View Full Version : So how much...

28-05-2007, 19:18
should babys sleep during the day? :o Mine sleeps all the time unless she wakes for a feed but she is hard to settle at night :rolleyes: Hayley slept like a log the first night I brought her home but Skye will take an hour or 2 to settle and sometimes have to give her more milk (I bottle feed) so that she goes to sleep and bring her into our bed (which I don't mind so much as she is only 2 weeks old but I don't want to make a habit of it). So how much sleep should she be having and how often should she be feeding (atm she is feeding about every 3 to 5 hours). Should I wake her for a feed or should I just leave her sleep? I am so confused. :confused:

28-05-2007, 19:29
3-5 hourly feeds is perfect, they will tend to sleep alot too in the early days/weeks!

camille
29-05-2007, 06:29
Should I wake her for a feed or should I just leave her sleep? I am so confused. :confused:

Never wake a sleeping baby!! (thats just my thought anyway). With my first bub, I was always so worried about waking her so she could feed, but now (on my 3rd bub) I just let them sleep as long as they want. I figure if they are hungry they will wake up, otherwise they must be needing their sleep!

Sheer Bliss
29-05-2007, 06:37
Sounds like she is doing perfectly! 3-5hrly feeds is great, and at 2 weeks, so is sleeping all the time! Nick has only just started to have awake times the last few weeks, and he is 6 1/2weeks. We had to wake him to begin with as he was premmie, and wouldn't wake himself & it was important for him to gain weight. But now he is getting to be a porker - so i leave him! The last 2 nights he has slept from 9:30-2:30 :yelclap: and i am loving it! There is no way i'd wake him now that he is healthy.

twitch
29-05-2007, 10:10
Never wake a sleeping baby!! (thats just my thought anyway). With my first bub, I was always so worried about waking her so she could feed, but now (on my 3rd bub) I just let them sleep as long as they want. I figure if they are hungry they will wake up, otherwise they must be needing their sleep!

Thanks Camille, for the first 2 weeks I woke Annalise if she slept through a feed as it was what the middies told me to do but now I agree with you, let sleeping babies lie!

Annalise sleeps for 3 hours between feeds during the day and around 4-5 hours at night so I reckon Skye is doing great mum2bubbba. Congrats too btw!

SammiJane
29-05-2007, 11:29
I have never woken Jacob for a feed, just let him sleep.
Even when i was in hospital the middies/nurses took him and he slept for 6 hours for them and never once come and woke me or anything.
As others have said they will wake when they are hungry.

30-05-2007, 15:09
Thanks everyone, I never woke Hayley up and she slept 7 hours the first night home, I was just a little unsure thats all. Skye is sleeping a bit better at night, the past few nights she has slept 5 and a half hours in a row which might not seem that long but when you have a newborn its heaps of time, in the hospital I was told to wake Skye up after 5 hours if she hasn't woken already but I just think that if she is hungry then she will let me know. Thanks again.

30-05-2007, 18:47
I don't wake Ebony now. We had to wake her for the first few weeks as she was jaundiced and needed feeding every 3-4 hours and because she was born a bit early both making her very sleepy that she would just not wake for a feed at all!