View Full Version : Woolies and spew!!!

25-05-2007, 12:46
Okay surely I am not the only person that uses cloth nappies with reflux. Here is my problem though - everytime I put a soaker etc onto Isla she vomits all over it, I wipe it up straight away but by the end of the day the soaker needs to be washed again. Any suggestions on what to do??

jembelina
25-05-2007, 14:26
nope no suggestions just sympathy! I have a happy chucker and I have been known to change many a nappy because it is soaked in vomit rather than wee - what a waste lol!! I am starting to knit my own soakers so I can afford to have quite alot of them so it doesn't matter too much about having to wash them every time.
Just for the record - toiday is an especially bad vomit day - it is really bugging me!!

25-05-2007, 14:29
toiday is an especially bad vomit day - it is really bugging me!!

Must be something in the weather eh;) Today is shocking for me too:gloomy:

25-05-2007, 14:39
See now, I looove wool- but if Ariene had been a chucky bub I would have stuck to pul covers for a while (with day clothes over the top in winter). Still lots of washing, as there always is with a reflux bub, but less wool to re-lanolise and wait for it to dry etc..
Oh but longies are just so cute! Sorry, not much help here!

25-05-2007, 14:45
Oh but longies are just so cute! Sorry, not much help here!

lol that's the problem I am having:p

jembelina
25-05-2007, 14:51
I'm just about to go and buy some wool to make a pair of longies - sadly I can see myself having to wash them two minutes after I put then on!

~Kimba~
26-05-2007, 20:13
lol that's the problem I am having:p

kind of defeats the purpose of woollies but if it's just the knitted woolly cuteness you're after, maybe you could use a PUL wrap under acrylic longies? they'd wash easily and dry fast...

26-05-2007, 20:16
kind of defeats the purpose of woollies but if it's just the knitted woolly cuteness you're after, maybe you could use a PUL wrap under acrylic longies? they'd wash easily and dry fast...

That's a really good idea - do you wash acrylic the same as you would merino?

~Kimba~
26-05-2007, 20:18
I actually think you can machine wash acrylic on a gentle/ wool cycle? - someone correct me if I'm wrong!

I do know that acrylic dries heaps faster than pure wool :yes: and you also don't have to worry about felting.

26-05-2007, 20:56
....and apparently, longies/soaker's/shorties etc made from synthetic material work just like a MM fleece cover- so you can use it over a fitted, and it will be water resistant, but it just needs a wash instead of air out afterwards.. but further investigation required!

26-05-2007, 20:58
....and apparently, longies/soaker's/shorties etc made from synthetic material work just like a MM fleece cover- so you can use it over a fitted, and it will be water resistant, but it just needs a wash instead of air out afterwards.. but further investigation required!

Any suggestions on who to ask about that???????

26-05-2007, 21:29
Nup :p :D

Heard it from another bubhubber... Kymmy?? Em?? I think it was Em (Hoop). I love passing the buck! :D

28-05-2007, 13:58

Acrylic has been known just like fleece. Maybe easier in Isla's case as you can just wash it with the nappies or clothes.

28-05-2007, 14:06
tinybirds (http://www.birdcrossstitch.com/organicwool/woolpants.html)
This is the longies pattern. if you stroll down it talks about using acrylic - there is links to a good page but its not there now :confused: :detective:
You could also use fleece pants whihc would be easy enough to sew up for you OM?