View Full Version : What have you brought and where are the sales
Well I was thinking as I was going though the stuff I brought today that it would be good to have a thread where everyone could put down what they have brought for bubs and where the deals and sales are
I thought it might help the ones starting out with their first, i'm not a first time mum but i'm starting out again with the buying, and i'm having memory blocks with what i need some days lol
sooooooooo
what has eveyone brought and where are the sales lol
Today I brought a lovely purple polarfleece blanket, a purple 3 peice polerfleece and cotton outfit and a cute toy that clips onto a pram or something oh and 2 maternity bras that were $7 each,
25-05-2007, 04:51 PM
I just picked up our new pram a Phil and ted. I also got a baby monitor we didn't need one in our old house but we do here. Thats about it.
Pebbles
25-05-2007, 05:22 PM
I bought a Snoopy Pram today, Toys R Us is having a great sale.
I havent really bought much stuff but now I know I am having a little boy I will be buying heaps more!
AnD05
25-05-2007, 06:12 PM
Great thread:thumbsup: !!
After our scan last Friday we went searching for some lovely blue things! I got a couple of jumpsuit thingys from target as the were reduced plus they had 30% off! We also bought an Angelcare Sound and Movement monitor from there as they had 30% of monitors! I was very pleased with myself!!
Then we visited Toys'R'Us - they have great sales don't they!! We got a cot set with a quilt and 2 sets of sheets for 1/3 of the orig price and lots of little outfits that were half price!
Ummm that's it so far....
A
claraduck
25-05-2007, 08:22 PM
Ebay and other websites are great for bargains. I got a new Kidsline 6 piece cot set for $95 which normally sells at $160 and the matching lamp less than half price. Today I ordered a bassinet from pramwarehouseonline for $130 which normally sells for about $180. Dealsdirect.com.au also have good discounts on well known baby brands.
I love shopping around for a bargain!
Claire
erinp
26-05-2007, 11:02 AM
This is a cool thread, and definitely useful for us first-timers (thanks Jo :) ). So far we haven't bought much but my mum and both mine and DH's grandmothers have got big collections of stuff happening. Plus we can't buy pink or blue things since we won't be finding out and soooo much of what is in the shops is very gender specific, guess cause most ppl find out these days.
The online suggestions are really great too, esp since it looks like most girls on this thread are from other states (I'm in Sydney). Thanks guys!
zenifa
09-06-2007, 06:41 PM
Well I have bought some clothes yesterday at Target as they had 25-30% off most babies and children's clothing including sleepwear, bodysuits etc.
luckie_me
11-06-2007, 01:44 PM
I got some of those short sleve rompers from target $3.50 each! Bargain!
Also got a new baby bag from target $37
and the Cot they had on for 50% off.. I got a secondhand one given to me for Jackson and Im not sure of it lasting out 2 children. So Give Jackson this new cot. Til hes 2... buy that time other bub will be 7 months can have the new cot!!!
sam's mum
11-06-2007, 01:58 PM
I don't need to get much this time - pretty much just another car seat and probably a double pram.
Last time I loved ebay for clothes. Especially the little stuff you get huge bags for not much money.
Target is good because they have a baby sale every 4 to 6 weeks, they go on a cycle. so if you see something, wait for the sale.
Mammy
12-06-2007, 12:53 PM
I got a beautiful sleigh cot at the Toys R Us sale, reduced from $800 to $400, bargin!
kitty1kat
14-06-2007, 06:30 AM
OK, don't laugh at me, but I have pretty much finished all my baby shopping! I based my shopping on a combined list that my group of friends has been passing around for the past few years - it was very helpful!
Kiddie Country
Leander cot, mattress and mattress protectors
Pram Mountain buggy designer
Bassinette for pram Mountain buggy
Pram UV cover Mountain buggy
Pram rain cover Mountain buggy
lambswool baby rug for pram
Baby bath and stand - Infa
Bath mat/stabiliser thing - terry towling one
1 pack flannel wraps large size
4 muslin face washers
1 pack muslin wraps large size
Porta cot Babylove 3 in 1
Porta cot additional mattress Babylove
Window Sox
Bottle steriliser AVENT Express Microwave Steam Steraliser
Bottles AVENT Newborn Starter Kit
Angelcare Sound & Movement Baby monitor
Safe n Sound Meridien car seatTarget
Tap protectors Safety 1st
Water temp guage Safety 1st
Baby Thermometer
Vaseline / pawpaw cream
Baby nail clippers or scissorsIkea
White nappy bin
Malm chest of drawers (matches my new cot!)
White plastic highchair (everyone raves about this highchair, it's the one thing EVERYONE seems to agree on!)Supermarket
Nappy bin bags
Nappies (have started stockpiling the biodegradable ones)
Baby wipes - Dove/swifters
Travel baby wipes - J&J
2 x Zinc/castor oil cream for nappy rash Sudocreme
DummiesTSL (discount bonds place, also online)
3 dresses 000 Bonds
2 one piece suits 000 Bonds
4 socks Bonds
4 long sleeve spencer Bonds
4 singlets Bonds
2 leggings with feet in them Bonds
2 suits with long arms, no legs Bonds
1 warm top does up at front 00 BondsPriceline
Maternity pads Libra
Breast pads Pigeon Premium Disposable
Nipple cream Lasinoh
Baby Panadol
Baby BongellaHowards Storage World
Smart white tin bucket with a lid for soaking dirty smelly clothes! Totally overpriced, could have bought a plastic one, but couldn't resist!Things I am hiring
Car capsule seat
Medela Double Select Electric breast pump
Things I might get as a present (so on the list, but not bought yet!)
Mustela baby oils, shampoo, bath wash, talcum power etc
Storksit change bag
Mobile
Bibs
Bouncer
Play matThings that I am choosing in two different colour schemes and then Mum is going to buy the right ones when I am in hospital (to get around the problem that you metnioned erinp about the colours!
Towels (including hooded)
3 cot sheet sets
Blanket
Clothes hamper
Mammy
14-06-2007, 02:42 PM
Wow, your organised Kitty Kat. You've given me some ideas with your list, thanks.
AnD05
16-06-2007, 03:52 PM
Wow Kitty Kat you are one organised mummy! Well done!!:thumbsup:
MooMoo - I think I have the same cot as you, I saw it in the catalogue last year but missed out when they were on sale. Then I kept my eye out and my MIL bought us one when they next came up! I love the sleigh look!
Ive bought a 'farm friends' cot set - seemed appropriate considering DH was a dairy farmer and his family have owned a farm your donkeys years! And am looking at buying some of those removable stickers for the walls too in the farm animals theme. I don't want to go overboard with the theme so that will prob be it. My gf is then going to paint some canvases for me to match the colours more so than the theme.
Enough:ecomcity: from me
A
Mammy
16-06-2007, 04:52 PM
AnD05, i love my sleigh cot, what a bargain!
Can you tell me where to buy some of those removable stickers from? We're renting at the moment and cant paint or do anything to jazz up the nursery. Thanks.
AnD05
16-06-2007, 05:41 PM
MooMoo - I just search on ebay - type in 'removable wall stickers' and you get heaps! Ive also seen them in an advertisment in the Preg&Birth mags towards the back. Let me know how you go!
A
16-06-2007, 05:48 PM
KittyKat - you did get the best highchair! We did have one that had all the frills ect, just more places for food to get stuck. Pain in the you know what to clean.
wow Kittykat man your organised, I havn't even got a quarter of all that lol,
I did buy a kapoochi nappy bag the other day, I got the backpack one, I got it cause its small enough for small trips out and about, it has straps to use it at a back pack, or you can just have it as a shoulder bag, I have the sactual(sp) already, and love that, so thought I would just get another hehehehe
michblb
17-06-2007, 05:37 PM
OMG KittyKat - I thought I was organised until I read your list! DH got cranky at me the other day for buying too much (as he reckons there won't be anything left for people to buy presents), good idea leaving some things on your list for others!!
Have major things like cot, portacot, baby chair for car, play gym, change table, clothes etc.
Pram, steraliser, baby carrier and nappy bag are the big ticket items left on my list, along with lots of small ones like dummies.
I also put this on the June chat thread but for those of us in Sydney, DJs is offering 15% off full price prams/furniture at various stores when they have a baby expo on throughout June/July. All the details are on their website - not sure about other states though. If you're thinking of the bugaboo, might be a good opportunity!
Pebbles
18-06-2007, 10:53 AM
Wow KittyKat you are very organised. I have a list too but I havent bought much on it yet! I am having a baby shower though and my DH is from a big Italian family so I prob should leave alot of the stuff on the list for people to buy as presants.
Removable stickers is a great idea, I am renting too so I might have a look!
well I still havn't brought anything since my nappy bag lol
i'm starting to panic, we've got no cot, no carseat, no sets of draws, no nothing just about, and we've only got 3mths to go, and this mth can't really shop cause we're shifting, so that only leaves 2mths to source stuff and find the money to buy it, this is so frustrating :banghead:
where can i get a cheap set of draws from? anyone know?
saremc
01-07-2007, 08:49 PM
I love the idea of the new thread i a first timer and only have a rough idea although i worked at Target for a while and they have great sales, ToyRus are supposed to be great as well and the bonds wholesalers have cheep jumsuits and things other than that im a bit done.
Roxy76
01-07-2007, 09:27 PM
i'm starting to panic, we've got no cot, no carseat, no sets of draws, no nothing just about, and we've only got 3mths to go, and this mth can't really shop cause we're shifting, so that only leaves 2mths to source stuff and find the money to buy it, this is so frustrating :banghead:
have a look on ebay!!
LiL'Muggos
02-07-2007, 08:43 AM
What about A- Mart?
have a look on ebay!!
had a look on ebay and there is nothing there :banghead: will keep looking though :yes:
i'll go have a look at amart in the weekend,
kitty1kat
03-07-2007, 08:06 PM
i bought mine at ikea...
i've decided that i'm going to just get a second hand set of draws or one that is brand new and MDF, and i'm going to paint them, the same colour as the cot, or maybe not lol, i'll paint them anyways
well on thurs I put a carseat on layby at Target along with a cot mattress
i'm not sure if I like the car seat now lol, its a convertable one by safe and sound, its the gardian one, after putting it on layby I thought to myself, it looks too big for a little bubba, and doesn't look as comfy as a capsual for a new born, i'll keep thinking about it, I might pay it off and buy another one instead
ems24
09-07-2007, 08:15 PM
was wondering what are the prices over there for baby stuff ect i know there ebay but any shops as when we come over im going to need alot of things for my DD and DS
i'm not sure what shops there are down south but here in QLD we have
Ikea, Amart, Babies galore, baby co, ummmmm not sure what else, actually i'm having a memory blank cause I know there is another one something to do with prams :yes:
anyways Myer, Target, Kmart, BigW all sell baby stuff as well
ems24
09-07-2007, 08:45 PM
cool ikea glad you lot got one of them lol can buy a bed now as there was no pint in us bringing our one as it was falling to bits lol
do oyu have like an asda? or wallwerths?
claraduck
10-07-2007, 08:01 AM
Hi Emma
I'm from the Uk and have lived here almost two years,I'm having my 3rd baby here in Australia. My others were born in England. It has taken me a while to find out where to buy baby things and where the good deals are. There is no Asda .There is Woolworths but is a supermarket. Big W is very much like the English Woolworths though. Pumpkin Patch is similar to Next in style and there is Cotton on Kids that do good quality clothes.Target is one of my favourites and they have fantastic sales. Myer is a department store similar to Debenhams,they have good sales too. There is also Toys R Us here which is good for nursery stuff,again,great sales.
You won't have any problems finding what you need! Good luck with the big move,I know how stressful the waiting can be at times.
Claire
ems24
10-07-2007, 06:23 PM
claire:- cool thats fab sham no asda ill miss shopping there hehehe
cool great a toys r us
will defo cheack out target lol now all i have to do is get out there and find them all lmao
and congrats on the 3rd preg haw old the other two? boys or girls or one of each?
thank you for ur post clair it has helped me alot lol
Hi Emma
I'm from the Uk and have lived here almost two years,I'm having my 3rd baby here in Australia. My others were born in England. It has taken me a while to find out where to buy baby things and where the good deals are. There is no Asda .There is Woolworths but is a supermarket. Big W is very much like the English Woolworths though. Pumpkin Patch is similar to Next in style and there is Cotton on Kids that do good quality clothes.Target is one of my favourites and they have fantastic sales. Myer is a department store similar to Debenhams,they have good sales too. There is also Toys R Us here which is good for nursery stuff,again,great sales.
You won't have any problems finding what you need! Good luck with the big move,I know how stressful the waiting can be at times.
Claire
Has anyone brought baby bottles?
i'm going to be breast feeding, but I will be doing the odd expressing so I can have a break,
so just wondering what bottles are the best? I used Avent bottles for DS2 but that was only cause they were the only wide neck bottles I could get in NZ at the time, now that i'm here in OZ there is so much more of a sellection, so what kind are the best?
Mammy
27-07-2007, 10:51 PM
I bought some Dr Browns bottles at the preg expo in brissie. A few mums there were raving about them. They've got the anti colic device thingy inserted and one mum said her bub never got colic.
I think you can get them in toys r us, probably other places too.
thompsmusic
03-08-2007, 08:56 PM
I Fancied Buying SomeThing New And Different For My Daughter And heard That A Company Called ANGELS MODA PER ******* Were Good Cos They Sell Exclusive Items From The Big Brands, So I Went On There Website & FOund They Were Having A Half Price Sale, lol (Luck!) And I Got A Few Nice Dresses And Skirts For Her..Delivered Next Day Aswell Great!..
Any1 Know Of Any Other Great Websites For Nice Girls Clothes?? Would Be Muchly Appreciated!
Kind Regards
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.