View Full Version : Quit work due to morning sickness???
gypsy girl
05-01-2006, 05:41 PM
Hi! Ive been suffering pretty bad morning (+noon & night!) sickness from about week 6 --- now I'm nearly 21 weeks and still going!! I had the first few weeks off work it was so bad, but struggled back only managing by getting a lift in to the city (not fit for the bus for obvious reasons!!) ... I have been feeling really nauseous most of the time and vomiting a few times day, but battling on... although it has been so incredibly draining I feel like I am totally unable to function... for some reason it seems to have gotten a bit worse again, like at the beginning, and I'm really considering giving up work, but am disappointed as I'm only 21 weeks and was hoping to work for a bit longer... most people I know seem to have managed to get through it and I don't know anyone whose had to quit work as soon as this ... has anyone else had a similar experience??
05-01-2006, 05:47 PM
I can't give you any advice but I did notice that this was your first post so I would like to say welcome to Bub Hub and I am sure someone who can answer your questions will answer soon.
Sarie
05-01-2006, 05:53 PM
I had very bad 24 hr a day sickness for both of mine. Fist time around I had no choice, I had to keep working right up until 5 days before Nat was born.
We luckily managed to sell the shop, that we'd bought when Nat was born, when was about 15 weeks preg with PJ, so I could take it a bit easier.
Lunar
05-01-2006, 06:29 PM
I had very bad morning sickness this time round. I actua;;y threw up b4 I knew was pg. It then stopped at 20 wks only to start back up again a month later. Maybe you can cut down in your hours worked? What does your job involve?
Have you tried all available remedies? There are lots of herbal things out ther and there are also these things called preggie pops- don't know if you've heard of them. Eating small meals helps and stear well clear of fatty foods, they will only make sickness worse. You could try talking to your doctor about it too, maybe he/she could offer something? But I know you have to be losing alot of weight for them to put you on medication.
Good luck with it all.
alissa-mareesmum
05-01-2006, 07:35 PM
Gypsy girl,
Welcome to bubhub i am so sorry you are feeling so sick. I unfortunetly know what you are going through. I suffered hyperemesis throughout my pregnancy. I'd say that at the point where you are i would google it and a have a read and see if the symptoms are the same as what you are experiencing and go from there. Doctors will give you drugs to try and help. Of course your personal decsion if you take it, maxolon is used most often some women find that it is enough to help personally it did nothing for me.
I was six and a half months pregnant when i was made to resign from my job. I don't have any natural remedies to suggest as i haven't been to a naturopath yet (will find one in the next few weeks as we are ttc no.2). Feel free to pm me if ya want to chat
Hope you feel better soon, Jade :)
aardvark
05-01-2006, 07:42 PM
I had morning sickness from 3 weeks right up to 20 weeks, then a short break from 20 to 27 weeks, then back it came.
I tried most things. What really helped me was the Martin and Pleasance Tissue Salts Comb S for Upset Stomach from the health food shop. It has been like a magic bullet.
It's homeopathic, and suitable for use during pregnancy according to the label which recommends it for morning sickness.
The instructions on the label say to either chew them, dissolve them under your tongue, or crush them in warm water and drink. I found only crushing them in warm water and drinking was effective.
Crazy Monkey
05-01-2006, 08:30 PM
Hi gypsy girl,
Welcome to bub hub... I dont have any advice for you but just wanted to wish you well...
05-01-2006, 08:35 PM
Hi when I was pg with no.1 I was really ill like you too!! My big boss told me to pull my act together or leave :eek: :eek: !! Obviously she has never been preggers b4! I ended up going casual which was a lot better as I could get a lot more rest. Maybe that could be an option for you....:o
I hope you are feeling better soon!!
Nickster
05-01-2006, 08:43 PM
Hello gypsy girl,
I'm sorry you're going through such a rough time! My morning sickness ended about week 16, but I could've quit work about a million times before that!
I ended up going casual about week 30, I just couldn't take it anymore - bad back and pelvic pain, and incredibly tired, and then finally took my leave about week 34. I didn't plan for it, but I think when you are pregnant you really need to listen to your body, and mine was saying "enough". Sure it would've been good financially to stay longer, but I hacked it out as long as I could.
I don't have any real advice for you - just lots of sympathy, and hope you are able to reach a decision soon!
Good luck to you.:)
stellaj
05-01-2006, 09:04 PM
hey gypsy girl,
I am starting maternity leave at 24 weeks pg at the end of January because i don't feel good enought to do a good job anymore. Morning sickness, tiredness and cranky so i decided to leave now rather than nearly throw up at every meeting i attend and doing a crap job. I can't wait to go althought it will be really hard financially. Maybe you could take all your holidays then maternity leave or just leave flat out. I don't think it is worth struggling and feeling like death everyday jsut to go to work, but thats just my opinion.
All the best
05-01-2006, 11:08 PM
Hey i too suffered bad morning sickness & had whats called hyperemesis not fun especially when it means living on the bathroom floor or carrying a bucket around everywhere :( This started at approx 6wks & continued through until the 8th month only for it come back in the 9mth & i even vomitted through my labour. I tried everything ginger, herbal teas, maxalon, sea sickness bands, pulsatilla plus more. If you havent tried any of these maybe give them a go pulsatilla is available from select chemists as they make it up themselves ive heard a lot of women call it a miracle just wasnt for me.
I can only feel for you as i was actually retrenched 2 or so months before i fell pregnant so i was actually lucky as i wouldve been sacked for sure. A friend of mine tried working longer but she was as bad as me & would only go in when she could manage it but often found herself leaving early she used her annual leave & sick days while often being off without any pay in the end she took her maternity leave early which she didnt want to do but had no other option as she wouldve been fired.
I guess try & stick it out if you can manage it & try a few ideas that are about otherwise maybe you have no other option.
Dont feel guilty for leaving early yeah the money is always helpful but yours & your bubs health is way more important !
Sorry i havent been much help, take care.
gypsy girl
06-01-2006, 11:57 AM
Hi everyone, thanks for all the sympathy, advice and support!! Sometimes its good just to get it off my chest with others who understand what its like!! I'm going to call my work today and discuss my options.... i definitely agree that the money is not the main issue for us, but health of the bub (& me!) is more important and hubby definitely agrees. I have tried a lot of the remedies with not much success so far, but sometimes I feel that the hard thing is to manage eating the stuff that is good for you or can help (ie protein, iron, carbs etc) when you don't feel like eating or dont have the energy to prepare it!! Luckily hubby has been a massive help in taking over ALL household chores and cooking!! Anyway, will battle on and hopefully be feeling better soon!
aardvark
06-01-2006, 12:29 PM
Sometimes the food you actually think will make you sickest actually makes you feel better, I found, too.
When I was expecting #2, I remember sitting at my desk wondering what I could eat which would actually make me heave, so I could go home sick. I determined that I needed a Scwobb's Meatball sandwich, with the tomato/redwine sauce and melted cheese. I walked 15 minutes to buy one. The look of it made me feel more ill. I forced myself to eat every last bite of it - and then felt thoroughly ripped off, as I actually felt better, almost human, for the rest of the day.
I usually can't stand eating Mandarins. This pregnancy, I was ploughing through literally kilos of them every couple of days, because I found they tended to help with the nausea. Thank goodness they were in season.
Good luck with it.
06-01-2006, 01:41 PM
gypsy girl - Dont worry tell him the cooking is in practice for when bubs arrives :p I couldnt go near our kitchen as otherwise i would be sick so my partner ended up doing all cooking etc himself to which he now has continued since bubs arrival. Dont feel guilty about what your eating etc because keeping anything down is a bonus ! Bubs gets everything they need from you, i had trouble even keeping water down at one stage so didnt even drink for a few days i got that bad but it didnt bother my bubs one bit he was just off 10lbs & is still very healthy !
I also suggest eating what you want or what your body tells you to eat as this is sometimes the only way you can keep anything down. I ended up eating icecream a lot as this was one of the only things i managed to keep down at one stage heheh i even ate it for brekky :o
Hope things are sorted out for you & work is a little more understanding :)
Mum2Bug
06-01-2006, 03:34 PM
Hi gypsy girl. I know you've been told heaps of stuff but the one thing that me and 3 of my colleagues (all pregnant at same time - never knew i was a trend setter) found we could stomach was those frosty fruit icy poles. it was light, tasty without being overwhelming.
Goosie22
07-01-2006, 09:16 AM
Having suffered this to 25wks myself and it hung around to the day I had them but wasn't quiet as bad after that I would recommend you try Blackmores morning sickness tabs (they have B6 and ginger in them) I found that sucking mints help keep that spuie feeling away a bit longer after a hurl. Have you been in Hospital yet? You might find that a night or two on IV fluids will pick you up. Sometimes if you have really bad Hyperemisis the Dr will put you on Steroids called prednisone and an place in the US was trialing Canabis.
hope you feel better soon and try this site its a hyperemisis Gravidarum site all about really bad Morning Sickness
http://www.hyperemesis.org/disclaimer.php
soniaw
07-01-2006, 11:31 AM
I was sick for my entire pregnancy and it only stopped 10 minutes before giving birth. I worked up until six weeks prior, because I kept thinking it was going to stop and I too didn't know anyone who had quit work due to sickness. When we have our second child I am now going to finish up work at least 3 months prior and will be asking my work to grant me unpaid sick leave or just early maternity leave. There is no way that I should have kept working with the first pregnancy - the struggle just was not worth it. It was so emotionally and physically draining that it was the worst time of my life. Great thing is that it stops straight after birth and now I feel fantastic. So my advice is to ask for unpaid leave and just rest at home until the time comes.
Shelly68
07-01-2006, 12:16 PM
Princess Niamh,
PMSL @ your doctor, what a godsend!!!!
Mummy2bee
06-02-2006, 11:20 AM
Hi Everyone!
Im 8 weeks pregnant and just dont know how I am going to go on. I have nausea 24/7 its horrible and unbearable. I have had to go home from work a lot cause I am in the toilet all the time and now I have had to take my Rec Leave for the next 2 weeks, hoping thats all I will need :confused: . However I still have 4 more weeks till the 1st trimmester is over! I am so happy to be pregnant but this has taken a big bite out of my excitment. Hubby is doing everything ( GOD LOVE HIM) But I feel like Im letting everyone down even though its totally out of my control. Ive gone to the doctor and have taken Maxalon but it does nothing, I am still sick but just cant vomit, so its kinda worse!
Sick and guilty!!
Hi & welcome to the hub, I also suffered from m/s all throughout my pg, I tried a few things but found that m/s tablets by Blackmores helped, I think they contain ginger which is naturally meant to be good for nausea. I hope this helps.
Cheers, brooke.
Hi Mummy2bee
I know how you feel I ended up in hospital 3 times with M/S as I was unable to keep even water down. If things get really bad and you start to get dehydrated you should go up to the hospital and sometimes just being on a drip to rehydrate you can make the world of difference. When nothing else worked I was given "Zofren" a drug used for chemo patients and it was the only thing that stopped me from throwing up.
Good luck I hope the m/s easers soon
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.