View Full Version : Cloth Nappy Evangelists!!!

OJandMe
23-05-2007, 20:23
I've been reading a lot of "I'm going to convert my friends/sisters/mothers groups/childcare ppl to cloth."

So I thought I'd made us a thread where we could post our cloth evangelisms! :D

So far I have.
1) convinced the receptionist at our doctors surgery that cloth nappies are the PERFECT baby shower gift. They are unique, useable, usfeul and you can get some REALLY cute ones (like Starbunz or GK funtimes) (Showed her the Darlings Downunder website and she agrees and has it bookmarked)

2) I sent the boys in pockets to day care on Tuesday and all the workers were amazed at how EASY they are to use, they even had a favourite nappy.

3) Told everyone I know :o

What are YOU doing to add to the 'society' LMAO..??

:smiliedance: Let's go ladies! We can have a cloth revolution!

mumofKieran
23-05-2007, 20:28
Well the first and hardest conversion I had was to convert my DP, he was so against it and said I 'would not cope with the extra washing, we could not afford it, and bub would have nappy rash constantly'!!! Now he is totally converted and even tells others how great they are. I have also got 2 mothers at Playgroup onto them and they are about to purchase some (or may have already). And one of my best friends, who is about to have a baby!!

Mummy2Amelia
23-05-2007, 20:33
Well, I think I "converted" Krsity (three.sweet.peas) LOL:laughing: but I'm not sure, I personally think she has always had an interest after seeing my gorgeous girl's cute clothie butt;) :laughing:

Mummy2Amelia
23-05-2007, 20:37
Forgot to add...I also tried to inform an online mothers group that I am with, i gave them heaps of info and all the pro's of cloth nappies but I was blasted at big time:gloomy: :mad: i just sat there laughing my *** off at the people telling me "it's too hard" "i do enough washing as it is" or "i have 5 kids, i don't have the time to wash nappies" hahahaha:shame:
oh well, i tried.

23-05-2007, 20:38
I have no clue how many ppl I have converted directly or indirectly but I reckon I could safely say at least 20.

Gumby
23-05-2007, 20:43
I have conerted 1 who was VERY against using cloth nappies because she hated washing. She now has more than me.
I have converted my sis to cloth pads even though we dont have any yet....lol

SassyMummy
23-05-2007, 21:14
I haven't converted anyone because I don't really know anyone IRL with kids in nappies!

I've already got it in my mind though, that as soon as anyone invites me to their babyshower (if I like them enough to spend a decent amount on them...lol), there will be a few MCNs in there (probably Pockets, I like them best! lol).

I actually don't really want to convert anyone though... nappies are hard enough to get as it is!

*Sal*
23-05-2007, 22:27
I'm new-ish at a playgroup with several pregnant mums, and I always take AGES changing my DD, hoping they will walk into the change room and go "Wow".

:o Can you tell I'm shy? :o

I really want to convert someone. My SIL has a newborn and will not convert under any circumstances, except if I wash them for her - yeah right-oh!

Mummy2Amelia
24-05-2007, 07:24
Sal - hahahaha:laughing: funny you mention that...when my DD was at swimming lessons (we are stopping over winter) I used to slowly undress her in the change rooms, hoping someone would look and comment...people would look, but not comment, oh well.. lol

OJandMe
24-05-2007, 07:28
*patiently wating for my StarDust GK to arrive (courtesy of bossoflatch) so all the workers at kindy can 'ooh and ahh' and ask me about it*

Jazuli
24-05-2007, 08:26
I tried to convert my SIL. I have made three fitteds for her, MIL was changing him the other day and i asked if i could try them on him to see how they fit. She grudgingly agreed and no sooner did i have the velcro done up she was telling me to take it off, its too bulky, she said i will have to learn to make them smaller. What does she expect,to be as thin as a new sposie. So anyway i cant see SIL using them with MIL in her ear telling her theyre not right. Thats their problem i figure, if they dont want to save some cash then that is their decision.

OJandMe
25-05-2007, 07:50
Well the boys have taken the one GK to kindy today in order inspire the other mums to switch... I can't wait to hear the comments they have for me when I go to pick them up.. :thumbsup:

tybella
25-05-2007, 08:06
Well you guys have converted me lol. All of you. I used to think no way would I even give it a try. Now I am about to try and am very excited.

Hubby says there is no way I am going to cope with the washing. We had an arguement about it last night but I told him I am the main care giver and I do all the housework and I am the one who changes the bums, so its my choice.

And if I like them I will get my SIL onto them. She is 10 weeks pregnant.

Jodiee
25-05-2007, 08:19
Raz, you'll love them, I dont find it much more washing, but I dont do an extra load, I rinse, and then toss in with the other clothes.

Lillipilli, tell your MIL that they couldnt possibly be as bulky as a full sposie, omg, they can get huge and bulky as between the legs!

I havent converted anyone yet, its all too hard, but, Im satisfied in my own little mcn world down here.. lol..

ThreePinkFaireez
25-05-2007, 09:11
BubHub and Angelmist converted me.... I in turn have converted atleast 2 people, and in the process of another lol... she's 20 weeks preg and is going to call on me when she takes the plunge... and then I'll have to call on BH to give her the best advice lol....

OJandMe
25-05-2007, 09:27
Hubby says there is no way I am going to cope with the washing. We had an arguement about it last night but I told him I am the main care giver and I do all the housework and I am the one who changes the bums, so its my choice.

Hehe.. that's what DH said to me.

But honestly I don't find the washing a pain at all!

I wash the nappies at the end of the boys day.

So after their bath, while they are sitting and watching a video I go and put the nappies in the machine. Then by the time bedtime ritual is over, and I've had a cup of tea all the nappies are done :thumbsup: I hang them on a clothes airer and they half dry overnight, then I hang them outside in the sun when I do the 'household laundry' in the morning :yes: (or I just throw them in the basket once the other wash is clean and let DH hang out the lot :thumbsup:

becstar
25-05-2007, 09:42
I have converted at least two people from my online mothers group and the three of us are now working on some others...lol.

I have also converted a friend from my real mothers group who is currently pregnant with her third. And I have another pregnant friend very interested....

MY ECHN was also totally excited by MCN and wrote down some websites to pass on to people....

BEc