View Full Version : super-duper toddler terry folding

OJandMe
20-05-2007, 10:09
I'm pretty proud of myself :D

Have been trying to figure out how to keep the boys dry and in cloth without running out of nappies everyday..

This morning I put both Ollie and Jordan in a terry flat with a Bummis cover...

I used a 'kite' fold, and where you fold the 'kite' bit I put in a microfibre booster (between the layers of terry)

Both boys were in them for afew hours with a fleece liner and DH changed them at 9am (Ollie had been in his since 6am...they're not very heavy wetters in the morning)

He changed them and the boys were COMPLETELY dry :thumbsup: Even the fleece liner was dry... the terry was a little damp, but almost all the moisture had been sucked into the microfibre :smiliedance:

Very proud of myself... had been wondering how to improve the flats and find a fold which will fit the boys but give enough boosting where it's needed. YAY.

lilBoofD
20-05-2007, 15:18
Oh, great going!

I am going to try that on Mason tomorrow, I am loving my flats, esp the drying time with 2 in nappies!

Thanks for the suggestion!! :thumbsup:

Sheer Bliss
20-05-2007, 16:21
Great idea!! I will have to give that a try too. I almost ran out on Friday arvo, had to use from the bottom of my stash, this would have worked better than my crappy nappies!

MrsP
20-05-2007, 17:43
That's fantastic Gretel :thumbsup: Is that fold only recommended for boys, or do you think it would be good for girls too???

Also, what is a good link to find how to fold terry flats differently. I ran out of clothies last week (waiting for them to dry), so I think this is a great back up option for us :yes:

Percy
20-05-2007, 17:56
Also, what is a good link to find how to fold terry flats differently. I ran out of clothies last week (waiting for them to dry), so I think this is a great back up option for us :yes:

Try googling..... The nappy lady. They have some good pointers.

Thanks for the tip, I'll give that a try. Although i dont often use terry flats because the snappy drives me nuts!:banghead:

20-05-2007, 19:40
'The Nappy Lady' has to be the best link around for nappy folds IMO!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: You must check it out!

A lot of people rave about The Jo Fold- I'm one of them :D - it's fantastic for both boys and girls and gives so many absorbant layers where it's needed! It is also very trim :thumbsup:

OJandMe
20-05-2007, 20:16
Yep. The Nappy Lady is definately the best place. LOL.. when I got my flats I spent a few nights just going through practicing ALL 15 FOLDS... but have found that with the size of the boys, the kite fold works best for them.... although I will try out some more tomorrow I think,... LOL.. if they stay still for long enough :thumbsup:

20-05-2007, 20:21
The Jo Fold would be waay too small for my kids too (despite them being skin and bone- my 3 year old DS is not much heavier then my 1 year old DD) except I folded it in a way that makes it much bigger.
I should check out some of the other folds again though in case I'm missing out on something better! :yes:

OJandMe
21-05-2007, 08:26
Okay... so this morning I used the Jo fold, but done in thirds instead of quarters.

And in the second layer of terry I've put a microfibre booster (seem to be using those a lot as they are quick to dry)

ButterflyMama
21-05-2007, 09:04
I love the bat fold.. :thumbsup:

OJandMe
21-05-2007, 13:32
Wasn't sure if the chinese/bat fold would fit the boys... but they're using that fold now!

Looks very cute.. little hipster nappies and not too chunky!

ETA: Seeing as the weather is so funny right now and nothing is drying. I think it would be a great idea if we all shared what terry folds are working for us and what boosting we're using. That way we should all get a few really good ideas!

OJandMe
22-05-2007, 08:48
:D YAY! SUN!!!!

My nappies are all on the line again!! :smiliedance:

The boys are in pockets today. They're having a Hawaiian day at Kindy :thumbsup:

ButterflyMama
22-05-2007, 10:22
Wasn't sure if the chinese/bat fold would fit the boys... but they're using that fold now!

Looks very cute.. little hipster nappies and not too chunky!

Yay! That's why I like it.. not too chunky. :thumbsup:

smiles
22-05-2007, 13:06
Please help! I went to the Nappy lady site and could not find the folds... I clicked on every header on the left hand side and couldn't find any!!

Jessie, what's the bat fold?

And can you buy microfibre boosters by themselves? If so, where from?

Thanks in advance ladies!

22-05-2007, 14:16
Sorry smiles, I'm not much help except that I remember it was tricky (not the eaisest site to navigate). But they are there! I promise! :D :D

OJandMe
22-05-2007, 14:21
I've PM'd you :thumbsup:

smiles
23-05-2007, 10:22
Cheers OJ!!

Pookie, I spent a while looking too, even used the search but got nowhere! OJ & Jessie sent me some links which are now stored safely in my favourites lol

Thanks again!

mumma bear
02-07-2007, 11:41
Gave the kite fold a go this morning on my DS with a bamboo 2 layer booster and found it lasted 1.5 hours. I think it really was a 1 wee wonder. DS was winging on and off most of the time it was on because he has never been in a flat before but eventually he settled down.

When he wee'd he came straight to me pulling at his longies. I didn't put a cover on, just longies because we don't have any covers. I normally use AIO but they are all in the wash after a not so well tummy.

I have had 20 or so flats in my cupboard for the last 3 years and only ever used them for sick rags so am glad to get them on a bottom.

Might whip up some more boosters, microfibre as i am out of bamboo tonight so we can use them more often. Now i have got the hang of the Snappi they are OK as a backup.

Thanks for this thread OJ.

02-07-2007, 11:46
That is a fantastic idea :idea:

Whilst I have a good enough stash atm, it would be great if I had another baby. Will save a fortune, especially in the smaller sized nappies.

OJandMe
02-07-2007, 11:50
Hey Mumma Bear... I found my boys hated the kite fold as it was so thick between their legs! So maybe that contributed to your DS's winging

Try using the Ro Fold for boys, but place the booster under the terry when you initially fold it over into the triangle.... (between the two layers of terry.. like a sandwich):thumbsup:

This fold has a high leg cut, and depending how you fold it can be quite slim between the legs! And don't forget your fleece liners to draw the moisture away from bubs bum :D

mumma bear
02-07-2007, 16:07
Thanks OJ, will have to find instructions for that fold. Googling now. Thanks for the tip on the liners, i did think of that. My boosters are suede cloth lined so i was covered there.

02-07-2007, 20:34
Ah Gretel, the terry flat queen!

They are so great... Why oh why did I give up on terry flats with Ronan? Well, I wouldn't have if had known about not soaking, fleece liners etc.

So far I haven't used any boosting, just the Jo Fold with a fleece liner and a snappi. I change as soon as she wees (or as soon as I notice). But a microfiber booster would allow me to save my sanity a little bit, such as for times like this morning when I had changed her 6 times before 9am!! 6 changes in 2.5 hours. I was a bit fed up, lol, but needed all the pockets/hemp/bamboo for Ronan and Ariene's sleep later.

Will get some more microfiber cleaning cloths and boost with these in the same way as you do, Gretel... having them fold out means they would dry as fast as the flats :yes:

OJandMe
02-07-2007, 20:54
It makes the difference having them boosted :yes:

Wow! 6 changes! That would have done my head in!!

They do dry incredibly fast!

I'm in dire need for some fitteds that AREN'T bamboo...

coz they take SOOO long to dry, and I've only enough to last for one day and 2 nights!!

Once I start sewing I'm going to make some terry fitteds :thumbsup:

02-07-2007, 21:06
It makes the difference having them boosted :yes:

Wow! 6 changes! That would have done my head in!!

They do dry incredibly fast!

I'm in dire need for some fitteds that AREN'T bamboo...

coz they take SOOO long to dry, and I've only enough to last for one day and 2 nights!!

Once I start sewing I'm going to make some terry fitteds :thumbsup:

That 6 changes was just Ariene! There was also Ronan's full-on morning wee's do deal with, but I stick him in a pocket loaded with hemp and microfiber to help cope with his power-wees in the morning.

Ok, non-bamboo fitteds.. what about the new hemp fleece BBs? They seem to get great reviews, and are apparently a good fit for toddlers on whom the BBB are sometimes too small...

OJandMe
02-07-2007, 21:12
I've been thinking about those.....

Maybe should swap a bamboo for one to try out.

I've also been thinking of just getting some 'snappy nappies'

but I really need some more pockets or AIO's now as the boys have just started a 3rd day at kindy... and I've only got enough pockets to last one day.. (at least with having 2 days between kindy I could wash them... but now they have 2 back to back days.... so it looks like late nights and dryers for a while) *sigh*

what to do what to do!!? LOL.

How you going at nights with Ronan??

borntobemummy
02-07-2007, 21:23
where do you get your microfibre boosters from and how much are they? I have been using some reject shop cleaning cloths and a microfibre sports towel...they don't really seem that thirsty IMO

BTW, I love the bat fold too, I haven't tried it with DS yet though

OJandMe
02-07-2007, 21:29
I've got a few 'proper' microfibre boosters from online..

but I tend to use the microfibre cleaning cloths from Woolies for when I'm using flats on the boys. I paid $5 for 4 I think. I chose the ones which looked thicker :yes: , folded in thirds and placed in the front of the terry (between 2 layers of terry) ... that way they're boosted enough, but the cloths all fold out to dry super quickly.

Sometimes I'll put a hemp booster in behind the microfibre to hold the moisture away. :thumbsup: but generally I just change regularly :D

02-07-2007, 21:54
where do you get your microfibre boosters from and how much are they? I have been using some reject shop cleaning cloths and a microfibre sports towel...they don't really seem that thirsty IMO

BTW, I love the bat fold too, I haven't tried it with DS yet though

If you're not happy with the microfiber cloths, the Cotton Babies one-size microfiber inserts are the thickest and most absorbant ones I have :yes: They are the real deal, more like an insert on their own rather then an insert. Some people use them as an insert with nothing else and it works fine for them, although that's not a good idea with my kids.

I've been thinking about those.....

Maybe should swap a bamboo for one to try out.

I've also been thinking of just getting some 'snappy nappies'

but I really need some more pockets or AIO's now as the boys have just started a 3rd day at kindy... and I've only got enough pockets to last one day.. (at least with having 2 days between kindy I could wash them... but now they have 2 back to back days.... so it looks like late nights and dryers for a while) *sigh*

what to do what to do!!? LOL.

How you going at nights with Ronan??

But wouldn't a terry flat be just as effective as a Snappi Nappy? For me it has to be really worth the money, which is why I have a lot of bamboo and I save them for nights and naps (3 hours here.. yay!) but if you want a longer-lasting nappy that's NOT bamboo, then how about a Dream Eze organic velour? It's just cotton but it's sold as a night nappy and there's a couple of ppl around here who use it as that with success :yes: It's not thirsty enough for my kids (lol, I seem to say that a lot...) but it's a great fitted for naps or when I want one to last more then one wee! It is VERY tiny :yes:

03-07-2007, 07:28
Yesterday I had Av in a terry folded (in a twist fold and fanned out) with folded flannelette in the front with hemp booster. We went out in the car and out to lunch. It lasted ages. Usually I would have changed him before we went out but he was rapt with that. I twist it in the middle as its more absorbent yet trim so he can walk!
I like flats! and I didn't think I would on a toddler.

03-07-2007, 09:33
Yesterday I had Av in a terry folded (in a twist fold and fanned out) with folded flannelette in the front with hemp booster. We went out in the car and out to lunch. It lasted ages. Usually I would have changed him before we went out but he was rapt with that. I twist it in the middle as its more absorbent yet trim so he can walk!
I like flats! and I didn't think I would on a toddler.

Ooo I want to try this fold! Thanks Kymmy! :yelclap:

OJandMe
03-07-2007, 12:30
Yeah I use this one on the boys too!! It HAS to have the twist though or they go bonkers! and usually I just stick it in a good cover and don't even snappy it (coz it can't reach around their big bums anyway.. lol)

Yeah Em.. I find terrys just as easy as a snappy nappy would be.... but I"m thinking about the 'ease of DH factor' I don't want him using all the BBB's on the baby every time he needs a change... but I'm not sure how long it will take him to learn some nappy folds either!!

I like to use the terrys when at home, the bamboos for naps and night or going out doing errands and stuff

and the pockets for kindy :thumbsup:

I love my terry flats!!!

OH.. and borntobemummy I second the cotton babies microfibre booster.. they are EXCELLENT!!! I've just ordered 2 more from Darlings Downunder (coz they were on sale.. :smiliedance: ) they really are SOOO thirsty!