View Full Version : Turkey Basting Method
04-01-2006, 12:22
Hello ladies!
With DH absent for my next 8 months of O'ing, desperation has set in. What have you heard about the Turkey Basting Method? Have you ever used it? Do you know anyone that has? Did it succeed?
Thoughts? Opinions? Advice? Recommendations? Anything?
04-01-2006, 12:39
Hi Aly
I know a lesbian couple who did that to concieve.
They are now pregnant after first go :)
04-01-2006, 12:42
Hey thats awesome! What a great start to this thread! Hehehe... Lara actually got me onto the idea (lovely girl :D )
Collection is cool - we would use a condom and then I would use a syringe to put it in place - just dont know the absolute best method to thaw out the little men.
04-01-2006, 12:45
Ohhhh I am not sure how to go about it either. Could you maybe go see your doctor, might be a bit :o but worth a try :confused:
aardvark
04-01-2006, 12:47
The problem is you need fresh .............material to work with, which is a problem if DH is away. Or a properly stored sample you can thaw, which is expensive to arrange. It needs to be stored in liquid nitrogen to remain viable. Just ordinary freezing will not work.
Unless of couse you are considering using a donor, which is its very own can of worms.
04-01-2006, 12:49
I would be so embarrassed asking my doctor! Well, my normal doctor isn't around at the moment and doesn't get back til the end of Feb... Bit late then...
This is what I have so far (courtesy of a good friend!)
Frozen sperm should be thawed fairly slowly. The best thing to do is ask the sperm bank for directions on handling and warming the sperm. If that information isn't provided, it is probably best to put the vial into a cup cool water and turn every minute or two for about 5 minutes. Then refresh your cup with somewhat warmer water and continue turning. Repeat until the sperm is thawed. When the vial is close to body temperature, go about your insemination with whichever method you've chosen. Make sure not to get the sperm too warm -- definitely do not use hot water (not only could it kill the sperm, but there is the potential of breaking the vial as well).
I really haven't the faintest clue, but I'd check about temperatures for storage too - not sure if your standard domestic freezer is the correct consistent temperature required.
B
Oh Ally honey
You sound so desperate (hugs to you). I wish you didn't have to deal with his absence just now :( .
Please anyone out there who knows more correct me *I know so little but what I have I offer*, but from what I've heard (lesbian couples) don't they collect a fresh sample from their friend (sperm donor) and pretty much apply it straight away? So how are you planning to store his *ahem* offerings?
I would think you'd have to have his sperm prefessionally frozen, stored and defrosted wouldn't you? (I have a mental pic of little sperm samples in your home freezer :D ). I don't think they'd survive otherwise. I believe you can now pay ppl to store your cord blood for your own pesonal use, I think they would offer this services as well? But you'd want to make sure the boys stay healthy.
Funny aside: I knew a couple having fertility treatment who had to provide a sperm sample for analysis. The doc knew that providing one in a clinic was not the most comfortable, so he gave them a container to fill and bring in. We don't know what they did to their poor sperm sample between collection and clinic, but the little dudes were not at all in good shape by the time they'd got to the clinic. Doc thought it was all his problem until they took another sample (at the clinic this time :rolleyes: the boys were mure healthier).
I hope someone else who knows a little more than me pokes their head in here.
Cheers and (((hugs)))
04-01-2006, 16:04
Here is a website (http://www.fertilityplus.org/faq/homeinsem.html) that has information about Turkey Basting. Do you guys think its a bit 'backdoor'? Reckon its worth a shot? I mean, it cant hurt, right?
Hello
I don't know of them personally, but I know of a couple who did this and got preggars. It was in the UK and her hubby was in the army.
I think its defs worth trying - it can't hurt (as far as I am aware - not a doctor of course!) and you just never know....stranger things have happened ;)
Good luck sweetie
Cx
aardvark
04-01-2006, 17:36
It's only going to be worth trying if you have properly stored semen.
Just chucking a used spermicide free condom in the freezer compartment of your fridge or deep freezer is not going achieve much.
As the semen freezes at the sorts of temperatures in a fridge freezer or deep freeze, it will cause ice crystals to form in the cells, which will cause cell rupture - basically the sample will be useless. That is why liquid nitrogen is used for storing semen and ova for IVF procedures. I'm pretty sure they add something to the specimens before they freeze it, too, to assist in the freezing and thawing process.
If you are going to try it, you need to approach a sperm bank to prepare the semen and store it in straws as they do for artificial insemination. You would then need to retrieve the "dose" at the appropriate time, and proceed to thaw it according to their instructions.
Where is huby going to be?
Just asking to see if it would be viable for your DH to send you a 'package' via Australia post each month :o No freezing, and a fresh sample would help your chances, just need to check out how long the package would be in the mail Vs how long sperm live, and suitable temperatures to keep them alive, even if he had to send them in an insulated package.
Just a thought, maybe someone can refine it for you!:)
wow I have never heard of this...good luck ally if you try this!
Mamaduke
04-01-2006, 19:13
I'm so sorry Ally84 but I am giggling like a schoolgirl...
I saw the title of your thread and I immediately though, "gee we could of done with this 'turkey basting method' BEFORE Christmas...it's a bit late to be posting it now!!"
What a duffa I am:confused:
Good luck with it!!
As you were....
lol Carly, i was thinking something similiar? 'why are they still discussing how to baste a turkey, Christmas is finished?':o :p
Seriously though, Ally i think you really need to talk to your Dr about this, i know it might be a bit embarressing, but he will be able to explain the correct way to do this, no point going to all that trouble only to find out that you have been doing it all wrong, all the good sperm will just go to waste!! You need to find out correct storage, handling and thawing procedures, and if it is possible to store it at home etc, which i dont think it is, due to the tricky freezing procedures involved.
Best of luck!!! :)
littlepickle
04-01-2006, 21:32
Just an idea, could you ring IVF clinic and ask them if they will freeze sperm for you, and what the cost would be. They would definitely do it, there are a lot of people that have spermies frozen due to illness etc, and they just have to pay a parking fee for their spermies while they are in storage. I am guessing that your DH will also have to sign his spermies over to you as well
Just a though
JellyBean06
04-01-2006, 23:14
Unless properly frozen, sperm is only viable for 3 days (trying to remember yr 12 bio here) :)
07-01-2006, 18:04
Okay - call me crazy if you will (and I'm sure a few of you will!) but we are doing it. We already have a condom full (well, not exactly FULL but you get the gist) of little boys in a little container, inside another ice cream container in our freezer. We figured, hey - it cant hurt? If it doesn't work, then its a failed science experiment. We're not seriously expecting it to work, just giving it a go.
LoveMyTommyBub - cant do the Australia Post - DH will be on a ship out in the middle of the ocean somewhere. He is in the navy.
LittlePickle - called the local IVF clinic and they will freeze sperm for $225 for 6 months - which would be fantastic. Only thing is they wont release the sperm to me without DH's consent at the time - and of course he wont be around.
Aardvark - thought about the ice crystals. So we thought, hey lets put the little boys in 2 containers!
Yeah - I know it probably wont work. But hey - its a nice litle BubHub experiment for us to try. DH was willing, I thought, lets give it a go, and hey - if it doesn't work then nothing bad will happen. It just means that it didn't work.
Today is cd6, so the little boys have another 7 days before being thawed back to life (hopefully...) Will get another 2 samples from DH before he goes (hopefully) and will use one the night before O, one on the morning of O, and one on the night of O.
Will keep you all posted on the latest!
Wow. Good luck Ally. If it works I'm going to make lots of turkey jokes. Gobble gobble gobble :D
Seriously though - good point you make. If it doesn't work - you've not lost anything. Nothing ventured nothing gained. Keep us posted!
Bron
mum2four
07-01-2006, 18:11
A friend of mine whom had been trying naturaaly for well over 1 year tried this last cycle as her dh has ejaculation issues during intercourse, well she is now just over 5 weeks pg :) I have also heard from a sperm specialist not to use glass as the sperm stick to the glass.
HTH
Just popping in to say Good Luck Ally!
I really hope it works for you, like you said I wouldn't expect it to work but there's no harm in trying and if it does work, Fantastic!
I'm not sure where I saw it, actually I think it was Law and Order - SVU a woman froze sperm in a condom and used it later to frame a guy for rape, :rolleyes: anyway the way she was caught was when the sperm was sent for analysis it was found all their tails were bent weird, apparently a by-product of the freezing!
Then again it was just a sv show, they could have made it up!
mum2four
07-01-2006, 18:13
Oh and don't use ordinary condoms ;)
Would dh be willing to deposit straight into a specimen jar? Would be much easier to freeze that way to, you can buy them from the chemist.
I would hope the home freezer job wouldn't damage the sperm and cause deformities???????????
I don't think this will work at all, maybe just introduce infection as bacteria grows when it thaws.I'd be doing a bit more research. Sorry but I wish you well.
07-01-2006, 18:20
Mum2Four - that is awesome news about your friend! Glad we haven't used glass... Thanks for the tip! I will just buy a plastic oral medicine syringe to 'insert' it after thawing the little boys out and do all the hitch about keeping my pelvis tilted etc.
Should be interesting!!!
07-01-2006, 18:25
I would hope the home freezer job wouldn't damage the sperm and cause deformities???????????I don't think this will work at all, maybe just introduce infection as bacteria grows when it thaws.I'd be doing a bit more research. Sorry but I wish you well.
If the sperm is damaged, it wont make it to the egg full stop. Mate, my uterus and tube(s) have been through hell and back. If it doesn't work - fine. It doesn't matter.
Mum2Four - I didn't think about the type of condom. DH goes the day after tomorrow, so we just used some that we had left over from when we were 'avoiding' pg after each operation. They're still in date and all - and they seem okay.
http://www.netdoctor.co.uk/ate/menshealth/204893.html
http://www.infertilitydoctor.com/fertilityflash/vol2_issue4.htm
These are just a few of what seems to be heaps of articles on the subject, just google 'home sperm freeze' and see what you come up with.
JenNT has a point, what if the sperm was deformed in the freeze/thaw process and you got pregnant...
dylansmummy
07-01-2006, 19:42
Hey Ally84, good luck to you. And if did work what a story for bub to be hey!
Keep us posted and will certainly be thinking of you.
You better join the TTC in the new year thread!
07-01-2006, 20:01
Best of luck Aly!!!
ElizaDee
07-01-2006, 20:09
Good luck Ally, I hope it goes well for you :)
It can't hurt, I am sure you will feel a little better about DH leaving....
It would make one heck of a story though! ;)
mum2four
07-01-2006, 20:28
Here is abit more info for you, I found that info about glass, also the condom thing is the type of rubber used in condoms, I will see if I can find the kind you would need, I can't remember the type they are meant to be, but I know they are the only kind that can be used for semen analasys(sp) because they don't damage/kill the sperm
If you use a syringe method -- Never use glass, sperm stick to it... get a specimen cup or centrifuge tube from a local medical lab.
Sperm take about 30 min at room temp for the gel like substance to dissolve and become runny (liquify). It isn't the end of the world if you still have some gel as long as sperm don't gum things up-
O.K it's a non spermical polyutherane condom that is needed Here is an extract from Monash IVF but i'm almost certain I have read that normal condoms also are bad because of the chemicals used in the rubber.
The sample may also be collected by intercourse. Your partner may accompany you, and a special condom available from the Andrology laboratory at Monash IVF, can be used to collect your sample. Commonly used condoms contain spermicides that kill sperm and cannot be used to collect specimens.
Ahh found it ;)
Specially Designed Condoms for Sperm Collection
Almost all commercially available condoms are made of latex. Latex condoms have been shown to be toxic to sperm and never should be used for sperm sample collection. In contrast, two types of condoms are approved for sperm collection. These include silastic (silicone rubber) condoms manufactured by HDC Corporation (Mountain View, CA) and polyurethane condoms manufactured by Apex Medical Technologies (San Diego, CA), called the "Male Factor Pak". Both of these types of condom are sold by several fertility supply companies, including INGfertility (the makers of Pre~Seed).
Sorry, that's not a plug for ING fertility or Pre~Seed just in the passage, but you can get them from fertility places in Aus too (monash IVF uses them) Not that it will help you now, but just for future reference or anyone else wanting to try this.
Mamaduke
07-01-2006, 22:26
Hi Ally!
Well I'm not going to be a 'doubting Thomas'!:)
I wish you nothing but GOOD LUCK, GOOD LUCK, GOOD LUCK!!!
Good luck to you, good luck to the sperm and good luck to the egg:p !!!!!
You get that turkey baster girl!!!
I wanted to say GOOD LUCK Ally was well :D
I'm rooting for you. Well not actually rooting.. but.. well I could be.. :eek:
Mamaduke
07-01-2006, 22:39
I wanted to say GOOD LUCK Ally was well :D
I'm rooting for you. Well not actually rooting.. but.. well I could be.. :eek:
GOOD ONE!!! ROFPMSL:p !!! That's the highlight of a rather blaaah day for me!
aww :/ how's the boy feeling?
(actually I'm going to not hijack Ally's thread and ask that one in the other thread)
Ally, deformed sperm do make it to the egg. If they didn't everyone would be healthy, no deformities. Its a very fine balance of chromosomes in those little men. :D
H&B'sMum
08-01-2006, 11:16
I'm sorry Ally but this is the funniest thing I've read on here in a while. I have to admire your determination, sense of humour and your brashness.
Go girl, give it a try. If it happens then what a story for your child's 21st party, if it doesn't you'll never die wondering.
Good luck and I really hope this works. If it does work for you I might have to try it myself (without the Dh leaving and freezing of little guys and the thrawing).
Hey we could start a whole new section on bubhub about the best way to "tuckey bast" a child!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL hehehehehe
Good luck Ally
I hope you have success!!:)
forgive me if this is a crass question.. but do you plan on orgasming before or after basting?
Just from what I've been told, and from the human body, the cervix does crazy things when having an orgasm, like to draw spermies in.
Edited to add: You don't need to answer this question, I thought I'd throw it out there in case it was something you hadn't thought of yet :) :o
SEEKRIT!!!!:eek:
LOL
Good luck Ally:)
08-01-2006, 15:31
Hello! So awesome to read such fantastic encouragements.
Carly - I'm glad to see that your rooting for me (so to speak) - I'm glad someone is!!!
Seekrit - Orgasm. Yes, I think I would like that. Good idea :D
HarrysMum - I am SOOO relieved that someone can understand my thoughts and approach to this. If it works, it works - if it doesn't, it doesn't.
Anyway - DH is sitting behind me, so I must fly. We are now about to have an in-depth conversation about whether or not the little boys will be deformed or not. Wish me luck.
08-01-2006, 16:18
Good luck with the talk, keep us posted!
Ally I just want to wish you the best off luck and let you know that i totally understand where you are coming from.
If my DP had too go away for as long as yours does and i was desprate to TTC (which I am) i would be willing to try just about anything.
I will be thinking off you, keep us updated
Krystal
Ally,maybe you are both meant to wait the 8 months, all things happen for a reason. I hate to put a downer on things and i would hate to see this happen to you again, but what if history repeated itself a third time.Would you cope on your own if it did? I'm sorry but i always look at the 'what if's' :rolleyes:
Your body might be more receptive after that 8 months break?
Peaceangels
08-01-2006, 17:34
Ally, you have such a great attitude about this, so like you say, why not give it a go!?!
May the little swimmer's find their way to the golden egg and plant themselves nicely in your uterus. :)
Will be waiting in anticipation for any news! Goodluck! :) :)
BTW, I don't think Seekrit is too far of the mark with her big O comment!
Ness
aardvark
08-01-2006, 17:49
Further to my comment about ice crystals, and your response of having put them in two containers........
It won't make ANY difference to the ice crystals which form INSIDE the sperm cells., even though it might eliminate crystals forming on the outside of your container. Most of the body of any cell is water, and when you freeze it, it forms crystals.
09-01-2006, 11:31
Ally,maybe you are both meant to wait the 8 months, all things happen for a reason. I hate to put a downer on things and i would hate to see this happen to you again, but what if history repeated itself a third time.Would you cope on your own if it did? I'm sorry but i always look at the 'what if's' :rolleyes: Your body might be more receptive after that 8 months break?
Thanks for the thought JenNT, but nothing is gonna change my mind. The little boys are in the freezer waiting for this weekend. I do appreciate your opinion though - especially the bit about a recurring EP. We have considered it, and if it happens, then I am ready to deal with it.
I edited this cause I should have thought about what I said before I said it.... Having a bad day
Mamaduke
09-01-2006, 11:54
Ally,maybe you are both meant to wait the 8 months, all things happen for a reason. I hate to put a downer on things and i would hate to see this happen to you again, but what if history repeated itself a third time.Would you cope on your own if it did? I'm sorry but i always look at the 'what if's' :rolleyes:
Your body might be more receptive after that 8 months break?
Always look on the bright side of life...dee do dee do dee do dee do!!!!
09-01-2006, 12:07
i would hate to see this happen to you again, but what if history repeated itself a third time.
Oh - I forgot to add Jen - that since I have already had 2 EP's, my chance of conceiving naturally is 2% (something I certainly dont need reminding of). A little background on my history - I have one tube remaining. So the odds of this actually working are not really in my favour, I realise this.
dylansmummy
09-01-2006, 12:26
Ally - you go for it - what have you got to lose! really!
I really admire your strength you must be one hell of a woman to cope with everything you have to cope with. My hats off to you
Mamaduke
09-01-2006, 12:31
Ally,
I don't know if you've read this, but I just found it, it might help (hope so)!
http://www.infertilitybooks.com/onlinebooks/malpani/chapter54.html
If I find any more info I'll post it.
I'll have my fingers crossed for a miracle Ally, no matter how slim the chance, there's hope, stranger things have happened!
Best of luck to you and your hubby, keep us posted.
09-01-2006, 12:36
Thanks for the webpage Carly - it doesn't really sound that difficult does it? Just thaw out the little boys at room temperature, dont let em get to hot. Suck them up into a syringe and put it in place.
It is gonna be VERY interesting to see if it works or not. Oh - I checked the condoms that we used and they didn't have spermicide on them - actually they had something saying that they are for people who are allergic to spermicide - bonus!!!
hoping4another
09-01-2006, 12:39
Hi Ally,
I wish you all the best. I hope that these little guys swim like Ian Thrope and hopefully get the gold..
Best of luck
Wendy
melfunction
09-01-2006, 12:50
Hi Ally, just wanted to wish you the best and hope it works for you...
Nothing ventured, nothing gained :)
http://www.infertilitydoctor.com/fertilityflash/vol2_issue4.htm
Ally-I'm still sceptical of the whole home job process but that's jmo ;)
there is apparently some kit you can buy to properly do this at home but it will only store sperm for a week. Was interesting read anyway, thought you might be interested.
Cheers Jen
StormAngel
09-01-2006, 14:47
Go for it Ally, i so wish you all the luck in the world :D
P.S, as the others have said, nothing ventured nothing gained!
09-01-2006, 16:29
Best of luck Ally, must admit I had a good giggle reading some of the comments.
:) Hope it all turns out for you and your dear hubby!!!!
Good Luck Ally I hope it works out for you, I mean if you don't try you'll never know!
10-01-2006, 12:47
Am counting down the days til I thaw the little boys and raise the dead (so to speak...) I should be o'ing on Sunday/Monday ish, so not much longer to go now. Just have to buy my syringe and wait til its time...
Only got 2 samples from DH before he left, but when he gets back for a week I will get some more...
I dont really feel like this is real - Its going to be odd... Very odd!
dylansmummy
10-01-2006, 20:55
Just wanted to pop in and wish you Good Luck Ally :)
10-01-2006, 21:03
Thank you!
I must say - I am surprised; nay, shocked :eek: at the amount of encouragement and support I am getting about doing this. Turkey Basting. Had you asked me only 2 weeks ago what it was I would have looked at you like you were running late with the Christmas meat :confused:
Its a very controversial thing to do (and lets face facts - will probably not work...) but I have received so many encouraging words that I am almost convinced that it HAS to work! :)
Melissa1983
10-01-2006, 21:54
Good luck Ally with the Turkey Basting method!
At least you know he will want to try, when he gets back being around all those males :p
If you ever wanna chat while he is away, just PM me...
Good Luck Ally, venturing into unknown territory, exciting stuff!
If you succeed there'll be a procession of women with oral syringes behind you!:D
Amy
Ally- I just want to wish you the best of luck!!
It sounds like you and DH have been through an awful time of late and you both truly deserve some positive news. Especially with him being away for 8 months.:(
You hang in there and keep thinking positive thoughts! And hey if it doesn't work, it doesn't work!! You can always try again in 8 months time!:)
Sending all my positive vibes your way.
XXX
maybe1more
14-01-2006, 20:26
Hi Ally,
I wish you all the best. I hope that these little guys swim like Ian Thrope and hopefully get the gold..
Best of luck
Wendy
Hey ally, i agree with Wendy, i really hope this works out, im tempted to try it myself:rolleyes: i wish you all the luck in the world, i really hope this works and i admire your postive attutude!:D
H&B'sMum
14-01-2006, 20:30
Good luck Ally,
You know if this works all the girls in ttc thread will be following in your wake so you are a trail blazer in this unknown terrority!!!!!!!
Good luck Sweetie.
Good luck Ally
I'm crossing my fingers and toes for you.
B
I missed this thread totally, back in the day, i'm dying to know...did you do it?? Did it work???:laughing:
07-09-2007, 21:14
Yep I did it and no it didnt work.
Though I dont think I was ovulating at the time... :o
07-09-2007, 21:21
LOL - Sweet dreams! lol :laughing:
shannysmum
07-09-2007, 22:04
I just read through this thread also, as my husband is always away at o due to work. I had joked about it but always had the thought of the sperm being damaged and if it worked and increased chance of problems with the baby.