View Full Version : Brissy mums Oct/Nov/Dec 06 Bubs

pinkie
06-05-2007, 00:34
Thought it might be easier to organise a catch up in the Brissy section without making the other's feel left out on the parenting groups forum. Also just nice to chat with other Brissy mum's who might be experiencing similar issues, goals, yucky days, fab days with their little bundles of joy!

I'm mum to a 5 1/2 month old girl (20th Nov) who's just starting to have the most bizarre sense of humour. Does anyone else's baby think it's hillarious when you pretend to sit on them?

~Kristin~
06-05-2007, 20:54
Hello! :wave:

My DD was 7months old yesterday, and is an absolute card of a kid. She thinks its halarious when daddy sings her the alphabet! :laughing:

We're at Carina Heights until next Monday, and then we're moving to Karana Downs.

I'll definatley join in on this thread if we can get it going! :thumbsup:

alybel
06-05-2007, 20:54
Hi Pinkie!!! The other thread wasn't becoming a very friendly place...

I am Alison, mum to a 6 months old girl (2 Nov) and a 2 year old boy!

My boy is teething at the moment, and nto feeling well.

My girl is still not even trying to crawl, no teeth, and doesn't roll over except when in the cot!!

alybel
06-05-2007, 20:58
By the way, I'm at Bundamba (near Ipswich)

Baileyjaysmum
06-05-2007, 21:38

I will introduce myself and my bubs.

I have a 2.5year old boy Bailey who is going through the terrible twos and a 6month old girl Charlize who is just about crawling. She is so cute to watch. She gets up on her knees but cant work out how to move her arms. No teeth for her as yet and so signs of teething. She has started sleeping through this week -:smiliedance:

I live at Kuraby on the southside.

Look forward to chatting more

RaryGirl
06-05-2007, 21:41
Evening ladies - I'd love to join your thread.....

My DD is 9 years old and my DS is just 5 months. He's a happy little boy - was a good sleeper till 2 weeks ago - so at the moment I seem to be surviving (not very well) on very little sleep.

I'm also on the southside - over at Algester.

pinkie
06-05-2007, 23:44
Ooooh I'm excited. Only 24hrs and we already seem to have a nice little thread going.

Hi Nic71 and Isabella's mummy! I know the other's from the old Nov thread (but Hi to you guys as well :wave: ).

Nic 71- My Stasia had been an OK sleeper until about 3 weeks ago when she went into a fortnight of being awake ALL night! She has settled back to waking once or twice a night over the past 4 nights though so :fingerscrossed: it stays that way.

Kristy - Wow! Is Charlize nearly crawling. That's great (or is it, you tell me!) On the teething front: I thought Stasia was teething over the fortnight that her sleeping was all over the shop caus she was very upset a lot as well. Still no teeth though. She had a little one break through down the bottom at one side about a month ago but then it just went away :confused:

Alison - My bubs is a lazy bum as well. She still only rolls over a little bit. Most of the time she gets one arm stuck under her and after a few seconds of whinging, she just rolls back to her back. She's happy enough to just lie there chewing her feet.

Isabella's mummy- Carina Heights is near me (I'm at Wishart) but where is Karana Downs? I'm pretty sure I've chatted to you elsewhere. Does that sound right?

Hey Kristy, I just thought of something! I hate to be the bearer of bad news but I'm not sure boys ever grow out of the terrible two's :laughing: You might just have to get used to it!

pinkie
06-05-2007, 23:50
OMG Kristin, is your sig eluding to a possible pregnancy?

Alison - I was just looking at your sig too. Was Michael a surviving triplet?

Nic71 - Interesting trivia. Your DD was born when I was in grade 12 :D Seems like a billion years ago now. My 10 year reunion is next year :eek: Time flies.

alybel
07-05-2007, 07:34
pinkie - yes he was a triplet...

pinkie
07-05-2007, 08:13
Wow Alison, that's pretty amazing that he survived. You are very lucky!

kirra
07-05-2007, 10:56
Hi guys, I'm not from qld from melb just wanted to say how sorry some of you are leaving the old thread it will be very boring without you all. Bit of a pitty it went down hill. I will check in here to see how your bubs are going.

from kirrilie and liam

susannahjoy
07-05-2007, 11:29

I better put in a show for the northside! I'm at Bridgeman Downs.

Luke is almost 6 months.

pinkie
07-05-2007, 11:44
Hi Kirra and Susan!

Susan - Where abouts is Bridgeman Downs? I know I should know, but I've got absolutely no idea.

Have any of u guys ever been to any of the Brissy dinners?

I'm too chicken!

~Candy~
07-05-2007, 12:10
Hi there...not quite an october 06 baby...but Corey was due oct 20th and came 4 weeks early! I feel the September Babies are way more advanced than my boy and rather stick to his due date babes and read about their milestones!
Well, he's now 7 months and will sit byhimself for a few seconds before falling.....he's rolling, but not all over the place and definatley not crawling yet! He's got his 2 bottom front teeth and the top right front tooth did have some movement last week...but has since stopped!
He still wakes for a bottle or 2 at night, but that doesn't bother me..all my babies have been like that. He loves his mesh feeder with fruit and vegies in it..but spoon fed foods still get spat out after a few swallows...LOL

I have just gone back to work at night doing nightfill after 8 yrs at home with the kids.,...yikes!!!! lol, but all is going great :thumbsup:

Oh...we are at Capalaba...Redlands way...Brissy :)

susannahjoy
07-05-2007, 12:37
Pinkie - Bridgeman down is kinda inbetween Albany creek/aspley/everton park.

I haven't really posted too much in the brissie section, or gone to any of the dinners, mainly cause a lotta the kids are older, and as Luke is my first i am totally pre-occupied with bubs his age. Also trying not to get addicted to too many different areas in bubhub or i'd spend all day in here instead of playing with Luke.

Luke is rolling heaps, but not ready to crawl, he is just getting his first tooth (bottom right). He still wakes once or twice a night, but i'm not really bothered by that as well. Wouldn't have believed that before he was born!

He is a really happy baby which is making my job easier... i am soo loving being a mum

Luke rolls heaps

Will's Mummy
07-05-2007, 18:15

I am coming over from the Nov 2006 thread too. I live in Chermside and have a 6 month old little boy called Will. He is a really good bub and I am absolutely loving being a stay at home mum at the moment. I am going back to work part time in October though.

I think Will is teething at the moment -lots of drool and rubbing of ears but no teeth yet. He can roll but hardly ever does - much prefers to sit and play with his toys than lie down. He can sit up by himself but falls over every now and then.

Look forward to chatting to you all in the future.

Coffee
07-05-2007, 20:15
Well, then I'll pop in quickly as well.

I'm in North Lakes and have a 2 year old and an almost 6 month old.

Nathan, my 6 mth old, reckons it's hillarious, if you scare him (like putting your hands over the face and then go "booh" at him) :D

He's rolling lots but not really crawling yet. It seems like he's the same than his big brother. Jason hardly crawled, he found it was boring and couldn't get around fast enough. He max. crawled for about 1 mth and then started to walk. So I'll see how Nathan will be.

Nathan hasn't got any teeth yet but def. teething and you can see some bits of white. So they're ready to break through any time. :)

RaryGirl
07-05-2007, 20:34
Nic71 - Interesting trivia. Your DD was born when I was in grade 12 :D Seems like a billion years ago now. My 10 year reunion is next year :eek: Time flies.

Pinkie you make me feel soooooo very old!!! Mind you Sam does that most days now or should I say lack of sleep does!

susannahjoy
07-05-2007, 20:34
Coffee - what age did Jason start walking?

Coffee
07-05-2007, 20:40
Coffee - what age did Jason start walking?

Along the walls and couches and bookshelfs, he was about 7 mths. But w/o any help and falling down, he was 9 mth.

It really freaked me out, cause everybody was like, oh, he won't walk for ages, because he doesn't crawl..

kimbo
07-05-2007, 20:48
Hi Guys

I thought I would joint his thread too. :wave:

Tom was born at 38 weeks on the 27th October.

We live on the southside of Brisbane in Sunnybank Hills.

Tom is rolling all over the place at the moment and has his two bottom teeth. He can get up on all fours and rock back and forth but doesn't get how to then start crawling, that's ok we haven't baby proofed the house yet!!
He has started solids but am not sure it is agreeing with him as he seems to have bad tummy pains.

Taking him for his 6 month immunisations tomorrow morning, I will try and be brave.

Hope to talk more to you all soon.

Kim

pinkie
07-05-2007, 23:56
Kim - We haven't baby proofed the house either. Haven't even thought about it actually. Really should get on it! We've just started Stasia on solids the last week and a half. She hates rice cereal, seems to absolutely love apple and potato but also gets tummy pains. She had carrot for the first time this afternoon while my mum had her (I was at work, just got home) and when DH bought her to me at work for a feed, she did a poo and I swear it was the pureed carrot exactly the same as before she ate it :laughing: . It was so funny, a carrot poo! I think I should probably not introduce anything more for a while and just let her combine the carrot, potato and apple in meals for a while. The tummy pains do worry me but she really loves eating it all. She's disappointed when there's no more left.

Good luck for needles tomorrow.

Coffee - OMG, you have the worlds best avatar. What a hottie! I find myself spending a rathe long time looking at your posts!

Nic71 - You're only as old as you feel! The trick is to hang around people who are much older than you so you feel so much younger. That's why I'm a nurse, most of my patients are about 80 so I feel like a baby! That's obviously not the only reason I do it though. :laughing:

Hey Em - Little (or not so little) Will is sitting up. Yay for him! I think we're way off that for a while. Stasia is teething as well although it's settled off the last few days and now it's just the solids giving her grief! Teeth are annoying. One minute the're there, then the're gone!

Susan - I'm with you on the location now. It's great that Luke is a happy bub. It makes it so much easier when they look up and smile and actually seem happy to see you!
I used to write in heaps of forums pre-bub but just stick to one or two now as well. It's just too time consuming. I find it hard to keep up sometimes being back at work. DH is a shift worker as well so we don't get much of a chance to spend time together. If he's at home, I try not to go on the computer. I'm only on now caus he was asleep when I came in from work about 30mins ago and still hasn't realised I'm home.

Annette - Wow! 4 kids. I can hardly handle one :( . I used to want 4 but I'm going to wait a while in the hope of forgetting what labour and childbirth felt like. Maybe if no. 2 is a normal baby it might look a bit more promising (Stasia has been a very difficult bub). Both grandmas and most of my family can't believe how full on she is. One of my aunties looked after her for a few hours and said she was more full on by herself than it ever was with her 3 under 3 at home all together. My mum thinks she's crazy as well! I think, however, that they have all simply forgotten the bad stuff and like to think they had perfect sleeping babies. Maybe that's what the sleep deprivation is for, so you have no memory of how bad it gets.
I've been thinking about getting one of those mesh feeders. How exactly does it work? Can they just suck the food out?
Great that work is going well for you. It must have been so hard to go back. Do you like having the time away from home though?

Really must go to bed now. I hope you all had fabulous long weekends and got some of the rain tonight!

pinkie
08-05-2007, 13:37
That crazy baby of mine has been asleep for the past 2 hours. Why can't she do that when I want to sleep and not in the middle of the day?

I'm waiting for her to wake up so I can go to the shops and post some great grandma mother's day cards. She has 2 great grannies who will be having their first mother's day with a great grandchild! I could only find grandma ones so I just added in the "great" myself. I'm sure they'll get the point.

alybel
08-05-2007, 19:11
wow, two great grandma's... ds brought home a mothers day card for me today from childcare.. has a nice photo of him in it with his handprint on the back, it was laminated and has a magnet on the back! So, I'm very happy...

susannahjoy
08-05-2007, 19:58
I'm looking forward to mothers day... my first... I have ordered breakfast in bed ... i have a feeling dh will be popping down to macca's early to get it :)

Coffee
08-05-2007, 21:08
Jason was supposed to bring a mothers day present for me from cc as well but I assume he forgot it :D

it doesn't matter to me, I'll get a sleep in and later we go for lunch and that's a good present for me.

It's my first mothers day as a mother of two boys, bizzarre. :D

Nathan hates the rice cereals as well, already did when I tried him on the 4 month ones and also now the 6 month ones. eventhough I really water it down with his formula, he may has a spoon or two and then he chokes on it and after that, he won't even touch it.
Can't blame him though.

He absolutely loves pumpkin. Whatever mix with Pumpkin you can get. With Sweetcorn, carrots, sweet potatoes.. He eat it straight away and complains, that there's no more left..

Baileyjaysmum
09-05-2007, 07:26
Charlize wasnt too keen on the plain farex either so I brought the pear and banana one and she loves it - maybe try that. She loves pumpkin as well but spews alot after eating it and it tends to stain. Do you girls think I should stop the pumpkin and try something else? She likes sweet potato but I havent tried her on anything else.

We have our building and pest inspection on our house today so I hope everytrhing is ok. For those of you that dont know we sold our house and have brought another one. The jobs of moving I cant wait!!!

youngones
09-05-2007, 21:43
Hi ladies, thanks for the invite, Pinkie :)

My little blossom has just woken up whimpering, so I'll keep it brief. We've had one full sleep through the night (9.30pm - 6.30am) and several once-only wake ups this past week - I'm almost human again!!

Hello to everyone - no chance for personals, but I've got a 5 1/2 mth old darling with eczema and anaphylaxis and the sweetest nature imaginable. We live in Kenmore in the inner West. I will say that Alybel - Michael truly is a miracle!

I've staved it off long enough, but I'm back to work the first week of July, 3 days per week (as a medical rep).

Must go and do my calming/feeding/changing thing, so will drop in again soon.

Harlequin
09-05-2007, 22:38
Hi guys, I'm not from qld from melb just wanted to say how sorry some of you are leaving the old thread it will be very boring without you all. Bit of a pitty it went down hill. I will check in here to see how your bubs are going.

from kirrilie and liam

Ditto!
I hope you ladies don't mind if I pop my head in here occasionally to see how you are going and share baby news with you. Ill miss you on the other thread :(

pinkie
09-05-2007, 22:59
Absolutely no reason anyone can't post here. You don't have to be from Brisbane!

I post anywhere (mostly here though). I have recently taken an interest in the cloth nappies forums even though I'm not using them (STILL waiting on my fluffy mail ordered in Jan :confused: ).

susannahjoy
10-05-2007, 05:08
Charlize wasnt too keen on the plain farex either so I brought the pear and banana one and she loves it -

Luke isn't interested in farex atm either, i tried a little pumpkin and no luck there. i might try the banana and pear next. i thought it might be because he just wasn't used to eating yet. i have been trying him every now and again, but am now starting to givehim a little each morning. it is a great game. i pop the cereal inhis mouth and then he soits it out and laughs at me.

I have recently taken an interest in the cloth nappies forums even though I'm not using them (STILL waiting on my fluffy mail ordered in Jan :confused: ).

me too. i'd never heard of modern cloyh nappys till i found out what mcnmummyof2's name stood for. Now i'm a convert... just gone full time cloth this week. thought i'd give it a try and i love it. what did you order? that is a long wait. when i decided to try i picked up a few nappys from shops in brisbane. then i've ordered the rest online, or bought from people on bub hub.. luckily now i have enough to be able to swap, since you can't buy/sell in bub hub any nore... anyways.. i'll stop with all the nappy talk now.. seeing i'm not in the nappy forum...

Coffee
10-05-2007, 11:22
Nathan doesn't like any kind of farex. I tried both sorts and he doesn't like it. No matter what I try.

He loves his pumpkin but in the beginning, he also spit everything out, he had to get used to it. Now, when he sees the bowl and the spoon, he gets all hibbly and waves with his arms and is really exicted about the fact, that he gets some food.

He's not so keen on water at the moment, so I still give him some milk after his food.

It looks like, he's trying to crawl but can't do it. He tries to get to a toy, which is lying not to far away and streches his arms out but he can't reach it. That looks so funny, especially, when he gets so frustrated and angry :laughing:

@Bayliejaysmum, I don't really have an advise if you should stop or not. Maybe try some other things, like carrots or sweet corn? And then after a while go back to pumpkin.

youngones
10-05-2007, 11:59
susannahjoy - welcome to clothies! We have lovely fun each day choosing which of the pretty colours and designs we can wear! Lily is in sposies overnight now though, just to keep her little bum as dry as possible, as she is prone to rashes, but we haven't had one for months now.

Lily is on my lap at the moment, bashing away at my hand and the keyboard, so I'm having to backtrack a bit to delete the typos she is causing. Daddy thought it would be amusing to encourage her to play on the keyboard while he was surfing and now he's created a monster.

Re solids - I started Lily on farex mixed with ebm, then potato with the farex, which she spat out, but I persisted for a few days until she got the hang of it, then I did the same with apple and then pear, then I dropped the farex and added broccoli to her spud and then carrot. Now she's having apple, pear and farex with ebm for breakfast, potato, broc and carrot for lunch and potato and pear for dinner (which she loves). At each she gets around 10-20ml water from a cup too.

We haven't dropped any BFs either, which is great. she's a hungry little thing! I think just because she is so active, she's burning it all off. since we started, the sleeping has improved - poor little mite must just have been waking up to fill her empty tum all the time.

I've already cooked up some sweet pot, zucchini and squash and frozen it in ice cubes and pureed and frozen some rockmelon ready for each new intro.

I must say that her little poops are much easier to manage now - they just fall off into the loo!

youngones
10-05-2007, 12:02
Forgot to mention - Lily has found some new sounds to make including mumumumumdadadadada naaanaaanaaan, which is really funny. I'm sure she has no clue what they mean, but she loves the reaction she gets from us!!

pinkie
10-05-2007, 14:36
Megan - Sounds like Lily is going great guns with the solids!

I gave bubby some apple for breakfast at my mother's group this morning and everyone thought she was very clever. She pulls the funniest face when I give her the first spoonfull but then she hoes in to it. I have just started being consistent with the food. I'm giving her apple (2 ice cubes) for breakfast (no ricecereal or EBM, she won't have it if the're in it). Then a vege for dinner, usually potato but I'm giving that a miss in favour of carrot or pumpkin at the moment caus I think the potato might be giving her tummy pains. It's time consuming in comparison to the BFing so I'm putting off starting a 3rd meal for a while.

Her routine is all over the place and I'm not sure whether it's a growth spurt, teeth or the solids. She seems happy enough, just won't sleep well at night lately.

Will's Mummy
10-05-2007, 17:45

Glad everyone bubs are going well. My little man is starting to really like his solids and now is a bit upset when they are all finished. He has had pumpkin, sweet potato, apple and pear, as well as farex which he just doesn' like. I am going to try him on banana tomorrow. He has been a bit unsettled today - think it is his teeth, his gums are so lumpy. I am sure a little tooth is going to pop out soon.

Pinkie, Will's routine is a bit out too since starting solids - it is a bit hard to co-ordinate his meals/feeds now. It is funny how once you get them settled into a nice little routine it has to change all over again!

alybel
10-05-2007, 20:45
samantha still spits out everything I try to feed her... I guess she will take it one day... I made up a batch of lentil, potato and carrots today, pureed with formula, and it doesnt' taste too bad... she had a taste but spat it out, will just keep trying, although my ds ate a whole bowl of it, I had too much for my ice cube trays :)

Baileyjaysmum
10-05-2007, 20:51
Alybel - I think I might cook up some lentils and try DD on this.

She has been out of sorts today as well, I think it is her teeth. She was pulling at her ears and hardly slept a wink today. When I was feeding her pumpkin she was screaming and arching her back. After that I gave her a bath and she did the biggest poo that smelt like a teething poo! I than put her to bed and she vomited everywhere. I hope she isnt getting a bug!!!! She is asleep now so I hope she is alright.

I know how you girls feel about routines. DD was in such a good routine and now it is out the window. It is really hard to juggle the BF and solids and especially when you have to do out.

pinkie
10-05-2007, 22:40
Susan - I ordered some Tots Bots bamboo fitted's, covers and boosters from eco babe in early March (checked the date and felt bad caused I'd been mentally cursing them thinking I'd ordered them way back in Jan). I'm led to believe that the whole country has been waiting for a shipment. Apparently they touched down in Sydney 2 weeks ago so I'm expecting my order any day now. I think they are made in Scotland from memory (too lazy to look it up again). If you have any advice on the best (read: cheapest for good quality/ free or very cheap postage) places to by them, please fill me in! Or if there is anywhere that stocks MCN in Bris city or Southside so I can view first, that would be superb.

Coffee - Stasia won't take water either. I wish she would caus it would make it easier to leave her with people.

Megan - Stasia likes to get her mits on the keyboard as well. I can't feed her in front of the computer any more because the typing takes her attention and she keeps going on and off and it's really annoying. Even if I don't type, she still likes to look at the screen. I think she thinks it's the TV!
I swear she is saying "hello" and "yeah". They are the two words she hears from me the most. I'm always saying hello because it gets her to smile at me, I'm pretty sure she understands that it's a greeting and me acknowledging her. I'm also always saying "yeah, yeah" because she whinges a lot! I'm absolutely certain that she is the smartest baby alive and any minute now she is going to give me a blurb on the situation in the Middle East (she loves the news!) :laughing:

Emma - I was happy with my little routine so I want to go back to no solids and 4 1/2 month old baby. Damn shame the world keeps spinning!
I haven't tried banana either. Maybe i'll try it tomorrow as well. I'm hearing on the grape vine that you should use really ripe bananas because ones that are a bit green give them gas. Any banana (ripe or not) does that to me, so I don't think Stasia has much of a chance (sorry if TMI). She's already a farty bum so I guess it doesn't really matter!
I'm thiking that by the sounds of it, most bubs hate plain rice cereal. Why do they recommend it, or even make it for that matter if no bubs like it? I tasted it and it was awfull. I know their taste buds are way more sensitive than ours but even still :barf:

Alison - That's so funny that Michael ate the left over baby food. Did you lie and tell him that mummy made it especially for him? I hope so, I would have ;)

Kristy - Today was the first time I had given Stasia anything but boobie while I'm out of the house. It was a bit of a pain. I had to take her little tupperware container of thawed apple and a baby spoon and a bib and a spew rag and then she still ended up with it everywhere! What a drama. Boobie is definately easier. Except for the embarassment of what I did with it today. I was BFing bubs at my mum's group after she'd had the apple and she started to cough as she sometimes does. If this happens, I usually just quickly lift her up over my shoulder covering my exposed boob till she stops coughing and then put her back on. For some reason today I didn't put her back on and I forgot that my boob was still out. I leant over to lay her down in the pram after a little while and nearly died when I realised I was flashing everyone.

How embarassment! I know my boobs are incredibly lovely but that doesn't mean everyone wants to look at them, or do they :detective:

pinkie
10-05-2007, 22:43
oops, nearly forgot

Kim - How did Tom go with his needles? Anyone else with injections around now? Ours are in 2 weeks time.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
11-05-2007, 09:46
Not sure what happened in the other froum either - we have been away on our trip!!

Mind if we check in here sometimes - its great to chat with others who have bubs the same age....
Since being back from our trip, keanu has been hard to put down for his day sleeps. he cries/screams....has never ever done that or been a baby that cries!!??

He had temps from sunday thru to Wednesday....on and off....so i am thinking it is his teeth making him unsettled. We have no problems putting him down for the night, we don't hear a peep out of him...?? Any advice....
jackie and keanu

pinkie
11-05-2007, 19:19
Hi Jackie

All are welcome! I hope that the teething is short lived for you. Did you have a good trip?

Where is everyone today?

I went and bought some more organic veges today. I've made up some pureed pear (I hate pear but I'm trying not to bias bubs eating habits by only giving her stuff that I like). After dinner I'm going to do up some pumpkin, bok choi and apple as individual cubes and also some bok choi and pumpkin combined together. She seems to be liking most things that I've given her so far. Loved her carrot tonight.

I also bought some organic chocolate for me! I'm sure I can eat twice as much because it's organic. At least that's what I'm telling myself. :rolleyes:

Baileyjaysmum
11-05-2007, 19:57

Pinkie - where do you buy your organic veges from? bok choi - I hadnt even though to try that. We have to try something else because pumpkin is a disaster. I dont think it is the pumpkin but after I feed her the pumpkin for dinner I give her tined custard and than she screamed and I think just about spews everything up that she has eaten. I am going to stay clear of the custar for now and try the petit yum yoghurts. DS loved these.

I have started packing today and I have also had an ebay day listing alot of things. I need to down size the furniture in our house becuase we are going to a smaller house.

Not much else happening. talk soon

susannahjoy
11-05-2007, 20:30
i tried luke on apple today, and oon the second spoon he gagged so much he had a little chuck. he really isn't in to the eating yet.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
11-05-2007, 20:35
hi

thanks girls

Our trip away was good. keanu was great on the flight down and pretty great on the flight back (he was teething on the way back).....It was hectic, as weddings usually are!

The sunday he became really unsettled and stayed that way til we left....is still quite unsettled but not quite as bad....he has never been a baby that cries...but has started to...think it is the teething, out of routine etc....and a little attachment too.....we will get thru it...guess i have had it to good for too long...lol...he is an angel, and even going thru this i look at him and my heart melts!!!

Trust me tho, i am tired have my dreaded period (sorry if TMI) plus i have the flu....so trying to deal with it as best i can, just don't want to create any habits that may stick but at the same time want to make it as easy as possible for both of us.....

he is only taking half his bottle at each feed. He has 4 bottles in 24 hours......at the moment he is having 3 bottles where he takes between 70-100mls and the other he takes 150ml....usually he will take 150-200mls....

i a, thinking of adding in lunch meal...so he would be on 3 meals - how many meals is everyone elses bubs having?
thanks for listening and helping!
jackie and keanu

Baileyjaysmum
11-05-2007, 20:55
Jackie - Charlize is having breakfast and dinner at the moment but I am also thinking about adding lunch in. When Ds was 6month old the child health hurse told me that this is what they should be having or a rough routine to follow

6.00 - b/f or formula

10.00am - b/f or formula and than solids (farex or fruit)

2.00pm - b/f or formula and than custard

6.00pm - mashed veges & white meat

7.00pm - b/f or formula

I havent tried this yet but probably will when she is 7 months because it worked well with DS

~*clairesmum*~
11-05-2007, 21:14
hi

do i count when my claire bear was born in september :rolleyes:

Trumpet
11-05-2007, 21:23
Hi, I only found this today and would love to join in too.

My DD was born 07.10.06 and just going fabulously with 2 bottom teeth, rolling all over the place and now starting to rock on all fours, hates farex but loves pretty much everything else especially apples.

My DS is 2 in July so we are just having a ball with tantrums at the moment but hopefully thats a stage that he will get out of soon.

Nic

Kirstlea
11-05-2007, 23:54

I'm glad I found you, I felt like a stranger in our old thread. Harlequin is the only one I know left in there.

For those of you who don't know me - no I do not live in Brisbane but often come down to visit family. One of these days I'll get to meet you all:fingerscrossed:

I have a 4yr old daughter (going on 12) and a 7mth old son so am very lucky to have my cute pair.

There is alot of talk about teething and solids at the moment which is great because I am struggling with the worry of am I doing the right thing. DD did not get even remotely interested in solids until she was nearly 10 mths old and ds is just trying to devour the container as well.

I have been mixing pureed, pumpkin, brocolli, etc with rice cereal which seems to be working a treat but have only been feeding him solids once a day. Baileyjaysmum I'm glad you wrote those guidelines from the health nurse cause I wasn't sure when to add more solids because he is so young compared to dd.

He still hasn't got any teeth but he sure as hell has something going on, the poor kid is worse than a puppy chewing shoes. He bites down on absolutely anything he can get his little hands on.

We got our first roll only last Tuesday and already he is rolling around the room:laughing: though I am not sure if he is doing it completely on his own as often dd is helping. If we are at home alone (me and ds) I can lay on the floor beside him and he trys to get to me by rolling over and over:laughing:

Don't you just love their developement stages. We are now going through the I will not sleep anywhere else except my own cot thank you very much. Makes it very hard when I have to go to job sites to do someones books.

I made an executive decision yesterday that I am going to have to ditch the work for a while, I want to watch my son grow up. Sounds silly but I only work on site a couple of times a month so its hardly worth it to have ds distressed just for a few dollars. Hopefully this stage will pass soon though as its stopping alot of other things too.

People say don't let your children rule your life, but I kind of think how can you not. Sure we could go out to dinner with friends but than my kids will be cranky and unhappy which will then make me cranky and unhappy so whats the point in going out. Then I get why don't you get a baby sitter which is all fine for if you have people close by that you can trust with your children. Enough whinging, I am actually quite happy to be ruled by my kids for a little while, god I can't believe my little girl starts school next year, how did that happen so fast. In six years time she won't want to know me so I'm making the most of it now :laughing:

oh well better get some shut eye, we have a big day tomorrow. See you later ladies have a great weekend

Kirsten

Harlequin
12-05-2007, 00:41
Hey Kirsten :D

Ava is still just having breast milk. I have let her suck on an apple once in a while when I'm eating one though. She loves them.
I'll be starting her on solids in a week or two. Ho exciting!!

I have so many little scratches on my face at the moment from Ava 'loving' me. She likes to grab my head and plant her mouth on my face then squeeze the hell outta me. Oh man love is painful.

pinkie
12-05-2007, 11:28
Kristy - I've only bought organic fruit and veges twice. About 2 weeks ago was at Mrs Flannery's at Loganholme near the Hyperdome and yesterday was at a place called Greener Pastures organic supermarket at Sunnybank Hills near Video Ezy. It seems so far that Mrs Flannery's is quite expensive but I've search for a few more and will try them all so I can pick which one has the best prices. Long term though, I want a vege patch but water restrictions and one gigantic big EMPTY tank are making that less of a possibility. I wouldn't mind checking out the Mt gravatt markets one Sunday but not tomorrow caus I'm sleeping in for Mother's Day! :D
I don't envy you packing! Good luck selling some stuff.

Jackie - My feed routine "loosley" follows what the CHN told Kristy. Bubs has her apple (pear thismorning) for morning tea and her veges for early dinner with her still BFing on demand in between. We haven't added a 3rd meal and I probably won't for some time yet.

clairesmum - Of course you count and welcome! I only wrote Oct/Nov/Dec to get bubs of approximately the same age. In my head, I'm really thinking anyone under 1ish! I think with a little bit of variety in ages, the mums with older bubs can forwarn the other mums about stuff. :p

Trumpet - Welcome! There seems to be a trend with terrible two's. I think I'll send Stasia to live with my parents when that happens.

She didn't go to sleep till 10pm last night the little turd so I had to stay up till 11:30 to try and express a feed for her to have tonight while I'm at work.

Kirsten - I'm with you on the biting. Stasia has these little tantrums where she gets this really serious face and then squeals a bit and bites on whatever she can. Sometimes it's my finger, a toy or her clothing that cops it but occassionally I'm lucky enough to be feeding her at the time :crying:
It was great a few weeks back when bubs was always asleep by 7:30 caus we could just get mum and dad to come over and watch TV while we could go out to dinner or a movie or see friends etc. Now she's all over the shop so we are being ruled by her as well. I agree that it is so much easier than trying to fight what they want.

Harlequin - Bubby keeps grabbing my nose so I'm covered in scratches as well! I found that another fruit that's great to let them suck on is cold watermellon straight from the fridge. That helps a lot with the teething crankies.

Better get going, have to leave for work soon. My mum came over at 9 this morning and took bubs for me after her morning feed so that I could get more sleep. It was bliss. I better have a shower b4 they turn up on the doorstep for the next feed. I think I would die if my mum wasn't so great (and so close by). DH left for work at 5am and I'm just buggered. I really needed more sleep if I'm to be at work till 11pm tonight. I worked a full time week starting last Thursday but only realised it a few days ago. I was thinking, geez I'm tired and I've hardly seen my baby. Felt like all I did was feed her all night. I have come to the conclusion that I hate going to work caus I miss out with bubs but I do have the peace of mind that she is either with mum, dad or DH. Usually all 3 caus DH is lazy and goes to my parents house to pick her up but then stays playing computer games with my brother :mad: All men are the same.

Have a lovely weekend and hope you all have fabulous Mother's Day's.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
12-05-2007, 11:58
Jackie - Charlize is having breakfast and dinner at the moment but I am also thinking about adding lunch in. When Ds was 6month old the child health hurse told me that this is what they should be having or a rough routine to follow

6.00 - b/f or formula

10.00am - b/f or formula and than solids (farex or fruit)

2.00pm - b/f or formula and than custard

6.00pm - mashed veges & white meat

7.00pm - b/f or formula

I havent tried this yet but probably will when she is 7 months because it worked well with DS

Hi...thanks for that. How strange, cos keanus general routine has been 6,10,2 and 6 for bottles. he usually has m/t at the 10am bottle and tea at the 6pm bottle....so we are doing alright then...haha...they are all so different but that is a great schedule to follow, even if times are a little different!!

Keanu went down this morning without crying :) we'll see how long it lasts....needles on Tuesday...argh!
Think our washing machine has carked it....:thumbsdown:

Have the vaporiser on in keanus room - he is teething (at least i think)...but he is soo snuffly too...so hoping this helps, and i put a pillow under his mattress cos i think he is having trouble with breathing cos of being snuffly....seems to have slept better...so will see at his next sleep. lol. (no snot yet, so i can't use that sucker thing that people have told me about...hehe)

thanks for all the info on the food too - i am going to introduce a lunch meal i think!

cheerio for now

Harlequin
12-05-2007, 14:37
Ooh watermelon!! That's a good one, I'll have to try it.

It's horrid though, I sit there holding the apple, with a mixture of juice and drool oozing down my fingers and hand and my obsessive compulsive disorders go mental. I'm like, "oh my god, oh my god, this is soooo sticky, Ava's hands must be so grotty and sticky, Oh my god and it's all over her neck and chest. oh my god *faints*"
Ok so I don't really faint but MAN I have real issues with the sticky thing.

alybel
12-05-2007, 16:26
I hate having to clean ds up after eating, especially something runny like soup!!! It goes everywhere!!

alybel
12-05-2007, 16:28
well, I got my mothers day present early! I got some of those silicon patty cake and muffin things, look like the paper cases, but they are actually cooked in them.. Also, so dolly mix (a form of lolly that my mum loves from her childhood, and has introduced to me)... very yummy....

Well, my kids are sleeping at the moment, I put them both down at 2:30, and it is over 2 hours later and they are still asleep!!! It has been great, although I don't usually have them sleep this late, hopefully they will go to bed alright at bedtime!

Harlequin
12-05-2007, 16:31
Awesome! I love those silicone things.

Baileyjaysmum
12-05-2007, 20:17
Alybel - those patty cake trays sound cool - I havent come across them with the paper mould before. I would love to hear about those lollies too. I got my mothers day present early too - a week early. i got a new pink mobile phone. My other one drowned:eek: in coke.

We just had dinner at my sil place for mothers day dinner. It would nice but I am so full. We have my family coming over for breakfast so I am trying to clean the house tonight so I dont have to do anything tomorrow.

Have a great mothers day everyone!!!!

pinkie
12-05-2007, 23:33
Jackie - Oh no about the washing machine! That's an expensive thing to have stop working as well. I hope little Keanu's sniffly nose gets better. It's awfull watching them struggle to breathe and eat at the same time. :hugs:

Harlequin - I'm so with you on the OCD. I'm still trying to come to terms with "letting it go". Wasn't too hard on the house keeping front but I hate when bubs is dribbling everywhere and starting solids hasn't helped the situation.

Alison - I bought my friend some of those silicone cases as a pressie for holding my baby shower. She loves them. I hope the kiddies went down OK for you tonight.

Kristy - "Please explain" how your phone drowned in coke! :detective:

Happy Mother's Day!

OK, so according to my computer I'm 10mins early, but you all get the point.

pinkie
12-05-2007, 23:35
"What the" my post says 11:33 but my computer says 11:51. What time does this place run on?

Harlequin
12-05-2007, 23:47
Crazy time.

It's 10pm here. I just put Ava on the floor cos she's still quite awake. Looks like I won't be getting to bed til 1am again hehe.
She's figured out how to move one of her knees forward when she's on all fours but still doesn't understand that she has to move her hands.

Happy Mothers Day ladies! :D

kirra
13-05-2007, 10:07
Happy mum mum day hope everyone has a lovely day and has some chill out time

kirra
13-05-2007, 10:09
The time is out of wack I posted the last message at 10:24am. This one at 10:25am. I could go on forever

Baileyjaysmum
13-05-2007, 16:58

Hope everyone had a great mothers day!!! The kids gave me goldclass movie tickets and some stratchies which I did not win anything on! We had a nice breakfast and than a rest for me.

Charlize has started commando crawling:yelclap: I put her down and if she sees something she wants she is straight to it. It is so cute.

I cooked up some lentils, pumpkin, broccoli & carrots yesterday and she loves the lentils which is great. The spewing has stopped so I think the tinned custard did not agree with her.

Pinkie - I had a can of coke in the centre consol of my coke with my phone and did not realise it had tipped over - therefore the phone was drowned in coke - I was so annoyed at myself.

Will's Mummy
13-05-2007, 20:02
Hi everyone, hope you all had a great mothers day. We had a nice day - breakfast with DH and DS and then lunch with the inlaws and afternoon nibblies and drinks with my family. I am so tired now but Will seems to be high as a kite - might have something to do with the huge slice of caramel cheesecake I had after lunch! He is almost due for his last feed so hopefully that will calm him down.

Last night DH and I ventured out to see my cousin play a concert and left Will with my SIL and BIL who also have an 8 week old bub. Will NEVER wakes up after he is put down to sleep at night so we thought he would be fine until we got home at about midnight. But he woke at 11pm and was up fussing for a whole hour. I felt soooo bad as SIL and BIL don't get much sleep with there little one - they were up four times with him after we left, while we got a nice sleep in with Will this morning - felt so bad for them and felt like such a bad mother leaving little Will while he was upset. He must have known Mummy and Daddy were out having fun without him :-(

Congrats Kristy and Charlize on the crawling - Will is a long way off that.

Sorry no more personals, have to go feed bubba.

pinkie
14-05-2007, 00:14
Kristy - Go Charlize! Next she'll be getting into Bailey's things and then comes the sharing lesson. How do you teach that to a bub? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I'm trying to teach my dog that Anastasia is just a baby and didn't mean to hurt her when she squeezed her ear. Dog wouldn't listen and kept trying to nip bubby. I think I'll just separate them untill bubs is a bit older. Sad thing is, she loves the dog and gets all excited when she sees her. She just wants to touch her but ends up squeezing and pinching which the dog takes offence too. I'm hoping they'll be great friends when bubs is a bit older.

Emma - Sounds like you had a lovely mother's day. Don't feel bad about leaving Will while you have some time with DH. You are allowed to have some you time and bubs won't even remember it the next day. I'm sure he won't add it into his 21st speech! :D You get my point.

Will's Mummy
14-05-2007, 18:11
Had Will's six month injections today. He had a little cry but was then ok pretty much straight away. He got a fever after the last injections so fingers crossed he is ok tonight. He is now 9.1kg so has slowed down on the weight finally - about time!

Pinkie, Will loves patting our cat too and always smiles when he sees her. Sometimes he is a bit rough but the cat doesn't bite him - just bites DH instead - like she thinks he should tell him to stop!

becsbub
14-05-2007, 20:16

I hope it is alright that I join in here. I am really glad I found this thread as I have been looking for a positive one like this where all of the bubs are around the same age so that I can relate to your experiences or get to look forward to things that your babies have already been through.

I am the proud mum of a DS who was born on 1 December. I live at Meadowbrook which is on the southside of Brissy. At the moment I think DS is starting to teeth. I have been trying to check him as he is drooling alot, has rosie cheeks, and a little rash on the face but I really couldn't tell. So call in my younger sister who is a director of a childcare centre and she tells me straight away that I should be expecting his fangs to come through as his first teeth pretty soon. That would be right. I had been concentrating so much on the front teeth that I didn't even consider that he might get his fangs first.

Now I am not sure if that is the cause but for the last few weeks DS has been waking up at 11pm, 1am, 3am, 5am. He just wakes up with a little cry and puts himself back to sleep but it is enough to wake me and my husband up. I guess we have had a pretty good run with him as he had been sleeping through (6.30pm - 6.30am) almost every night since about 4 weeks, but did he really have to start waking now that I have gone back to work.

He has also started to properly roll from his back to his front but the only problem is once he gets on his stomach he decides he doesn't want to be there and has forgotten how easy it is to roll back to his back. So as soon as I help him onto his back he rolls straight back onto his front. What a little spaz.

I have been reading alot of the posts in here about starting them on solids which is great because you are all giving me some fantastic advice. I am hoping to start DS on solids in the next few weeks. I am really, really looking forward to it. It just seems like he is growing up way too quickly.

Well thanks very much for letting me chat and I hope to speak to you all soon.:)

becsbub
14-05-2007, 20:17
OMG I am so sorry that was so long I guess I just got a bit carried away.

susannahjoy
14-05-2007, 20:52
It just seems like he is growing up way too quickly.

I know! how fast are they growing... where does the time go!

Luke loves our cat, gets very excited when he seees him, but does tend to grab hold. The cat is handling it very well, I think he enjoys the attention, seeing he has gone from pampered kitty to neglated cat.

I worried about how the cat would be with a bubby but haven't had any problems at all which is good.

pinkie
15-05-2007, 10:35
Hi becsbub, welcome aboard!

Emma - I hope little Will went OK last night after having his injections.

We went for a big drive yesterday to Kyogle and are going to the Goldie today. Both trips to see great grandparents. Bubs was a good girl for most of the trip but lost the plot about half way home and we had the joy of a screaming baby in the car for about an hour. There was nothing wrong because when we stopped at Macca's, she stopped instantly when I started to undo the car seat buckle and started laughing at me. Little bugger.

cordu68
15-05-2007, 13:38
Hi there :wave:

thought just join the thread as I am Dec mum just moved to Brisbane at the moment living in the Gap.
Jasie is 20 weeks and starts rolling occasionally, and talks a lot, so cute.
Looking forward to chatting to you all.

youngones
15-05-2007, 14:36
Welcome to all the new mamas!

Pinkie - LOL about the escaping boobie thing - too funny! We have the odd embarrassing moment when Lily gets a stream going and then pulls off and I'm squirting milk all over her face, the lounge, floor etc - sorry if TMI!

Also, if you want to have a look at some different MCNs, I have five kinds of fitted cloth naps including hemp and bamboo and an all in one, and also bamboo and muslin flats, which are a lot slimmer fitting than the old terry cloth flats. I also have five different cover types and some boosters too, so if you ever want to have a look at them, just let me know and I can bring one of each to a meet up, or we can have one at my place sometime.

Our routine for feeds goes something like this:
7am BF
play
8.30am breakfast of pear, apple and farex, followed by 10-20ml water or a top up BF
9.30am sleep
play
11am BF
play
12.30pm lunch of potato, carrot, broc or whatever, water or top up BF
sleep
play
3pm BF
sleep
play
5.30pm dinner of potato and pear or whatever
6.00pm bath
6.30pm BF
7pm bed
8.30pm top up BF and back to bed to sleep through until 2am for a BF or all the way to 6.30am now and she will play in her cot happily until 7am when she starts to grizzle for a feed!!!

The sleeps and plays don't always happen depending on what else we're doing, but I don't find feeding her solids while we're out is hard anymore.

I usually pop the cubes into a small Avent container in the morning so they can defrost naturally and just ask for a cup of boiling water wherever we are going, or I take a thermos of water myself. We use the bebepod as an impromptu high chair while we're at friend's places or picnics or whatever, or she sits on my knee.

I had Lily weighed yesterday and she's only 6.51kg with her clothes on :( . Hungry little munchkin is 5 1/2 mths old, has been on solids for a month, 3 meals a day now for over a week, still taking 150ml + at each BF, plus extra top ups and she is still as scrawny as ever, but she NEVER stops moving unless she's alseep...

She spent all day Mother's Day saying dadadadadadad dededede dadadadadad - nice, eh?

pinkie
15-05-2007, 22:54
Megan - I will have to have a look at all those nappies of yours. I'm still waiting on my Tots Bots bamboo fitteds and covers. I think they'll be what I'm after, but not having used cloth b4, I really have no idea! I've seen some Baby Bee Hinds at an eco shop in Paddington and I'm thinking about getting some of those. Just depends how I go with the ones I'm waiting on in the post.

We often "spray" when Stasia is feeding. She's started to be really easily distracted and comes on and off if there are people around. She sticks her head back and then starts making little noises to get peoples attention. Great when my nipple is out for all to see. Gotta love those naughty babies, or at least nearby males do :laughing:

Stasia is another one who only stops when she's asleep. She's constantly kicking her legs. Another mum in the parents room commented on it the other day. I caught her looking at me and she said something along the lines of "how do you feed her with her squirming around like that?". I wonder myself sometimes!

cordu68 - Welcome! Is that a Christmas Day bub I see!

kirra
16-05-2007, 08:31
Hi guys, welcome to the newbies :wave: .

Taking Liam to the dr's today not 100% so best to get him checked out. He has been saying what sounds like mum mum mum mum as he sucks his bottom lip and this is the noise that comes out. Hmm i'm not too upset about that :smiliedance:

Liams fav show is elmos world. Was changing the channel the other day and it was on and he started laughing straight away. He has seen it a few times since and loves it. So cute to see. Can't fault Elmo.

Should get back to the boy even though he isn't well he is still happy most of the time.

take it easy mums and bubs

Will's Mummy
16-05-2007, 08:38
Hope Liam gets better soon Kirra ;)

pinkie
16-05-2007, 22:38
Kirra - How's little Liam? All OK I hope.

We spent the day doing washing today. Very exciting, NOT! I'm sure we'll be way over our 140L each today. I've got a grey water diverter on our back pipe from the laundry so we've been tipping all our excess water down the laundry sink and all the washing loads go out onto the grass or garden. It was only going down the drain, might as well green up the yard. Only prob is that the pump on the washing machine isn't strong enough so we have to make sure it all goes down hill. I've heard that people are burning out their machines by connecting grey water hoses.

We installed a 5000L tank about a month ago and it's got all of 20cm of water in the bottom of it :(

I'm getting over showering with buckets, I'm certain I'll drown in one soon. Once bubs is up and about, I think they'll have to go caus we keep forgetting to empty them out after each shower.

Ahh, the joys of water restrictions.

I gave our mum's a canvas art made from a photo of bubs for mother's day. They turned out really good so I'm thinking of doing one for ourselves. They are such a good idea. Anyone got one?

Hope you are all well. I'm only talking rubbish now, so I'll be on my way.

Harlequin
17-05-2007, 14:04
Hehe Pinkie, my dishes are piled up on the bench... which is really annoying when I need a fork.

Ava's sick at the moment, I'm just waiting to take her to the dr at 2 today. Poor thing, she's so pale. I'm hoping it's teething but I didn't think babies looked ill when they were teething?

She's so sad, she just cries all day. :(

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
17-05-2007, 15:28
Luke loves our cat, gets very excited when he seees him, but does tend to grab hold. The cat is handling it very well, I think he enjoys the attention, seeing he has gone from pampered kitty to neglated cat.

I worried about how the cat would be with a bubby but haven't had any problems at all which is good.[/quote]

I was eactly the same. a little worried but they have been great and keanu does the same thing. The cats know when to wlak away tho, just before he has a chance to grab them. lol.

Keanu still isn't 100%, has had 400mls so far today best day yet in almost 2 weeks. he is still snuffly tho and sounds as tho it is getting worse....argh!

Oh it sounded like keanu was saying mummmmmmmmm mummmmmmm - DP reckons he was just crying and it wasn't....but i will believe that he said mummmmmm.
hehe

How is Liam Kirra? hope he is ok.

susannahjoy
17-05-2007, 15:34
Luke sounds like he is saying mumumumum sometimes when he gets upset... dh agrees with me but maybe that is because Luke is upset...

Harlequin
17-05-2007, 16:34
Ava says Mummm mamaa when shes sad, which has been a lot lately!
She reaches for me when she says it too :)

pinkie
17-05-2007, 17:27
Harlequin - I hope little Ava is OK!

No distinguishable sounds from bubs yet. She just kind of coos, whinges, laughs or cries.

I bought one of those mesh food teething thingys today. Can't wait to test it out!

Ohhh, exciting! My cloth nappies arrived today. I've washed them up and hopefully they'll be dry tomorrow and I can give them a go. I hope it's not a disaster.

Harlequin
17-05-2007, 19:40
Hey Pinkie :)

She's got a cold. The dr said to just keep up with her feeds to make sure she's hydrated and if she's not better by monday to bring her back in.
Her temp was ok and her ears, throat and chest are good. :)
She's a bit chirpier now, thank god. I was worried I'd never get my little monkey back!! It's very distressing having a happy baby turn into a sad baby overnight. So horrible.
Hopefully she'll be a bit better tomorrow.

Mesh food teething thingy?

Baileyjaysmum
17-05-2007, 20:57
Pinkie - I saw those mesh teething things at Big W yesterday and thought oh my god what a great idea - nearly brought it but put it back - let me know how it goes as I am really interested! I hope the nappy trial goes well!

Harlequin - I hope Ava is feeling better.

No sounds from Charlize as yet - I think teeth are on there way though. She was really unsettled all day Wednesday but than was great today - mind you my mum looked after her for three hours and she was good so who knows.

I have just been to have to my hair done - I feel like a new women again. It was so nice to get out of the house by myself. The kids were great for DH which was even better.

17-05-2007, 21:10
Hi ladies :wave:
Haven't chatted to you all in such a long time, hope you all still remember me!!!!!

Anyways I'll give you all an update of Taliyah who is currently 6 & a half months old- just. She is sitting up all by herself :yelclap: and saying 4 words Mama, Dada, Bubba & nana, YAY!! She is such a bubbly little girl who makes me prouder as each day goes by.

Anyways hope to chat to you all in this thread more often!

Krissy xx

kirra
17-05-2007, 21:34
Liam is good thanks for asking. Turns out 2 be a head cold. I was concerned it could of been his ears as we go swimming once a week but all good. He has his moments and is throwing up more than usual today he only has one tiny dropping of poo which normally he has 2 minimum to 5 max a day so will keep and eye out, guessing its the small amount of farax he is having now. Has a slight rash on his nose late today another thing to keep an eye on.

I got one of the mesh teething things last week but haven't tried him with it yet as he has only just started solids. I will try him with pear for a few days and if no reaction I will put some in that. I saw it on kerry anne's show last year and thought what a great idea.

Our older cat sam would only sniff liam if he was asleep, I put liam on the bed next to him 2 days ago so sam would go outside but he stayed and purred and purred harder when Liam was pulling his fur and ears. Was very proud of my cat.

Anyway I hope all babies get better seems to be a few colds going around.

Take care mums and bubs. Any mums thinking about their next baby yet? :thumbsup:

pinkie
17-05-2007, 21:39
Harlequin - The mesh feeder is made by Tommee Tippee I think. It's almost like a teething ring with a little mesh bag attached. You open the top, put in some whole food (meat, fruit, vege, whatever) and then snap the top closed. The idea is that they suck it out through the mesh and can't choke on it.
I'm glad nothing too sinister was wrong with little Ava!

Kristy - I gave it a test run tonight with some banana. I shoved in a whole lot and gave it to her. She made a reasonable mess (but I was at mum's so that's OK :laughing: ) but seemed to love it. It didn't take her long to figure out that you sucked it. All up, it was a success. I might try some meat next time.
How great is it having your hair done! I hope you're happy with it. It really does make you feel brand new.

Krissy - How freaky is that! I just posted a message in the girls night out thread telling you to come in here and then I pop in and there is a message from you. (insert weird space music here)
That's great that bubs is sitting up and talking. You must be so happy to have a clever little pumpkin. Stasia is sitting with some help and has just started to stand up but needs plenty of help to stay there. She gets cranky if I lay her down but sometimes I get sick of holding her up!

My little munchkin has taken to only going to sleep in our bed. We then transfer her to the cot but it's making me worried. Will she ever go to sleep alone again? She seems great if I get out and about for the day. She will sleep in the pram if I lay it down and put the hood over. If I stay at home, she just whinges all day and won't go down. It's like she gets bored and frustrated. She is very draining and needs constant amusement. It's wearing me down a bit. I left the house today at 9am to go to mother's group. Time got away on us and I left mother's group at 1:30pm :eek: It was a great morning though. I then picked up some photos, went to a framers to put in some photos and went shopping at Carindale (that's where I got the mesh thingy). I didn't get home till 5pm and bubs was great all day. Slept when tired and just smiled at all the faces. I've created a monster who only likes to shop. Help, I'm running out of money. What will I ever do to amuse her. I'm slowly going insane. I put an order in for a quiet, placid baby but someone mixed it up and gave me a crazy one!

pinkie
17-05-2007, 21:43
Kirra - Glad it's nothing too sinister with Liam either.

Yeah, I'm thinking about number two. Thinking what a bad idea it would be! :banghead:

Might just wait till this one is about 20 and moved out of home. Wait a minute, by then they'll all be staying at home till their 40 :eek:

In all honesty, I'll probably have no. 2 when Stasia is about 3 or 4, depends a bit on money and I'd also like her to be old enough to help a bit incase the second one is just as crazy as her!

Harlequin
17-05-2007, 21:53
Man that mesh tooth thingy sounds fantastic!

Thanks for the well wishes regarding Ava ladies :) She's feeling a lot better already tho is still a tiny bit grizzly.

Krissy that's fantastic! I love hearing about all your babies progress, it gives me something to look forward to with Ava.

Pinkie. Ava is the same with her cot so she sleeps with me, which i love but id prefer her in her cot. She just wakes as soon as i try to put her in there! No idea what to do about it!

18-05-2007, 09:02
Good morning!!

Well last night was tiring, Taliyah has taken the liking to only sleeping on my belly! I can't even lay her beside me or anything, only the belly or she wakes up & screams her little head off!! I've tried putting her on her belly to sleep- works sometimes but not always.

Pinkie- Strange indeed :laughing: I just read ur message and I was like 'already have ;)' lol. That's fantastic about little Stasia standing up with help! Over the weekend we took out girls to the bird sentuary and Taliyah was in 'aww' of the birds so I stood her up and she held on to the railing all by herself :yelclap: Hasn't done it since though. She also likes to be amused and held most of the day, drives me nutty!! Maybe we can share tips before we both lose our minds??

Kirra- We are going to be TTC#3 in June 2009, it's a far while away for now but I've already got two little girls so I just want to enjoy them for a while before another bub comes along. So it will probably be a 4 & 5 year age gap between them which is perfect!

Harlequin- Glad little Ava is feeling better! You just feel so useless when they are sick hey? Well I do! You see just how dependant they really are. Hope she's 100% now!

Baileyjaysmum
18-05-2007, 10:30
welcome back Mum&bubs - great to hear Taliyah is doing great. I am going to TTC #3 around the same time as you. I want to do it after my 30 birthday which is on the 31/05/09. That way Bailey will be starting prep and Charlize will be three which I think is a good gap.

This is really bizarre because I just posting in this thread and it has disappeared - it will probably turn up somewhere.

What I wanted to know is does anyone use the Heinz baby basics orthodontic dummies? I have just changed to these from the avent ones because they are cheaper and Charlize likes them but I cant find them anywhere at the moment. Has anyone seen them lately?

alybel
18-05-2007, 11:49
I think I saw some at Aldi last week!

Harlequin
18-05-2007, 15:16
Ava's feeling much better today, thanks Krissy.

Thing is, I've had a suspicion all along that it was her tummy bothering her, not a cold. She was pulling her legs up and would be upset, then after doing a fart she would be ok for a while.
She hadn't pood for a couple of days when she was early in her 'sickness' and when she finally did it was explosive and very stinky and she seemed in better spirits afterward.
Ever since then, every time she does a big stinky poo she seems to get better and better.
I noticed a couple were bright orange... do you think it could be from the pumpkin I gave her earlier this week?

pinkie
18-05-2007, 21:41
Ha ha! Pumpkin poo! When Stasia had pumpkin for the first time, it looked the same when it came out as it did b4 it went in. Ava might not agree with it just yet. Doesn't mean never give it to her again but it's quite possible that her little tummy isn't ready for it. I'd try it again in a few weeks and maybe give her other stuff in the meantime.

Stasia got bad tummy pains with potato but was fine with sweet potato, apples and pears so I just gave the regular potato a miss for about 2 weeks and now she seems fine with it.

Not being a baby specialist, CHN or nutritionist, I really have no idea. This is just from stuff I've read and what other mum's have said. Hope it helps a bit!

Baileyjaysmum
19-05-2007, 10:09

Alybel - thanks I tried Aldi and no luck but a great shop - I will definitley be going there again - I am trying out their nappies on Bailey and so far so good - only for day. They are so cheap.

I ended up going to Big W this morning and their shelves were restocked with the heinz dummies so I grabbed two packs - lucky as Charlize spat the dummy at the shops and I lost her only one.

Write more later DD screaming

kirra
19-05-2007, 11:29
I get the aldi nappies most of the time. Have just gone to the first steps size as liam has to be over 8 kilos now. They do smell a bit funny and have weird pictures on them (although the first step nappies the pictures are cuter) but they do the job. Have had a few spills but not more than huggies. Have found the bigger size are longer in the back which is good a bit big around the legs but they lasted liam's biggest poo ever the other morning. The bigger ones seem to crystalise more than the crawlers but I guess its the design and as liam is still on his back most of the time it make sense. A hell of a lot cheaper too. A pack of 50 is $15:99 anyway time will tell with us. Aldi as a shop is good too buy a lot of our basic stuff there much cheaper and still good quality. Fruit is quite cheap too compared to supermarkets.

I need to go to big w for the box of 6 johnston and johnston baby wipes. All the others give liam a rash and when I went last sat they didn't have any only have one packet left.

hope all is well

Harlequin
19-05-2007, 12:03
Cheers Pinkie. I think I'll hold off on the pumpkin for a while. I gotta go buy some rice cereal stuff and I'll start on that.

They are 6mth's tomorrow! Woohoo!

youngones
19-05-2007, 15:17
Sorry to hear about the little bubbas who are sick :crying: very distressing.

We bought a couple of the mesh food thingies too yesterday and put them through the dishwasher last night. I bought some watermelon to try in it, as I gave her a piece of rockmelon the other day which she happily sucked on. I took it off her as soon as she worked out how to munch a piece off it, but the mesh thing is a great idea. One of the mums in my mother's group told me about it.

Also, for those foodies among you who want your precious little one to be able to appreciate the different colours, textures, tastes and smells of the different stuff you're feeding them, check out the Happy Baby feeding dish. Its two bowls in one with two lids and a rubberised spoon with the heat sensing stuff on it. One of the bowls is divided into 3 segments, so you can keep each food separate if you want to, or the segmented bowl can be taken out and you just use the main bowl on its own. Best of all, it is totally microwave, freezer and dishwasher safe (top shelf) and has a suction bottom.

I give Lily her breakfast of farex, ebm, pear and apple all mushed together, but I like her to be able taste each different veg she gets for lunch and dinner, so she learns to like the bland stuff as well as the sweet and tasty stuff.

Pinkie - how did the bamboozle trial go? Lily's bum loves her cloth naps. She's still such a skinny minnie she is still wearing her size 1's. I should be thankful - she's getting great wear out of her clothes. She can still wear 000 singlets and t-shirts and some short pants, but is in 00 for most things and 0 for sleep suits, as she is so long, but because she's so scrawny, they billow around her.

We also got our rug yesterday - I'm so excited that she now has somewhere soft to roll around and practice sitting up and crawling. I used to turn my back for a second and she'd be off her playmat and on the timber floor. Her arms still aren't strong enough to hold her for long, so she gets up on her arms and knees or feet, then face-plants, so it is nice to know she won't break her pretty little nose now.

Still shouting mumumumumdadadadad. Mumumumum seems, like many of you, to be reserved for use with the hungry/tired/bored/grizzly cry and dadadad is a much happier tune...

youngones
19-05-2007, 15:20
I forgot - Alybel - someone told me that Aldi was really good value and I heard they opened one at Booval - what is it like?

pinkie
20-05-2007, 23:32
Happy 6 month Birthday to Ava and Anastasia for today!

Having needles and weigh etc. on Tuesday.

Megan - We've worn cloth twice now. The first test run was overnight. It was a tough first attempt. Being bamboo, they need heaps of washing to be at their most absorbent so I can forgive it for leaking on my bed at 6am when she was on her side feeding. She wore one to mass this morning and there was no leaking that time. I've been at work tonight so I didn't get to give it more of a go than that. I've only got the two bamboozles so the other two cheapie clothies that I have will get a run in the morning then I'll wash them all. The ones I got were size 1 so I don't think I'll get too much use out of them. Maybe for No.2 (not any time soon) they'll get more of a work out. I'm thinking AIO's might be the go if I'm to get DH to cooperate. He thinks the whole nappy then cover idea is way too time consuming and fiddly. I might buy a couple and see.

Hope you all had lovely weekends.

21-05-2007, 08:15
Good morning girls! How was everyone's weekend? We went car searching, DF is buying a new car cause he's sick of me whinging I want one with me at home too so I can actually do things during the day :p We found a few we like but nothing definite yet.

Ava & Anastasia- CONGRATS on making it to the 6 month mark! :yelclap: :yelclap:

Kristy- Sorry I've never heard of those Heinz baby basics orthodontic dummies before! Both my girls refused the dummy from day 1! So I basically became the dummy.

Harlequin- Yep I agree with Pinkie, it does sound like bubs belly isn't ready for the pumpkin yet. Try giving her some farex maybe? How long has she been on solids for? And eww about the poo!!! I know how it looks, I get the pumpkin poo here too and Taliyah loves pumpkin :barf:

Young ones- Where did you get those mesh food thingies & the feeding dishes from? They sound like a great idea! Taliyah loves sucking on watermelon but she has two toofys now and can easily bite some off which worries me!

Pinkie- What sort of cloth nappies did you buy? I was suppossed to begin cloth once Taliyah was born! But it is very time consuming and with 2 kids leaves me limited time for anything plus it's very pricey when you first start! Good on you for getting there!!!

Well better go feed Taliyah her brekky! Have a great day girls!

Baileyjaysmum
21-05-2007, 08:15
Hi all - hope you had a great weekend

Happy 6 month birthday to Ava and Anastasia!!!

Well Charlize woke up at 7.30am this morning (I had feed her at 5.00am) and she has cut her first tooth!!!
Very excited!!!

She also ate minced chicken and spinach for dinner last night and loved it. She loves her food.

One thing though she is doing is grunting when I am feeding her boobies. Anyone elses bubs do this?

pinkie
21-05-2007, 10:02
Krissy - I'm trying to go part time cloth. Cloth at home and sposies when out (which is a lot so I'm not sure that much cloth will be worn!). I bought 2 really cheap dodgy modern cloths a while ago and two good Tots Bots Bamboo ones recently. So I only have 4 all up and 3 covers. I will buy a few more but bubs is just on the verge of going up into the bigger size so I might wait a bit and then buy bigger ones that I can get more wear out of caus yes they can be expensive. I'm thinking about getting some all in ones that you don't need to put covers on but they are $30-$40 each :eek: . Long term you save money, but it still hurts to pay it up front.

Kristy - Yay Charlize! Now you can bite mummy ;)
Anastasia was grunting this morning when she was feeding. Noisy bugger. She really seemed to be enjoying it. I felt a bit like a piece of meat though :laughing:

youngones
22-05-2007, 15:46
Krissy - try Woolies for the Happy Baby bowls (they are purple and green), but you'll have to go to quite a big store to get them. Our local Woolies don't have them, but Indooroopilly does. Some of the bigger pharmacies also stock them, but I don't know which ones. I got the Tommee Tippee mesh things from Target, but I think that Coles also has them.

Pinkie - have a look at nurturenappies, you can find them here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/shopsnappyproducts.shtml) - that is where we bought our clothies from and I think her prices are pretty good. We got pockets instead of AIOs (Bum Genius), because they have a row of snaps on the front that allows the nappy to expand upwards as your bub grows, so you get more wear out of them.

The pockets and AIOs are not only great because they work like a sposie (so dumb blokes can work them out), they are much trimmer fitting, so great under little jeans or dresses, but you have to stuff the absorbent bit inside the nappy after you wash and dry them - the trade off with AIOs is you don't need to stuff them, but they don't expand as bub grows. From memory, the Bum Genius pockets are around $26? Could be wrong, but she also does a six pack of them which brings the price down.

I don't put Lily in cloth overnight anymore. We do have some overnight really absorbent nappies and lovely wool covers, but when she had a terrible nappy rash that lasted for about a week, we use the sposies overnight and just kept using them, as they do keep her really dry.

pinkie
22-05-2007, 23:43
Megan - I just bought some BumGenius clothies but from a different site caus the one you mentioned didn't have any in stock. I've got 10,000 baby related sites in my favourites now so it's hard to pick which one to buy from when they all sell the same things, for the same prices. Usually it's what they have in stock that makes up my mind. As it was, the site I purchased from only had white and pink in stock in the AIO's so I got one of each and they only had pink in the pocket so I got one of those too!
Too bad if my next bub is a boy! He's gonna have to wear pink nappies. :laughing: Daddy will not be pleased.

I feel like a crappy mummy today! We had vaccinations this morning and bubby was very upset when she got jabbed! Then when we got home, she had trouble doing a poo! Sorry if TMI.......but......she normally has a pained little cry for a bit when she poos and I've been keeping an eye on it and giving her pears in the morning to help but she just couldn't get it out today. When she continued to cry for a while, I took off her nappy to see, and she had done a little bit of poo but the next bit was stuck! :eek:
She was crying sooooo badly. I even tried to help her but it was well stuck! (being a nurse and not afraid of poo helped) All I could do was get some warm water and squeeze it onto her bottom which really seemed to help her. Her poor little bottom even bled a little bit.
Now tonight, she's got a sniffly nose and hasn't really taken any of her solids today (not that it's an issue caus now I'm terrified of her getting constipated).
I got some coloxyl drops today while I was at the shops getting the vaccines so I gave them to her quick smart after what will from here on in be known as "the poo incident". Only problem was that she wouldn't eat enough of her dinner to actually get the medicine into her.

I'm just hoping and praying that bubby wakes up feeling 100% better and isn't sick, sore from needles or still feeling her sore bum in the morning.

Oh, and...... go the blues!

I may have moved north of the border many, many years ago, but my roots are in NSW so I'm still going for them as they are my "state of origin".

I hope all the leaguies out there enjoy the game tomorrow.

alybel
23-05-2007, 12:14
youngones - the Booval Aldi is pretty good, I have only been there a couple times, there is where I saw the heinz dummies, I bought one for about $2.00. You do need to take a $2 coin if you want a trolley though :) and take your own bags unless you want to buy them there..

Harlequin
23-05-2007, 12:30
Oh my god poor Stasia!! I'm glad you helped her with her poo. Give her a big hug for me.

Ava's been a good girl lately. Very happy chappy. She keeps going on about this "Aw bub bub" person ;) It's very funny, you'll be minding your business and she will be on the floor chatting away "aw bub bub bub bub" hehe.

I turned around the other day to find my doggie standing inside her pen inspecting the huggies musical mat while she was playing with it!!
It was quite funny because they were just sitting there together. Man am I glad Griever doesn't have any evil intentions toward her. She's always kicking her pen open so I'm going to toys r us today and will be buying a portacot.

I'm gonna check out the Elmo's while im there cos she loves his giggle on the internet.
I wonder if they have those tommee tippee mesh teethers.

Oh oh, I started Ava on her baby cereal yesterday!! She loved it. Is there any real difference with the Rice cereal and Mixed Oats cereal? My hubbie bought the mixed cereal.
It's a real pain having to express the milk for it, even that tiny 20mls is sometimes too hard for me. Stupid boobs hate the pump. :(

susannahjoy
23-05-2007, 14:31
THats good that Ava likes her cereal. Luke hates his, he has worked out how to keep his mouth shut and how to spit it all over me. I have been very frustrated at him the last 2 days. We skipped the cereal today casue he had his needles yesterday and isn't feeling very well. THis is the first time all day that i have been able to put him down. He had 2 naps this monring but when i tried to lie him down he would wake up and start crying.. poor little fellow. I had the water wise man come today to do fix all our taps etc and that was the first smile i got out of my normally happy little chap all day. EVen though he was feeling unwell he loves seeing new faces. So i followed the guy all round the house to keep Luke entertained.

Pinkie - there are some really cute girl nappies out there.. I try to limit nappies i buy in blue and get purple and greens, as i figure they are pretty unisex.

Harlequin
23-05-2007, 14:41
Heh, I just tried feeding her earlier and she decided she didn't want to eat. She sat there tight lipped for most of it and only opened her mouth a couple of times hahaha.

youngones
23-05-2007, 15:20
Harlequin - love the new pic on your avatar!

OMG we just had the worst day. Lily was restless last night, so spent most of the night in bed with me, DH got the boot, but I took her into him around 5am after a feed, so I could get a couple of hours sleep. Our builder is still here, so I stuck in the earplugs and went back to sleep only to wake up at about 7.30am to the sound of screaming and I mean SCREAMING.

I worked out it was the dogs fighting so I rushed out there and DH is in the back yard with two of the dogs going at eachother, the builder is trying to hold the third dog by the collar and had Lily under one arm. I got bub out of there as quickly as possible, cutting my foot open on a bit of timber in the process, then once DH had the fighting dogs separated, I called the obedient one and locked up on the deck, then we locked one in the courtyard and the other in the yard.

DH got two nasty bites on his arm, so off to the doc we went. He got cleaned up and a tetanus shot, I got a shot as well for my foot and given Lily is 6mth tomorrow, she had her shots too!

Later we took the dogs to the vet (one at a time) and one needed sutures. We just picked him up from the vet ($$$$) and now DH is taking the other one involved back to his mum's place for a few weeks until we can get our deck finished and the yard divided into two.

It just gives me the chills to think what would have happened if it had been MIL or me in the yard with the baby instead of DH. New rule - no one takes the baby into the yard for any reason until we have the yard finished and the dogs fenced off into two areas and a third that will remain a dog-free zone.

I don't know what we're going to do with them. The one who got hurt is easily overexcited and we think he got all worked up to see DH with the bub, so the other one gave him a few nips to tell him to back off and he just turned on her and went for her, but she is 3 times his size and once they both got going, he got hurt. She also nips our other dog to get her to play. We love all our doggies and don't want to lose any of them, but gee the stress they can cause at times.

Harlequin
23-05-2007, 15:26
Wowsers. Silly dogs. You'll just have to do like you said and make sure noone takes bubs out there until the dogs are settled.

How's your foot?

I hate how dogs scream when they are in pain. When Griever broke his back he was screaming next to my bed. I thought someone was being killed. Gods it was horrible :(

Thanks for the kind words re the avatar. It's my favourite photo at the moment, taken the day she got better from being sick. She was back to being a little monkey :D

pinkie
23-05-2007, 18:19
Megan - I hope you have all recovered! That's pretty funny that you all ended up with shots though. Bubby didn't have to go through it alone ;)

Harlequin - I agree, the avatar is incredibly cute. Good luck to Ava with her solids. I hope you can get the expressing happening caus BF bubbas, from what I hear, like the cereal better with boobie milk. I tried Stasia with water and she hated it but would have a little if it was breast milk. I'm not sure of the difference between all the cereals available. There is rice cereal and then versions with various fruits but I'm not sure if they are recommended over the mixed oats etc.

Susan - I hope Luke is feeling better. Stasia has slept a lot yesterday and today after having her needles. Not too much whinging thank God.

Harlequin
23-05-2007, 21:44
Thanks Pinkie :)

I managed to express, like, 15mls today... shocking I know!! But it got her a tiny bit of cereal. She doesn't eat much anyway so it's ok.
I wish I could express more... my boobies have never seemed to like the pump. I think it's cos I can't get my letdown going. I tend to just get letdown at random times of the day, not even when she's feeding really.
I'll be doing the dishes and I'll feel my boobs harden and it's like wtf are they doing it for now, why not when im pumping damn it!?

pinkie
23-05-2007, 22:12
I've done a reasonable amount of reading on the expressing front. Mostly because I knew I'd have to do heaps of it with going back to work. The biggest thing mentioned seems to be relaxing.......easier said than done when there is a plastic boob sucker attached to your weary nipple!

Try to express when you are likely to have a decent amount of milk. After a one boob feed is when I find it easiest. If someone can take bubs for you after her first morning feed (only give her one side) have the pump ready and try to express the second side straight after Ava has stopped with the other. Start with short, quick pumps to mimick the initial sucking. Hopefully it won't take long to get a bit of that let down feeling. You should get a bit of milk out and then you can start with longer, firm pumps. Once you get a nice flow happening, it's quite easy. It's just getting it happening that's a bit hard. The more you do it, the easier it gets though.

This is just what I've found works. Sometimes I stay up a few hours after bubs is asleep and then express but I don't get much (usually about 40ml total) caus my boobies are exhausted for the day. Morning is definately better for me.

If you're really worried or anxious or stressed out because it's not "happening" you should just take a break and try some other time.

Now that I read back over this, I sound very lecturing. This is just what works for me, hope it helps a bit.

P.S - Doh! Better luck next game for the blues. Definately the hotter side though ;)

Bubby wore her maroons gear around Indro today. Heaps of people were looking at her and going "look at that baby". It was quite funny. Then they'd look at me (I had my blues polo on) and laugh. Most people assumed my hubby had dressed her for the day :laughing:

Harlequin
23-05-2007, 22:38
Hahah not lecturing at all :D

I actually bought that Expressing booklet on mothersdirect or whatever that site is.
Thing is, when I need to express I do it after the morning feed because I'm fullest then and I am watching tele at the same time... so I'm pretty relaxed.
I think my boobs just aren't made for expressing. I'll keep trying though. Most i've ever been able to get in one sitting is around 60-70mls and that doesn't happen often.

youngones
23-05-2007, 23:43
Harlequin - I know what you're saying. I had heaps of problems expressing and was really stressed about it. I was using an electric hand held, but convinced DH that I needed the medela swing. Horribly expensive, but man it works a treat. Before, I could usually get 20ml, at the most 50ml and now I regularly get 150ml, though I wait until an hour after her morning feed. The swing does the little short pumps for two minutes, then automatically switches to longer ones, so you don't have to muck around. I don't get that letdown feeling that I get when I feed Lily, but it doesn't seem to matter with this pump.

My sis had heaps of trouble expressing too and she never managed to get more than 50ml a go, no matter what she tried. I'm starting back at work in about 6wks 3 days a week, so I've been pumping regularly to make things easier. I've decided to get some bags and store what I pump now and don't use in the deep freezer in 100ml lots, so that there will be an emergency supply if I have to go away for work for a couple of days and can't pump enough in the days leading up to it.

I find pumping a truly bizarre thing to do. I wonder what people a few generations from now will be thinking when they find these fossilised or 'antique' breast pumps. They will probably think they are weapons of torture...

...and they will be right...

pinkie
25-05-2007, 09:45
Harlequin - Good luck with expressing! Even 40mls isn't too bad, just add them together and you'll not only have enough to add to cereal, but eventually a feed and you can go off to the movies and leave bubby at home ;)

Megan - My BumGenius AIO's and pocket nappy came this morning, they are in the wash and I'll hopefully get a chance to use them tomorrow. Can't wait, they look fantasic and soooo easy.

Everyone else - Where are you all? Has someone been going around eating all the mummies? :eek:

We need to get off our bums and organise another meet. I'm thinking the races would be nice. Winter racing carnival is just around the corner.

kirra
25-05-2007, 09:59
I'm still here checking in. Would love to come to the races but would cost way too much to get up there :laughing:

Liam had his 6 month check up on monday
he weighs 8460g height 70.5 HC 46.5

she was concern at the size of his head. I think his head is so big and why he has trouble lifting it is because his brain is so big. I hope its that anyway.

Take care mummies and bubs.

pinkie
25-05-2007, 10:47
Kirra - Liam's stats sound pretty much the same as one of the other bubs in my mum's group who is the same age (end Nov).

Stasia was 7.28 KG, HC 42.2cm and L 65.5cm on Tuesday for her 6 month check.

I'm guessing Liam does have a big brain!

You could still come! Have you bought a lotto ticket for Sat night? You could become a millionaire. Wait, no, don't buy one caus I want to keep my chances up.

kirra
25-05-2007, 11:24
too late dad just sent a txt saying that he has sent me one in the mail. will get it today. :fingerscrossed: for both of us

alybel
25-05-2007, 11:36
I don't think I could afford to go to the races as I have nothing to wear :( But, I am still checking in here now and then, I just don't seem to have any time now, I wonder why ???

alybel
25-05-2007, 11:37
samantha's stats at 6 months were:

weight 7.6 kg, length 70 cm, HC 42.5 cm

youngones
25-05-2007, 11:41
:eek: I can't believe life, sometimes.

This morning DH rushes off to an earlyish meeting, so I got up and fed bub her breakfast early, then changed her and put her down to play while I went out to feed the hounds and the fowl. Mo, my staffy x mastiff who got his ears shredded on Wednesday was looking very guilty about something - he always does when he's dug a new hole or eaten a pot plant. I noticed he had some fresh blood on his foot, so I thought he'd reopened his wounds, but then I saw he's got this massive gash on his chest that is about 4 inches long and about 1 1/2 to 2 inches deep and he's bleeding everywhere.

Poor baby is back at the vet today getting stitched up AGAIN. I found the offending article - our backyard is still a dump site with bits of timber and iron all over the place. He was obviously chasing something last night, jumped over a sheet of corrugated iron, but missed. There is a tuft of fur on the edge and a smear of blood.:crying: I checked his bed and there is dried blood all over it.

It was just AWFUL. My poor little man. He was my first fur baby and he's very obedient, but also very stupid. So far in his little 6 year life he's eaten a mosquito coil, two boxes of ratsack and been beaten up badly three times, once by a Jack Russell and now this.

Sorry - not about baby, but fur baby is still much loved.

Harlequin
25-05-2007, 13:26
youngones - Sorry to hear about your fur baby :( Glad you found the offending piece of iron though!
Pumps are annoying. I can't afford the electric one. Thankfully I'm not working or anything so I don't need to express unless I have to go to the dentist or something and leave Ava for a couple of hours.

Pinkie - I took your advice and this time when I pumped I did a lot more of the quick pumps when my boobie stopped squirting. It helped a lot! Makes sense too cos it's what Ava does when she's on my boob. I used to do the quick pumps then try pumping normally but I think I need to do a lot more of the quick pumps than I realised.
Anyway, I managed to get 20mls without too much bother yesterday :)

Are the bubs supposed to have a 6mth checkup? My book doesn't say anything until 8mth. Apart from the immunisations I mean. I might have to weigh her myself.

I have a headache this morning. Not sure why. Ava actually slept alright last night.

Have any of you girls left your bubs overnight with anyone yet?
My mil and fil keep hinting about wanting to babysit Ava. I just ignore it because I'm not ready to leave her overnight with anyone, especially when she's not used to them yet. Also I don't think she's ready to be without me for the night. There's also the fact that I don't need her to be babysat, so I don't know what the point would be.
It makes me want to cry to think of leaving her somewhere overnight, so I'm hoping they don't actually ASK to have her anytime soon cos I'll have to say no way and they will probably take offense. Knowing my luck they will ask DH and he will say yes and then I will have to say "uh actually no". Anyway Im waffling.

It's weird, when my in laws come over for visits usually there will be a joke made about sleepless nights or sleep deprivation by someone and my dh will always laugh about it and join in, but he's been sleeping in the spare room since day dot... so he doesn't really have a clue about sleep deprivation. It kinda irks me. I feel like saying "err... what would you know, Mister Spare Room" but I don't. I don't know why he feels the need to pretend... he must feel guilty, but then if he does feel guilty why doesn't he help out more? Huh HUH?!

Stupid men. Seriously, they are stupid.

Will's Mummy
25-05-2007, 15:06

Haven't checked in here for a while - have had a really busy week, out everyday. Went to Southbank with some English friends who were visiting on Tuesday and got my finger caught in the pram - ripped a layer of skin off - ow!!!! It is still so sore. It has just been one of those weeks...

My wrists have been really sore lately too - has anyone else had this problem? Apparently it is common in pregnant and post partum women because of hormones and all of the lifting we have to do now with bubs. I suppose carrying around a 9kg baby all day does not help. At Will's six month check up he was 9.1kg, 67cm and HC 44cm. He is just growing up too fast :crying:

Youngones, I hope your little dog is ok. Must have been so scary to find him like that. Hope he recovers ok.

Harlequin, I sympathise with you about the inlaw babysitting thing. My mum is just the same, always offering to have Will and telling me to go out somewhere on my own. The thing is I like taking Will out with us wherever we go - he is really good at shops, restaurants etc and we don't want to leave him just for the sake of leaving him. I'm definitely not ready to leave him for a whole night. They're our bubs so we should not be made to feel guilty about wanting to spend as much time with them as possible.

Sorry for the rambling, chat again soon.

youngones
25-05-2007, 15:21
Oh Harlequin, I'm so glad to hear that someone else is using the spare room like us! I was beginning to think we were freaks. Same deal - DH joins in the jokes about sleep dep, but really, he has no idea how often Lily wakes up or for how long I'm awake during the night - as evidenced by his refusal to do anything domestic. I'm at home doing 'nothing' so everything is my job right?

It has only been the last month that I am getting more than 4 hrs sleep a night and only because she's been on solids and I've been trying to help her overcome night wakings by offering water first. If she takes the water, I know she's really hungry, but if she refuses it, she just needs help to go back to sleep, so I don't pick her up.

Finally we're into a bit of a routine. She's slept through from about 9.30pm until 6.30am 3 times now and most other nights only wakes for one feed around 2am, but about once a week she'll wake 2 or more times.

I go back to work the first week of July and, as a rep, I drive all day. I'm still worried about how sleep dep will affect my driving and my work.

Just spoke to the vet. They're keeping my little boy overnight :crying: . Stella is very sad. She's spent most of the day in a little hole she dug in the corner of the courtyard, coming up to me occasionally for pats. She misses her buddy.

youngones
25-05-2007, 15:48
...When I say 'little', he's little to me. Mo is the smallest of our puppies, but at 26kg, he's actually rather big :D . The middle one is 35kg and the big one is 55kg.

Re leaving bubs o/n I guess Pinkie - your work would be forcing you to do that, but at least your DH is home when you're at work and vice versa (most of the time)?

Speaking of men, DH saw a bubhub screen up the other night and brought up the whole DH thing. He seemed to think it stood for D ick Head and wasn't impressed :laughing: .

Friends of ours with a little girl who turns one in July have been hounding us to go out for a night and/or leave Lily overnight. They say it is 'essential' for a good relationship. I'd say a man who can put away his own laundry, empty the dishwasher and take out the garbage is essential for a good relationship, but we can't have everything...0

I'm not ready to leave Lily o/n either, but my work requires me to be available for travel. The first I will probably have to do is December for four days and it will kill me. I hope to still be BF Lily morning and night at that stage and until she's around 18mth-2yr, so will have to have a stock of ebm in the deep freeze. After that I will have about 30-40 days per year in 3-5 day lots. My sis recently had to go to Cuba for a conference and was away 10 days. Her youngest is 8 and she was still teary. I'm not sure you ever get over leaving them. I remember my mum cried when I was leaving home - I was 17 and the youngest of 4 and headed off o/s for 12mths, then off to uni 4 hrs from home.

From what I've heard from other mums I work with, I fully expect that bub will be fed and clean, but the kitchen, laundry, bathroom and house generally will probably be a disaster when I get back. Oh well, maybe DH will appreciate me all the more :rolleyes: .

Harlequin
25-05-2007, 15:53
Youngones- Oh my god I'm so sorry you have to deal with the same thing but I'm also glad i'm not the only one!! Now I have someone I can have a ***** to who will understand! :D
I still wash my husbands socks n stuff. The other day he told me he'd hold Ava for 5 mins so I could assemble her cot but then he wanted 'michael time'. Hahaaha I have to laugh or i'll cry.

Sorry to hear about your doggie. Hopefully he comes home all better tomorrow!

Wills Mummy - Yep sore wrist here cos I only use my left arm to carry Ava. The skin around my wrist bone gets a little swollen on bad days.

My shoulders, now they are KILLING me.

Re the DH thing, I still read it as d-ckh-ad. My second thought is darling hubbie. It feels weird for me to write dh still.

Baileyjaysmum
25-05-2007, 20:33

Alybel - To good to hear you are still checking in here and posting now and again - I thought you may have left us. have you started back at work yet?

Willsmum - Sorry to hear about your finger - stupid pram! I did this once and boy did it hurt. I can understand why you have sore wrists! I dont have that problem with Charlize but it is carrying Bailey around that does it to me. I think he weighs about 15kg.

Youngones - Sorry to hear about your little(big) dog. It is sad that he has to stay at the vets overnight. I understand what you mean about your "fur baby", my doggie was my first baby and I know this is terrible to say but she has been a bit neglected since the two kids have come along. I still try and walk her as often as I can and play with her but it is so hard - the poor thing. I am failing as a "fur mummy" - this is where Dh needs to step up to the plate!

Harlequin - Well done on the expressing front - I have never been able to express much either - my boobies dont like the pump - I was thinking about buying one of those Medela swing ones a while ago but decided I didnt really need it and it was way too expensive. Your new avatar is so cute - Ava has the cutest smile. On the leaving bubs for a night thing - we had a 30th to go to a while ago and my mum and dad come over to our house to watch the kids - mum said that they could have stayed at there house for the night but Charlize is too little yet and still wakes up for a early morning feed. I think Bailey was over 1 before I left him for a night.

Kirra - Good luck for the lotto on Saturday night - I have to remember to buy a ticket tomorrow.

Pinkie - I was only thinking the other day about another meet. The races does sound good but as someone else said that means $$$.

I was thinking about the other girls that used to post on the november thread and thought of bamikins - anyone heard from her?

Well Charlize is good at the moment - she has a cold that DH kindly gave to her and DS but it could also be teeth. Can you believe she is going to be 7months next Saturday!!! Also its my birthday on Thursday. Dh is saying he doesnt have time to go out and get me something - typical! He bloody better get my something otherwise I wont be happy. well I am off to watch the end of BB. Have a good weekend

kirra
25-05-2007, 22:12
:wave: My DH sleeps in the spare room too or the couch. I'm happy as i sleep he is happy as he sleeps. I snore that keeps him awake and he needs the tv on which keeps me awake. When Liam has settled into a better routine over night we might try again but really a king size bed to myself not complaining too much. But the bloody cats still insist on sleeping right on top of me so maybe a kind size bed means nothing.

My wrists get sore every now and then. I get quite scared but thats cause I had bad carpel tunnel from work and was on work cover for a bit around the time I got preg. Cortisone injections fixed the problem once I went to another dr who put it in the right spot. first dr stuffed it up and made it worse. So I am concerned that it will flare up bad again and not sure where I stand If work will pay for the injections or I will be out of pocket. Anyway have been lucky that the bad pain goes after a day. :fingerscrossed: that it will stay away and I won't need cortisone for a long time.

I am always getting offers for babysitting but to be honest I don't want too leave him and if I had to for a few hours I would prefer one of my parents to do it. They would stay at our house and its not just a novelty for them like I think it would be for others. My sister who is mad and would kidnap liam if she could was putting him in the car the other day and hit her head she said whoops mummy hit her head then quickly changed it too auntie hit her head. I just ignored her stupid woman she wonders why I won't let her babysit........

Anywoo I should go. Feeling worried as I seem to find something to worry about then it gets fixed then I find something else to worry about. I am concerned that this is turning into a bad pattern. Spending too much time at home alone need to shut off brain. Hope everyone gets special hugs and sloppy kisses from bubs just because.

pinkie
26-05-2007, 09:52
Oohh, lots of action in here yesterday ladies!

Kirra - "My sister who is mad and would kidnap liam if she could was putting him in the car the other day and hit her head she said whoops mummy hit her head then quickly changed it too auntie hit her head. I just ignored her stupid woman she wonders why I won't let her babysit........" What the hell! I wouldn't let her babysit either. Is it a serious problem? By that I mean, does she need professional help or she just a bit goo goo gah gah over the baby?
I think worrying heaps is universal for mums but if you're finding it a problem, there are plenty of great counsellors out there to have a chat too and offload on. It's great just to have someone you can talk to and know that they can't tell anyone what you've said ;)

Kristy - I hope Charlize is feeling a bit better today. If your DH (read: d ick head) doesn't buy you a b'day pressie, I'll come over there and bash him up for you if you like :D

Harlequin - I'm with you on the sore shoulders thing. Mine are aching. It's giving me headaches. I definately need a massage. Yay on the expressing :smiliedance:

Megan - "Friends of ours with a little girl who turns one in July have been hounding us to go out for a night and/or leave Lily overnight. They say it is 'essential' for a good relationship. I'd say a man who can put away his own laundry, empty the dishwasher and take out the garbage is essential for a good relationship, but we can't have everything..."

I laughed my head off when I read that. It's so true. I don't really want to spend any time with DH when he hasn't been helping out, so a night out together would probably just make me more angry at him

I hope your little poochie is much better today. I neary cried when I read what happened. You just wish that they'd be able to understand you and you could tell them not to do that sort of stuff. It's very upsetting and I hope he is much better today! :hugs:

Emma - I hope your finger and wrists aren't too sore today! Where did you get your finger stuck? I get mine stuck in the harness clips all the time but it just stings heaps for about a minute then I'm fine. I'd rather clip me than bubby, and regularly do....hahahaha

On leaving bubs - Yeah, I leave her heaps and don't really mind so I'm feeling like the odd one out. I'm simply not anywhere near as maternal as I thought I would be. That said, she's never been left with a stranger yet. She's always with my DH or mum. Occasionally she gets left with my brothers or dad or DH's mum or sister for short periods of time like nicking to the shop for some milk.

This morning she's at my parents place (dad just came and got her, I'm supposed to be asleep). Dad has been away for work for 3 weeks and bubby was so happy to see him. She gave him the biggest smile and laugh and then started chatting away. Like she was catching him up on what's been happening. Very funny! It makes me quite happy to see how much she loves my family. I feel very comfortable leaving her with them now. There was a period there where she got upset a lot, but thank God that's over. I think it's lovely for her to feel safe and comfortable with my parents and siblings. If, God forbid, something were to happen to me, I know she would grow up secure, happy and loved with them. Oh, and I'm sure DH would help sometimes!

I've only left her "overnight" when I've done night duty which isn't too often. It's no different from being away for a normal shift though, just at a different time of day. Her first overnighter will probably be in Sep for my brother's wedding. I'm getting my SIL to look after her at our house and sleep the night here. We will come home (probably 2am ish I suppose) but SIL will do all the baby looking after untill the morning. So we'll be here, but bubby won't know.

There have been plenty of times where I've given her the last feed for the night and then left her with mum and dad while DH and I have gone to something (dinner, engagement parties, farewells etc.) but when we get home, say midnight or 1ish, she's still asleep so it just makes it hard for me caus I'm tired the next day, bubby doesn't even know we were gone. It's a shame they don't understand that mummy want's to sleep in!

Brissy mums - OK, no to the races. Any ideas of where and when? I'm probably going to the races next Sat so that will be my horsey fix for the next few months. Maybe a park, or someones house?

This is way too long. Hope it makes sense and there aren't too many spelling mistakes.

Sorry if I missed anyone, I'm way too tired.

alybel
26-05-2007, 23:02
You girls are probably going to hate me but DH will get up during the night whenever he hears one of the kids cry, if it is DS he will stay in there and give him a drink etc. IF it is DD he will try to just give her back the dummy, but if it doesnt' work he will bring her in to me for a feed. I am happy with that :) He also gets up and looks after the kids on Saturday morning until around 8am when he usually sends DS in to get me out of bed :)

Samantha hasn't been left overnight anywhere, she is still having a breast feed during the night so it might be a bit hard at the moment.

Baileyjaysmum - yes, I am back at work :( I am working Monday and Tuesday at the lab and I work a few other nights of the week from home. So, I have samantha is one day at childcare and my mum looks after her the other day. Seems to be working, hoepfully we can get her in for the second day soon, the waiting list is long at Indooroopilly...

Well, I'm up for a meet, I can offer my place, is it too far to go? I'm at Bundamba, basically at Ipswich... Maybe we could meet at Southbank somewhere if my place is too far to go, or Roma Street Parklands. I think I prefer the parklands for playground for DS.

Well, I'm off to bed, hope everyon is having a good weekedn.

Will's Mummy
27-05-2007, 14:45
Hi girls, hope you are all having a great weekend. We have had a nice family weekend, staying at home most of the time which is nice for a change.

I am up for a meet again too. I am busy on Thursdays and Fridays but am usually free any on the other days. A park sounds like a good place to meet. Will loves looking at trees and playing in the grass.

Pinkie, I got my finger stuck in the folding up frame bit of the pram if that makes any sense. Everytime I get the pram out now I am VERY careful - my finger is still all bandaged up and very sore :(

Alybel, hope you are enjoying being back at work. I am going back part time in October and am really not looking forward to it. I am going to investigate whether I can work from home somehow but don't know if I will be able to or not.

youngones
27-05-2007, 17:34

Just a quick one tonight (ha - I've heard that before...).

A meet up would be great! what about somewhere like River rocks Park at Centenary - its pretty cool? Or New Farm Park (long way for you though alybel - BTW jealous of your DH)? southbank would be good, but parking might be a horror.

My filet de dog ended up with 30 sutures to add to the 9 he got on Wed. He is a very sore doggy.

Lily is whacking me, so that means dinner time!

youngones
27-05-2007, 19:12
Ok, just couldn't keep away tonight. Actually, Lily is asleep, DH is in front of the teev and dinner is sorted, so here's a question for you Brisbanites.

How are you dressing bubs at night now that the weather is cooler?

I've had Lily in singlet and long jumpsuit and nothing else up until about three weeks ago, when I started wrapping her in a muslin wrap again on top (only from the waist down). She kicks the covers off most nights, so I am just using a cotton weave blanket for her, doubled over, so that it isn't too hot if she doesn't kick it off.

This last week the temp has been getting down well under 20, so I've switched the wrap from muslin to flannel and have started putting a short sleeve, no leg suit underneath her full long one, just so her upper body doesn't get too cold. A couple of times before I did this, her little hands were icy when I picked her up for an overnight feed. Since I've been wrapping in flannel and putting the short suit underneath, she hasn't felt cold, but I'm wondering if it is too warm?

I love the cold, so am happily sleeping with just one or two cotton blankets at present, but DH is fully hidden under the doona, so we're probably at extremes and not much help. I've heard you should have bub in whatever you are in, plus one layer - anyone else heard this? If I take the middle road between me and DH, that means she is pretty good with what I've been doing, but I'd be interested to hear what others are doing.

At the moment, at 7.30pm, her nursery temperature is 21.5, so it should go below 20 again tonight.

Harlequin
27-05-2007, 22:46
Ava wears a singlet and one of the bonds wondersuits... the towely material ones.
She also sleeps with me with a doona so I think she's pretty warm.
I should get a temperature thingamajig.

pinkie
27-05-2007, 23:23
We've been sleeping bubs in a long sleeve, long legged suit and then laying a muslin and a polar fleece blanket over her. She seems to roll from side to side a bit at the start and semi-wraps herself. It's tucked nicely under both sides by the time she's asleep :yelclap:

Last night though, I put her in the usual long sleeve, long legged suit and then put her in her sleeping bag which is a middle of the road TOG. Not the summer and not the winter but the one in the middle (Grobag). Then I layed the muslin over the top and she seemed happy with that.

A park of some sort sounds good. I'm up for the parklands (Roma St). What's this cool park you speak of Megan? Only prob is that for a park, we'd have to have a contingency plan in the event of rain. It's raining pretty hard at my house right now. Aaahhhhhhh, so lovely!

pinkie
27-05-2007, 23:24
P.S - A Wednesday might be a nice middle ground to suit both Alison and Emma. Can everyone else make a Wed?

Baileyjaysmum
28-05-2007, 11:35

Wednesday are good for me - roma street sounds good or southbank - I am easy.

I put Charlize in a singlet, wondersuit and sleeping bag than a cotton blanklet over the top - sometimes I think I am boiling her but when I dont put her in her sleeping bag she tends to wake more during the night.

I am due back at work in august but I am trying to find a new job as I dont really want to go back to the same place.

Well I am going to have a rest as the two kids are asleep - talk later

youngones
28-05-2007, 15:24
I'm with you there Kristy - back at work 3 days a week from the first week of July. Only 5 more weeks :thumbsdown:

Lily's sleep is improving all the time. Last night she only woke at 3.30am for a 20min feed, then up at 6.30am and this time not even any sleepy little murmurings where she sort of wakes up and then talks herself back to sleep. I, of course, didn't go back to sleep after 3.30 am, because I was listening for her. When will I ever get over that?

A Wed at Roma St Parklands sounds good. The other park I was talking about is the new ish one by the river at 17 Mile Rocks/Oxley/Sinnamon Pk. It is huge and really nice, with sheltered bits and lots of open space for kiddies to run about (for those with toddlers).

I have mother's group on Wednesdays, but it is only every second week from around 10-1pm (this week it is on), but Lily's swimming lesson is also Wednesday morning at 10.30am for 1/2 hr, so I usually go to group late. Should we aim for next Wed the 6th? If we're going to meet in the morning, I'm going to be late.

kirra
28-05-2007, 20:35
Hi guys. Liam has a thick pair of pj's plus 4 to 5 blankets only 1 of the blankets is a full winter one.But hey we are in melb. His body is always nice and warm when I pick him up but his hands are cold.

He wears his pj's home from swimming on tuesdays as its so cold after we come out of the pool. easier being a one piece than putting on different stuff. Better for me too as the quicker he is dressed and in his pram the quicker I can get dressed.

Hope all is well. take care always

kirra
28-05-2007, 20:49
This age is so perfect they have enough control for cuddles and smile so sweet and the interaction is to die for. I have noticed though my boy is getting a temper. If he can't reach a toy and won't roll he cracks it, happy when one of us gives it to him after awhile or when I put him down to bed the temper starts. The little bugger started biting my nipple yesterday. But there is nothing that can stop the love towards my angel.

I made a joke I could be preg and DH said what if you were would you be scared ( normally yes would come to mind just money wise and not fair on liam so soon) but I couldn't think of any reason to make me scared. Writing that down makes me scared. Noooo Plan is to wait till start of next year to try.

Haha anywho. ****ed of jamie was nominated on big brother and ****ed off andrew didn't take him off with the twist and ****ed off that emma isn't nom. yes I watch the show and proud of it :wave:

Ok be good and enjoy the love and hugs from bubs.

pinkie
29-05-2007, 00:54
I think next Wed sounds good. If we made it for 11am, would that suit most people? That way Megan can still make most of it.

We just have to decide where via PM.

Will's Mummy
29-05-2007, 08:10
That sounds good to me for the meet Pinkie.

Kirra, I agree about this age just being so fun. I have loved every stage Will has gone through but am really enjoying it now that he loves to play and is always happy and laughing.

My wrists are getting worse - especially my left one. It is becoming a real struggle to do everyday things like writing, unscrewing lids and even picking up Will. I think I am going to have to get a brace. It is so annoying!

Have a good day everyone.

pinkie
29-05-2007, 10:44
OK well that's at least 3 of us for the meet so I'll go ahead and invite some more Brissy mums with bubs a similar age. If you happen to read this and you're a Brissy mum and would like to come, just PM me for the details for Wed 6th June.

Emma - That's no good about your wrists. It's a bit hard to get by not using your hands :eek: I hope you can find a good solution soon.

Kirra - It is a lovely time. Very draining though. My little girl just wants everyones attention ALL the time. I'm still finding it a juggling act to even have a shower of a day! I can't wait untill she's old enough to understand that mummy is going to be in the bathroom for 5 mins and could she please play with her toys!

pinkie
29-05-2007, 11:02
Hey Kristy - Is it your birthday this Thursday?

Baileyjaysmum
29-05-2007, 12:38
Pinkie - yeh its my birthday this thursday - the big 28 but I still think I am turning 25 I think I lost a few years being pregnant :eek:

29-05-2007, 17:24
Hi Ladies, how are we all?

I'm so buggered. I'm getting barely any sleep these days thanks to my two girls. Summer still wakes up constantly through the night for boobies and Taliyah too now- she went through a stage at sleeping through the night but now shes back to waking constantly emptying one boob and wanting the other- plus she will only sleep on my belly which is becoming so frustrating because I'd like to sleep differently sometimes.

Pinkie will get back to you ASAP about the meet.

My birthday was on Sunday, went clubbing for the first time ever on Saturday night :laughing: Was good in the beginning then it was just a cr@ppy night! Worried all night about the girls, that was the longest I have left them but I got back at about 3am and they were sleeping fine Taliyah was even asleep on MIL's tummy :laughing:

Anyways will do personals later, I've got a bouncy baby on my lap who is making it impossible to type.

Krissy xx

pinkie
30-05-2007, 14:01
Krissy - Clubbing can be very over-rated! I much prefer to go out for dinner or even just have friends to our house for dinner. That said.....I still do go on the occasional night out in the city. I think I've been out more in the last 6 months than I ever did b4 I had bubby. :laughing:

I think it's a bit of the old reverse psychology......I feel like I can't go out....so I put in 10x more effort to make sure I do. Stupid I know!

I'm glad your girls were being good when you got home. Tends to ruin the night when I get home if bubby is upset....then I just wish I hadn't gone anywhere.

youngones
30-05-2007, 18:01
Kristy - OMG happy birthday! Mine is mid July. I feel so old. Dh has been paranoid about sex, since he's worried I'll get preg again! I'm waiting for all my bits to return to normal to even broach the subject, but I don't want to wait another five years like he's thinking - I'll be 40!!!:eek:

Life can be so unfair. I always wanted a house full of kids, but I didn't meet anyone responsible enough to be a dad until DH. Now married, I realise that no man is responsible enough - what a lark... I still want the magic three if I can do it without a divorce before I'm 40. That will mean only four kids who need help dressing and locating the milk in the fridge each day. :laughing:

Krissy I'm sure there was something I was going to respond to, but you know, the moment's passed, I've done ten things since I hit the post reply button and now the munchkin is squeaking for food, so I've just gotta go.

pinkie
30-05-2007, 22:06
Kristy - Happy Birthday (I'm 2 hrs early but you get the point!)

Krissy - OMG, sorry, I meant to actually say Happy Birthday in my last post but got talking about other jibberish, so.....Happy Belated Birthday!

Harlequin
30-05-2007, 22:27
Happy Birthday too Kristy and Krissy :)

alybel
31-05-2007, 08:48
wow, lots of birthdays.. Happy birthday everyone!

alybel
31-05-2007, 08:49
take a look at this photo of my girl in the dress she will be wearing to her christening, I had to make sure it fits :)

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y189/alybel/PICT0001-1.jpg

pinkie
31-05-2007, 13:21
She looks gorgeous Alison!

Harlequin
31-05-2007, 14:05
Aww she's BEAUTIFUL

sORRY, Ava hit the Caps key : D

, mmc

Ava wrote that.
Hahaha

Baileyjaysmum
31-05-2007, 21:07

Thanks for all the birthday wishes. I had a great day - Dh and the kids gave me a Pandora braclet - which is the new age charm braclet - he gave me a charm which is a heart with a pink stone in it which symbolises my eternity ring that I lost - a pram which symbolises the kids - a boy and girl charm which speaks for itself and a present. His mum than gave me a handbag with a pink stone in it because I love handbags and a cola can because I love coke!!! I love and was really impressed that he gave it me because I have been leaving lots of hints for him. I went shopping in brissy city today with my mum and sister and Charlize and had a great day - I brought six tops which I needed and some new Mac makeup which I love. We had lunch at Kerri Craig emporium - crab sandwiches! Yum!

We had close friends over for dinner and had Chinese and icecream cake - Bailey though it was his birthday - so cute!

Alybel - You are so clever - Sam's dress is beautiful - when is her christening? I wish I could sew - I know how to but am too lazy!!!

Charlize has been really out of sorts the last too days I am hoping she will wake up tomorrow and I will see a new toothy peg!

Well I am stuffed going to bed - night night

pinkie
01-06-2007, 10:10
Kristy - Glad you had a great Birthday! The pressies sound lovely and lunch at Kerri Craig sounds even better!

Harlequin
01-06-2007, 19:38
Hey ladies :)
Ava has figured out how to worm her way across the ground and occasionally she will do a few crawls :D
I took some movies of it if you are interested. I'm probably getting excited over nothing!!

http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/AvaMarieMovies2/JuneMovies2007
Its the two at the end :)

Ava got an invite to next doors bubs birthday, how exciting :D

Glad you had a nice birthday Kristy!

Baileyjaysmum
01-06-2007, 20:21
Harlequin - Ava is so clever:yelclap: - that is exactly what Charlize is doing at the moment - I call her the worm! She has been doing this for a few weeks now. She cut her second tooth this morning!!! :smiliedance:

The poor thing has been vomiting heaps this afternoon after I fed her dinner I hope it isnt a bug:eek:

Well I am off to bed buggered tonight - talk more tomorrow

Harlequin
01-06-2007, 22:18
Hehe cheers Kristy :D

Ava has only just started doing the worm crawl properly today. She was sorta getting around for weeks, but only by spinning around and launching herself weirdly hahaha

I love when she actually gets up on her knees and manages a few proper crawls. It's so awesome :)
Ava still hasn't cut any teeth!

Ooh I hope Charlize is ok.
Sleep well! :)

pinkie
01-06-2007, 23:20
Harlequin - OMG you have a very clever little munchkin! She looks so cute. You should be very proud.

Kristy - :fingerscrossed: that Charlize only took offence to dinner and hasn't got something more serious.

No teeth here either. Not even any real teething in recent weeks. Maybe I shouldn't say that, I'll cop it now!

03-06-2007, 17:51
Thanks for all of the birthday wishes girls!

I'm hoping to take the girls to see the fireworks at the Crackerjack carnival tonight, if I figure out what time they will be on in time! Anyone online now know? hahaha.

Harlequin- What a clever little girl!! You should be very proud! Quick learner you've got there :yes:

Alison- Your girl looks adorable in that dress! When will the christaining be? Well she'll be looking beautiful when the day comes!

Kristy- Sounds like you had a good birthday. Your DH picked a very sweet present with the braclet! I used to collect charm braclets when I was younger, alot of them are broken now though :(

Pinkie- Yep I agree that clubbing is very overrated, was nothing like I expected at all. Oh well, had to go once in my life! I feel like I am going out more lately because I feel like I'm losing my youth :laughing: but it just makes me feel bad leaving the kids even if it's only for an hour! When you hit the town next you should tell meee :D

Talking of teeth, Taliyah has two toofy pegs that have got alot bigger the past few nights! She sure knows how to use them too, she's constantly biting me!!

Anyways hope you all have a lovely night! xxxx

youngones
03-06-2007, 23:30
Oh, Harlequin - it is just so cute to recognise some of the toys that Lily has - like the bee thing with the spotty wings from the Play Gym!! She loves that thing - her play toy while mum gets her solids ready and another one from the same gym is her change table toy (stops mummy from going completely psycho...

Lily is doing some similarly interesting almost crawls. She gets all excited with her legs up under her and then runs out of steam. I could never be a beauty pageant mum - no stamina...

Harlequin
03-06-2007, 23:46
Oh, Harlequin - it is just so cute to recognise some of the toys that Lily has - like the bee thing with the spotty wings from the Play Gym!! She loves that thing - her play toy while mum gets her solids ready and another one from the same gym is her change table toy (stops mummy from going completely psycho...

Lily is doing some similarly interesting almost crawls. She gets all excited with her legs up under her and then runs out of steam. I could never be a beauty pageant mum - no stamina...

Haha that's pretty cool. I've noticed photos where other ladies bubs have the same toys as Ava as well. It's sort of bizarre in a way :D

It's funny when they get ready to go hard and get up on the knees all energetic like only to just plonk back down on their stomachs. Silly buggers.

Will's Mummy
04-06-2007, 18:27

Hope you are all well. Just checking in here to say that I probably won't be able to make it to the meet this week. My wrist pain got really bad last week so I ended up going to the doctors on Friday and it turns out that I have got severe tendonitis. To cut a long story short I was in tears every time I tried to lift or hold something and cannot even sign my name (good for the credit card bill I suppose :D ). I couldnt see my usual doctor and had to see a locum who was a real b**** and had me in even more of a state. At the moment I am not able to drive, so don't think I will be able to come to the meet - sorry, I was really looking forward to catching up.

Sorry for whinging, other than my wrists everything is going well. Will has been really good - I think he must know Mummy is not at her best.

Anyway, better go and feed little Will, chat soon x

Baileyjaysmum
04-06-2007, 19:12
Emma - sorry to hear about your wrist - I hope it gets better soon.

I was going to write to say that I wont be able to make it to the met this week either our house settles next week and there is a few things that I need to do before this happens - sorry was looking forward to it.

pinkie
04-06-2007, 23:37
Superstar - Hi! Pleasure to have newbies any time.

Emma - Oh, sweetie, I'm so sorry you've had such an awefull time with your wrists. It must make it really hard to do things with your gorgeous bubba caus he's a big one! I hope you are having a better time of it soon. Sorry you won't be at the meet but I'm sure we'll do it again soon enough anyway.

Kristy - Bummer you won't be there either darling.

God, listen to me with my sweeties and darlings. You can tell I've been at work. There was a lot of consoling (sp?) tonight. Everyone seemed to be upset.

Just a reminder for everyone else about the meet on Wed morning. PM me if you need any details. At this point, it looks like there should be about 6 of us, maybe more if some of the girls from various mother's groups come as well. Should be a blast. I'm very excited.

Oh yeah, my baby is good. Nearly forgot to mention her. What a bad mother.

pinkie
06-06-2007, 08:13
Good morning ladies!

Isn't this rain just fabulous. Not the best weather for a meet but I'm not complaining caus my tank is full and my grass (what's left of it) is green. I'm still going to the meet though if anyone else still wants to come.

Perhaps just a coffee and no walk but I'll be there!

Hope to see someone else there.

alybel
06-06-2007, 08:33
It was raining so much that I thought no one would still be going, hence DH has now got the car.. Maybe we'll head down to the train or something, but I don't think we will be coming.

pinkie
06-06-2007, 16:52
Hi girls.

Well the meet was good today......except for the fact that only me and two ladies from my mother's group turned up! Not even one bubhubber! :thumbsdown:

We just had a coffee (actually 2) caus of the rain and then went our seperate ways. I'm guessing it was the rain that turned everyone off?

You didn't miss much though..... just my little girl being grizzly and refusing to go to sleep. She's been like this for days now. She wakes up after one cycle all grizzly and upset, I can't resettle her, but she's still really whingy and will go straight back to sleep after fighting with me for about 1/2 an hour. Why can't she just go straight back to sleep when I go in, give her the dummy and ssshhhh her!

When she's happy, it's great though. She is really trying to talk. You can see her shaping her mouth and the cutest little noises come out! No teeth and no attempts at crawling yet.

Will's Mummy
06-06-2007, 17:30
Pinkie,

Sorry I wan't there today. Thought it wouldn't be on because of the rain. I still cant really use my hand either so not safe to drive anyway :no:

Will has been the same as Stasia in terms of sleep lately - getting hard to settle during the day as he just wants to play all the time. He has no teeth either and no signs of crawling either.

Chat soon,

Em

alybel
06-06-2007, 19:29
Pinkie - I'm sorry too, I looked up the train timetable and was packing the nappy bag when I realised that my purse was in my work bag, in the car that dh took to work... so even if I had have caught the train, I would have been there late. Hopefully next time.

~*clairesmum*~
07-06-2007, 10:11
hi

claire was born in september is that close to the other months lol i live in capalaba,

kirra
07-06-2007, 12:02
Sorry i couldn't make it to the meet couldn't afford the plane fare :p But hubby just got a fab promotion so who knows. Liam is playing up sleep wise too. He just lies in his cot and talks to himself. I try can get him to sleep nothing so i leave sometimes goes to sleep sometimes stays very quiet and pretends to be asleep..

Take care mums. I'm off to mums group now.

Hi tyrah welcome to you and claire. I'm actually from melb but have been chatting to a few of these lovely bubhub mums for awhile.

Baileyjaysmum
07-06-2007, 20:51
Welcome Tyrah - of course you can join in the more the merrier!

Well Charlize has been been waking up earlier and earlier each morning for some reason. This morning she was up at 2.00 and the best way to put her back to sleep is to feed her (lazy I know!) and than she was up at 5.00am and to make my night more interrupted Bailey decided to wake up at 12.00 and want the light on.

I want to ask you girls how much solids you are feeding your bubs and how many times a day? ATM I am feeding Charlize breakfast (rice ceral with fruit), lunch (avocado & ricota(sp)) and dinner (chicken mince and veges + baby yoghurt. She absolutley loves her food and screams when it is all gone. Thats why I am wondering if I am feeding her enough but than someone told me bubs are like puppies and they would just eat and eat and eat!

I just went to Garden City and brought a bath seat for Charlize for the bath. I bath the kids at the same time and it is a pain having to hold Charlize so I thought this would be better and I think she will enjoy it more. Toys r us have the best sales for baby things at the moment - it makes me want to redo the nursery. You should have seen the pregnant ladies there - makes me want to have another one.

well off to the do the folding and to see if I won powerball!

pinkie
07-06-2007, 23:08
Damn! I forgot to buy my powerball ticket!

Kristy - The only way I get any sleep is to feed bubs during the night. I think she gets most of her nutrition between midnight and 6am!

Anastasia is having 3 solid feeds a day. She has boobie in the morning followed by morning tea of fruit (usually pear or apple) with a bit of rice cereal. Then after her lunch boobie she has afternoon tea of dairy (yoghurt or custard). After late afternoon boobie she has veges for dinner and then more boobie. (Followed by boobie all night :shame: )

Funny, seeing pregnant women makes you clucky, seeing them makes me think along the lines of "ha ha, you don't know what's about to hit you, good luck". Sorry but those first few appalling months are still way too fresh in my mind!

Welcome Tyrah :wave:

Things with DH seem to be going from bad to worse lately, hence the minimal posting, it has me a bit preoccupied. No new or baby related probs, just having to deal with the extra pressures of bubs and work are making me less inclined to put up with it all. Perhaps a long time coming but I'm just struggling with it at the moment.

Hope everyones bubbies sleep all night tonight. Maybe wishfull thinking but you never know.

Baileyjaysmum
08-06-2007, 06:36
Well i am dead tired this morning - went to bed late 10.30pm - couldnt sleep because Dh was snoring - Charlize woke at 12.00 put the dummy in - she woke again at 1.00am put the dummy in and than again at 2.00am and feed her - she than woke at 6.00am - I am going to be one crankly lady today. I wish she would sleep from 6.00pm to 6.00am. Bailey did this from 6months i just dont know what her problem is. I dont think she is cold as I have her in a singlet, bodysuit, wondersuit and than a sleeping bag with a flannlet sheet and blanket on her.

Pinkie - Dont worry I didnt win the powerball so it looks like I am still going bad to work in august. Sorry to hear about things with DH - dont worry I am struggling at the moment with my DH too - little things he does just irrate the hell out of me - sometimes I wonder if I have PND. If you want to chat just pm me.

Baileyjaysmum
08-06-2007, 06:40
Just logged onto the winners circle website and he said you have had a win - thinking I had won big like $50,000 for something and it is just $10.50 - I surely have to win it big someday - I will keep on playing I suppose

Harlequin
08-06-2007, 14:45
Oh man way to get your hopes up!! *shakes a fist*

Could Charlize be too hot? Or is it really freezing over there at the moment?
Its been really cold here, but I only have Ava in a singlet, wondersuit and grobag thingy at night... she also has my doona though.

youngones
08-06-2007, 15:45

Lily has FINALLY started sort of sleeping through on a semi-regular basis. After 3 nights of offering only water, she now has a much better feed at 6.30/7am than she used to and sleeps from around 7.30pm through to 6/6.30am most nights, though I give her a dream feed when I go to bed (both sides).

Since I started offering the other side when she'd pulled off the first one, she has lasted much longer between feeds.

Solids - well, ATM, Lily gets 3 dessert spoons of farex mixed with apple and pear and water or EBM for breakfast, four cubes of mixed vege for lunch and chicken or lamb with 3 cubes of mixed vege for dinner.

Pinkie - how did you go when you started back at work with leaving Stasia with someone else? DH has (on my suggestion) given Lily a bottle of EBM and put her to bed twice now and all she does is roar and roar. I'm worried about how she'll go with MIL feeding her and putting her to bed. I'm trying to get MIL over here for a few practice runs, but so far, no luck. She seems to think that one day of her being here with me will be enough and I know it won't be. I start work in 3 weeks.

I'd really like her to have at least one half day on her own each week for the next 3 wks and then maybe one full one, so that she can call me if she's having trouble, but I don't want to push the issue. I just don't like the idea of Lily screaming her lungs out missing me, but MIL is doing us a huge favour, so I don't want to be really pushy about it.

Also, MIL has also announced that if she finds the driving hard back and forth (about 20-30mins each way 3 days a week), she'll just stay over on Monday nights - :eek: we don't have a spare bed (DH sleeps in the only spare room we have) and, as much as I like her, I can't think of anything worse!!! DH delightfully didn't say a word when she dropped this pearler last week, he just looked the other way and said later that we'll just have to tell her she can't. I wish she'd mentioned this earlier and we might have just gone ahead with the idea of nanny sharing.

Interestingly, when I started on maternity leave, she was here EVERY day from 6.30am until 3.30pm ostensibly helping our builder, who is a friend of hers, until I asked DH to ask her to cut back a bit, but I ask you - why is the idea of driving back and forth to be here from around 9am to 4pm 3 days a week suddenly harder than what she was doing 6mths ago???

Harlequin
08-06-2007, 19:08
Solids - well, ATM, Lily gets 3 dessert spoons of farex mixed with apple and pear and water or EBM for breakfast, four cubes of mixed vege for lunch and chicken or lamb with 3 cubes of mixed vege for dinner.

Wow she's eating quite a bit isn't she?
Do you find she's weaning at all or eating less boobie?
I was talking on the aust breastfeeding assoc. forums about solids because I'm only feeding ava one solid meal a day and was worried. They all assured me that it's fine, that bubs doesn't actually need solids at this stage anyway as long as she's still getting plenty of boob.

So I decided I might take the solids really slowly cos I really don't want her weaning earlier than planned. I want to feed her bm for over a year.
I might just give her one solid meal a day after a boobie feed and then up it to two in a month and go from there.

Its all so confusing.

youngones
08-06-2007, 20:52
I know what you mean about the feeding confusion - we started Lily on solids at 4.5 mth because she wasn't gaining much weight and was hyperactive and therefore burning off every boob feed she had. We started slow and built up (she's been eating solids now for about 2 mth, which is why she's eating so much now).

A few weeks ago I was worried about the weaning thing, because I want to BF for as long as possible too, so I did what a friend suggested - express every feed for a couple of days to see how much she was taking and from what I can tell, she is still taking 150ml x 5 times a day, plus top ups of about 50ml x 3 a day just before a sleep, so my little piggy girl is getting about 900ml on average each day, plus all her solids - oink!! She also has about 20ml of water during each solid feed and she's still not even 7kg yet...

I guess every bub is different and we're really learning that all the time. Our GP is great and she said just keep watching for signs - she'll let us know what she needs and so far, that has worked out great for us.

Most of my friends who are still BF after 1yr are either lucky enough not to be working and just feed on demand, or are still feeding first thing in the morning and last thing at night, plus maybe an EBM of 100ml or so with morning and afternoon tea, instead of cows milk. The latter is where I hope to be when Lily is one, because I'll be going back to full time in Feb next year. I'm happy to keep expressing for daytime feeds as long as she's happy to keep drinking it!

Here is my second rant for the day:

One thing that is really bugging me ATM is the number of my friends who are fortunate enough not to have to work, who stopped BF at 3 or 6mth because it 'interfered' with their lifestyle, or who are putting their bub in care one or two days a week so they can socialise, shop, or go the gym (true story!), taking up a valuable place that some poor working mum needs and can't get, or who say "I couldn't possibly leave my little darling and go to work", then turn around and leave bub with mum or MIL for the w'end and go to Sydney for a boozy party once a month.

GRRRRR. I'm not picking on people who do any of these things, but I guess I'm just jealous. I'd love to have the choice, because if I did, I'd keep BF Lily when she wants it rather than sitting in my car and expressing twice a day, wondering if she's howling, I wouldn't work either and my gymming, shopping, dining out and partying can keep suffering because I don't care that much about it anymore now that I'm a mum. I'd rather keep reading her stories and dancing to Wiggles videos and taking her to cool places like the contemporary arts museum and discussing nappies, baking and what games people are playing with their bubs. I hate money it has such evil control over our lives.

It just seems so unfair.:gloomy:

*rant over*

Harlequin
09-06-2007, 13:50
Hey ladies :)

Ah cheers for that youngones, I totally forgot that you have probably been feeding her solids for longer than me.

I couldn't stop breastfeeding just because of my lifestyle. I'd feel too guilty because it's so good for Ava. I'd just feel like I was being selfish.

I didn't get to sleep until 3:30am this morning because Ava decided it was crawling time at about 11:30 and I couldn't get the little bugger back to sleep for hours!

Ok I have a question for you ladies... Does anyone elses bubs lie in bed with them and decide to crawl all over them? And I mean literally too!

Ava crawls over my face, she also enjoys crawling from one side of me to the other. If I plonk my tit out she sees it and comes crawling and just smushes her head down on it and starts sucking - doesn't matter where her mouth ends up.
She likes to crawl INTO me. Last night she was plonking down on her belly and looking at me with her head on the bed. So I lay down beside her and smiled at her while she lay there. Then she gets up and starts crawling into my face by headbutting me and then tries to suck my face off. Sometimes she would just lay her head on mine but then eventually it would end up being burrowed into me and she would start sucking my cheek off again. Sometimes it would be my nose. She was licking my face at the same time too, it was REALLY GROSS AND SLOBBERY. I think she was trying to kiss me :D

She's weird.

youngones
09-06-2007, 17:38
Harlequin - laughing my a*se off!!! Lily tries to crawl over me, but not into me...

A few times I've finished her dream feed too soon for her and when I pick her up to put her back to bed, she latches on to my cheek or neck and sucks like crazy, whimpering because no milk is coming out.

We had a big day out today - decided to go to the museum and gallery of modern art (which was a bit bizzare) and had a nice pub lunch at the Regatta. DH was grizzling around this morning about how miserable and cold it was, so I thought it would be good to get out and about and it was.

We're all buggered now though.

Harlequin
09-06-2007, 23:23
Harlequin - laughing my a*se off!!! Lily tries to crawl over me, but not into me...

A few times I've finished her dream feed too soon for her and when I pick her up to put her back to bed, she latches on to my cheek or neck and sucks like crazy, whimpering because no milk is coming out.

Hahaha thats so sad! Poor dear.

I think when Ava sucks my face she's just doing it for the hell of it. She's odd.

Ava headbutts into me heaps... she's like one of those jumbuck sheep thingies that lock horns and push against each other. Only she pushes into my head, legs, tummy. She's weird. :D

youngones
10-06-2007, 11:37
Weird is good. I'd hate to have one of those babies that just lies there. Lily headbutts too, but not in bed - I worry sometimes that she'll break her nose on my collarbone. She also does a poltergeist routine where she just shakes her head from side to side. Can be very funny, also quite disturbing...

Where is everyone? Long weekend - they must all have a life:D

I've come down with a nasty chest infection. Couldn't breathe this morning and got really frightened and DH in all his concern told me he take me to the doctor. AFTER golf. Men, truly, sometimes.

Bit worried though - don't really want to take antibiotics. I heard somewhere that they can affect milk supply and I don't know if this is true, but I'm trying to build my supply up before I go back to work.

Does anyone know anything about this? I had to take Augmentin about this time last year for the same reason, but I just don't know about taking it while BF. I know it won't harm Lily, I just don't want to lose my supply.

10-06-2007, 16:11
Good arvo girls!

I am sooo buggered, today we went to my family reunion. Didn't know half the people there but most of them knew me :cool: Taliyah has been in my arms all day and my arms are soo sore. Does anyone have a jolly jumper? If so, are they worth getting? Because Taliyah loves to be up like that!

Pinkie- Sorry the rain did turn me off the meet. Until we get our new car, I am relying on public transport during the day because Karl has the car for work. But let me know if you organise another meet up for coffee! I'd love to come, I need to get out of the house more.

Aragh will have to finish my personals soonish, bub is awake. xoxoxo

Will's Mummy
10-06-2007, 17:39

Krissy, we have a jolly jumper and Will loves it - thinks he is really clever when he is in it - so cute!

Youngones, hope you feel better soon. It sucks feeling sick when you have to look after bub. I was on 8 courses of antibiotics when Will was 3-12 weeks old as I had mastitis and a breast abscess that just would not go away. It didn't reduce my milk supply at all - if anything it maybe increased it (although I already had stacks of milk anyway - hence the reason I got mastitis). If it makes you feel better and your doctor says it is ok then I would take them.

Will is not crawling yet so I havent experienced any of the headbutting etc you girls have been talking about although he loves to rub his snotty nose into my face and chest!

Have a good long weekend everyone!

Harlequin
10-06-2007, 17:52
Youngones - True, I think i'd always wonder what my baby was thinking if she just lay there doing nothing. It would drive me batty.
I hope you feel better soon. I don't know anything about the drugs, but maybe if the infection is bad you should take them anyway. Maybe get some Fenugreek to take as well to get your supply up.
You could ring that drug line and ask them about the tablets?

Mum&Bubs - You should get yourself an ergo. Ava prefers to be carried by me than to be left alone so my wrist is kinda ruined at the moment. Now I just pop the ergo on and it's great, no sore back, no sore wrist and as a bonus Ava always falls asleep in it!
I should put it on at night.

Wills Mummy - MMMM snotty nose kisses. You'll get plenty more of those and the slobber kisses when he starts crawling. Hopefully he will headbutt you like Ava and Charlize, it makes life fun. :D

Ava has a lovely habit of spearing people in the eye with her tiny needle fingers. Man, it kills to get a finger in the eyeball.

Last couple of nights Ava's gone to bed after 3am. I'm so tired :(

Baileyjaysmum
11-06-2007, 07:07

I hope you all had a great long weekend. I didnt do much. Dh went to the racers on Saturday - when I die I am coming back as a man - they have such an easy life well my Dh does anyway.

Youngones - I hope you are feeling better - there is so much flu going around at the moment. I am not sure about the antibotices decreasing your milk supply but I wouldnt think so.

Mum&busbs - I have borrowed a jolly jumper from a friend and Charlize loves it.

Harlequin - I hope you had a better night sleep last night - Charlize has been all over the place lately too. She wakes at 2.00pm and I try controll crying but she has this hight pitch scream so she is being murdered so I cant leave her - does anyones girl scream like this - Bailey never did this and I thought it might be a girl thing.

Has anyone experienced there bubs (who have teeth) biting your nipple yet? :eek: God does it hurt - she any seems to do early in the morning when she is half alseep - I hate to think what it is like when she has more teeth.

Well better go

pinkie
11-06-2007, 12:33
Hi ladies, been busy so haven't had much of a chance to catch up. I've done a full time week in the last 7 days. I want to win lotto so badly!

Megan - I didn't really have much of a prob going back to work caus bubs is either with DH or my mum and she has spent a LOT of time with my family even from day one. I don't know why DH and I even bothered buying our own home caus we spend most of our spare time at my parents house. My two older bros still live at home and they have girlfriends and there's always lots of people there and Anastasia loves it caus she never gets bored. Infact, they all fight over her. So funny, but I love it caus I get a rest and it makes me so happy to see her get excited when my brother comes into the room. I'm so glad she loves them all so much.

I have put her name down at some childcare centers to try and get 2 days a week starting in January (she'll be 14 months ish). The thought of leaving her in childcare worries me though. At the moment, she gets doted on when I'm away and I'm worried that she'll feel neglected at a center. But I guess the upside is that she'll have lots of other babies around to amuse her and the whole learning to share thing will be good for her.

I too get frustrated over the childcare inequalities (is that a word?) but I'm lucky that it doesn't affect me much just yet. Correct me if I'm wrong (and I probably am) but I've been told that unemployed people get free (fully gov. subsidised) childcare. The intention being so they can look for work. But there's no need to prove they are looking for work or anything. My DH works in an area renowned for it's "bogan" population and has experienced a bit of the old mum and friends at home smoking and drinking while the couple of babies/toddlers are at childcare. I'm sure plenty of people entitled to the free childcare are using it for the right reasons but there are always going to be those who sponge off society and take advantage while telling me that I'm a bad mother for going to work! And who's tax pays for you to sit at home is my reply.

I'm sure there were other replies for me to make but I've been craping on about jibberish and have completely forgotten.

Well my long weekend was mostly work so nothing exciting to tell about that.

Oh, that's what it was, Anastasia is not looking like crawling at all. I've tried putting her on her hands and knees and she even stayed there for a little bit yesterday but mostly she just promptly rolls onto her back and kicks her legs and waves her arms around. A lot of moving, but not in an organised fashion, or with any purpose :laughing:

Harlequin
11-06-2007, 14:26
Pinkie - Anastasia sounds like a cat. She's all "geeez go away mummy, i can crawl I just don't feel like crawling" *rolls back onto her back and relaxes* :D

Kristy - Ava went to sleep at 2:30am last night, so it's getting better hahaha.

oh man ladies, last night while I was sitting up with ava during her stupid play time, I flopped my boobie out and Ava decided it would be fun to start beating on it! HAHAHA
I took two videos of her beating the **** out of my titty. I wish I could show you, but it's kinda got my big ole tit just hanging out.

Its funny cos a couple of nights ago I remember lying in bed and I was trying to get her attention so I started slapping my tit and she thought it was funny. I totally forgot about it until last night when she decided it would be fun to use my tit as a drum. Hahahah Ava's a funny old bean.

pinkie
12-06-2007, 11:07
Harlequin - Stasia does seem very cat like. Little miss "I'll do what I want, when I want". Right now, she's supposed to be going to sleep so that I can have a shower, get some washing done and get ready for work before MIL comes to look after her. Instead of sleep, she's taking her dummy in and out and talking to it. Very funny, but if I get in the shower when she's not asleep, I can guarantee she'll start screaming like a banshee the second I'm nude and freezing.

Ava sounds like a bag of fun at the moment. They pick up stuff so quickly and remember the funniest things don't they! Stasia is making noises with her hand over her mouth lately. My mum taught her and now she won't stop. She sticks her fist in her mouth and moves it up and down so that it sounds like the old cowboys and indians noise.

Harlequin
12-06-2007, 14:57
Stasia is making noises with her hand over her mouth lately. My mum taught her and now she won't stop. She sticks her fist in her mouth and moves it up and down so that it sounds like the old cowboys and indians noise.

OMG Ava does that too!!
I always thought it was because I would do the indian noise with her, but it must just be a baby thing! :laughing:

Baileyjaysmum
12-06-2007, 20:06
hi everyone

Pinkie- in relation to childcare, I am appalled at the system. I pay less for Bailey to be in childcare now because I am on maternity leave than when I was working. Work that out - it should be the other way around - pay less for childcare when you are working and more if you arent working. It is not fair and there are people out there that abuse the system. I think that is why you have to way up whether it is worth going back to work or not. This is the point that my DH is trying to make at the moment. Is it worth me going back to work when we have to pay double childcare fees. You get no discount (at my centre anyway) for having two kids in daycare. The government should reward mums for going back to work not making it harder. I think daycare is the best thing for kids to develope their social skills - thats my opinion. I will be going back to work because I need adult interaction and I have became so lazy being at home. I get up and think I have the rest of the day to do the housework and than I look at the clock and it is 3.00 and the day is gone. I need structure in my life and working will give me this even if it is only three days a week. I am really tired of waking up and doing housework all day - I feel like housework is my life at the moment:eek:

Rant over for the day.

Last night Charlize was grunting really bad and I worked out that she hadnt pooed for two days and was blocked up. I gave her a bottle of brown sugar and water and today she has pooed all day. I felt so sorry for her but at least she has got it out of her system. I dont know what was doing this to her. Pinkie - I think you said you gave Stasia some drops - what are the name of this? Just for future reference.

I am going to Carindale tomorrow to have Charlize weighed. she is seven and half months - where has the time gone.

Our new house settles on Thursday :smiliedance: we than have four weeks to gradually move which is great.

Sorry I feel like I have :ecomcity: :ecomcity: tonight. Hope all the bubs are good and I will let you know have the big weigh in goes tomorrow - I think she will be around 6.5kg - she is such a string bean.

pinkie
13-06-2007, 00:04
Kristy - Yes we live in a country that encourages laziness and bludging but if everyone did that, there wouldn't be any money to pay the lazies with :laughing:

I am very seriously considering becoming a Nimbin hippy and living in a shack and growing organic veges, running around in the nude and procreating. Sounds like bliss after the crappy shift I just had!

And that is my rant for the day!

Coloxyl drops is what I've been putting in Stasia food to help the old turdies along their way. Same thing we give the oldies at work. Funny how we enter and leave this world in the same state!

Harlequin
13-06-2007, 01:11
Ava cut her first tooth!
I found it at 10:30 tonight while she was eating my finger. :D
It's the front bottom left one (my left)
How exciting. It's good to know her cruddy sleeping was because of teeth!!

And there's only a mouthful to go... how exciting ;)

Baileyjaysmum
13-06-2007, 05:43
WELL GONE AVA ON YOUR NE TOOTHY PEG :smiliedance: - NOW YOU CAN BIT MUMMYS BOOBIE!!!!!

alybel
13-06-2007, 12:31
yay Ava, Samantha woke up with a tooth today as well!!! Well, just a tiny bit of a white bit has popped through the gum.

And, drum roll please..... Sam is crawling!!! Finally!

Got to go, she needs a sleep

but just wanted to say that I dont' think the childcare system is right either, we are paying a lot more than double to have 2 children in now that I am at work, rather than the money I was paying to put 1 in while I was on maternity leave. Doesn't make sense...

And, I always seem to be paying for childcare on public holidays as well, trust me to pick a monday!!

Baileyjaysmum
13-06-2007, 14:17
Well done to Samantha on the new toothy peg and crawling. I just looked at my post to Harlequin this morning - mind the spelling errors - I was typing in the dark with charlize on my lap. But I am sure you know what I meant!

Harlequin
13-06-2007, 15:00
Kristy, I was wondering what the deal with your post was hahahha. Don't give Ava any ideas.
It's funny tho cos I was thinking feeds felt slightly different.

Go Sam!! Congrats on her little tooth too! Our girls are speeding along I reckon. They rock :D

Baileyjaysmum
13-06-2007, 18:42

Here are Charlize's state from her weigh in today as i guessed she is still a string bean but oh so cute!

14/06/2007 (Seven Months)
Weight - 6.58kg
Height - 63.5cm
Head - 42.7cm

pinkie
13-06-2007, 23:22
Congrats to Ava and Sam on the teeth and Sam for crawling. STILL no teeth or crawling here!

Alison - What's with the paying for a public holiday rubbish? I've always thought that was pretty crappy. The damn staff aren't there so why should you pay. Fine, pay for days you are committed to but don't show up for but charging for a day when staff aren't even there is way to rich for my liking.

I did the kiddies walk at Roma St today with some of the ladies from my mothers group. It was OK, not overly interesting though. The parklands however are lovely and I'm keen to go more often just to walk around/lay on the grass etc. It's so lovely there.

OOOOhh! I bought the nicest new bed linen at DJ's today. I love sales! Perhaps a little too much. :devil6:

youngones
14-06-2007, 19:32
Kristy - I know what you mean about the string bean thing. Lily is long, but weighs about the same as Charlize, despite getting about 900ml of milk and 3 huge solid feeds a day. Little devil just burns it all off.

Congrats to all the toothy bubs and Alybel - my sympathies now you have two moving around all over the place.

Don't get me back on the childcare debacle. It just makes me so mad. MIL spent the day here today running through our routine. As I suspected, Lily was hungry enough to take food from her and EBM, though she wasn't very happy about the latter, but I could almost see her weighing up the 'bottle vs boobie' debate in her mind while she knew she was getting the same product, she's still not terribly impressed with the bottle. However, going to sleep was a different matter. She ROARED and ROARED and ROARED, the result of which was that she didn't sleep at all today until after her 3pm BF, which she hoovered down.

Hopefully, DH can feed her breakfast and get her down to sleep before MIL arrives and while I leave for work, then regardless of whether she sleeps during the day, I can be home by 4pm at the latest most days, so I can get her off to sleep with a boobie bribe then...:D

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
15-06-2007, 16:08

it has been a while since i popped in here.

CONGRATS to everyones bubbas whi have toothy pegs and are crawling...

No toothy pegs here...BUT
CRAWLING....he started 'official' cralwing upon hands and feet last saturday....so exciting...

Over the week he has got faster at it...lol

He discovered the bin today, the gym and the vertical blinds (trying to eat them)...and he loves chasing after the cats...hehe...soooo cute!!

he is doing really well....just wish these teeth would pop thru...u can see it sitting just under the gum and his gums are very swollen...

Hope everyone is well...
xoxox

pinkie
15-06-2007, 23:05
I think I'm going to have one of those babies who doesn't get teeth untill she's one! She's been awfully whingy the last few weeks and really not sleeping so I thought it might be teeth, but there really isn't too much swelling or redness in her gums. Now I'm thinking it might be a bit of seperation anxiety caus she's getting soooooo excited when she sees me. I think she's worried every time I leave that I'm not coming back. Then when she sees me, it's like, Yay, she does love me and came back. I hope the poor thing isn't really missing me too much.

She went to sleep the easiest tonight in the last few weeks. It only took two official attempts (only actually removed her from cot/nursery once to calm her) She's been asleep since about 8:30 (3hrs so far) and that's great compared to recent times.

Hopefully I might actually get some real rest tonight.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
16-06-2007, 12:08
I think I'm going to have one of those babies who doesn't get teeth untill she's one! She's been awfully whingy the last few weeks and really not sleeping so I thought it might be teeth, but there really isn't too much swelling or redness in her gums. Now I'm thinking it might be a bit of seperation anxiety caus she's getting soooooo excited when she sees me. I think she's worried every time I leave that I'm not coming back. Then when she sees me, it's like, Yay, she does love me and came back. I hope the poor thing isn't really missing me too much.

She went to sleep the easiest tonight in the last few weeks. It only took two official attempts (only actually removed her from cot/nursery once to calm her) She's been asleep since about 8:30 (3hrs so far) and that's great compared to recent times.

Hopefully I might actually get some real rest tonight.

Hope you got a good nights sleep! And yep i would have to agree, maybe seperation anxiety...at least you know she misses you...hehe....:)

pinkie
17-06-2007, 01:07
Jackie - Wow! Sounds like little Keanu is scooting along nicely. My lazy bum bubba is doing a whole lot of nothing lately. She does love sitting up in her pram and looking around the shops though. I have a little fashionista on my hands. I'm very excited about moulder her style :p

Maybe we've been doing too much shopping and not enough playing on the ground? Nope, it's impossible to do too much shopping :laughing:

Off to my parish fete tomorrow. Should be fun. I'm such a granny. I'm going to buy knitted covered coathangers and those crocheted tea towels you hang off a handle in the kitchen. Ahhh bliss! Not to mention home cooked goodies of all kinds.

Harlequin
17-06-2007, 03:15
Man I'm so tired. Ava's been going to bed after 3am for ages now. *zombie face*

As for her escapades, well her latest thing is to crawl over to the edge of the playpen and stand up. I've turned around a couple of times now to find her standing there watching me!
I have to pick her up because she might fall down and hurt herself. So much for the playpen allowing me to have some free time *sigh*

She's still not sleeping anywhere but on me as well. So I seriously have no life and the house is a mess.

http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/irene.m/June2007/photo#5075544139499243922
That's a photo of her just before she's about to stand up. Little bugger.

She was sick the other night, I'm not sure if any of you saw my post about that. It was horrible. She projectile vomited everywhere, went all pale, her lips were blue and she was all woozy looking. Thankfully after the vomit her lips got some colour back, as did her face and she slowly got better. I stayed up most of the night keeping an eye on her because I was so worried.
I reckon it was the bloody bath toy she grabbed from the side of the bath and shoved in her mouth before I could stop her. It was slimy. I think it had been sitting in old soapy water or something.
I threw out all her little squirty bath toys. I don't like how they keep water inside.

I'm tired. *grumble* Stupid baby teeth.

Congrats on the crawling Jackie! Isn't it fun watching them get around? :D

Pinkie, It could still be teething. Ava's gums have never looked red or sore or anything to suggest a tooth was going to cut through, but there it is. They still look nice and pink and normal.
She's been incredibly clingy for a few weeks now as well, so maybe you will feel a little tooth sometime soon? Either that or both our bubs just have separation anxiety and love their mummas heaps and it's just a coincidence that Ava cut a tooth at the same time as being whingy :D

pinkie
17-06-2007, 23:35
Harlequin - I hope Ava's OK! I'm very wary of those bath toys. The sling bath we use came with some plastic thingys that you fill with water and pour over bubs and my DH always leaves them in the bath with water in them. Very gross caus it goes all slimey. Then he uses them the next day, double gross.

Sometimes, when babies spew (adults too for that matter) they inhale some into their lungs and it makes them a bit blue for a while (slows down oxygen transfer). Mostly it's not too much of a problem but you did the right thing by keeping an eye on her. It's better to be safe than sorry.

The new endevour prize home is right near my house. I'm so excited. Usually DH and I make a special trip to see the homes. I'm such a sticky beek and I love imagining my life in one. I'm certain I'll win this one! I might go visit it every day, I can walk, and I need the exercise!

Harlequin
18-06-2007, 01:23
Cheers pinkie. She's totally fine now, thank God. She actually went kinda blue lipped before she vomited. I think it was the chills, she was quite cold... you know how when you are gonna be sick you get all cold?
Poor thing.

I'm not buying squirty toys anymore.
Toys r Us has a sale on at the moment... as usual ehhe, so I'm gonna go get a few things for her and might grab one of those little bath waterfall thingies or somesuch. Something she can watch but not put in her mouth!

pinkie
18-06-2007, 17:28

Gee it's been quiet in here of late. We must all be too busy with our little bundles of joy :laughing:

My munchkin has been a rat bag lately. She has, however, slept through the last two nights. She'll be awake all night tonight now that I've said that.

She's been really whingy all day everyday unless we are out and about. She was into it today and I decided to invite one of the girls from my mother's group over to provide some amuzement and it work a treat! Both babies loved playing together. And I got to have a HOT cup of coffee and some cake. Now I had better go fold the two sets of bed linen that have been kicking around the ironing room, put away the 7 loads of washing that have been piling up this last week, do 4 days of washing up and I suppose I might make myself some dinner (DH is working till 10pm so I'm home alone). Bubs is asleep right now. She crashed when my friend left which was the effect I was hoping for. I had better make the most of the time.

Hope to talk soon

Harlequin
18-06-2007, 17:50
MM a hot coffee would be nice right now.

My washing is all over the laundry. The clean stuff is all over the loungeroom :D

I figured out how many teeth Ava has today, there are 3, can you believe it!?

I turned around a moment ago to find her standing again. Little monkey. I wish she wouldn't do it, it's rather dangerous! Luckily she has a monkey grip.

I made her a rattle yesterday. I used one of her Avent bottles and put the lid on with the plug REALLY tight. Inside I have some beads. She loves playing with it but every now and then I have to twist the lid to make sure its on sturdy.

I might buy her a rattle from toys r us tomorrow.

Baileyjaysmum
18-06-2007, 18:53
Harlequin - i cant believe Ava is standing! That is so good - well done. Also three teethy pegs - she is out in front I think.

Pinkie - Dont get me started on the washing - I think I wash all day and than by Wednesday I have the lounge chair covered in folding. It is a never ending cycle!

Charlize has been really whingy the last few days - I cant put her down or she will scream. I dont know if it is an attention thing or teeth. I am going to say teeth because she has a running nose as well.

Not much else been happening - I have been busy packing up our house - fun stuff.

Harlequin
18-06-2007, 19:19
Here's a movie of her standing, it's very small so it should load quickly. :)
http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/AvaMarieMovies2/JuneMovies2007/photo#5077322539545970530

Her teeth have been bugging her today. She's nibbleed my nipple a few times and gotten upset when I've roused at her. Poor thing.

pinkie
18-06-2007, 20:07
Oh Harlequin, Ava looks soooo gorgeous in her little beanie hat. She looks a bit like a criminal in her play pen. She's so clever! She'll be an escape artist in no time.

Reminds me of the simpsons ep where Homer starts a day care and Apu brings his octuplets and says "I would like to take advantage of your baby prison". Hahahahahaha! Sssooooooooo funny!

Good luck with the packing Kristy. When's the big move?

Baileyjaysmum
18-06-2007, 20:52
Harlequin - I hate to say it but I think you might have a climber on your hands:eek: She is too little to stand but boy it is cute!!! I think my Charlize is going to be a lazy bub that alright with me because Bailey is sooo active and has always been. Boy does it hurt when they nibble at your nipple! Charlize always gets a fright when I go mad on her for doing it - it is mainly at like 2.00am that she does this when she is half asleep.

Pinkie - Our new house settles on Wednesday but the house we are in now settle on the 20th of July so I am gradually going to move in and want to be settled in the new house a week before this house settle - if that makes sense.

You would not believe it - our hot water system packed it in today! I just had enough hot water to fill the bath for the kids but looks like DH and I will be having a sponge bath! Typically it could have packed it in after we moved.

Harlequin
18-06-2007, 21:23
Haha yeah I love that outfit, she's a little felon.
I kinda wish she wasn't standing up, she seems to think it's just the most awesomest thing in the world. The playpen was the one time I actually could relax and do whatever I wanted, now I have to keep an eye on her in there!

pinkie
19-06-2007, 10:00
Harlequin - You could put a bed doona in there and some pillows and that way she can just fall over and not get hurt. I bought Anastasia one of those little kiddies fold out couches (it's a barbie one) and I put it in the lounge room with the lambswool under it and that way if she falls over and happens to go forward out of the arm rest part, she just head plants into the lambs wool and then starts whinging so I know to go help her up. That's how I usually get the washing up done.

Off to get weighed in a few mins. She's 7 months tomorrow!

19-06-2007, 19:45

Sorry I haven't been in here in a while. Was just wondering if any of you's are meeting up soon? I would love to do coffee :D

Harlequin- Congrats to Ava on cutting her first tooth! :yelclap: I can totally relate about the nibbling on the boobs though, Taliyah likes to dig her two toofys on mine, it HURTS!

Alison- YAY for Sam crawling :D That's fantastic! You'll be chasing her around everywhere now, lol. Taliyah isn't crawling just yet, she gets up on her knees and rocks back & forth though, she tries desperately to crawl and gets so frustrated when she can't. I don't think she's too far off though!

Pinkie- I also love walking through Roma St Parklands, it's so relaxing there and Summer loves the waterfalls! Haven't been there in a while though!

Well Taliyah is driving me nuts with teething! I brought her some bonjella yesterday, does anyone else use it? :fingerscrossed: it works! I never had to use it with Summer but Taliyah seems to be in a lot of pain!

Is anyone else going to the bubhub June dinner meet this Sat night? I am & I am so nervous!!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
19-06-2007, 21:36
WOW....AVA looks sooo cute....so little to be standing..hehe...

Pinkie - i am sure your DD will be crawling in no time - they just grow up too fast!! Next is walking.....

Keanu fianlly cut the tooth...it is just through the gum.....he slept in our room 2 nigts ago on his cot matress as he isn't a bub that likes to co-sleep (wants to mplay instead....and just tosses and turns all night). He was whining in his sleep....poor little darling. it wasn't a full on cry...must have been in some sorts pain....

he seems to be sleeping ok tonight...so good, so far :fingerscrossed: if he wakes will just put the mattress down next to his cot...

It is FREEEEZZZZIIINNNG here...our house is so cold..no insulation - suprise suprise!!

i think i am going to bed...nitey nite!!

Baileyjaysmum
20-06-2007, 08:47
Oh my god how cold is it today! Both my kids have running noses and Charlize is not very happy. I think she is cutting another tooth - well I hope that is the case. I have to go out shortley to get a bank cheque for our house settlement today and I so dont want to take Charlize out in this weather because I dont want a sick bub. Bailey is in daycare today. My two darlings drove me insane yesterday. I dont know if it was the wind - they say the wind does weird things to kids but man they whinged all day. I would put Charlize down and she would be happily playing and as soon as she saw me walk past she would start screaming. I know it is nice to have a mummy's girl but I cant carry her around all day. Does anyone have any ideas on how to stop this?

well better go and do some housework before I go out.

Keep warm everyone!

Baileyjaysmum
20-06-2007, 10:20
I forgot to say Mum&bubs I would be up for coffee soon!

leebee
20-06-2007, 10:44
Hi there everyone,

some of you I may have chatted to and others not so here is a quick intro. Me: 33 (eek, 34 next tue!!!) bubba: 8 months next wed! WOW, how quickly has that time gone by?! I was only pregnant for 9 months and that seemed like an eternity, but these precious days with Lee just fly by and I just want to slow them all down and hold on to every moment just that little bit longer...

I thought I would join in because you all seem to have bubs around his age and I wanted to find out if anyoen else has experienced these night errors that Lee sems to be having (for the last 2.5weeks). He wakes up randomly through the night screaming his little lungs out and it is really hard to console him. he was such a good sleeper u until that point, now we are up and down several times a night, sometimes for hours...we are even considering putting his cot in our room again? Is anyone else experiencing this kind of thing?

Any other first time mums thinking about other bubs yet?

pinkie
20-06-2007, 11:45

Welcome Leebee!

I'm up for coffee. Next Mon or Wed are good for me if that's any good for anyone else?

Well, I think I've had a grand total of about 6 or 7 sleep throughs since bubs was born. With work and everything, I'm now chronically overtired and god help you if you annoy me! Bubs wakes very upset about 3 or 4 times a night and the only way to settle her is to put her in bed with me for a feed. This means she spends most of the night in my bed and I get pretty much no sleep. There was even a period there where we couldn't get her down in her cot for her day sleeps caus she was so used to our bed. We've perservered there and she is currently asleep in her cot.

It had been suggested to me by many people (CHN, friends, family, people on here) to try a bottle of formula b4 bed. I had previously resisted this on the basis that with me being away from her working so much and wanting to continue BFing until she self weened, I thought the formula at night would further confuse her. I finally caved last night after a chat with the CHN when she got weighed yesterday. The formula pre bed was the magic cure all in my head untill now and the theory has been shattered into a million tiny little sad pieces.

One large bottle of formula promptly consumed by bubba, fed by daddy, with mummy crying in nearby room from being a failure. And guess what! Damn baby still woke up all night! I no longer have a fall back and I'm going insane. I wonder if the decor at Belmont hospital is nice. I might go admit myself if for no other reason than to get a good sleep. Then in the morning, I'd be magically better and go home. :laughing:

Do you think they'd fall for it?

Seriously though, I really don't know what to do now.

youngones
20-06-2007, 12:06
Hi guys, Iīve been absent for a few days because our computer crashed big time and we had to get a new one. It is only partially up and running and Iīm cold and starving, so am going to keep it quick.

Hi to the newies, love to catch up for a coffee next week (try again) Mon or Tues would be best for me. Its my last week before I start work.

Pinkie Iīm dreading the stumbling tiredness from trying to work and keep being a hands on mum. Washing - ha, we have a washing bed (the single one in Lilyīs room) and two washing chairs - one in our room and one in the spare room. It was my one concession - at least there isnīt washing all over all the beds anymore and I can change the sheets. I was looking at fly lady again the other day. At least I have a shiny sink.... (after I spent two hours cleaning the kitchen the other day I threatened death for anyone who left a mess in it ever again).

alybel
20-06-2007, 13:50
I'd be up for a meet next week too, but I work monday and tuesday, so those days are out for me..

youngones
20-06-2007, 16:22
I could do Wed morning, Thurs, or Fri at this stage. Every second Wed I meet with my motherīs group and next week is our week to meet.

Had an interesting development in the ongoing renovation saga yesterday. I had our builder removed from the property by the police. Iīve put up with his abuse and carry on for too long and yesterday he just exploded for no reason and called me and MIL a pair of b*tches and then called me an a*shole. I asked him to leave several times and then gave him the option again while I was on hold with the police, but he ignored me. Most people, MIL included, allow him to just bully them, but he met his match in me.

The police were great. I was worried I was making a big deal of nothing, but they assured me that verbal abuse was a perfectly acceptable reason to ask someone to leave your property and that his refusal to leave meant he was trespassing. They had the situation pegged after talking to him for about 30 seconds.

What a nasty piece of work. He has carried on like this before, but he has never personally attacked me, so this was just the last straw for me. I called DH to ask him what I should do and he said to call the police. I put DH on the phone to him and he was stupid enough to repeat his insults to DH and then again later to the police, who pointed out to him that I was well within my rights to call them and that that sort of abuse was unacceptable.

MIL now has instructions that if she is here looking after Lily and he shows up, she is to lock the doors and call the police. Just adding another layer of worry to my return to work. Just what I need...

Interestingly, while he was shouting insults at me, I was doing my best to stay calm and rational in front of the bub and in fact, I told him not to use that sort of language in front of her, but it didnīt stop him, Lily developed a new cry - it was really short staccato bursts of crying. She must have picked up on the angry pheromones in the room. Just goes to show how much babies take in, hey?

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
20-06-2007, 16:58
what an A$$hole!!! That isn't nice at all....some people are just utterly rude..and that is putting it nicely....Grrr...you certainly did the right thing..he has no right speaking to you or treating you that way!!!!

Good on you!!

Gee it is sooo cold in our house!! Typical qld houses - no insulation! grrr!

well hubby shud be home soon with tea - having takeaway tonight...nice not to cook and clean dishes :)

leebee
20-06-2007, 17:19
Well, am afradi Mon-Wed are out for us too because they are the days I work...boo sucks to that. I ahte working and wish to god we could afford for me to be a stay at home mum. I went back to work when bub was only 3 months old and hate it hate it hate it! I miss the little man dreadfully...So much so i have just been bawling my eyes out this afternoon cos I am working late and have been worried I might miss seeing ihm and feeding him before bed...not to mention the fact I am in BOOB AGONY. Today of all days I decided not to express for a change. ARGHHH!!!

Will's Mummy
21-06-2007, 09:41

It is just too cold again today. I so couldn't live anywhere colder than QLD. Mind you, if I did, I probably would have decent heating in the house and would be nice and warm. I went shopping all day yesterday just to get out of the cold...not good for the credit card bill!

Will has taken to waking a few times most nights lately too. He has gone from a perfect baby who slept through from 8 weeks old to waking every few hours for the last two weeks. Most of the time he is easy to settle but I have resorted to bringing him into our bed a few times. He even spent the whole night in our bed on Saturday. I think it might be the cold weather - even though he has three layers on, flannies and three blankets he seems to get so cold. We put a heater in his room last night and socks on his hands. He still woke up but was easier to settle. I just want winter to be over!!!!

Pinkie, I hope you get some sleep soon - I shouldn't be complaining, at least Will has slept through for most of his short little life.

Youngones - I can't believe how your builder spoke to you. I am glad you stood up for yourself. Does he still have work to do at your place?

I would be up for a meet sometime soon too but the next two weeks don't really suit me as hubby is on holidays and we have in laws visiting. Maybe the next meet I will be there.

Have a great day everyone!

21-06-2007, 09:44
Hi girls :wave:

Just a quick one because I'm about to meet up with another bubhubber at the park (I know and it's FREEZING!) Um Monday & Tues are out for me for coffee. But I'm fine with the other days!

Luv Krissy xx

youngones
21-06-2007, 10:09
Hi all, yes, unfortunately the job isnīt finished, but weīre not having him back. He still has some tools to pick up, but he has to organise that with DH and one of us will have to be here when he comes, because I just donīt trust him.

Lily has been waking up during the night too, after about two weeks of sleeping through. I am sure she is waking because she is cold. I think weīre just going to have to get her a couple of sleeping bags, because she wriggles out of her wrap and out from under the blankets and her little hands are just icy when I pick her up.

She is doing this really weird thing when she is going off to sleep - she burrows her head into whatever she can, so we have put a latex pillow (too heavy for her to move) into the cot and she burys her face in it - does anyone else have a bub doing this? Do you think it might be because her head is cold?

Is anyone putting a hat on bubs at night? I know that SIDS say not to, because bubs can over heat, but surely with this weather it would be ok to do that?

We have insulation and central heating, but it costs a fortune to run it, as we have so many windows and french doors, so I think weīll just try putting an oil column heater in her room.

leebee
21-06-2007, 13:41
i hear you about the chilly nights, and I also worry that Lee might be freezing....but I don't actually think it is that anymore. I too put socks on his hands and a hat on his head (just a really lightweight cotton beanie) aswell as having him dressed in a polar fleece sleepsuit inside a sleeping bag and under a cotton blanket and doona (geez, sounds a bit over the top now that I put it in writing!) but he still woke up randomly throughout the night. A few times I have brought him in to bed with us also and just fed him to sleep...I know that's not the greatest thing to do in terms of sleep training but you have got to admit, it is so lovely!!! Anyway, I have come to the conculsion that it is the age he is at now (almost 8 months) and he will grow out of it... (wishful thinking???)!

Harlequin
21-06-2007, 16:02
She is doing this really weird thing when she is going off to sleep - she burrows her head into whatever she can, so we have put a latex pillow (too heavy for her to move) into the cot and she burys her face in it - does anyone else have a bub doing this? Do you think it might be because her head is cold?

Ava's been doing that for a while.. if its the same thing.
She will 'sleep crawl' and kinda burrow into the pillows on the bed, or me. Whatever's closer ;)

I just put it down to her wanting to crawl, because she does love crawling. I just figured she wasn't very good at it at night haha

When you feel the top of her head, is it still warm? I usually go by that... if the top of Ava's head isn't radiating warmth like usual then I figure she needs another layer. I don't like feeling her head and finding it coolish.

OH another thing.
I've also found that Ava does the burrowing thing when she's wet or has pood a little and I haven't noticed. It's like she's trying to get away from her nappy.

Personally though, with ava, I think its just cos shes a little wired before bed.

Has Lily cut a tooth yet? It could be teething related, like trying to rub her face against stuff.
Ava's been doing this weird stuff for a while and she's been teething and has cut those three teeth, so maybe that's it too?

youngones
21-06-2007, 19:01
Harlequin, I wonder about the tooth thing because she has two buds, that are really just white bumps one on top and one on the bottom, but no fang action yet. She is drooling a little more than usual, but not much compared with other bubs I have seen. I honestly havenīt felt her head while sheīs sleeping, so maybe Iīll do that tonight. She has always been a wriggler, but lately, it is just bizarre.

When she has woken up during the night this week, I just let DH take her into the other room. If I put her in bed with me, she opens her little magpie mouth and bleats for milk. She hasnīt had a boobie feed over night now for a few weeks and I want to keep it that way. In fact, Iīd like over the next few months to get her to drop the dream feed as well, but that might be a pipe dream with me going back to work and all. She still isnīt enamoured by the bottle, unless I am holding it.

I was in a flat panic this morning when I put my latest liquid gold deposit in the freezer bank in the laundry - the fan in the deep freeze wasnīt running and I though it was because the freezer had stopped - silly me - it is just so freakinī cold outside that the freezer didnīt need to run the fan. Was stressing so much about losing all that boob juice I have been storing for my imminent return to work...

Baileyjaysmum
21-06-2007, 20:11

It has been busy in here today.

Youngones - Sorry to hear about your stupid builder - I hope you find a nicer one to finish your work.

Pinkie - I hear you about giving the bottle of formula as the last feed hoping they will sleep through. I tried this for about a month and it did nothing so I dropped it. I gave her a bottle tonight after her last boobie feed hoping she will sleep through as it is so bloody cold to get up and feed!!!

Leebee - Welcome to the thread - look forward to chatting with you.

Will's mummy - It must be good to have you DH on holidays for the next two weeks - enjoy and have a break yourself - you deserve it!

Harlequin - I meant to ask you has Ava cut a top tooth? I just wondered if that is the next one they cut after the two bottom ones?

I can do coffee on a Wednesday if that suits everyone.

Well my lounge room floor is covered in my never ending pile of folding so I better do it otherwise we will have no where to stand.

talk soon

Harlequin
21-06-2007, 22:20
Nope no top tooth.
Just the bottom. Mind you I'm just assuming its 3... it looks like three, but it could be two I guess. It's really hard to tell :D

pinkie
21-06-2007, 22:20

Just popping in for a quick hello! No time for personals but I have read up, and I think I'm up to date. Sounds as though Wed morning seems to suit most people (I know not all but I think it's the highest number). Someone else want to pick where and when? My attempts seem to have been dodgy lately so someone else be the bossy britches.

Rug up and I hope you all sleep well tonight.

xoxoxoxo

kirra
22-06-2007, 09:39
Hi mums and bubs. Haven't been on for a week or so just been busy with stuff and Liam. Hope we are all well and coping with teething.

Liam is teething BIG time oh dear Mr cranky pants is driving me nuts. Poor Sod I know he is like that because he is in pain and uncomfortable but still . Good thing is he is now rolling more and more since we got him the foam ABC mat now he rolls on his tummy then cracks it so I have to roll him back. I had a look at his gums last night always hard to see them as he bites down as soon as i put my hand near him anyway i saw a tiny bit of white. he seems to be happier yesterday and this morning so hopefully the worst has gone for that tooth anyway. He hasn't been sleeping the best for a month now since he was sick weds night he slept 7 hours had a feed then went down for another 5 hours thought that was good but last night he slept for 13 hours He was up for 1.5 hours this morning and has gone back to bed.

I am giving liam 2 solids feeds a day he enjoys them but untill he really wants a lot I am not going to push it I want him to get all the breastmilk he needs and I don't want to risk my supply dropping. I tried him with the baby yogurt and he had the same reaction as he does when I drink cows milk so will leave it till after 12 months. He can tolerate the dry baby custard that you mix with milk I just use my milk and he is great with it. Sorry if I have mentioned this before.

Ok going to have a shower while bubs is in bed. Have a great weekend

22-06-2007, 09:44
Hi girls :wave:

Has teething made any of your bubs go off solids? Because Taliyah just isn't interested anymore. I used to give her three meals a day, brekkie, lunch & dinner but now she has none of that- only a bikkie. I'm not sure if she just wants to be independent or it's teething. Because she's happy to get the spoon out and try to feed herself?

Brrr it's freezing! So maybe a place to meet up could be somewhere WARM :D

kirra
22-06-2007, 10:03
Yeah liam went off solids and boob juice last week and this week. Was concerned as he wasn't on the boob for long and thought he wasn't having enough but read a few things saying they are so good at their job now that it doesn't take long a all sometime a few mins....
hmmm

Well Its been bloody cold down here in melb for the last 3 weeks. Colder than normal this time of year or maybe I am noticing it more as I am not working. Anyway the ducted heating has been going the whole time on and off. At nights I have to check liam as he ends up sweating at times the house is so hot.......

Have a good one.

pinkie
22-06-2007, 18:46
Megan - Sucks about your rude builder. Hope you have recovered from the trauma!

Krissy - One of the bubs in my mums group went off solids for over a week when she was getting some teeth. All she would have was yoghurt. We concluded that it was cold and therefore felt nice on her sore gums. STILL no teeth here!

Kirra - OMG 13hrs. I'm sooooooo jealous words can not describe how I feel.

Cold nights - We've been putting Stasia in two long arm/ leg suits with a sleeping bag and then two thick blankets. We've also added the oil column heater to her room caus it's so darn cold with the wood floors.

My hot tip for winter is to use the summer short sleeved body suits instead of singlets. It means their little backs aren't always exposed when you pick them up if they are wearing jeans/pants etc. Singlets always ride up and it anoys me. The girls in my mums group thought it was a fabulous idea and I thought I'd mention it in case some of you hadn't thought of it.

Went for a huge walk today from the park under the story bridge to Southbank, had a coffee and then walked back. Feel so much better for finally getting off my fat bum and doing some exercise. Stasia loved the new scenery.

Come on, someone choose a place for Wed morning.

Harlequin
22-06-2007, 19:37
I sometimes use the summer suits as singlets during the day. I hate how the singlets ride up too.
At night Ava wears a wondersuit, though so I don't need to do that. :)

It's so cold here. We are waiting on getting our AC fixed and it just isn't happening. I think I'm gonna end up with chilblains on my fingers.
I even bought a $40 big fluffy night gown thingy to wear around the house and a $29 thermal singlet today!

Stupid cold. I hates it.
I never know if Ava is warm enough. It's so annoying.
I haven't been bathing her much lately because I don't want her to freeze when she gets out of the bath.

I wish I could come for a meet with you guys.

alybel
22-06-2007, 20:38
I've been using the summer suits as singlets as well, or the bonds singlets that clip up. It is really cold here too, she usually sleeps with a long-sleeved bodysuit on, then some fleecy pj's as well. A blanket on her at night as well, and a heater in her room. Seems pretty warm when I check on her.

My ds has finally learnt how to sleep with a blanket! He actually stays under it most nights.

Did I tell you that Samantha got her second tooth a couple days ago and she is now furniture walking!

Baileyjaysmum
22-06-2007, 21:13
Alybel - Well done on Sam new toothy peg and the furniture walking!!!

Harlequin - I wish you could came to the meet as well - we will take photos for you!

I dont really know where to go unless we go to a shopping centre like Carindale or Garden City?

Pinkie - You walk sounded so nice I really need to get out and do some exercise. I was walking with a friend in the mornings before the kids got up but it is way too cold.

Charlize had dinner at 4.30pm tonight and than fell asleep in the car by 5.30 without boob. I think I am in for a long night.

Off to bed

Harlequin
23-06-2007, 02:58
Woohoo photos! :)
Hope you all have fun on your meet anyhow.

My shoulder is so sore, it's been sore for a long time. I'm getting my masseuse to come out tomorrow at 2pm yay!! She's awesome.

I don't get a moments break with Ava anymore. You put her on the floor and she clambers up the side of the pen. She does it in her portacot too. Hopefully she will learn to balance better soon so I won't have to worry.

I went shopping today with her and the hubbie. Instead of taking the pram we took the Ergo. Last time she got grumpy in the pram and I ended up having to carry her around.
This time she was asleep for the whole shop!

I took her in the ergo to this fruit market earlier in the week and she was hungry so I just popped my boob out and she was feeding and noone knew, it was great :D

I always meet lovely ladies when I am out with Ava. They will comment on her and then we get chatting about babies and birth and all that stuff. It's great. It makes me want more friends though. I don't have enough.

youngones
23-06-2007, 18:44
leebee - I know what you mean about wanting to be a SAHM. I honestly donīt know how I am supposed to do all the stuff I currently do and still work 3 full days a week, plus a couple of hours paperwork each day. I am lousy at doing paperwork.

It is so nice also to hear all of you talking about your piles and piles of unfolded washing lying around. It makes me feel more normal and less like a slacker.

Harlequin - I always take Lily in the babybjorn shopping. It just makes my life so much easier than pushing a pram or putting her in one of those grotty shopping trolley things.

Well, we spent the day today in the rain, filling a 6 cubic meter skip with **** from our back yard. The skip is full, we are utterly exhausted and there is still a few piles of rubbish and timber to go. I would guess about another 4 meters, but at least I wonīt break my neck walking in the yard now and hopefully, there wonīt be any places for ratty or snakey to hide, so the dogs might not be quite so psychotic.

I am also glad to see that I am not the only one covering my bub up in heaps of layers. She would still rather hug a pillow to sleep and prefers to sleep across her cot, rather than down it, but as long as she sleeps, Iīm happy. Last night was not good. Teeth must be on the way because she HOWLED from about 3.30am and couldnīt be consoled, but there was no way I was going to feed her.

Next week there is no swimming class for Lily, so Wed morning is ok for me. How about we try Roma St Parklands again, or should we go for something like Southbank or the park under the Storey Bridge?

23-06-2007, 20:27

I am feeling like cr@p at the moment. I went to the Brisbane June dinner meet tonight and Karl dropped me & another bubhubber off. During my dinner I got a phonecall from my mum saying that Karl & the kids had been in a car accident :(

They are all okay though but the car is pretty f*cked up- realllly bad. I don't care about the car though, I'm just so thankful my kids and Karl are okay!!!

Still though that's our only car :(

Baileyjaysmum
23-06-2007, 21:25
Mum&bubs - That must have given you such a fright! I am glad to hear Karl and the girls are alright. Sorry that the car is in a bad way but better the car than the kids. Was there any injuries? I hope not. I hope you are feeling better soon! You are probably in a state of shock! I know I would have been if I got a call like that. Big :hugs: to you!