View Full Version : Favourite restaurant
somedaysoon
04-01-2006, 07:37 PM
Well, I thought I would start my first chatty thread on this forum and ask what your favourite restaurant is in Adelaide. I have a few - Citrus (Hutt St), Eros (Rundle St), Auge (Grote St), Star of Greece (Port Noarlunga) and Bridgewater Mill to name a few.
What are yours?
Mummy_Johnno
09-01-2006, 09:36 PM
Hi i am new to this chatting thing but i really enjoyed the food at Zambraccas in Melbourne street North Adelaide. It is like a pizza, pasta type of place.
the_queen
09-01-2006, 09:49 PM
I don't eat out much, but up here in the northern suburbs we have gone a few times to The Slug and Lettuce, it's a full-on Brittish-style pub and has fantastic meals. When I first stepped in there, I felt like I was in Coronation Street or something!! :D
wattle
09-01-2006, 09:49 PM
Just thought I'd pop in and say my fav restaurant is Richmond Hill Cafe and Larder (Stephanie Alexanders restaurant - it rocks) in Bridge Rd, Richmond.
Yes it's in MELBOURNE, but I don't know any restaurants in Adelaide. :D
Mummy_Johnno
09-01-2006, 09:51 PM
I have eaten at the Slug before and it was a good hearty meal. You say you are from the north, where abouts? I live in Blakeview
razzle
09-01-2006, 09:51 PM
I recommend Grumpy's in the Adelaide Hills (Hahndorf). Far and away the best garlic pizza this side of Melbourne.
wattle
09-01-2006, 09:54 PM
Aaaaaaaaaagh don't mention garlic. My MIL made dh some lunch today - garlic with chicken. (It was supposed to be chicken with garlic, but man did she overdo the garlic)
Can someone please pass me a peg..... or a gas mask. It's nearly bed time :eek:
Mamaduke
09-01-2006, 10:09 PM
Hi, I'm from Melbourne but DH would kill me if I didn't put up a nomination for the chicken schnitzels at the German Arms Hotel in Hahndorf.
We were there 8 years ago and he STILL compares every bl**dy chicken schnitzel to the one in Hahndorf!!! Even had his photo taken with the schnitzel...it was $5.00 back then and that's another thing he compares, "Well, the schnitzel in Hahndorf was only $5 and it was heaps better than this one!" I've tried to tell him that I'm pretty sure they wouldn't be $5 anymore but he still compares:confused:
My favourite was the Glenelg BBQ Inn (I'm not sure this is the correct name), loved the steaks bewdiful;)
When I was a kid and we went to Adelaide for hols our favourite place was the "Pink Pig" - does anyone know if it's still around? I am talking 22 years ago...OMG, am I that old?:eek:
JenNT
09-01-2006, 10:55 PM
McDonalds at Casuarina * ouch feels slap in the back of head from Rissa :p
Seriously best restuarant is in Brisbane...The Valley Cnr on Brunswick Street, great Vietnamese/Chinese!! God i miss it!!
Mummy+T+C
10-01-2006, 07:56 AM
If you like Eros you should have been at our meet on Sunday - we had it at Eros!
My favourite restaurant is the House of Jade at Sheidow Park. The yummiest chinese food ever!!!
the_queen
10-01-2006, 09:40 AM
Mummy_Johnno I'm in Paralowie. :)
Mummy_Johnno
10-01-2006, 10:21 PM
Queen
I feel funny writing that! Or should i put ' your highness " LOL
Are you part of any mothers group? I have been trying to find one that i could join without luck as yet. It would be nice to get to know other expecting mothers or mothers who have children already.
Any ideas or thoughts?
btw. I am 28 years old and have a labrador called Bain ( he is like having a 5 year old child ) LOL
Mummy_Johnno
10-01-2006, 10:24 PM
Mummy & Tai
The is such a beautiful name Tai, quite unique. I love it
Where do i find out information about meeting with people. You mentioned that you met at Eros on Sunday. Is that a Bub Hub mother group or personal?? I would love to come along next time if i am welcome !!!!!
My Little Lucas is due April 14th
BlessedWithBlue
10-01-2006, 11:27 PM
We don't eat out any more, 'cause my ods tends to get more energy than he already has and he runs an absolute muck:(
Df and I love Mexican food, our fave restaurant is Gringos at Glenelg.
My grandparents are always raving about The Slug and Lettuce, when ods learns how to behave a bit better (or if grandma wants to baby sit lol) we may try it out.
We're in the Western subs but my grandparents are in the Northern and we take the kids down there quite a lot.
Mummy+T+C
11-01-2006, 08:44 AM
Mummy & Tai
The is such a beautiful name Tai, quite unique. I love it
Where do i find out information about meeting with people. You mentioned that you met at Eros on Sunday. Is that a Bub Hub mother group or personal?? I would love to come along next time if i am welcome !!!!!
My Little Lucas is due April 14th
Hey there,
The meet up on Sunday was just a group of us bub hub girls in the Adelaide thread. We meet up reasonably often, although Sunday was my first meet since joining bub hub.
You're more than welcome to participate in the adelaide mum's thread and come to the next meet. We're a friendly bunch. We don't bite unless you ask us too :D
M O P
11-01-2006, 09:09 AM
Yes the Pink Pig is still in O'Connell St, North Adelaide. It's recently been done up a bit I think from the last time I drove past. I've never eaten there though.
My favourite is Cafe Parlmento on North Terrace. I've never had a bad meal there ever!:D
willsmum
11-01-2006, 12:50 PM
I live near Norwood Parade, so there's heaps to choose. But best one of all is Parade Thai. V daggy to look at but excellent food. The Tom Yum rocks.
Love Manto or Bravo for pizza.
Best for steak in town is either Cork & Cleaver at Glenunga or Alphutte in the city.
Nepalese - try Sagamartha on Payneham Rd at Stepney.
And if you work in town & want a good old-fashioned pub lunch, try upstairs at Ambassadors on King William St. The chicken schnitty with pepper sauce and salad can't be beat. And if they have tuna patties on the specials board, they are just like your grandma makes and they come all smothered in gravy. Yum.
Mummy_Johnno
11-01-2006, 03:16 PM
Siobhan
I would love to come to the next meet. I dont have any children as yet. Does that matter? I am so confused arghhhh
Also how do i find out when the next one is?????
Mummy+T+C
11-01-2006, 07:41 PM
Siobhan
I would love to come to the next meet. I dont have any children as yet. Does that matter? I am so confused arghhhh
Also how do i find out when the next one is?????
If you join in the Adelaide mum's thread (found in the pregnancy section.. too lazy to link it) then you'll be up to date with everything :)
No it doesn't matter that you don't have a kid yet either!!
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.