View Full Version : Nuchal Translucency scan

shed
10-01-2006, 10:58 AM
Are any other August mums going for the Nuchal scan? I wasn't going to but my partner wants to find out so after shopping around and finding an U/S place that bulk bills I have to cancel that appointment and have made an appointment at another place that does the nuchal scan for $265!!

The main reason is that I am 36 and the risk goes up after 35. I have to go for blood tests first and they put the scan results, my age and the blood results into some software and come up with a risk factor.

What a rigmarole.

littlepickle
10-01-2006, 12:03 PM
Hi Shed,

I am booked in for the NT scan on the 24th, I will be a few days short of 13 weeks then.
I too am going to shop around to see f I can find anywhere in Brisbane that bulk bills, as I believe that I have to pay at the place that I am currently booked into. I heard that you dont get anything back from medicare either!!
I am not having the blood tests with my NT scan, obs said that as I am not in the risk category we will just have the can for now and leave it at that.
As I said in the Aug thread, the main reason for the scan is mainly because DH wants to be able to see bub

shed
10-01-2006, 12:23 PM
You don't need the nuchal scan if its just to see the baby, you only need the normal ultrasound scan for that.

The nuchal scan is to screen for Downs syndrome as the nuchal fold at the back of the neck is thicker in foetuses with an extra chromosome 21 (Downs Syndrome). The scan shows this and the blood test shows the amount of some protein in the blood (or something) which is another sign Downs, which is why they're done together.

Are you sure its the nuchal one you're getting?

redbaby
10-01-2006, 12:43 PM
we are getting the nuchal scan and the blood test,.... we had them both last time aswell,..not really sure why we are bothering this time though,..hmmm

Lunar
10-01-2006, 01:28 PM
Shed, just to give you some idea without having the NT scan your chances of having a baby with ds is less than 1 in 450. Thats is pretty low when you think of it as you have 449 chances of having a baby without ds. The NT scan is the safest of all tests but isn't 100%- nothing is unfortunately. I guess you just have to have faith in mother nature giving you no more than you can handle.
As for the cost of the scan, I know that most places in NSW charge for it as it is not a neccessary scan, it is only optional, only if you have had past pregnancies or family history of ds then medicare pays for it.

littlepickle
10-01-2006, 01:41 PM
Hi Shed

I do know what the nuchal scan is, I have been reading up a lot on it, but my obs doesnt want to do the bloods yet, he said he will have a look at the scan and we can make a decision as to the bloods after that. It is the Nuchal scan that I am having - or a Nuchal Translucency assessment as is stated on the referral form.
What happened is, I wanted the NT scan and OB thought I dont need it, so has agreed on the scan and will do the bloods later to give me more time to think about it. He doesnt seem to like NT scans as he says they are innacurate and cause a lot of undue worry - he described the results as no more than a bookies odds on the chance of downs

shed
10-01-2006, 03:27 PM
Littlepickle,

Oh I understand now. Actually that's not a bad idea. I might do that too!! Just get the scan and get the blood done later if necessary.

I don't really want the scan, I wasn't going to get it at all, but my partner wants it and its his baby too so I will get it done. Its not like I am totally against it or anything, I just wasn't going to get it done for myself and the more I thought about it the more I realised that I needed to make the decision soon or it would be too late to get the scan.

I'm just afraid of having the wind put up me for no reason.

Fairyfloss
10-01-2006, 03:37 PM
Do we do the Nuchal scan at 12 weeks, I know, that my doctor said i will be having a check for d/s do you think she meant the scan, will I be too late if I don't ask her now?

littlepickle
10-01-2006, 03:46 PM
Hi Parisa

Apparently the NT scan is done between 11 and 13 weeks. Other than that, the amnio can be done at a leter date as well, but thats a test that I guess you would only take if the nt scan came back with anything as it can be a little risky.

Shed,
yeah, I am kinda just sitting on the fence at the moment in regards to the whole NT scan thing, so have decided to have the scan to keep my options open incase I do want the bloods later on plus of course it means that DH gets to see bub. Having said that though, the NT scan isnt cheap either - so an expensive way for him to see bub!!!
Whan have you got your scan?

Lou
10-01-2006, 03:53 PM
Littlepickle - I'm booked in to have mine done on the 24th as well! Even though I will be just over 13 wks by then. Even though I'm like you and am already classed as low risk because of my age, DH and I decided that we would get it done anyway. But I guess everyone has their own personal opinion about this and alot of people wouldn't bother getting it done. And as you said, its a good opportunity for DH to see bubs as well

watermelon
10-01-2006, 07:40 PM
Hi, Congratulations on your pregnancy. I have a little girl who is almost 6 months old.

I had the both NT scan and the blood work done at 13 weeks during my pregnancy as I was 34 at the time. I' m a medical scientist so have a bit of a background in the blood test side of things.

These particular blood tests must be done at 12-13 weeks as they test for levels of specific proteins are are present in the blood at that specific time of pregnancy. (I won't bore you with any of the scientific jargon). You can't do these specific blood tests at any other time. The reason they do the combination of both the NT ultrasound (which is simply a takes a measurement of the thickness of the nuchal part of the baby's neck) and the blood tests is that it provides a more accurate estimate of the changes of the baby having chromosomal abnormalities (ie Down's and other more rare conditi.ons). The scan alone is about 80% accurate whereas if you combine it the the results of the blood tests the accuracy goes up to about 90%. Even with both results combined there is a chance that there could still be abnormalities but it gives you a better idea of your particular risk of having abnormalities, and may help you decide whether to go on to have the amnio. For eg. at my age the risk of Down's is about 1 in 400 but when I had the scan and the bloods done they could tell me that my particular risk was about 1 in 6000 which made me feel a lot more confident. I felt confident enough to not have an amnio based on those results, as the risk of a MC after amnio is about 1 in 300.

I know there are slight risks associated with having ultrasounds but I ended up having 4 during my pregnancy as I did have some complications - everything turned out fine.

I hope this info helps you, best of luck with your pregnancy.:)

Me (34)
DH (34)
DD (20/7/05)

shed
11-01-2006, 09:17 AM
Mine is booked for next Thursday at Liverpool and is costing $265.

So, watermelon, we really need to get the blood done now if we want it done or it will be too late? Might as well then I suppose. 80% is better than 90% and I am 36. If I was under 35 I wouldn't have it done at all.

I told my partner last night that I had booked in for it and he said "I thought we weren't getting that?"

Oh man!! anyway, blah blah blah we have decided to go ahead with the blimmen thing.

He wanted to ask this person and that person their opinion and he kept asking what the doctor said. I kept trying to get through to him that no one gives you their opinion they always say "its up to you".

Besides which, I don't give s sh*t what so-and-so says because its not their precious baby is it, its ours.

I just keep thinking, there's only a one in 490 or whatever chance, but what if WE are number 490?? That's what makes me so scared.

shed
11-01-2006, 09:18 AM
I MEANT to say 90% is better than 80%.

Where is my brain? Has anyone seen my brain?

littlepickle
11-01-2006, 09:47 AM
Shed, good luck Thursday with your NT scan, it will be great for you and your dh to get to see ub together for the first time. You are right on not listening to other people opinions, there are a lot of different opinions out there but it is your bub, nobody elses!! Anyway, enjoy!!
ps. I reckon you can market that chair you sit on at work as some sort of lucky fertility chair!! Well I am sure everyone will be saying that when you announce your pregnancy! heheh

Watermelon, what you said makes sense, and now it all seems a whole lot clearer. I guess my ob is not sending me for the bloods as well as I am not in the age risk group, so I guess he thinks 80% is good enough, So, I am happy with that;)

Lou
11-01-2006, 10:19 AM
I just called a different place to see if they could get me in any sooner that the other one and now I'm having mine done on Monday. Yeah! I will be exactly 12wks then, which makes me feel a bit better. And also I dont have to wait another week to see bub! Good luck with your's next Thursday Shed (and littlepickle on the 24th) :D

littlepickle
11-01-2006, 11:07 AM
Thanks Lou,
I may ring around myself to see if A) I can get in any earlier and B)if I can find someone who bulk bills. $220 seems lika a lot of money, and thats what they are charging on Astor terrace in Brisbane! Eeeek, I dont think you can even claim anything back from medicare!

Lunar
11-01-2006, 11:18 AM
The actaul numbers for NT are that the test only has an accuracy of 70-80% and the risk of miscarriage after CVS is 1:100 and Amnio is 1:200 but these vary greatly depending on the skill of the doctor performing the test. Both CVS and Amnio are not 100% accurate.

redbaby
12-01-2006, 06:53 AM
By the way everyone,..don't get caught up too much on the numbers,.... with Scarlett it came in at 3700:1 or was it the other way round,.. anyway,..the numbers were with us in a big way,.....

MotherOfPearl
12-01-2006, 07:33 AM
I had bloods and NT done at 13 weeks. I was a couple of weeks off turning 30 but my DH wanted the tests done as where we live is quiet isolated so a high risk result would have changed things a lot for us- not quiet sure what you do then though- whole other kettle of fish!

Just a thought for those having the NT scan- it could take a while. When we arrived the lovely technican we had told us as a joke it might take 7 mins or 7 hours, it took 3 hours!!:eek: They have to get the baby in exactly the right spot to do the measurements. Being from the country she wanted to get it too and couldn't send us home, so just incase, don't make too many arrangements for afterwards.:)

shed
12-01-2006, 08:51 AM
Thanks for the warning. I might take the whole day off then

MotherOfPearl
12-01-2006, 09:02 AM
It was getting frustrating- we got heaps of photos of our baby :p in that time to take home. If they didn't get it when they did the next step was a trans-vaginal scan :eek: which didn't sound that appealing.
What worked in the end was my DH pointing his finger at my belly and saying "right, now listen here you, we'd like some cooperation".:)

It was bulk billed, and the bloods, but I think that had something to do with the OBs instructions. I did have a really small gap, $7 or similar, to pay the testing place, Women's & Children's Hosp, Adel.

shed
12-01-2006, 03:25 PM
GAWD!!!

Okay. So I have decided not to get it done now.

What a pain I am!! I never used to be this indecisive but I only had myself to worry about before.

And this is just the beginning.

I just sat in a hot car for an hour looking for a park in Burwood, then sat in the clinic for another 20 minutes waiting for some other woman to stop hogging the receptionist. I went to pick up my blood request so I have it if and when I need it. I thought it would be just a quick trip up the road.

So anyway, taking all things into consideration including the fact that I would never get an amnio plus I am only just in the raised risk age group, plus we would both have to take the day off, plus I have a strong feeling that this baby is as healthy as a horse, I have decided I would rather spend the $300+ all up, on "stuff" for my beautiful healthy lusty baby when he or she arrives.

Luckily I didn't cancel my "normal" ultrasound next Thursday.

Lunar
12-01-2006, 05:30 PM
Good on you shed,
Go with your instincts and trust mother nature. Wish you all the best for you pregnancy and beyond:D

mummybeast
14-01-2006, 07:17 PM
I'm also in the boat of being 35 now but when the baby is born will be 36 ... as well as having had major surgery at the time of conception/implantation. My GP has told me that there is no point to having a scan done before 12 weeks, or after 13 weeks. He also said that the Health authorities are cracking down on "unneccessary" scans as they are really expensive to do, and the number of places that bulkbills has reduced I suppose because of this.

For those ladies in Brisbane, I had it done at the Mater Hospital Fetal Medicine Unit South Brisbane with my last baby and they bulkbilled me (referred by GP), but I am going to find out this week if that is still the case. Also I had chest XRays done at Qld XRay Mt Gravatt and they bulkbilled for that - BUT - it was written on the referral from my GP to bulkbill, so whether they will do it for a NT scan I don't know. I have my 12 week check with my GP on Wednesday coming and I will ask him as he seems to know just about every other place in southside Bris that bulkbills!

littlepickle
14-01-2006, 09:04 PM
Cool Mummybeast, let me know if you find anywhere in Brisbane that bulk bills. I am currently booked into the place in Astor Terrace CBD, but I know that they charge about $220 eek!

JenNT
14-01-2006, 10:44 PM
When I had mine down at 13 weeks last year, bubby would NOT co operate one bit! I was there all day, up down, walking round, back again, up down yada yada for 6 hrs! They just couldn't get bub to lie in the correct position at all. They say if bub isn't lying correctly, you can get a false + for D/S. I chose to give up and hope all was well...which it was:D

mummybeast
15-01-2006, 09:43 AM
JenNT - I know what you mean about the non-cooperative baby ... I had a really unfriendly technician do one of my scans and all the little beast would do was "moon" this mean lady! :eek: She was just about tearing her hair out by the end of it! Then baby went to sleep and rolled over the right way and all the measurements were done in about 10 mins but it took 3 hours to get that far!

Should have taken this as a warning of things to come for what the kid was going to be like ... :D

Fairyfloss
15-01-2006, 03:11 PM
I have to get the NT scan an blood test done, due to family inheritance issues, but I am so confused right now, my doctor sia I need to do blood test this coming friday,I will be 10 weeks and 2 days by then , she also asked me to book my NT scan for thw week after it so I will be 11 weeks and 2 days, but this does not match the dates you guys are talking about eg the 12 and 13 week stuff, I really need to find out , as I don't want to miss the deadline.

Does this sound right?
10 weeks blood test, 11 weeks scan???
should I press my doctor to review the dates??

HELP!!!!

JenNT
15-01-2006, 04:59 PM
I had to have my bloods on the same day as the scan and have the whole lot done by 13 weeks, no later.

shed
16-01-2006, 11:13 AM
parisakamali, that sounds right. They prefer the blood done before the scan so the results can be sent to the scan place and be available when the scan results are done. But if the place does blood as well then it can be done at the same time.

So its allright. :)

Lunar
16-01-2006, 12:01 PM
parisakamali, Don't panic it's ok, it is still ok to have the scan at 11 wks. They say between 11-13wks. May I ask why you are having NT scan for hereditary reasons when Down syndrome is NOT inherited??

Fairyfloss
16-01-2006, 12:27 PM
EmysMum, thanks for the info and Good question :confused: the answer is I don't really know, the doctor said I need to do it because there were a couple of babies in my family born with D/S and she said I am at a higher risk, I have my first pragnancy appointment at hospital tomorrow, so will double and triple check everything then, crossed fingers I will have an answer then, I also called the u/s place and they told me that they are will do my u/s at 12 weeks, so got a little bit of time to sort things out.

Shed- thanks for the info.

Parisa

Lunar
16-01-2006, 01:07 PM
You are not at a higher risk if you have relatives with Down syndrome. My DD has Down syndrome and it does not raise the risk with any of my family members as it is not heriditary as so many people think. You don't need to worry at all about having a baby with ds because of you family history. Ds is just something that happens, and it happens to people in all walks of life, young, older, all races.
But it is NOT hereditary.
Good luck with it all though.;)

shed
17-01-2006, 11:03 AM
I’m really second guessing myself now, about not getting the nuchal test. I hope I am doing the right thing by not getting it.

A friend of mine just told me she is pregnant, she is a month younger than me. I asked her if she was getting the nuchal test and she goes “of course!”.

And another mate in London got it as well. She is two months older than me.

I haven't cancelled the appointment yet...

littlepickle
17-01-2006, 06:55 PM
I know how you feel Shed, I keep thinking should I/shouldnt I, especially as my ob doesnt want to do blood tests, I kind of think well whats the point! I left a message with my obs office this evening asking if I should be having the blood tests after all, but the receptionist said that obs doesnt like his patients having the NT scan without a good reason, so probably will still advise against it - so maybe I should gie it a miss too!

shed
18-01-2006, 07:58 AM
I have confirmed my booking for the nuchal scan. Tomorrow at 10.30am and I said I haven't had my blood test and she said they would send me down the road after the scan to get it done.

Its like a Pandora's Box. Once its opened and the more you find out about, you can't NOT get it. I just need the reassurance now or I feel like if something IS wrong when its born it will serve me right (strange, I know).

Its so expensive. In England its free and I THINK its free in NZ as well (not sure about this one).

moonblossom
18-01-2006, 08:11 AM
Goodmorning everyone,

Shed..I think its absolutely normal to worry. I'm the queen of worry LOL. I was determined to have an amnio even though my changes went from1:80 for downs down to 1:380. So yesterday I said to the midwife that I wanted to have one just to be sure, and she got the doctor in to explain to me why she thinks it would be too much of a risk for someone who is in the Low risk catagorie.

I know it makes sense, I have more chance of misscarrying the baby with amnio (1:200( than actually having a baby with downs. She made sense to me so decided against it.

I dont think we actually ever stop worrying, it is part of being a loving mother. I dont know how old you are so I dont know what your risk would be, but I would say do what ever you need to do to put your mind at rest.

Hope this helped a little

shed
18-01-2006, 08:22 AM
I'm 36 and will be 37 a week before the baby is due (we can have birthday parties together, yay!!).

I'm a natural born worrier. Its a hobby. When I got my puppy I realised how much of a worry-wart I am. But she's a happy well socialised healthy little dog who turns 2 on Saturday and is still in once piece, so it can't be a bad thing.

My cousin has three kids and she doesn't worry about anything, but her kids are always bumping themselves and falling down things. I love my cousin, she's my best friend, but I won't even let her look after my dog, so she will never be able to pay me back for all the babysitting I have done for her because she isn't coming near my baby unattended!!

moonblossom
18-01-2006, 08:27 AM
Oh shed your a baby ;)

What results from your nucal scan would you be happy with? I should be ecstatic at 1:380 but still go :confused:

But I'm going to stop going :confused: and do :D . I still havent bought anything tho...but maybe by 20 weeks I will.

Fairyfloss
19-01-2006, 08:06 AM
OK, don't really know, why I am doing the NT scan, since if the result is positive I may or may not go thrugh the diagnostic test, but, according to mmdwife, the ideal tim to have the blood test i s10 weeks and ideal time for scan is 12 weeks, although it can be done anywhere between 11 an d13, so we concluded that that was the reson behind mismatching test days, I am so scared:eek: to find out the results but DH really wnats to know. will let you know how it all goes.

MotherOfPearl
19-01-2006, 08:16 AM
I wrote on here earlier that I was bulk billed, I found out on Monday at my 19 week scan, the company doing the procedure still think I work for a referring doctor- I used to- and it's their policy to bulk bill referring docs staff.I did tell them I didn't though so if they're happy to do it still, I'm happy for them too.

I was just wondering what kind of gap you've been paying for the nuchal and 19 week scans if any?

Fairyfloss
19-01-2006, 08:41 AM
Hi Kazza,
I live in VIC, and becasue I already had a 8 week scan bulkbilled, I have to pay between $150 to $90 out of pocket, (but I read 240 some where in this forum!!!!) you may have a guess at which one I will go for. but youknow how when you get a refreal it has a whole hip of different numbers foro different bracnches, try soe of them, the price diffres from barch to branch as wired as that sounds. so do shop around.:)

Minke
19-01-2006, 09:01 AM
Don't know if this will help anyone but in regards to medicare etc... My doctor told me that for me to able to claim back from medicare it also had to state on the referral that it was NTand EDD. I had gone over my medicare threshold for the year so I got most of it back.

As to worrying, the whole thing is worrying! talk about statistics! I had the nuchal which came back fine 1 in 17000 chance (I am 26). then went for the 18 week scan and they picked up a white dot in the heart(echogenic focus?) which was nothing to worry about apparently as there were no other markers. Have to say that is did cause some stressing on my behalf, and still do wonder.... Scans are great, but when the midwife was explaining it was all fine, even she wondered whether its just better not to know some things!

Hope this helps

Kelli

shed
20-01-2006, 08:42 AM
Well, that was INTERESTING.

I am not the first August Mummy anymore :(

But don't panic!! I am still an August mummy! :)

I am just not as far along as the doctor told me I was according to my LMP. The lady said I must have ovulated late, and when I got home I got out my chart and there WERE a couple of dodgy months, with 35 day cycles here and there, but I never took much notice of them.

So its all good, but I am only 10 weeks and 3 days!!! So, in other words they couldn't check the nuchal measurement!! So I have to go back.

I was stunned, I couldn't get my head around it. I was so sure I knew it all, I had my little Excel "conception" chart with the little coloured in squares and it was the most organised and anally retentive thing I have ever done, and it was wrong, ha ha ha!!!

The scan was good. The heart beat was 174 beats per minute and I could see the head and the legs and the cord. The lady said my placenta is at the front, which is okay, but I probably won't feel the baby kick till after some other people feel the first kicks.

I said I could see DP's big nose and we laughed and bubby moved!! I was like "OH!"

littlepickle
20-01-2006, 08:50 AM
Yay Shed!! How cool, sounds lovely getting to see bub! Dont worry about the dates, the important thing is that bub is healthy, besides, bub could decide to come a week or so early so you never know, you could still be the first August mummy!
You have got me wondering know when my ovulation date was, I only have 2 possible dates and only have a 26 -28 day cycle, plus we didnt bd after cd13 so I dont think I could be too far off my dates, but then again who knows!!

Fairyfloss
22-01-2006, 07:09 PM
Hi shed, I have to agree with littlepickle, the EDD does not really mean much specially near teh end, I am so excited that you got to see the bub, can't wait for mine.

Had the blood test done on Friday, and was told that they will send me a bill, though my doctor said it would be bulkbilled !!!!, but that's fine I am over it now, also manged to get my NT scan booking for when I am excatly 12 weeks, (1 Feb). I am so excited, that this time the bub is actually moving and I might get to see it. :D

littlepickle
27-01-2006, 08:48 AM

Just wanted to mention that there is a medicare rebate with the NT scan. I paid $220 for the scan and got $92 back. It was good because after reading somewhere here that there was no rebate, It was a pleasant supprise!

shed
02-02-2006, 12:27 PM
I decided to put this in here because that other thread is getting so long!!

I just got back from my NT scan and its all good!! Yay. Low risk for everything which I could tell when she was doing the scan anyway because the measurements were really small.

For some reason I was really just wanting to see the heartbeat the second she put the wand on, I was like "can you please show me the heartbeat?" really patiently but I just wanted to see it and I didn't feel very patient! I felt a bit panicky, and then she showed me the heartbeat and I relaxed back and enjoyed the show.

And WHAT a show. Bubby was jumping around like a mad thing. Jumpety jumpety jump jump. What a crack up. The lady goes "oh this baby is so active!" and my photo is blurry because he wouldn't sit still long enough.

You could see the little face, nose and chin. So cute.

I feel a bit more bonded with bubby now. Still positive its a boy.

missie_mack
02-02-2006, 06:08 PM
The scan was good. The heart beat was 174 beats per minute and I could see the head and the legs and the cord. The lady said my placenta is at the front, which is okay, but I probably won't feel the baby kick till after some other people feel the first kicks.

Shed,
My doc told me when I had my scan that the maximum heart beats is 180 a minute (which I had) and hubby AKA The Scientist informs me that girls have faster heart beats than boys not sure on the facts on this but your in for a good chance of having a girl shed!! :D

Lunar
02-02-2006, 06:39 PM
missie-mack, I had the same thought about the heart beat and the sex too, but I have a friend who has 3 boys and all hers had high heart rates too so that thought went straight out the window. I don't think you can judge by the heart rate anymore. I think alot of women are right alot of the time about the sex of their own babies, we just get 'a feeling'. Then again there are others who simply have no idea.

Shed- glad to hear the scan went well and you got to see bub, I was exactly the same when I had mine, just wanted to see the heart beat and that was enough for me. It's hard in the early stages when you don't feel movements and you don't know if baby is ok.

Fairyfloss
02-02-2006, 07:06 PM
Had my NT scan yesterday, and boy what a day it was, first I confusd the time of my appointmnet, apparantly it was 12 and somehow my **** handwritting read like 2 pm to me, any way I was sleep till 1pm cause I had just finished a night shift, so after 3.5 hours of sleep Dh wakes me up so I can drink my litre of water for the scan, he then went to bring my stuff so we could get ready, when he noticed I have written 12pm on the referral paper, anyway, called the place to confirm that I have missed my appointment, and DH was right, and they could not book me in untill I was more than 13 weeks, which would make NT impossible, so what do I do, I start crying like a gian baby, while at the same time I am trying to call a dozen different places to see if they can give me an earlier apointment, no use, so we decided that we are just going to go the orginal NT place and see if they could somehow fit us between the other patients, it was so embaressing, I was still crying when I got to talk to the reception, then the lady said, Are you OK? and for some reason, for the first time in my memory I said No I am not OK! and again burst into tears, I think that's why she took me in and said wait and let me see what I can for you, the only down side was that they called me into the u/s room so quickly that the water I had drink earlier was not in my bladder yet, so the technician had such a hard time seeing things, can't really remember much, except just like shed, I asked her if there was a heart beat as soon as she piut the wand on me, the 150ppm was enough for me to be continet with, specially since teh monotor positioning was such that I could only see the top quarter of it, but DH got to see the baby move, and the leg, arms adn was so excited. I have not got my risk factor yet, but considering that the actual scan was very poor quality (becasue of me of course) that givesm me a bit more relif that even if teh risk is high they might be wrong, any way I will also be doing teh maternal srum test in a couple of weeks time, till then I will just sit down and pray, sorry for the lon post, I am just so relaxed now :)

pthalokitty
02-02-2006, 10:03 PM
They are charging for Nt's now? I had one in RPA (2003) that was bulkbilled, and it was worth it for us. We both felt we could not cope with raising a special needs child and thought it was important to know if that was going to be the case- what a shame they are so expensive...but definitely worth it for us. My friend also had one- told her they had a 1 in 7 chance of downs, then got an amnio which was clear...she was ambivalent about the NT because it turned out to be a false alarm. Good luck for everyone going in for an NT...
e xxoo

suzzan
05-02-2006, 02:09 PM
Hi its been a while since i last wrote. ive been ok, just got back from a holiday overseas and boy was i sick there, the morning sickness kicked in :( i'm feeling better now but yesterday i was sick due to something i ate so im taking it easy today and eating dry and boiled food. i had my nt scan last tuesday, i was also charged an amount but i get some money through medicare. i just wanted someone to help me with my querie,i went for the scan thinking i was 12 weeks and 1 day, but the lady who conducted the scan said i was 12 weeks and 6 days, how can that be? should i go by her measurements and dates? pleasr can anyone help me. my expected due date based on my LMP is the 14th August, does that mean i may have it ealrie based on the scan? im very confused:eek:

littlepickle
05-02-2006, 04:54 PM
Suzzan

I wouldnt worry too much. I was reading one book that said that doctors really should give an estimated due month rather than an estimated due date:) Babies can be born 2 weeks early or 2 weeks late and still be considered "term" so the date given to you really is a rough guide give or take two weeks either side. When I had my NT scan I was told that I was almost 4 days further along than I thought. This made sense to me as I did Ov early that month (day 10 instead of 14)
When dr's etimate your due date based on that calendar thing they have, it is just a guide based on people who have 28day cycles and ovulation on day 14 of that cycle. Some people have longer cycles than this and may not ovulate until day 20 for example, this would give a different EDD.
I hope that this makes sense and doesnt confuse you even more:D

Uniquey
07-02-2006, 06:17 PM
Well, after all the worry and tension, I finally had the NT scan today. What a relief to finally see a little 'breathing baby'. I won't bore everyone with the numbers, but all appears normal for this stage of the pregnancy. I picked up the results and the Sonographer didn't ask to speak to me about them , so I opened up the x-rays and read them myself. I had no idea what the blood tests results meant, I will have to ask my Doctor to translate! From what I could read of the other though, all appears normal.

I can't wait for DH to come back home from working interstate to see the pics. I have to agree with Littlepickle, it's AMAZING to finally see your bub on the screen and be confident that so far, all is progressing along nicely. It certainly does give you that boost that seemed to be lacking in the lead-up. Thank you to everyone whom wished me well. GOOD LUCK to those who are yet to have their scans, Nt or not.

P.s/ My NT scan was bul billed at 'Clark&Robertson Radiology', in case anyone ws wondering who bulk bills.

shed
08-02-2006, 08:50 AM
Suzzan,

Don't worry about the dates. I went for my NT thinking I was 12 weeks 2 days and she said I was only 10 weeks and 2 days. I had to go back for another one two weeks later.

When I went back when I WAS 12 weeks and 2 days it was a different lady and she said I was 13 weeks.

So....I dunno. I was charting my cycle and everything and I had been doing so for about eight months so I figured I knew when things were happening. But I must have got it wrong.

I'm still not convinced though.

Fairyfloss
08-02-2006, 09:42 PM
suzzan, shed and Uniquey glad your scans were good, it is so fun to see the bub.
suzzan don't worry about the EDD, it is after all an "estimate" but your scan one is abit more accurate, but unless the two dates are more than 1 week apart your doctor is unlikely to change your date anyway, just sit back and enjoy you journey. :)

Angela81
09-02-2006, 12:03 PM
I just had my NT at Queensland Ultrasound for Women in Brisbane, its really nice there, huge wide screen TVs and dm lighting, $215 and they can give you a DVD of the whole thing as well!

jennilove
01-03-2006, 01:11 PM
I had the lovliest experience at my 12 week scan at sogi at South Bank. They make you a cappuccino before the scan. Its so modern and relaxing. We got to speak to a genetic counsellor who was so lovely. She explained everything before we went in for the scan. They had a bathroom in the scan room. Wow that was such a relief not to have to walk outside past everyone in the waiting room. My hubbie was in tears, and my mum. Hubbie is a techno geek and raved about the big LCD TV screens. We got counselling with with a doctor for the results. (My friends who went to an XRay place got told nothing). They spent over an hour with me. Still cant believe we are having a baby.
Cost $270 but got a beautiful folder of pictures and DVD. It was totally worth it.
I spend that at the hairdresser! Can't wait for the 19 week scan.
JL