View Full Version : I want to get my baby into modeling..
milkshake
15-08-2004, 16:52
Does anyone know any good baby modeling agencies in South Australia?
I want to get my 7.5 month old baby boy into modeling and perhaps acting but don't know where to start! :confused:
Any info would be greatly appreciated,
Angus'mum
16-08-2004, 14:17
The following information was given to me by Sue Walsh (Castcoord)...hope it helps... I am just too darn far away to use it!
I'll give you a couple of names of extras/ model agencies that might be able to help you. I would suggest that if you decide to get involved you shop around as different agents charge different amounts, some charge a set amount to add your little ones photo to their web page (which is where people like me start looking) then a percentage of any monies earned.
Babyfaces = Hayley 9212 6877 or 0412 557 504 or
HJ@galaproductions.com.au
Lollipops = Natalie 83546900 or natalie@lollipops.com.au
Brent Street Agency = David 9699 2677 or agency@brentstreet.com.au
milkshake
16-08-2004, 17:24
thanks sooo much for the contacts! :D
I will give them a go and see what happens!
Miss Scarlett
12-10-2004, 14:11
Hi ya, hope you don't mind me asking but why would you want to have your son modelling at such a young age? Do you think he will enjoy it?
Just curious (no offence intended).
:o
milkshake
25-10-2004, 15:35
Hi ya, hope you don't mind me asking but why would you want to have your son modelling at such a young age? Do you think he will enjoy it?
Just curious (no offence intended).
:o
:mad: Well, well, well... No offense intended huh?! Why ask such a dumb and RUDE question then?!
For your information, my baby boy LOVES to play around infront of a camera. Frankly, he loves all the attention.. So the answer to your stupid question is YES, I do think he will enjoy it...
And the answer to your other question why I would want my son modelling at such a young age... How the hell else do you think they advertise for the nappies you use, or the clothes you buy for your baby etc. Or even the TV shows that you watch that, surprise surprise, have babies in them...
My intentions if you must know were to open a savings account for my baby and any money earnt modelling or acting would go straight into that for when he is old enough to drive and go to uni etc etc because god knows the price of such things would be unheard of by the time our kids are young adults and god knows that I don't know if I will be able to help him at that stage. No one knows what the future holds..
So, next time you want to ask a dumb question, (no offense intended ofcourse!) be sure to think about it first..
:mad:
Olivia my 7 months old also LOVES the camera, she smiles and plays up to it whenever she shes one! So i think some babies just want to pose all the time!!
I think it is great that you are thinking of your sons future, especially if it will be something he gets enjoyment from! Good luck :)
5cherubs
26-10-2004, 18:30
hi saw this and thought I'd add my 2 cents lol...
firstly milkshake I think those contacts may be sydney... I know Brent st definately is (I used to go there many years ago lol) and lollipops is as my DD was with them (they may have branched out I am not sure it's been a while but I just thought I'd let you know)
I did alot of modelling and acting in my teens - early 20's and I loved it, I went to a perfrming arts school so It was kinda expected I would go into the field, I modelled right up until I was 5.5mths preg with DD1, when I had her because I knew alot of contacts in the industry I got her involved, she loved it, she did covers for parenting mags when she was really young and as she got older she started doing clothing shoots for bambini, GB's (now myer) and David Jones, she stopped when she was 5 because we moved to the country and there was no way for us to get her to the castings, now she is 7 and she misses it, she picks up bits and pieces occassionally when there are things happening up this way but not very often. I think that alot of her confidence came from all she has done, I am a bit sad that my other kids haven't had the same ops as her.
so I feel in this case it has been a good thing and had a positive influence but do research it because there are some shonky agents that will just take your money, and remember that NO agent can GUARANTEE work.
milkshake
27-10-2004, 12:33
thankyou 5cherubs for your POSITIVE input! It really means a lot! :D
I have actually been in contact with an agency in adelaide that's called mostly kids. they cater for all the major businesses like myer and harris scarfe and huggies etc.
I just have to come up with $100 for the registration fee first. (that's for his first 4 years)
My baby is nearly 10 months old already and I wanted to come up with it earlier and am now fearing he is getting too old for all the baby jobs..
Oh well, never mind. Thanks again!
5cherubs
27-10-2004, 18:44
If you are getting a positive vibe from this agency that's great, and $100 is a great regestration fee (alot can cost much more)
I wouldn't worry too much about the baby jobs because now he will be getting around a bit and lots of smiles and gooing and gaaing so there will be other jobs.
Eleni's Mum
27-10-2004, 21:19
That rego fee sounds fabulous - do they have any connections in Brisbane or does anyone know of any??
Jenni
Not sure how aware you guys are of all the Child Pornography issues that have been dealt with in the media over the past weeks.
I am all for flaunting your child and giving them every opportunity in life, especially ones that give them elf confidence, awareness and social skills.
BUT.......
Many of the images that were found on computers, other websites, in emails and on sites promoting Child Pornography, were taken from sites such as Huggies, CosFIts, Johnson & Johnson, Glamour photography sites promoting their work with children, and many of them were taken from these sites and doctored to look genuine, for me that is a risk that I will not take with my son. THe images are meant for positive measures, not for sicko's to look at.
IT makes me sick to my stomach to think that there are people out there who get their kicks out of seeing the most miraculous little person in someones life laying on a towel after a bath. It just is NOT RIGHT...
I agree with parents who want to show off their little Prince or Princess, but alway and I mean always make sure you know exactly what is done with those photos... and videos tapes.
Make sure safety is first and then let them enjoy it...
Oh and to Milkshake....
I think your reaction to a simple question was a litle rude, not the question itsself. Maybe she was simply asking if they enjoyed, becasue there are many vain parents out their doing it for them selves, not for their kids.
milkshake
22-11-2004, 11:48
Yeah yeah, blah blah, WHATEVER!!! :mad:
abbeysmum
23-11-2004, 11:42
I think that is no-ones business whether you want to put your child into modelling! I have a 6 months old little girl who i want to put into modelling but don't know where to start etc. I thinkt that if anyone has anything to say about this they should mind their own business it is not their child it is yours and you choose wat you want to do with your bub.
It really annoys me that people want to say things that they should keep to themselves.
Amy
milkshake
23-11-2004, 21:52
Amy,
Thankyou so much for supporting what I said. Not many people would be brave enough to speak up and I really appreciate you doing so...
Good luck with everything :D
I know every mum thinks their baby is the most beautiful and i'm no different so I was wanting to know if anyone knew of a good agency in Brisbane??
I have been reading this thread and noticed that it seems to be a pretty emotive topic. I too would like to use any money earned to help Zach with a car or to pay for uni or help with a house deoposit (My DP says a 15% managers fee should be taken out by us! {he is kidding!!!}). I doubt our childrens generation will have the opportunity we did to have a HECS loan to pay for further education.
Anyway, if anyone has had experiences with agencies in Brisbane - good or bad - I would be interested in hearing them.
Thanks.
Cait & Zach (29.03.04)
:( sorry, i must have mistaken this forum for one who accepts other opinions and does not take them judgementally...
i am in my own right, able and willing to put my opinion out there amongst everyone else's...
everyone else is able to say what they like about it, so why not me...
milkshake, you really should simply let others ahve their own voice and not shut them down... ever think that maybe they have had first hand experience with the dramas that can unfold from such exposure... think about it, not everyone is as luck as you to have found a great company that prouds itsself with great photography and video...
good luck with it to you and your little one, hopefully you wot be one of the unlucky ones like me...
amye
milkshake
29-11-2004, 12:31
Oh and to Milkshake....
I think your reaction to a simple question was a litle rude, not the question itsself. Maybe she was simply asking if they enjoyed, becasue there are many vain parents out their doing it for them selves, not for their kids.
Amye,
Hi, Just letting you know, I don't make a habbit of being a horrible monster...
Yes you are right, you ARE entitled to your opinion, and I WILL NOT stand in your way of voicing it. I was simply refering to the above comment made by you about a previous disagreement with somebody else, NOT about child pornography.
I am honestly sorry that you didn't have such luck, and you obviously had a bit of a run in with child pornography. As my hubby would say (and I totally agree) The people behind child porn (majority being men) should have their d***s cut off..
Again, I am sorry. I hope you accept my apologee..
babyJames'mum
04-12-2004, 21:26
Im new to this forum, but couldnt help replying when i saw this one. Ive just joined my 8 month old up with Mostly Kids in Adelaide. It was only 2 weeks ago so he hasnt gotten any work as yet. He absolutely loves having his photo taken. He can be crying or grizzly but as soon as i get the camera out, he stops and has this huge smile on his face. So that is why i joined, because for now he loves having his photo taken. I have opened up an account for him, and any money will go into it. It is not something that i would ever push him into, i just want to pursue areas that he shows interest in, whether it be music, camera or anything!! So good on you for joining up with Mostly Kids , i hope our little ones have some fun!!!
Take care,
Cara
:) hi i am new to this site and just discovered this very interesting thread, i have 2 little ones which i am interested in getting into modelling/baby competitions, for their enjoyment and to hopefully provide some future financial security for them. i noticed that there has been some people asking about reputable agencies in sa and qld but i was wondering if anybody would be able to provide me with any information regarding these sort of places in sydney/ wollongong area, any help would be greatly appreciated (as will the opportunity for discussion with other mums!)
Lucybelle
03-03-2005, 21:45
Hey Coopsntilly,
I did this a while ago, try Bambini Kids agency. You should be able to find it in the net.
I beleive they have been bought out by a place in Sydney that seems very reputable.
Note to all who read this - not promoting anyone, but I did this research myself for the same reason. This may save you some time.
Have fun!
Ashtonsmum
04-03-2005, 17:28
Hi there!
Just thought I'd let you know that I have also just joined my 9 month old up with Mostly Kids Agency. It was only about a month ago, so nothing just yet. But I have paid the extra to have him on the internet site and headsheet to get maximum exposure.
We too have opened an account for our son, and have already been putting money aside for him for all those future costs.
There will always be those who dont agree with what you do with your child, and will want to voice their opinions about it, which is why my husband and I havent told anyone (inlcuding our parents) about registering our son with the agency. We figure if he gets work, great, and we will tell everyone about it when it happens. Then, if he doesnt get any work, no biggie, and we dont have to hear anyones opinions.
So good luck to you and your little one! ;)
thanks lucybelle, i have had a look at these guys and they do seem quite reputable, :)
plainjane
13-03-2005, 22:12
I would also like to know a bit about this, anyone know of one in Perth?
our little treasures
14-03-2005, 00:00
I would also like any info for melbourne.
:p
coybaby05
30-03-2005, 12:00
cvhello i am the mother of a 2 month old baby girl and i wanted some info on how to get her started in the biz. i dont know where to begin but would like some info on how to find the real and not the fake. :confused: :confused: :confused:
mumof2girls
02-04-2005, 00:59
If you are in adelaide then try Mostly kids they deal with children up to the age of 16 (I think!) they are great and my girls love them, they have people all over the world who use them and as they get older they do all sorts of courses for the children who are interested, dancing, drama, acting, deportment etc. Hope this helps you
mumof2girls
02-04-2005, 01:10
Well as you can see by my message I hit the wrong button and missed a lot of the messages. So sorry for the last message. I have had dealings with Mostly kids for a number of years and I always found them to be great people. My daughter loved her work and I always let her choose (when she could talk) whether or not she wanted to do the job or not as it was her that had to do it. Good luck to the rest of you I hope that you get plenty of work from them. :)
samecutie222
03-04-2005, 14:46
i dont have an opinion on this modelling topic......i think each to their own (-:
but i am also brave enough to speak up and on the defense on some of these other girls, "no offence" means no offence
nobody said anything rude except you milkshake!
if we are all mums its better to try and get along than have catty/nasty comments flung left right and centre.
thats all i want to say and good luck to you milkshake with your sons modelling i hope you find a good agency and that he will enjoy it! good luck ok!
love melissa (-:
p.s........no i am not a hippy! lol
I have to agree with you 'samecuitie222'. I found the replies from 'milkshake' to be very harsh, aggressive and distateful, especially as the other Mums clearly stated that they meant 'no offense'.. Shouldn't we all try to get along in this world? We're all the same inside!
lizziesmum
07-04-2005, 19:00
I have just been invited to join Bettina model Management in Melbourne, I feel good about this group. Does anyone have any feedback
pigandpiglet
09-04-2005, 23:13
:) Hi There
I just love these threads as they provide so much info and you get to find out such information that you didn't even know about. I am interested to know if anyone has any feedback regarding Baby modelling agencies in Sydney. I have called quite a few only to be hurried of the phone, think my list of questions puts them off. I would like to also know if anyone has had any luck with an agency in Sydney with castings/paid jobs. We were previously with an agency but got stuffed around, husband got a refund and since I have heard bad comments about them. We are now hunting around for another one but don't want to go down the same road. I am investigating all avenues with eagle eyes. Alot of agencies will just take your money and you'll never hear anything again so be very very careful. We have a very cute and camera loving 14 month old little boy who is suitable for this industry but I am very wary of this industry as well. Like others have mentioned we want to help him set up some start financially for his future. We were lucky enough to have a photo shoot for Jeep prams and strollers with Hayley Lewis just recently but as this was a favour to a friend, was an unpaid job but the experience was fantastic and our little man loved the attention (honestly). To lizziesmum, I found this other form of thread very very interesting (through ebay child modelling agencies - help needed) regarding baby modelling and it also has alot of feedback regarding BETTINA's. I think you should visit this site ASAP, might be different states but have a look. Sorry to bable on, would love to chat with others that have had experience with Sydney agencies.
Bye for now
Hi to all who will be reading my msg. I need some addresses of modelling agencies in Perth specialising in baby modelling. My son is 7.5 months young. He loves attention, is very photgenic and handsome little guy :D Please write to me if you have any info regards the above.
malgoniam@yahoo.co.uk
samecutie222
11-04-2005, 13:26
oh i never said my opinion! cos i didnt have one at the time, but i have thought about it now
i will put him in when he is old enough to say to me
'mummy, i enjoy being in front of the camera etc, and i want to be a model!!!'
then i will say 'no worries' and he can go for it!
until then i dont know if he really wants to do it or not cos he cant tell me so i decided its not for me! (o;
i am in perth to! but i dont know anything about modelling agencies sorrys
you know the one thing i think is kids have to be kids....as long as it doesnt take up all their time for fun then it wouldnt be as bad if you know what i mean
this is just my opinion girls, im not judging your choices for your children IYKWIM?
Natasha27
13-04-2005, 08:51
Hello peoples,
Anyone in Melbourne heard of "Allstars Modelling agency",if so do they have a good repretation.They are situated in Dandenong.
best mum
24-04-2005, 02:22
:( you know you didnt have to be so mean to that lady miss scarlet.... she was just asking you a question dont take things so seriously chill will ya!!! :o its good that you want to put your baby in to modelling...... i want to put my 2 year old daughter in modelling aswell, she is such a beautiful girl and very smart..... she is half australian and half iraqi.... she is a soooo cute....lol... i live in sydney...and im looking 4 kids modelling agencies..... but the right one will be hard to find!!!
our little treasures
24-04-2005, 17:48
Can't you all just leave it in the past, email each other in private. The rest of us just want to read the forum without sorting through the fights. Besides this started weeks ago.
:) be happy
HI Guys
I saw in Sydney's child this month that there is a model competition at Kidz Expo in Sydney next weekend. :)
A model agency are looking for the face of childrens fashion, I'm not sure at what age it starts but might be worth a look.
To all pregnant mums looking for a quick modeling career! My friend is modeling maternity fashion at Kidz Expo at the weekend,they are looking for more women to participate bump size is not important. She has been given some nice gifts for joining in call Jo on 02 9697 0300 she is looking after it all.
Sounds like fun!!
Hi there!
I am new and noticed this forum and had to comment :).
When finding a reputable agent, contact the Media Entertainment & Arts Alliance (MEAA) and they will give you names of reputable agents in your State. This is a good way to know that you will have agents abiding by MEAA Rules. The MEAA are the organisation for professionals in the Media Industry (inc.actors and performers). Check out their website and follow the links (I think agent links are on the left menu of the Home Page) http://www.alliance.org.au/ . Here you will see a list of registered agents.
Additionally, I would be wary of 'registration fees'. Some less than reputable agents try and get their money from you this way. Remember there could be hundreds of beautiful babies and toddlers on their books all with equally enthusiastic parents saying they their child is gorgeous and loves the camera, and not all these children will get work. Maybe a small job here and there if they are lucky, but it is a hard industry even for a baby. So query how big their books are. If there books are huge, chances are your baby's chances are not all that big when it comes to being selected to go for a casting. If they are smaller, and the agent is reputable and can show you work that their clients have done, the that is better. Some may just take your registration fee and do nothing with it. They may cite it is photos, but I would get a real rundown on any upfront fee they suggest you pay and find out exactly what they say you will get for it. Some child agencies will want photos every 6 weeks to 3 months as your baby/toddler changes so much as they grow, so really you should not have to pay for studio photos if they want them that frequently. A clear colour snap shot of your child should do. Perhaps a head and shoulders shot and a long (full length) shot. So query any photos.
But anyway, ask lots of questions, query any upfront fees and check with the MEAA.
All the best in finding the right agency!
hi There, Am looking for any bub competitions in Melbourne (South) that I can take my 15 month old son to.Please let me know of any.
I have just moved from Nth Qld to the Gold Coast, can anyone advise on any reputable model agencies for babies/children?
Many thanks :)
keirasmummy
06-07-2005, 09:24
Hi my name is kylie and i have a 8mth old keira, and i was going to do the same as u milkshake, as she loves the camera and the interaction with ppl! I dont want it to be too stressing for her tho, just want her in catolouges and stuff like that as u do im sure! I would love her to be a baby bonds! She has the biggest bluest eyes ever!lol! That regisration fee is awesome! I was wondering if anyone knew if that was in Melbouren? If not does anyone know of a good place in melbourne (around the mont albert area, roughly!) that i could go to to get her in?! Thanks if you do it will be really appreciated!
I think modelling is a great thing for yound kids(if its not too stressful!lol!) like some mum's go crazy! It gets them out meeting new ppl and interacting with other ppl besides their parents!
cheers, kylie xoxox :D
Hi, just seen this thread and thought I'd tell you of my experiences of baby modelling.
This is in the UK not Oz so don't have any contacts for you but my dd1 did baby modelling for the first year or so of her life.
Not sure if it's different over here, but think the same from what I read, but beware of any agencies that charge up front fees. Mine just asked you to send in a new photo every month (I think) due to the age of the child. If you decided to stay on their books for the next year you had to pay for the professional photographer that did the shoot for their book.
My daughter was also very photogenic and loved the camera (not so at 3.5, lol, she's one of those kids that has to pull a face!).
She did love the jobs we did, but I found the whole thing very time consuming. If you are thinking about it do consider how much free time you have, how open you are to travelling, how easy your child is at being disrupted from routine, how they are at missing naps etc.
I think the things I found hardest (and why I stopped) were, we had quite a good social life (groups, regular meets with friends etc) and castings/jobs always seemed to coincide with those. Also my daughter was quite fixed in her naps and they usually didnt seem to correspond (still remember trying to put her into her baby seat at about 10 months, in case it helped make her sleep in the car, than in her forward facing new seat as we had a job at her nap time - didn't work!!).
Not trying to be negative about it, just pointing out the reasons it wasn't for us incase anyone hasn't thought of the time implications. (you can spend half a day just for a casting - travel, waiting etc) and if you have regular things you do - toddler groups, swimming, play dates - then you miss out one way or the other. And to get on well with an agency and therefore get more work, you need to be available (with a happy child who gets the job!) at short notice any time.
HTH's and good luck to anyone considering it.
Zan
i have to say milkshake that alot off people dissagree to modeling a child at a young age she just wanted to no why people would want to do it.. for me on the other hand i think its a great idea to model your child iam considering doing it myself for my daughter. but cant seem to find any decent modeling agents in victoria-ballarat. i think modeling give a child a sense off responsibility and a future.
My 11 year old daughter wants to model also so I sent off some pics to viviens in Perth and got a reply straight away saying that she was beautiful ect and that they are sending out a casting letter in the post and they want me to send in the photo I sent thru email so they can make them bigger. Im not too worried about her age as we live 400kms from Perth and she wont be doing much it will be just a bit of fun for her. So does anyone know what a casting letter is
I would like to get my lil girl into modeling too if anyone here knows of any agencies here in brissy.
Thanks.
I'm going to close this thread - the original dates back to over a year ago. There's no point starting this debate up again as the original poster doesn't visit here any more.