View Full Version : Cup cake Recipe
millymoo
09-05-2007, 09:38 AM
I am new to baking and wondered if anyone has a really good cupcake recipe I could try out.
millymoo
09-05-2007, 12:36 PM
pleeeease!!
Chub Chub
09-05-2007, 12:38 PM
Hang on I'll go get my recipe!
jasminesmum
09-05-2007, 12:39 PM
There is one here.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=87348&highlight=cupcakes
Chub Chub
09-05-2007, 12:48 PM
Ingred.
125g softened butter
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
3/4 cup caster sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups of SR flour
1/2 cup milkpre heat oven to 180. Beat butter, essence and sugar with electric mixer till fluffy. Beat in eggs one by one. Stir in flour and milk.
put into patty pans and cook for 15 minutes or so.
Have fun!
I dont have it written down but google nigella lawson cupcakes and they are fool proof (have been for me). Yummo made into butterfly cakes with fresh cream and jam.................mmmmmmmmmmm
millymoo
09-05-2007, 01:00 PM
Thanks so much girls..will get ingredients and do over this week and let you know how I go!
2girls&1boy
09-05-2007, 01:19 PM
I made these for a friend's baby shower and they were delicious.. The recipe makes 40 so you might want to halve it if you don't want that many:
5 Cups SR flour sifted
2 cups caster sugar
375g melted and cooled butter/marg
2 cups milk
5 eggs lightly beaten
2tsp vanilla extract
I did three different kinds of icing for the cupcakes:
Pink - which is 1 1/2 cups sifted icing sugar with one drop of red food colouring and 2 Tbs warm water(use a medicine dropper for the food colouring)
Passionfruit - 1 1/2 cups sifted icing sugar & 1 1/2 tbs passionfruit pulp
Orange - 1 1/2 cups sifted icing sugar, 1 orange rind finely grated 2tbs of the juice.
Allow for the icing to cool and they are just yummo!!
Thanks for the inspiration, gals!:D
I have some baking right now- I made chub chub's recipe but put in cinnamon, some apple puree and sliced apple on top. Will glaze with some jam when cooked!
Ooooh I just love to bake- makes you feel like a domestic goddess:laughing: :) .
EmsMum72
09-05-2007, 03:33 PM
The Betty Crocker cupcakes you can buy from the supermarket are mmmm mmmmmm mmmmmmm. They're so moist, and super easy to make! Have fun baking :yes:
DoubleAce
09-05-2007, 07:20 PM
Thanks for starting this thread Helen! I want to make cup cakes this week and didn't have a recipe!
(If you're wondering why I used your first name, we have actually met, even though we didn't get to speak. I was the first one to leave the hunter meet last week cause DD was falling asleep on me)
Chub Chub
09-05-2007, 07:23 PM
Thanks for the inspiration, gals!:D
I have some baking right now- I made chub chub's recipe but put in cinnamon, some apple puree and sliced apple on top. Will glaze with some jam when cooked!
Ooooh I just love to bake- makes you feel like a domestic goddess:laughing: :) .
Ooooh the pressure is on! I hope the recipe works for you:fingerscrossed:
:laughing: No pressure!
I was actually just coming back to tell you what a ripper little recipe that is. They were just so buttery and melt in the mouth. Verrrrrry noice!:yes: :D
Thanks again:thumbsup: .
millymoo
10-05-2007, 08:12 AM
I am inspired!! Once my groceries are in I will be off! Watch out girls!:laughing:
mummyof5
18-05-2007, 12:04 PM
Ingred.
125g softened butter
3/4 cup caster sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups of SR flour
1/2 cup milkpre heat oven to 180. Beat butter, essence and sugar with electric mixer till fluffy. Beat in eggs one by one. Stir in flour and milk.
Have fun!
Thanks for this very yummy cup cake recipe, chub chub, just made them this morning and they are great, my kids will thank you too!!:D
wannabemum
18-05-2007, 12:06 PM
Ingred.
125g softened butter
3/4 cup caster sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups of SR flour
Have fun!
Chubchub, just wanted to let you know that I tried your cupcake recipe and they are the best freekin cupcakes I have ever tasted. and were sooo easy.... thanks :yelclap:
they are the best freekin cupcakes I have ever tasted:laughing: Me too! They're now Mum's official recipe.
illawarramumof2boys
20-05-2007, 02:34 PM
hi
thanks for the cupcake recipe chub chub i'm going to try your recipe this week. anyone got any ideas on making ninja turtle cupcakes????
my son wants me to make them for pre school to take to share with his friends. thanks:)
mumof2angels
22-05-2007, 10:15 AM
Im gonna make some cupcakes they sounds yummo, but i just wanted to know with Chub Chub's recipe do you need to sift the flour?
22-05-2007, 11:14 AM
I'm trying Chub Chub's recipe today too....DD1 is going to help :D
mum0f2angels, i would assume that like most cakes etc, you'd sift the flour :thumbsup:.
mumof2angels
22-05-2007, 11:48 AM
Cool thank you ill be making some very soon, now to decide what icing hmmmmmmmm..........:rolleyes:
22-05-2007, 07:22 PM
Well i made them, and they are scrummy! I have NEVER made cakes form scratch before, so i'm amazed! Thankyou Chub Chub!! :hugs:
mumof2angels, the icing i did was this one, i found it on here (not sure of the username - sorry to whoever it was, but thanks! :D). Very easy, and looks great!
Icing (white)
1 1/4 to 1 1/2 cups icing sugar
1 egg white
2 to 4 drops lemon juice
Sift icing sugar.
Beat egg white lightly in a small bowl, using a wooden spoon.
Add icing sugar one tablespoon at a time, beating well after each addition.
When icing reaches desired consistency, add lemon juice.
I also added food colouring to mine, too, but it's great if you want nice thick, white icing!
mumof2angels
22-05-2007, 07:33 PM
Sounds nice that icing but i think im in the mood for a cream cheese type icing i was gonna make the cakes this arvo but never got to do it ( sick kids and been in jimmy jams ALL day and still am!) Oops time for bed!!
woven_wings
22-05-2007, 09:14 PM
I made this just then! Yummy when warm. I also made that icing too.. thanks for re-posting it Shannon.
Yum!
Chub Chub
22-05-2007, 09:22 PM
Wow...I didn't realise how much of a hit these little suckers were:thumbsup: .
Mumof2angels...I am such a slack cooker I don't sift the flour but I figure they will be a little fluffier if you do.
I cannot take credit for the recipe but can't remember who I got it off.....maybe my mum???
Yum...maybe DD and I will make some tomorrow:yes:
23-05-2007, 05:54 AM
Yummy when warm.
Aren't they just! I ate 3 warm without icing! :o :laughing:
woven_wings
23-05-2007, 08:13 AM
Ive ate 2 when warm and another 2 iced this morning :laughing: ! Breakfast... yummy!
heymamma
23-05-2007, 08:48 AM
I dont have it written down but google nigella lawson cupcakes and they are fool proof (have been for me). Yummo made into butterfly cakes with fresh cream and jam.................mmmmmmmmmmm
She has some awesome cup cake recipes huh!!!
My hubby loves mint... so im gunna try the choc mint cupcakes.
Ever since i seen deana on that show "What about brian" making cupcakes i wanted to try making some..lol Hers are so pretty.
yeah i like the nigella ones, all in the blender no folding etc but i will try these ones next time, see how i go:chef:
heymamma
24-05-2007, 10:38 AM
I made chub chubs cupcakes to... everyone loved them...wow!!! i cant believe how light & fluffy they are.
Damn you all for making me want more of these!!!!:laughing: I'm going to do cherry ones this arvo with lemon icing:thumbsup: .
millymoo
24-05-2007, 01:07 PM
Just made them...yummy...topped with butter icing! Cant wait for the tribe to get in and have some!
Thanks...this has turned into a good thread!:thumbsup:
Wow...I didn't realise how much of a hit these little suckers were:thumbsup: .
Mumof2angels...I am such a slack cooker I don't sift the flour but I figure they will be a little fluffier if you do.
I cannot take credit for the recipe but can't remember who I got it off.....maybe my mum???
Yum...maybe DD and I will make some tomorrow:yes:
JesLiz
24-05-2007, 01:12 PM
Ingredients
Makes about 30 cupcakes
1 3/4 cups cake flour, not self-rising
1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 cups sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch cubes
4 large eggs
1 cup whole milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Directions
Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line cupcake pans with paper liners; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt; mix on low speed until combined. Add butter, mixing until just coated with flour.
In a large glass measuring cup, whisk together eggs, milk, and vanilla. With mixer on medium speed, add wet ingredients in 3 parts, scraping down sides of bowl before each addition; beat until ingredients are incorporated but do not overbeat.
Divide batter evenly among liners, filling about two-thirds full. Bake, rotating pan halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, 17 to 20 minutes.
Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Repeat process with remaining batter. Once cupcakes have cooled, use a small offset spatula to frost tops of each cupcake. Decorate with sprinkles, if desired. Serve at room temperature
millymoo
24-05-2007, 01:19 PM
Just made them...yummy...topped with butter icing! Cant wait for the tribe to get in and have some!
Thanks...this has turned into a good thread!:thumbsup:
Here they are
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s2/helenchand_photos/cake002.jpg
Millymoo they're just adorable!!!!
Well done.
millymoo
24-05-2007, 01:22 PM
The recipe is yummy...my first attempt!
Thank you...notice there are 11 not 12??? Yummy it was x
25-05-2007, 07:13 AM
You know what? Out of all the cupcakes recipes i've 'tried' (that's including alot of packet ones) these are the only ones that don't come away from the patty paper when cooking, but still peel off beautifully when cool, KWIM! :thumbsup:
I made a second double lot yesterday (as the first ones went so fast :D) i'll go take a pic and post back! Millymoo, yours look great! :yelclap:
25-05-2007, 08:54 AM
Here's mine! Next time i'm gonna do a butter frosting, would be so yummy.
http://picasaweb.google.com/shazbutt81/Miscellaneous/photo#5068277192480401730
jasminesmum
25-05-2007, 11:38 AM
Here's mine! Next time i'm gonna do a butter frosting, would be so yummy.
http://picasaweb.google.com/shazbutt81/Miscellaneous/photo#5068277192480401730
Shan, those are soooo purty. They look yum too.:D
wannabemum
25-05-2007, 11:40 AM
Just made a passionfruit icing to go onto cupcakes :thumbsup: !
Just used icing sugar, butter and passionfruit pulp (from the tin though)
25-05-2007, 12:01 PM
Ooh, i hadn't thought of doing a passionfruit icing! That would be so yum! I have a tin of the pulp in the pantry, so will do that next time! Ta! :thumbsup:
Shan, those are soooo purty. They look yum too.:D
Thanks mate, i just HAD to do pink :laughing:.
millymoo
26-05-2007, 01:37 PM
Shazbutt ...look Yummy
My DD1 is making some now and we are going to try the icing by you too!! Sounds tangy.
She never bakes! But loved them that much she was jumping at the thought!
illawarramumof2boys
30-05-2007, 02:31 PM
hi:wave:
thanks for the cupcake recipe chubb chubb. those cupcakes are the best. even my fussy non sweet eating eldest son loves them.
i'm making them for my sons birthday party this weekend with spiderman and ninja turtles on them. :fingerscrossed: everyone at the party loves them as much as i do. :D
woven_wings
02-06-2007, 05:02 PM
I made these again, to take to a friends place tonight, they are sooo easy! I made them while the curry was simmering! Simple! Did the passionfruit icing this time, smells yummy - thanks for that Holly dear!
Wondermum
03-06-2007, 05:52 PM
Ingred.
125g softened butter
3/4 cup caster sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups of SR flour
Have fun!
Awesome cup cake recipe Chub Chub :thumbsup:
I've not long pulled a batch out of the oven and they are soooo light a fluffy... Mmmm Mmmmm!!!!!
THANKS!!!!
Chub Chub
03-06-2007, 06:46 PM
Wow....looks like these cupcakes are a winner!
I can't believe this thread is still going....I loved the piccies. They all looked so yum:D
I want some now:o ;)
millymoo
03-06-2007, 07:18 PM
Glad I started it for sure!! We have made 3 lots this week!
bingo
01-07-2007, 01:57 PM
OK Chub Chub, I've just burnt my mouth on my cupcake coz I couldn't wait to try them out due to the rave reviews. I've made your recipe but using gluten free flour and soy milk and nutalex as my DH is gluten intolerant and my DD is dairy intolerant and let me say these cupcakes ROCK!!!
Moorish
01-07-2007, 01:58 PM
Tip for whoever said about the cup cakes not pulling away from the paper. Spray the patty cups lightly with cooking spray before you fill them with the mixture and it should help. :thumbsup:
ETA: Lou you following me?!? Or me you?!!
I'm off to make some with the girls!
Hmm... which icing to use??
bingo
01-07-2007, 02:27 PM
well Anna, considering I've already eaten 2 and yours are still in the oven you must be following me coz I'm cool! :laughing:
Moorish
01-07-2007, 02:30 PM
Which "cupcake" are you talking about? Because mine's due to be fully cooked in 6 days where as from August you'll have 9 months to get baking! PMSL! :D
Moorish
01-07-2007, 04:40 PM
OMG! 12 cupcakes is DEFINATELY not enough!
My recommendation is if you're going to try this recipe (and you SHOULD!) make sure you make a double batch because you'll regret it if you don't! :laughing:
Oh and I lightly sprayed the patty cups and the cupcake came off the paper no problems! :thumbsup:
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.