View Full Version : Required Items
08-03-2005, 17:49
I was just wondering if someone could tell me what basics I should buy before the baby is born. Other than the obvious Car Seat, Pram, Bath etc. So basically what clothing, how many nappies, blankets, sheets etc.
Any help would be greatly appreciated :)
Thanks in advance
Lucybelle
08-03-2005, 20:16
O.K let me remember..
If you will be using cloth nappies, I think they say about 36.
Baby baths generally seem to be a waste of money.
I bought 2 sets bassinet sheets, but I know you can use pillowcases instead.
I have three sets of cots sheets, but you can buy single bed sheets and fold them in half - get heaps more wear out of them.
Because I didn't want to find out the sex of the bub, I only bought the bare minimum in white. Once bubs was born, all we wanted to do was have everything in blue!!! We had more fun buying stuff after baby was born! And you can work out the things you really use a lot of after a couple of weeks.
I tried not to get caught up in buying the fancy-pants, must have gadgets as most are a waste of $$$. The tried and tested have stood the test of time. These gadgets all seem to use masses of batteries too.
Hope it helps, have fun shopping!
I would agree with Lucy , just get the bare essentials, with my daughter i got caught up in buying everything they had for babies and never used half of it. The baby bath well i think my mum used it once but we used the sink it was so much easier.Also we got 3 cot sheets this time around. last time after we bought them and we got given things we had 15 :S. I would suggest mittens to stop bubs from scratching him or her self, and those smelly nappy bag holders are a wonder . But after that wait til bubs is born and u will just see what u need and that way u rnt wasting ur $$$ on things u dont need.
I would agree with Lucy , just get the bare essentials, with my daughter i got caught up in buying everything they had for babies and never used half of it. The baby bath well i think my mum used it once but we used the sink it was so much easier.Also we got 3 cot sheets this time around. last time after we bought them and we got given things we had 15 :S. I would suggest mittens to stop bubs from scratching him or her self, and those smelly nappy bag holders are a wonder . But after that wait til bubs is born and u will just see what u need and that way u rnt wasting ur $$$ on things u dont need. If i can make one suggestion with all the shopping u doing for bubs now and after they r born dont forget about u and try to get something for urself. Good luck :)
oops sorry for the double, wasnt finished typing and it sent sorry :)
09-03-2005, 08:59
Thanks for that. I have alot of things that were mine, like nighties, dresses etc. My mum kept them in great condition so that 24 years later they still look like new. I'm just worried about sizes to get too, so i'm getting a mix of 000 and 00.
The baby bath we got as a gift already and its on a stand so thats helped, also because the big laundry sink is downstairs i'll probably prefer the baby bath.
Also, whats your opinions on change tables? Good or a waste of money? :confused:
I never had a change table. I used to bath in the kitchen and used the kitchen bench. You have to be pretty careful though.
I also liked my little rocker chair. It was good for sitting baby in when introducing solids as he was too small for a high chair. I also liked my front carrier and if I had known about slings I would have got one of those to carry bub around without breaking my back.
I used lots of bunny rugs and had cloth nappies not for wearing but to wipe up spills, poos or to under bub's head (firmly tucked in) while sleeping so any spews could be easily cleaned without changing the sheets.
vickster
09-03-2005, 10:43
Hello Rainbowbrite,
(I haven't heard that name for ages!)
I agree with the others too. I only bought a few white bonds suits and singlets in 000 before our bub came and everyone gave us LOTS of flanelette and muslin wraps.
The only things I wish we had bought were a bath seat (Babies Galore have an excellent range) and 0000 suits for the first few weeks. Oh, and the more nappies, wipes etc you can stock up on, the better!!
The other thing, is that I wish we'd had a baby shower AFTER Charlotte came as half of the gifts we received were gorgeous, but not very practical ( like lots of tiny knitted cardies and booties when our baby was born at the end of September and would be too big for them come winter or are for summer when she's 2!) I'm finding that I don't have many clothes etc for now, when I really need it.
As for change tables, I got one from a garage sale for $20 and have hardly used it. We have a big laundry with lots of bench & cupboard space, so I set up a change area there. Otherwise, I found it easier to change on the floor (and still do).
Hope this helps, good luck with your litte one! :D
Lallas' Mum
09-03-2005, 14:24
I must agree with most of what has been said. I just wanted to add, that I found a change table to be a god sent. There was no bending over to change nappies or trying to get back up off the floor. It was especially handy of a night time when you're still half asleep and you can put a nightlight on near the table and change bub with everything right there on hand.
With outfits, don't go to crazy just yet. Buy neutral coloured sets. Coveralls are very handy as they keep bub nice and warm (which is what they are used to in the womb). Just make sure you get the ones that button up under the crotch and down the leg. These ones will make for the easiest of nappy changes.
Flannel and muslin wraps I found were the best for wrapping baby. Use the flannel when it is colder and the muslin wraps for when the weather is a bit warmer. Larger bunny wraps also make excellent bassinet blankets.
I must also agree with Vickster - It is probabley more benificial to have your baby shower after the bub is born. That way you can get better fitting more appropriate clothes and gifts. According to my Grandmother that's the way they did it in the old days. I know why now.
Best of luck with everything.
Tracey
(mum to Alec 16 1/2 months and bub due May 2nd 05)
alicesmum
09-03-2005, 22:12
I would like to add that our Jolly Jumper has been invaluable. (They're the things that hang in the doorway and bub jumps up and down in a pouch on a spring-thing). Anyway, for $60 they buy you time when you really need it, like dinner time or when you really want to get to those dishes.
Bub can use it from about 3 mths of age (once she has head control). We used it from 4 mths and our DD loves it so much! A physio told me you should only put them in it for 1/2 hour max and not every single day as it can create a 'toe-walker', tho occasionally i must admit it stretches to about 45 mins, as she really could bounce in that thing for hours!! No matter what mood she is in, she will stop grizzling and start smiling as soon as she starts.
Anyways, just my 2 cents worth. I agree also that a baby bath is a waste of money. We just took her (very carefully) in the shower with us, or used the kitchen sink, and found both those options much easier on our backs.
Also, we have since learned that the MOST IMPORTANT thing when buying a pram is its weight. We bought a sturdy but really heavy one (we didn't test it out properly in the shop!) and i have nearly done my back in several times. Ours weighs 13kg i think. GO for an 8-10 kg one I reckon.
I also find a highchair with adjustable height and on wheels to be particularly handy when you want to be in different rooms and alternate feeding them standing and sitting on a chair (that's if your little one is happy to sit and play in the highchair a lot like mine).
Good luck with everything! ;)
Rachel
mum to six month old Alice.
10-03-2005, 06:18
Thanks again to everyone for the advice. I must admit hubby and i have got some actual clothes already as we know (hopefully) what we are having (girl). Never thought about the showering of baby though, might give that a try. Love the idea of using the kitchen though too.
The jolly jumper sounds like a great idea also, my sister used hers heaps for all 3 of her boys. About the baby shower, i might try to get one organised for after the birth, as no-one has attempted to organise one for before-hand anyway. That way i can just invite everyone round to see the baby and hopefully stop the un-announced drop-ins.
Thanks so much for the advice.
Rainbowbrite (yes its an old name, my husband actually thought it up for me :D )
Congratulations on your little girl (fingers crossed!)
I'd have been lost without my baby bath! I have a bad back and dreaded using the big bath when you have to hold them the entire time. All that bending over! DP tried showering with her, bit scary actually because when they get wet - they get slippery!! I'd be very careful if thinking about doing this full time. I wouldn't be using the kitchen sink either - full of germs. Having said that, my mum used to bath me in the laundry trough no harm done!! :p
I'm glad I got my change table too, but I know some people just use a mat on a chest of drawers which seems to work well - as long as its at the right height - more practical too. My change table has two shelves underneath which I though would be very helpful, but as soon as Eloise was able to crawl and pull up on things it became a nightmare. Those shelves now hold her toys! I had to move everything else into the cupboard. :rolleyes:
My little bouncy chair was a godsend - the only way to have a shower in peace was to strap her into that and take her into the bathroom with me! I do the same thing now with her highchair!
I have three sheet sets and alternate them. Make sure you get 100% cotton ones and that they mix and match, much easier! I use disposables but got a packet of 20 or so cloth nappies to use as chuck cloths, very handy! I can't remember everything else that was invaluable... you find out soon enough after they're born what you need!!
Good luck!http://www.animationlibrary.com/Animation11/Jobs_and_People/Babies/Girl.gif
StormAngel
10-03-2005, 13:29
hi,
i agree with everyone else just minimum.
i used a change table until bub was 5mths now i just get on the floor with her.
a baby moniter was the best thing we brought though, it means you can go potter outside and know you'll still be able to hear bub
good luck