View Full Version : What baby products would you NOT recommend?

Blueberry Crumble
16-05-2007, 20:29
Now that my bub is 12 months, I realised that I could have got away with not buying a lot of the baby paraphanalia that I did. There is so much out there that babies dont really need but people buy because it looks cute etc and then you realise that you didnt really use it that much.

For me it was a baby swing, some clothes, but there is so much in the shops that you see that would be a really waste of money. Anyone relate?

stellarella
16-05-2007, 20:45
Cot, cot sheets, cot mattress, cot mobile, baby bath...clothes, wraps...

Mrs AJC
16-05-2007, 20:48
Baby banz sunglasses, very cute but DS hates things on his face/head. Crawling knee pads, babies don't even have knees, but again DS hated having things strapped to him.

Theboys&me
16-05-2007, 21:35
Oh I think this a great thread - I don't have any bubs yet but I would love to know what not to waste money on!

SassyMummy
16-05-2007, 23:39
That damned Tommee Tippee nappy-wrapper. It's just a glorified, and very expensive bin! Since when would someone in their right mind spend $70 on a bin... and then $15 a month on bags for it? Absolute rubbish when you can just as easily throw them in a regular bin (the Tommee Tippee thing doesn't contain smells either... like it claims).

Also wouldn't recommend baby powder of baby oil. I got SO much of it... but I've hardly used the oil (only used it because it was there), and never used the powder. Same goes for bars of baby soap.

I actually wouldn't even recommend disposables anymore. I never ever wanted to stuff around with cloth, but after getting so frustrated with disposables I gave cloth a shot... and WOW! They work well, and they're CHEAP (compared to buying heaps of nappy every week...only to toss them away and add to landfill). SO much better to just use an MCN (and I'm not even addicted to prints or anything... I just like them because they're practical and cheaper).

Um... living here in Qld... I wouldn't recommend that anyone bother searching for a pram raincover...:laughing:

16-05-2007, 23:45
I didn't have much money when preg with my girl so that helped - didn't watse much money at all (most was given to us)

Next baby I wont buy

Disposables.

Baby bath products. (Water is fine!)

Pretty, awkward to put on, non practical clothing (Just frustrating it doesn't get worn)

Jodiee
17-05-2007, 00:33
I agree with the tommee tippee nappy wrapper, what a waste of money!! Plus I bought it, then decided to use cloth full time.. :laughing: ..

Umm, change table with a baby bath under the change mat, you have to open, fill bath, bath baby, take wet baby out of bath, close, put on towel, dry and dress baby, find somewhere to put baby, open, drain bath, close, move omg, why bother????

I just took out the bath, and use it seperately..

oleander
17-05-2007, 00:52
Some of the things mentioned here I have found really handy such as the baby swing and the baby bath.

I have too many little newborn size wraps, some I never used and the rest she grew out of too quickly.

My breast pump I have only used a handful of times so hiring one or borrowing one would have been cheaper.

Too many bottles and teats. I though I would get them 'just in case' and now have a cupboard full of bottles which are never used.

Ashleigh<3
17-05-2007, 01:10
I actually was very fond of my tommee tippee nappy wrapper bin.
I paid $90 for mine and I used it so much those first four months after the birth.
I honestly thought that all my baby wanted to do was poo. Also, the wraps lasted for so long. I didn't need to change them so often.

The Lavender Johnsons baby bath was a must need for us. DD doesn't have nappy rashes and I swear it's because the lavender soothes her bum.

I hate hate hate so many different baby wipes.
I hate the woolworths brand, I hate the coles brand, I hate the one that comes in a purpley, pinky packet.
I only like the huggies ones, the aldi unscented ones, or the johnsons brand.
Another product that is crazily overpriced!
Most of the time we just use a soft wash cloth.
Better on the bum.

Baby oils- I found use for this, when I'd wax my eyebrows it removed the excess wax so no stickyness. lol
The johnsons shampoo, no use for us, I hated the smell.
We do use the johnsons shampoo +conditioner though.

I just use baby cotton on bags or normal adult cotton on bags for a nappy bag. $1 a bag, that's pretty cheap.

Bouncer was pretty vital for the first few months but it sort of broke after that. I guess she was gaining weight pretty quickly.

Hate my three wheeler pram.
I hate the looks people give me when we hop on a crowded train.
Like I'm the antichrist or something rather..

NOT having enough baby towels, We have about 10 now, but initially started out with about 4.

So many baby blankets some have still never been used, they just sit away in a blanket box.

EskimoMumma
17-05-2007, 01:17
3wheeler pram. Hate them.

17-05-2007, 01:18
Never used the baby bath or change table.

Never used the baby swing,dd and ds hated it.

I brought an expensive 3 wheeler pram which was so heavy and after a while i just got a stroller which i used for ds from birth,and ended up getting a twin stroller.I find strollers are more practical and light weight.The lay back ones of course.

Baby muslin wraps came in handy for me because dd and ds were wrapped until 8-10 moths,i found the stretchy cotton ones better.

Bumble
17-05-2007, 01:19
TOYS
THERE IS NO NEED TO BUY ANY !SOME HOW YOUR HOUSE JUST BECOMES FULL OF LARGE PLASTIC THINGS THANKS TO FRIENDS NANNAS AUNTYS AND UNCLES:D
ALSO BABY BLANKETS YOU ONLY NEED ABOUT 3 THEN I SUGGEST SLEEPING BAGS:thumbsup:

17-05-2007, 01:21
TOYS
THERE IS NO NEED TO BUY ANY !SOME HOW YOUR HOUSE JUST BECOMES FULL OF LARGE PLASTIC THINGS THANKS TO FRIENDS NANNAS AUNTYS AND UNCLES:D

Tell me about it i refuse to buy indoor toys now,our house is so cluttered with toys :rolleyes:

Bumble
17-05-2007, 01:40
Tell me about it i refuse to buy indoor toys now,our house is so cluttered with toys :rolleyes:

We have 2 rooms full of toys and a play room full way two many as it is DD birthday next week i will be giving most of them to playgroup ready for the millions she will get of everyone!
i bought her new clothes NO MORE TOYS PLEASE

mumE
17-05-2007, 06:48
Don't go crazy on baby creams like i did! Just one container will last for what seems like forever

Jenko
17-05-2007, 07:08
That damned Tommee Tippee nappy-wrapper. It's just a glorified, and very expensive bin! Since when would someone in their right mind spend $70 on a bin... and then $15 a month on bags for it? Absolute rubbish when you can just as easily throw them in a regular bin (the Tommee Tippee thing doesn't contain smells either... like it claims).

Also wouldn't recommend baby powder of baby oil. I got SO much of it... but I've hardly used the oil (only used it because it was there), and never used the powder. Same goes for bars of baby soap.
Um... living here in Qld... I wouldn't recommend that anyone bother searching for a pram raincover...:laughing:

Have to agree with you yet again Stacey! :) I came into this thread to say the exact things you've already mentioned.

Tommee Tippee nappy bin. I still have the original plastic bags in it from when DD was born almost 3 years ago. Actually I still have the baby powder and baby oil that people gave me too. :eek: Probably should toss them in the bin. :rolleyes:

Blueberry Crumble
17-05-2007, 09:50
I agree with the Tommee Tippee Nappy Bin- use it twice. It was just easier to chuck them in the bin

Also, I agree with the change table with the bath. I took the bath off right at the beginning and once bubs began to really wriggle it became too dangerous to use the change table! I wont use a change table with the next one- just a towel on the floor will do!

Also, those fancy smancy baby bouncers that you see in Target that you can pay around $200 for and will use for about 2 months if that- like that red car one. Looks great, but geez, what a waste of money.

A good/simple rocker or bouncer is fine. We ended up buying one with vibrations/music and dangly toys.We ended up taking off all the dangly toys and never used the vibrations and music.

But I like all the Johnsons bath stuff etc. I love the smell of the lavender bedtime bath! mmmmmmmmmmmmm

SassyMummy
17-05-2007, 10:55
I think nappy bags are a complete waste of money. Most don't fit under the pram, so you have to either carry it, or hang it off the handles (which is dangerous).

For a while I just used Supre Green bag (it was pink though, not green), and now I just have a small kids backpack because it fits nicely under the stroller.

I hardly ever used my nappy bag because it didn't fit easily under the damned pram!

I also think people can easily get away with only a few wraps. A few thicker ones, and a few muslin ones... that's all you need. I have FAR too many...

Areca
17-05-2007, 11:23
I think the baths with the change table are a complete waste. We never got one, but DD only used her baby bath for such a short amount of time. She has a very nice wooden change table that is still in use! One of my friends had one of the change table/bath things and she hated it with a passion!

Disposables definitely.....and wipes. Thankfully we never stocked up on those either but after dealing with constant blow outs cause disposables wouldn't contain anything and allergic reactions to wipes I'm so glad we didn't (I'm not a cloth addict either....I have three plain pink nappies, the rest are plain white...it's all about what's practical for me.)

DD was wrapped until she was 9 1/2 months old but I think we have like 7 wraps. We never went overboard on the clothes/wraps thing. If they really need more you can buy more.

Wipe warmers seem like a complete waste to me too.

Butterflies&Hurricanes
17-05-2007, 11:49
We didnt buy a baby bath because we were told they were a waste of moneyl Instead we bathed DS in the sink and when he got to big for that he went in the bath with DH. He still baths with DH most nights and loves it!!

One of my worst buys would have to be the bumbo! He loved it for all of 5 minutes before he could sit - then if I tried putting him in it he would contort himself until he almost fell out! So I stopped using it!

When buying clothes... make sure they have poppers on the legs... makes nappy changes easier - so you dont have to take everything off!

mitty
17-05-2007, 13:05
We never bought a change table, instead i used a cheap desk from Big w, which we used to use for the computer and I chucked on a sheep skin and a thick towel or quilt. I get to chuck the quilt and towel in boiling water every week. So much easier. I have it against a wall and the set of drawers so it is very safe.
I also found a nappy bag was a waste, I just used a bob the builder bag my daughter had for kindy.
As for no raincovers in qld, someone mentioned. I bought one, I think have only used it once for rain, but it is great if you have a pram that you can't reverse the handles and bubs get winded. It stops the wind.
Toys aswell, bub plays alot with his sisters lol.....powder and baby oil too are a waste.

:idea:

mummajuice
17-05-2007, 13:25
We stocked up on a heap of useless cr@p like the Tommee Tippee Nappy Wrapper, a manual breast pump that didn't even cover my nipple (I'm a G cup but still u don't think of size ATM), dummies & a dummy thermometer when DD came her palatte was too high and couldn't use them, special baby cotton buds (face washer works just as well), about a million wraps and sheets, baby oil / soap / wipes that still haven't been touched.

I have switched to cloth wipes after getting sick of forking out over $5 for them at shopping or making a special trip to Aldi.

Also those overpriced "weaning spoons". They're like $6 each but no different to any other plastic cutlery.

Ummm I think that's about it. Will think of more I'm sure

kiah
17-05-2007, 13:29
I learnt from the first that a big pram is no help. And i think it's more of a fashion excessory than a necessity.

For me a jogging pram for on the road and a tiny stroller that i can easily get in and out of the car as fast as possible is what i prefer.

Refresh
17-05-2007, 13:41
Baby bath, change table, creams, lotions and potions, baby wipes,...

emilysmumma
17-05-2007, 13:47
The change table with the baby bath underneath.- Love the change table, used the baby bath twice.
Pram rain cover- we live in Brisbane :banghead:
Portable cot- sleeps with us.
Toys- they mutiply on their own.
Clothes- for the first year. You don't need too many as they grow so quickly out of them and then their onto the next size.
Creams and lotions- you get some in the bounty bag and as gifts. You're lucky if you use those up. The samples from the bounty bag are still sitting in the cupboard.

Emma 80
17-05-2007, 14:23
Clothes- for the first year. You don't need too many as they grow so quickly out of them and then their onto the next size.
I'd definitely agree with that, I bought heaps of clothes and ds hasn't been able to wear half of it, as his grown out of them.

michelle21
17-05-2007, 14:41
We brougt way too many clothes! Heaps never even got worn.
All the baby bath products like baby powder, oil, nappy rash creams, soaps, shampoo etc we use none of it!!
Tommy Tippie Nappy Wrapper, used it for a few moths then discovered it was much easier and cheaper to use a normal bin! lol its still in his room but we have taken the top 'wrapper' bit off and just use the bottom for a bin.
Baby bath, I just got a thing that you can put in the big bath that bub lies in. cheap and he loved it!! Plus your hands are free to wash him :thumbsup:
what else... hmmm...
Baby shoes, he only wore socks for ages shoes at that age were just way to fiddely.
Baby wraps and blankets, had way too many and hardely used them anyway.
Toys.... no need till there older and you get given heaps anyway.
umm thats about all I can think of but I no there are so many other things I was conned into buyung and didnt need or use :laughing:

ThreePinkFaireez
17-05-2007, 15:17
I never used a change table..... just used the closest bed or couch lol... or floor! Just had a mat or my sheepskin.

I won't buy a baby bath again I don't think, will just use a sink and/or shower.... and when bigger the bath and/or shower....

I won't buy disposables again.... well maybe one packet for just incase!! I have never used MCN on a new born before!!

I just used normal towels, not baby towels....

Dont' go overboard on lotions and potions as people already said.. just basics like body wash and a good nappy rash cream.

Wipes I would buy but not use as often, I use a soft face washer most of the time now!!

Lisawa
22-05-2007, 10:04
I really loved our change table bath and have two of them, one each. I used to wheel it out into the kitchen area near the heater in winter, didnt have to bend. I was disappointed when DS wouldnt fit in it anymore.

I also loved our battery opperated swing, it was the portable fisher and price one that folds up and we took it everywhere. Used it for two kids and gave it to a friend and they absolutely love it too.

Disposable and wipes waste of money, love MCN and cloth wipes.

Oils and creams waste, best to use something like QV wash which soften the skin anyway. When DS was a newborn with dry skin I used a little olive oil in the bath, better for skin than baby oil.

I have wasted so much on prams, I have owned 5 and buying a 6th today (just a new stroller) do your research first before buying any pram, its really what suits your lifestyle etc. But finally I love my Phil and Ted but need a lightweight stroller for quick trips to the shops.

I need a nappy bag as I used cloth nappies and they dont fit so well in the little backbacks.

Its funny everyone is quite different.

Bassinette waste of money, DD was in one for a long time in our room but DS was too big and went into a cot before he turned 6 weeks old. Next time (if there is a next time) I will go straight to a cot, or portacot could be used in our room if we want the baby with us.

PygmyPossum
22-05-2007, 20:11
I wish I knew before I had my kids what I know now. So many things are a waste of money and so many things don't get used..

Big prams: they're just to show you can afford it IMO

Nappy bags: cost way too much and they are very big and hard to carry around..

Expencive clothes: kids just destroy them and grow out of them very quickly and they don't know about brand names, as long as they're comfortable.

Toys: I have gotten rid of so many toys and given them to charity, my kids don't touch them, most of the time they love playing outside with dirt and running on the grass chasing a cheap ball. Books are much better and my kids love them..

Nappy wrapper thingos: I never bought one as I thought they were a waste of money and I just chucked them into the big bin outside straight away that way they don't smell inside the house..

Creams and potions: Why would kids need these? A good bath wash and a great nappy rash cream is all i ever used.. and a great suncream esp if you live in QLD..

Bumbo seats: they just look silly to me, would not buy it if it was a $1..

of I could go on forever....better stop..

Mrs AJC
22-05-2007, 20:22
Too many bottles and teats. I though I would get them 'just in case' and now have a cupboard full of bottles which are never used.

If you 1/4 fill the bottles with uncooked rice they make great maraccas (sp?)

~Emmylou~
22-05-2007, 20:35
Cot blankets and sheet sets - somehow I have tons of these in both pink and blue and they're never used. Not safe to have blankets in bed with a roly-poly baby. :no:

Pretty, frilly baby girl dresses that have to be ironed, are a pain the a$$ to get on a floppy baby, and look like they've been slept in five minutes after they were on her back.

"good" outfits - only get worn once or twice and the next time you go to put them on guess what....TOO SMALL :thumbsdown:

Same goes for good shoes. My god I never realised how quickly kids feet grow.

And agree about the toys. My DH says the stuffed animals must have orgies when we're not looking because every time we go into DD's room there are MORE of them!!! :banghead:

mysonroger
22-05-2007, 20:41
window socks for the car to keep the sun off baby. the first time i put them on, i thought the view out of the back windows was pretty dark. by the time the sun started to think about setting and it got a little darker, i couldn't see a thing. not good when driving especially at night. in fact, very dangerous, especially seen as you do use that window when you're changing lanes and you do a quick over the shoulder glance.
i went back to the guy in the shop who sold them to me, and said "i can't believe you're selling them - they're so dangerous' and he goes 'yeah, i know' while shrugging his shoulders.

anyway, they look **** because most of the time they're not fitted properly or they're sagging a big , or their rippled....and it totally ruins the look of the car. yeah sure, they stop the sun, but at the cost of blocking the driver's view out the back window.

*Chels*
22-05-2007, 20:41
Definatley a cot LOL!Lucky it was brought for us coz he only used it for ike 2 months.
Teddies and soft toys-again given to us and they are just a waste of space.
Theres heaps everyone has already mentioned!Clothes is definatly a biggie,he never wore half of them.During summer it was sooo hot he lived in his nappy or just a singlet.
I have learnt that all babies need is easy to remove clothing,lots of cuddles and milk.
Next time I wont be buying much at all:no:

OneBabyBoy
22-05-2007, 20:50
I've found the nappy wrapper invaluable. I live in an apartment and I'm a single mum so the nappies would be well and truly be stinking out my flat by the time I get down to the big bins outside. In the nappy wrapper you can't smell them at all :thumbsup:

katherine
22-05-2007, 20:50
cant say i have really found much i dont use.....

but i am sick of soft teddy bears!

and some newborn/baby overalls dont have press studs between the legs ANNOYING and babies who cant walk.. its a pain to put the cute older boys shirt on them as they always ride up....

22-05-2007, 20:58
:laughing: this thread is a crack up.
It's funny what things people find useless... I love my big pram (NOT just to show I can afford it, btw) because it's comfy for me to push in the shops and out for walkies, and it's comfy for the cobester - and for many years.
The baby bath was a godsend as my sicks aren't big here, and the laundry is exposed area in the garage, under the house.
Love my change table - but it's also a chest of drawers.
Love the cot... although we co-sleep he daysleeps in it.
Love the portacot as we go out to friends places a lot.
I'm trying to think of my waste of money...
Maybe the spoons and bowls since he has finger-food 99% of the time.. I want to get him a fork soon but I dare say that'll be a waste too

Chub Chub
22-05-2007, 21:09
window socks for the car to keep the sun off baby. the first time i put them on, i thought the view out of the back windows was pretty dark. by the time the sun started to think about setting and it got a little darker, i couldn't see a thing. not good when driving especially at night. in fact, very dangerous, especially seen as you do use that window when you're changing lanes and you do a quick over the shoulder glance.
i went back to the guy in the shop who sold them to me, and said "i can't believe you're selling them - they're so dangerous' and he goes 'yeah, i know' while shrugging his shoulders.

anyway, they look **** because most of the time they're not fitted properly or they're sagging a big , or their rippled....and it totally ruins the look of the car. yeah sure, they stop the sun, but at the cost of blocking the driver's view out the back window.

Couldn't agree more!!!! Probably has something to do with me being run off the road by a massive 4WD with these stupid things on and the driver not even noticing:rolleyes:

Cordelia
22-05-2007, 23:06
I was just thinking that most things i've bought have got a real work out.

A couple of things that haven't:

The bassinet - we used it for 3.5 months before we moved her to the cot...

Baby blankets - just how many do you need? MIL has made us about 7 cot blankets... she doesn't know that we don't use them - just have bub in a sleeping bag. (I dont have the heart to tell her!)

and the baby bjorn I bought.. I have replaced it with a much better sling. I only used that twice.

22-05-2007, 23:19
I have 2 portacots and never used either of them :o

The other big waste of money for us was expensive baby monitors. We have a video one and the one that detects a stop of movement. I have a small house so as soon as a cry is heard, I'm there and we cosleep.

erinp
23-05-2007, 08:55
Just wanted to say a big thank you to everyone who has posted on this thread. DH & I are starting to get together our list of stuff to buy when our first is born in October..and this thread has been really useful to hear what not to buy. Thanks guys. :)

Silvana
23-05-2007, 09:03
What is a bumbo? :confused:

One thing I hated is when DD was born the only clothes I got were 000 or 0000. Doesn't anyone think ahead? I have a tonne she hasn't even worn. She was in them for a month at the most (she grows very fast, 5 months and over 9 kilos).

I'm glad I didn't buy a bassinette, she went straight into the cot.

I am in central qld, so I do need a rain cover for my pram, but i was lucky that it came with the pram.

Briannabear
23-05-2007, 09:13
I found that cot bumpers and cot quilts are the biggest waste of money. You're not meant to use them anyway for the first 12 months so whats the use! :rolleyes:

We loved our Basinette, portacot, cot and pram though. :yes:

squiglet
23-05-2007, 13:42
I already have a list of things that I don't use:

Muslin wraps don't get used in winter:cool: ......
Breast feeding bracelet no need for it
Nipple shilds (buy them if you need them, no just to have)
Baby dresses are the stupidest things ever made
pants without poppers in the crotch
suites that have poppers all the way down the legs so the leg of the suit splits compleatly open. Avcompleat nightmare to try and press a popper togeter round the foot of a wriggly baby.

Woolworth select nappies are only good for leaking poo onto bedding.

Cupcake
23-05-2007, 14:14
Things I wasted money on
My first 3 prams, my peggy stroller kicks all there butts.
Newborn nappies,she was born 5kg:rolleyes:
A snuggle bed,they are good but again she was born 5kg.
A baby bath, she went into a big bath straight away on a towelling support thingy.
A baby monitor, I swear I could hear her every breath/noise in China:D without it.
I agree a nappy bag is not a necessity.

But one thing I could not have done without was her fisher price vibrating bouncer it was a gift from heaven & although she was born big it lasted quite a while & when I put it on eBay I got all but $5 back for it.

Areca
23-05-2007, 14:47
Well I love our baby monitor, change table, nappy bag and big pram!

We've never gone overboard with clothes but DD was in 00's from 2 months until around 14 months. She was a slow grower so they got plenty of wear! Also, cause she's so skinny I find the real cheap baby clothes are way too wide for her so we do have to get the expensive stuff. Some Target clothes fit her but you can forget K-Mart and Big W. Cute clothes, but made for chubby babies, not skinny one's. All of DD's clothes are either Target, Sprout, Pumpkin Patch and Bebe.
Different strokes for different folks!

I think the biggest waste of money is cloth bibs. DD has a re-usable plastic one and it's brilliant. It has arm holes so it covers more, it is easily washed, doesn't stain and liquids run off it, instead of soaking through it. Cloth bibs are good for catching spit up on babies that aren't on solids yet and nothing else IMO.

Theboys&me
24-05-2007, 18:13
I love this thread - proving to be very educational for me!!! Keep the items coming girls...... please!!! I am starting to make a NOT to buy list - hehe.. your hindsight is much appreciated!

PygmyPossum
24-05-2007, 22:51
I thoght of another one:

Nappy Stacker - I had one with my DD but it was a pain in the a** to transfer the nappies from the box to it, took too much time and they are way too expensive..

squiglet
25-05-2007, 13:15
I didn't go for the nappy stacker either.
I have a lot of fitted cloth nappies and needed a place to keep them.
I bought a wicker clothes hamper and just tip the clean nappys into this ready to be used.

Theboys&me
11-06-2007, 16:42
Anyone else have things to add?? It is good to hear others advice who have been there and done it!!! I am going to be on a very tight budget when it's my turn and I really would hate to waste money on things I won't use!

motherlylove
11-06-2007, 17:09
Cot, cot sheets, cot mattress, cot mobile, baby bath...clothes, wraps...

did you end up co sleeping?

Theboys&me
11-06-2007, 17:36
-bump-

Toffee apple
11-06-2007, 18:05
I havnt read all the replies so sorry if these ones is repeated ....
baby oil
bubble bath /huggies lotions & potions
baby ear buds
no need for any of it i use olive oil for cradle cap, & QV bath oil(from chemilst) for bath time , best for sensitive skin & re-hydrates .

Merlion
11-06-2007, 18:12
My swing. Jess hated it and so did Daniel. Any baby product washes. We use QV Wash as my kids have very sensitive skin. I bought heaps of muslin wraps for Daniel but hardly used them but we used them heaps with Jess. Also after we figured Jess hated the swing we bought a rocker but DH was bit hesitant to buy it (mum bought it) due to the swing issue. But Jess loved it and used to take it everywhere with us but Daniel doesn't really it

MW&S
11-06-2007, 18:19
Definitley agree that the nappy wrapper was an absolute waste!!

Sometimes I even think the change table is a waste. Could do it on the bed or couch or playmat. Where I usually do, as she gets bored on the change table and tries to roll..

Also a nappy bag. You dont need 100 diffrent pockets and zips!

Theboys&me
11-06-2007, 18:19
Are the J&J products not good for sensitive skin??? They smell soooooooo good.....

SassyDiva
12-06-2007, 16:18
Are the J&J products not good for sensitive skin??? They smell soooooooo good.....

Just popping my head into this thread :wave:

The J & J products have alot of nasties in them. Not really good for sensitive skin. I love QV wash but use J&J shampoo cause I love the smell.

K, will give u my pro and cons list.

LOVES:
Elec swing
Jolly jumper
booster seat (the ones that strap on kitchen chairs, geat to take when visiting child free homes 2)
Jeep pram.. love it, DS loves the attached steering wheel, has feeding tray and cup holder and lots of compartments for nappies etc.
Bonds singlets and bodysuits
Musical mobile - worth its weight in gold

WONT BOTHER AGAIN WITH:
Change table (although looked cute in the nursery)
Bassinette - even tho I loved it not really worth the money for the few months u use it.
Breast pump - used mine twice
Play gym - 2 big and bulky and DS prefered to roll and play
Play mats - total waste of $$$, use a mulin wrap

All I can think of right now but6 will post again if i think of any more

littlestar
13-06-2007, 15:48
definately my $$$ baby bag....don't even use it now!! Much prefer a handbag or little backback with the 2 kids!!

Reidymac
13-06-2007, 17:05
The Rocking chair for breastfeeding in the nursery.

The babies seemed to feed for 23 out of 24 hours when new and I didn't want to be trapped in the nursery all that time. They also slept in a cot in our room for the first year so even though I fed for 3 full years the chair has rarely been sat in.

sarahbelle
14-06-2007, 10:36
I agree with the nappy bag, I think I used it twice! Also I never used a bath they are a waste of time and usually the baby doesn't fit properly anyway! I was given heaps of creams and stuff and they are still there gathering dust. My ds also has senastive skin so we use QV. All others have so much s@@t in them he comes up in a huge rash! Also I bought a mobile, wanted it desperately to go with his pooh room and we never used it. It kept him awake and promoted play at bed time. Silly me! I also bought a really expensive cot and bumper set. It was a total waste of time coz they are sleeping so much you never see it!

I actually like my nappy bin but if I was to start again I wouldn't get another one! Good if you've got one but not worth the expense. I also like my change table. DS is nearly 19 months old and I still use it, much easier when you have a nice big poo that has gone everywhere! Also instead of singlets that just ride up, buy the all in one body suits. That way when you or other people hold the baby their clothes don't ride up their back! I also loved my swing. DS loved it and if we were cranky it always worked and actually still does!

SilverStarfish
14-06-2007, 10:59
Cotton balls. I was given some in a baby hamper thingy and 15 months on they are STILL sitting in the container on the change table!

Strictly speaking we could have done without 95% of the baby paraphernalia that we bought/were given.

I used the baby bath and change table more in the beginning, but honestly, you don't need them.

Clothes! Little babies don't need many! Maybe a half a dozen of those all on one "Bonds" suit type things and your set. And never, ever buy overalls etc that don't have poppers in them! I never did, but was given heaps.

SuperFrog
18-06-2007, 13:08
Bibs. Bibs. Bibs.

I was given oodles of them. In the early days I used one or two of the ones that pop over bub's head when burping, but now I just use a terry flat to catch any spew.

And the ones that you have to tie behind their head are useless. Try doing that with one hand. Velcro ones are worse... if your baby falls asleep with a velcro bib on it is impossible to get it off without making loud sounds right next to their ear.

Maybe when we move to solids we might use them. Oh, and I have not one but two sets of bibs with the days of the week printed on them. Am I a bad mother if he is wearing a Tuesday bib on a Friday?? :laughing:

HouseOfBlues
18-06-2007, 14:04
WOW! Bibs are one thing I couldn't live without!

For me it's a change table and high chair.
I prefer the booster seats you put on your own chairs. The high chair for me took up too much space.

kirstyE
18-06-2007, 14:44
I love my nappy bin, so much easier when DD has a really runny poo, as I just pop the nappy in and turn the lid, done. no smell either.

bassinette we used as she was a small premmie bub.

Toys are the thing that i wouldnt have so many for the next bub. Ppl gave us heaps of fluffy toys, teething rings etc DD only likes 2 fluffy toys and prefers to chew on (while teething now) wet cloths than teething rings.

SuperFrog
18-06-2007, 14:58
WOW! Bibs are one thing I couldn't live without!

For me it's a change table and high chair.
I prefer the booster seats you put on your own chairs. The high chair for me took up too much space.

I use a bib every now and then, but he isn't a spewy baby so it isn't really an issue. And I was given around 30 bibs... some of them are so small that it doesn't even catch the drool properly. I can see that we'll use them when we start solids, but I'll be using the bigger ones.

Change table has been fantastic for me. My parents found one at the Vinnies... a nice wooden one with a shelf underneath it. I have a dodgy back so the height makes changing him easier.

Each to their own I guess. :)

Pices_79
18-06-2007, 21:30
I LOVE our high chair and change table!! Couldnt live without it!!!

I was given so much baby powder - you dont use it!!!!

J&J gear - cant use any of it - dries bubs skin out

shed
18-06-2007, 21:34
We could have done without the cot for a start.

Ditto for the portacot.

Both of the change tables

All of the singlets except maybe 3 or so

That's about it. We have learned from our mistakes and I am not even going to buy a highchair! I won't put him in it so it would be just a waste.

Best things: Bumbo seat and jitterbug car. We were given the bumbo (thanks Pix) and got the jitterbug off ebay for about twenty five bucks.

greengables
18-06-2007, 21:36
I love seeing how some people couldn't live without certain things (eg change table, bibs - like me!) and others never used them!

I think it is hilarious that I used to try and 'copy' some women that I know, but really what works for you individually is the best, and it may be different (ie - different from my MIL) , but this is OK! I wish I had've known this b4 having kids. I love it! :thumbsup:

funnyfarm
18-06-2007, 22:23
Woolworth select nappies are only good for leaking poo onto bedding.

Its funny how everyone loves and hates different things. I love the woolworths select nappies. I travel 1 hour to buy these nappies as they are the only ones i like and don't seem to leak on my DD2.

Some things i find i use less than others but alot of our items were handed down to me or second hand so i never felt they were hugely wasted if not used alot. My advise to anyone buying baby things is to EBAY. Some baby items are soooo expensive brand new but second hand is much more affordable.

My most useless purchase would be a cot pillow. Not very expensive, but totally useless.

Susan Mac
19-06-2007, 12:37
My mum had seven kids and is the most practical person I know, so she helped me out heaps knowing what to buy when i was preggas, but here's my list:

Pram - we bought a three wheeler because my husband thought it looked sporty and i wanted it to go walking, but it is just too bulky. i'm starting to think I'm going to just buy a small stroller now for shopping, keep the big one (which currently has three flat tyres because the tubes need replacing and I DON"T HAVE THE TIME). For groceries bub sits in the trolley now, and he hated being in the pram until he could sit up and look around. We got a little umbrella stroller to take away when we fly down to see in-laws, but it's a bit flimsy for everyday use. However, love the three-wheel business for shopping when you have to push with one hand.

Baby bjorn - i'll try and use it for next bub instead of pram, but this time it just hurt my back too much.

Wipes - what a waste of money! I use cotton wool and sorbolene. I have a box of huggies wipes on my change table for pooey bottoms, because they are easier than a wet washer.

Baby bath - bathroom basin for the first month, then kitchen sink till about five months, now in the laundry tub till he grows out of it!

Nappy bag - I got a bag on markdown at target end of season to keep a few spare nappies and spare clothes in the car. I keep one nappy and a travel pack of wipes in my handbag.

Toys - have spent too much on toys and we don't have many. Jack's favourite toys at the moment are mandarins, a colander, empty soft drink bottles, the phone, remote control and anything that makes noise

breast pump - i bought one second hand on ebay because I knew i was going to have to go into hospital for day surgery. THat's all i've used it for becuase i really found expressing more trouble than it's worth

Teething ring - has been a godsend, but it went missing for a couple of weeks so we bought another but he wouldn't use it!

Euky Bearub - a friend gave it to me, and jack has had a horrible chesty cold this week and it has been marvellous

Change table - we have a foam mat from target and a camping table that we can use again for something else.

Pre-mashed baby food - just cook up some potato/pumpkin etc and freeze it in ice trays!

My other favourite thing is one of those cushions which looks like an armchair. Mum bought me mine from spotlight for my birthday and it is great because i can just sit up in bed comfortable for night feeds. I think they are at target too.

Sorry, it's a long post, But i love helping people out with best things to buy.

mum_inlove
20-06-2007, 22:27
Hmm..Where do i start..:rolleyes:

We found that we didnt need the changing table..only once or twice, i found all of them are too high for me (believe me im sooo short, like 4 foot 11 :p ), so its not convinience for me..

The nappy wrapper..we used it for the first few weeks, but then we just stopped, now on if the pooey nappy's too smelly we just put it into the smelly bag before put it in the bin..

Toys..Ds would only play with them for the first half an hour and then ditch them. I now buy toys from garage sale..Give it a good clean and wash before we give it to ds..

Walker, somehow ds' scared of it. He would only stay in it for 2 minutes if not less. He now starts to walk on his own, no walker..:smiliedance:

Luckily for us, most of the big stuff that we use like bassinet, changing table, etc, we 'borrow' from my sister in laws, so we're pretty much saved so much money already. We could then spent a bit more on the things that we didnt have like cot, pram. When we finished we just give it back to them.. :wave:

our little treasures
20-06-2007, 22:45
The change table with bath underneath, wish they had the bath that pulls out.

COT Never used it at all ever. All the cot accessories

Clothes half were never worn.

What are cloth wipes??:confused: I have always used washers instead of baby wipes.

20-06-2007, 22:58
Shouldn't have gotten the Tommy Tippee nappy wrapper (although it was second hand)

Shouldn't have gotten ANY baby clothes for the first few months other then all-in-one suits that button/snap down the front!

20-06-2007, 23:00
What are cloth wipes??:confused: I have always used washers instead of baby wipes.[/COLOR][/B]

You're using them! I think that saying 'cloth wipes' refers to people either using washers or wipes available online (washer-size, just fancier/softer fabrics such as velour or sherpa). Certainly much better then disposable ones! :yes:

Alex06
20-06-2007, 23:19
Just before I gave birth (1st bub) my sister in law offered to give me ALL her stuff, like change table, walker, high chair .... bla bla ....... Being the 1st bub, I wanted everything new. I bought the change table and my pram ..... but finally came to my senses and took her highchair, her cot (spare one at my parents), steamer.

I would have taken half her baby clothes, but she had girls and I have a DS.

Disposable Nappies (although Im using Aldi's Mamia brand, which are fantastic) I will try and use cloth nappies for next bub as long as possible.
A very expensive 3-wheeler pram $1100. One for half that price would of done the same thing !
Any products that contain chemicals for hair, body & skin.
Johnsons Baby wipes - too thin, end up using a bundle for 1 little poopie.
Dressy clothes for up to 6 months. Bought a gorgeous jeans overall - never worn. Stick to simple cotton rompers and dont waste money buying cutie outfits.
Blankets - Have about 20, and all in newborn sizes. Only used about 2 !