View Full Version : what does yr toddler eat for the day?

august79
04-05-2007, 07:45
i'm acutally a April06 mum :wave:. but i wanted to know what you all are feeding your toddler, since you all are a little ahead of me. Can you give me an idea of what your meal plan looks like including milk/formula drinks? that would help me out heaps:)

Will
04-05-2007, 09:07
Hey!

My DS is a March bub so only a little ahead... he has cereal, either a weetbix or some cheerios and two slices of vegemite toast. He is a little piglet in the morning lol. He usually has a bottle around 9-10 (wakes up between 6 & 7 and straight into breakfast). Has some lunch, sometimes a sandwich or rice cakes, or noodles or something) sometimes has a bottle after that, then has some fruit for afternoon tea around 3-4 maybe a bikkie chucked in there for good measure lol then has what we have for dinner (most ends up on the floor) or something i cooked earlier for him ,sometimes a can of sketti (spaghetti) then has another bottle then goes to bed aroun 6.30 - 7. That is a usual day for us. He also has juice & water during the day to keep him going... but that is just when he wants it... always have a little pop top bottle around so he can help himself.

Hope that helps!! He is a really good eater (as long as he can feed himself) loves his food lol

04-05-2007, 09:16
DS has toast when he gets up, he likes to have a bit of cereal but without milk he likes to feed himself.
Morning tea fruit or yoguht.
Lunch Sandwich or salad (tomato, capsicum, cucumber, cheese)
Afternoon tea - he likes le snack at the moment but that could change any day now.
Tea - he just had what we have or if he will not eat it he will have baked beans or something, He loves peas and frozen corn he can feed himself.

He is not a very big eater.

mum to 2 angels
04-05-2007, 09:17
Kalyah is 2.6
Breakfast
1 bowl of weekbix with wheetgerm on top
1 slice of wholemeal toast with vegemite
1 small tub of yoghurt
some kind of fruit, usually grapes
Morning tea
2 corn thins with vegemite
1 apple
Lunch
Salad with chick peas and kidney beans
Afternoon tea
A banana smoothie
Dinner
Oven baked fish with lime and ginger
Vegetables
Supper
Small fruit salad
Drinks
She usually has goats milk or soy milk (because she likes the flavour) in a cup. 2 or 3 cups a day. 1 glass of diluted juice, and about 3 glasses of water.

Hope that helps. That was what she ate yesterday anyway

august79
04-05-2007, 20:23
the reason i ask about what your toddler eats is coz i just read the daily requirements for a 1 year old, and it is huge! i wouldn't even give my bub half of what's recommended (and she's 12kg)

kirstenriley
04-05-2007, 20:52
my DS is 2.4 and he had today

Pre Breaky
Banana

Breaky
Sultana Bran
1 Piece raison toast

Snack
shared fruit at playgroup

Lunch
Ham and cheese sandwich
yogurt

Snack
Orange
2 cruskits cream cheese
biscuit

Dinner
chicken and veg and some of my DD's leftover mashed potato

Milk with breakfast and water for the rest of the day. He usually has a juice in there somewhere too.

Bubble*Crazy
04-05-2007, 21:00
I have a May 06 bub, so close to yours August79, and his typical day is:-

Wake up 6.30-7.30am
200ml Bottle

Breakfast 8.45-9am
1 weetbix
1/2 mashed banana
With hot water to soften weetbix and topped with cows milk

Midmorning snack
Sultanas or grapes etc

Lunch
1-2 slices bread with vegemite or jam
1 tub yoghurt

1-1.30pm
200ml bottle & sleep (usually - sometimes he drops bottle & sleep)

Afternoon snack 3.30-4pm - not always
Biscuit or Fruit

Dinner 5.30-6pm
Smaller version of our meals or tinned spaghetti/baked beans etc
Jar desert - gel, custard, fruit etc

Bed 6-7pm
200ml bottle

He has a sippy cup with water that follows him around all day.

cwsmum
04-05-2007, 21:22
the reason i ask about what your toddler eats is coz i just read the daily requirements for a 1 year old, and it is huge! i wouldn't even give my bub half of what's recommended (and she's 12kg)
Where did you read this info? I'd be interested in reading it...tho I doubt my kids would come close to getting what is recommended each day.

DD is almost 18mths old, but she has been eating basically the same stuff & ammounts since she was about 12mths old. A typical day for her is
Breakfast - 2 weetbix, either fruit mixed into that or some fruit after, or 2 slices of toast & some fruit or custard and fruitsalad and always a drink of milk, sometimes flavored, and also water (she chooses which she wants to drink).
Lunch - Sandwich or cornthins with vegemite or cold meat & salad (beetroot, asparagus, boiled egg, lettuce, babycorn & pineapple slices today). Fruit and either milk or water to drink, depending on how much milk she drank with breakfast.
Dinner - Whatever we are having. Or if that's not suitable then the kids have homemade chicken nuggets or fish fingers with some veges & chips or some leftovers from the freezer. If she wants more after dinner then usually fruit, or maybe some yoghurt/custard or homemade jelly (made with fruit juice). She always has milk with dinner too.
Snacks - Fruit, sultanas and other dried fruit (we have apricots, cranberries, pawpaw & pineapple at the moment), crackers and cheese, homemade cakes, biscuits, muffins etc, saladas with vegemite, cream cheese, etc, cheese on toast (good for lunch too)...
She drinks water all day, except for meal times...tho if she has a sore throat I let her have really cold juice (50% water) coz that always makes my throat feel better.

I'm sure there's other things I feed her, but you get the idea :) I don't stress too much about what my kids eat each day, as long as they are eating well overall, eg: having a day where they have little/no dairy can easily be made up by giving them an extra serve for the next few days.

august79
04-05-2007, 21:55
Where did you read this info? I'd be interested in reading it...tho I doubt my kids would come close to getting what is recommended each day......

From the Child Health Information - Your guide to the first 12 months booklet you get inside the Personal Health - RECORD satchel thingy for your baby (QLD gov)

cwsmum
05-05-2007, 13:27
Ahh, cool...now to find where DD's book has ended up so I can have a read (we are between houses so I don't know where anything is :banghead: DH did heaps of the packing)

~mia&ryan~
06-05-2007, 08:33
DD is an April 06 bubba and this is what she eats on an average day

Brekky: Bottle and either 2 pieces of toast, 2 weetbix or porridge and some fruit

Morning tea: saltanas, a cheesymite rusk and either fruit or dried apple.. Cup of water

Lunch: varies heaps but yesterday she had, about half a cup of kidney beans, a slice of cheese, a big slice of ham followed by a quarter of a rockmelon and a couple of tiny teddies... I pop all this on her highchair tray in front of her and she just feed herself.. Water

Afternoon tea: Either a biccie and some milk/bottle or some fruit or yoghurt, depending how hungry she is..

Dinner: She eats whatever we eat.. Last night she had lasagne, some garlic bread and a bit of pizza... (we went to italian for dinner) The night before she had some kidney beans, chicken parmigiana and some ceasar salad... She then has a bottle before she goes to bed.

She will eat whatever is on offer, she loves her food, but she never stops walking/running around so she needs lots of energy to burn I guess.

Gone Bananas
19-03-2008, 15:09
My toddie has:
Brekkie: 2 pieces of toast or/weetbix and banana or/porridge with wheatgerm or/fruit platter and yoghurt
with milk or juice
Morning Tea: Piece fruit/bikkie/boston bun slice
Lunch: Pasta with stirfry veg/toasted ham cheese sandwich/cold platter
Arvo Tea: usually eats twice in the arvos, one fruit and the other toast if really hungry or a cake or muffin or bikkie
Dinner: whatever we are having

As far as drinks go he has usually 2 glasses of milk a day, one juice and the rest water
Hope that helps!:wave: