View Full Version : What to stuff a pocket nappy with?
I am brand new to cloth nappies..dont know if I will like it, but going to give it a go after seeing how many nappies per day I am putting in the bin because I have 2 kids in nappies and its quite a shock.
Anyways, with a pocket nappy, what do you stuff it with? Do you stuff it with a prefold or something? Its just I am looking at some items and a pocket nappy is for sale without an insert and I just didnt know what I have to buy with it.
Thanks..
24-05-2007, 12:38
Hi I am new to all this too and would reccomend a Haute... I used mine this morning and it comes with a microfleece booster thingy which has a snap on smaller on. I just used the smaller on by itself as my bub is just 5 weeks old and she slept for a good 4 hrs and I was so suprised! No leaks or anything, the insert was soaked when I took it out the pocket but the nappy felt dry inside!! :thumbsup: I only changed it cos she pooped lol!!
I've got 3 Hautes and 3 Bumgenius
they both came with inserts. I've used them for 2 weeks now and haven't had a single leak!!
I reccomend buying a pocket which comes with an insert (like the Hautes, and Bumgenius) as then you can use them with your other pockets once you get them.
You can stuff the pocket with Microfibre cleaning cloths, cut up terry nappies, prefolds, boosters of any type, face washers...Or you can buy specially designed inserts from Darlings Downunder, Green Kids, the Wee Wuns, Nuture Nappies
Its basically between you and your budget :thumbsup:
mumofKieran
24-05-2007, 13:11
I've got 3 Hautes and 3 Bumgenius
they both came with inserts. I've used them for 2 weeks now and haven't had a single leak!!
I reccomend buying a pocket which comes with an insert (like the Hautes, and Bumgenius) as then you can use them with your other pockets once you get them.
You can stuff the pocket with Microfibre cleaning cloths, cut up terry nappies, prefolds, boosters of any type, face washers...Or you can buy specially designed inserts from Darlings Downunder, Green Kids, the Wee Wuns, Nuture Nappies
Its basically between you and your budget :thumbsup:
So which do you like better, the Haute or the bumGenius? Which is trimmer, more absorbant?
I like the Haute for naps and times of the day when they wet more heavily as I can put the 2 snap-ins in and have the larger absorbancy.
But the Bumgenius seem to be a slimmer fit, and still last for a few hours (3+) :thumbsup:
Having the twins I've got both in use all the time, and to be honest I haven't noticed much difference in performance. The only difference would be that the Bumgenius looks more like a sposie under clothes as it's slimmer.
But the Haute gives you two snap-in's so a great first pocket as you can use the inserts for other nappies too :thumbsup:
ETA: You could get one of each :) Or buy a package of 3 (that's what I did) from Darlings Downunder
ETA AGAIN: Just a note... I just changed the boys. They both had Bubgenius on... and they've been in them since 10 am (don't ask... MIL is here and she was watching them....) Anyhow... they were both dry as a summer's day, no leaks. The inserts were wet, but the bubs were not
Excellent. Thanks for that. I have so many terry nappies that I was going to use as spew rags and lots of microfibre cloths. If you were going to stuff them with a say face washer or cloth, how many face washers would u stuff in there?
Thanks heaps mate
SassyMummy
24-05-2007, 14:40
I prefer specially-designed pocket-stuffers, rather than the "home-made" ones. I like hemp and bamboo... they work better than a cut-up terry cloth IMO.
I usually purchase the insert which is designed for that particular nappy... and then add a microfibre cleaning cloth (you can buy those from the $2 shop, or Woolies, etc).
I love pockets more than the other types of nappies... I like my Swaddlebees because they're super-trim, but they're a bit expensive so I leave them for when we're going out.
I also like PeaPods which are really cheap, but I find they work fabulously. They just don't look as nice as other brands...
My Happy Heiny is great too.
Thankyou I will look up those other brands.
GraceUnhearing
24-05-2007, 16:05
hemp and bamboo are great stuffers!
micro fibre works well when you put the hemp or bamboo behind in
so the micro fibre 'grab' the wee as it come out and then soaks into the hemp or bamboo.
My favourite inserts are the cottonbabies microfibre inserts. I stuff my GK with them and all my other pockets no leaks even after a big pooplosion this morning!!
GK hourglass insert are perfect for GK antimes or funtimes.
Don't cut up all your terrys though! Coz they are still extremely useful when it's wet weather or you're going through a 'teething poo' or diarrhea phase.
I love my terrys with Bummis covers. :thumbsup:
(But I have to say, I love my pockets better.. I just don't have enough to have the boys in them every day... as it is the dryer is going now so they can take them to kindy tomorrow) :rolleyes:
Sheer Bliss
24-05-2007, 20:24
I would definately invest in a few bamboo/hemp inserts from some of the nappy shops. We have used a few dif types on DS, and nothing is as good as bamboo. He is a heavy wetter, so terry & washers are not enough, you have to stuff the pocket so full he looks like a sumowrestler. Bamboo fold-ups from baby beehinds are a fave.