View Full Version : Help... Jordan HATES cloth!!
Okay so all was going REALLY well today.. I had both the boys in cloth and they wore cloth for their naps.
Ollie was in a Haute pocket, and Jordan was in a BBB.
well when they woke up I went to change their nappies, and I was going to put Jordan into I don't even remember now. But he just screamed and cried and cried and cried and wouldn't come anywhere near me until I offered him a sposie.
I don't think he likes the thickness of the cloth between his legs... it makes him walk funny...
So.... How can I get him into cloth, without the thickness between his legs?? Are pockets the way to go? I've got 3 Bubgenius that arrived today.. so maybe just stick with them for him?
Ollie doesn't seem to mind the cloth, but Jordan wants nothing to do with it.
Suggestions please!
Foxymoron
17-05-2007, 19:00
Go for really trim pockets for day time use! Keep your more absorbant nappies for night time. He may find that he is feeling more 'wet' and aware when he takes a wizz... Not such a bad thing as it may make him keener to toilet train. How old are the boys?
GraceUnhearing
17-05-2007, 19:02
was he ok in a pocket nappy?
the_queen
17-05-2007, 19:03
I only have one Very Baby, a Very Baby Simply Nights - but man, it is so trim through the crotch. They're made by Erica's Nappies.
Another tip is to tuck in the frilly bits, tuck them inside the nappy.
Or, maybe try training pants on Jordan? You can get pocket training pants, they go on like jocks and you could stuff it with trim bamboo (very absorbent but very thin).
They're 27 months old.
We've had some TT issues... See Thread (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=89318)
So I don't want to 'push' them in case it stresses them out.
I think I will try and keep to pockets during the day..
Although I figured out a really cool way of folding a flat and using a cover with it that worked really well for Ollie this afternoon!
What are the trimest pockets??
I only have one Very Baby, a Very Baby Simply Nights - but man, it is so trim through the crotch. They're made by Erica's Nappies.
Another tip is to tuck in the frilly bits, tuck them inside the nappy.
The frilly bits on the BBB? wouldn't that make it uncomfortable inside the nappy?
I'll check out that Erica's Nappies.
Foxymoron
17-05-2007, 19:27
My little man is still only a crawler, but come to think of it now I best stock up on bumgenius and hautes for when he wants to start cruising around :)
My older DS didn't toilet train until he was 4 ( he has a mild intellectual disability) just 3 months before I had number 4. So I've only had 3 months nappy free in 9 years.. I wish I knew about cloth for that long! I guess just keep trying the different brands until you find what works for him :yes:
The Bum Geniuses look really trim. I don't know if they'll fit the boys properly though... even though they are one size, they look quite small... I spose I'll find out tomorrow morning! I think maybe he didn't like the feeling of being 'wet' and he didn't like the bulk between his legs.... If I can invent a way of folding a flat, and then making a fleece liner which lines the whole nappy.... or even a fleece liner which lines a whole BBB...
I'd love to sew.. I'm going to learn.. and my first nappy is going to be a super trim in the crotch, fully fleece lined, hidden PUL layer, superabsorbant fitted/pocket hybrid. LOL Designed for super-wee-ers and toddlers :thumbsup:
17-05-2007, 20:11
What are the trimest pockets??
Maybe this will help- check out Swaddlebee organic velour side-snapping pockets at The Wee Wuns. They are so tiny- they sit below the belly and are very narrow through the crotch. But the insert they come with is great! I'd also use the microfiber one as well. But I only have the hemp one and it works well for a good couple of hours- it's our going-out nappy :D :thumbsup:
Other then that, you could try and get hold of an Itti Bitti AIO- that would be the bestest of all trim MCN for sure IMO! :yes: I have three, all 2nd hand and they may as well have been new- ex. condition. I got the bamboo insert sets (can keep using the outer shell, but change wet inserts while out etc) and keep the hemp ones as spares.:thumbsup:
Hey Em,
Can I ask.. what nappies do you use on DS?>? Coz he's older than the boys (so I'm assuming bigger) and I'm finding that I 'think' the BBB's may be a bit small for them...
What nappies do you use on Ronan??
Oh, another tip for getting him interested, is let him pick a colourful nappy/print that he likes, really talk it up, then he might be excited about wearing in, yk?
Foxymoron
17-05-2007, 20:28
You can also use a trimmer booster- in the nappies I made. The boosters in them are heavy duty overnighters- I wouldn't advise sending the boys out to frollick at the park in them fully loaded up!:laughing: I use the small insert from the hautes sometimes in a fitted. I have heard heaps of praise for ittis, so I'd be hunting for one of those for sure!
*sigh* this is SUCH a learning curve!!
:laughing: They have been looking a little 'chunky' LOL
Poor things.
17-05-2007, 20:40
You've got great nappies so far though.. the BBBs- well, nothing compares for nights, IMO- they are brilliant :yes: You will need all the BBBs you have because they are sooo.... sloow... tooo....dry.... No kidding. Very frustrating!! I don't have a dryer and the load of nappies I washed 2 days ago is still damp :rolleyes: No, I'm not saying I don't want us to get rain!! But if it's not going to rain, then can the sun please come out?! :D
Anyway, once you have some good trim day nappies, you'll be set!
HoopDeeDoo
17-05-2007, 21:51
I found with Noah since we switched when he was just turning 2 the best way to get him to come around was having cute nappies. It helps that I make them myself so I could do lots of different nappies with cute tabs, and now applique, like the Buzz nappy etc, so he like to choose which one he wants to wear.
But just having different colours will help, and getting him to choose which nappy he wears, and say they are 'special new nappies' :yes:
Noah walked like he'd been riding a horse too long for a few days, but he got used to it :thumbsup:
HoopDeeDoo
17-05-2007, 21:54
Pooks I so know where you are coming from this weather is driving me crazy! :banghead: I would love it if we would get the rain, but I hate that all we are getting is bloody clouds so after 2 days of being inside and outside they are still damp
We'll keep trying... there's not really any chance of going back.. the set up cost alone is about the same as sposies would have cost us for the rest of the year....
so we're stuck with cloth now :p
Going to try and get hold of some of those goodnight nappies
SassyMummy
17-05-2007, 22:46
Chanel's a hefty girl, but 5 months younger than your boys. I don't like bigger nappies (except for night) because her clothes don't fit too well AND she walks funny.
The trimmest nappy I have are my Swaddlebees Pocket and AIO (the AIO comes with a pocket too... which I always use... it's still ultra tiny but more absorbant). I have a side-snapping one... you actually have the FRONT of the nappy infront of the back part... unlike other nappies which have tabs that cross over the front (like sposies). They're harder for bubs to remove.
They're also kinda like "hipster" nappies... they're low cut as well, but they're quite tight against the body so there's no "gap" for leaks.
I like them.
I know they're cheap and there seems to be an anti-PeaPod thing going... but they're quite trim and I find them reliable.
If the bulkiness between his legs is what's bothering him then I'd also suggest Swaddlebees (either AIO Pocket, Organic Velour Pocket, or Regular Pocket), OR Itti Bitti AIO - they're the trimmest nappies I've used.
Bumgenius are also trim, and fit a bit like a sposie. They look small but they're good!
At night a Very Baby Simply Nights is trimmer in the crotch than other night nappies, and Jet looks much more comfy in his than in a boosted BBB (although he doesn't seem to mind either way)
And for dryness you can cut fleece to make liners which cover most of the inside of the nappy - I've done a few like that for nights :yes:
Phoenix's Mum
18-05-2007, 20:03
I'd second the Bumgenius AIO's. Superb! And the mediums fit a few 2 yr old bubs I know, hipster style....:thumbsup: Plus they'd fit #2 after 4/5 months!
Sorry but I can't send you some of these ones, I need them! :laughing::laughing:
Ooh and Itti Bittis too. *sigh* Lovely!
That's the way I'm thinking too..
Keeping him in pockets during the day and trying to get hold of one of the trimmer crotch night nappies... as well as making a fleece liner which covers him fully... (I wonder if it would work if I made some like little fleece undies.. coz he doesn't poo at night) to wear under his nappy.
Where can I get a VBSN from?? And how do they compare with a GNST?
I can't wait to get more money!!.. come on tax return!!
18-05-2007, 20:12
I have the opposite problem i have a little boy who loves his cloth nappies he is going to need a 12 step program :laughing:
Every day its a fight to stop him from playing with the clean nappies. They all get dragged outta the changetable around the house. Stuffed & unstuffed its quite a sight !
He will even got to bed with them if i let him :rolleyes:
Oooooh i just thought !
I have an older style Swaddlebees nappy in a green with a hemp insert which im quite happy to hand over to you if you want it !
Itti Bittis are great for days, I have 2 and unless people notice them under DD's clothes they just assume she is in a sposie. I really want some of the bamboo inserts for them, that's about the only thing that I want to change about them, DD wees heaps if she has a drink so hemp doesn't always last long.
I also have a Swaddlebee pocket and thats great too, just as trim as the itti bittis :)
Keeping him in pockets during the day and trying to get hold of one of the trimmer crotch night nappies... as well as making a fleece liner which covers him fully... Where can I get a VBSN from?? And how do they compare with a GNST?
VBSN and GNST both come fleece-lined, so you wouldn't need to make a liner for those ;)
You can get VBSN from The Weewuns, or they are often available preloved on Buy for Baby. GNST are from Bubblebubs. The VBSN is a bit trimmer in the crotch and shaped differently, but they're both good night nappies IMO. You can also get the VBSN in either side or front snapping, or without the fleece lining, depending on what you prefer.
I've got my BumGenius and Hautes all ready and stuffed for tomorrow, so I'll see how he goes with those. And I've got some great AIO's courtesy of Phoenix's Mum, so I'll give those a whirl too (and take pics if they'll let me!)
For Ollie (who is quite happy in whatever I put him in I might boost a terry and use that under a cover :thumbsup:
Am definately going to try and get a hold of some swaddlebees and ittybitties :yes: !
the choices the choices...
What are these Berry Plush's like??
They are lovely, but not trim :no:.... I would imagine they would be comfy though, as they are sooo soft :D
Well I think we're away!!
I put Jordan in a BumGenius this morning (he chose the blue one) with the cotton babies insert. And no worries :thumbsup: He was happy as larry :D
Then he pooploded all over it YUK... it even got INTO the pocket!!.... So I put him in a terry flat 'kite fold' with a fleece liner and a Bummis PUL... and he was even happy in that!
Going out... put him in another Bumgenius... still all good.
Nap time.. was a sposie... but I'll try another BBB tomorrow with a bigger liner, or maybe a Haute pocket.
Night time is still sposie till I get the money to buy some of them 'fancy goodnight ones ;) "
Although.... if I'm only using sposies at night it will take a month to get through a box... and that's with both of them... so by the time I've bought 2 'heavy wetter' VBSN's each (so that they can still wear one if the other is drying) that's 6 month's worth of night sposies.... so not sure whether it's worth the cost for the twins...
SorenLorensen
19-05-2007, 21:11
TBH if they are happy with sposies of a night and so are you then there is no problem keeping them in them.
or if you do want them in cloth of a night it might be worth getting something in a size that will do them for while they are not wetting the bed any more, hannah has a few night time ones that are a little to big for her now but i bought them keeping in mind that alot of children still have acidents till around 4 or 5