune one! It looks great..i cant wait to change it all again when he gets older lol.:D