View Full Version : god I need sleep

mummoss
04-05-2007, 09:45
:sleeping: opps sorry so tired lol I need some tips my 7 month old DS wont sleep more then two 1/2 hour naps in the day and wakes 3 times a night I am so tired he is so full on all day walking along furnature or crawling or climbing me constantly its like hes hypo wish I was. He is bf and on solids but he seems to be feeding off me all the time in the last 2 days which started when my AF returned i have tryed everything to keep my milk up wonder if its not enough if hes hungry and not sleeping or just not sleeping :confused: if I dont get sleep soon I feel like I am going to pass out :sleeping: opps there I go again, today he just keeps feeding and crying at me HELP

Mahjong
04-05-2007, 10:23
Does he have any teeth yet?

DS' sleeping patterns were terrible when he had teeth cutting at that age and his appetite actually increased.

I dont really have any advice for you sorry, maybe some nice teething rings cooled in the fridge or panadol if you think he's in pain?

mummoss
04-05-2007, 10:25
yep he has 2 teeth they came through really well

tyler's mum
04-05-2007, 10:27
Tyler has always been a bad day sleeper, My best advice is try to sleep when ur little one does.. I know thats hard if he/she only has like 20mins

Do you have anyone who can maybe watch the little one for a few hours a week for you to get some rest???

Mahjong
04-05-2007, 10:28
Might be an idea to go for a walk in the fresh air, the walk may just tire him out enough for him to plop off to sleepy land for a bit, I know it's hard as you are tired, but trust me, it'll help LOL!

Have you got anyone to help you out?

mummoss
04-05-2007, 10:32
Tyler has always been a bad day sleeper, My best advice is try to sleep when ur little one does.. I know thats hard if he/she only has like 20mins

Do you have anyone who can maybe watch the little one for a few hours a week for you to get some rest???

no saddly my DH tends to fall asleep while watching DS and may I say what a beautiful little girl you have

Wyattsmama: I have been walking every day since he was born in the mornings he thinks its a adventure lol

mummoss
04-05-2007, 10:53
I am that tired I am concidering putting him on formular so I dont feel so drained any more I am honestly feeling so run down I really wanted to BF aslong as I could but my health is suffering with this no sleep happening I amalso worried that his health will start to suffer too he is so active but not sleeping!!!
argggggggg

only1mica
04-05-2007, 13:40
BF is so special...give it a little while(a week or two) and see how you feel then.

I am in the same boat in the night dept...altho my bub will sleep for about an hour if we are at home.

If we have a night where she only wakes 2-3 times...i am cheering:smiliedance: :laughing:

Check out the BFing section of Bub Hub...there might be some tips for you.

Good Luck! oh and :hugs: to you...

the_queen
04-05-2007, 14:15
I just replied in your other thread :-)

Do you co-sleep, at all? Have bubby sleep in bed with you, I mean? It might be an idea, just to help you get some sleep overnight. My boy sleeps next to me and in the night if he wakes for a feed, all I have to do is kinda lift my boozie up for him, latch him on and I go back to sleep. And there were probably many nights where he fed for hours... but it didn't affect my sleep because I was asleep.

:hugs: It doesn't have to be a long term thing. Send hubby to sleep in the spare room for a week. After dinner at night, have a nice warm bath with bubby, then both go to bed together in your bed. Lay down, latch him on, and just watch him feeding. Snuggle up together under the quilt, have the lights off and maybe some relaxing music on in the background.

:hugs: Sleep deprivation is horrible but there are ways to deal with it - without resorting to formula. If you hate getting up in the night now, imagine having to get up, get a bottle out of the fridge, heat it up, make sure it's the right temperature, then feed it to the baby, then rinse it out... then the next day have to wash it and sterilise it. And what if you forget to pre-prepare the bottles one evening, you get up in the night and you have to make up a bottle, heat it up, make sure it's the right temp.... etc etc.

:hugs: I know what you're going through. It's very hard sometimes - but this will pass, I promise. :hugs:

mummoss
04-05-2007, 14:37
we only have one bed and hubbies a big boy iykwim there is no room for bub in the bed with us I feel stuck

~Emmylou~
04-05-2007, 20:14
Going through similar issues here at the moment.
DS had me up every two hours on the dot, all night last night.
It's been going on for a few weeks now and I'm about to tear my hair out.

I bought a book today - "No cry sleep solution" by Elizabeth Pantley.
I haven't finished reading it but so far it's great.
I tried a couple of things with him tonight re: winding down for bed and he went off for the first time in a few weeks with no fuss tonight so that's gotta be a good start.

I agree with the queen about formula too - there's no guarantee that it will make any difference, it often doesn't - and if you lose your milk in the meantime you'll be stuck not only having to get up but deal with bottles as well.....I have a toddler and I can't have DS screaming the house down in the middle of the night waking her up because he has to wait so it's not even an option for me.

Have a look at the book if you can, maybe it can help you.

Jarrods Mum
04-05-2007, 20:14
oh i know how you feel, i am breast feeding also and having the same prob's but i hav been told a few tips by my clinic and the book baby whisperer, your bub might not be getting enough calories in the day milk or food try a night top up 1 hour after bub passes out, just take bub out of bed no need to compleatly wake bub, they find it no worries, this took my bub 3 days and slept through every now and then you get a growth spert i got toldevery 6 weeks this also includes food you need to top up in the day enough so they have alittle left over each time. and the baby whisperer book is great i lent my Big Sisters, it say's to try and leave bub winge for a while during the night if it is constant, believe it or not it only lasts 5 mins or shorter give it a few nights and bingo it works. i used to go in at every wimper and boy did i pay for it. also a dummy is good if you req it.

MZmama
04-05-2007, 20:23
I hate to be another one - but i know how you feel too... my 8 month old has just started having longer naps during the day (bout an hour x 2).. but she still wakes 3 or more times. not for a feed tho, just a cuddle. I co-sleep after her 3am wake just to help me stay sane.

I was contemplating switching to the bottle, but like the queen said, i didnt want to fuss with bottles during the night!

:fingerscrossed: for all those bubba's who need to sleep through!

mummoss
04-05-2007, 21:26
Thank you for your replies I am going to give it a week to make sure its not growing or teeth that are the prob if its still no better I will go to bottle the bottles at night dont worry me I can put them on on my way through to DS I have tried cry tech and I tried singing to sleep with no joy but I will try both Baby whisperer and the No cry sleep solution thanks girls

mummoss
21-05-2007, 23:34
aarrrgggg I cant find the books and DS sleeping is worse then ever now hes been sick he is beter but he is so clingy and we put matresses on the floor so we could all fit together worked well until we tried to put him back in his bed and now the people living behind us have a dog that barks all day so DS cant settle for his day naps and then the dog whines till 11pm most night so there is not much sleep happening :banghead:

Harlequin
22-05-2007, 00:02
Can hubbie sleep on the couch for one night so you can try co-sleeping and get a nights rest?

mummoss
22-05-2007, 11:31
DS is too active to co sleep now on our bed he tries to crawl right off it thats why we tried mattresses on the floor for 2 weeks while he was sick the prob is getting him to stay in his own bed to sleep now he wakes and wants to sleep with me which I dont want anymore I think I snore and wake him :laughing: so he thinks he can stay awake:shame: not at 2 in the morning thanks
I have tried control crying but that just left him aggitated (sp?) and he was ressless all night I stuck to it for 3 weeks or more I guess all I can do Is keep trying anything that people think may help until something works

Harlequin
22-05-2007, 13:17
Maybe you can try Brauers Calm or something?

I know that Ava likes to crawl about for around an hour before she will settle on the bed. If you stuff folded pillows under the sheet at the edge of the bed can he crawl over them?

mummoss
22-05-2007, 13:32
yep hes a little monkey he is that active he climbs up onto the couches now he is also trying to walk

hayles86
22-05-2007, 13:51
I know how you feel :). DD would only sleep for 40min twice a day and at this exact moment she has been trying to go to sleep for the last hour. But i went out this morning thats why she is being a pain :). But anyway i found if i had her in a really good routine it helped heaps. DD is ff but i dont think that makes any difference. Have you thought about putting him on a routine of some sort?

sebmum
24-05-2007, 08:18
I've just been reading this thread and I'm not sure which is worse - a baby who won't sleep during the day or one who won't sleep during the night?! Us poor mothers have to deal with screaming bubs 24/7 and it's sooooooooooooooo hard. My DD wakes every one and a half hours during the night but sleeps ok during the day - but only if I'm rocking her pram! I know I shouldn't be doing this but when you're as tired as I am, it's really hard to try new things. I just need a break sometimes but we don't have any family here and my friends without babies just wouldn't know what to do. I find that the only way she'll get a decent day sleep is when I'm walking with the pram - but I'm so tired during the day that the last thing I usually feel like is walking the pram! Also, when it's raining, I am so miserable to be out there, pushing her around AGAIN!

Anyway, just needed to get that off my chest. I'm taking DD to the chiropractor tomorrow as I've read that sometimes they're little backs may be a bit out and that can cause restlessness. Fingers crossed!:fingerscrossed:

I hope we all get the sleep we crave soon!:sleeping:

babyfan85
24-05-2007, 11:59
I know what u mean when u say 'need sleep'. I have a 8 month old daughter that only sleeps no more then two 1/2 hour naps in the day and wakes up about 3-6 times a night. I am so tired she's so full on all day. She has been bottlefed since birth and on solids 3 times (vary day to day). I usually pass out once my head touches the pillow at night time.
Sometimes I wish I can get decent night sleep and have a few answers to help u all but im still working out how to get sleep.

mummoss
24-05-2007, 18:10
well I have some good news at the moment :smiliedance:so far DS is going down at 7:30pm top up at 11pm one more feed at 4:00am and up to play at 7:30am which is just fine for me right now I feel almost human:laughing:

thank you all so much for you replies it trully is appreciated :hugs: to all

Sebmum and babyfan85 I really hope things get better for you soon I hope the chiropractor works for you Sebmum

mummoss
26-05-2007, 08:36
:smiliedance:he slept from 11:30pm till 7:30am I cant believe it, I am over the moon not sure what was different but so happy he is sleeping good now hope it lasts:fingerscrossed:

sebmum
30-05-2007, 07:55
I'm so happy for you - my little one is still waking 4,5 or sometimes 6 times per night. The chiro told me her sacrum was a bit out (in the tail bone area) but it doesn't seem to have made a difference. I'm listening to her screaming away as I type this. She's tired but won't have her morning sleep and you know what, I'm too tired to fight so I'm going to give her 5 mins and see if she falls asleep on her own. Oh my, just as I typed that bit, there is silence! Oh no, hang on, she's started up again. Never mind.......

Great news for you though! :smiliedance::yelclap::smiliedance: