View Full Version : 9 1/2 month gap between babies
samitymum
09-01-2006, 16:40
THIS IS FOR ANYONE THINKING OF HAVING BABIES CLOSE TOGETHER!!
When my daughter was 9 weeks old I discovered that I was pregnant again, as you could imagine we were extremely shocked and my biggest fear was that I didn't want my daughter to miss out. Anyway after gathering the courage to tell other people (after they got over their initial shock and realised that we weren't joking!!) people seemed genuinely happy for us. This made such a difference in our outlook on everything because if people had been really negative we would probably started to think that way as well.
After a trouble free pregnancy I went into premature labour at 33 weeks and our beautiful boy was born.(They said it was due to stress as we had just lost a business, had to sell our house, Sam was born Tuesday, I came out Wednesday, and we moved house Thursday, all in between looking after a 9 1/2 month old as well). Sam spent a month in hospital which is pretty well a blur, I don't know how we did it actually, but we had heaps of support from family and friends. I remember many a morning getting up at 5 going to see Sam for about an hour and then rushing home before my husband went to work and sometimes that would be all I would see my little boy for that day as I didn't have any babysitters for my little girl and I couldn't really take her to hospital with me.
Finally he came home and I guess life probably was crazy but like any situation you just deal with it. I remember when I actually did get out and about that I would have so many people stop me and ask the age difference because you could see that they were really close. Yes I had many negative comments but I also had some really lovely people say some very supportive and positive things. Things probably continued to be crazy until Sam was about 14 months old and then things finally started to get easier.
Now my oldest is nearly 2 1/2 and I wouldn't have it any other way. They are the very BEST of friends and do everything together and have permanent little playmates. Sure they fight and have problems sharing but any age gap siblings are going to do that.
So if you are thinking of having your children close together - DO IT. It is hard work initially but well worth the rich rewards of them entertaining each other later and being best of friends. I would do it again in a heartbeat.
PS Just to show that I am a real sucker for punishment, I have my third due in May!!!!
wow!!!!
you are a true supermum, and an inspiration to us all:)
my youngest 2 are 18 mths apart, and i thought that was hard going at first!!
good luck with the new bubs on the way, and welcome to bubhub!!:D
That is amazing & good for you to stay strong through it all too.
I'm glad things have worked out for you & congrats on number 3.
OMG you are so lucky! My son is 6 months old and we are still trying for #2, was hoping to be preggers already by now but its not happening, had trouble getting pg with #1 too.
Congrats on having #3 on the way, I'm green with envy! ;)
Have a wonderful pregnancy and birth!
Amy
Bella-Archie
09-01-2006, 17:13
Good to see there are some of us out their !!!
I had my two babies 11mths apart !! They are now 15mths and 4mths so things are still a bit hectic .....with some days better than others !!!
My second was also in special care for about 2 weeks so I also know what its like to be back and forth from the hospital while trying to keep home life running smoothly !!!!
Good to hear that it does get eaiser !!!
THANKS
Katie :p
peterpan
09-01-2006, 18:12
Wow What a supermum you are....
omg how do you do it?
M&M'sMummy
10-01-2006, 11:00
Your post has made me feel alot better samitymum!!! I am in the same boat as I have a 5 month old baby girl and I am 13 weeks pregnant with our second bub, I was very upset at first and was not sure how we would cope but am slowly getting used to the idea, Some people don't think before they say stuff like "oh you poor thing" and "How will you cope" so it does get you down but then everyone I talk to that has had their bubs close says it was the best thing they did.. but saying that I will be on the pill the minute this little one enters the world!!
Valosgirls
10-01-2006, 12:29
Oh I completely agree that having them close is just FANTASTIC! I fell pregnant when my baby was only 11wks old and although it really is hard yakka for a while ( some horror days some wonderful) they are so close now I wouldnt change it for anything. They are the BEST of friends!
Rik
kirsty77
10-01-2006, 16:00
Its so lovely to hear success stories like this!You've made me realise that we're making the right decision ttc #2 right now and our daughter is only just 4 months old.Thank you
Samitymum thank-you so much for sharing your story - DD is 3 weeks old and we are already keen on #2 - you have just confirmed that this is a good idea in my mind.
Congratulations on #3 - hope it all goes smoothly for you!
Angelmist♥
11-01-2006, 10:31
I totally agree with you Samitymum, my boys are 13 months apart and while the first year is a blur, it does get easier and easier.They are now 5.5 and 4.5 and the best of mates ( hmm well most of the time!)They always have someone to play with, which is also a bonus!
Terrible2+1cutie
11-01-2006, 12:34
Wow you truely are amazing, i have 2 boys 15 months apart, Blaze was 6 months old and still breastfed when i fell pregnant with Bailey. I wouldn't change having them sooo close, i love watching them growing up to be best of friends, i get inspired by people like you, there are hard moments but the good moments out weigh those.
Catherine
Its sooooooooo nice to hear something positive for a change about having bubs close together :D I was keen straight after the first one ( even though we had originally decided 2 years ) I asked the hubby and he said it would be fine if we tryed straight away. :D
Brandon has just turned 4 months, so we are crossing our fingers every month from now ( since I finished breast feeding at 3 months ) and my body has starting to feel normal again. I have had so much negitive feedback from family and friends !!!! ( that we wanted to try again so soon ) that I have shut my mouth :(
Well done to You Samitymum and Thanks sooo much for a positive view and outcome !!!
Heaps of Hugs
Heids
Wow, that is excellent! My partner and my-self are also thinking about trying for another baby my DS is 4 months old. Samitymum you really have changed my outlook on this as I was also worried that my son would miss out, but there is only 16 months between me and my brother and we get on like a house on fire. Thanks again Samitymum. :D
Supermum
12-01-2006, 14:06
Samitymum - oh my lord ... 9 and a half month gap:eek:
There's 15 months between my two and that was hard enough! I only have the two so I can't comment on what it would be like with a bigger gap. Am happy with my lot though. Number 1 is about to turn 3 and shortly thereafter number 2 turns 2. Life is getting easier by the day and watching them play and share is beautiful. I wouldn't have it any other way.
I agree with others that you are indeed quite super as a mum but that title is taken:o. So I have listed a number of other superlatives for any other complimentary posts.
cool, divine, glorious, great, groovy, hot, incomparable, keen, magnificent, marvelous, matchless, neat, outstanding, peerless, sensational, smashing, superb, terrific, topnotch, wonderful, ace, admirable, august, best, breathtaking, choice, elegant, elevated, exalted, excellent, exquisite, fab, fine, gorgeous, grand, greatest, in orbit, lofty, majestic, noble, optimal, optimum, peerless, prime, proud, rad, resplendent, solid, splendid, splendiferous, splendorous, standout, state-of-the-art, stunning, sublime, super, superior, superlative, tops, unrivaled
Stuff it - you can have super too ... you deserve it.
uptheduff
12-01-2006, 14:10
I just wanted to say that i agree with you. My boys are 12 months and 10 days apart, and i have loved having them so close.
I'm also a glutton for punishment...My youngest is just over 6 months, and i've just found out i'm pregnant with number 3!! There will be about 15 months between the youngest 2!
Peaceangels
12-01-2006, 14:16
Wow Samitymum - you truly are an amazing mum!
Good on you for starting such a thread and I have to agree that having them close together is great!
My two are 15mths apart and I sometimes get asked if they are twins when they are in the double stroller together (I'm sure they probably wouldn't ask this if they were standing :rolleyes: ).
We took 5yrs to fall pregnant with #1 so when he was 6mths old and I found out I was pg, we were "nicely" surprised. The age difference was irrelevant, we were just happy to have "kids" at last! :)
Congrat's on #3 - enjoy your brood! :)
samitymum
13-01-2006, 12:08
I have only just had a chance to get back on the computer again and read your replies and comments - and all of you are just the best. It is so lovely to read such lovely and heartwarming comments. (I don't think I have ever been called a supermum before!!!!) I it is funny that as a mum we have the hardest job in the world but it so rare that we actually get told that we are doing a great job(especially by strangers!!) but we are very quick to get told when we are doing a bad job.
Thank you once again ladies, I am so glad that I joined this wonderful site.
P.S. Once thing that I did neglect to mention in my original post was how I couldn't have survived at all without the love, help and support of my gorgeous husband. He is just incredible, working 11 12 days and then coming home and helping me.
To all you wonderfully brave mothers...
Thank you all so very much for your many posts of encouraging close siblings.
I am 25 and have always wanted to complete "birthing babies" by the age of 30.
My hubby and I sat down in 2004 with a plan to try and fit at least 4 in by July 2010 (he also wanted twin girls for the last pregnancy!!). After a miscarriage in May 2004, we had #1 in April 2005 - she is 8 1/2 months old at the moment. And for the past month or so, all "raincoats" have been put back in the drawer and we are letting nature take its course!
I had always factored an 18 month gap, to which many friends and family thought was brave, but had never thought of 15 months, or 12 months, let alone 9 1/2 months!
Thank you for opening my eyes to see the bigger picture! :)
Irish Dad
13-01-2006, 16:54
Hi there I agree its hard work but worth it. I have 2 boys 6 and 4 and a daughter whos 6 months and another due on the babys first birthday :) We get the looks but to hell with what other people think, my kids are all happy and loved and I wouldn't have it anyother way :D Mum says fours my limit, ah well :rolleyes:
sonlou73
18-01-2006, 21:09
My boys are 18 months and 10 weeks old. It took us 1 year to conceive DS1 and as soon as I stopped breatfeeding I got pgs straight away with DS2! We were over the moon with happiness. At present we do have our days but that's life! We're even talking about trying for bub 3, so its great to read the posts and think more on the positive side than the negative about when we should give it a try...who knows I may even fall pg whilst bf this time! or it could take longer like the first.
jacks mum
18-01-2006, 21:34
you guys all sound amazing:
we have a 7 month old and for the last 6-7 weeks haven't been wearing 'raincoats'. It took 8 months ttc#1 after going off the pill, so hoping that it won't take that long again but am still bf and af's not back yet. Hoping none of this matters.
You guys have giving me that extra boost. There are a lot of negative comments from family and friends about being so close.
If so many others can do it - so can we.
thanks again for having the right words:)
I thought no-one could beat me! There is 10 1/2mths difference between my two and I love every minute of it. I discovered I was pregnant again when Blayke was 12 weeks old and I was so scared but absolutely excited at the same time.
At 33 weeks my waters had broken and at 34 weeks Kaylah was born by emergency C. She just couldn't wait! I found that the majority of people who knew my situation were remarkably positive.
Blayke is 21months and Kaylah 10 1/2 months and they are starting to associate a lot more since she has begun crawling. It is just so adorable to see them both playing together.
I'm so jealous that you are having another 1. If I had my way I would have 4 kids but my husband just won't be in it. I've tried seducing him but he always wears the raincoat!
I wish you well and enjoy every minute of it!
04-02-2006, 03:54
It is good to know that so many other people have a close age gap too and i know that if they can do it i can too.I fell preggas when dd was 5-6months old and she will be 14-15months old when this one is due.You are a supermum and doing a great job especially when your second was in hospital that would have been stressful.Good luck with pregnancy #3:)
Hi All.....
Well I don't belong in this thread AT ALL, my kids have big gaps between them all - I have a 14 year old, 11 year old and a soon to be 6 year old and am pregnant with No.4 .... but just had to add that my cousins little boys are only 10 months apart (both c-sections!!!) they are now 5 and 6 and are the best buddies I have EVER seen in that age group, where the 6 year old is the 5 year old is two steps behind. They are just gorgeous and are fiercely loyal to one another (just ask my 5 year old.....lol). In another couple of months they'll both be 6!!
Anyway, Congratulations on all you brave mummy's. I wish now that I'm older that my boys were closer together (hmmm...well there's always no. 5 to consider :eek: ). This thread is dangerous!!!!
LittleBoysRock
20-03-2006, 17:05
Wow!
Well done, you should be very proud of yourself. I think that is quite an achievement!! :yelclap:
mytwolilprinces
20-03-2006, 21:42
wow, I feel so bad for complaining about my two ( who are 21 months apart! ). I agree, it is really hard going at first, but once you get through that hard first 10-12 weeks with a newborn, things get a lot easier. Sure there are some bad days, but having said that I am SERIOUSLY thinking of having a 3rd sooner rather than later! I look at my 3 month old son and want more - I don't want him to grow up. Even though I HATED being pregnant with both ( severe MS, weight gain, premature labour etc etc ) I would also do it again in a heartbeat. Just got to make sure the finances are in place!
Good luck to all those TTC or already expecting!
23-03-2006, 19:08
Oh so nice to see others with close age gaps lol
I was due with my daughter 27/7/05 but she arrived 28/6/05 and now I'm due 6/7/05 (making me 25 weeks now, will be almost 26 weeks when my daughter turns 9 months old) this bub is set to make a very early arrival though and could be here in 3 weeks if my doctors predictions are correct so we will have roughly 9.5 month age gap if thats the case.. no more than 10.5 month gap it seems! DP thinks when this bub is 8 months old I'll be wanting to start TTC again .. I joked that 'no when she is 3 months I will' but I mean JOKED! I'm quite scared about the close age gap despite having been with my partner since my son was 9 weeks old and his son was 14 months so have some experience with a close age gap but we didnt live together then so they were raised seperately until my son was 2 and his son was 3..... so all new territory!
Any tips on coping? Our boys are now aged 3 and 4 as well so still quite young!!
Briannabear
24-03-2006, 15:56
Its so nice to hear positive stories about having bubs close together.
I cant believe how many people comment on our situation - Brianna will be 22 1/2 months old when our next baby is born and everyone seems to have this horrified look on their face when we tell them.
We constantly get this 'Was the pregnancy planned?' question! :eek: Not that its any of their business, but it was VERY planned! It happened exactly when we wanted it to happen! It just didnt seem too soon for us.
Good on you... all of you mums with children close in age are doing a great job!! :thumbsup:
mytwolilprinces
24-03-2006, 16:07
Its so nice to hear positive stories about having bubs close together.
I cant believe how many people comment on our situation - Brianna will be 22 1/2 months old when our next baby is born and everyone seems to have this horrified look on their face when we tell them.
We constantly get this 'Was the pregnancy planned?' question! :eek: Not that its any of their business, but it was VERY planned! It happened exactly when we wanted it to happen! It just didnt seem too soon for us.
Good on you... all of you mums with children close in age are doing a great job!! :thumbsup:
I agree totally!!!! Mine are 21 months apart and although the first 10 weeks were really hard, my youngest is now 14 weeks old and it's wonderful. Ok, there are still hard days but just to see the little one looking up at his older brother and smiling makes it all worth it! I am thinking of having the next one even closer in age :D
What a great thread! I have been desperate to have another baby as soon as i had the first one. I loved being pregnant and have missed being pregnant a lot. My DS is 5 months old and i would love to have another one now, just a tad hesitant cause it's kinda scary i think! lol Good on you those that have them close in age. As soon as our situation is sorted i will definately love to have another one. :D
Hi, I joined this site last year when I was pregnant with baby number 1 but as I was working and moving I didn't really get a chance to get on much. Now as a stay at home mum I have time (when bub is alseep or occupied) to get on. I was amazed to come across this thread. I too will have my babies close together. My DS is just 7 months and I am almost 6 months pregnant. From my EDD I will have about 10 months between them. Ours was unplanned and at first I wasn't sure it was what I wanted but now I am so excited. Like most on here I know it's going to be hard for a while but I just think about the big picture as they get older. :yelclap:
JaYdEn&CaYLeE'sMuMmY
18-04-2006, 14:13
wow 9 & 1/2 is so close..which must be good..mine r close together..and i think it good coz they r best friends and do everything together:kiss: .. my daughter is 14months and my son is 2 & 3months..and ppl r always asking if its hard..i think its better this way coz they learn to share..and when im cleaning they r off playing with eachother :hugs:
MummaRobyn
21-04-2006, 13:05
I am so sick of the negativity regarding how close my children are!!! I have a 7 year old... then a 25 month old and a 14 month old and number four will be born 17 months apart from our youngest.
It is sad to say that the people who are the most negative are family members but if I hear the lines "but how will you cope?" or "exactly how many babies are you having?" or "your children will all miss out on attention and love." or "there is no way you will be able to look after them properly!" I am going to scream! Why is it that people, even strangers expect you to explain to them why you choose to have children close together or also the amount of children you wish to have?
All my children are loved and will be loved unconditionally no matter what age gap there is.... why should it be an issue?
Oh gee it is nice to see other mums in similar situations and feeling as positive as I do about having a lovely close family.... good on you OP and all the rest of you busy mums out there!
JaYdEn&CaYLeE'sMuMmY
23-04-2006, 23:40
i have ppl saying that to me all the time..how many more am i having. do u regret having them so young and close.one isnt gonna get as much attention..all that kind **** that u just said... and i treat them both the same..and give them EQUAL attention..it ****es me off... aspecially the dirt looks i get and ppl coming up to me.. why rnt u married, how old r u? do the kids have the same dad(yes they do).. and when i say no im not married or im 19... i get a lecture or horrible looks.. its not very fair...
Sara's Boys
28-04-2006, 17:42
I think it's great to have what ever age gap you can handle. NO MATTER WHAT, it is going to be a challenge having 2 kids regardless of age. I have a 3 year old neice with a 3 week old sister. The three year old loves (and I mean LOOOOOVES!!) playing with my eight month old. I think the kids have so much fun when they are close in age. I am due in November, which means there will be a 15 month gap, which I am ecstatic about!! I am getting so tired of people commenting on how hard it is going to be, so I just say " well I guess it just depends how much you love being a Mum." That usually shuts them up!
As for people tell me that my first will miss out on attention..Kids nedd attention their WHOLE LIVES! not just in the first 2 years! What a stupid theory, as if you can't love and attend to both your children. I am so happy to hear how many love the close gap between their kids!:smiliedance:
Justin&Beckfirstbub
02-05-2006, 16:19
H guys,
I am joing your fabulous gang!
I have a 3 month old baby boy named Julian and have just found out I am pregnant with bubby number 2!
This thread has made me feel evn better about the small gap between them!
Thanks for making me even happier:smiliedance:
Beck
i am so glad to read all your positive stories of such close age gaps, i have an almost one year old son and im 28 weeks pg... there will be 14 months between them and i have really been panicking about it... but you guys have really cheered me up
thanks so much...
jane x