View Full Version : Introduction
krispycat
22-07-2004, 15:46
Thought I would pop in an introduce myself. I stumbled across this site and I think its a great idea. I am 34 and a mummy to Jack who is 27 months and Sophie who is 7 weeks. Very busy at the moment and having a few settling problems with Sophie and a few jealosy problems with jack but we are getting there... OK whos next???? :D
I'm a first time forum user - i'm not sure of what to say but here I go... It's a reality check with 2 little ones. :eek: I didn't think it would be as tiring as it is. I have 2 gorgeous little boys. Charlie is 18 months and Billy is 13 weeks. We moved to Melbourne from Sydney in Feb, I thought it would be easier to move 1 baby instead of 2 (silly me). And I didn't think that it would be so hard with no support in Melbourne. Thank god my mum has come down for the past 2 weeks to help out - she's an angel :) . Can't believe I'm 31 and still want my mum!!
Billy has a club foot and has stopped having his leg/foot plastered weekly and is now wearing his boots and bar for 24/7 until he is 6 months and then at night time only for approx 9 months. I would love to hear from other mums who have had a baby with a club foot and how they dealt with it and from mothers who have 2 under 2 and if there are any tricks.
sixkidlets
26-07-2004, 15:36
Hi, I am a mum to six, my boys are 12,8,6,3,3 and my girl is 4months
I am 31, and live in WA and still want my mum too, but lucky for me she is only 5 minutes away
lol, I had 2 under 2, actually they were 9 minutes apart ;) :eek:
Six kids - do you still have your sanity? You must love children :) . I bet you are happy you finally had a girl. My husband doesn't want anymore children - I would like one more, have to try for a girl, but I won't be doing six times!
krispycat
27-07-2004, 15:42
Hi Sharon and sixkidlets,
Sharon, Its hard work being a mum without support around. I am in the same boat as most of my family are 2 hours away but I am lucky I have My DH's family close by to help when I am stuck but nothing like having your own family is there. Have fun with your mum visiting..
Sixkidlets.. Wow six!!!. Your very blessed. I would love many more but have left things a bit late in life for 6. Maybe one more for us. We have a new little girl as well and she is costing me a fortune as I am loving buying the pink for a change as I bet you are too. How have your toddlers taken to the new baby? Im having a lot of behavour problems with my 2 year old now as the attention now needs to be shared.
Thats it fo me as Sophie is calling for the boosies.
Take Care
I can't believe the word 'boosies' still makes me giggle! I'm a stay-at-home mum of four children. And no, I won't be going on for any more! I was actually only having three, and number four is our 'bonus baby'. They are aged 9 (boy), 5.5 (girl), 2 (boy), and four months (boy). Nice to 'meet' you all. I too, am a slave to my boosies.
hi everyone, im chris, 31, live in brisbane and mummy to 4 kiddies aged 14, 13, 9 and 5. Boy girl Boy girl... and im expecting baby #5 on christmas day! we dont know the sex of this baby, im very curious but we've decided to hold out for the big surprise. im torn between work and home at the moment. This pregnancy was not planned and i only returned to a job i really love last october so its a tough decision . My teenagers werent real impressed about me having a baby,it was embaressing for them but they've since discovered that they have friends whose mums are expecting as well so now its not all that bad! My 5year old is excited but is giving hints of jealousy at the same time. It hasnt been a long long time since my last baby but for some silly reason im really scared of giving birth again and sometimes i dont feel i have much of the maternal instinct happening. my husband is older than me and he has a daughter who is due at the same time as me and that makes me feel old! he's going to be a father and a grandfather so i guess he probably feels the same way! oh well have fun with your families and i hope to hear more from you all soon. Take care
Hi my name is Cass,
I am 32 - live in Adelaide - Married - with 1 yr old daughter Rinn.
Wow - 6 kids! 5 Kids! You girls need medals! :p
Cant wait to chat to you more ;)
fiestysc
31-07-2004, 17:08
Hi. I'm Jo and I'm 32 and in Rockingham WA. I have a 13 year old stepdaughter that I see once a year as she is in Vic and we have 2 daughters Zoee 15 and a half months and Makkenzie 11 weeks. I still want my mum too as my husband is a submariner in the navy so when he is away we don't hear from him at all until they hit land. Luckily my family is in WA so I have some contact, at least by phone. Our biggest problem is me going back to work in a week and getting Zoee to eat vegetables, talk and stop using a bottle to drink from. Has anyone dealt with any of these ? :)
31-07-2004, 17:14
undefinedundefinedundefined :) Hello! My name is Kristy and I am a 21 year old SAHM to two lil girls! Looking forward to getting to know you all more! Feel free to view my profile to get to know me more! :p
jeanelle
31-07-2004, 20:04
hi to all my name is jeanelle (27). I live in armadale wa. I have a son (kyle) 6years and and i girl (jessica) 5 & 1/2 months. Hoping to get to know someone in or around my area.
hi to everyone....i have never been involved in a forum so am still finding my feet here. i am a 24 year old mother of one - wil (could you guess?) who is 16 months old.
i also live in a different state to my mum so i know how hard it is to be without support from mum - however we talk everynight and we visit each other frequently.
i am looking forward to getting to know you all and sharing stories about our beautiful bundles!!
i am also looking at getting involved in a play group so if anyone knows a good one in brisbane, please let me know - ta!
muso mama
31-07-2004, 21:11
I am a young mother from QLD with two little ones: Liam (4) and Ailish (1). I have recieved HubBub for a while and its great that they now have a forum. I enjoy sharing mother's wisdom and receiving it! I TRY to follow the basic principles of attachment parenting and think that generally children should receive a lot more respect than what they get from most sectors of society (often including their parents and/or relatives). Generally I am a SAHM though I have 3 weeks work coming up. We are also moving house (AAARGH! :mad: ) so may not be posting very often for a while until we are settled again.
To respond to a couple of people:
My son was very jealous when his little sister was born, and almost craved solo time with me and my husband (me especially). Eventually we took him to see a homeopath and also put some family rituals in place and he improved dramatically, although it took us about 6 months to act! :rolleyes: Must have been all that sleep deprivation slowing us down. We still try to make time just for him once a day where he gets both or one of us to himself for about an hour and he really appreciates it.
Also i have had an interesting time trying to convince my daughter that veges taste great (she is still a little dubious) and at various stages have mashed, steamed, baked, left them raw, and bought the not very tasty (IMO) organic stuff in a bottle which was the one she liked the most (but only the sweet potato and pumpkin variety - nothing else). She has become very assertive about any food in the past week and i discovered that she wants to feed herself with the spoon with minimum adult supervision. If she has finger food (less often as the 4 molars are coming and HURT) she insists on putting it on the spoon before putting it in her mouth. She was only one this month so it's a very messy process but what she lacks in coordination she more than makes up for in determination. :)
So that's a little about me. looking forward to reading more posts.
C
Hi all, I am new to the Bub Hub Forums... Just a little about myself.. I am a SAHM with two children. Corey who is in his first year of school this year, and Ethan who is 4 months old.
Very busy as we are all are, we have had many problems with Ethan feeding - allergies.
I look forward to chatting with everyone here, and using this as a stress relief.
mamafelix
31-07-2004, 22:04
I'm Zoe, I live in Perth with my partner and my gorgeous little cherub Felix, who's 18 months old now.
I'm a part-time stay at home mum and a part time student which is great.
I was lucky enough to have a home birth, and I am a long term breastfeeder and co-sleeper which I guess categorises me as following attachment parenting or natural parenting. It's worked really well for us so far, but I guess I think the most important thing in parenting is to follow your own instincts not some 'school' of thought.
I truly think the internet is a godsend for mums, so easy to get advice, make new friends etc and you don't have to leave the house!..and the shopping... ;)
pharieprincess
01-08-2004, 15:03
Hi I'm Nush, 27 yr old Mum to Caitlin (almost 4) and Ella ( 1 week old). I live in Brisbane and I think it's great that their is this forum for us now.
I'm hoping to get to know everyone and chat about our kids and all.
I am really enjoying being a mum of 2 now, sure it's harder but I feel like our family is complete now. Caitlin adores her little sister so that helps me ALOT!!!
Well that's all for now.
Hope to chat to some of you soon. If anyone wants to check out my profile go for it.
Nush xxx
tobysmum
01-08-2004, 18:11
Hi all my name is Kelly, I live in Brissy and my boy is 18 months old and we are TTC no.2 I recognize a couple of names from other forums. Great to meet everyone and can't wait to chat some more.
Hello all I am Bec a 23yr old Brisbane mother of one gorgeous 10 month old Son.
His Name is Benjamin.
and fiancee of one very sexy 23yr old man .
His name is Luke.
Benjamin was born via C-Section on Thursday September 25th 2003 at 7.35 pm.
I breastfed for 9 weeks but it wasn't working out. He was wanting it all day and consequently there ended up being nothing left to give.
He went onto solids at 6 months and has moved in leaps and bounds ever since.
He now has only one bottle of formula a day around noon and solids for everything else, and has mastered the one handed sipper manouvre - he throws back his head one arm to balance and holds his cup up with the other, very cute and new!
He started crawling around a month ago and now he's cruising the furniture and anything else that will stand still long enough.
He has 8 teeth and counting....
I am at home with him and i am loving it.
We live in a granny flat at my mothers house so i see her everyday, it's great for Ben and her relationship but can be very stressful on our relationship.
Look forward to posting here and meeting new people!
Bec
02-08-2004, 13:54
hey all!
Wandering what suburbs in Brissie we are from? :) Who would be interested in a meet up some time as i am fed up being housebound and friendless lmao! :rolleyes: Well my msn is sugarnspicennice@hotmail.com feel free to add me for a chat some time!
mama_bel
02-08-2004, 15:21
Hey!
Great to 'meet' some other Mums of larger families here. I'm Bel from Qld and have six children too - aged 10, 8, nearly 7, 5, 2 and 7 mths.
I don't have my Mum nearby, and see her once or twice a year :(
I also recommend Natural Parenting magazine and the forums on their site as mentioned by another Mum here.
Jo, don't fret about your daughter liking her bottle. They often have a need to suck well into their 2nd year, sometimes beyond. What about one of those convertable cups where you start with a teat then move to a sipper and then a straw? Vegies can be grated and hidden in things like muffins, or given with "dips" cut into fingers. And... I forget your other question.
I've had two under two a couple of times and it has been difficult, or not, depending on their personalities... The time flies though, and they become great friends later (generally)... ;)
Bel
mamafelix
02-08-2004, 16:01
Hi Bel
*wave*
nice to see you here
Zoe
MargotOZ
02-08-2004, 23:57
I'm a 36yo mum to 3 primary school aged kids who works part time. Lurk a lot online, primarily at Parent2Parent when time allows between school projects, homework, reading etc etc! :rolleyes: A parent's work never finishes imo - never enough hours in the day. :eek:
I am Gemma (25yrs) mum to Grace 12mths today!!!! :D Like a lot of you I have only just found Bub Hub and have recieved a truck load of advice already (thankyou mamafelix and muso mama).
I am from The Gap is Brisbane, we have a very busy household as I look after my mother, who has Alzheimer's Disease, and technically you could say I look after my husband (because lets face it if we wern't around God help them...I sometimes wonder how they ever get past puberty!!) and my sister (18yrs) lives with us as well (who is just fantastic with Grace).
I just love being a mum and I would love to have lots more, if only I could bypass that whole pregnancy thing. I just vomited for nine months, lost 15kgs, ended up with insulin dependent gestational diabeties, became pre-eclamptic and had the most awful c-section experience. But knowing me I will have another as I am clucky for a newborn again (I know...silly me) :eek:
I work PT at the RBH (nurse), which I also love, as I get some respite from everyone at home.
I would love to meet Brissy mums as Grace is the first baby in my circle of friends and apart from day care (which she just loves!) she has no contact with other kids.
I look forward to posting here and reading all of your chats.
Gemma and Grace.
jakobsmum
07-08-2004, 00:17
:D HAPPY BIRTHDAY GRACE!!!!! :D
Love and cuddles Jakob xxoo :p
earthmother
07-08-2004, 10:12
Hi All Mums,
Came across this and thought it a great idea as sometimes when bub's is asleep I like to surf the net and would be nice to 'chat' to some other mum's and exchange ideas etc.
I'm a first time mum at 37, yes, I know that is 'old' but I truly don't feel that old and have kept fit and healthy all my life. I loved being pregnant and had a great birthing experience and will definitely trying for #2 a little while down the track.
My daughter, Renee is 11 weeks and she is such a joy and I am so amazed by her every day, even when she gets to be a little grizzle pot :rolleyes:
She has just started to 'sleep through' the night, but ironically I am missing that late late night or early morning feed, crazy I know but I think that she must be hungry and needs the feed. I actually gave her a 'dream feed' at 3am this morning as my boobs felt like they were going to explode! :eek:
Anyway, chat soon and keep smiling :)
Lynda and Renee
Oh goody - another over 30 Mum!
Hello to Earthmother and all the other Mums out there. I've already done a few posts but thought I'd better introduce myself properly here too.
I'm 35 and a first time Mum to Eloise who is nearly 5 months old. Right from birth she's been a perfect textbook child. She loves sleeping, eats when she's meant to, doesn't really grizzle unless she's a bit tired and wants to go into her cot. Of course we love her to bits and everyone keeps saying how lucky we are. Then they say wait until the second one... "you just wait, the second one will be a nightmare... rant rant rant... I used to walk ten miles in cardboard shoes through snow to get to school..." - you all know the types I mean!!
I'm a fulltime Mum at the moment - until February or until I can convince my partner that we can afford to live and pay a mortgage on one wage. Fingers crossed. How do all you other full time Mum's handle the one wage thing?
Anyhoo, Daddy has just arrived home from his morning walk with the little angel... best be off.
Cheers!
PS - Happy 1st Birthday Grace!! :p
07-08-2004, 19:01
Happy 1st Birthday to Grace
And hello to Gemma! I am from Forest Lake! Not too sure how far away this is from you!
Luv Kristy
Shelangelang
08-08-2004, 13:46
Hi Everyone, went to breastfeeding class recently at the Wesley and was told about this site. Have had a good read around the site and thought I would leave some general information.
I'm 33 in November and expecting my first child in the next week or so - due 16 August 2004. I have a step-son who is nearly 16 who lives with us full-time and my husband and I have been together for 5 and a bit years. I also have my parents living at our house in a self contained unit as my mum was diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease nearly three years ago and my dad is her full-time carer. I obviously also have the roll of relief carer and helper as well as running my own house.
The only thing I'm worried about at the moment is this waiting game - not knowing when labour will start, how it will feel, when or if my waters will break etc etc. I have chosen natural birth but am open to c-section if needed as my health and the health of my baby is paramount not how he/she comes into the world.
Being a first time mum everyone has stories for you both good and bad but I've tried to take them all with a pinch of salt. It was great reading everyone else's stories and look forward to reading more stories as they arrive.
Talk Soon
S :)
Grace had her 1st birthday party and she had a ball!!...mostly with the wrapping paper! :D
Hi Kirsty, Forest Lake is about a 45min (ish) drive from The Gap.
Also, best of luck to 'Shelangelang' with your birth, I can't believe it was a year ago I was in that position! I had Grace at the Wesley, they were really lovely to me. I couldn't speak more highly about the nursing staff - very caring and professional.
Also, since I am a carer to my mum if you ever need to talk let me know. Sometimes just talking with someone else in the same boat re: being mum and carer can really help. :o
See you all later.
Gemma. :)
tobysmum
09-08-2004, 14:49
hey boomtish
just had to say that I was in your position ie supposed to go back to work but couldn't get childcare. My partner was freaking about affording to live but 18 months down the track and we are hanging in there. It really is amazing what you can manage with and now he has totally changed his way of thinking and is happy that I am at home. Hooray!!
Hi tobysmum,
I was actually meant to go back to work in July but couldn't get childcare. Mind you I didn't try too hard because I didn't really want to go back so soon! I don't know what I was thinking when I put my application form in for mat leave. I said to my boss I wanted to come back as soon as possible because I'd be bored at home all day. Now I couldn't think of anything worse than sitting at work all day - as much as I love my job. I can only blame pregnant brain for my lack of thinking. (And by the way - to all those first-time-parents-to-be - pregnant brain is not a myth - and your regular brain doesn't come back after the birth, well, mine hasn't anyway!)
We live in a rural city so it's a hell of a lot cheaper than living in the city that's for sure. Wish me luck in convincing my partner that we'd be better off with me at home trying to survive on the pittance the government gives us!!
Cheers!
Hi boomtish,
I believe the suck your brain for nine months and any reminants gets passed with the placenta. God help me when I have another!
Good Luck with convincing dad :)
Gemma
Ha :D
Thanks for making me crack up Gemma!!
jakobsmum
10-08-2004, 22:55
Hi Boomtish,
Good luck with trying to stay at home. I agree the govt. doesn't help out much at all. Because I had earned too much before Jakob was born I could hardly get anything. The only way we got through my six months leave was that I had a bit of money saved. I am now back at work 3 days a week working 5 hours each. It's not too bad but miss Jakob a lot. He stays with my mum so I know he is being spoilt with lots of kisses and cuddles ;) . I don't know how other mum's do it. It's exhausting sometimes but the financial benefit means my husband is a lot less stressed. He is doing an adult apprenticeship at the moment, so once he finishes that and is on a lot better pay :D we will try for No. 2 and I'm not going back to work. Can't wait!
I always found that however little money we had we always got by. Eloise doesn't care about it, just all the love you both give her.
Hi Sarah
Yeah me too - I earned too much before I went on maternity leave and therefore couldn't get much from the govt. What I want to work out is how much I would get from the govt if I didn't go back in February versus how little I would earn part-time after paying childcare costs. I have to weigh up whether it's worth going back. Hard decision to make really. Then I guess I just have to cut down on groceries and little luxuries that we're used to. I admit its much easier living in the country compared to the city - we both halved our wages to work and move here, and now with me not working we've effectively quartered our city earnings. It's amazing how little you can get by without! The only Country Road we have now is the one we use to get outta town!! :rolleyes:
You're right though - you always get by, the other day my neighbour, who has two little girls, passed one of those big stripey bags over the fence and told me to take what I wanted and give the rest to my Mum - who works at an op shop. I rummaged through all these gorgeous clothes - my Mum's not getting hardly any of it and Eloise now has a heap of summer & next winter clothes already!! Yay for good neighbours!! :)
Cheers!
jakobsmum
11-08-2004, 13:04
Hi Rach,
Like neighbours, Jakob's grandparents are great for getting him things. They love to help out and we only have to mention that we were looking at something and they will go out and get it. Have to moniter them closely though as they can go over board! :D A close friend of mine had a boy a year before me so we also have an abundant supply of hand me overs.
I went out and bought Jakob a heap of those non slip socks, as he was falling over on our tiled floor :( I can't believe that they are more expensive than adult socks! They can pretty much charge anything they like when it comes to your kids and pets, cause they know you'll pay up. :mad:
shani's mum
13-08-2004, 16:20
hi there my name is jo, and i am new mum to Shani who was born on 7 july 2004, i have stumbled accross this website and find it very informative, shani is a good girl and sleeps and feeds well, we are now up to four hourly sleeps, i only hope this improves, i live on the sunshine coast with my partner, we have a fencing business and have just started a timber toy making business as well, looking forward to meeting new mums and old mums. jo
Shelangelang
19-08-2004, 12:59
Well at 6:30pm last Thursday night I had bad lower back pain and lower tummy pain, phoned the hospital and they said it could be labour just to see how it goes. After half an hour of continued pain with spasms about 3 minutes apart I rang the hospital back at 7:00pm and they said to come on it just in case.
Lena Therese was born at 10:28pm after loads of gas and a little pethedine at the end weighing a grand 9 pound 4 oz.
Day Six and we're having problems with her staying awake long enough to feed and she seems to attach but then move and start hurting my nipple. She's just not feeding on the breast long enough and so I'm substituting with expressed milk by bottle. I had a lactating specialist come over yesterday and we'll see how we go... The night before last was reasonable but last night was shocking. It just takes so long to get her to latch on properly and then she takes about five minutes worth and then she's asleep again. I've tried keeping her awake by changing her nappy, stripping down to nappy and singlet, warm/cold washer, rubbing and playing with her legs and arms but nothing seems to work. I warm the breasts, massage the milk down, still she sleeps...
Any ideas or feedback from anyone would be great - thanks in advance...
Shelangelang :o
Congratulations on the safe arrival of Lena Therese! :D
I too had trouble feeding my little angel in hospital and ended up feeding her via a cup and then syringe for about 4 weeks. I was absolutely determined to breastfeed and stayed in hospital after my caesar for a week until I was confident enough to take her home. She lost too much weight, was jaundiced and had to be supplement fed until my milk came in (and I didn't produce enough milk either). On top of all that she was diagnosed with a heart murmur and all the docs were saying that this was the reason why she was falling asleep - because all her energy was going into trying to latch on and suck. Anyway, it took about 4 or 5 weeks for her to get the hang of latching on and sucking, she started to gain weight, and the specialist told us that the heart murmur was tiny and nothing to worry about. I ended up successfully breastfeeding until she was about 3 months old, until (after all the trouble I went through) she decided to wean herself and go onto the bottle full-time.
So, in light of my experience, I can only suggest that you keep trying - hard I know - and as long as she's not losing weight, just keep going feeding her for as long and as often as you can. At least she can take a bottle - try doing it all with a syringe, 10ml at a time, at 2 in the morning!! :o
Sorry I couldn't be more help...
Shelangelang
19-08-2004, 17:36
Thanks Rach...
Will persist and of course from reading all the postings others have placed on this site and other sites there are plenty of new mums out there that are worse off than me.
Day Six, just have to keep trucking and see the light at the end of the tunnel.
Shelangelang :)
jakobsmum
19-08-2004, 19:05
:D Congratulations! :D
Welcome to the world Lena Therese! Congrats on the safe arrival of your little girl. Breastfeeding came hard to start with with me also. Jakob just couldn't properly attach to my ample boobies. I found it easiest to attach him whilst I was lying on my side with him (nipple was an easier shape) and also with him lying on a high pillow across my lap. Don't feel disheartened, it will get easier. Just relax. Easier said than done I know. I also would try a small glass of wine to help with let downs and found it worked OK. ;)
Anyway all the best. Love and cuddles from Jakob xoxo :D
Congratualtions :D
I had too much trouble with breastfeeding, but give it your best and good luck...just as long as you and bub are happy...happy mum equals happy bub equals happy hubby and happy house.
If bub looses weight or you start going insane change to bottles and don't dare feel guilty, I wasted too much time on guilt :rolleyes: (and get in touch with the support group if needed). Avent bottles are great, and their microwave steriliser is sooooo much easier than boiling bottles. But give the breastfeeding a really good go first and it is great you have a lactation consultant.
All the best
Gemma. ;)
Hi the arrival of the baby is wonderful (no matter how painful it is at the time). To cut a long story short my first child was born with respiratory problems which required surgery plus and ASD and he was not a strong sucker after 4 weeks of mainly expressing I sanely gave up trying to breastfeed. It was traumatic enough him being in hospital for 3 weeks. I tried to breastfeed our second child and drove myself and everyone else around me nuts. After many tears I lasted 6 weeks. I will try again when I have baby 3, I'll probably go crazy again. Everyone else I know breastfed their babies and I felt a lot of pressure to persist. My 2nd baby is now 4 months old, putting on weight and we are all happy little vegemites once again plus my husband and mum can help with feeding the baby.
Lachlan's Mum
20-08-2004, 09:01
Congratulations Shelangelang on the arrival of your precious baby girl!
Thought I'd best drop a quick line to intro myself...even though I've already been putting up some postings!
My name is Melanie and I'm 26 with my first baby - Lachlan - born 27/5/04 - 12 weeks old yesterday! Lachlan suffers from reflux (and previously had colic which is ok now) - he is medicated for his reflux and it is pretty much under control....Let's just say we've had an interesting 12 weeks! :rolleyes:
Other than that lovely health baby - gaining plenty of weight, feeding well and sleeping ok (now). Recently had to engage a CHN to assist with getting him to sleep during the day...thought he could stay awake all day and drive mum crazy with crying by 2/3/4 pm each day for hours! overtired... :(
Still doesn't sleep "through" - what does that really mean anyway??
Tried to breastfeed - for about 2 weeks (I know not a great effort) but my nipples were bleeding :( and it just was not working. Cried for about 3 days about having to put him on a bottle - felt so guilty...which is silly. Anyway, I'd like to say we haven't looked back but with the reflux problems even bottlefeeding has had it's pittfalls - all is well now though. FYI you may have read on other posts of mine that we now have Lachlan on NAN HA 1 (easy to digest) formula and is great!!...no more constipation :)
Best go for now (as you all know time is a premium) looking forward to "chatting" with you all.
Melanie
P.S. I'm from Brissie.
Shelangelang
25-08-2004, 19:21
Thanks for all the kinds words of support. I have a little problem and was wondering if I could put it out there and see if anyone has any suggestions.
Lena has been feeding heaps better on the breast but we are finding that at about 5:00pm ish she starts getting really restless and no matter how much she's fed she won't go down and settle and needs to be held constantly.
Also she seems to have a bit of diarrhea which is fairly constant during the day. I'm not sure if she has picked up a bug as she's a bit snuffly, which is more obvious at night. I took her to the doctors yesterday and her chest is clear as are her throat, nose and ears etc.
Any suggestions anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated. The other night she just wouldn't settle and ended up feeding on and off from 6:00pm until 1:00am. She just wouldn't go down to sleep at all...
Thanks in advance.
Shelangelang :(
mamafelix
26-08-2004, 00:29
Hi Shalangelang
Felix went through a stage of being really unsettled in the early evening when he was about 4-8 weeks old. He would cry and cry and we couldn't find a real reason for it. Our CHN and DRs basically said it was 'colic' but couldn't offer anything to help, my midwife said in chinese medicine they say some babies are very yang, and react badly to the coming of night which is yin. Whatever the reason, it seems like a fairly common thing.
We just held him, rocked him in a sling, danced with him, cuddled him, rubbed his tummy, walked with him... some nights were okay, some weren't but he settled down after a while!
What do you mean by diarrhoea? is your babies poo different than normal (more mucusy, different colour?), or are they just more frequent?
Sometimes babies poo a LOT (like 5-7 times a day) and its not diarrheoa... Being breastfed you should be getting yellowy-brown, liquid poo that doesn't smell too unpleasant.
Hang in there! keep up the feeds- if you do have diarrhoea its really important to keep her hydrated, and breastmilk contains a lot of antibacterial substances that will knock off any bug she might have. She may be going through a growth spurt and be needing extra feeds too.... can you lie down and feed her?- that way at least you can get some rest too...
hope that helps
Hi everyone, my name is Kaylene and I am from Corinda, Brisbane. This is my first post on this forum and I look forward to getting to know you all. Here is my story.
On December 12 03 I was just on 28 wks prego and my son, Isaac James decided to enter the world way before his time. At 5.47am (a friday) after only 3 hours of what I did not know was labour, I had an emerg, cesarian and then Isaac was born, 900 grams. After 11 and a half weeks of agony as my son lay in hospital and fought for his lift, I was able to bring him home and spend my nights with him. The first night I just stayed up and watched over him, he is my little mirical and I love him to bits. We still have lots of check ups and reviews at the hospital but he is now 9months, (6months corrected). My only worry at the moment is that in the last 3 weeks he has not put on any weight at all. He is still only 5.2kg.
Shelangelang
26-08-2004, 17:36
Thanks Mamafelix for the reply. After reading your response I'm fairly sure it's not diarrhea as her poo's are runny and yellow/brown colour. She just seems to have lots of them like everytime you change her nappy there is a little poo. Also her bum is very sore from all the pooing so I thought there might be a problem.
She seems a bit more settled today and I've been feeding her every hour or two most of today and she's settling better after the feeds.
Thanks again, will keep on track and see how she goes tomorrow at the chemist getting weighed.
Shelangelang :)
mamafelix
26-08-2004, 21:15
Hey Shelangelang
sounds perfectly normal to me... maybe you just need something to stop her bottom getting red- paw paw ointment is good, or olive oil also works well... there are lots of good napy rash creams around.
good luck
Hi everyone, I would just like to say to everyone go and get your kids vaccinated against chicken pox...Grace has it and it is a nightmare. :eek:
My first reply is to Kaylene,
I wouldn't worry about the weight, all babies grow at different rates and they all make it in the end. Also he is a premy, so the growth rate could be different. If he is having regular checkups and they haven't mentioned anything about the weight, then don't be concerned. But if you are really stressed ring a child health nurse at Riverton (number is in the back of child health and immunisation book). They are there 24hrs and I am sure they can put you at ease.
Best of Luck.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi to Shelangelang,
most bubs get cranky in the evening, don't stress. There is a bub at Graces day care that cries between the hours of 4-6pm daily - his witching hour as the Nursery girls call it :D
Also Graces first 6wks, she cried all night unless I held her to my chest...one word...sling...worth MY weight in gold :D
Keep the good work up and hang in there! ;)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
It's called 'arsenic hour' at hour place!! :mad:
Oops - typo - 'our' place!
Not sure how or why this posted in this thread:confused:
Deleted