View Full Version : OMG - i cant believe this happened!!

bekkyboo
29-05-2007, 08:49
Yesterday afternoon after a lovely verbal match with J that left me and G leaving the house in a huff (real mature bekky :rolleyes:) - we went to the park to cool off. I sat G in his favourite seat thingo and I got out my mobile to have a delightful vent to my best friend...

While on the phone this older lady was screaming at this child... I said to my friend that i might get off the phone as it was hard to hear with all that going on. I thought it was a mother going mental at her kid... so i stayed away. It was full on - but i was unsure of whether to step in or not... I dont really think it was my place if it was her kid and i didnt know what had made it get to that point.

It was when another child said "stop doing that to him, leave him alone" I knew it wasnt a mother doing it. So i got G up and the pram and went to intervene.... She stopped as i got closer (of course) and the kid went running. I followed him up the street, and then told him i would walk him home. I thought that would be the best option.

As the whole situation unraveled - it turns out that it was some other kids grandmother that had unleashed hell on this kid (from where i was i could see her standing over him and somehow holding him there, saying things like "your a bully", " you gunna cry, come on cry" and a heap of other things... yelling heaps and heaps"....) - all because this kid and her grand child have been arguing alot lately....

From the childs accounts and other kids that tried to stop her - she had him by the throat at one stage, and was standing on his foot so he couldnt leave (i saw the marks on his foot, but i couldnt see his throat)...

So i walked him home, and explained to his mum what i had seen.... she went to go get this other lady... and there i was standing to the side of a full of yelling match in the next st from home.... The mum was saying that she had no right to touch her child, and if she thought there was a problem to come tell her... anyway - other parents came out and they all said to call the cops (which we did) and the other lady said "i dont care, call them".... so i left my name and address with the mum, and said if i can be of any more help let me know (i was the only adult at the park, and im kicking myself for not standing in sooner).

The dad came to see me this morning, asked me to go and make a statement (which i will) as this lady is leaving for NZ on thursday. The cops have already told him she will be charged but no goal time for it...

I dont have a car still... How am i supposed to make this statement. THe dad said the poor kid had nightmares (no wonder!)...

It was horrifing... It was like nothing i have ever seen before.

OH, and the dad said that the lady has said " i had every right to do what i did!" - BS love.... No one has the right to touch ANY child!

so.... that was my monday afternoon - how was yours?!

Pinkbug
29-05-2007, 08:53
Wow what a morning it was for you!!! mine was LAZZZZZYyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy as had a huge night on Sat night a friends 30th didn't get home til 4am and of course woke up at 8am by my DD1! such is a life as a mum! I let DP sleep in as he works etc I thought I can catch up sleep by going to bed early sunday night..

Monday was just lazying around doing next to nothing! wish mine was more thrilling like urs Bek!

U could always make the statement once J is home??? could u do that?? can it be done after 5pm or whenever J is home?

*Chels*
29-05-2007, 08:54
OK Im a bit lost.The lil boy who was attacked-didnt know this lady?And she was having a go at him coz he bullied her grandchild?

HoopDeeDoo
29-05-2007, 08:56
geez what a cow! Lucky you were there otherwise maybe no one would believe the poor kid. As for the statement, maybe ring the police and see what they say. Wether it's worth going out of your way getting in there? If she's leaving for NZ anyway?

bekkyboo
29-05-2007, 08:57
Im not sure... The dad told me i had to go see a particular detective at a certian station... its only about 15min from home. But it all depends on when J gets home...

Im trying to get in contact with my friend and see if we can go out today - and ill do it then...

Can i ring the station and see if they will come see me?

PB - You can have that thrill! I dont ever want to see a kid treated like that again!

Aquamarine
29-05-2007, 08:57
Wow Bek. That sounds very disturbing. You are doing the right thing by speaking up.

As they say 'Bad things happen when good people do nothing'.

I would want someone to step in if that had been my child. How scary for all involved.

bekkyboo
29-05-2007, 08:58
OK Im a bit lost.The lil boy who was attacked-didnt know this lady?And she was having a go at him coz he bullied her grandchild?
Yeah, the kid didnt know the lady...

Em - the dad wants me to make a statement to be sure the charge sticks - because it has come out now that this lady does this ALOT, and has never been charged for it.

29-05-2007, 08:59
What a nasty nasty old woman :shame: :shame: I would be furious if that was my child! She had NO right to do that to the poor little boy! She could have easily spoken to his parents about the bullying.

Can J take you to make the statement at all Bek?

bekkyboo
29-05-2007, 09:00
Wow Bek. That sounds very disturbing. You are doing the right thing by speaking up.

As they say 'Bad things happen when good people do nothing'.

I would want someone to step in if that had been my child. How scary for all involved.
Yeah, i know... Thats why i am kicking myself for not stepping in sooner... She physically and verbally assulted this poor kid... He is only 7!

Elfin
29-05-2007, 09:00
I would give the detective a call and see if he can come out especially as you don't have a car.

She sounds totally crazy, what an awful thing to happen.

RoarsomeMum
29-05-2007, 09:01
Oh Bek. The world needs more people like you:yes: . Way better to size up thej situation, not put G in danger and still protect that lil boy. You did very bloody well. :hugs: :thumbsup:

bekkyboo
29-05-2007, 09:01
Yeah, i know... Thats why i am kicking myself for not stepping in sooner... She physically and verbally assulted this poor kid... He is only 7!
Krissy - nope :( The ute is a two seater, so with G, we cant go anywhere as a family until i finally get my car... I just sms'd my best mate and im seeing if he will take me... ill wait awhile and then ring the station and see if they will come take my statement from here.

Pinkbug
29-05-2007, 09:07
Im not sure... The dad told me i had to go see a particular detective at a certian station... its only about 15min from home. But it all depends on when J gets home...

Im trying to get in contact with my friend and see if we can go out today - and ill do it then...

Can i ring the station and see if they will come see me?

PB - You can have that thrill! I dont ever want to see a kid treated like that again!

OH OH I didn't mean that thrill I meant to make my morning interesting and NO WAY would I want to see a child like that!!! sorry for not making it clear... its one of those mornings with a cloud on my brain! sorry Bek!

bekkyboo
29-05-2007, 09:11
thats ok! I knew what you meant. I was being silly!

You can take the blue with hubby too - dont want any more of those either!!!! :laughing:

Pinkbug
29-05-2007, 09:19
Uh erhmmm.. me have ur hubby ?? erhmm I am pretty happy with my DP.. we rarely have arguments am pretty lucky... only petty arguments we have is he doesn't pick up or tidy up house...

sorry bek! :laughing:

Ashleigh<3
29-05-2007, 09:20
They should be able to get out to you Bekky!

I can't believe that lady, she is absolutely disgusting. Even if a stranger was hugging my child I'd be a bit weary!

Poor little boy! :(

I hope this lady gets charged and even if she is going back to New Zealand the same law should apply whilst she's there.

bekkyboo
29-05-2007, 09:20
no not take hubby - just the argument!! We rarely argue either... so it was a rather odd afternoon.

Josh
29-05-2007, 14:11
Hi Bekkyboo, I am a mum of 9 and i am always worried about this sought of thing happening to my kids, and it is really hard to step in you dont know if you will be on the receiving end of being assaulted , anyway you have done the right thing, good on ya.:wave:

jodie+family:wave:

JumpingBean
29-05-2007, 14:17
OMG Bekky! What an arvo!
Did you ring the station and see if they can come to you. What at b!tch! She shouldn't be able to keep doing those things. Good on ya for stepping in when you did and telling the parents.

punkbaby
29-05-2007, 14:21
Wow thats crazy!

For the statement though i am sure the police will come to you and get it from you might be easier then

bekkyboo
30-05-2007, 08:04
I rang the det. in charge of the investigation (its becoming bigger and bigger!) and they are going to get back to me about a time to see them... Apparently she will get charged, but nothing more than that... and she is leaving for NZ on thursday... - tomorrow!