View Full Version : Welcome the 30+ Parents Forum #2
Nevermind Mel, I'm Claudia by the way, also pretty rude of me..
Nathan is a very pleasant boy. He's so quiet, you could easily forget he's there ;)
He's more the social baby, likes being around you and hearing your voice.
Also in the morning, when he wakes up, you hear him talking for a couple of minutes and then he screams and wants his milk.
Jason wasn't that pleasent when he was that age. He was in a hurry to grow up, he got frustrated very easily, if something didn't go the way it's supposed to go and hated to be immobile..
CaelsMum
03-05-2007, 10:04
I just thought I would say hi as I am new to this thread (I hope that's OK). I am 32 yrs old with a 10 mth old son Cael and we live on Brisbane northside.
Hope you are all having a good week! I know mine has been pretty busy.
Tarnia:wave:
LovingMumOf3
03-05-2007, 12:54
:wave: Hi Tarnia.Welcome aboard hun.I'm fairly new here too.Only found the BubHub site about a week ago.Finding heaps of useful info and some really lovely people too.Happy hubbing:) See you around the boards.Enjoy the rest of the week.mlfm Deb
melbryan
03-05-2007, 14:09
Nevermind Mel, I'm Claudia by the way, also pretty rude of me..
Nathan is a very pleasant boy. He's so quiet, you could easily forget he's there ;)
He's more the social baby, likes being around you and hearing your voice.
Also in the morning, when he wakes up, you hear him talking for a couple of minutes and then he screams and wants his milk.
Jason wasn't that pleasent when he was that age. He was in a hurry to grow up, he got frustrated very easily, if something didn't go the way it's supposed to go and hated to be immobile..
We must have the same children at different ages.
I could have ten of my leo baby, he is beautiful......
charlen49
03-05-2007, 14:39
Hi tarnia..welcome to the thread!
niesl_bug
03-05-2007, 15:27
Hello ladies and welcome to our thread :wave:
I turned 33 yesterday :eek: !!! Got thoroughly spoilt, but seemed to get more baby presents for my birthday than Mummy presents :rolleyes:
All good here - busy, but life is good :thumbsup:
charlen49
03-05-2007, 16:45
happybirthday Tara......you young chicken u!;)
millymoo
04-05-2007, 07:01
happybirthdayTara for the other day and :wave: Tarnia!
Hope to catch up today with you all as was MIA yesterday as soooo busy!
H x
melbryan
04-05-2007, 15:12
Happy b'day NB, I hope you get some more pressies for mother's day too. What a special time for you.
millymoo
04-05-2007, 15:22
Hi Melbryan
Hope you are well...getting busy in here now isn`t it!
How is the bump going?
melbryan
04-05-2007, 19:25
DOn't really feel pregnant but know it's in there as I am so tired. I know when my belly starts growing it will feel realer but at the moment busy with the other 2 and work so get little time to rest and do anything else. It's starting to hit home that I will have 3 by the end of this year with a less than 3 1/2 yr age gap between first and last, starting to plan and will feel more at ease when I know what it is, if that makes sense.
I try and catch up with posts when I get time and enjoy reading what everyone is up to. I feel in my groove here turning 31 in a couple of months.
millymoo
05-05-2007, 10:19
I sympethise with the tiredness....I was so tired in the early months and then at the end also but couldn`t sleep then as so uncomfy. It will be nice to follow you through the pregnancy on this thread. You will have to put some belly piccies up when you start to pop!:)
charlen49
08-05-2007, 20:36
hey..there has been some serious thread closures happening on the hub recently.....and heres another........must been spring or should i say autumn cleaning time.....hehe
mellissa1974
09-05-2007, 06:02
I,m Mel I'm 33 and also live in Brissy I have 3 boys Cody 7 luke 6 and little cooper 5 weeks....such an age gap, I forgot what is was like to have a baby at home fulltime. Anyway lookforward to chatting and getting to know you all in this thread.
millymoo
09-05-2007, 06:39
:wave:Hello Rachel and Mel!
charlen49
09-05-2007, 07:26
:wave: Hi Rachel and Mel nice to see u in here.......hey Mel thats not too bad of an age gap try 10 years......between my 2 dd.......though ur right...it is a bit of a shock to the system!
millymoo
09-05-2007, 09:03
Yes Mel...look at my age gap!! I am on a second marriage. Do you find it better now you are older having a baby? I do >..love it and feel broody when I look at Amelia and don`t want her to get any bigger.Sleep would be good though!
Charli do you find it nicer to have a bub and be at home in yr 30`s? I always felt I was missing something in my early 20`s!
H x
charlen49
09-05-2007, 09:16
Yes i am Helen....and this time i have dp......where as before i was a single mum so it was doubly hard....sometimes i thought i was going nuts!!!:eek:
millymoo
09-05-2007, 09:32
It must have been very hard for you. I was 22 when I married my ex but left him by 25. I then met a man who was just awful in the end and had time after him and before DH on my own. The girls were 4 and 7 at the time.
Aren`t we both lucky now...even if they do snore!
charlen49
09-05-2007, 09:48
It must have been very hard for you. I was 22 when I married my ex but left him by 25. I then met a man who was just awful in the end and had time after him and before DH on my own. The girls were 4 and 7 at the time.
Aren`t we both lucky now...even if they do snore!
yes...snoring is a whole other issue:laughing: .....yes well i thought the biological other was bad..then i met too others far worse later down the track......then i made a decision few years back that i was better than the **** i was being delt so i decided i was never ever going to be mistreated or put up with sh!t again....then i met my lovely adorable dp....who would do anything for us.......but i certainly went through a few toads to find prince charming
millymoo
09-05-2007, 09:50
It has made me very strong though and never prepared to take any ****. Poor DH!
Bellamyn
09-05-2007, 13:20
My name is Bella I am 36 & have a yummy younger partner who is 26. :thumbsup: We live in Perth.
We have an adorable little girl (not baby anymore) who is 13mths. Who is an absolute joy to us!
We hope to have another baby in a couple of years, start mid 2008!
Anyone else started their families later in life?
Bella
millymoo
09-05-2007, 13:36
Hello!!!:wave:
Yes I did with a younger partner too! But I have two girls from a previous relationship.It is great at this age...much better and calmer.
Be good to share views with you.
Charli is also 36 and has a bubba!
We are often here!
charlen49
09-05-2007, 13:52
My name is Bella I am 36 & have a yummy younger partner who is 26. :thumbsup: We live in Perth.
We have an adorable little girl (not baby anymore) who is 13mths. Who is an absolute joy to us!
We hope to have another baby in a couple of years, start mid 2008!
Anyone else started their families later in life?
Bella
:yes: :wave: hi bella!
Bellamyn
09-05-2007, 15:21
Thanks for the welcomes.
For me it has been the perfect time to have a baby. I find I am so calm & have found it a breeze, where if I was younger I am not sure I would have handled it as well. But that is just for me :)
I come back to work partimt time Mon-Wed when Tullee was 9mths old. I am lucky my mum is a retired nurse & looks after the princess. Next year hoping to cut down to 2 days & then have #2 & hopefully :fingerscrossed: stay at home, if finances allow.
We have booked Tullee into private school to start kindy 2010, so may have to work a day to help pay for that :D
Look forward to chatting with you all.
Bella
Been MIA for a while but miss you guys!!
A very belated happybirthday to Tara!!!! How many weeks are you now? How exciting:)
Hi to everyone else.
charlen49
09-05-2007, 16:34
:wave: Hi jen good to see u..long time no see.what have u been up to??
millymoo
09-05-2007, 17:40
Hi Jen..great to see you back here!
We missed you!please pop in more often. I will pm you later!
Bella I know you didnt have the experience of having kids very young to compare but you sound so happy!! To be able to compare I feel I have been given another go at it as it were and am trying to do the best job i can!You sound like you have it all planned out. I would like another but worried I am getting to old as would want to wait at least 4 yrs so would be preg at 40-41. Dilemma!!
Static_Cat
09-05-2007, 20:05
hope to chat to u all sometime.
me nov 71
dh oct 70
ds nov 05
melbryan
09-05-2007, 20:21
Hi to all the newies, I am trying hard to catch up on posts and it sound slike lots has been going on.
Lots of close age gaps doesn that mean when you get older you just want to spit them out quicker so that you don't get too old.
I have this thing that I don't want to be too much older than 50 when all my kids are legal, then hopefully they will move out and get on with their own lives. I will support them through their education if that's waht they choose to do.
Wow I have heard of enrolling kids in private schools early but never knew anyone that had. I went to a private school and I don't know how my parents paid quite frankly. I will find a good public as I teach at a public and there is a few good ones around my area if I am not satisfied with the hgischools they may go to a private one don't know yet though.
charlen49
09-05-2007, 20:31
hope to chat to u all sometime.
me nov 71
dh oct 70
ds nov 05
hi and welcome..luv ya av..cute....novemeber is a great month to be born by the way!
millymoo
10-05-2007, 06:49
:wave:twinklestar1
millymoo
10-05-2007, 08:17
Melbryan...don`t think many on this thread will be free and 50!! Too late in the day for alot of us, although 2 of mine will definately be gone:crying:
Hopefully all mine will be independant by the time im 50. My first will be 25, second will be 23, third will be 21 and fourth will be 19. Oh and considering that there will be no more-hopefully i will have ome "me time" by then.
Ohhhhh but then again.......they might have killed me by then:laughing:
I hope they wont take up the current trend thats sweeping the world..you know the one....stay at home till your in your 30's and live of your parents so you can save your own money! NOT happening here! I'll move out first:D
It has made me very strong though and never prepared to take any ****. Poor DH!
Hi again.. thanks again for the welcome.. i can only get on every few days so please excuse the big gaps in communication!
I am the same as you Millymoo - bad experience first time - but stayed on my own for a long long time before feeling brave enough to chance it again!! I think it's made me too tough in my old age!! I feel sorry for DH too sometimes!!
It's great to see you guys feeling so great "after" the birth of your belated babies! I've got 11 weeks to go and am a bit worried how my "old" body is going to cope with the lack of sleep and the constant demand again!! my two teenagers are so self sufficient now it's going to be a culture shock!!! did you guys find it harder this time around?
millymoo
11-05-2007, 08:14
Back on later to chat to you...glad to see you again. Bit of a busy day to get thru!:wave:
madreader
11-05-2007, 16:14
Hi Lastone Welcome and to your question i have two older kids 8 and 10 and i found it was so much easier this time around.:thumbsup:
millymoo
11-05-2007, 17:43
lastone you will be fine...I had just turned 37 and actually because I didn`t have an episiotomy with Amelia (I did with DD1 and DD2) I heeled so fast. You really arent old and can guarantee you may well be like me and want more!! Once this lovely baby makes an entry to the world. I feel so contented being a mum at this age. I appreciate it more and don`t get bored or want to go out partying etc(well maybe!). Your teens will also be in thier element ! When she cries 4 people run for her now as no one can bear it!
I am so happy for you....second time round will be fantastic!
melbryan
11-05-2007, 19:08
I just want a holiday when I am 50!!!
Is that too much to ask. Yep I reckon my lot will be at home for ever but I will be encouraging them to start their own journey.
charlen49
11-05-2007, 19:57
Hi again.. thanks again for the welcome.. i can only get on every few days so please excuse the big gaps in communication!
I am the same as you Millymoo - bad experience first time - but stayed on my own for a long long time before feeling brave enough to chance it again!! I think it's made me too tough in my old age!! I feel sorry for DH too sometimes!!
It's great to see you guys feeling so great "after" the birth of your belated babies! I've got 11 weeks to go and am a bit worried how my "old" body is going to cope with the lack of sleep and the constant demand again!! my two teenagers are so self sufficient now it's going to be a culture shock!!! did you guys find it harder this time around?
i probably personally felt a lot more tired....but then again i cant remember much from 11years ago;) ....you will be fine......plus you have experience up ur sleeve..and u know what they say about an experinced older woman!hehe
millymoo
11-05-2007, 20:09
You cheeky monkey Charlie!!
Or how about " you`re only as old as the man you feel" quote (I hope that isn`t a pommie one!). That makes me 31!!
charlen49
11-05-2007, 20:33
You cheeky monkey Charlie!!
Or how about " you`re only as old as the man you feel" quote (I hope that isn`t a pommie one!). That makes me 31!! no thats a good aussie one too...and unfortunately dp keeps reminding me that he is 6mths younger!...like PLEASE!
millymoo
11-05-2007, 21:06
Nah he hasnt much to bargain with there has he!
charlen49
12-05-2007, 10:12
Nah he hasnt much to bargain with there has he!
Na...the big baby:laughing:
millymoo
12-05-2007, 14:22
I have just woken from a 3 hr sleep!! Yes 3 hrs. Milly was asleep for half of it then DH had her. Think he is feeling I am at the end of my tether with the whole co sleeping/being a dummy all night. Really need to get a change of pattern going. Still tryimg her with the solids too but she isnt really bothered.Lot of mouth clamping.
Got to go out at 10 tonight to get DD1 from a party!:banghead:
Roll on tomorrow when I am doing nothing! We were going to go to the Lake but feel like just chilling here doing nothing and having nothing done for me!
Whats everyone else doing?
charlen49
12-05-2007, 14:55
I have just woken from a 3 hr sleep!! Yes 3 hrs. Milly was asleep for half of it then DH had her. Think he is feeling I am at the end of my tether with the whole co sleeping/being a dummy all night. Really need to get a change of pattern going. Still tryimg her with the solids too but she isnt really bothered.Lot of mouth clamping.
Got to go out at 10 tonight to get DD1 from a party!:banghead:
Roll on tomorrow when I am doing nothing! We were going to go to the Lake but feel like just chilling here doing nothing and having nothing done for me!
Whats everyone else doing?
:hugs: mate.......do u feel a bit better after ur 3 hr sleep?
..we just got back from shopping at glendale...........i swear everyman and his dog were overthere.....we eneded up being overthere 4 2 hrs......bub eneded up being a bit tired and grumpy....just had a short nap....dammit!has woken....i was hopping to chat for a while ....will have to hop on later if i get a chance...and have a winge about dd#1.......:fingerscrossed: BBL
millymoo
12-05-2007, 15:42
Hope everything is ok. Quiet on here today.Get chance to catch up!
madreader
12-05-2007, 19:32
I just want to wish you all a very Happy Mothers Day tomorrow.:hugs: :wave: :smiliedance: :yelclap:
lastone you will be fine...I had just turned 37 and actually because I didn`t have an episiotomy with Amelia (I did with DD1 and DD2) I heeled so fast. You really arent old and can guarantee you may well be like me and want more!! Once this lovely baby makes an entry to the world. I feel so contented being a mum at this age. I appreciate it more and don`t get bored or want to go out partying etc(well maybe!). Your teens will also be in thier element ! When she cries 4 people run for her now as no one can bear it!
I am so happy for you....second time round will be fantastic!
Thanks Millymoo - you're so good at putting a positive spin on things!! i need it at the moment - hormones are raging and am having an attack of "pmt".. well - not sure what to call it - but it's that same feeling of "I want to screammm!!" am worrying too much ..
It will be nice to have extra hands on board! am just having a heart attack as I have to go back to work fairly quickly - so am feeling the pressure of getting in a routine quick etc., and getting stressed about every little thing as a consequence - but I'm not even there yet - so need to slap myself across the face and just ride out the hormone rages without taking them literally!!! (if that makes sense)
Just one thing though - my doc says after such a big gap - the birth will be like a first again... what did you guys find? it'd be nice for it to be like a third!!
Thanks for the Mothers Day wishes Madreader - hope everyone else had a great day! I had a nice sleep in and a good greasy brekky from the bbq... mmmm...
Bellamyn
14-05-2007, 09:22
Happy Monday morning ladies :D
Sorry I haven't been on after joining in last week. Had a really busy w/end!!!
Oh, hope you all had a lovely Mothers Day! I got a little spoilt :p
What did everyone get up to?
Taking about you only as old as the man you feel, thant makes me a lovely young 26!!! hee hee
A 10 year gap here. Alot of my friends used to say "is he not imature?" gee he is very mature for his age, he does look young tho, but I also do. Hell we just are so compatible & very well suited. Took me a long time to find a guy to love like this, & everything has just fallen into place PERFECTLY for our little family!
I'll be 38 when #2 comes along (hopefully all going well)
I have a busy day at work today, got to get heaps of invoices out for payment! And I really don't feel like it! I fell like a day surfing the net :eek: cheeky me!
Bella
millymoo
14-05-2007, 12:11
Just one thing though - my doc says after such a big gap - the birth will be like a first again... what did you guys find? it'd be nice for it to be like a third!!
I found the labour was like a first all over again.....I had to be induced which I wasn`t with DD1 and DD2. It was very intense and about 5 hrs. With DD2 she came out within 2 hrs start to finish with one big push. DD1 was a typical first labour...very long and ages to push out. I did find this time Amelia was quick to push out once she was on her way so that bit didn`t change for me from DD2.
I guess I found the labour harder than the actual pushing her out.
Glad you had a good mummies day. i did too. Lots pampering and few chardys too.
Hope you are bit less stressed! Very hormonal time pregnancy. I turned into abit of a nutter some days!
Taking about you only as old as the man you feel, thant makes me a lovely young 26!!! hee hee
A 10 year gap here. Alot of my friends used to say "is he not imature?" gee he is very mature for his age, he does look young tho, but I also do. Hell we just are so compatible & very well suited. Took me a long time to find a guy to love like this, & everything has just fallen into place PERFECTLY for our little family!
I'll be 38 when #2 comes along (hopefully all going well)
Bella
How lovely to feel 26. When i met DH he was 24 and i was 29 and turning 30. We were both into clubbing,wine bars going out etc but have mellowed over the years. I think moving to Oz has contributed to that. We still like to let our hair down but not so often.We have some great photos to look back on that`s for sure!
Kangaskippy
17-05-2007, 09:59
Hi there ladies...sorry I got lost...didn't realise there was a new thread...DOH!!! the haze of lack of sleep is around my head these days...grrrr....
have now caught up and Hi to all the new 30+ lovely ladies...:wave: and hi again to all the regulars...:yes:
millymoo
17-05-2007, 13:22
Hi Mez
Good to see you again. This thread has died abit. Maybe we can start it up again.:thumbsup:
charlen49
17-05-2007, 13:49
Hi Mez
Good to see you again. This thread has died abit. Maybe we can start it up again.:thumbsup:
good idea...maybe tell some trashy secrets!...hehe;) :D
Kangaskippy
17-05-2007, 15:28
mmm, trashy secrets sound like fun...will have to delve into the recesses of my memory after I get some much needed zzzzz's....hhahahahahah
madreader
18-05-2007, 11:02
Hi Ladies How is everyone going. All good here on this neck of the woods. I won $10.65 on Powerball last nite and i won $10.00 on a $2.00 scratchit. Yeah for me. I hope everyone is in fine health. Have a good weekend. Oh i would be up for some trashy jokes etc. But i wont be the first i will let someone else do that. Cheers. Charmaine.:) :smiliedance: :wave:
Static_Cat
18-05-2007, 20:18
Well done madreader. thats about all i can do too. but some is better than none. we have rain here in tassie. but its not going where needed. so wot is every1 doing for the weekend. im new to all this so im finding things as i look around. i cant get the ticker to work i just get the peice that u have to paste but no picture oh well. hope to hear from u soon. take care. :hugs:
Well have been absent for too long - took me ages to read through all of the posts since I was last here!!!
It's just the girls and I this weekend, DH is on a boys only trip to Brisbane. We are going to stay with my sister tomorrow night (her DH is on same trip).
I had a pampering session today - a massage:smiliedance: !! So relaxing.
Hope you all have a great weekend.
millymoo
19-05-2007, 07:52
Hello Madreader, Jen3 and Twinkle!!
Perhaps you can liven this up abit as it has really slowed. Where is everyone. Here is a piccie.
Sorry Charli you have seen it already.
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s2/helenchand_photos/bath.jpg
Back again .. sorry!! was so bad with hormones/insomnia last week I ended up taking a few days off work and putting myself to bed! feeling more human this week - woo hoo! had a meeting earlier in the week at son's high school and the poor teachers had to deal with me blubbering - gawd .. how embarrassing!! i don't know if it was me or my DS that was more embarrassed! all I could say was "sorry - it's the hormones"!!
Hope you all had a great weekend... me and DD had a shopping expedition on Sat - thought i'd better start getting bits and pieces together for the new arrival.. things sure have changed... $140 for a nappy bag?? anyone got any cheaper ones to recommend?
We're getting there with it all.. but want to wait till it's born to buy DD or DS colours for things like sheets and blankets etc... DD1 went on and on about how it'd be sooo much easier to find out now - so we could get organised!!! naughty me .. how dare I be such a pain in the ....ss !
Anyway - hope you're all good... talk soon!
madreader
21-05-2007, 15:36
Millymoo- What a little cutie you have. We went up to fil property on Sunday. Wow three kids, a hubby and a dog in the car for one hour each way not a pretty sight when we got home. Absolutely buggered. Thank god for takeaway.
Hi Twinkle- Thanks every little win is better nothing.Welcome also.
Lastone- Hello to you. How is everything going. My eldest starts High School next year, its so scary, they grow up way too fast. I cannot believe that he is turning 12 next month.
Jen3- Hello to you.
Oh well talk to you all soon. Take care.Valentine
Well I'm off to have acupuncture tomorrow. Has anyone here had it done before?? It has now been 10 weeks (now counting weeks not days) since I last had AF. I am definately not pg, 5 HPTs and BFNs have proved that. Have been told acupuncture is great to regulate cycles, so heres hoping!!! I am really over the crazy hormones from PMS - driving me crazy :yes: . Also off to the Drs on Thurs to have blood tests to check everything is ok.
Anyway enough about me.
Lastone - glad you are feeling better today. I'm like you, we will have to buy everything when we are pg (cot, car seat, etc), we sold or gave all of our things away years ago!!
Madreader - sounds like you had a fun weekend
Hi to everyone else and Helen your pictures of Amelia are always gorgeous :)
charlen49
21-05-2007, 18:18
Well I'm off to have acupuncture tomorrow. Has anyone here had it done before?? It has now been 10 weeks (now counting weeks not days) since I last had AF. I am definately not pg, 5 HPTs and BFNs have proved that. Have been told acupuncture is great to regulate cycles, so heres hoping!!! I am really over the crazy hormones from PMS - driving me crazy :yes: . Also off to the Drs on Thurs to have blood tests to check everything is ok.
Anyway enough about me.
Lastone - glad you are feeling better today. I'm like you, we will have to buy everything when we are pg (cot, car seat, etc), we sold or gave all of our things away years ago!!
Hi to everyone else and Helen your pictures of Amelia are always gorgeous :) Hi yogamum.....havent seen you on here for a while....hope this work out ok with the blood tests...hi to everyone else( sorry i know i'm being slack in not being personal)!:wave:
millymoo
21-05-2007, 19:51
:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedanc e: You have all come back to chat!! It is great to see you all again as was getting lonely ...not with Charlie though! We can natter for sure!
Keep in touch as great to hear how you are.
Anyway enough about me.
Hi to everyone else and Helen your pictures of Amelia are always gorgeous :)
Hi Jen3... I have had acupuncture once years ago.. and it wasn't too bad.. couldn't feel it at all - but got to admit i don't think i moved a muscle while they were in there!! hope it helps your crazy hormones! that must be so frustrating for you.. especially the pms!! it's hard enough dealing with it once a month - let alone all over the place with no warning!! i'm a bit like that now during this pregnancy - it hits with a bang - feel like a bit of a multiple personality!! well i'm sure DH thinks so anyway! hopefully for you this acupuncture works.. was there anything different happening before it stopped?
with regards to buying stuff all over again - bummer isn't it - but i s'pose it's nice to spoil it in our old age when things are a bit more comfy - things were a bit tighter when the first two came along! have forgotten what i need though!! sure i'll work it out when it comes along!!
millymoo
22-05-2007, 08:43
Jen I am sorry you are having a tough time with this cycle business!! I havent heard of acupuncture regulating it myself...have you found any other mums used it when TTC on other threads?
I worked in admin for a painmanagement team in UK and regularly saw the acupuncture patients and I know its for a different thing but all I can say is it doesnt hurt:thumbsup:. They were always back for more and always:).
Iastone how you today? We had to buy EVERYTHING!! Not only did I have the big gap like you but we had only been here 2 yrs from the UK and only came with our clothes so had no baby things at all! I loved getting all the things again and now think if we have another then we have it all already! Big outlay at first though.:eek:
Hi Millymoo - still feeling good today - yay! i think the iron is helping! and the hormones are being nice to me at the moment.. just the normal pregnancy gripes now which i can cope with!
It is a huge outlay preparing for a baby isn't it! i've been looking through here for advice - there are a couple of threads that are e.g. "things i wouldn't have bought" etc., they're quite interesting - when you're out shopping you feel like you "have" to have these things.. but its good to hear other peoples opinions... did you every try MCN's? (or any else - sorry!) there seem to be alot of people that are quite passionate about them.. but they seem like a bit of a pain in the proverbial.. i think i'd prefer to use the old fashioned cloth like i did with my other two... though am going back to work quite quickly so won't try and be too perfect - but it'd be good to not use disposables on weekends and while i'm at home..
also.. not sure if you saw my response re Lake Macquarie in the other thread.. but was saying that my mum lives up there... Summerland Point.. you anywhere near it?
millymoo
23-05-2007, 08:04
Yes I am sure I am near Summerland Point...will check out on google later and let you know as when you come up we could meet for a coffee or schooner!
I am using disposables am afraid! I do try alot of enviro friendly things but havent tried that.
:eek:
have you bought a buggy yet? I have a bit of advice cos i hate mine but don`t want to say incase you have it!!I am not about to upset a pregnant lady:laughing:
Kangaskippy
23-05-2007, 09:54
goodmorning...not the best night over here, but am going to tank up on coffee and berroca today...that should get me through...hopefully....
xxx to all...
Bellamyn
23-05-2007, 10:23
I join in your chat a few weeks ago, but haven't had much input as DD has been sick. Poor little mite, pick up a nasty cold from an inconsiderate mother whom brought their flu infected child to Mothers group. I was (and the other mums) was annoyed she brought him, not just one week but 2 weeks he had the runniest snotty noes. Poor kid not his fault. I knew at least one of the bubba's would get it & was mine!
She just hasn't picked up since & this week has has a HUGE lip ulcer & a couple in her mouth. And her sleeping (not that is was gr8, but was improving) went haywire! So here is a very tired mummy upset for her poor little princess.
I went & got her some Incremine (sp) tonic yesterday, so hopefully that will get her on the mend.
I like you Kangaskippy will tank up on the coffee. At least it is the last working day for the week fro me.
Still hoping to get ot know you all :D
Bella
madreader
23-05-2007, 10:28
Hi Bellamyn Welcome. Thats so terrible about your little one. I absolutely hate that when someone elses child is sick by no gault of their own and their mother doesnt keep them home. It used to happen to my eldset son all the time, he would pick everything up that was going around because of inconsiderate mums. Oh well enough whinging from me. I hope your littleone starts to pickup soon. Take care Charmaine.:hugs:
charlen49
23-05-2007, 10:38
I join in your chat a few weeks ago, but haven't had much input as DD has been sick. Poor little mite, pick up a nasty cold from an inconsiderate mother whom brought their flu infected child to Mothers group. I was (and the other mums) was annoyed she brought him, not just one week but 2 weeks he had the runniest snotty noes. Poor kid not his fault. I knew at least one of the bubba's would get it & was mine!
She just hasn't picked up since & this week has has a HUGE lip ulcer & a couple in her mouth. And her sleeping (not that is was gr8, but was improving) went haywire! So here is a very tired mummy upset for her poor little princess.
I went & got her some Incremine (sp) tonic yesterday, so hopefully that will get her on the mend.
I like you Kangaskippy will tank up on the coffee. At least it is the last working day for the week fro me.
Still hoping to get ot know you all :D
Bella
:hugs: her cold sounds horrible.........i cant beleive some parents!.....i'm sure the child felt like going to Mgrp whilst sick as well!!!!..well i hope ur little one is feeling better soon!:fingerscrossed:
charlen49
23-05-2007, 10:41
goodmorning...not the best night over here, but am going to tank up on coffee and berroca today...that should get me through...hopefully....
xxx to all...
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
Bellamyn
23-05-2007, 10:57
Thanks for your well wishes to DD girls. I know kids pick up things, but to bring your child into contact with others, and these all had or were about to have their 1 year old needles. This little boy had FULL on Flu, he should have been hom resting for his stake as well as the rest of us.
One of the mum was so angry she sent a group email saying if your child is sick STAY AT HOME. So hopefully it won't happen again.
My mum looks after her while I'm at work & she said she seems alot brighter today. She is over the cold, but her mouth must be so sore.
Can't wait for the days end so I have 4 full days with her.
Does anyone else manage juggle work & family life?
Bella
Kangaskippy
23-05-2007, 17:09
ok, 2 coffees down and am suprisingly ok today...who would have thought...
Jack's top tooth has definatley broken through today so am hoping for a better sleep tonight...fingers crossed..!!!
Hope everyone had a lovely day...sorry to hear about your little princess being sick Bella...hope she feels 100% better soon...:hugs:
millymoo
23-05-2007, 19:19
Hi Mez I hope you have agood night tonight. Milly is sleeping at the mo but still co sleeping and feeding her. Such a bad habit but quite warm and snuggly last night. How cold was it in The Hunter!
millymoo
23-05-2007, 19:22
Sorry to hear you have had to go through all that just because someone was so selfish not to think of others!
I used to have a full time job in the UK and did sales 3 nights a week too when the girls were young but since coming to Oz have been able to be a SAHM. It was frantic Bella I can tell you and I never stopped. The weekends were spent washing, cleaning etc!
Do you find it a struggle?
Thanks for your well wishes to DD girls. I know kids pick up things, but to bring your child into contact with others, and these all had or were about to have their 1 year old needles. This little boy had FULL on Flu, he should have been hom resting for his stake as well as the rest of us.
One of the mum was so angry she sent a group email saying if your child is sick STAY AT HOME. So hopefully it won't happen again.
My mum looks after her while I'm at work & she said she seems alot brighter today. She is over the cold, but her mouth must be so sore.
Bella
I am sort of new to the thread. I popped my head in a few weeks back.
Can I ask you guys a question?
There was a get together of a few bubhubbers for a night out, but I felt uncomfortable going, as I was much older then anyone else..... Is this just me, or would some of you feel then same??
My DH told me I was being silly.
Grace
millymoo
23-05-2007, 19:39
How old are you Grace? Check out my age below:eek:
I don't personally feel old, however I would have felt uncomfortable. Does this make sense?
Yes I am sure I am near Summerland Point...will check out on google later and let you know as when you come up we could meet for a coffee or schooner!
I am using disposables am afraid! I do try alot of enviro friendly things but havent tried that.
:eek:
have you bought a buggy yet? I have a bit of advice cos i hate mine but don`t want to say incase you have it!!I am not about to upset a pregnant lady:laughing:
Milly - schooner sounds good! can't wait till i can have one again!!
Have bought layback stroller - after much deliberating - the three wheelers all looked so heavy.. and i'm not much of a walker/jogger.. will be back to work fairly quick - so not much time to regularly get out and about - we ended up getting the Steelcraft Profile.. will put a sheepskin liner in it to make it cosier.. it came with a footmuff thingy - and was really well priced.. but i was thinking if it isn't cosy/smooth enough.. being so cheap we can always go get something else and use it a bit later as stroller - seems that most people move to stroller fairly quickly these days anyway - but would definitely appreciate your input - don't hold back!!! better to get these hints in advance!! i wish i'd gotten them before buying!! was such a hard decision!
Bella
Hi Bella (and every one else too!!)
I'm working full time now - with DC due 1/8 - and will be going back to work part time in Nov/Dec this year... so am really worried about how on earth i'm going to do it... would love to stay at home full time but so hard to do in this day and age!! definitely not a possibility for us.. so i'll be in the same boat as you - think i'll get the script for valium b4 i go back to work!! (kidding) you're so lucky having your mum there to look after her!
lastone - I live about 10 mins north of Summerland Point!!! So how many weeks are you now?? Sounds like you are having fun with all of the shopping :)
Well, I went for my acupuncture on Tuesday and already I feel that the PMS symptoms have eased, YAYYYYYYYYY:yelclap: . At last something is working. The acupuncturist was really positive about getting my cycles more regular, so looking forward to more treatment.
Helen - weather here has been weird and wonderful hasn't it!! Don't know what to put on in the mornings.
Hi to everyone else, hope you are having a great day :wave:
millymoo
24-05-2007, 14:36
Hi Jen...lovely tp hear from you. Yes I had the heater on today and as you know am a hardened UKer so it must have been cold. Have pm`d you too.
Iastone :wave:Phew it was the Valco three wheeler I have and I hate it! It is about 13kg and great for walking but otherwise far too big etc. In fact the reviews on the hub arent good either so am not alone. As newish to Oz was after a trendy popular buggy and was given great advice on it....:banghead:. I had one in UK by Mamas and Papas but havent seen them here. It was lovely.
I had a lovely bassinette this time and recommend one of those. I have kept it too and it looks pretty with her teddys in!
Also I got lots of New with Tags clothes on Ebay...great makes like gap and Bubba Blue. Worth a look
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s2/helenchand_photos/t.jpg
I didnt hire or buy a capsule and since think that would be a great idea.
H x
Jen3 - Lake Macquarie is popular isn't it! mum moved there about a year ago.. so it's still a bit new to us.. but it seems nice and quiet - has a really holiday'ish feel about it. We live in N/W Syd - i'd love to live up the coast - but couldn't stand the commute!! maybe once we win lotto! am 30 weeks preg now - its going slow - but on the other hand am having a bit of a panic as well! i'm not ready yet!!! got to make sure i get as much sleep and laziness in as possible!!
Glad your acupuncture went well - did you feel it? it's amazing how it works - glad to hear it has alleviated the pms symptoms.. i had severe pms for the last few years - the whole of the second fortnight i was another person - but i just couldn't control it - maybe i should try acupuncture out when i get back to my cycle.. So fingers crossed for you to get the actual cycle happening again hey?
Millymoo - thanks for that heads up - did you end up selling the Valco? hopefully you got some money back - they're not cheap! it's so good to get advice rather than wasting money.. did you mean the capsule was a good idea in hindsight? have reversible car seat - but am thinking it might be good to hire capsule for a couple of months.. easier to get them in and out - and also can carry them around in it for a little while if needed. Piccie looks good - cute room! how long did you use the bassinet for? they look so pretty don't they..
i've been studying outside of work - and finished my final exam about six weeks ago - got results yesterday and failed!! boo hoo - it was the last out of five modules - so have passed others - but need this last one to get the certification - anway - now have choice of sitting next exam on 21/7 (am due 1/8) or leaving it till term one next year.. it's still a vague recollection of what life is like with a baby - so not sure if i could cope with the study whilst having a 5 month old... but on the other hand - am going downhill now in my energy levels - went to bed at 8pm last night! - if i do it now - i'd need to do at least an hour a night for the next 8 weeks... and i might not even make it to the exam!!! gawd - i'm so confused!
lastone - are you doing your course by correspondence??? Must be hard decision when to do exam. If you decide to do your exam next year at least you will have 2 big brothers to help with bub, but if you do it before bub arrives then it is over and done with. :banghead: Pros and cons both ways, arghhhhh - its never easy is it!!! When do you have to decide?? Oh poor you, make sure you enjoy those sleep ins on the weekends before August :) .
Acupunture doesn't hurt at all - in fact it was relaxing!! If pms does return after you have bub, you might get relief from it by trying acup.
Hi Helen - what are you up to today??
Hi to anyone else who is around today :wave:
Jen.. course is lecture based - lecturer this time was not that good.. if i do exam again I can attend classes again for free.. will need to decide this weekend.. hard decision - i was really looking forward to lazing about for the rest of the pregnancy!! (before life changes forever!)
glad the acupuncture was relaxing - is it expensive? (can't remember)..
Off home in a sec... gotta love Friday afternoons! kids aren't home tonight - can laze about without feeling guilty! now - if only I could have a glass of wine it'd all be perfect!
Hope everyone has a great! - will catch up next week (i try not to touch computers on weekends after staring at one all week!)
lastone - hope you have a great weekend. If you can't enjoy a wine, maybe some yummy chocolates would work too???? Good luck with your decision :) .
PS Acunp. is costing $65 a session.
millymoo
26-05-2007, 09:47
Jen.. course is lecture based - lecturer this time was not that good.. if i do exam again I can attend classes again for free.. will need to decide this weekend.. hard decision - i was really looking forward to lazing about for the rest of the pregnancy!! (before life changes forever!)
glad the acupuncture was relaxing - is it expensive? (can't remember)..
Off home in a sec... gotta love Friday afternoons! kids aren't home tonight - can laze about without feeling guilty! now - if only I could have a glass of wine it'd all be perfect!
Hope everyone has a great! - will catch up next week (i try not to touch computers on weekends after staring at one all week!)
Hi Iastone sorry to hear you didn`t pass yr exam but hey you have alot to do at the moment and lots going on. I hope you get to the roght decision. I took my driving test when preg with DD2...38 weeks. I was a bit big behaind the wheel:laughing:
I had the bassinette for 5 mths as Mum and Dad came to stay from UK from Milly being 2-5 mths so had her next to my bed, she was quite small and not a roller early on so it was quite safe too and great to take away. We went to Sydney and Central Coast, Oh and Nelsons Bay so just popped it in the car and she was familiar with it and slept really well (unlike now:banghead:).
No I didn`t have the capsule but try and hire one as then you don`t disturb them in and out the car all the time. Milly needed to be held constantly when awake up to about 8 weeks and I think a capsule may have helped. It is a struggle with the car seat when they are so so tiny.
Papoose a good idea too. Popped it on around the house so could have two free hands!
Hope you are feeling good this weekend. Not long now...third trimester!:yelclap:
millymoo
26-05-2007, 09:52
Hi Jen
Just chilling this weekend as my weeks are so busy that am happy to enjoy home life on Sat/Sun and have a lie in too.
Rosie is at dance this morning, DH at work and Fran had a mate to stay last night...yes that`s quiet her!
I was on messenger to a good mate in UK this morning so it was late Fri night for her and found out we can see each others piccies really easily so had fun with that!
Bet bit chiily down at Caves! it was here. Find it hard to get up then.
Glad you found the acup painless,I knew you would but bit scarey first time, like anything. I really hope it works for you and be interested to know. is it just for PMT and regulation?
Kangaskippy
26-05-2007, 10:24
I had a capsule for Jack and it was a life saver...I didn't have to wake him up to move him in or out of the car...tops..:thumbsup: (I wasn't going to get one but my friends and family with kids recommended one and I don't regret it..)
Not much happening here...dying my hair (again..hahaha) and Jack is asleep..which is nice to have some me time...:yelclap:
millymoo
26-05-2007, 10:27
Oooh post a picce when you have. Just taken to doing my own again and not paying $100`s at salon and I prefer it. Anyway when I took Milly at 4 mths to the hairdresers for 2.5 hrs it was terrible!
Kangaskippy
26-05-2007, 10:33
Oooh post a picce when you have. Just taken to doing my own again and not paying $100`s at salon and I prefer it. Anyway when I took Milly at 4 mths to the hairdresers for 2.5 hrs it was terrible!
will do...I love doing my own hair...I can do it any colour at any time..(well, not so easy now I have Jack, but still enjoy the change)...
This time I am going Ruby red...so should make a huge difference...might do some brown streaks...(if it's tooo bright) or some blonde streaks if it looks a bit plain...depending on time and motivation...hahhaa
charlen49
26-05-2007, 15:29
will do...I love doing my own hair...I can do it any colour at any time..(well, not so easy now I have Jack, but still enjoy the change)...
This time I am going Ruby red...so should make a huge difference...might do some brown streaks...(if it's tooo bright) or some blonde streaks if it looks a bit plain...depending on time and motivation...hahhaa
wow u girls are so creative!!!!!!!!!!!...sounds like u are having a relaxing wekend helen?... I think the capsule is a great idea.if i have any more kissies i think i will hire and give one of them a go....eassier to get in and out of the car!!!!!!!!!! Sow us a pic when you have finished Kangaskippy!!!!!please!!!!!
Kangaskippy
26-05-2007, 16:19
ok here goes...hard to do this by yourself...(take the pic that is..hahahaha) - only back views though...
Hair Up (http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r241/Kangaskippy/IMGP2632.jpg)
Hair Down (http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r241/Kangaskippy/IMGP2634.jpg)
there you go...not quite as bright as I expected as my hair was lightened...but looks ok...am happy with it at the moment..give me a week or so..:laughing: :laughing:
millymoo
26-05-2007, 17:56
You have lovely hair Mez..is that curl natural. Mine is very straight and i would love abit of wave...Charlie too has mega curls. Very jealous girls!
charlen49
26-05-2007, 18:54
ok here goes...hard to do this by yourself...(take the pic that is..hahahaha) - only back views though...
Hair Up (http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r241/Kangaskippy/IMGP2632.jpg)
Hair Down (http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r241/Kangaskippy/IMGP2634.jpg)
there you go...not quite as bright as I expected as my hair was lightened...but looks ok...am happy with it at the moment..give me a week or so..:laughing: :laughing:
verrrrrrrry nice....luv the colour.......going to have cut and colour done monday week cant wait! havent had hair done since january i think..and its in terrible shape at the moment.....another reason i cant wait because it will be a couple of bub free hours which i havent had in 3+ months.....the hairdresser always straightens my hair also...so ends up very long...and i try to keep it that way 4 about 4days till i die and have to wash it...lol...i have a straightner too...just havent been bothered to use it..you know how it is with bubs and all:rolleyes:
quitecontrary
26-05-2007, 21:33
Hi - thought I'd join this thread as am one of the Elders on my december mums thread. DH and I are both 39 and G (who didn't arrive in December!) is a joyous 18 weeks. We are just about to pack our bags for the big "Take the Baby Back to the UK" trip. DH is english, and my m & f inlaw are not up to travelling (health more than anything else). So we are off next Saturday. Excited in a worried fashion - G is so little to be setting off around the world with her parents in tow.
charlen49
27-05-2007, 06:05
Hi - thought I'd join this thread as am one of the Elders on my december mums thread. DH and I are both 39 and G (who didn't arrive in December!) is a joyous 18 weeks. We are just about to pack our bags for the big "Take the Baby Back to the UK" trip. DH is english, and my m & f inlaw are not up to travelling (health more than anything else). So we are off next Saturday. Excited in a worried fashion - G is so little to be setting off around the world with her parents in tow.
Welcome:wave: ..how exciting and scarey ( this is coming from someone who hasnt been any where in the world except oz).....hey my little darling was 2weeks overbaked as well..suppose to have been an october bub..but eneded up a november one!lol
Kangaskippy
27-05-2007, 08:37
You have lovely hair Mez..is that curl natural. Mine is very straight and i would love abit of wave...Charlie too has mega curls. Very jealous girls!
it's naturally wavy.. gets more curl when its cut, but mostly like this...tends to straighten up more when its long due to the heaviness...
verrrrrrrry nice....luv the colour.......going to have cut and colour done monday week cant wait! havent had hair done since january i think..and its in terrible shape at the moment.....another reason i cant wait because it will be a couple of bub free hours which i havent had in 3+ months.....the hairdresser always straightens my hair also...so ends up very long...and i try to keep it that way 4 about 4days till i die and have to wash it...lol...i have a straightner too...just havent been bothered to use it..you know how it is with bubs and all:rolleyes:
the last time I went to a hairdresser I was about 6mths preggers...and then it was just a trim...My DH tends to cut my hair for me...which makes life easier..and I do the colouring/streaking/foils etc....DH also helps when he is available...
I am not too good on the straightening..I try but it tends to wave still...:rolleyes: anyway, it's fun...just don't have much time or need to do more than stick it in a ponytail these days...or bun...:laughing: I really need to get out more...
I went to a jewellery party on Friday night while DH looked after Jack...so 1.5hours of total freedom...wow, it was exhilarating, however I managed to think about them both most of the time...what is with that???? ehhhehehe:p
charlen49
27-05-2007, 09:37
..just don't have much time or need to do more than stick it in a ponytail these days...or bun...:laughing: I really need to get out more...
I went to a jewellery party on Friday night while DH looked after Jack...so 1.5hours of total freedom...wow, it was exhilarating, however I managed to think about them both most of the time...what is with that???? ehhhehehe:p
i'm the same...lol..bun.so quick and handy! and thats so funny.cant wait to have a break on my own..but think about how they are going whilst away....i so do that too!
Just a quick chat before I have to take girls to school.
Welcome to thread quitecontrary!!! Wow, how exciting about your trip - hope you have a great time.
Kangaskippy - your hair looks great :yes: - really pretty colour. I don't know how much money I have spent on my hair - but I love going to hairdressers - ME time !!!!! I am lucky though, I go to a salon that my niece works at (3rd yr apprentice), so I do get a family discount. So every 6 weeks I go for a chat and let her experiment with new colour combinations. That reminds me, I'm due to go this week - YAYYY!!!!
Helen and Charli - haven't days been gorgeous, weather wise. Nights a bit cold, dragged heater out couple of nights ago.
Oh and Helen, acup. helps PMT and also regularity.
Have a great day, try to call in later
Hi Everyone.. hope you all had a great weekend.. mine was good - nice and lazy!
Welcome to the "oldie" group Quitecontrary.. you're scaring me you guys with your "two weeks late" babies... i'm hoping for at least a week early!!!
With exam resit - have decided to put it off till next year - want to feel as relaxed as possible when this little one comes along - especially as I have to go back to work fairly quickly - thanks for the year guys - sorry to whinge!!
Kangaskippy - your hair looks great! I really need to get mine done before the big arrival.. nothing worse than looking like **** in the photo's of afterwards - at least a nice colour picks you up a bit! but hairdressers are so expensive!! might try an at home one like you! did you do the streaks as well - or was that just the Ruby colour?
millymoo
28-05-2007, 09:56
I think about Amelia when she is with me!! Like now and asleep. WTF is that all about x
i'm the same...lol..bun.so quick and handy! and thats so funny.cant wait to have a break on my own..but think about how they are going whilst away....i so do that too!
millymoo
28-05-2007, 09:59
[quote=lastone;1510674]Hi Everyone.. hope you all had a great weekend.. mine was good - nice and lazy!
Welcome to the "oldie" group Quitecontrary.. you're scaring me you guys with your "two weeks late" babies... i'm hoping for at least a week early!!!
With exam resit - have decided to put it off till next year - want to feel as relaxed as possible when this little one comes along - especially as I have to go back to work fairly quickly - thanks for the year guys - sorry to whinge!!
I think you have made the right decision there hun!
On baby products I am on the lookout and have done a thread for a good sling. I have a carrier but fancy one of those funky ones wher you can put them anywhere. Will let you know how I go as they seem invaluable to most.
Still have the Valco..$600 so not parting with it yet and will at least make me walk more.
How are you this week?
millymoo
28-05-2007, 10:00
Helen and Charli - haven't days been gorgeous, weather wise. Nights a bit cold, dragged heater out couple of nights ago.
Oh and Helen, acup. helps PMT and also regularity.
Have a great day, try to call in later
Today is perfect..the temp is up abit and the sun is out...bit too cold last week but i love this, although I do miss the beach as am abit of a sun worshipper, Caves being a fav!
charlen49
28-05-2007, 11:07
[quote=lastone;1510674]Hi Everyone.. hope you all had a great weekend.. mine was good - nice and lazy!
I think you have made the right decision there hun!
On baby products I am on the lookout and have done a thread for a good sling. I have a carrier but fancy one of those funky ones wher you can put them anywhere. Will let you know how I go as they seem invaluable to most.
Still have the Valco..$600 so not parting with it yet and will at least make me walk more.
How are you this week?
i'd be interested to know about a good sling too?
Still feeling good thanks Millymoo... just the usual pregnancy stuff... lack of sleep/aches and pains - but won't bore you all with more whinging!!
Re sling - i bought a good one for my sis two years ago (can't remember brand - will find out) - but it works out well as I get it handed down! woo hoo!
Bellamyn
28-05-2007, 13:42
Trust you all had a gr8 weekend. We did, apart from the rain that poured down, but we need the rain, so I am not complaining!
We had the last of our mothers group 1st birhtday parties on Saturday. was so much fun. She had the same farm animals as we got for Tullee, but Tullee enjoyed this one so much better! The poor piggy tho, Tullee kept sticking her fingers up it's nose. And here I am trying to raise a little girl :D
But she had fun & so did all the others.
Well I am a blondie with dead straight hair (natural hmmm not) I have always gone to hairdressers & had colour, around Xmas time I thought gee I could save $130 every 6 weeks doing this myself. So I did. One day when we are more financially set up I will go back to hirdressers.
Mark is just getting his business up & running since Jan, so we need to tighten the belt a little. We both have gr8 & often expensive taste in fashion, but have to draw the line somewhere :laughing:
Yet he did go to get is hair done in Subi last week, a cut & treatment $55 :eek: but he works hard & we all need a little spoiling. I just won't tell him about the Rock & republic jeans I have on lay bye hee hee.
Quitecontrary - I would love to do a trip like that! How cool. Hope you find every bit enjoyable.
We plan to take to Tullee to Tassie next year for a friends wedding.
Lastone - did you ask me a question about returning to work?
Oh & a winge - that mother from our mothers group brought her child to group on friday & he still has a running nose. Surley it is STILL not a cold. I fell sorry for him cause it does make him look so grotty. It's just not me the other mums are concerned. Any ideas how to bring up the subject without hurting the mums feelings? There has been 1 group email already regarding colds/illneeses etc & coming to group.
I am giving group a miss this Friday anyway, cause Mark is having a unusual day off, so I am dragging him to Ikea :yelclap:
Keep well Ladies & babies
Bella
Kangaskippy
28-05-2007, 17:30
Kangaskippy - your hair looks great! I really need to get mine done before the big arrival.. nothing worse than looking like **** in the photo's of afterwards - at least a nice colour picks you up a bit! but hairdressers are so expensive!! might try an at home one like you! did you do the streaks as well - or was that just the Ruby colour?
Thanks, no I just did the staight colour so far, but might do the streaks in a few weeks when the colour fades or I get bored so as to give myself a lift..it's amazing what a few foils/streaks can do for the spirit...I just love it...that and painting my toe nails..which I have eventually gotten around to doing today...I have been meaning to do it for weeks but put it off as I always find something more important to do...:p
millymoo
28-05-2007, 17:50
Still feeling good thanks Millymoo... just the usual pregnancy stuff... lack of sleep/aches and pains - but won't bore you all with more whinging!!
Re sling - i bought a good one for my sis two years ago (can't remember brand - will find out) - but it works out well as I get it handed down! woo hoo!
Now thats good planning...will let you know and Charlie how my search goes. Used the carrier agsin today. Really pulls on my back.
:wave: Hi there,
Hope u r all well. I'm new around here. I'm 30 so only just qualify to be in here! I have 2 ds, 2.1yrs & 7mths. I love being a mum! I have found the hub to be so interesting & addictive. I just wish I had found out about it alot sooner. Looking forward to geting to know u guys. xxx :wave:
millymoo
29-05-2007, 05:17
:wizard:Hi Chloe. Welcome to this thread!
charlen49
29-05-2007, 07:15
:wizard:Hi Chloe. Welcome to this thread!
:wave: :wave: :wave:
Bellamyn - I probably did ask question re work - memory's shot at the moment! and can't find it back in thread! not to worry - i'm going back to work pretty quickly so hopefully it won't be too traumatic! will start off part time and gradually get back to full time after a year.. you're back at work aren't you? how did you cope?
Chloe - welcome!
Millymoo - do you mean the usual carrier that you put at the front and there are two leg holes etc.,? e.g. pouch... is the sling where they kind of lie down? i'm so confused.. the one i got my sis was a pouch type one.. if that's what you've got - its not good it hurts your back - is that only once they get heavier?
Kangaskippy - i hear you re toenails.. i feel instantly dressed up when i do mine! love doing bright outlandish colours! makes me feel young! (not that i'm/we're old!!)
millymoo
29-05-2007, 10:08
Hi Hun
I have this photo for you of what I have now..hope you can see. It may be that I am a pommie and using the wrong words for you!
It is pretty sturdy but think would have liked one that was more flexible and they could lie down as when tiny her head was a bit too floppy in this!
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s2/helenchand_photos/pap.jpg
quitecontrary
29-05-2007, 12:00
Back again! Thanks for all the lovely welcomes!
The sun is shining in this neck of the woods so have been washing away. Life is exciting isn't it?? G is asleep (yay!! I wish I was) so am thinking about all the things I need to do in prep for this trip.
At least I've started with the packing now - dragged out some clothes for G and me. I think the weather should be like what we've been having in Sydney ie sunny and warm enough for tshirts, when we are in England, and hot hot hot in China. Thank goodness for hand me downs as far as G is concerned, she has a good array of clothes in all sizes for all seasons.
We do the sling and the carrier thing with G, the sling was especially great when she was tiny - DH looked like he had a broken arm, it was funny to watch people react when they realised there was a baby in there!!
Millymoo - I love the difference in vocab that pommies have, my inlaws keep talking about buggies for the baby and I keep thinking she'd probably like a pony too!!! I have to love them though, they have been collecting the baby gear for G with gusto.
millymoo
29-05-2007, 12:40
Sorry I did forget to say Hi the other day so...
:wizard:welcome:wizard:!
Where are you going in the UK?I am from Cambridgeshire and have been here since 2004 (Aug)
Actually a pram to me is a big think with a bassinette on, a pushchair is what I have Milly in (ie valco 3 wheeler or 4 wheeler) and have been saying buggy as thought it was what you all said!!
I think pram is what it is here, whatever shape or size??
Millymoo - right - i've got ya now!
Re prams ets., - Pram to us is something bulky that can lay down and is mostly enclosed - well more enclosed than strollers... e.g. Swallow Beema Q... also they fold in a bulkier way
Stroller is lighter weight, less enclosed - smaller or less heavy wheels.. e.g. McLaren.. generally folds in "umbrella" style e.g. long ways..
But they cross over these days .. e.g. the one i bought (Steelcraft Profile) .. lays almost right down.. is fairly enclosed, comes with footmuff thingy - but is lightweight and folds like an umbrella stroller... so would class it as a stroller... best of both worlds!!
To me a "buggy" is something golfers use!!
Not sure if all aussies agree... but that's how i know them!
millymoo
29-05-2007, 16:32
Hello Rachel
I hope someone can pop in and help on this one as not so clued up being here a short time.
You could try starting a post in gen Chat etc:thumbsup:
Bellamyn
29-05-2007, 17:14
Lastone - I was dreading coming back to work. I had 9mths off. I wanted to stay home with Tullee, but unfortunatly I (as many many others) had to come back. Work wanted me back desperatly, so gave me a nice payrise for my 3 days back.. Took me a good month to "feel" ok about it. I do like my job so I suppose that helps.
I do Mon-Wen 8am-5pm. But when 5pm Wed comes around it feels like heaven, I have 4 WHOLE days with my girl.
Next year Mark wants me to cut down to 2 days & eventually not work at all. He sees his business going great guns! He such a positive person :kiss:
But I am not sure I could NOT work at least 1 day!
Tullee is booked in to start kindy at a private school in 2010 & I said to Mark, even if I work to pay for schooling.
I do hope you have a nice experience going back to work.
Prams - I am a one eyed Quinny Buzz lover here :D sucha gr8 pram, never taken it on the sand tho :detective:
Mum has a stroller for when she has Tullee. Just a very lightweight one, which they both like.
Buggy is a golf instrument to me too
Welcome Chloe :)
Where abouts are you all located? I am in WA.
Bella
millymoo
29-05-2007, 18:13
I am in The Hunter!
quitecontrary
29-05-2007, 19:10
Rachel - oh how lovely, a January Girl too!
On the subject of prams - we have a Beema Q with the bassinette attachment (so it looks like a pram - and our little one is still looking at the world skywards) and we have taken it on the beach, down the south coast where we went over the dunes to get to the beach bit - DH did the hard yards. Would be a lot easier on our suburban beaches as not so much sand to cover! There might be a pic of us on the beach in our link below, I'm not sure.
Millymoo, my in-laws are in Buckinghamshire, its like being in "The Good Life" in some ways - farms all around but they are in a suburban house really, just a gorgeous garden. I keep wanting Margot and Jerry to call in for G and Ts when I'm there. This will be my third visit to their place, and the longest duration by far. It will be interesting. They are going to love G so much I know
millymoo
29-05-2007, 20:54
I`m glad you like it there...it sounds like DH is from a lovely place as i am!
My parents live in a small village in Cambridgeshire and have a lovely bungalow set in the middle of 1/2 acre.It is very peaceful and relaxing to go there. We(DH and I) lived in Leeds before we came here. I love the city but good to get away.
Your piccies are lovely and yr IL`s will be so happy to see bubba!:yelclap::yelclap:
Lastone - I was dreading coming back to work. I had 9mths off. I wanted to stay home with Tullee, but unfortunatly I (as many many others) had to come back. Work wanted me back desperatly, so gave me a nice payrise for my 3 days back.. Took me a good month to "feel" ok about it. I do like my job so I suppose that helps.
I do Mon-Wen 8am-5pm. But when 5pm Wed comes around it feels like heaven, I have 4 WHOLE days with my girl.
Next year Mark wants me to cut down to 2 days & eventually not work at all. He sees his business going great guns! He such a positive person :kiss:
But I am not sure I could NOT work at least 1 day!
Tullee is booked in to start kindy at a private school in 2010 & I said to Mark, even if I work to pay for schooling.
I do hope you have a nice experience going back to work.
Prams - I am a one eyed Quinny Buzz lover here :D sucha gr8 pram, never taken it on the sand tho :detective:
Mum has a stroller for when she has Tullee. Just a very lightweight one, which they both like.
Buggy is a golf instrument to me too
Welcome Chloe :)
Where abouts are you all located? I am in WA.
Bella
Hi Bella.. it's easy to try and make plans now - but i think once i meet this little one and fall in love it will be a different story!! that's the part I forget about! practicality doesn't come into when emotions are involved!! was having to go back 3 days when bub is 3 mths old... but i'd say i'll stretch it out till it's 5 mths.. it'll be way too hard to leave it i think.. thank god MIL looking after it two days!! so won't be too traumatic! but you're right - comes a time when you actually need some time away with some adults!! just be nice to pick and choose!!
I'm located in NW Sydney..
Not sure of good pram for beach.. i'd say the big wheeled ones - where you can pump tyres etc., but i still think it'd be a hard slog.. might be better off with a pouch!
Haven't been around much as my cycle is still going, going, going - nearly 3 months since last AF and 7 HPTs confirm that I am not pg :thumbsdown: . So have been trying not to think about it too much, hence not coming on website as much. But I find that every couple of days I poke my head in and see what's happening!!!
I live in Newcastle NSW and I went to a concert on Saturday (A Day for Newcastle). It was a full day of bands from our era :laughing: , ie Diesel, Radiators and Noiseworks reformed for concert. Jon Stevens is still hot!!!!! Jimmy Barnes was supposed to play too, but he isn't well ATM. Good news is - he is going to play in Sept and our tickets from Sat are still valid for that show. It was good to go out with friends (girls only day), and forget about TTC. Had a few drinks, danced and sang all day :smiliedance: !!!
DH and I took girls to preview of Shrek 3 yesterday - really good, very funny!!! Would recommend.
Have got DD2 home from school today - she spent last night coughing, so she's really tired today. She has just layed on lounge watching Foxtel all day....
Hope everyone has a great day!!!!
PS Its great to hear what you girls are saying re: prams, carriers, etc as we will have to buy everything when our TTC produces a :bfp: . Can't wait!!!!!!!
hi all,
thanks for the welcome. hope u r all well. I'm from sydney. Just spent the weekend in Forster with fam & friends. Kids loved it!
I live near the beach & am yet to find a pram or see anyone with one that goes well on the sand. If they are anything like a car, you need to let the tyres down when on sand, so pumpable tyred prams might be best.(I havent tested this though!)
kas_chat
11-06-2007, 07:12
hello everyone... I've jst found my way to this thread... I am 33 and hopefully will find some time to check in here now and again to say hello. My boys are 4 weeks (today) and 3 years 10 months. I am married and we live in the outer south east of Melbourne.
looking forward to chatting with you all.
kas_chat :wave:
millymoo
11-06-2007, 08:02
:wave:Hi and Welcome.
:wave: Hi kas welcome. I'm pretty new too.
:party: Congrats on the new bub.
:sleeping: Hope u r getting enough rest!
quitecontrary
02-07-2007, 04:04
Thought I should just drop in and say Hi from dh's Mother Land. As you may know (if you've been watching the tennis) its not summer as we know it over here at the moment, but it is lovely to be here, and for Genevieve to meet so many of her relatives. She has been a joy - such an easy going baby.
We have done a fair bit of jaunting around - we are staying (mainly) in Buckinghamshire which is just northwest of Heathrow. Its an idyllic country setting, not far from London really.
My in-laws are lovely, so far so good!
Hope all is going well with all of you and your little ones!
millymoo
02-07-2007, 09:39
Enjoy your time in my very missed home country!
It sounds like a lovely countryside place you are in as are my parents (cambridgeshire)
It will be Wimbledon fever too!Pimms and Lemonade and Strawberries and Cream. Yummy.
Can you get some pictures while you are there.
I am glad you are all enjoying it and having fun showing off your little princess
quitecontrary
03-07-2007, 03:12
Ha ha ha millymoo- you are so right about the Pimms and the strawberries and cream - we went to a fair on the first weekend we were here and had to go to the pimms tent and the strawberries and cream one too. So English.
You would love the lines in my in-laws lawn, so green and even. Our grass at home would never do that!
There was a fox in the garden last night, and a hedgehog a couple of weeks ago.
We are hoping the sun comes out for more than 10 minutes at a hit before too long.
G is being a peach most of the time, which is great. I get the feeling that she is a bit over the pub lunch, at least she was today! Maybe she could do with more sleep - and there should be some tooth action before too long.
millymoo
03-07-2007, 10:47
OMG! I had forgotten about lines in the grass!
We used to love our perfect ones. Yes too dry here.
Enjoy the time...when are you back?
I hope the weather changes. What I hate here is the lack of heating in houses in winter. I can`t understand it and things go mouldy and it is just colder in than out!
Whinging Pom Alert:laughing:
quitecontrary
04-07-2007, 04:06
My in laws use the central heating even in summer if necessary!!
We were down in Kent last week and it was freezing - inside and out as Dh's cousin had stopped using the heating. DH has the heating on in his place near Loughborough (which is in the process of being sold) for two hours each day just to stop the mould. At home in Aus we don't have the mould issue in our home, thank goodness.
Still here for another 2 and a bit weeks, then we are in China for 2 weeks, where it will be stinking hot.
We are enjoying our time - thats for sure! G's Great Uncle was down from Scotland for the day today - it was lovely to see him again. We felt honoured that he made the special trip down to meet the little one.
mysweetpea
04-07-2007, 19:10
hi all :wave:
i joined bubhub back in June and haven't posted in this thread yet. i'm 39 and had my 1st bub 19th november 06. would love to chat to other mums around my age! ds - daniel - is 7 1/2 months old. he has two bottom teeth (just poking through, very cute!) isn't crawling yet and isn't too keen on solids yet either. he is still breastfeeding and thinks he's onto a good thing! and i guess he is because he is around 9kgs on breastmilk alone! one thing i've learned since i joined bubhub is that all babies are different no matter how close in age they are, and that is what makes them unique and special :)
i look forward to chatting to you if you'll have me? :yelclap:
Hi all :wave:
I float around a bit but i haven't popped in here yet. I'm 35 and have 4 kids 16,14,12 and 8 1/2 months. We are new to the gold coast ( been here 18 months now). i do T/ware now but am a qualified child care centre director who needed a change.
millymoo
05-07-2007, 10:45
Great to have your company as feel like the oldest swinger in town somedays on here!
busymummyof4
05-07-2007, 12:05
Hello to all the over 30's mummies!
I've never ever given age too much of a consideration but in saying that I don't want to hit my 40's too quick. According to my MIL though they were great years for her, FIL and their kids. Comforting thought that!
I'm in a family where we have all pretty much had kids later, rather than earlier. My SIL will be 41 this year and she has a nearly 7yo and a nearly 5 yo. My brother and SIL are still TTC at 38 (him) and 41 (her).
We were all partying and having a good time to have kids any earlier (although we still party a little now just with kids in toe!!).:laughing:
And, my mum had my little brother when she was 35 (she felt like an older mum) back then but she is a pretty cool mum (back then and now).
Have a gr8 day super mums!
Kangaskippy
16-07-2007, 18:21
I noticed there is another 30+ chat thread...thought I would post the link:
New thread (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=99391)
Hi every1! :wave: Im karen bout to turn 30 dis yer :eek: im a new mum to a 3mth old gal. R der any ladies who is similar age to me who lives in perth?