View Full Version : When's the Next Meet Up?
... and where?
We've just had a meetup in Newy, and a mini-meet in Maitland, so any ideas for the next one?
Is everyone still happy with Thursdays or is another day preferred?
I'll attempt to put a poll up!
x Kate
mummyof5
12-05-2007, 16:47
I'm easy with where, have car will travel...but Thursday's are a no go for me, I can only come to them in school hols.
H&B'sMum
12-05-2007, 18:29
Thursday mornings are out for me we have swimming. Friday's are usually best for us. I half way between Newcastle and Maitland so the location doesn't bother me.
I would love to have another soon..... as far as I know only next one planned is the Biggest Morning Tea....
I would love a day other than Thurs so I can bring DD.... otherwise people will start thinking she's a phantom child!!!
ann n mick
12-05-2007, 18:32
im fine 4 maitland as i dont have a car this will be my 1st meet up ever
Sheer Bliss
12-05-2007, 19:33
I am soo Lazy - I voted for Maitland, so I don't ahve to drive far. :D But it doesn't bother me too much. Thursdays are fine for us - but DD misses out 'cause that is her daycare day. Most other days suit us fine too ATM.
I voted maitland too. Maybe somewhere different this time as I always nearly get skittled at that round about....lol
Actually it is so not funny :gloomy: I may need a valium to attemt it again ;)
mummyof5
13-05-2007, 12:27
Does Friday suit people beter then?? Blackbutt is a nice place, though think you definately need to a car to get there...
Yeah Friday is good for me too :thumbsup:
Sheer Bliss
13-05-2007, 17:11
Friday is good for us too!
Friday is sweet.... just not this Fri coming..... :o
OH Yay I get to give little nick more cuddles Valentine He is bewwwdiful I could eat him. But I wont....lol
I promise I will be germ free soon :D
I would love it to be another day other then Monday they are always on Mondays and i can't go DD is at daycare.
13-05-2007, 18:32
What about the Friday a week and a bit after the mornign tea meet? Is that the 1st or something?
Oh wot day is the morning tea again :o
13-05-2007, 18:47
Thurs the 24th!
Okies thanx. I will have to work out how to get there.....lol
Oh I have pm'd you.
mamabearof3
13-05-2007, 19:21
That's possible for me I think.
Karena and Zoe I'm still car less and we need to arrange something with the tupperware.
H&B'sMum
13-05-2007, 22:01
I'll email you Anne
mummyof5
14-05-2007, 05:31
What about the Friday a week and a bit after the mornign tea meet? Is that the 1st or something?
Yep, it is the 1st. Does that work for everyone?? What do you all think??
BTW it's fine for moi!:D
Friday 1st is good for me too! :thumbsup:
As its getting cooler, whatabout an inside meet- maybe at that playcentre at Greenhills? Is it called Bugalugs or something? I haven't been there in years!
Has it got a good toddler area for the crawlers and new-walkers?
I wont have Dayne as he'll be in preschool, but that makes it easier for me as I won't have to keep an eye on more than one child!
x Kate
You can't get into bugalugs until after 11am (it's a gym creche before that) and they don't have much for the under 3's IMO. Just a ball pit and a tunnel.
I'm not sure if I can make it or not...will let you all know closer to the time. I'm happy to go wherever if I can come!
I like the sounds of B********
There's also the option of the play centre in Newcastle.... is that any better???
Don't mind where the meetup is, can make Wednesday,Thursday or Fridays usually.
Friday's Luke has preschool, but would still like to meet up, may actually be able to chat more.
Fiona
14-05-2007, 14:21
I'm good for a playcentre :yes:
and yep B ;) - the baby area is closed till 11am, but the bigger part is open.
i've been to the one at warners bay, but not the newer one in central newie?
If you make it a thurs I think kids get in free to the play centre on Darby street, its after a certain time, but it saves you $10... I will dig out the email and post it
Loyalty Cards and Price Changes
Please note that as of May 1st 2007 Smartypantz play entry prices will be increasing. This is to ensure that we will be around later in the year and can maintain the high standards you have come to expect.
E-newsletter members please ask for your loyalty card at the entry counter. This will entitle you to one free entry every ten visits.
New Prices:
Under 12 months – Free
Under 2 Years - $10
2 – 8 Years - $12
Grown Upz - $4
Family Packages
1 Grown Up & 3 Kidz – $35
1 Grown Up & 4 Kidz - $45
Free Thursdays
Come visit Smartypantz any Thursday in May between 12:30pm and 3pm to receive free entry to the play area.
This offer is for e-newsletter recipients only and is redeemable for two kidz and one grown up per family!!
Under 8’s Week
Smartypantz is celebrating Under 8's week from Monday 21st – Friday 25th May
Free daily activities will include Storytelling, Craft, Face Painting, Games, Movies, Dress Ups, Construction, Yoga and Play.
Australia’s Biggest Morning Tea
Thursday May 24th 9:30-12:30pm
50c from every hot drink and 50c from every spotty cookie will be donated to the Cancer Council. Come and grab a coffee for a fantastic cause!!
If there isn't much for the under 3's at bugalugs, is there another playcentre or indoor place in the Maitland area that we could go to? Or do you want to keep it as Bugalugs? I don't mind which!
As most people voted for a Maitland meet maybe we should keep this one in Maitland and go to the Newy playcentre the next fortnight?
And everyone's ok for Friday 1st for this meet?x Kate
15-05-2007, 09:39
Kate - Bugalugs is good for under 2's, just not till 11am? But there is still an area for them to play in, just the bigger kids bit, but seeing as it will be a school day, the big bit will be quiet anyway, so not really an issue.
But there is also the play cafe in Maitland, but it is rather small and mostly for younger kids, but depending on how many ppl are coming (it can get crowded in there:eek: ) that could be an option too?
We could just say it'll be either Maitland or East Maitland, at say 10:30 and see how many ppl are coming then choose from there?
Oh and it's $2.50 per child over one at Maitland,
and over one's at East Maitland are about $7 each I think, BUT they do shop-a-dockets where buy one entry and get one free, so if we have even numbers we can do that :smiliedance:
Luisa - Have you been to Smartypantnz? I haven't been but would like to go :yes: Maybe next meet? It's expensive tho - do you know if you can take your own snacks and drinks in?
Sheer Bliss
15-05-2007, 09:47
i was also going to suggest the cafe in Maitland - for Charli it is heaps better, but if there are older kids or a heap of is, it won't be much good 'cause it is so small.
We went to the one at East Maitland last week - it was $9.95 entry, but shopper dockets make it heaps better - buy one get one free i think.
If its' a thursday - Charli won't even be there, and i won't have to pay for Nick! So if it's thursday, i'll go wherever everyone else wants to go! but she will come on Fridays!
Nope haven't been there yet even tho its just down the road... Been a bit slack... Might have to check it out on thurs when I have Malachi at home! and report back as to what its like!
Hi Phineas and Luisa
Just thought I would post regarding Smartypantz in Darby st, I took Luke there a few weeks ago.The climbing frame/slides/bouncy castle was great for a 3 year old.There was a smaller section for babies, sorry didn't take much notice of what was in there and also an area with little tikes ride on cars as well.
There is a cafe there, I took some snacks and just bought a drink.
I only paid $10 entry but it seems very expensive if they are putting prices up to $12 for kids plus $4 entry for adults.
Also be warned there is a shop selling lovely clothing,books,toys as well so somewhere else to spend money!!
Fiona
Sheer Bliss
15-05-2007, 22:54
That is terrible charging $4 entry for adults! It's not like you go there for your own personal pleasure. when DH was on holidays it was great for him to come with us to the maitland one - if we had to pay an extra $8 for both of us to go in with DD, it might have made us think twice about going. I think it's very rude of them!!:thumbsdown:
In regards to the one in Newcastle....I've been there twice and it's great. The younger kids are allowed to go up in the bigger kid area if they like. I think there's more there for the little kids than the one at East Maitland. They do have a sign up that says that they are a cafe so it is inappropriate to bring your own food. I've been to the one at East Maitland and had friends told off for bringing their kids food and told they weren't allowed to eat it so it's not restricted to just the one in Newy that's like that. If your child has allergies they understand the need for your own food.
It does suck that their prices are going up but the one at Warner's Bay is the same.....you pay for the adults at Warner's Bay. My friend went there on Anzac Day and it cost $15 for her, her DH and their DD (under 2). I guess their prices are in competition with their closest competitor.
Ok gotta go, DD is awake.
Is there one still at Kotara????
H&B'sMum
16-05-2007, 20:23
I'm good for the 1st, but I don't like the thought of paying $16 for Harry and I go to smartypants. May be we should stick with Maitland.
Sheer Bliss
17-05-2007, 16:20
Do they have shpper dockets for the newy or warners bay one? I think it works out to be $5ea at maitland if we use the dockets. And you can get them online from hotdockets - so it's easy.
H&B'sMum
17-05-2007, 16:32
That sounds better Tan, I can handle paying that.
kailebsmummy
18-05-2007, 16:18
For the Darby st one you can go to their website and subscribe to the newsletter. You get freebie days each month. This month is free and when with paying kid, for next wk only (21-25th).
www.smartypantzkidz.com.au (http://www.smartypantzkidz.com.au)
The cafe in Maitland sounds good. :thumbsup:
If we're meeting on Friday the 1st, I'll only have Hannah as Dayne will be in preschool, so thats one less big kid!
So who's in?
x Kate
Are we still planning to do this? Can someone pm me the details of the cafe as I have no idea where it is!
I REALLY need to get out of the house this week! I'm going insane here :banghead: lol
What time will we meet, about 11am?
Edited as I just had a thought...
Would you all like to come to my place? I'm in Bolwarra Heights, 5 mins out of Maitland (over the bridge, past Lorn)
If everyone brings a plate then we can have morning tea here
What do you think?
x Kate
I won't be able to make this one....I'm not going to have a car and DD is petrified of public transport. Have a good day!
28-05-2007, 17:02
Ooops bugger - I've got a central coast meet on Friday -
Kate - are you busy Thursday? Interested in meeting at the small Maitland play cafe ;)
ann n mick
28-05-2007, 17:16
is the cafe near the post office in maitland?
and when is it ,time,ect
im due today for my bubs and marcus is 2yrs now so i might not make it as bubs might come late
can i get the details just in case
SpecialMumma
28-05-2007, 18:20
Theres also a play cafe at Kurri Kurri. Im about 95% sure its there, and its only like $2 for the kids to play or something like that.
28-05-2007, 19:32
Theres also a play cafe at Kurri Kurri. Im about 95% sure its there, and its only like $2 for the kids to play or something like that.
Is there? Cool didn't know that! I'll go wherever! Maitland is $2.50. I like the cheap ones :D
Are you going to join us Amy :smiliedance:
benji's_mum
28-05-2007, 19:40
I'm a Kurri local and I think that the play cafe in Kurri has closed. Are you refering to the one that was near the post office? They had a sign in their window selling all the fittings not too long ago.
SpecialMumma
28-05-2007, 19:54
Im a kurri local too! :O Mind if I ask where abouts your from? Pm if youd prefer :P
I havent honestly driven past in abit so I really am not that sure now youve said that :P
What day is the meet and where at?
Sheer Bliss
29-05-2007, 07:22
Oh no! I have a drs appt for DD on thursday morning & my post natal OB appt on Friday morning. looks like I am out for this ones girls. :thumbsdown:
29-05-2007, 10:51
Bugger Tan :thumbsdown:
Amy, I was thinking in Maitland on Thursday morning if it suits anyone else?
SpecialMumma
29-05-2007, 11:08
I can get to maitland thursday morning.
Who else is going Zoe?
I can probably do Maitland on Thursday morning, it just depends if Matt's pay goes in first thing or if they dawdle and it doesn't go in until late arvo. But put me down as a pencilled "yes"!
x Kate
Sorry girls, I won't be able to make it. Matt and I have to go open a new bank account, we've had heaps of dramas with our bank and we've had enough, so need to do this together tomorrow as its Matt's only day off when Dayne's at preschool.
I'll catch you at the next one!
x Kate